130x130_sq_1261845195376-200908292149tcdshf

Kira Kwon Photojournalism

Peoria Heights , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4450 N Prospect Road
Peoria Heights, IL US 61616 (map)

PHONE

309-688-5472

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I am a wedding photojournalist. I capture the story of your wedding day. There is always a place for some portraits of the bride and groom and their friends and family, but as much as... Read more
I am a wedding photojournalist. I capture the story of your wedding day. There is always a place for some portraits of the bride and groom and their friends and family, but as much as possible I try to blend into the background and capture the beauty of each wedding as it unfolds, from the details to the moments you never want to forget. My photography is natural, emotional, and real. I believe the "Life makes the most beautiful art." (TM)

Your choice in a wedding photographer is very important. It is a relationship that will impact your entire wedding day. For this reason, I am careful to choose weddings based primarily on the relationship I begin to form with the bride, groom, and their families from the first moment we meet throughout the interview process. I only accept two weddings each month so that I can devote the time and energy to each one that they require. I cover each wedding rehearsal which is a great opportunity for me to meet your family and friends and begin building a relationship that will help everyone to relax and be themselves as I photograph your wedding day. I often spend 18 hours with my brides and their families over the course of the wedding weekend. This enables me to capture the entire story of your journey through this momentous event.

I often return images to brides within the first few weeks after their wedding which they can view and share through an online gallery. Then I work with the bride and groom to select images for Fine Art books, Fine Art cards, and beautiful wall and table-top image collections. Your package will include one set of 25 custom Fine Art cards and a DVD of all the original images from your wedding weekend shown in your online gallery. These image can be loaded into a digital frame, uploaded to your Facebook or similar web sites, or used to make prints up to 8x10 size. Larger prints and other items such as books and cards are ordered through the studio. All studio prints are completely retouched and custom detailed.

I would love to speak with you personally about your wedding plans. Please contact me for availability. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1355946050839-201211241688
130x130_sq_1355945859607-201211241857
130x130_sq_1355943540817-201208100244
130x130_sq_1355945877317-201211241853
130x130_sq_1320083574631-img61482424
130x130_sq_1319484480683-201106101452
130x130_sq_1319484264342-201107020456
130x130_sq_1320083757902-img53751815
130x130_sq_1355945947843-201211241786
130x130_sq_1320082651905-201109032372
130x130_sq_1320082692015-201109032618
130x130_sq_1320082785455-201010092934
130x130_sq_1320082457571-201109032280
130x130_sq_1320083006367-201104301994
130x130_sq_1355945895070-201211241842
130x130_sq_1355945929893-201211241788
130x130_sq_1355945998790-201211241719
130x130_sq_1355946034394-201211241698
130x130_sq_1319481586878-201105210283
130x130_sq_1319481676407-201104230707
130x130_sq_1319482552255-201006290241
130x130_sq_1320083305734-201105210322
130x130_sq_1320083391642-201104230198
130x130_sq_1319482741312-201109030525
130x130_sq_1319483951796-201107021963
130x130_sq_1319482883334-201008070672
130x130_sq_1319482089074-201107022430
130x130_sq_1319482221363-201012300917
130x130_sq_1319482977590-201005150714
130x130_sq_1319483023984-201005151531
130x130_sq_1319483145508-201106100639
130x130_sq_1319483451487-201101151304
130x130_sq_1319483271588-201104300426
130x130_sq_1319483519613-201101151634
130x130_sq_1319483605241-201010090791
130x130_sq_1319483750431-201011130810
130x130_sq_1319483804516-201109030557
130x130_sq_1319483899114-201107021795
130x130_sq_1319484008330-201107021764
130x130_sq_1319484083429-img53591139
130x130_sq_1319484172676-img55581659
130x130_sq_1320083975142-201104303417
130x130_sq_1320084053628-201107020790
130x130_sq_1320084333744-201106102374
130x130_sq_1320084605205-201008072711
130x130_sq_1355946286680-201211241515
130x130_sq_1355946306137-201211241510
130x130_sq_1355946325189-201211241507
130x130_sq_1355946343490-201211241504
130x130_sq_1355946360658-201211241502
130x130_sq_1355946380859-201211241353
130x130_sq_1355946400955-201211241349
130x130_sq_1355946420646-201211241219
130x130_sq_1355946440359-201211241193
130x130_sq_1355946460082-201211241176
130x130_sq_1355946479451-201211241175
130x130_sq_1355946498476-201211241144
130x130_sq_1355946518220-201211241075
130x130_sq_1355946537948-201211241008
130x130_sq_1355946556604-201211240999
130x130_sq_1355946577166-201211240986
130x130_sq_1355946598780-201211240959
130x130_sq_1261847791477-rachelbook0023
130x130_sq_1261847751034-rachelbook0024
130x130_sq_1261847839281-rachelbook0019
130x130_sq_1261847920606-rachelbook0018
130x130_sq_1261847987287-rachelbook0014
130x130_sq_1261848078410-rachelbook0013
130x130_sq_1261848118494-rachelbook0011
130x130_sq_1261848235308-rachelbook0010
130x130_sq_1261848284534-rachelbook0009
130x130_sq_1261848384424-rachelbook0007
130x130_sq_1261848444808-rachelbook0006
130x130_sq_1261848520116-rachelbook0005
130x130_sq_1261848589017-rachelbook0004
130x130_sq_1261848675342-rachelbook0003
130x130_sq_1261848703424-rachelbook0002
130x130_sq_1261848746555-rachelbook0001
130x130_sq_1228943571612-640b2
130x130_sq_1261850458323-67
130x130_sq_1261850487124-3031
130x130_sq_1261850569183-2627
130x130_sq_1261850624691-2425
130x130_sq_1261850736551-2223
130x130_sq_1261850777135-2021
130x130_sq_1261850945582-23
130x130_sq_1261850959068-1819
130x130_sq_1261851121499-1617
130x130_sq_1261851183867-1415
130x130_sq_1261851320372-1213
130x130_sq_1261851359784-1011
130x130_sq_1261851442186-45

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Yes, all of my images can be ordered in black & white, sepia, antique hand-colored, and many other custom detailed options.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes, I used lenses with wide apertures that can capture images in very low light. I also have several lighting sources that I use as needed and when appropriate or allowed. Using available light is one of my favorite ways to photograph and I am always looking for new and creative ways to use light even in low and high light conditions.
Is your media preference film or digital?
All my images are digital. I prefer this medium for many reasons and shoot with professional cameras with extremely high resolution that are in many opinions superior to traditional film.
How many photographers do you work with?
I am the primary photographer on each wedding I cover. I sometimes use an assistant as I feel it is needed. If you prefer additional coverage generated by additional photographers, this is available for a fee.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
I cover all my events personally, with an additional photographer if selected.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I only accept 1 wedding per week so that I can devote the highest level of time and energy to each one and to the needs of the families they involve.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I have several options for replacement coverage if I am unable to photograph the event due to an emergency. I do not consider personal or family illness an emergency unless it involves emergency hospitalization. I have thankfully never had to ask for a substitute for my weddings, but if I needed one I would refer to my local network of professional photographers and the support of my national professional organization, the PPA.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
3 cameras, numerous lenses including telephoto and wide-angle with wide apertures for shooting in low light, numerous 8GB flash cards totaling more than 100 GB in available memory, a portable hard drive for backing up all cards while on the job, 2 portable flash units and a video light source for continuous lighting, numerous spare batteries
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, I bring two cameras and two flash units, numerous flash cards, and numerous lenses.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day or hourly.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes, additional hours are $350 per hour and this includes the images provided on DVD and printable up to 8x10. Larger artwork may be ordered through my studio.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
It is very helpful if lunch and dinner are available for me on the wedding day so that I can eat on the fly. I don't take breaks except for maybe 15 minutes for each meal to refuel.
Do you charge for travel?
Travel outside the Peoria Area is based on the cost and time to travel - around $100 per hour of travel for non-air travel (not doubled for return travel) and one night accommodations on the night of the rehearsal for weddings more than 1 hour from Peoria so that I am on hand for preparations early in the morning. For air-travel, each package is priced separately based on travel fees and time required.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Within a few weeks.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
A private online gallery that can be shared with friends and family as desired.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
3 months.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, unless special circumstances require otherwise and are specified in the contract.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
All packages include a DVD that is printable up to 8x10 size. Larger artwork can be ordered through my studio.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, in a private online gallery that can be shared with friends and family as desired.
What kind of albums do you offer?
A huge selection of custom designed Fine Art books with a variety of papers, finishes, crafting, and accents including fine leather and metallic photographs completely retouched and hand detailed. I will assist you in choosing the right combination of materials for your heirloom.
When will the client get the final album?
After the images are selected for the Fine Art book and the custom design is approved, printing varies from a few weeks to a few months depending on the needs of the printer and the design of the book.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
The photos Kira took of our wedding captured invaluable moments that have already begun to slip from my memory as the days pass. Looking at the photos a week after the wedding was great fun, but it was reviewing them a few months after the wedding that I realized how impeccable her timing and keen her eye. I feel very lucky to have these frozen moments captured for a lifetime of remembrance of one of the most sacred days of our lives.
The photos Kira took of our wedding captured invaluable moments that have already begun to slip from my memory as the days Read more...
The photos Kira took of our wedding captured invaluable moments that have already begun to slip from my memory as the days pass. Looking at the photos a week after the wedding was great fun, but it was reviewing them a few months after the wedding that I realized how impeccable her timing and keen her eye. I feel very lucky to have these frozen moments captured for a lifetime of remembrance of one of the most sacred days of our lives. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan and Deanna
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolute perfection! Kira exceeded our high expectations and beautifully captured our amazing day.
Absolute perfection! Kira exceeded our high expectations and beautifully captured our amazing day.
Absolute perfection! Kira exceeded our high expectations and beautifully captured our amazing day. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stepahni
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Kira has been wonderful to work with! She was professional and on time. She always kept us up to date on the progress of the photos. We used her services for engagement and wedding photos and couldn't be more pleased. Brides, she does a great job making you feel beautiful on your special day and grooms she makes you feel relaxed during those intimate pictures that are ever so important to your beautiful bride! We would highly recommend her!!
Kira has been wonderful to work with! She was professional and on time. She always kept us up to date on the progress of Read more...
Kira has been wonderful to work with! She was professional and on time. She always kept us up to date on the progress of the photos. We used her services for engagement and wedding photos and couldn't be more pleased. Brides, she does a great job making you feel beautiful on your special day and grooms she makes you feel relaxed during those intimate pictures that are ever so important to your beautiful bride! We would highly recommend her!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1320204575400-img1314
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough about how great Kira was to work with! She has an uncanny ability to capture people's best moments without them knowing. The pictures are gorgeous and we can't wait to see the finished book. We would recommend Kira for any wedding or special event!
We can't say enough about how great Kira was to work with! She has an uncanny ability to capture people's best moments Read more...
We can't say enough about how great Kira was to work with! She has an uncanny ability to capture people's best moments without them knowing. The pictures are gorgeous and we can't wait to see the finished book. We would recommend Kira for any wedding or special event! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaDolceVita2011
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Kira is an amazing photographer!! She was really organized, reliable, detail oriented and flexible to our needs/ideas. She was extremely approachable and quick to respond to emails (I was planning my wedding from Minnesota). I was completely at ease with Kira. When we saw our proofs, I just about died - I can't tell you how difficult it was to choose our favorite pictures. She was able to capture emotion and candids. We ordered one of her photo books- beautiful & highly recommended!
Kira is an amazing photographer!! She was really organized, reliable, detail oriented and flexible to our needs/ideas. She Read more...
Kira is an amazing photographer!! She was really organized, reliable, detail oriented and flexible to our needs/ideas. She was extremely approachable and quick to respond to emails (I was planning my wedding from Minnesota). I was completely at ease with Kira. When we saw our proofs, I just about died - I can't tell you how difficult it was to choose our favorite pictures. She was able to capture emotion and candids. We ordered one of her photo books- beautiful & highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KSP
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband Paul and I can't say enough good things about Kira. She truly exceeded all our expectations.
She was so professional, kind and patient. Kira was unobtrusive while was photographing us.
Our final pictures are just amazing. Kira is not only a photographer but an artist as well.
We highly recommend her to anyone interested in having photojournalistic wedding pictures.
My husband Paul and I can't say enough good things about Kira. She truly exceeded all our expectations.
She was so Read more...
My husband Paul and I can't say enough good things about Kira. She truly exceeded all our expectations.
She was so professional, kind and patient. Kira was unobtrusive while was photographing us.
Our final pictures are just amazing. Kira is not only a photographer but an artist as well.
We highly recommend her to anyone interested in having photojournalistic wedding pictures. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bclose98
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
I came across Kira Kwon by a chance viewing of her work on display at my favorite local restaurant while getting carryout. What luck, I went home checked out her work on her website and immediately called the following day and set up a date to meet. Kira's work is fantastic, I had thousands of photos to choose from, not just of my husband and myself but of everyone, wedding party and guests alike. I was able to give prints to aunts and uncles of their children and wedding party attendants and their significant others of themselves. Kira is wonderful at capturing events in the moment and uses her expertise to fade out backgrounds and make individuals pop in pictures. Not only does Kira have "the eye" for great photos, but she is a real trooper, her reasonably priced package we chose included engagement photos, her covering the rehersal and rehersal dinner and the wedding day itself, she was with me the day of my wedding from 9a.m. to 9p.m. I couldn't have asked for more. I have been in wedding where the photographer was very brash and demanding and the photos were just photos, with Kira you get a great and fun attitude and photos that look like art.
I came across Kira Kwon by a chance viewing of her work on display at my favorite local restaurant while getting carryout. Read more...
I came across Kira Kwon by a chance viewing of her work on display at my favorite local restaurant while getting carryout. What luck, I went home checked out her work on her website and immediately called the following day and set up a date to meet. Kira's work is fantastic, I had thousands of photos to choose from, not just of my husband and myself but of everyone, wedding party and guests alike. I was able to give prints to aunts and uncles of their children and wedding party attendants and their significant others of themselves. Kira is wonderful at capturing events in the moment and uses her expertise to fade out backgrounds and make individuals pop in pictures. Not only does Kira have "the eye" for great photos, but she is a real trooper, her reasonably priced package we chose included engagement photos, her covering the rehersal and rehersal dinner and the wedding day itself, she was with me the day of my wedding from 9a.m. to 9p.m. I couldn't have asked for more. I have been in wedding where the photographer was very brash and demanding and the photos were just photos, with Kira you get a great and fun attitude and photos that look like art. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
The photography was excellent. As the bride, the aspect I enjoyed the most was the feeling that no aspect of the wedding day was missed. Kira Kwon made sure that she was around for every major moment throughout the evening and then some. At the same time, she blended into the background so that guests were not really aware they were being photographed. On top of the wedding day festivities Kira Kwon was there to take photos of the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, which also proved to be just as memorable as the wedding day. If you are looking for high quality photography, I highly recommend Kira Kwon. I am beyond pleased with our wedding photos and am thrilled with the amount of the wedding day captured on film!
The photography was excellent. As the bride, the aspect I enjoyed the most was the feeling that no aspect of the wedding Read more...
The photography was excellent. As the bride, the aspect I enjoyed the most was the feeling that no aspect of the wedding day was missed. Kira Kwon made sure that she was around for every major moment throughout the evening and then some. At the same time, she blended into the background so that guests were not really aware they were being photographed. On top of the wedding day festivities Kira Kwon was there to take photos of the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, which also proved to be just as memorable as the wedding day. If you are looking for high quality photography, I highly recommend Kira Kwon. I am beyond pleased with our wedding photos and am thrilled with the amount of the wedding day captured on film! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JodiRose
Wedding:
9/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Kira did an amazing job with our wedding photography. It rained on our wedding day, but Kira was able to find great spots inside the hotel where we got ready. Our pictures turned out beautifully, and she was able to capture all of our emotions on our big day.
Kira did an amazing job with our wedding photography. It rained on our wedding day, but Kira was able to find great spots Read more...
Kira did an amazing job with our wedding photography. It rained on our wedding day, but Kira was able to find great spots inside the hotel where we got ready. Our pictures turned out beautifully, and she was able to capture all of our emotions on our big day. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kvan3
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Kira did a beautiful job! From the moment my husband and I met her she felt like part of the family. She is genuine, fun, and has a wonderful eye for photography! Our photos are amazing. She truly captured every moment in its entirety! I have and will continue to recommend her to everyone I know!
Kira did a beautiful job! From the moment my husband and I met her she felt like part of the family. She is genuine, fun, Read more...
Kira did a beautiful job! From the moment my husband and I met her she felt like part of the family. She is genuine, fun, and has a wonderful eye for photography! Our photos are amazing. She truly captured every moment in its entirety! I have and will continue to recommend her to everyone I know! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel Kaminky
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved that you were so involved on the actual wedding day. We didn't have a wedding planner but with the information we had to fill out and timeline we came up with, it felt like you were photographer/wedding planner. For the people who can't afford both it's a HUGE help. The day wouldn't have gone as smoothly if you wouldn't have been there. You kept us on track and lifted a lot of weight off my shoulders because you knew who needed to be where so I didn't have to worry about it. I had no idea going into it how involved you would be... Thanks so much for being there! I don't know what we would have done without you.

Rachel and Kevin
I loved that you were so involved on the actual wedding day. We didn't have a wedding planner but with the information we Read more...
I loved that you were so involved on the actual wedding day. We didn't have a wedding planner but with the information we had to fill out and timeline we came up with, it felt like you were photographer/wedding planner. For the people who can't afford both it's a HUGE help. The day wouldn't have gone as smoothly if you wouldn't have been there. You kept us on track and lifted a lot of weight off my shoulders because you knew who needed to be where so I didn't have to worry about it. I had no idea going into it how involved you would be... Thanks so much for being there! I don't know what we would have done without you.

Rachel and Kevin Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
I CANNOT say enough about Kira. Besides always being there with a quick answer when I needed her, her photographs were so very gorgeous. They are exactly what I wanted (modern, artsy photography) and well as what my parents wanted (the traditional stuff). She really went above and beyond for us. She was there for the rehearsal and the dinner Friday, which was really nice to have. She was planning on staying in Petersburg so she could be there early for pictures Saturday (we're about an hour or so from her in Peoria), but she couldn't get a room. She didn't have to technically start pictures until the girls starting doing hair and makeup later in the morning, but she knew my Dad and I were having a special breakfast together so she got up at 4 in the morning to drive down and take pictures of it. She is a real trooper and made everything perfect and worry free. Kira is worth every penny.
I CANNOT say enough about Kira. Besides always being there with a quick answer when I needed her, her photographs were so Read more...
I CANNOT say enough about Kira. Besides always being there with a quick answer when I needed her, her photographs were so very gorgeous. They are exactly what I wanted (modern, artsy photography) and well as what my parents wanted (the traditional stuff). She really went above and beyond for us. She was there for the rehearsal and the dinner Friday, which was really nice to have. She was planning on staying in Petersburg so she could be there early for pictures Saturday (we're about an hour or so from her in Peoria), but she couldn't get a room. She didn't have to technically start pictures until the girls starting doing hair and makeup later in the morning, but she knew my Dad and I were having a special breakfast together so she got up at 4 in the morning to drive down and take pictures of it. She is a real trooper and made everything perfect and worry free. Kira is worth every penny. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sue
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Kira did a magnificent job!! She caught every moment from the rehearsal to the time that they drove away after the reception. She was wonderful to work with (very pleasant and very professional), and if I had another daughter I would want her to be the photographer.

Sue Bangert
Mother of the Bride
Kira did a magnificent job!! She caught every moment from the rehearsal to the time that they drove away after the Read more...
Kira did a magnificent job!! She caught every moment from the rehearsal to the time that they drove away after the reception. She was wonderful to work with (very pleasant and very professional), and if I had another daughter I would want her to be the photographer.

Sue Bangert
Mother of the Bride Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/14/2008
5.0/5.0
The photo Kira Kwon Photojournalism took was the best! I love the way how me and my wife looked. The photo was very clear and clean. I would recommend this to everyone, they came to my wedding fast and it was very good. The photo they took will last forever.
The photo Kira Kwon Photojournalism took was the best! I love the way how me and my wife looked. The photo was very clear Read more...
The photo Kira Kwon Photojournalism took was the best! I love the way how me and my wife looked. The photo was very clear and clean. I would recommend this to everyone, they came to my wedding fast and it was very good. The photo they took will last forever. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krist282
Wedding:
5/29/2004
5.0/5.0
Kira took pictures as a guest at my wedding and later presented them to us beautifully framed and color-enhanced as an unforgettable gift. Since the more candid and artsy-type shots are more our style, the images she captured are more my style and truly beautiful works of art. I have recommended her to many friends and look forward to using her for family pictures someday. :)
Kira took pictures as a guest at my wedding and later presented them to us beautifully framed and color-enhanced as an Read more...
Kira took pictures as a guest at my wedding and later presented them to us beautifully framed and color-enhanced as an unforgettable gift. Since the more candid and artsy-type shots are more our style, the images she captured are more my style and truly beautiful works of art. I have recommended her to many friends and look forward to using her for family pictures someday. :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Kira Kwon Photojournalism responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your comments. They mean a lot to me.

Kira

MAP

 
4450 N Prospect Road, Peoria Heights, IL 61616 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kira Kwon Photojournalism
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1261845195376-200908292149tcdshf