130x130_sq_1360855854620-1296585973253blogeimg0750

Kristina Hill Photography

Brooklyn , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Brooklyn, NY US 11215 (map)

PHONE

917-887-0092

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kristina has a genuine love for the art of modern wedding photography. She believes in making images that capture people’s emotions and expressions, creating true to life memories that... Read more
Kristina has a genuine love for the art of modern wedding photography. She believes in making images that capture people’s emotions and expressions, creating true to life memories that will last forever.


From the creative consultation to the presentation of your printed proofs and albums, Kristina always has your personality and vision in mind. Using a mix of creative portraiture and photojournalism, her organic approach makes for images that mirror your wedding day perfectly, allowing you to treasure both the moments you may have missed and the moments you never want to forget.


Along with having her wedding photography recognized by Photo District News (PDN) as a finalist in 2010′s Top Knots: New School of Wedding Photography contest, Kristina’s work is regularly published in newspapers and magazines around the world. She is an accredited member of the Professional Photographers of America (PPA). Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1276606368592-img4342edit
130x130_sq_1296585973253-blogeimg0750
130x130_sq_1264542850116-final1876
130x130_sq_1264542882710-img2093
130x130_sq_1264542864803-img0410
130x130_sq_1264542855491-img0289
130x130_sq_1264542852366-img0053
130x130_sq_1264542849788-details049
130x130_sq_1264542898741-img4794edit
130x130_sq_1264542892585-img3617edit
130x130_sq_1264542855975-img0266
130x130_sq_1264542879225-img1887
130x130_sq_1264542872647-img0843
130x130_sq_1264542869678-img0720
130x130_sq_1264542852960-img0139
130x130_sq_1264542877350-img14782
130x130_sq_1264542872538-img0852
130x130_sq_1264542858069-img0319
130x130_sq_1264542858335-img0294
130x130_sq_1264542861569-img0393
130x130_sq_1264542861491-img0434
130x130_sq_1264542865100-img0453
130x130_sq_1264542867928-img0593
130x130_sq_1264542868413-img0444
130x130_sq_1264542869975-img07202
130x130_sq_1264542874819-img0936
130x130_sq_1264542875241-img1131edit
130x130_sq_1264542877241-img1427
130x130_sq_1264542902897-img4810
130x130_sq_1264542879538-img1921
130x130_sq_1264542882741-img2102
130x130_sq_1264542885335-img2411
130x130_sq_1264542906053-img5007
130x130_sq_1264542895053-img4590edit
130x130_sq_1264542886116-img2413
130x130_sq_1264542888007-img2560
130x130_sq_1264542908085-img8514
130x130_sq_1264542889757-img2602
130x130_sq_1264542890038-img3574
130x130_sq_1264542892303-img4014
130x130_sq_1264542895053-img3695
130x130_sq_1264542898178-img4787
130x130_sq_1264542900475-img4957
130x130_sq_1264542902897-img4977
130x130_sq_1264542906053-img5677
130x130_sq_1264542909100-img8549
130x130_sq_1264542910710-img8813
130x130_sq_1264542911241-img8834
130x130_sq_1264542887022-img2550
130x130_sq_1264542912366-img8856
130x130_sq_1264542913085-img9098
130x130_sq_1264542914444-img9276
130x130_sq_1264542916053-img9259
130x130_sq_1264542917178-img9447
130x130_sq_1264542919022-img9409
130x130_sq_1264542919632-img9699
130x130_sq_1264542922069-img9817
130x130_sq_1264542926553-weddingportfolio19
130x130_sq_1264542926882-weddingparty030
130x130_sq_1264542928882-weddingportfolio43

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

2.9
out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
2.8/5.0
2.9/5.0
3.0/5.0
3.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lin
Wedding:
6/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Kristina has been nothing but amazing. We cannot stop looking out our photographs, each time brings us to tears. She is professional, fun and above all, talented. We hired her based on a recommendation of a friend and would recommend her to anyone and everyone. Thank you, Kristina, for everything you've done for us. We cannot wait to work with you again! Jason & Lin
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
4/20/2013
0.0/5.0
My wife and I were married on 4/20/13 and have not received anything but excuses from Kristina...and that is when she bothers to reply at all.
Like other reviewers have mentioned here, Kristina was terrific leading up to the wedding with the exception of having to reschedule our engagement photo session due to her contracting food poisoning. Seems illness, pregnancy, and crappy computing skills are par for the course with this one.
Day of the wedding she was great. We even got to see our photos on her blog (not surprised being this is a marketing tool for her) a few weeks after the event.
Admittedly, my wife and I dragged our feet a little getting back to her with the photos we wanted her to edit, but once we did she had nothing but excuses for us. It is now over a year since our wedding. Wish I read these reviews before we hired her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
4/20/2013
0.3/5.0
** DO NOT HIRE THIS PERSON...DO NOT HIRE THIS PERSON...DO NOT HIRE THIS PERSON **
I wish all these reviews were around when I was getting married. Sadly, they weren't.

Kristina has NOT given us our photos (which also includes our engagement pics) and at this rate and reading all the reviews, it looks like I'm never getting my wedding and engagement photos. (We were married April 2013)

At first, Kristina is sweet and very good at getting back to us via email but once the wedding is over and you've paid her, the issues begin!! Now at first I thought the reason there was a delay in getting the photos was because she had a baby. I WAS WRONG TO THINK THAT! Apparently, having a baby is NOT the cause of the delay in our pics. She seems to have an issue with giving her clients their pictures before she was even pregnant. She seems to have an issue with communicating once you pay her. She seems to be M.I.A. after your wedding. She seems to have only excuses as to why you don't have your pics.
This is what we have experienced with her:
1) Once you pay her your final payment, you will NOT hear a word from her regarding the pics.
2) When emailed, she will NOT respond.
3) When she finally responds to your 20th email, there are 7 million excuses as to why she didn't get back to you.
She constantly avoids my husband's emails. She will write back to me only after I've begged her to respond and the only thing she has to say is --> more excuses and/or she will get back to us with a date as to when they will be done. (FYI: She then avoids us/never hearing back from her & this process continues)

I can't explain to you how upsetting it is knowing that I'll never get my wedding and engagement photos. I'm completely devastated that she has done this to us. We will be bringing her to court.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/26/2012
2.5/5.0
Our experience with Kristina started off great but ended up being really frustrating. Our 6-month anniversary is tomorrow and we still don't have our copies of the photos. We didn't even ask for an album--just a DVD of the photos. If you don't read any further than this, here's my overall statement: I'm not saying don't book her, I'm just saying don't expect her to be responsive once you've paid her, and don't expect to get your photos for a LONG time after your wedding.
She was recommended to us by friends who got married a few months before we did, and they were referred in the same way. All three couples have had the same experience. She's great leading up to and during the wedding, but once you'd paid her, she becomes very evasive. She will post a few photos on her blog, and if you bug her enough, she'll put your proofs up on the website, but once it comes to actually editing and delivering them, it's a nightmare. All excuses and no action. She is self-admittedly struggling to make this business work for her, and it shows. It's a shame, because she is very talented...she was fun, helpful and easy-going all the way through the big day, but then she just drops the ball in favor of other projects, assumingly the ones that bring her more money. My initial review was 100% positive, but I just couldn't in good conscience leave in unrevised given our experience.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I have been married a little over a week and are still reeling from a fantastic VT wedding. Kristina captured the day so beautifully and originally. We had some unusual elements at our wedding such as a live hawk, very large wedding party, several specific shoot requests in addition to the traditional. When the day of proved more hectic than my best laid plans Kristina rolled with it and maximized her time and kept the photo shoot on track. What we loved about Kristina in addition to her professionalism was that she was very accommodating and easy to work with. She was always shooting and observing, but never intrusive so seamlessly blended in with the party while capturing beautiful images. We will definitely be hiring Kristina again for future photo needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/13/2012
0.0/5.0
I am witting to amend my previous post which was prematurely positive to say the least. My husband and I were married last October and are STILL awaiting are photo album and DVD. "Anonymous" articulated our experience perfectly in that Kristina somehow finds the time to be responsive under the guise of professionalism up to and during the wedding, but her true negligence becomes apparent immediately afterward. Our inquires into the status of our photos were either repeatedly ignored or met with placating lies of expected delivery dates. We are in the process of filing suit against Kristina Hill Photography for her abhorrent failure of delivery and in demand of our wedding photos for which she has been paid in full nearly 9 months ago. It's an absolute shame. These are not backyard barbecues she is capturing - these are irreplaceable wedding memories. It is unfathomable why anyone attempting a small business venture would deem this acceptable.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Very professional and our guests just loved her!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/23/2012
0.0/5.0
I, too, must amend my previous positive review.

I am having many of the same issues as other reviewers here. We are now a year and a half post-wedding and I have nothing to show for it. I take partial blame for the overall delay because I did not finalize all of my "favorites" for editing until a few months after the wedding. Never having been given a deadline from Kristina, however, I didn't think this was an issue and was told that it would only be 3 or 4 weeks from that point to get my disc. It is now many months since submitting my favorites and still...nothing.

Pre-wedding and day-of Kristina was wonderful to work with. Post-wedding she has been unresponsive and full of excuses (many of the same ones I see that others have been receiving as well). At least I'm not alone. I have reached out to Kristina in a final attempt to have her complete the terms of our contract. Should she not deliver, I will pursue whatever legal options I have to rectify her default.

Please save yourself a headache and book someone else.


Previous Review:
Kristina Hill not only captured our day in beautiful and creative ways, she was a DELIGHT to work with from day one! I met Kristina through an acquaintance and even though she was the only photographer I met with, I knew right away that she was the one for us, so I went with my gut. My husband and I are performers as are most of our friends, and Kristina totally "got" what we were all about. She went right along with us and we had a lot of fun, which resulted in amazing photos! Kristina was always available to us, even offering to have a Skype meeting in the weeks before my wedding. I cannot recommend Kristina enough. Thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are recently married and we have nothing but wonderful things to say about Kristina. Working with her on our wedding day was a complete joy and as I look through our wedding photos (over and over again!), I overflow with happiness.

Kristina is creative and fun and easy to work with. She also has a calmness to her that shines through on a wedding day (and there were many thing on our day that were not very calm!). My wedding party and family kept remarking how Kristina was everywhere during the wedding. In truth, I barely remember seeing her once the ceremony began, because I was completely caught up in the quick-pace of the day!

But as I went through our wedding proofs, I was able to see what my guests meant. I don't believe Kristina missed a beat that day.

I know a lot of couples struggle with budgeting decisions when planning, so I won't lie, my husband and I had a lot of 'back and forth' when choosing our photographer and at the time of choice, we considered Kristina to be over our budget. There was a lot of deliberating, but I'm so glad we went with our gut on this one.

Sifting through our wedding photos (which I think I look at every day on during lunch break!) I am brought right back to my wedding day, emotions and all. I couldn't be happier that I hired Kristina and I would recommend her to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
My wife and I got married Sept 2013 and have to admit that I have recieved the same service as a lot of people on this blog. Everything was ok up to the wedding (slight issue with not getting the brag books as expected from the engagement pictures but everyone makes a mistake so we decided to just get them from the wedding pictures), and the day went well. Since then it has gone downhill. After 6 months of chasing for proofs (not even actual edited pictures or books) Kristina finally admiited that she has lost 99% of our pictures due to hardware issues. Since then she has not bothered to contact us despite numerous emails and voicemails left. So essentially at the moment we have spent $4200 and we have about 50 engagement pictures on a CD. (Plus the 8 unedited pictures from the wedding she did send on a jpeg file) I can not actually comment on her photography skills in general due to not having the pictures of the day but if you are looking to use Kristina I would not pay the whole amount (which is standard for most photo contracts) until you actually have the photos from her. All in all I can understand to a certain degree losing the pictures as things can happen but to ignore me for months now and offer a refund etc and not to come through is just not on. There are plenty of other photographers in NY that I would go to before this one I am affraid.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Kristina Hill took our "trash-the-dress" pictures two weeks after our wedding. I've only seen 6 shots, and each one is more brathtaking than the last. We spent the afternoon at the beach taking shots on the getty, in the sand, climbing on things and over things, and yes - even in the ocean. Kristina was amazing. She has such an eye for shots, and really thinks whimsically. She is a true artist. And, she was not afraid to get wet, get sandy, or even lose her shoes in the process. We are sooo doing this again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
Horrible. I agree with all prior posts on her absolute lack of communication and excuse after excuse. I heard the same thing about a hard drive failure and even her claiming to be extremely ill. She will go months without answering you and then when she does its another excuse and a new deadline, but then it is silence again for months. Please do not book her. She is very talented but you will have a nightmare on your hands after. It is such a shame and disappointment. I wonder if we will ever get what we paid for :( I guess we will have to file a suit as well. What a disgrace.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
5/19/2012
0.0/5.0
Absolutely horrible, still waiting for my albums and I was married May 2012. Lies about timelines, doesn't communicate once paid and she demands payment upon completion of event. Save yourself the headache and do not book her. I'm hoping by posting this she doesn't ruin whatever has been done to create my album but I cannot wait anymore, everyone must know just how terrible she is.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
It is hard to sum up my love for Kristina Hill into one review, but let me just say that she is the PERFECT wedding photographer. She did my engagement shoot as well as my wedding. I don't consider myself to be particularly photogenic, so it surprises me that every time I step in front of her camera, I love the final product. Before the ceremony, she did an endless combination of family portraits for me, which I think will end up on a plethora of Christmas cards this December. She took endless photos of every important moment throughout the wedding (e.g. the procession, the cake cutting) and every important aspect (e.g. the table settings, the rings), but my favorite thing is that she got a ton of candid shots of my friends and family just dancing and having fun. She has a very happy and pleasant demeanor and looked like she was having a good time herself while capturing everyone else's. She is highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
my friend got married last year and they still didn't get the DVD yet. I think she is good making excuses.. I think she should be leave from this industry. Hope there are no more people making the same mistake. The reviews are pretty much same.. This woman will walk away after people pay her..
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
My husband and I thought we made the right choice in choosing Kristina Hill as our photographer but to our surprise we were wrong. After our engagement shoot was canceled minutes before arriving at the location (an hour away from our home) we should have seen the red flag. Our nightmare began after our big day. It took almost two months for our proofs to be loaded onto a website due to "file transferring issues". My husband and I as well as family ordered prints from the website and it took months for everyone to finally receive what they paid for. We continually had to email Kristina asking her where our prints were. Actually, my mother-in-law never received her prints, but at least her credit card was refunded many months later. We finally got our disc almost a year after our wedding. She claimed that her back up systems crashed and files were lost/damaged on top of multiple other excuses. What's even more disappointing is her poor quality editing. When comparing a picture on our disc to a picture from her blog the difference is clear. We've been married over a year now and still have not received the four albums we paid for. Kristina always seems to have one excuse after another. After going back and forth with her for a year, I have not heard from her since the end of March. I would never want another couple to be in this situation so I strongly suggest finding a photographer that's professional and reliable to capture your special day.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1351019726294-kristinahill2211
CJ
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I just celebrated my one year anniversary with my wonderful husband. The past few days have been filled with reminiscing and pouring over photos of both our engagement and our wedding. Kristina captured every moment so beautifully, from the formal family portraits, to the most amazing candid shots of our friends and family on the dance floor. She has the rare ability of quieting nerves, something that was much needed on the big day. I couldn't have asked for a better combination of creativity, professionalism, respect and fun in a wedding photographer. I feel very lucky to have worked with Kristina!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/16/2011
0.6/5.0
I understand some people have had good experiences with Kristina, and to be honest up until my wedding was complete I would say that my Husband and I did too. Now, almost 2 years after getting married, we have no discs, no photos, despite being promised several months ago we would receive them. What is worse is that Kristina has now been paid in full for almost two years and we never received the product that we purchased, and she has not communicated with us at all. Our phone calls and emails go without answer, and now I am in the nightmare position of having to pay a lawyer and take off work to go to court to force a response. I am not a mean spirited individual and was quite patient, but not having photos of such a special day is a nightmare and I would hate anyone else to have to endure the same.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alrudycol
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.8/5.0
Kristina was a great wedding photographer. Her packages include an engagement shoot, which my finance and I originally didn't really plan on doing, but we were glad we did in the end. We got to know Kristina better, it was fun and the photos were great - we even used a few as decorations at the reception. We had a vintage themed wedding and she use a great apartment on the Upper East Side as our location. Perfect! Everyone on the wedding day said she was so good they hardly realized she was there and was very stealthy about getting pictures at the reception.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
My partner and I were tirelessly scouring the internet in search for an engagement/wedding photographer. Our criteria was to find someone whose work was amazing and prices were affordable, and who would make us feel at ease. As a gay couple, that third requirement is very important.

From the moment we came upon her website we fell in love with her work and her prices are great. She was very prompt in responding to us and was an absolute pleasure to work with. We were a little nervous in the beginning of the engagement shoot but she helped us to warm right up. At the end of our session, without even seeing a single photo, we knew that she was the one we wanted to capture our wedding so we "proposed" to her right then and there. She said yes!

We were right in our choice; the photos from that shoot are ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! We look forward to having her capture our special day in Mexico. Yes- she even does destination weddings. :) I'll make sure to update you on that too!

Book her!!! You'll be glad you did!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bglntcvr2010
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We absolutely adored working with Kristina and can't recommend her highly enough! When we first contacted her we were unsure about how many hours we'd need and what suited us best - planning a wedding can be so overwhelming, especially when paying yourself! But Kristina really took the time out to design a package that made sense. She was honest about how many hours she felt we could use and didn't try to sell us things we wouldn't need (a rarity in the wedding industry). But most of all, we felt at ease with her. On our wedding day, Kristina was amazing. She was everywhere, capturing everything, I was nervous she didn't eat or drink a thing, lol. She kept me calm while getting ready and cool when things were going a bit... well unplanned. At the end of the night, I noticed various family members hug her goodbye and everyone remarked at how wonderful a photographer she was. But the best thing about working with Kristina - her photographs. I look at our proofs over and over and over again, reliving our wedding day with so much happiness. We are forever grateful to her for her artistic eye and friendly approach to capturing our wedding day. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sammyz
Wedding:
2/12/2010
5.0/5.0
We are forever grateful to Kristina for the many gifts she gave us – to knowing at first lovely meeting that we could check off “find photographer” from our to-do list, our freezing cold(!) but incredibly fun, creative and beautiful engagement shoot (that connected us with what we were doing all this crazy wedding planning for), for being both delightfully laidback and incredibly professional and making it all so so easy, for capturing our wedding weekend (ceremony in our home in Bay Ridge, reception at ReBar in Dumbo) with warmth, creativity, joy and beauty. Kristina’s photography is poetry – she tells the story of your love, your day, the ones you love, the big and little moments that make your wedding unique and beautifully yours. I can’t recommend her highly enough, but it’s my privilege to try. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
10/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Kristina has the unique touch in capturing special moments. Her approach is unique, artistic and original. These are just a few of the reasons why we selected her to be our official wedding photographer. She has captured every moment at our wedding in her own special way. She was very easy to work with, prompt, and professional. My husband and I are both VERY pleased with Kristina's work. I would highly recommend her to anyone who needs professional photography services.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1276650072608-img1017
danalauren
Wedding:
6/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Kristina is awesome. She really loves what she does and it comes across in her work. She is creative with photos and thinks outside the box to get unique shots. We loved having her with us in Jamaica for our destination wedding where she shot both our wedding day and a trash the dress session the day after. She is fun, easy going and blended in well with our family. We have amazing photos from our wedding to always remind us of what a wonderful time it was, and we have Kritina to thank for that.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MJandRach07
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Kristina. From the second we met her, we knew we wanted to book her and from the second we booked her, we could not have been happier. From our engagement shoot to our wedding day, her creativity, fun personality, attention to detail and kindness wowed us. All of our guests fell in love with her - having a small intimate wedding, we couldn't have chosen a more personable and talented photographer. We highly recommend her!!!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Brooklyn, NY 11215 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kristina Hill Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo