130x130_sq_1291129867673-kscpromoshot

Kurtis Cross

Charlotte , NC

LOCATION

Kensington, MD US 20895 (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Professional Wedding DJ Entertainment!



The Kurtis Cross Team Of Wedding Professionals is an experienced group of DJ entertainers having provided wedding DJ... Read more
Professional Wedding DJ Entertainment!



The Kurtis Cross Team Of Wedding Professionals is an experienced group of DJ entertainers having provided wedding DJ entertainment and wedding/reception coordination for more than 25 years. With four professional DJ entertainers and a staff of wedding/reception coordinators, we help you to create the celebration of a lifetime!

View our web commercial by clicking here!

Our wedding DJ services offer you the perfect musical score for your wedding celebration. From ceremony music to great M.C. services to leading your reception as only an experienced professional can, you'll know from step one, that your wedding day will be a great celebration. Kurtis S. Cross, Christine Lemke, Carlos Marroquin & Shawn Parker have the experience of more than 2,500 weddings. As professional wedding DJ entertainers, we'll create a great celebration without stealing the show!

Our team of wedding & reception coordinators are the perfect addition to your wedding day. You can leave all the detail oriented tasks to our staff as that's what we are here for! With each of our wedding DJ packages, each couple will also receive the services of one of our dedicated reception coordinators. If you are looking for even more attention to detail, we can provide complete wedding planning services. While these services are separate from our reception services, we can provide both, under one roof and leave you completely worry free! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1382574153143-100612-procopio-photography-119
130x130_sq_1382574020108-601006747754861223182549813n
130x130_sq_1279834095624-img1229
130x130_sq_1279834109483-img4449
130x130_sq_1279834095639-img1391
130x130_sq_1382574092063-img0671
130x130_sq_1279834099717-img1463
130x130_sq_1279834100108-img1481
130x130_sq_1279834101952-img1986
130x130_sq_1279834103905-img2772
130x130_sq_1279834105702-img2786
130x130_sq_1279834105733-img2832
130x130_sq_1279834107530-img3278
130x130_sq_1279834107608-img4019
130x130_sq_1279834109452-img4783
130x130_sq_1279834111342-img4928
130x130_sq_1279834111420-img4914
130x130_sq_1279834113420-img5097
130x130_sq_1279834113342-img5099
130x130_sq_1279834115452-img7007
130x130_sq_1279834115608-img6949
130x130_sq_1279834117295-img8492
130x130_sq_1279834117592-img8353
130x130_sq_1279834119233-img8500
130x130_sq_1279834121108-img8914
130x130_sq_1279834123139-img9171
130x130_sq_1279834123249-img8930
130x130_sq_1279834124514-img9723
130x130_sq_1382573987577-100612-procopio-photography-123
130x130_sq_1382574005162-100612-procopio-photography-127
130x130_sq_1308630556875-img7666
130x130_sq_1308630540593-img7122
130x130_sq_1308630541593-img7125
130x130_sq_1308630542328-img7143
130x130_sq_1308630542875-img7181
130x130_sq_1308630544250-img7186
130x130_sq_1308630544937-img7217
130x130_sq_1308630545609-img7260
130x130_sq_1308630546500-img7332
130x130_sq_1308630547234-img7443
130x130_sq_1308630547921-img7475
130x130_sq_1308630548593-img7510
130x130_sq_1308630549484-img7538
130x130_sq_1308630550281-img7541
130x130_sq_1308630552812-img7592
130x130_sq_1308630553546-img7631
130x130_sq_1308630554500-img7653
130x130_sq_1308630555156-img7661
130x130_sq_1335181528995-img2075
130x130_sq_1335181541493-img9279
130x130_sq_1335181530376-img2085
130x130_sq_1335181531467-img2088version2
130x130_sq_1335181532532-img2099
130x130_sq_1335181533835-img2141
130x130_sq_1335181534881-img2144
130x130_sq_1335181536128-img9180
130x130_sq_1335181537412-img9181
130x130_sq_1335181538730-img9215
130x130_sq_1335181540165-img9274
130x130_sq_1335181542840-img9302
130x130_sq_1335181543950-img9320
130x130_sq_1335181545004-img9325
130x130_sq_1335181546642-img9356
130x130_sq_1335181591188-img2148
130x130_sq_1395694432727-spring-2014-promo.00
130x130_sq_1399918585614-img569
130x130_sq_1396237088186-1456028896745207018420507217272n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237091555-1513806896743910351883970936772n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237094269-1901272101539895797857272002287537n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237098042-19120248967451770184231184375433n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237101794-19628058967456936850381022526726n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237105552-19769838967445303518211878061881n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237108791-100014428967445336851541759202473n-cop
130x130_sq_1396237112282-img0003-cop
130x130_sq_1396237115387-img0038-cop
130x130_sq_1396237117800-img2389-cop
130x130_sq_1396237122354-img2390-cop
130x130_sq_1396237125407-img2394-cop
130x130_sq_1396237128460-img2400-cop
130x130_sq_1396237131665-img2401-cop
130x130_sq_1396237134490-img2406-cop
130x130_sq_1396237137902-img2412-cop
130x130_sq_1396237140775-img2430-cop
130x130_sq_1396237143746-img2436-cop
130x130_sq_1408152412283-9970077517319415400707605789036251304561n
130x130_sq_1408152414822-10103346839508916515091474124902n
130x130_sq_1408152417123-11737116839496849849631633616089n
130x130_sq_1408152419791-16255837038490996616885779981313350032823n
130x130_sq_1408152423191-100015336839496683182981627050499n
130x130_sq_1408152425790-101718316839497516516231449613976n
130x130_sq_1408152427827-102520117038492196616764414954004700388526n
130x130_sq_1408152430669-102562227038491563283494510953066890488812n
130x130_sq_1408152433665-103019316959927704473214269701797900391242n
130x130_sq_1408152435651-104408227300287903770528569609770564385159n
130x130_sq_1408152438721-104534767300289003770412235648476938529705n
130x130_sq_1408152441767-104772627300286103770708290874900909230932n
130x130_sq_1408152444785-104828907300290203770296484822032757686538n
130x130_sq_1408152447111-104948597300290170436968364786951895847684n

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
The experience of over 25 years has afforded me the opportunity to meet with hundreds of couples planning their wedding celebration. In that experience, I have developed a DJ style that absolutely seeks out the needs of each couple first. For those looking for a laid back professional, I've been most commonly thought of as such. However, if you'd like a bit more interaction and showmanship, I've been know to do just that. In short, I have the experience to provide each wedding and each couple with the style they seek, to match the style of reception they envision.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
We are only limited to the number of hours scheduled for each reception. Requests are welcome and we do not limit the # of requests that couples can make. After all, this is their reception and our goal is to design a celebration that matches their tastes!
What is your usual attire?
Typically a suit or tuxedo is the requested attire from our clients. In either case, we feel equally comfortable.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
For any song request that is not in our library of more than 100,000 songs, we will purchase the music at no cost to the couple.
How many other DJs do you work with?
The Kurtis Cross Team is...<br>&#13; Kurtis S. Cross<br>&#13; Christine Lemke<br>&#13; Carlos Marroquin<br>&#13; Shawn William Parker<br>
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Our packages start with four (4) hours of service. We will, however, perform for any amount of time that a couple wishes.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Absolutely! We meet with couples in person or via Skype. While many couples choose to meet in person, we are also available daily via Skype to video-conference. In person appointments can be scheduled from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Thursday. We apologize that weekend appointments are limited due to our performance schedule.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We've performed at more than 2,500 wedding celebrations in 25+ years. Although American weddings are the majority of those weddings, we have extensive experience with Jewish, Hindu, Korean, Chinese, Greek, African and Latin weddings. Not only do we regularly perform at ethnic weddings but our music library reflects these experiences. In addition, two our DJ professionals (Kurtis & Carlos) bilingual (English/Spanish).
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely! A "Do-Not-Play" list is an important part of creating your perfect musical score.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Not only do we bring our own equipment, but we bring two of everything! From back-up amplifiers & speakers to laptops, hard drives and microphones... we back-up everything. Our equipment is well cared for, easy on the eyes and ready to provide great sound during your wedding celebration.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer uplighting, gobos, intelligent lighting, dance floor lighting, lasers and more. We also have A/V equipment to provide a projector & screen package for DVD presentations or slide shows.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
For each wedding celebration, we ask for one six (6) foot table for set-up. We arrive between 60-90 minutes in advance for set-up. There is not charge for set-up and we are always willing to arrive even earlier if needed.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
We do not have any extra space requirements.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
We will never treat a wedding like a trade show. Thus, we do not have any signage, banners or advertising material on display at any wedding. Additionally, we will never invite a potential couple to preview your wedding.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
As your wedding professionals, we will M.C. all traditions and activities. From your grand entrance to the final dance, we will lead you and your guests masterfully through your celebration.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Each wedding celebration is different and thus, each crowd is different. There is no "sure fire" method for motivating every crowd to dance. What may work for one crowd will not assuredly work for another. We pull on the experiences of each of our events to inspire each of our performances. If a crowd is not dancing much, we are sure to correct that in a hurry!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Simply put, we do not take breaks. We value each moment in a wedding celebration and do not take breaks during our contracted time.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Because we do not take breaks, the music never stops!
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We always have back up equipment and a back up DJ entertainer available in the event of an emergency.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No. When a couple books a DJ from The Kurtis Cross Team, they are guaranteed to get that DJ. Each DJ works one wedding per day. We are dedicated to you on your wedding day... you deserve nothing less.
What is your overtime rate?
Our overtime rate is based on the package chosen.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Our DJ services are available from Maine to Florida. Having performed in each state on the east coast, travel fees do apply for distances over 100 miles from the Washington, DC & Charlotte, NC areas. If a wedding celebration is within 100 miles of Washington, DC or Charlotte, NC, there is no travel charge.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
A deposit in the amount of $500 secures your date and guarantees your reservation.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandon
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
We wanted all of our guests to have fun and enjoy themselves at the reception and DJ Kurtis Cross and absolutely delivered. The dance floor was never empty and he also played a nice variety of music. Our wedding was legendary thanks to Kurtis.
We wanted all of our guests to have fun and enjoy themselves at the reception and DJ Kurtis Cross and absolutely Read more...
We wanted all of our guests to have fun and enjoy themselves at the reception and DJ Kurtis Cross and absolutely delivered. The dance floor was never empty and he also played a nice variety of music. Our wedding was legendary thanks to Kurtis. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisha
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross and his team were excellent. I had Christine as my dj and I could not have asked for anything better. They helped me with all the details, even when i thought they were just pesky details. Both Christine & Kurtis were there with a phone call or e-mail whenever I reached out for help. Honestly, they were my best vendor. On the day of our wedding, Christine made sure that we stayed on time from our first dance to dinner to dancing. She kept the dance floor full and picked awesome music throughout the night. I highly recommend Kurtis & his team, especially DJ Christine!
Kurtis Cross and his team were excellent. I had Christine as my dj and I could not have asked for anything better. They Read more...
Kurtis Cross and his team were excellent. I had Christine as my dj and I could not have asked for anything better. They helped me with all the details, even when i thought they were just pesky details. Both Christine & Kurtis were there with a phone call or e-mail whenever I reached out for help. Honestly, they were my best vendor. On the day of our wedding, Christine made sure that we stayed on time from our first dance to dinner to dancing. She kept the dance floor full and picked awesome music throughout the night. I highly recommend Kurtis & his team, especially DJ Christine! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phil
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job in making our wedding day special! They were great about collecting info in advance to appropriately plan for our reception. And during the reception itself they were able to find a balance between sticking to the itinerary and making adjustments on the fly to fit the mood of the moment. I can't recommend them enough!
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job in making our wedding day special! They were great about collecting info in Read more...
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job in making our wedding day special! They were great about collecting info in advance to appropriately plan for our reception. And during the reception itself they were able to find a balance between sticking to the itinerary and making adjustments on the fly to fit the mood of the moment. I can't recommend them enough! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelby
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Kurtis was a great asset to my reception. My family and friends are a bunch of party animals, and he ensured the dance floor was never empty, which was a huge accomplishment. Plus, we had some scheduling issues due to the ceremony starting late, and Kurtis was willing to fill in when the ceremony musicians had to take off. He did an excellent job of keeping the party grooving without being overly involved.
Kurtis was a great asset to my reception. My family and friends are a bunch of party animals, and he ensured the dance Read more...
Kurtis was a great asset to my reception. My family and friends are a bunch of party animals, and he ensured the dance floor was never empty, which was a huge accomplishment. Plus, we had some scheduling issues due to the ceremony starting late, and Kurtis was willing to fill in when the ceremony musicians had to take off. He did an excellent job of keeping the party grooving without being overly involved. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I wanted to express my sincere pleasure with the service that was provide for our party on Oct 12th. Our DJ (Shawn Parker) was outstanding! He was punctual and dressed appropriately. Mr. Parker was very efficient with his set up. Before the event kicked off, Mr. Parker went through the agenda for the evening and verified that he had all request material. From start to finish, we had nothing but confidence and assurance that our musical needs were in capable hands. Mr Parker's professionalism is remarkable and I commend you on such a well run operation. I will definitely refer anyone with DJ needs to your company.
I wanted to express my sincere pleasure with the service that was provide for our party on Oct 12th. Our DJ (Shawn Parker) Read more...
I wanted to express my sincere pleasure with the service that was provide for our party on Oct 12th. Our DJ (Shawn Parker) was outstanding! He was punctual and dressed appropriately. Mr. Parker was very efficient with his set up. Before the event kicked off, Mr. Parker went through the agenda for the evening and verified that he had all request material. From start to finish, we had nothing but confidence and assurance that our musical needs were in capable hands. Mr Parker's professionalism is remarkable and I commend you on such a well run operation. I will definitely refer anyone with DJ needs to your company. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his staff were the consummate professionals. They worked closely with us on every single detail and his music selection was impeccable. I highly recommend Kurtis Cross.
Kurtis and his staff were the consummate professionals. They worked closely with us on every single detail and his music Read more...
Kurtis and his staff were the consummate professionals. They worked closely with us on every single detail and his music selection was impeccable. I highly recommend Kurtis Cross. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keenan
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I hired Kurtis 15 months before our wedding in Falmouth, MA, and he was, quite simply, amazing. Laura and I are a quite meticulous with details, and Kurtis, Paula and Christine were patient and helpful every step of the way. Our wedding was fabulous, and Kurtis was an amazing emcee. He was flexible enough to handle the changes in our schedule, yet experienced enough to get us back on time. Finally, the music was spectacular and our guests danced all night. If you have the opportunity to use Kurtis and his team, I highly recommend it.

Thank you Kurtis, Paula, Christine, and team.

Keenan & Laura
My wife and I hired Kurtis 15 months before our wedding in Falmouth, MA, and he was, quite simply, amazing. Laura and I Read more...
My wife and I hired Kurtis 15 months before our wedding in Falmouth, MA, and he was, quite simply, amazing. Laura and I are a quite meticulous with details, and Kurtis, Paula and Christine were patient and helpful every step of the way. Our wedding was fabulous, and Kurtis was an amazing emcee. He was flexible enough to handle the changes in our schedule, yet experienced enough to get us back on time. Finally, the music was spectacular and our guests danced all night. If you have the opportunity to use Kurtis and his team, I highly recommend it.

Thank you Kurtis, Paula, Christine, and team.

Keenan & Laura Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dashe
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend using Kurtis Cross services. They worked with me even when I kept changing my mind about the details of the wedding. They were professional from start to finish, and they made me feel like they cared about what I wanted for my wedding. The ended up being one of the only services I did not have any issues with by the end of the wedding.
My wedding was definitely on a budget and the Kurtis Cross DJ services did not break my bank. We used the DJ, wedding reception coordinator services, a gobo, and ceremony sound system. I can't sing their praise enough!
I highly recommend using Kurtis Cross services. They worked with me even when I kept changing my mind about the details of Read more...
I highly recommend using Kurtis Cross services. They worked with me even when I kept changing my mind about the details of the wedding. They were professional from start to finish, and they made me feel like they cared about what I wanted for my wedding. The ended up being one of the only services I did not have any issues with by the end of the wedding.
My wedding was definitely on a budget and the Kurtis Cross DJ services did not break my bank. We used the DJ, wedding reception coordinator services, a gobo, and ceremony sound system. I can't sing their praise enough! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daphne
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross and team were the lifeline for our wedding. From the moment we connected through the final hours, Kurtis and his team provide a professional and intimate level of service for us. Our wedding ceremony was a well orchestrated affair with Kurtis serving as the conductor. His attention to detail, from the processional through the recessional, providing the instrumental support for our vocalist, serving as the master of ceremony for the reception and an exceptional lighting display truely represented a great production.

It was a pleasure working with the Kurtis Cross team!!!!
Kurtis Cross and team were the lifeline for our wedding. From the moment we connected through the final hours, Kurtis and Read more...
Kurtis Cross and team were the lifeline for our wedding. From the moment we connected through the final hours, Kurtis and his team provide a professional and intimate level of service for us. Our wedding ceremony was a well orchestrated affair with Kurtis serving as the conductor. His attention to detail, from the processional through the recessional, providing the instrumental support for our vocalist, serving as the master of ceremony for the reception and an exceptional lighting display truely represented a great production.

It was a pleasure working with the Kurtis Cross team!!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1324494405241-magnetpic
Jamila & Clint
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross and his team did a fabulous job at our wedding. He is very professional and responded to every email whenever I had questions. In addition, he worked with my budget and the music he played at the wedding was awesome!

Paula acted as my day of coordinator. I emailed her the set up instructions a few days before the wedding and she was able to create the vision I had in mind. I would defiantly recommend both of them to future brides.
Kurtis Cross and his team did a fabulous job at our wedding. He is very professional and responded to every email whenever Read more...
Kurtis Cross and his team did a fabulous job at our wedding. He is very professional and responded to every email whenever I had questions. In addition, he worked with my budget and the music he played at the wedding was awesome!

Paula acted as my day of coordinator. I emailed her the set up instructions a few days before the wedding and she was able to create the vision I had in mind. I would defiantly recommend both of them to future brides. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
9/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross and his staff did an amazing job not only with the music but keeping the event on schedule. The staff provided a level of service that surpassed our expectations. When shopping around for a DJ to do your wedding people really need to take into consideration the level's of service a company provides and not focus solely on price. I highly recommend them for their professionalism and knowledge of the wedding day process and needs of the bridal party. Without them nothing would have been done as scheduled and the stress put on me the bride would have been enormous.
Kurtis Cross and his staff did an amazing job not only with the music but keeping the event on schedule. The staff Read more...
Kurtis Cross and his staff did an amazing job not only with the music but keeping the event on schedule. The staff provided a level of service that surpassed our expectations. When shopping around for a DJ to do your wedding people really need to take into consideration the level's of service a company provides and not focus solely on price. I highly recommend them for their professionalism and knowledge of the wedding day process and needs of the bridal party. Without them nothing would have been done as scheduled and the stress put on me the bride would have been enormous. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Kurtis was absolutely wonderful to work with. We booked over a year out and he was in touch frequently during the planning process to make sure everything was on track. During the reception, we had to make two last minute changes (one groomsman disappeared during introductions and my dad decided to make an impromptu speech) and Kurtis handled it seamlessly.The dance floor was packed all night and we couldn't have been happier.
Kurtis was absolutely wonderful to work with. We booked over a year out and he was in touch frequently during the planning Read more...
Kurtis was absolutely wonderful to work with. We booked over a year out and he was in touch frequently during the planning process to make sure everything was on track. During the reception, we had to make two last minute changes (one groomsman disappeared during introductions and my dad decided to make an impromptu speech) and Kurtis handled it seamlessly.The dance floor was packed all night and we couldn't have been happier. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
WONDERFUL! Kurtis and his team were so great to work with and did a great job of keeping our guests moving and grooving! Given that the weather was rainy and cold, our guest kept warm while dancing the night away! Thanks again for being a part of our special day!

Lori and Christopher Harris
WONDERFUL! Kurtis and his team were so great to work with and did a great job of keeping our guests moving and grooving! Read more...
WONDERFUL! Kurtis and his team were so great to work with and did a great job of keeping our guests moving and grooving! Given that the weather was rainy and cold, our guest kept warm while dancing the night away! Thanks again for being a part of our special day!

Lori and Christopher Harris Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1317830825965-austinandjennykissing
Jenny
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Couldn't have asked for a better DJ. My parents found Kurtis and team from attending a wedding the year before. They were so impressed with Carlos and were singing his praises so the only thing I was worried about was the pricing because good DJs can be expensive! When I got in touch with Kurtis, I couldn't have been happier with their pricing or his professionalism. Throughout the year he and Paula contacted me to check in and see if I needed anything and were ALWAYS available within minutes for even the smallest question or concern. They came early and set up and provided everything they needed. Kurtis did both our ceremony and our reception music. I was running WAY behind because of pictures and Kurtis and Janelle were on top of the agenda and gave me the nudge I needed to keep on track. I am beyond thrilled with what they did for us and they really exceeded our expectations. I didn't even have to give him a play list, Kurtis is a phenomenal DJ and I would recommend he and his team in a heart beat!
Couldn't have asked for a better DJ. My parents found Kurtis and team from attending a wedding the year before. They were Read more...
Couldn't have asked for a better DJ. My parents found Kurtis and team from attending a wedding the year before. They were so impressed with Carlos and were singing his praises so the only thing I was worried about was the pricing because good DJs can be expensive! When I got in touch with Kurtis, I couldn't have been happier with their pricing or his professionalism. Throughout the year he and Paula contacted me to check in and see if I needed anything and were ALWAYS available within minutes for even the smallest question or concern. They came early and set up and provided everything they needed. Kurtis did both our ceremony and our reception music. I was running WAY behind because of pictures and Kurtis and Janelle were on top of the agenda and gave me the nudge I needed to keep on track. I am beyond thrilled with what they did for us and they really exceeded our expectations. I didn't even have to give him a play list, Kurtis is a phenomenal DJ and I would recommend he and his team in a heart beat! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ajgman777
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow! Our wedding reception was a blast! Our guests kept telling us throughout the night about how this was the most fun they had ever had at a wedding. We owe a lot of this success to Kurtis and his team. They played the right songs at the right times to keep the dance floor packed the entire night.

We definitely recommend the Kurtis Cross team to all couples. When booking with Kurtis, you don't just get a DJ you get an entire team. Their professionalism took away all of our worries leading up to the big day. If you are looking for quality, value, and professionalism in a DJ then Kurtis Cross is your man!
Wow! Our wedding reception was a blast! Our guests kept telling us throughout the night about how this was the most fun Read more...
Wow! Our wedding reception was a blast! Our guests kept telling us throughout the night about how this was the most fun they had ever had at a wedding. We owe a lot of this success to Kurtis and his team. They played the right songs at the right times to keep the dance floor packed the entire night.

We definitely recommend the Kurtis Cross team to all couples. When booking with Kurtis, you don't just get a DJ you get an entire team. Their professionalism took away all of our worries leading up to the big day. If you are looking for quality, value, and professionalism in a DJ then Kurtis Cross is your man! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amriddle
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing! From when we first book all the way through the end of the wedding night. Kurtis made the wedding the such a party and truly helped everything run smoothly. I would recommend Kurtis to anyone who doesn't want to worry about their DJ and just wants to have a good time at their wedding.

Even in the months leading up to the wedding Kurtis and his team was always so accessible that planning was tryly a breeze. Thank you Kurtis for making our wedding the best night of our lives!!!
Absolutely amazing! From when we first book all the way through the end of the wedding night. Kurtis made the wedding the Read more...
Absolutely amazing! From when we first book all the way through the end of the wedding night. Kurtis made the wedding the such a party and truly helped everything run smoothly. I would recommend Kurtis to anyone who doesn't want to worry about their DJ and just wants to have a good time at their wedding.

Even in the months leading up to the wedding Kurtis and his team was always so accessible that planning was tryly a breeze. Thank you Kurtis for making our wedding the best night of our lives!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
msmith1980
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
My mother in law attended two weddings where Kurtis was the DJ. She loved him so much she booked him for our wedding as a wedding gift. Kurtis and his team definitely did not disappoint!!

Kurtis and his team were incredible to work with every step of the way. Along with being very experienced, trustworthy and professional, Kurtis and his team are great people who want your wedding to be the best of the best. All our guests (200) commented on how great the music was!

We very highly recommended Kurtis Cross and his team, you will not be disappointed!
My mother in law attended two weddings where Kurtis was the DJ. She loved him so much she booked him for our wedding as a Read more...
My mother in law attended two weddings where Kurtis was the DJ. She loved him so much she booked him for our wedding as a wedding gift. Kurtis and his team definitely did not disappoint!!

Kurtis and his team were incredible to work with every step of the way. Along with being very experienced, trustworthy and professional, Kurtis and his team are great people who want your wedding to be the best of the best. All our guests (200) commented on how great the music was!

We very highly recommended Kurtis Cross and his team, you will not be disappointed! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1304473017158-weddingphoto4
Mysba
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his team were amazing!! But they provided way more than just DJ services. The monthly checkins leading up to the wedding was a huge help in keeping me focused on all of details leading up to our big day. Kurtis was there for any questions I had, site visits and to provide countless ideas and suggestions. He even responded to an email I sent at midnight! LOL!! Our reception was amazing, and he kept everyone dancing all night! We received numerous compliments on the music and I honestly don't think there's a better DJ out there! Thanks Kurtis!!!
Kurtis and his team were amazing!! But they provided way more than just DJ services. The monthly checkins leading up to Read more...
Kurtis and his team were amazing!! But they provided way more than just DJ services. The monthly checkins leading up to the wedding was a huge help in keeping me focused on all of details leading up to our big day. Kurtis was there for any questions I had, site visits and to provide countless ideas and suggestions. He even responded to an email I sent at midnight! LOL!! Our reception was amazing, and he kept everyone dancing all night! We received numerous compliments on the music and I honestly don't think there's a better DJ out there! Thanks Kurtis!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paige
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross & his team really helped take some of the pressure off during the entire wedding planning process! They were detail oriented & touched base with me often to make sure we were on the same page. The reception was wonderful & much of that was due to the great music! I am beyond thrilled with their services & their help in making our day so special!
Kurtis Cross & his team really helped take some of the pressure off during the entire wedding planning process! They were Read more...
Kurtis Cross & his team really helped take some of the pressure off during the entire wedding planning process! They were detail oriented & touched base with me often to make sure we were on the same page. The reception was wonderful & much of that was due to the great music! I am beyond thrilled with their services & their help in making our day so special! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
audie514
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Kurtis was very helpful and professional about setting up the reception timeline and getting the music selections. I'm don't have a lot of music knowledge, so it was nice that I could leave it up to him.

We planned on having a live pianist play for the cocktail hour, and then Kurtis would play for the dinner and the rest of the reception. Unknown to me the pianist didn't show up, so Kurtis started DJing an hour early. I didn't know this until we were about to be announced by Kurtis and the pianist showed up. At this time the pianist demanded to be paid and was getting in everyone's face. Kurtis and his coordinator became a buffer and wouldn't allow the pianist to come near me or my husband. That was more than above and beyond. He even followed up with an e-mail expressing his apologies for the pianist's disturbance! I liked Kurtis before this, but now I am just blown away by his genuine care and professionalism.
Kurtis was very helpful and professional about setting up the reception timeline and getting the music selections. I'm Read more...
Kurtis was very helpful and professional about setting up the reception timeline and getting the music selections. I'm don't have a lot of music knowledge, so it was nice that I could leave it up to him.

We planned on having a live pianist play for the cocktail hour, and then Kurtis would play for the dinner and the rest of the reception. Unknown to me the pianist didn't show up, so Kurtis started DJing an hour early. I didn't know this until we were about to be announced by Kurtis and the pianist showed up. At this time the pianist demanded to be paid and was getting in everyone's face. Kurtis and his coordinator became a buffer and wouldn't allow the pianist to come near me or my husband. That was more than above and beyond. He even followed up with an e-mail expressing his apologies for the pianist's disturbance! I liked Kurtis before this, but now I am just blown away by his genuine care and professionalism. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Bg2
blackroselux
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
My guests are still raving about our music. They were friendly, personable, and so helpful. They really made us feel like the day was all about us. We knew we had heir undivided attention and that we were in great hands. I recommend them to everybody planning a wedding in the DC metro area.
My guests are still raving about our music. They were friendly, personable, and so helpful. They really made us feel like Read more...
My guests are still raving about our music. They were friendly, personable, and so helpful. They really made us feel like the day was all about us. We knew we had heir undivided attention and that we were in great hands. I recommend them to everybody planning a wedding in the DC metro area. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marina
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross helped us plan and prepare our reception with his detailed outlines to guide us through the process and provide us with ideas for our special night we had not yet thought of. Our reception truly turned out to be more wonderful than we could have hoped for. Everyone enjoyed themselves from my 3 year old niece to my 90 year old grandmother. I would highly recommend Kurtis to anyone who is seeking a personable and professional DJ.
Kurtis Cross helped us plan and prepare our reception with his detailed outlines to guide us through the process and Read more...
Kurtis Cross helped us plan and prepare our reception with his detailed outlines to guide us through the process and provide us with ideas for our special night we had not yet thought of. Our reception truly turned out to be more wonderful than we could have hoped for. Everyone enjoyed themselves from my 3 year old niece to my 90 year old grandmother. I would highly recommend Kurtis to anyone who is seeking a personable and professional DJ. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Fantastic DJ! Would recommend him to anyone. His consultant service is a great plus!
Fantastic DJ! Would recommend him to anyone. His consultant service is a great plus!
Fantastic DJ! Would recommend him to anyone. His consultant service is a great plus! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1272511460075-img2638
Lorna
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his team were great! High energy and great attention to detail. They really helped organize our event into a memorable and fun occasion! Def. recommend them!
Kurtis and his team were great! High energy and great attention to detail. They really helped organize our event into a Read more...
Kurtis and his team were great! High energy and great attention to detail. They really helped organize our event into a memorable and fun occasion! Def. recommend them! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeremyahughes76
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Kurtis is absolutely fantastic! We used him for our wedding because he did my sister's wedding several years earlier. He handles everything and makes sure your wedding runs smoothly all without getting in the way of your special day. I would never use anyone else.
Kurtis is absolutely fantastic! We used him for our wedding because he did my sister's wedding several years earlier. He Read more...
Kurtis is absolutely fantastic! We used him for our wedding because he did my sister's wedding several years earlier. He handles everything and makes sure your wedding runs smoothly all without getting in the way of your special day. I would never use anyone else. Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1253019246046-2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Kurtis Cross is the man! Enough said!
He and his team make your wedding feel like it's the only one that's ever mattered. They are truly awesome and I highly recommend him.
Kurtis Cross is the man! Enough said!
He and his team make your wedding feel like it's the only one that's ever Read more...
Kurtis Cross is the man! Enough said!
He and his team make your wedding feel like it's the only one that's ever mattered. They are truly awesome and I highly recommend him. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vtrenee
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his team were unbelievable! Working with them is incredibly easy and they are very organized. They provided both my reception music, as well as music for my ceremony. Kurtis also provided a projector and screen, so that we could display pictures during the reception. The team touched base with me regularly and made sure we were on the same page. My wedding day was perfect and it had a lot to do with services that Kurtis and his team provided! I definitely recommend Kurtis Cross and his team!
Kurtis and his team were unbelievable! Working with them is incredibly easy and they are very organized. They provided Read more...
Kurtis and his team were unbelievable! Working with them is incredibly easy and they are very organized. They provided both my reception music, as well as music for my ceremony. Kurtis also provided a projector and screen, so that we could display pictures during the reception. The team touched base with me regularly and made sure we were on the same page. My wedding day was perfect and it had a lot to do with services that Kurtis and his team provided! I definitely recommend Kurtis Cross and his team! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MeredithBarnes
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his team could not be recommended more highly. We really appreciated his professionalism, attention to detail, and kindness. He was one of our best vendors. Someone on his team called me about once a month to check in with me about wedding planning, and they provided a great template to plan the reception timetable. I would recommend Kurtis to anyone!
Kurtis and his team could not be recommended more highly. We really appreciated his professionalism, attention to detail, Read more...
Kurtis and his team could not be recommended more highly. We really appreciated his professionalism, attention to detail, and kindness. He was one of our best vendors. Someone on his team called me about once a month to check in with me about wedding planning, and they provided a great template to plan the reception timetable. I would recommend Kurtis to anyone! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mom & Dad
Wedding:
1/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Curtis and his crew were incredible. It was amazing the attention to detail that was given to our daughter's wedding. From the day we signed on with them we knew they were going to rock. It was so nice to receive the phone calls and emails to see if there was anything they could do for us during the planning stage. When we arrived at the reception Curtis was actually one of the first people to approach our daughter and son-in-law to see if there was anything they needed.

The music was excellent, the coordinating unbelievable, we have let everyone know how happy we were with every aspect of their services.
Curtis and his crew were incredible. It was amazing the attention to detail that was given to our daughter's wedding. From Read more...
Curtis and his crew were incredible. It was amazing the attention to detail that was given to our daughter's wedding. From the day we signed on with them we knew they were going to rock. It was so nice to receive the phone calls and emails to see if there was anything they could do for us during the planning stage. When we arrived at the reception Curtis was actually one of the first people to approach our daughter and son-in-law to see if there was anything they needed.

The music was excellent, the coordinating unbelievable, we have let everyone know how happy we were with every aspect of their services. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LD
Wedding:
3/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Flexibility was key for us and our Hindu/Jewish wedding. We had difficult music needs that we weren't sure anyone could meet (Bhangra music and the hora, for example) and Kurtis was terrific. He made sure everyone's needs were met and that my husband (who wanted to control the music himself!) was really happy with it. Everyone told us how much they enjoyed dancing at our wedding.
Flexibility was key for us and our Hindu/Jewish wedding. We had difficult music needs that we weren't sure anyone could Read more...
Flexibility was key for us and our Hindu/Jewish wedding. We had difficult music needs that we weren't sure anyone could meet (Bhangra music and the hora, for example) and Kurtis was terrific. He made sure everyone's needs were met and that my husband (who wanted to control the music himself!) was really happy with it. Everyone told us how much they enjoyed dancing at our wedding. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maleka
Wedding:
2/23/2008
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and his staff are the best!
Kurtis and his staff are the best!
Kurtis and his staff are the best! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
paul l
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.9/5.0
Kurtis's team were fantastic. Carlos was our DJ, he planned ahead and setup his equipment up in a tricky space (Decatur house) with no problems at all. Having the initial meeting with Kurtis and Carlos we instantly felt relieved and that our wedding was going to be a success (it was) as they helped talk us thru the night, introductions, cutting the cake - they kept us on schedule and best of all played all the songs we (my wife) selected. Kurtis and his entire team were very patient and always courteous, keeping in constant touch. thanks again kurtis.
Kurtis's team were fantastic. Carlos was our DJ, he planned ahead and setup his equipment up in a tricky space (Decatur Read more...
Kurtis's team were fantastic. Carlos was our DJ, he planned ahead and setup his equipment up in a tricky space (Decatur house) with no problems at all. Having the initial meeting with Kurtis and Carlos we instantly felt relieved and that our wedding was going to be a success (it was) as they helped talk us thru the night, introductions, cutting the cake - they kept us on schedule and best of all played all the songs we (my wife) selected. Kurtis and his entire team were very patient and always courteous, keeping in constant touch. thanks again kurtis. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.8/5.0
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was extrememly professional and responsive to all my questions and concerns.
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was extrememly professional and responsive to all my questions Read more...
Kurtis and his team did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was extrememly professional and responsive to all my questions and concerns. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nette128
Wedding:
10/29/2011
3.7/5.0
Very organized in orchestrating the event.
Very organized in orchestrating the event.
Very organized in orchestrating the event. Read less
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

WeddingWire Couples... A Special offer Just For You!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $200 Value
Book by October 1, 2014 to receive $200 off or FREE LED uplighting. Contact us today for details!

Offer Expires: 10/01/2014
Deal #WW7c96a91a4f0724ed
220x220_1408158849675-early-fall-2014-promo.001

MAP

 
Charlotte, NC 28201 See On Map
 
Kensington, MD 20895 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kurtis Cross
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1291129867673-kscpromoshot