130x130_sq_1343231393415-limecopycopy

La Luz Photography

Seattle , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

138 30th Ave, #4
Seattle, WA US 98122 (map)

PHONE

206-390-8306

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Capturing the essence of who you are: it's what we do.

Through fresh, modern approaches to wedding photography, we create images that tell the story of your day in most... Read more
Capturing the essence of who you are: it's what we do.

Through fresh, modern approaches to wedding photography, we create images that tell the story of your day in most authentic, emotional way. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1324432890733-002meganblog
130x130_sq_1324432901398-013meganblog
130x130_sq_1324432910164-015sandersmansionwedding
130x130_sq_1324432923706-050sodoparkwedding
130x130_sq_1324433207511-018columbiatowerwedding
130x130_sq_1324433222744-018sandersmansionwedding
130x130_sq_1324433455025-021sandersmansionwedding
130x130_sq_1324433468061-034sanctuaryatadmiralwedding
130x130_sq_1324433480271-074rcengage

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M.
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
La Luz Photography is amazing!! Aly and Ben captured perfectly, every moment of our wedding! We have gotten so many wonderful compliments on our engagement and wedding photos. La Luz Photography has outdone themselves in providing us with beautifully captured memories that will last a lifetime. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Aly is fantastic and fun! She was one of the easiest vendors for me to work with! When I had a question she was there with a prompt response. We met just a few times and I have had so many compliments from friends, who have seen our pics on facebook, saying how gorgeous our pics are. She really captured the essence of our day!! She took pics of all of the things I wanted her to but forgot to tell her so for that I am very grateful! She is a true photographer professional!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Aly and Ben were such a pleasure to work with! I could not have been more pleased, from Aly's responsiveness during the initial planning stages to her attention to detail. She first did our engagement photos which were absolutely stunning and completely captured our vision. I had such confidence in her on our wedding day that I wasn't even worried when it ended up pouring rain. Aly and Ben were prepared and ready to go no matter what the situation. They made sure they got every shot I requested. Their skills are amazing and you won't be disappointment. I must mention too how important it is to have someone do your wedding photography who you like personally and want to be around you 24/7 on that day- Aly and Ben were so down to earth, fun and personable! It helped make our day more special. They even got my camera shy hubby to smile :).
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Aly and Ben were absolutely wonderful to work with! On our wedding day Aly made feel completely at ease and relaxed about the very busy day. She was able to capture our most memorable day with beautiful pictures. Their photographs are by far our most prized possession now! Such works of art!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Aly of La Luz Photography was the perfect wedding photographer. She was a delight to work with the entire process and our photos turned out beautifully. There are so many that we love! Aly and her assistant (husband Ben) made us feel totally comfortable and confident on our wedding day. I would recommend taking advantage of the engagement photo session to get familiar with the photographer and the camera. I would highly recommend La Luz for your wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
The most comfortable, professional, and fun experience! We're so pleased with the quality of service and product received. Definately recommend!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tayia
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Aly and Ben did an absolutely amazing job! They have such an incredible eye for unique and gorgeous photos, every single important moment on our wedding day was captured and we are able to enjoy forever. They were very professional and personable, everyone loved them!! I've already got them booked for newborn photos and I can't wait!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
La Luz Photography was the epitome of the perfect vendor for us. From the first moment, Aly was with us every step of the way. In terms of logistics, her online system is streamlined and easy to use, and her communication is on point. She responds to email correspondences promptly, and is always available for a phone call or a meet-up. Every detail is perfect. Aly even helped us streamline our wedding timeline, so the day's events would go more smoothly.

Aly & Ben are personable and wonderfully dedicated to making your day special. You can tell in the quality of pictures that they take that they really love their job and see beauty in each moment. Speaking of Aly & Ben, it is so cool that you get both of them! We always had two angles in all of our images, and we both had a photographer when we were getting ready separately. It's hard to miss a shot when you have these two working together.

We started by having our engagement photos with La Luz. This was an epic event in and of itself...we spent a wonderful afternoon in Discovery Park, exploring different light and locations all around the park to get the right shots. Aly had fun with us having fun...she wasn't afraid to get a little dirty and was totally excited when we wanted to do some more nontraditional shots... :) We had lots of ideas and she was totally on board.

It was so fun to have a viewing of our pictures afterwards, and we even had a beautiful guestbook included in our package...and now it's even better because it has all sorts of lovely messages from our guests!

La Luz was there for us throughout the planning process, and I can't tell you how much this means for a couple while wedding planning. There was never a time that I questioned Aly's commitment, and her presence throughout the event was gracious and lovely. We have the most stunning wedding photographs ever now, which we will look back upon for the rest of our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sabrina
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Aly is phenomenal both in her talent as well as personally. Her enthusiasm is contagious and her efforts to bring out the best in you on your wedding day, fantastic. The photographs of our day are incredible. They tell a story and truly bring back wonderful feelings of an amazing day. Thank you Aly!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
My dad, (now) husband, and I were talking about how we generally don't recommend vendors for an event (I mean, if they royally screw up your friend's wedding... who want's to be the one who recommended them??) We all agreed the one and only vendor we would ABSOLUTELY recommend from my wedding, hands down, was La Luz Photography. Not only were our photos amazing, but Aly and Ben were both so wonderful to work with. My videographer even mentioned to me how nice and professional they both were. From the moment we met with Aly a few months before our wedding, we knew we had made a great decision in hiring them. She took us to a wonderful little restaurant, bought us a glass of wine, and a brief meeting turned into an hour of sharing stories and getting to know each other.

Some of my favorite memories of my wedding were actually of how supportive and wonderful Aly was while I was getting ready; she was so much more than a photographer for me! I am so thankful both Aly and Ben were there and honestly couldn't imagine my day without them. Thank you Aly and Ben for an unbelievable day, and even more, the most amazing pictures I could have ever imagined, to remember it by. You guys are the best!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhonda
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.6/5.0
Aly and Ben were both so helpful and fun for my wedding. They kept the atmosphere laid back and as stress free as you can. I love my photos and would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow! I cannot say enough about La Luz Photography. Aly made the process so enjoyable, from the initial meeting to scheduling the pictures and locations to the actual wedding day. I felt as if Aly was a friend from the moment we first met.

The actual wedding day could not have gone more smoothly. Aly and I went through a schedule beforehand that gave us the right amount of time for all of the pictures we wanted. She had control of the group, but we also felt totally comfortable throwing in a new idea for a picture. It was seamless and fun. And, Ben was in the background getting the pictures that no one else saw. There was the perfect balance of the fun people pictures and the artsy pictures of all of the little details.

And, the pictures turned out so well! I feel as if "La Luz" is the perfect name. She used the light so well, and my husband and I felt as if the pictures showed our true happiness and excitement. I honestly wish I looked like I did in our wedding pictures all the time! She made us look like our best selves!

Aly is incredibly talented, professional, fun, reliable, and kind.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/9/2011
4.8/5.0
Aly and Ben are amazing. They are fun, professional, and incredibly talented. We couldn't have been happier with our experience working with them, and with how our photos turned out. The engagement portrait session was really helpful for my groom, to help him get comfortable with having our photos taken. And then having Aly with me during the getting-ready-part of the wedding day was awesome - it was so easy and she fit right in to my group of girls that morning. They captured our day perfectly. We would recommend them to everyone and anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kuccori
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.8/5.0
The photographers at La Luz Photography are friendly, talented and flexible. We really enjoyed having them document our special day and would recommend them highly. They also provided our photos to us to review really quickly, - this was especially nice to be able to relive parts of our wedding, which seemed to go by in the blink of an eye. We look forward to having Aly shoot our family portraits for years to come.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AParisot
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.8/5.0
Aly and her husband Ben are fabulous photographers. I don't like having my picture taken, but I felt so comfortable around these two. Aly really captures the emotions and details of a wedding, but it's not so over the top. Aly is very warm and friendly and you can tell that she loves what she does. She is very passionate about her work and it clearly shows!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annesley
Wedding:
1/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with La Luz Photography was all around an amazing experience. Photography for our wedding was one of the most important things because the pictures will be around for our entire life! Aly is creative, passionate, artistic, professional, fun to work with, and really kind. Our pictures were incredible, and we couldn't be happier. Thanks so much Aly!!!! We will definitely be using La Luz Photography for many more special moments in our life.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katieandtravis
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough about the photographs that Aly and her husband took on our wedding day ~ they were all unique and captured our favorite moments of the day! What thoughtful and beautiful images, we cannot thank them enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison Pritchett
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
With Aly and Ben a part of your day, you are guaranteed to have amazing photos to remember every aspect of your wedding. I was so amazed at the number of incredible shots I had to choose from as I prepared my album. And, my photographs were ready so quickly after my wedding, no waiting months for pictures like friends of mine had that were recently married.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josbal
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Aly & Ben are the most favorite vendors of our entire wedding. We interviewed many photographers for our wedding and didn't quite get the "fit" we were looking for until we met with Aly. Her creative eye suited our requests for non formal wedding photos. We were only looking for 10% of the photos to be the formal (insert any typical photographer's name here) and the rest to be more creative. We got exactly what we were looking for and more. Our family commented that at the wedding itself Aly and Ben were so stealth that no one really saw them. They were not intrusive at our ceremony or reception yet got the shots that look like they were in our faces. I would recommend La Luz Photography to anyone looking for special one of a kind photos to reminisce on your special event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
5/5/2009
5.0/5.0
The photos were absolutely beautiful! Besides that, Aly was so much fun to work with. It was great having her with us on our special day, so easy and comfortable. I would highly recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
La Luz Photography absolutely exceeded my expectations for our wedding photography. My husband and I used La Luz for our engagement photos, we had a wonderful experience and decided to book them immediately for our wedding. Our photographers...Aly and Ben were very thorough in helping us to establish a timeline to make sure nothing was lost in the shuffle. The picture quality was amazing, my husband and I were so thrilled with the results. We have received numerous compliments on our photos and would highly recommend La Luz Photography to anyone!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephenie
Wedding:
11/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Aly and her husband/assistant Ben Medina provided grace, elegance and beauty in our photographs. She is fun, caring and joyful to work with. Her youth brings out the inner child and her maturity brings out the professionalism in the photo's. She has such a talent it makes me wonder why more people haven't chosen to work with her. She was very flexible with our schedule and kept in contact constantly via email with us at a moment's notice. Her husband is quiet which is good, you forget he's there and end up getting a priceless, precious photo. Our wedding can now be remembered through the beautiful quality work she's provided us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
11/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Working with Aly of La Luz Photography was one of the highlights of our wedding. I love looking back at the album she designed for us - all images captured the essence of the day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cortney
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
This is where the bulk of our wedding money went, and it was worth every penny. Aly is amazing - we'll never go to anyone else for photography services. Never!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jana
Wedding:
8/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Wow! We are amazed at the photos Aly took of our wedding! We love the artistic and touching nature of the photos. She made sure to catch all those moments we loved as well as those that even I missed! She thinks of everything and we loved having her take part in our day. She is amazing and we would highly recommend her to anyone!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shbarnett
Wedding:
8/3/2008
5.0/5.0
Aly is an amazing photographer, professional and extremely talented. We loved her work so much that we used her for our newborn photos three years later!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
11/9/2007
5.0/5.0
Aly was absolutely fantastic to work with. Her pictures captured every moment we wanted to remember from our wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tokuhisa/Babcock
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
La Luz was excellent. They will work with you and listen to what you want - what kind and style of photos you would like.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CJ
Wedding:
9/2/2007
5.0/5.0
Aly was a pleasure to work with. A true professional. The quality of the pictures were outstanding. It was difficult for me to put together an album because I had too many favorites! Over 300!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WAbride
Wedding:
7/28/2007
4.6/5.0
Prices were very resonable. Aly was very professional, friendly and personable. Easy to work with. She rearranged her vacation so she could do our wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lark
Wedding:
7/14/2007
4.7/5.0
Aly is easy to work with and very responsive. She took absolutely beautiful photos of our wedding that our friends and family love. My only issue is that she didn't seek out photos that were not right in front of here. Thus there are a million photos of me and my party-ing bridesmaids, and about 2 of my more shy husband, and his groomsmen. I'm sad we don't have more photos of him and his brother and friends, but the photos she did capture are wonderful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Truly Scrumptious
Wedding:
6/23/2007
5.0/5.0
La Luz captured the spirit of the wedding as well as the feel of photographs I wanted (specifically, I wanted few posed photos, mostly candid shots). When I look at the photos, all the wonderful emotions of the day come back to me.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daira
Wedding:
9/15/2006
4.7/5.0
Aly Medina @ La Luz Photography has an eye for special details. Not only were our portraits wonderful (she caught both candid and posed photos), but I couldn't imagine how much I would appreciate the photographs of the small things that people forget after time - a glowing candle on a decorated table, a brightly-colored paper lantern hanging from the ceiling of the reception hall, the beautiful wrapping on a wedding gift, the rose bud that had broken off its stem and was placed in a glass by the bathroom sink, etc. After all the work I put into planning our wedding, I am eternally grateful that Aly captured those special details, forever documented in photographs for us to remember and to cherish for the rest of our lives.
Services Used:
130x130_sq_1319085518768-img0391
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.1/5.0
Overall we enjoyed our experience with La Luz. She is committed to her relationships with clients and she makes time to build that relationship so that her pictures can be a more accurate representation of you. She is organized and timely with all correspondence and meetings. We also appreciated that she was aware that she was LGBT friendly, but not very educated in language to use or familiar with various gender presentations. She was engaged and even set a meeting to learn more about LGBT relevant info and hear our concerns and requests that pertained to our wedding.

We LOVED our engagement photos and had a great time taking them. The
quality was just what we were looking for. We got tons of positive feedback on those photos, but the pictures were taken in the morning on a grey, overcast day in November. Our wedding was on a sunny afternoon, and the pictures turned out so bright that we weren’t as happy with how the formal pictures turned out. The photos had a ton
of bright light from behind and washed out all of the color and whimsical clouds in the sky that day which also took attention from the people in the pictures.

Another frustration was that we warned Aly of some of our complicated family dynamics but she lost her patience a number of times and was not as professional as I would have liked. I felt like I needed to manage the communication between her and some of our family/guests which I had not expected needing to do.

We also had asked her to take a number of pictures of the "details" of our wedding. We had worked hard on decorative details and were looking to see them documented well in our photos. However, we felt like there were only a couple of pictures of the details and they were mostly taken from a distance that captured the overall space, but not the individual detail.

Overall we were satisfied with our experience and would recommend La Luz, but want to provide critical feedback to help people make an informed decision.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
138 30th Ave, #4, Seattle, WA 98122 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for La Luz Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo