130x130_sq_1340304477911-doxseywedding.810.02.2010be13

Lake Lanier Islands Resort

Buford , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7000 Lanier Islands Parkway
Buford, GA US 30518 (map)

PHONE

678-318-2061

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

With 38,000 acres of water surface to explore, stone accents blended with rustic wrought iron embellishments, a Lake Lanier wedding is a physical manifestation of Southern romance.... Read more
With 38,000 acres of water surface to explore, stone accents blended with rustic wrought iron embellishments, a Lake Lanier wedding is a physical manifestation of Southern romance. Boasting numerous Georgia wedding locations throughout the 1,100-acre resort for both ceremonies and receptions, Lake Lanier Islands Resort is the ideal place to begin your new life together.

Whether your version of an ideal ceremony is in a wooded lakeside hideaway or along a sandy beach while waves peacefully lap at the shore, Lake Lanier Islands affords you a stream of options with which to create your ideal Georgia wedding. Say your vows onboard a luxury yacht or enveloped in blooms at Legacy Pointe, just two options in outdoor ceremonies. Hold sophisticated receptions in one of our grand ballrooms or any of our other unique reception sites. Lake Lanier also employs the craft of a dedicated staff of gifted wedding specialists and event planners, an on-site executive catering chef, an extensive list of affiliations with talented professional florists, photographers, DJ’s, musicians and more.

In addition to being the perfect place for your Atlanta wedding, Lake Lanier Islands Resort is also ideal for group accommodations for the wedding party or for the bride and groom’s Southern style honeymoon, spa services before or after the event, and a variety of other Georgia wedding packages. Make destiny a legacy with Lake Lanier Islands Resort and fall in love all over again.

Call us for more information at (678) 318-2061. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1340304643369-doxseywedding.310.02.2012cbe2
130x130_sq_1340304716386-doxseywedding.510.02.20101910
130x130_sq_1340304940679-doxseywedding.1410.02.20107319
130x130_sq_1340304682871-doxseywedding.410.02.20109739
130x130_sq_1340304968169-doxseywedding.1510.02.2010fd30
130x130_sq_1340304745944-doxseywedding.710.02.20101563
130x130_sq_1340304828556-doxseywedding.910.02.2010303a
130x130_sq_1340304783194-doxseywedding.810.02.2010be13
130x130_sq_1340304867171-doxseywedding.1110.02.2010e5d6
130x130_sq_1340304895162-doxseywedding.1210.02.2010678c
130x130_sq_1340304920776-doxseywedding.1310.02.2010e9a5
130x130_sq_1340304980575-doxseywedding.1610.02.20107f6a
130x130_sq_1340311742721-carriagehousedeck1512kb
130x130_sq_1340311747329-carriagehousedeck3512kb
130x130_sq_1340311789725-monarch.ll010005
130x130_sq_1340311791293-monarch.ll020006
130x130_sq_1340311795675-peachtreeviewfrompavilion
130x130_sq_1340311808053-pineislepointe.6
130x130_sq_1340311809752-venetianpierdock003
130x130_sq_1340311839907-venetianpierentrance7768
130x130_sq_1340311933130-legacypointeceremony05200801kd1822
130x130_sq_1340312021449-magnoliaceremony2013
130x130_sq_1340311234730-lemondwedding.509.24.2011fd66
130x130_sq_1340311174554-lemondwedding.109.24.2011e580
130x130_sq_1340311191083-lemondwedding.209.24.201167da
130x130_sq_1340311207830-lemondwedding.309.24.2011e9f3
130x130_sq_1340311222716-lemondwedding.409.24.2011734f
130x130_sq_1340311244961-lemondwedding.609.24.20117f3c
130x130_sq_1340311257361-lemondwedding.709.24.2011f115
130x130_sq_1340311272973-lemondwedding.809.24.20115a65
130x130_sq_1340311286489-lemondwedding.909.24.2011d44c
130x130_sq_1340311299016-lemondwedding.1009.24.2011c09f
130x130_sq_1340311316446-lemondwedding.1109.24.20114eb6
130x130_sq_1340312347120-carriagehousepavilion1512kb
130x130_sq_1340312384714-legacypointetent207901kd1398
130x130_sq_1340312407591-pineislepointe.2
130x130_sq_1340312415845-pooldeckbuffet25949e
130x130_sq_1340312437847-pooldeckdining5881e
130x130_sq_1340312456816-pooldeckwithbuffet5916e
130x130_sq_1340312472434-southbeach

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrice
Wedding:
2/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Words cannot express how pleased my husband and I were with Lake Lanier Islands. They were truly remarkable. Customer service was definitely 5 star quality. They waited on us hand and foot as well threw in a couple extra surprises. The staff was phenomenal and views were absolutely breathtaking. Lake Lanier Islands will be our vacation spot and home for any future events of ours. We absolutely love them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
It's just terrible when you have to worry about the boring things for your wedding: linens, cutlery, food vendors, chairs, easles, etc. etc. etc. Well that's a HUGE reason why we picked Lake Lanier Islands Resort - they take care of ALL OF IT! We got to focus on ordering the fun things for our wedding since the resort had all the mundane things under control. Oh and you even get to go to a big wedding day that showcases food you choose from for your wedding, as well as view preferred vendors. Now that was a fun day! Lake Lanier Islands Resort was exactly what my husband and I were looking for when searching for our wedding weekend. We wanted a retreat-like venue, that wasn't far from the city, but far enough way to make it feel special. My girls and I spent the night before my wedding in GORGEOUS villas on the lake and we got ready there the next morning. My husband and his guys stayed at a lake house and woke up for golf the morning before our wedding. Talk about luxury. Every little detail is thought of at Lake Lanier Islands resort at the wedding women at Something Blue are always ready to answer any question or chit chat about wedding ideas. Celita is an absolute JOY to work with and you will love her too. No need to hire a wedding planner either, because you get a planner from the resort with you from sun up the day of your wedding, until the reception is well on its' way. If you want a wonderful experience for your wedding that's hassle-free, do yourself a favor and pick Lake Lanier Islands Resort.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sacha
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff at Lake Lanier in the Something Blue wedding department was simply outstanding. We enjoyed working with them thoroughly. They thought of things before we did, and were very responsive if we had questions or concerns. On our special day the staff was on point, professional and extremely supportive. Special Thanks to Monica, Celita, Dale, and Elizabeth.

Hugs and Love from Us :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Lake Lanier Islands is a wonderful place for a wedding! My daughters wedding was absolutely perfect at Peachtree Point. The wedding team at Lake Lanier (Legacy Weddings) did a fantastic job. They delivered exactly what they promised. It was a pleasure working with the entire team. Thank You!
Robin (Mother of the bride)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
On a scale of 1 - 5 and five the highest we would rate the staff of "Something Blue" wedding planners a ten! If you are planning your wedding and you want a spectacular location you must check out Lake Lanier Islands retorts, we couldn't have been happier! Thank you Celetia you are amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding coordinators here are amazing! Celita handled everything we needed, she answered all our emails, answered all questions, she was extremely nice (and so was everyone else!). All the wedding venues yall have are beautiful! The food was to die for!! You guys offer so much for weddings! We also got to stay a free night in the hotel, which was nice! We got to there room, and there was complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! We also went to Bullfrogs and ate there on our short honeymoon, that food was delicious! We went zip-lining or the first time ever there and it was super fun!! Everyone that we came into contact with at Lake Lanier Islands, was so nice and considerate. We definitely hope to be back soon for a mini vacation!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelley
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Lake Lanier is an AMAZING venue for a wedding! they have an insane number of locations on their property to chose from as well. I had my wedding at their Legacy Pointe venue and it was SO beautiful! The setting was almost ethreal. The rooms were nice, the food is GREAT and the staff at 'Something Blue' their wedding coordinators are awesome as well! Celita Fritch is who helped us and she is absolutely fantastic. She helped us secure the venue and then we were passed on to Amanda who was to do detail work. A few weeks before, Amanda quit suddenly. Celita called me personally to let me know what was going on. We set up a meeting to discuss everything and make sure we were all on the same page. Celita came back into our wedding process with only a week to get caught up and saved the day! She is amazing. It is not a normal occurance to lose someone mid planning. Lake Lanier does a FANTASTIC job of making sure they have GREAT employees for this aspect of their business. Because of that, they make sure to let go of anyone that was less than perfect. If you want an outdoor wedding, Lake Lanier is the place to be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1322669042196-fbavatar2098179
Shannon
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Celita Fritsch is one of the most professional and creative vendors I've ever worked with; she is kind and patient and flexible on most everythign; she was always there when I needed her - gave great advice and took care of everything I could ever think of or need and more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarolinaAndGreg
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
It’s taken us a while to send this because we have been traveling since our honeymoon for the last six months. We have received so many phone calls, emails and Facebook messages about our wedding and how amazing it was. We were married at Pine Isle Point at Lake Lanier Islands Resort and worked with Eric Horovitz to plan our memorable day. Eric answered all of our questions and had some really great suggestions as well. It was very obvious to us from our first meeting that Eric has a vast amount of experience with wedding planning. But it was his genuine excitement for our wedding along with the beautiful locale of Pine Isle Point that made us choose Lake Lanier Islands Resort. It was picture perfect. We had guests from 3 different continents and we are still getting compliments on how beautiful our wedding and reception was. The staff was so friendly and helpful before, during and after the ceremony. Eric and the staff at Lake Lanier made the wedding of our dreams possible. Thank you for a lifetime of memories. We would highly recommend Eric and Lake Lanier Islands Resort to anyone and everyone looking to make their special day…Incredible!

Carolina & Gregory Berry
Married August 13th, 2011
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1310863925085-0003
Martine
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Lake Lanier Islands is the perfect wedding venue. My husband and I will cherish the memories of our fairytale wedding forever. We chose the Venetian Pier for our ceremony and it was absolutely magical. I did most of my wedding planning from New York and Celita and team were wonderful and always responsive to our inquiries. The majority of our guest traveled from out of town and Lake Lanier Islands was the perfect place for a destination wedding. Hotel, restaurants, spa, horseback, golf, water park etc.. Our family and friends enjoyed a weekend getaway while attending our wedding. Thanks Celita, Blair and team. Special thanks to the staff during our reception in the Grand Ball Room. They were superb!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We are thrilled that we chose Lake Lanier for our ceremony and reception venue, and we are beyond happy with how everything turned out. We worked with Celita Fritch, and she was amazing! She helped us with everything from the very beginning, and she was always right there when we needed something. We had a wonderful experience working with Lake Lanier, and we highly recommend them for any future brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.8/5.0
The venue was beautiful and Elizabeth Davis did an excellent job. All of the people in that worked in the back ground tried to make it perfect and that is what happened. It was a perfect day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I used Lake Lanier as our wedding venue and had great coordinators Celita and Michelle. They were very helpful with all questions at all times. The day of was a little hectic because there were multiple weddings on the resort that day, but a coordinator was there most of the time to help with setup and during the wedding. The only major issue we had was the trolley that took the guests to and from the lodge and venue. I guess he forgot to come pick up the rest of the guests at the end of the night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1382534652090-5279518007584769367681524n
Lisa
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.6/5.0
Lake Lanier Islands were great! Elizabeth was a gem to work with. She had our best interest throughout the whole planning process and really knew when to kick in the customer service. While not everything went to plan, I could tell that Elizabeth knew how to handle the pressure and calm a situation when it arose. Our catering manager was very professional. Even after our wedding crashers re-entered our event, she promptly removed them without and fuss from me or my husband. They weren't always quick to respond especially when busy season kicked up, but that was kinda to be expected. We certainly had a great time, and with all of the estimates coming way under near the big day, Lake Lanier made a lot of adjustments for us like giving us money back when we weren't suppose to or upgrading our honeymoon suite to a villa from a regular hotel room even though the number of guests staying at the resort was way under. Ultimately, everyone who was at the wedding had a great time, and none of my vendors had a hard time working with the staff at Lake Lanier.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey
Wedding:
5/2/2014
4.6/5.0
I was married at PineIsle Pointe at the resort. My wedding was a dream come true!! The venue location was absolutely breathtaking, the food was excellent, the event staff was very helpful, the accommodations were awesome etc, etc! I am so happy that I choose Lake Lanier Islands Resort, the staff truly did everything they could to make my wedding the day I dreamed of!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lakeside Paradise
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.6/5.0
The Pine Isle Pointe Pavillion was the perfect venue for our wedding. It fit our personalities perfectly. We were initially apprehensive about our menu. Their quarterly tasting production left a bit to be desired. However, a private tasting was arranged and we were able to design/ personalize our reception menu. The food was fabulous and my guests raved!! It was like no other wedding they've attended in the past. Merilynn, our venue coordinator, was a God send and my wedding would not have been complete without her. If you are truly a creative person, want a wedding that mirrors your personalities and does not feel like every other wedding you've attended, this is your venue! They will accommodate your every desire and fulfill your every need.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
I would not change a single thing about my wedding. It was absolutely perfect. The services provided, including the amazing food, all met my expectations. However, I will say that I would not recommend this venue for a bride and groom who do not have a great deal of time to dedicate to wedding planning. Of course, you will put effort and time into your special day. However, I found it difficult at times to get in touch with/get responses from my Something Blue coordinator. There are so many details to attend to (as with any wedding), but they weren't necessarily presented all of the time- I often had to seek them out. With that being said, I absolutely loved my wedding day. It was a beautiful site, with wonderful staff. My husband and I will definitely be returning to the resort for vacation in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1356757676016-eg9a0440
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
I would recommend Lake Lanier Islands Resort. The place is setup for weddings and everything there is so beautiful. They are a bit pricey but hey, you only get married once, right? Food and service was great too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.2/5.0
Lake Lanier is an absolutely breathtaking venue. The chef is absolutely amazing, the food was delicious, it came out hot and they had a great selection. The people at something blue are also nice. My experience is a bit different then most. The coordinator that I originally used left and I was not assigned a new coordinator for a couple of months. Once i was assigned another coordinator we did not really see eye to eye and I was placed with another coordinator who was really wonderful. She was very prompt in helping me and answering my questions. Overall I would say Lake Lanier is a wonderful venue, but they are understaffed for the number of events they hold. I was told I wouldn't need a coordinator, but my day would not have gone off as well or been stress-free without one. I would totally recommend this venue to anyone getting married it really was the perfect backdrop to my dream wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmarino
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.2/5.0
Lake Lanier Islands was a perfect place to have my wedding when most of my guests were from out of town. My guests really enjoyed the resort as there was so much to do there. We were married at the summer house and the courtyard and the ceremony and the reception went very smooth and looked beautiful. Monica was our coordinator and she was amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better person to have facilitate our day! She was professional, organized, friendly and responsive. I give her and Celita 5 stars as far as their help with our wedding.

The only reason that I gave the resort 3 stars for quality of service was because the front desk person was very rude to me when I had asked if my room was ready. She did not care at all that I was getting married that afternoon, and had no problem telling me that. I was really unimpressed. Luckily Monica was able help me out and take care of it, she really was a superstar!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.0/5.0
We hosted my daughter's wedding at Lake Lanier Islands Resort and it was a wonderful experience. Merilynn was very accommodating and the service provided at LLI is top-notch. Food is delicious and we especially like the flexibility of customizing our menu. Trolley service and other transportation provided around the islands was great. Most of our guests were from out of state and stayed at Legacy Lodge....made for a very fun weekend for all.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
5/19/2012
3.7/5.0
Lake Lanier Islands was a great place to get married, that is without question. It is a beautiful place and as an out of town bride, they did a great job overall. There are a few things that people should be aware of when choosing Lake Lanier as their venue. First of all, there will be multiple weddings going on (this was fine for me, but it could bother some people). Because of this, make sure you tell your guests to reserve rooms early. We felt the hotel was not completely honest with us regarding how many events they had going on the weekend we got married and we ended up have people with no rooms.

Get everything in writing, they deal with so many weddings and events that they will miss some things, so make sure you have anything you were promised in writing. Lastly, if they put tip jars on the bar at your event, tell the event coordinators. This is not acceptable given you already pay a mandatory percentage into tip and after complaining, we heard that they were not supposed to put tip jars out. Unfortunately, we found this out after the fact and our guests had already lost their money.

These are common and standard issues with many venues, so again – I would recommend Lake Lanier, I just wish someone had told me the few things to watch out for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Julie
Wedding:
4/20/2013
3.4/5.0
My wedding was beautiful at Legacy Pointe which is right behind the lodge. Everyone had a great time, but there were some definite issues that you should be aware of.
1. Transportation – Major problem when the shuttle that was supposed to pick up me and the bridal party from the Villa to take us to Legacy Point didn’t show up. I ended up having to get a ride with the florist. It put us 45 minutes behind. Also, my grandmother was in a wheelchair and needed transportation to/from the hotel down to the venue. It was late picking her up before the ceremony and then after the reception and had to wait nearly an hour in the cold to be taken back up to the hotel.
2. F&B – I thought the staff was friendly however there were a few problems reported to me by guests. One table had a hard time getting any of the passed Hors d'oeuvres. The same table had their bread basket taken up before they’d even had any. When they asked to have more bread, they were told no.
3. Cake – Many of the wedding party did not get cake (including the groom). The cake was thrown away when other guests also asked for more and my mother had asked for it to be boxed up is extremely upsetting. We nearly lost the top tier as well, if my maid of honor had not been able to find a cupcake box that the baker had left us with sample cupcakes.
Like I said, it was a beautiful wedding, food was delicious, and most guests did enjoy themselves, but when you go through all of the planning and shell out a lot of money you expect to at least get an apology when these things happen and you bring it to their attention.
*UPDATE* 5/3/13- My Lake Lanier coordinator has contacted me again and said that she went to the Operations Mgr about each issue after my email to her and each department has been made aware that these were unacceptable occurances. She did seem genuinely apologetic that they occurred at all. They are working with us on a resolution.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/5/2012
2.5/5.0
Our dream was to have a Beautiful Wedding by the lake. The ceremony was amazing, but it went down hill once the reception started. Our experience prior to the wedding was great, all of the coordinators are very helpful and friendly, but the actual reception was lacking in service and chaotic. We have addressed this with Lake Lanier and after several meetings have come to a compromise. I will always remember my wedding as a beautiful day, but I would not recommend Lake Lanier for a bride at this time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.0/5.0
I loved the location and items included in the Legacy Weddings at Lake Lanier. However, I did not like the service that was provided to me. My wedding planner (assigned by Lake Lanier) was rude, the day before and off things began going wrong and she was not worried about fixing it. The items I asked for were not provided leaving my new husband and I with no transportation back to our hotel room and we did not have a seat at our own reception.
I very disappointed :(
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/20/2013
1.6/5.0
Don't get married here!! Planning our wedding at Lake Lanier Islands was a complete nightmare. We were shuffled around from intern to intern and did not even find out who was in charge until 2 weeks before the wedding. For the amount of money we spent we were treated very poorly. Every time we visited the venue, all of our questions were answered the exact same way: "I don't know." Everything we were promised was not provided. All reservations for our guests were made for the wrong day. Our big day was planned over a year and a half in advance, but two days before the event we were even told to tell our guests not to park at the hotel because of a VERY IMPORTANT WEDDING. Our day was clearly not a priority. I was continually called the other bride's name by hotel staff. And yes, they did double-book our venue, which we were promised would not be done, so at the last minute they changed our rehearsal time to accomodate the other party. There is not enough room to list everything that went wrong. The 2 stars are strictly for the catering staff and the spa. Yes it is a nice venue but it is absolutely not worth the hassle!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
7000 Lanier Islands Parkway, Buford, GA 30518 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Lake Lanier Islands Resort
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1340304477911-doxseywedding.810.02.2010be13