130x130_sq_1365986171047-logo

leigh miller photography

Overland Park , KS
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

10109 lowell ave
overland park, KS US 66212 (map)

PHONE

619-913-0913

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1365987189743-storyboard-11

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patrick
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Leigh Miller is great and a true professional. Wonderful to work with across the board. She has a special talent and a true attention to detail. I would recommend her to anyone looking for top of the line photographs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Leigh was absolutely wonderful to work with! I had been following Leigh’s work for more than 6 years, long before I was even thinking about getting married. As soon as I became engaged, I knew I wanted her to capture all of the memories on our wedding day. It was an honor working with her. She was so fun, at our engagement shoot, and through our wedding. It nice to know I could trust her, and her work, knowing that we would be happy with the outcome. Leigh has an amazing eye and knows exactly what to capture. I truly appreciate her professionalism and she knows how to keep everyone on track. That was very helpful on our wedding day, with our large wedding party and limited time for group pictures. I would highly recommend Leigh to anyone and look forward to using her for future sessions and events!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1366225117222-avatar
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I simply LOVE Leigh. Her photos are amazing and she was a joy to work with! Our wedding photos turned out amazing and couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Leigh has quite an eye for capturing a beautiful moment in unique and creative ways. If there is a photo idea seen elsewhere, Leigh is great about making an effort to give you what you want and more. Selecting a photographer was one of the toughest choices for me in the wedding planning process, but Eric and I fell in love with her work and style.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
5/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Leigh is amazing! After looking at her blog posts and speaking with her on the phone, I was sold (we were planning from a distance, so never actually met in person!). She really cares about her clients and is so genuine and responsive in everything she does. It was very important to us to 'click' with my photographer and one of the hardest decision we made. We spoke to about 10 different ones and liked a few, but nothing felt as comfortable as choosing Leigh. While she was a bit of a splurge, her experience shows! She is actually living in Kansas City, but was fine with flying back to CA for our wedding (at no extra cost). She was very realistic with how many family portrait photos we were going to be able to get and got all the details in a unique way. We got ready at the Estancia and wedding was at Scripps Seaside forum and I we did our first look before ceremony (worked out and saved some time as we did some portraits prior to ceremony). Now, six months later, she has been great letting us take our time to do our album and it is so fun to follow her on facebook :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beanerbabe
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
I had been stalking Leigh's blog well before we were even engaged because I think she is an amazing photographer. She is expensive but I basically insisted that she do our engagement photos and our wedding because I think she's the best. We flew out to California (from Baltimore) for a long weekend/vacation and did our engagement photos 1 of those days. Leigh drove up about an hour to meet us in Costa Mesa for our shoot and we were very pleased with the quality of the pictures. Everyone loved them.

We had Leigh fly out to Baltimore for our wedding day and once again did an excellent job. I had some extra time while getting ready and had a chance to talk to Leigh a little bit, turns out she also gives great advice! Once everything got rolling, I thought she might have been rushing me but I realized afterward that she was actually just doubling as a wedding day of planner and keeping things on schedule for me. You don't really have any concept of time as the bride and will get stuck chatting with people all night long and Leigh was REALLY helpful in keeping things on an appropriate timeline in order to fit it all in.

Leigh is pricey but the pictures are what you will have left of your wedding day and because of that I decided to spend a little more money on a good photographer. Someone else mentioned not having to stress about your pictures coming out really well and I could not agree with that more. Leigh was the least of all my stressors because every photo she puts on her blog is amazing so I had no doubt that mine would be as well. I thought about putting together a "must take" photo list but decided against it because I really trust Leigh's professional opinion and felt very confident in her own ability to capture wonderful moments.

One last thing, we hired Leigh for our engagement photos, wedding photos, and our "trash the dress" photos so our package was expensive. I think if you are on a tight budget but really want stunning photos, I'd splurge and book her for your wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1294185959288-0039
Mrs.Huljev
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I love Leigh! I knew before we even set a date that Leigh HAD to be our wedding photographer, and was so happy when we finally did set a date and she was available! Our wedding took place out of state and Leigh made the travel planning process so easy. She's extremely professional and seriously talented. We LOVE our images! She captured amazing moments and for that we will be forever grateful. I highly recommend Leigh!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Katie
Wedding:
4/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Leigh was so responsive, even though she was across the country! We had a great time during our engagement session: she made us feel comfortable, connected and beautiful. During our wedding, she and her assistant, Katrina, were so flexible: corralling a runaway horse, jumping in the back of our truck for some fun shots and grabbing every shot we asked for and I\'m sure a million more!I\'ll update after I receive all the photos, but hiring Leigh was one of the best decisions we made!\r\n\r\nETA: 8 months later, i can say without a doubt that hiring Leigh was the best decision we made for our wedding. I love love love our photos and just looking at them brings back all the joy we felt that day!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1269192899163-0022
Kristy
Wedding:
1/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Leigh Miller takes the most beautiful wedding photos I have ever seen. She came highly recommended to me by Erin Cole (Erin Cole Couture Bridal, in Costa Mesa) when I was buying my wedding gown. I forwarded the site to my fiancé and he absolutely fell in love with her photography. We had seen our fair share of bad wedding photography in our search.

From the first email I ever sent her, she was responsive, kind, and enthusiastic about my wedding. We went back and forth for several months, working out details, planning shot lists, and she was always happy to help. When my wedding day finally arrived and Leigh showed up to begin work, I felt as if I had already met her even though we had only ever corresponded through email. Her presence was so calming and reassuring. It was the first time that day I had felt that I could totally relax and let someone else take control! She had no problems offering suggestions and coming up with ideas on the spot. Her level of professionalism made her able to direct not only my Groom and me, but our entire wedding party and even our families. (On a wedding day, as you can imagine, that’s a lot like herding cats!)

Leigh got every shot we asked for, captured every sentiment we hoped for, and many, many moments we did not even see. Going through her photo gallery was much like attending our wedding all over again, but this time as guests! I would recommend hiring her to anyone planning a wedding. You won’t find another photographer with an eye like hers who can not only produce a breath taking photo, but can illustrate the purest emotion of two people in love on the biggest day of their lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pricipessaguel
Wedding:
10/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Of all of the work that goes into a wedding, pictures are the only thing that you will be able to look at year after year! Leigh has such a beautiful eye, and an amazing talent, I will cherish our pics forever, with immense gratitude!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ysungy
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
We are so grateful that Leigh Miller was there to photograph our wedding day. Our photos turned out totally AMAZING (friends and family can't stop commenting how beautiful the photos are) and she was able to capture all the special moments of that day. Her natural, photojournalistic approach yielded truly memorable images. Beyond her great work, Leigh was very easy to work with and totally calm throughout the day. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Very professional and creative, original work. Leigh has a great eye for detail and telling a story visually -- the photographs we got literally transport you back to that day. Of the many things we worried about on wedding day this was not one of them -- she was perfect.
Services Used: Photography
B2
sachi889
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Leigh's photographs from our engagement shoot and the wedding far exceeded all of our expectations! We could not have asked for more! She has an amazing ability to capture the greatest moments in a beautiful and elegant style. And her photo albums are beyond gorgeous. Perfect photographer for the perfect day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ravencryst
Wedding:
5/30/2009
4.8/5.0
I am very uncomfortable in front of the camera, and was amazed by Leigh's ability to put me at ease. Her photos were beautiful and full of personality; she was very flexible and accommodating.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Manuela
Wedding:
3/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I had been a long time admirer of Leigh and her talent before I was even dating anyone...needless to say I had her picked out before I even met Mr. Right. Leigh is very professional and does a wonderful (understatement) job without you even realizing that she's there. She manages to capture amazing moments in her pictures that are so fleeting. I love looking back at my pictures and everyone that sees them keeps telling me how beautiful they came out...true testament to her work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acf77
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
Leigh was fantastic. She and her assistant were two of the people, besides the minister who married us, that made us relaxed during the heightened stress of the start of the wedding. Once Leigh was there, she was happy to blend into the background and just capture what was happening. And that made us feel like everything was going to be o.k. Leigh was able to convey the beauty of the day. The photos were absolutely amazing and we've had so many people tell us that they were the most beautiful wedding photos they had ever seen.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cashew
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with Leigh and would highly recommend her. We are so happy with our pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lily678
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Leigh has amazing talent! We loved our photographs from the engagement session to wedding day and the day after session (which was amazing!). Her photos are breathlessly beautiful and she perfectly captures the emotions of the day. We will treasure our photos always. Addtionally, she is very responsive, professional and just fun to be around. She makes you feel very comfortable in front of the camera.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CourtneyJ
Wedding:
5/9/2008
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I hired Leigh for our engagement pictures and our May 2008 wedding in Mexico. We had both researched serveral photographers and were extrememly pleased with what we saw on Leigh's website portfolio. I sent her an inquiry for pricing, as well as in typical bridezilla fashion, a list of never-ending questions. From day one Leigh was incredibly professional; she always responded in a timely fashion.

As a previous bride mentioned, Leigh flew out for our wedding a few days prior to avoid any unforeseen problems that traveling can often provide. She blended well with our family and friends and got to know all of our group during the few days leading up to the wedding.

Every time we worked with Leigh we felt comfortable. She gave great direction, but still kept things natural. We first met Leigh during our engagement session the year before our wedding and I was instantly put at ease by her friendliness... and yes, her cheesy jokes too!!

Thanks to Leigh, our wedding pictures were the one thing I knew I didn't have to stress about. She's fantastic. She will find the most unique places to take photos, yet she can capture the most simple, candid moment. Every single time I show our wedding or engagement pictures to someone they are always in awe - no exaggeration!

I would re-hire Leigh any day, no question about it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tseege
Wedding:
4/11/2008
4.9/5.0
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to write a review, however better late than never.
Leigh Miller is the best photographer! Sadly, I was unable to use her for my wedding, but she did photograph my engagement. Yes, that's right, my REAL engagement. I'm a photographer myself, so wonderful pictures are very important to me. My husband knew how much I loved Leigh's work so he got in contact with her. She happened to be in New York City during a weekend in August. So my husband worked out a deal with her to meet us (we were on vacation in NYC) in Central Park at 2pm.
Leigh had everything all worked out, the plan in place, was SUPER responsive and amazing. Our photos captured absolutely everything that I could have imagined, including the extremely shocked look on my face when my husband proposed, and the shocked look on my face when I looked up and saw the amazing Leigh!
Very soon after our portraits were taken we received proofs and everyone loves them. I have the pictures all over my house and they were worth every single penny.
I would HIGHLY recommend Leigh as a photographer for your special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AnnR
Wedding:
6/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Leigh was the photographer for my destination wedding in Mexico. A fellow bride gave me her name when I was researching photographers, and I can't thank her enough! I met Leigh once before the wedding when she happened to be visiting a freind in Chicago (where I lived at the time). Since she was in town, she offered to do an engagement shoot for us at no extra charge, which is way above and beyond.

Leigh flew down to Mexico early for the wedding (so as to avoid any last minute fiascos), and also spent the entire wedding day with me and "the girls" so that she could capture the entire day. I wasn't feeling well at all that day, so I was very worried about how my pictures would come out. Somehow she made me look like I was the happiest, healthiest bride ever!

I'd hire Leigh to photograph any of the major moments in my life in a heartbeat. I'm only sad that she lives so far away from me, otherwise I'd be asking her to do maternity photos, and photos of my daughter. I still hope to somehow get her to photograph my daughter someday!

Not only was/is Leigh professional and talented (more so than I think she realizes!), but she's also very freindly, outgoing, and fun to be around. My guests loved her! I'd recomend her to any bride w/o hesitation.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah S
Wedding:
5/7/2007
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Leigh! She did my boudoir photographs and was absolutely amazing. She made me feel so comfortable and it was one of the most fun things I've never done. I'm also not a size 2 or 4, but Leigh did a fabulous job of taking flattering poses - when I saw the pictures I almost couldn't believe they were me! I wish I'd hired her to do my wedding. If you're considering Leigh for your wedding, don't hesitate - she's one of the sweetest people I've ever met and I can promise your pictures will be incredible!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather R
Wedding:
9/30/2006
5.0/5.0
Leigh is AMAZING. All of my photos were great and she was always lovely to work with!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Leigh was beyond wonderful to work with and produced the most wonderful product! We loved every single one of our wedding photographs and had a blast in the process. She was very flexible with the engagement shoot and we were able to take them in Nashville while our wedding was in Kansas City. She catered to our every desire and was more than we could have asked for!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
Leigh did a beautiful job capture moments at our wedding. My favorite pictures are the ones that aren't posed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
After I submitted my original review, Leigh Miller disputed it to have it removed from Wedding Wire claiming it was fraudulent. She then must have pleaded with clients to write positive reviews because where there were 2 reviews over the course of 3 years, suddenly there were another 11 within the course of a couple weeks.

Leigh Miller's work on her blog is awesome, but the work she did for our wedding wasn't of the same quality. Moments were missed, weird moments were made into highlights. Looking at the EXIF data on the photos she gave us, we could tell she spent less than 3 hours on editing ALL the photos she took at our wedding, which is shocking to us since our understanding of the industry is what you're paying for is the post processing and professional attention to detail -- and of course an eye for the event. My original review below.

We wanted Leigh's talent for our wedding, but what we received felt phoned-in.

- - - - - -

Despite her high prices and beautiful portfolio, the work she did for us was not at all like her other photos or the photos on her blog.

She was rude to the groom and countless guests (we know because several guests have complained to us about her treatment of them), ignored our request to take portraits before our (brief) wedding so we have maybe FIVE portraits as bride and groom, and at one point when we asked to have our photo taken with a sculpture, a request we had submitted prior to the wedding date, she said "I don't have my camera with me right now". What are we paying you about $1000/hr for then??

We hoped for the best with our experience with her, and even after the awkward experience of shooting with her thought that perhaps we just caught her on a bad day, but the photos were really not up to par with the work we've seen her do for other people, and her attitude toward us was just as off. We received our wedding photos with practically no communication, it felt dismissive. We even saw her on our wedding video telling a family friend who was helping to get groups together for pictures that "she doesn't have time to stand around all day taking family pictures"
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
10109 lowell ave, overland park, KS 66212 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for leigh miller photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1365986171047-logo