130x130 sq 1375678622965 level1dancing

Level 1 DJ Services

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Portland
Portland, OR 97008 US (map)

PHONE

877-625-3370

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our commitment to our clients is matched only by our desire to make your wedding event a professional, fun, and cost-effective celebration. Let us help you make an educated and informed... Read more
Our commitment to our clients is matched only by our desire to make your wedding event a professional, fun, and cost-effective celebration. Let us help you make an educated and informed decision about choosing your professional DJ service. Not only are we veterans of the industry, we also know how to customize solutions to your exact requests. We are a company that will listen to your concerns, be open to your suggestions and efficiently manage a seamless reception in an ethical and courteous manner. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1301107519484 level1djhappycouple.4
130x130 sq 1301107515327 level1dancing.2
130x130 sq 1214955957339 b&wcoupledancingundergondola
130x130 sq 1301107571752 br4
130x130 sq 1301107554080 br2
130x130 sq 1214956085776 pioneerdjgear
130x130 sq 1301107515952 level1dancing
130x130 sq 1301107526109 br10
130x130 sq 1301107532625 br1
130x130 sq 1301107623990 br9
130x130 sq 1301107518312 level1djcake
130x130 sq 1301107518906 level1djguydancing
130x130 sq 1214956051417 couplekissinginsunshine
130x130 sq 1214956029464 b&wcoupleincar
130x130 sq 1301107588660 br6
130x130 sq 1301107605895 br7
130x130 sq 1301107613974 br8
130x130 sq 1301107516546 level1djbrideandbridesmaidsinyellow
130x130 sq 1301107537157 br11
130x130 sq 1301107541751 br12
130x130 sq 1301108887469 600x6001214956235245level1djlogo130x69px

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Modern and eclectic. Emphasize on coordination and letting the guests enjoy themselves. A DJ shouldn't dictate the reception or make guests uncomfortable but allow the events to flow smoothly.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No. My clients can request music and I will also custom burn CD's specifically for the wedding.
What is your usual attire?
Modern Suit and tuxedo if requested
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No. As long as it's not so obscure.
How many other DJs do you work with?
None. Just me.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
3 Hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Of Course!
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Yes. We specialize in all cultures and varied lifestyles.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes! Please do so.
Do you bring your own equipment?
YES...Pioneer Pro CD Players, QSC K Pro Audio System, Shure and Sennheisser microphones. Various Lighting.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Video Projector and Screen, LED Lights, Laser Lights, Bubble/Snow Machines, Fog Machines, and Karaoke.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
1 to 2 hours depending on equipment needed.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
NO. Just an 8' skirted table should be provided.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
NO...NO...NO...Cheesy and Tacky. Not at event to sell.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
YES and to the extent the clients requests.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
No cheesy motivation should be required. Good programming of music and proper coordination plus setting the proper ambiance gets the crowd dancing.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks are taken. I like to stay close in case announcements, etc... are needed. A meal is usually required.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
NO Breaks taken.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, we have one DJ that is on pager duty in case of emergency plus I network with other companies.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
NO...NEVER...EVER...I am focused on one client only for that day.
What is your overtime rate?
Varies, depending on location. Anywhere from $100 to $150 per hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
YES...if traveling 85+ miles from home office
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% of contracted amount. Negotiable if needed.

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1384134881090 130810p 31
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew with Level 1 DJ was AMAZING!!! He was always so responsive and took the time to meet with us and get to know who we were and what we wanted for our big day. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ. Matthew definitely made the party continue and was very professional while doing so. He was so reliable and definitely went above and beyond and you can tell that he knows what he's doing. He was our number one vendor.... for sure! Thanks so much Matthew and we hope to keep in touch!! Your are the best and thanks so much for making our day special. Brian and Lindz D.
Matthew with Level 1 DJ was AMAZING!!! He was always so responsive and took the time to meet with us and get to know who Read more...
Matthew with Level 1 DJ was AMAZING!!! He was always so responsive and took the time to meet with us and get to know who we were and what we wanted for our big day. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ. Matthew definitely made the party continue and was very professional while doing so. He was so reliable and definitely went above and beyond and you can tell that he knows what he's doing. He was our number one vendor.... for sure! Thanks so much Matthew and we hope to keep in touch!! Your are the best and thanks so much for making our day special. Brian and Lindz D. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Miles
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew did an incredible job at our wedding and I give him my highest recommendation to anyone seeking a top-quality, professional DJ. Before meeting with Matthew, I had already met with a number of Portland-area DJs and hadn't been especially impressed with any of them. After meeting with Matthew, though, it was clear that he was going to be the right pick for our wedding. He is professional, friendly, and detail-oriented. He was available to us throughout the entire process and was very attentive to our questions and requests. On our wedding day, he arrived many hours before the ceremony to ensure he had plenty of time to setup his equipment, and he did everything exceptionally well. He has top-quality equipment, and was able to mic-up our cellist, as well as to provide dual wireless mics for the ceremony (for myself and the officiant). We never had any issues with microphone feedback, inadequete or too loud volume, etc. During the cocktail hour and reception, Matthew played music that fit the moment perfectly, and he provided timeline management through occasional announcements, etc., but without ever drawing any attention to himself. Overall, he did an incredible job, and he provided the exact wedding experience that we wanted. Thank you Matthew!
Matthew did an incredible job at our wedding and I give him my highest recommendation to anyone seeking a top-quality, Read more...
Matthew did an incredible job at our wedding and I give him my highest recommendation to anyone seeking a top-quality, professional DJ. Before meeting with Matthew, I had already met with a number of Portland-area DJs and hadn't been especially impressed with any of them. After meeting with Matthew, though, it was clear that he was going to be the right pick for our wedding. He is professional, friendly, and detail-oriented. He was available to us throughout the entire process and was very attentive to our questions and requests. On our wedding day, he arrived many hours before the ceremony to ensure he had plenty of time to setup his equipment, and he did everything exceptionally well. He has top-quality equipment, and was able to mic-up our cellist, as well as to provide dual wireless mics for the ceremony (for myself and the officiant). We never had any issues with microphone feedback, inadequete or too loud volume, etc. During the cocktail hour and reception, Matthew played music that fit the moment perfectly, and he provided timeline management through occasional announcements, etc., but without ever drawing any attention to himself. Overall, he did an incredible job, and he provided the exact wedding experience that we wanted. Thank you Matthew! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1327369713065 16
Nik
Wedding:
6/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew was amazing to work with prior to the wedding he was so professional and so attention oriented. The day of the ceremony he moved from the floor to the gazebo for the reception and did it so smoothly I never heard the music stop. Having the microphones was so necessary, we had a couple planes fly over us and without those people would've never heard us. Having him announce areas of the wedding was helpful as well, without his help we wouldn't know where to go. Very nice to work with.
Matthew was amazing to work with prior to the wedding he was so professional and so attention oriented. The day of the Read more...
Matthew was amazing to work with prior to the wedding he was so professional and so attention oriented. The day of the ceremony he moved from the floor to the gazebo for the reception and did it so smoothly I never heard the music stop. Having the microphones was so necessary, we had a couple planes fly over us and without those people would've never heard us. Having him announce areas of the wedding was helpful as well, without his help we wouldn't know where to go. Very nice to work with. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew was great to work with! We didn't have many brilliant ideas for specific songs so he was helpful in giving us suggestions, or just taking care of it himself. He was a delight to work with!
Matthew was great to work with! We didn't have many brilliant ideas for specific songs so he was helpful in giving us Read more...
Matthew was great to work with! We didn't have many brilliant ideas for specific songs so he was helpful in giving us suggestions, or just taking care of it himself. He was a delight to work with! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jillian
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Our onsite managers not only found Matthew to be extremely talented but professional and helpful. He made sure to communicate specific timing throughout the evening, and was a pleasure to work with.
Our onsite managers not only found Matthew to be extremely talented but professional and helpful. He made sure to Read more...
Our onsite managers not only found Matthew to be extremely talented but professional and helpful. He made sure to communicate specific timing throughout the evening, and was a pleasure to work with. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Level 1 DJ Services responded with the following comments:

Jillian, thank you for your review. Your venue (Bluehour Restaurant) was beautiful and your staff was very professional and helpful. I will be sure to pass on the the word that Bluehour is not only a great restaurant but also a great venue to have your wedding reception or event held at.

Thank you!
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience and received a lot of compliments on the music and flow of the wedding.
We had a great experience and received a lot of compliments on the music and flow of the wedding.
We had a great experience and received a lot of compliments on the music and flow of the wedding. Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1345767281162 fbavatar2358192
Kerry Stevenson Farmer
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Matthew Woolman from Level 1 DJ Services was the first DJ we met with prior to our wedding, and it quickly became clear during our meeting that Matthew had the background, experience, and professionalism we were looking for, in fact we signed on the spot! Level 1 DJ Services will not disappoint! Matthew was responsive to all of our emails, remained in contact during the planning process, and offered a myriad of information and suggestions to help build our music playlist. He was very receptive to our ideas and followed through on everything from start to finish. Matthew even created our wedding day timeline and was flexible when I wanted to make a minor change. Matthew's experience really showed through at the wedding. He showed up on time, was dressed appropriately, had professional equipment (all of the toasts were audible and clear), and was highly effective in keeping the flow going throughout the night. Once the bridal party hit the floor we didn't leave until the reception was over. The music was excellent and Matthew had a way of reading the crowd and even took suggestions from guests. Matthew went above and beyond and we were so happy and satisfied with our DJ service. We highly recommend Matthew Woolman with Level 1 DJ Services for your wedding, you can't go wrong!
Matthew Woolman from Level 1 DJ Services was the first DJ we met with prior to our wedding, and it quickly became clear Read more...
Matthew Woolman from Level 1 DJ Services was the first DJ we met with prior to our wedding, and it quickly became clear during our meeting that Matthew had the background, experience, and professionalism we were looking for, in fact we signed on the spot! Level 1 DJ Services will not disappoint! Matthew was responsive to all of our emails, remained in contact during the planning process, and offered a myriad of information and suggestions to help build our music playlist. He was very receptive to our ideas and followed through on everything from start to finish. Matthew even created our wedding day timeline and was flexible when I wanted to make a minor change. Matthew's experience really showed through at the wedding. He showed up on time, was dressed appropriately, had professional equipment (all of the toasts were audible and clear), and was highly effective in keeping the flow going throughout the night. Once the bridal party hit the floor we didn't leave until the reception was over. The music was excellent and Matthew had a way of reading the crowd and even took suggestions from guests. Matthew went above and beyond and we were so happy and satisfied with our DJ service. We highly recommend Matthew Woolman with Level 1 DJ Services for your wedding, you can't go wrong! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding ceremony and reception went perfectly. Matthew did a wonderful job. We were really vague about the music we wanted to have playing during our reception because we both like A LOT of music. We left it up to him to choose the songs and it was AMAZING. During the reception and since, we have been complimented on our DJ choice. Everyone danced which made me so happy because I've been to wedding where the DJ plays music and no one dances. Not the case with this DJ, he gets them up and moving. Thanks a ton Matthew!
Our wedding ceremony and reception went perfectly. Matthew did a wonderful job. We were really vague about the music we Read more...
Our wedding ceremony and reception went perfectly. Matthew did a wonderful job. We were really vague about the music we wanted to have playing during our reception because we both like A LOT of music. We left it up to him to choose the songs and it was AMAZING. During the reception and since, we have been complimented on our DJ choice. Everyone danced which made me so happy because I've been to wedding where the DJ plays music and no one dances. Not the case with this DJ, he gets them up and moving. Thanks a ton Matthew! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Level 1 DJ Services responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the wonderful review! I appreciate it. Thank you for allowing me to DJ your wedding. It was a lot of fun! Thank you
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
As a high end video production company I have worked with hundreds of wedding and associated vendors but I must say that Matthew from Level 1 DJ Services had to be the most professional, courteous and amazing DJ we have ever worked with. From his time of arrival till the very end his energy level was at 110 percent, something you don't see too often. As far as his DJ show, OUTSTANDING music selection on top of great mixing to get a major crowd off there feet for the entire evening.
I will personally recommend Level 1 DJs to all my clients.

Robert G. Pallotta
CEO / Owner Operator
Beyond The Eye Digital Video
Vancouver, WA
As a high end video production company I have worked with hundreds of wedding and associated vendors but I must say that Read more...
As a high end video production company I have worked with hundreds of wedding and associated vendors but I must say that Matthew from Level 1 DJ Services had to be the most professional, courteous and amazing DJ we have ever worked with. From his time of arrival till the very end his energy level was at 110 percent, something you don't see too often. As far as his DJ show, OUTSTANDING music selection on top of great mixing to get a major crowd off there feet for the entire evening.
I will personally recommend Level 1 DJs to all my clients.

Robert G. Pallotta
CEO / Owner Operator
Beyond The Eye Digital Video
Vancouver, WA Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Matthew rocked the party! He showed up early to set up, the sound system was great and he played great music. On the music front, he really asked the right questions and delivered in terms of playing what we wanted to hear. We only gave him a handful of must-have songs and he did the rest. He was dressed sharp at the wedding and people really had a great time dancing! Matthew is a great DJ and I'd recommend him to anyone!
Matthew rocked the party! He showed up early to set up, the sound system was great and he played great music. On the music Read more...
Matthew rocked the party! He showed up early to set up, the sound system was great and he played great music. On the music front, he really asked the right questions and delivered in terms of playing what we wanted to hear. We only gave him a handful of must-have songs and he did the rest. He was dressed sharp at the wedding and people really had a great time dancing! Matthew is a great DJ and I'd recommend him to anyone! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Portland, Portland, OR 97008 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Level 1 DJ Services
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1375678622965 level1dancing