Nophoto-130

Lien's Dressmaking & Alterations

Herndon , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

203 Elden St. Suite 302
Herndon, VA US 20170 (map)

PHONE

703-904-9733
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Flower Girls, Groom, Groomsmen, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Lien was amazing!! My dress fit perfectly and her prices were very reasonable. I had no issues at all, she even steamed my dress and veil the day before the wedding so it looked perfect on my wedding day.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.1/5.0
While Lein was lovely in the store, her work was very disappointing. She only put one button for my bustle, assuring me it would be fine. The loop was so tight, we had to get a crochet needle to attached the button. It didnt last- my dress was too long- I stepped on it down the aisle, and the rest of the night. The bustle didnt hold, so when someone stepped on my too long dress, it broke, leaving me with a long heavy train to hold all night.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlin
Wedding:
10/12/2013
3.6/5.0
Ultimately, Lien altered my dress so that it flattered my figure and wasn't too long. Appointments with her were quick and on time and she didn't get angry when I accidentally dropped her hand mirror and it broke. My only issue was that I asked her to make it a bit tighter at my final fitting and she argued that she could not do so. I am a very busty girl and I was concerned that the dress kept slipping down to reveal too much cleavage. Lien told me that she could not make the dress any tighter because it would squash my breasts if she did. She recommended that I use fashion tape instead. I should have pushed for what I thought was best, because I spent all day on my wedding day tugging up my dress in order to avoid flashing everyone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
Lien did an overall great job on my dress, which required complicated work on the hem and a few other little things. She was pleasant to work with, very sweet, and accommodating. I got sick in the middle of one appointment, and she squeezed me in a few days later to finish what we were supposed to do that day. My mom twice forgot her checkbook (Lien does not take credit cards) and Lien told us to just mail the check when we got home.

I was a little worried during my second fitting, after she had done the bulk of the alterations, when I pointed out a few things that didn’t look quite perfect--things that were NOT her fault, they were just little issues that weren’t noticeable until the dress fit me better--she got defensive. At first it seemed like she was saying that there was nothing she could do about these few little issues. Eventually we talked through it, she examined the dress more closely, and agreed that she could fix some poor tacking on the original designer’s part to fix some unattractive bunching at the waist. So, my advice is to really talk through your concerns with her, keep asking questions, etc. Her work was beautiful. My bustle did break towards the end of the reception, but I think that’s the case for 90% of American-style (over) bustles, and by that point it had been treated pretty roughly on the crowded dance floor! Pricing-wise, it seemed a bit expensive but she never added on additional fees after the second fitting to address the extra little details I was concerned about, so I’d say she was pretty fair. I would recommend her for sure.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Lien altered my dress which I got from RK Bridal in NYC. She was great to work with, and I would recommend her to any bride without hesitation. I got her name from a friend who also used her to alter a wedding dress. I was really worried that my dress would be too small even after alterations, but she was able to make it fit like a glove after only the first fitting. And then she added a bustle and had it pressed for me. I thought her prices were reasonable for Northern Virginia. She was able to accommodate my schedule when making appointments, and she was already really cheerful and pleasant. I recommend her 100%.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Amanda
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Lien is wonderful! She altered several of the dresses for my bridesmaids and I have used her in the past to alter my dresses for other weddings. She did an AMAZING job on my wedding dress, which was a sample. She sewed on beads, added the bustle and made additional adjustments so it fit perfectly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1321139896717-southparkgreatfalls
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
After a not-so-nice experience with alterations at Alfred Angelo (where I purchased my dress), I took it to Lien. She was amazing!!! My dress was too big in the bust and waist, but she was able to take it in and make it look like it fit from the start. I didn't have to worry about the dress falling down all night. Her prices were very reasonable as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrewalison
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Lien replaced the corset on my pre-owned wedding dress with a zipper, repaired the bustle, added a built-in bra, made my veil, and pressed my dress. She's exceedingly sweet and incredibly flexible. Wedding dresses are sort of mysterious, and Lien taught me and my matron of honor about everything we needed to know - from the care of the dress before the wedding, to how best to put it on, to how to work the bustle. I felt lovely on my wedding day, and a large part of that was due to Lien.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.0/5.0
I first contacted Lien because I didn't think I was going to find a wedding dress I liked and she was highly recommended for custom dresses. I eventually did find a dress and worked with Lien to have it fit correctly.

She does excellent work and makes time for you. Very professional and even steamed my veil for pick-up the day before the wedding!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shereen
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
I found Lien through another review. She's really amazing, and sweet!!! She too, took the time
and altered my dress the way I needed it!! She did an amazing and timely job!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Lien was such a dream! After having a dismal experience in buying my dress somewhere else, Lien came to my rescue! I took my dress to her for all the alterations and she did a wonderful job! She was so nice and made great recommendations on how to bustle the dress. She was so pleasant and prompt! The dress looked great and she gave great advice as well!

I highly recommend Lien! She is simply wonderful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1318258417754-franziskawea
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Lien altered my wedding gown and a bridesmaids dress and did a phenomenal job. My wedding dress only needed minor alterations, but the bridesmaids dress needed a lot more work. She did such a great job on both of my dresses. Lien was recommended to me by friends, who both needed more difficult alterations on their wedding gowns and she did an amazing job. Both of my friend's dresses looked amazing after Lien had done her magic. I can highly recommend her.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christie
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Lien did a great job altering my wedding dress for me. She had a pretty big job with my dress- it needed to be hemmed a fair amount, and there was also a tear on the train that needed fixing (I bought the dress at a blowout sale). She did a gorgeous job fixing all of that, and fitting the dress impeccably to my body. Everyone told me that the dress could not have possibly fit my body more perfectly. She also did a bustle that looked beautiful, and other small adjustments that I would not even have thought to do.

Lien is SO sweet and definitely cares about making you feel great in your dress. She makes some great suggestions, and is very nice to work with. She altered my mom's dress as well, who ended up looking perfect in her dress too. I would definitely suggest going to Lien for alterations- she is a pro when it comes to wedding dresses, and will give you great service!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Lien did a great job altering my wedding dress. My mother and I have gone to her for alterations before, so I knew I could trust her with my gown. It had to be taken in on the sides and had several layers that needed to be hemmed, and she made it fit perfectly. The alterations looked great, and I got many compliments on the dress. Lien is very efficient, easy to talk to, and does fantastic work, and I would recommend her to anyone.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ines
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Lien, is a sweetheart and is very talented. She did a great job with my dress and made good suggestions to make sure I was comfortable and looked great. I had to get my dress hemmed bustled and also had a bolero I needed altered. Her prices were very fair, her work was impeccable, she delivered fast and she was fun to work with. She also got my dressed steamed and kept it in her shop until the day before the wedding, which is so helpful I had no space in my house. I shop around, and went first to other "highly rated" alteration ladies which probably would have done a nice job but were not pleasant, I won't go into it but I was treated unkindly. Lien was such a big contrast to everyone else I went to she was always smiling, joking. She really seems to enjoy her job and helping brides feel pretty. Trust me, on the final stages of your wedding planning you want someone like Lien that can do a good job and also make you leave with a smile. :) I recommend her to anyone that needs anything altered.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
Lien's did the bustle on my dress, and steaming. They were great to work with. I'm not sure what the avg. pricing for alterations is, but I thought almost $200 just for the bustle and steaming my dress was a bit much. They did a great job though!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Lien is wonderful. She does great alteration. My dress had an extremely long train and was made out of silky chiffon. It was very hard to manage but Lien was able to alter it beautifully. She is very warm and welcoming and she makes suggestions on how the dress should be altered based on what is best for the dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg19
Samantha
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Lien is a dream come true. She is SO talented and always has the best ideas and quick turn around needed. She has altered many dresses for me in the past (for being in other people's weddings) and this time she took my david's bridal dress and made it my own. She also (last minute) made a shawl veil for me since I changed my mind about a week before the wedding! She did it in stride and was just wonderful to work with!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
Lien altered several dresses for me and all turned out well at a reasonable cost. She removed a shoulder strap from one dress and hemmed it, and added straps and single-point bustle to another, and took in another at the waist. She also steamed and stuffed my dresses with tissue paper so that they wouldn't wrinkle. In addition, she made a couple of fabric barrettes and a veil. Her prices were very reasonable compared to a bridal salon's. I'm very happy I went to Lien's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.9/5.0
Lien performed the alterations for my wedding dress. All in all, she did a good job and was timely on the alterations. I think the price was fair. She was friendly and took a genuine interest in my wedding and in me.

However, she was not very receptive of my concerns about the alterations during appointments. When I pointed out something that wasn't exactly right, she immediately defended her work rather than trying to understand my perspective and help make it right. It made some of the appointments tense because I wanted things done and she kept defending her work and saying it was right.

After insisting on a couple of the changes (very tense moments), she would finally do them. In the end, the dress looked very good except the bustle. Unfortunately, she only put one tie in my bustle (saying it only needed one tie) and the bustle came out 7 times during the reception because the skirt was too heavy for just one tie.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/20/2010
4.8/5.0
I initially had problems getting in touch with Lien because her phone was having issues. But once the appointment was made, everything was smooth sailing. I bought my dress online and it was a size too big, so everything had to be taken in. I was really worried when I received my dress that it would take a herculean effort to make it fit properly.

Lien did an absoultely great job making the dress fit my body, I couldn't even believe it was the same dress. I had about 6 inches taken in at the hips and she advised to add cups to the bust versus taking it in. The dress was also hemmed and busteled. The dress fit perfectly on me after the first alteration, no additional alterations needed!! She was quick, responsive and most importantly did an amazing job on my gown. I'd strongly recommend Lien's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
uvajillybean
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Lien is wonderful. I've had her alter a bridesmaid dress for me in the past, so when my bridal gown needed alterations, I knew I would get a great result from her. She had a flat fee for all adjustments - she took out my dress (that is, made it larger) and when it wasn't quite right, took it out more. She had great advice on undergarments to accentuate the dress and make it lie just right. I'd definitely recommend her services.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Lien did wonders with my dress! I'm a petite bride so I had to have the dress hemmed - a lot! - and she meticulously removed and re-sewed the lace trim at the bottom so you'd never know the dress was shortened. She also did a great job with the bustle and added a hidden elastic band to help keep the bodice in place. After her great work, the dress fit perfectly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Lien was great to work with, she came up with great ideas to make the dress more comfortable and fitting to my figure. She was also super flexible about pushing back my final fitting since I was losing weight and was worried about it fitting right. Could not recommend her more!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
peytonl79
Wedding:
12/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Lien did the impossible - she took my very delicate, lace and beaded, mermaid-style gown and made it fit!! My dress also had a matching lace and beaded bolero jacket, and the arms were way too big. She had to remove dozens of buttons from the sleeves of the jacket, take in the sleeves, and then sew all of the buttons back on. She also had to hem the dress (three layers, plus a train) and put in a three-point bustle. She added fasteners to the inside of the jacket so I could attach it to the straps of the dress, and she was able to have the dress steamed and ready to pick up two days before the wedding (so no worrying about how to store it at home before the wedding). Additionally, she hemmed and took in the sides of the flower girl dress for my daughter. Everyone complimented me on how well the dress fit, and if I ever need difficult alterations done again, I will go straight back to Lien.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1228854783838-img_0727
barashinda
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Lien is super great. I needed to have a jacket made to go with my dress, I had something in mind, I showed her a pattern of what I was looking for and she made me something better than I imagined! The quality of her work is beyond amazing, she's detail-oriented and meticulous. She's also very helpful, her opinion about certain things was extremely professional and experienced which made it easy to trust her. She also did alterations on my dress. And the best thing about all of this is that she was VERY reasonably priced. I even took her a shirt for tailoring after the wedding was over because I was extremely impressed with her work.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
naomi3
Wedding:
8/30/2009
4.9/5.0
I used Lien for my wedding dress alterations. She's great, very honest, reasonable prices, and she had my dress steamed and stored it until the wedding. She was also very flexible with scheduling appointments, and was willing to see me before and after hours. I was a two-dress bride, and I had Lien do alterations on both. I paid $30 to take in a bodice (dress #1 - more like a rehearsal dinner dress) and $120 for a hem, put in a strap to hold bra in place, and have dress steamed (dress #2 - the wedding dress, which was a bit poufy, from David's Bridal).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1250984806409-jamieandikissingwithcake
Jami
Wedding:
7/26/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so thankful to have found Lien. She did an amazing job on the bustle for my dress. She is so wonderful to work with and really knows her stuff. She even offered to have someone steam my dress for me and store it at her shop until the wedding. Lien was very flexible in regards to the date of when I would actually pick up my dress and even told me to come back another day because it was raining the day I went to pick it up. Her prices are very reasonable for this area as well. I called Lien last minute (four days before the wedding) to see if she could fix my mom's dress that another seamstress had messed up. Lien immediately called me back and told me to bring the dress in and that she would have it ready for me before the wedding. She did a great job on my mom's dress as well. I highly recommend her services and will definitely use her in the future and so will my mom who lives 4 hours away!! Thanks Lien!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1246210132922-sugarloafmountainwedding4758572
lalaarts
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.9/5.0
Lien did a fabulous job on my dress and offered an extremely reasonable price. She knows what she is doing with formal gowns and reconstructed the neckline on my wedding dress, which consisted of a very complicated lace job. She also added a French bustle at a very affordable price and did a few other alterations on my dress. I would have probably paid twice the amount for that quality of work anywhere else. She was well worth the drive from Baltimore.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wss
Wedding:
4/11/2009
4.9/5.0
Lien is great. Besides being so good at alterations she is a lovely, caring, friendly person. The wedding gown had to be taken up at the waist instead of hemmed at the bottom due to beading. She did a wonderful job plus added cups to the strapless gown. She was good about telling us what she thought needed to be done to make it look good. She made a veil at a very reasonable price since she was doing the alterations. Lien can send your dress out for steaming and will keep it at her shop until the day of the wedding. This saved an extra car trip and us having to store it. Lien also hemmed two bridesmaids dresses and sashes. Plus altering the mob dress and adding straps to the dress. We didn't get estimates anywhere else so it's hard to judge the cost. I thought some things were reasonable and others seemed a bit high. No matter what the cost your dress will be done professionally in a timely manner and you will enjoy working with Lien.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1224798154798-image-0001
salex19
Wedding:
10/12/2008
4.7/5.0
After reading reviews on weddingwire, I decided to go with Lien, rather than just show up at a random tailor.

Lien has a great personality and was easy to work with. She is very sweet and her prices are incredibly reasonable. She made me a veil, to my specifications, for only $60. She is very flexible. She found someone to steam my dress and stored in until the weekend of the wedding. Most places will not do that and it helped me out since my apartment is tiny and I moved during the process. Lien even helped me pay for the toll when I didn't have enough money- wow!

The Alterations: I loved the train Lien did for my dress, and the veil. However, my dress was off the shoulder and one of them ended up fitting differently than the other and it shows in most of my pictures. Also, she didn't suggest taking it in in the chest, and I really wish she had- because that also looks bad in pictures.

These may be specific to me- but I would suggest if you go to Lien, make the suggestions you need instead of waiting for her to suggest it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1198725873492-jason_kim_b&w
pretty
Wedding:
9/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Lien did all of my dress alterations, and one of my bridesmaids. I also referred two friends to her that both have said love her. She was very sweet, helpful, and overall great. My dress fit me absolutely PERFECTLY! For the same alterations, other shops were much higher in price also, but her service was worth whatever she charged.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Price was great and work was done very quickly. The quality of the work was great and she even was able to get my dress steamed and pressed by another vendor that she works and have it ready for me to pick up the day before my wedding!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlleyKat84
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Lien was so nice and did such a lovely job on my wedding dress, I would, and have, recommend her. Her price is quite reasonable and her skills are amazing.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
5/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Lien is absolutely the best-kept secret in the northern Virginia area! Her prices are SO reasonable, and her work is of such high caliber. Her attention to detail is masterful, and she can do pretty much anything! My wedding gown was a strapless dress made of layers of very thin, delicate silk. Lien shortened the length at the bottom, and the hem she recreated was better than the original! I wanted straps added to my dress, so she took fabric from a sash that was attached to the waist of the dress and created beautiful bias-cut straps. Perfection! I was so happy with my alterations, and it was worth every penny! Lien is very knowledgeable about fabric and she will be very honest with you about her opinions. Take her advice -- she's an expert! Oh, she also made my veil, which was stunning. She added a satin trim to the edge that matched my ivory dress color perfectly. She also steamed my gown a few days before the big day. I was so happy with Lien's work!

Don't risk taking your precious wedding gown anywhere else...Lien is THE BEST!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ivy_momma21
Wedding:
12/28/2007
5.0/5.0
I handed her the reins and she came up with the most incredible dress I have ever seen in my entire life! I can send a photo of it to who ever wants to see. ivy_momma21@yahoo.com
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwiederman
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
I worked with Lien(pronounced Lynn) on my wedding dress. I had called many places in Washington, DC, Arlington, and Falls Church/Vienna and for the same work they wanted double the money. She charged $45, yes $45, for a three string bustle. I was very pleased with her work and she was easy to work with also. It's a bit of a hike, but very worth the drive. I highly recommend her. I also had her press my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MSJ
Wedding:
7/15/2007
4.8/5.0
Lien was a very talented seamstress and worked wonders on my dress. She was very friendly and very good at what she does. My dress was extremely intricate, and she took off each sequin and each bead and handstitched them back on - I'm sure it was a painstaking process. She hemmed a scalloped, lace dress, without us even being able to find the hem. She also made my veil for $30. I would absolutely take my clothing to her to be altered.
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
203 Elden St. Suite 302, Herndon, VA 20170 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Lien's Dressmaking & Alterations
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220