130x130_sq_1386907763806-2011003

Life is Art Photography

Rochester , MN

LOCATION

Rochester, MN US 55904 (map)

PHONE

507-722-1442

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Known for our fun nature and timeless magazine-style wedding photography, we'd love to photograph your wedding! Visit the website at http://www.lifeisartphoto.com or the blog at... Read more
Known for our fun nature and timeless magazine-style wedding photography, we'd love to photograph your wedding! Visit the website at http://www.lifeisartphoto.com or the blog at http://www.lifeisartphoto.com/blog/ for our latest work! Feel free to contact Kim at (507) 722-1422 or by email at kim@lifeisartphoto.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1328559114111-20110055
130x130_sq_1328559046762-20110049
130x130_sq_1296705561344-017
130x130_sq_1296705567266-025
130x130_sq_1296705566344-024
130x130_sq_1328558407160-20090007
130x130_sq_1328558974368-20110018
130x130_sq_1328568769903-20110006
130x130_sq_1328558508938-20100027
130x130_sq_1328558925924-20110005
130x130_sq_1328558279660-20080017
130x130_sq_1296705558938-002
130x130_sq_1328558579503-20100046
130x130_sq_1296705565048-022
130x130_sq_1328558708528-20100077
130x130_sq_1328558793506-20100094
130x130_sq_1328559001931-20110025
130x130_sq_1296705559751-006
130x130_sq_1296705563798-020
130x130_sq_1296705771126-051
130x130_sq_1328558184055-20080004
130x130_sq_1328558620909-20100052
130x130_sq_1328558667438-20100053
130x130_sq_1328558832722-20100104
130x130_sq_1328558905948-20100096
130x130_sq_1328558963913-20110017
130x130_sq_1328559012942-20110030
130x130_sq_1328559067034-20110050
130x130_sq_1328559124952-20110056
130x130_sq_1328557870664-20080075
130x130_sq_1328558045842-20110025
130x130_sq_1328557994573-20100114
130x130_sq_1328558097555-20110040
130x130_sq_1328557952989-20090028
130x130_sq_1328557929005-20080081
130x130_sq_1328558028504-20110015
130x130_sq_1328558062493-20110030
130x130_sq_1328558089496-20110034

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Yes!
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes! Off-camera flash is a specialty of mine, but if you're not a photographer it's not important to know that -- just look at my blog and you'll find beautiful wedding sunsets and very vibrant colors!
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
I am always the primary photographer at the wedding, and I also bring an assistant photographer.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I never book myself for more than one event per day, and I offer flexible hours for each wedding - if you want me to arrive an hour earlier or stay a couple hours later on your wedding, it's okay! On occasion, I will book more than one wedding per weekend, but only if the weddings are located in the same vicinity.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, I have a network of replacement photographers that I know personally and trust with taking care of your wedding in the event that I cannot make it.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Everything! I am a backup fanatic, so I have multiple cameras, multiple lenses, and multiple flashes. Depending on the package, I may bring a "wild photobooth" with props to the reception. And my camera bag always includes emergency items like Shout wipes, safety pins, and colored threads and needles.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Oh yes, I am a backup fanatic. I have multiple cameras, lenses, and flashes...and I even bring a portable hard-drive that will back up the camera cards once they are full of photos.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Hourly. Packages include a set number of hours, but you may also create an a la carte package with any number of hours.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes! The amount charged depends on the package that has been selected.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
If the wedding photography coverage is more than 6 hours, I do ask for a meal, however this is not a full "break" per se -- we still provide coverage of whatever is happening, and we never leave the wedding unattended at any point of our coverage!
Do you charge for travel?
There is no charge for travel in the Minneapolis metro area, or within 100 miles of Rochester, Minnesota. But we are willing to travel anywhere, and our rates for traveling are very reasonable - just enough to cover gas and a warm bed at night.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Four to five weeks, but a few sneak previews are posted immediately following the wedding on the Life is Art Photography Facebook page and blog.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
An 11x14 printed proof book with every photo is included in every package. This allows you to look through all of your wedding photos years later, and even order prints if you'd like!
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever!
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, copyright is always retained by Life is Art Photography. However, if you purchase the digital negatives, a copyright license is extended to you, so you can print the photos wherever you'd like, post them on Facebook, etc.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, but I respect your requests to not publish the photos if that is what you prefer.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes!
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes - this is included for free with all packages.
What kind of albums do you offer?
The primary albums provided are leather-bound coffee table albums, but I can provide other album types if requested.

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
I felt completely at ease knowing Kim was our photographer. She contacted me early in the process to help me start thinking about what photographs we would want for our wedding. She was very responsive to all my questions and requests. She was timely, professional and so friendly. I highly recommend her!
I felt completely at ease knowing Kim was our photographer. She contacted me early in the process to help me start Read more...
I felt completely at ease knowing Kim was our photographer. She contacted me early in the process to help me start thinking about what photographs we would want for our wedding. She was very responsive to all my questions and requests. She was timely, professional and so friendly. I highly recommend her! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marge
Wedding:
7/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Kim is EXCELLENT!!!!

She is an extremely likeable person; that is something that you want in a photographer especially at a time in which the ceremony/reception is most on your mind. She is tactful, flexible, ambitious, receptive to others and has a smile on her face at all times. When I asked whether certain photos could be done by the holidays to enclose in Christmas cards, she was certain they were done. When I asked her whether she minded if a videographer could snap some clips as she did her shoots, she was totally receptive (Not all photographers would agree to that!) When we asked for several sites for the photos and special requests for photos, she graciously accommodated our requests.

Kim has an eye for detail and knows how to utilize those details to make memories happen in her photographs. Rather than a photographer, I consider her an artist!!!
Kim is EXCELLENT!!!!

She is an extremely likeable person; that is something that you want in a photographer Read more...
Kim is EXCELLENT!!!!

She is an extremely likeable person; that is something that you want in a photographer especially at a time in which the ceremony/reception is most on your mind. She is tactful, flexible, ambitious, receptive to others and has a smile on her face at all times. When I asked whether certain photos could be done by the holidays to enclose in Christmas cards, she was certain they were done. When I asked her whether she minded if a videographer could snap some clips as she did her shoots, she was totally receptive (Not all photographers would agree to that!) When we asked for several sites for the photos and special requests for photos, she graciously accommodated our requests.

Kim has an eye for detail and knows how to utilize those details to make memories happen in her photographs. Rather than a photographer, I consider her an artist!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sonja
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Kim at Life Is Art Photography was the most amazing Wedding Photographer! Our wedding did not follow the standard events so I didn't need a photographer from start to finish. She was willing to work with me to figure out what would be best. Everyone agreed that her pictures are amazing. Something I will treasure forever. Even more amazing is that she traveled from Stevens Point to Madison for the wedding without hesitation. She has a real eye for photos. Working with Kim was a wonderful experience.
Kim at Life Is Art Photography was the most amazing Wedding Photographer! Our wedding did not follow the standard events Read more...
Kim at Life Is Art Photography was the most amazing Wedding Photographer! Our wedding did not follow the standard events so I didn't need a photographer from start to finish. She was willing to work with me to figure out what would be best. Everyone agreed that her pictures are amazing. Something I will treasure forever. Even more amazing is that she traveled from Stevens Point to Madison for the wedding without hesitation. She has a real eye for photos. Working with Kim was a wonderful experience. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Kim was great! Gave us so many shots, each one unique. She arrived early and even stayed a little late when we ran over our time slot. Very highly recommended!
Kim was great! Gave us so many shots, each one unique. She arrived early and even stayed a little late when we ran over Read more...
Kim was great! Gave us so many shots, each one unique. She arrived early and even stayed a little late when we ran over our time slot. Very highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aloca
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Before we met Kim from Life is Art Photography, we had met with only one other photographer. As soon as we sat down and starting talking to her, we knew we found our gold star wedding photographer! Not only was she attentive to our needs, but her professionalism, flexibility for cost and location, and overall fun personality fit exactly what we were looking for for our perfect wedding day. She helped us create beautiful, everlasting photos that captured every little and big moment, and our personalities, perfectly!
Before we met Kim from Life is Art Photography, we had met with only one other photographer. As soon as we sat down and Read more...
Before we met Kim from Life is Art Photography, we had met with only one other photographer. As soon as we sat down and starting talking to her, we knew we found our gold star wedding photographer! Not only was she attentive to our needs, but her professionalism, flexibility for cost and location, and overall fun personality fit exactly what we were looking for for our perfect wedding day. She helped us create beautiful, everlasting photos that captured every little and big moment, and our personalities, perfectly! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Missy
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so grateful that my husband and I hired Life is Art Photography and had the opportunity to meet such a wonderful artist in our area. Kim captured the most beautiful, unique, and "in the moment" photographs of our wedding day. Her easy going personality kept everyone natural and left us with pictures that showed the emotion and character of everyone she photographed.

We enjoyed her SO much, we recently asked her to do our family fall pictures; which AGAIN were AWESOME! We have some of the most beautiful artwork on our walls thanks to Kim!
I am so grateful that my husband and I hired Life is Art Photography and had the opportunity to meet such a wonderful Read more...
I am so grateful that my husband and I hired Life is Art Photography and had the opportunity to meet such a wonderful artist in our area. Kim captured the most beautiful, unique, and "in the moment" photographs of our wedding day. Her easy going personality kept everyone natural and left us with pictures that showed the emotion and character of everyone she photographed.

We enjoyed her SO much, we recently asked her to do our family fall pictures; which AGAIN were AWESOME! We have some of the most beautiful artwork on our walls thanks to Kim! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennip
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Life is Art is just phenomenal- I would recommend Kim to every couple out there! :-) She showed up early on wedding day and stayed a little later during the reception, both she and her assistant had two cameras going for much of the time for a larger variety of shots, and they were always super friendly and helpful, and never impatient with all the family photos after the ceremony (and let me tell you, we had a ton!)

Not only did Kim go above and beyond for our photos, but she & her assistant were very helpful when it came to the finer details- making sure my dress was perfect or the wedding party was lined up just so, or the lighting was ideal on some outdoor shots with the overcast sky that day. Every picture taken was amazing- it was so hard to choose which photos to put in the album since they all looked incredible.

Plus the ordering process was easy-- I had the photo magazine to refer to with all the pics in front of me, and then I just ordered all my pictures from her website. I have to say that we definitely found a diamond in the rough with Life Is Art Photography, and I'd definitely recommend Kim to every couple out there looking for the perfect experience & photo memories of their special day.

-Jenni P. :)
Life is Art is just phenomenal- I would recommend Kim to every couple out there! :-) She showed up early on wedding day Read more...
Life is Art is just phenomenal- I would recommend Kim to every couple out there! :-) She showed up early on wedding day and stayed a little later during the reception, both she and her assistant had two cameras going for much of the time for a larger variety of shots, and they were always super friendly and helpful, and never impatient with all the family photos after the ceremony (and let me tell you, we had a ton!)

Not only did Kim go above and beyond for our photos, but she & her assistant were very helpful when it came to the finer details- making sure my dress was perfect or the wedding party was lined up just so, or the lighting was ideal on some outdoor shots with the overcast sky that day. Every picture taken was amazing- it was so hard to choose which photos to put in the album since they all looked incredible.

Plus the ordering process was easy-- I had the photo magazine to refer to with all the pics in front of me, and then I just ordered all my pictures from her website. I have to say that we definitely found a diamond in the rough with Life Is Art Photography, and I'd definitely recommend Kim to every couple out there looking for the perfect experience & photo memories of their special day.

-Jenni P. :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly Berg
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
We had both indoor and outdoor photographs taken and both came out so beautifully...Kim's natural eye for beauty was captured in many of our photographs. She also provided several unique photographs throughout our collection that were a great surprise to us. Our fall- sunset outdoor photos were, without enhancements, gorgeous. She literally did not leave my side the whole day, and my entire bridal experience was photographed as well - that personal touch is just awesome. My album turned out amazing. We could NOT have asked for a better photographer!
We had both indoor and outdoor photographs taken and both came out so beautifully...Kim's natural eye for beauty was Read more...
We had both indoor and outdoor photographs taken and both came out so beautifully...Kim's natural eye for beauty was captured in many of our photographs. She also provided several unique photographs throughout our collection that were a great surprise to us. Our fall- sunset outdoor photos were, without enhancements, gorgeous. She literally did not leave my side the whole day, and my entire bridal experience was photographed as well - that personal touch is just awesome. My album turned out amazing. We could NOT have asked for a better photographer! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kiilea
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
We had Kim photograph our wedding in Northern WI and absolutely loved her! She was so easy and pleasant to work with. She genuinely was excited about our day and her assistant was just as sweet as she was. I feel that being comfortable with them came through and made our photos that much more personal and special. She was on the scene way before she needed to be to check in and scope everything out for the best backgrounds for shots and stayed later when we asked her to. We have nothing but great things to say about her and her work, our photos are amazing and we cherish them because of the whole experience they remind us of.
We had Kim photograph our wedding in Northern WI and absolutely loved her! She was so easy and pleasant to work with. She Read more...
We had Kim photograph our wedding in Northern WI and absolutely loved her! She was so easy and pleasant to work with. She genuinely was excited about our day and her assistant was just as sweet as she was. I feel that being comfortable with them came through and made our photos that much more personal and special. She was on the scene way before she needed to be to check in and scope everything out for the best backgrounds for shots and stayed later when we asked her to. We have nothing but great things to say about her and her work, our photos are amazing and we cherish them because of the whole experience they remind us of. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TJ
Wedding:
8/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Kim was absolutely the BEST photographer we could have asked for. Pre-wedding details were meticulously attended to and the financial obligations were well outlined and adhered to. Kim and her assistant were an absolute joy to work with on our wedding day. The photos were simply beautiful and captured more than just the activities of they day...they truly captured the spirit. I highly recommend Kim for any of your photography needs...you won't be sorry!
Kim was absolutely the BEST photographer we could have asked for. Pre-wedding details were meticulously attended to and Read more...
Kim was absolutely the BEST photographer we could have asked for. Pre-wedding details were meticulously attended to and the financial obligations were well outlined and adhered to. Kim and her assistant were an absolute joy to work with on our wedding day. The photos were simply beautiful and captured more than just the activities of they day...they truly captured the spirit. I highly recommend Kim for any of your photography needs...you won't be sorry! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tessa
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.9/5.0
Everything turned out wonderful! There was only one pose that we thought we had got, but when the pictures came back it wasn't there. Other than that she was great to work with and had great ideas. I still get comments on my pictures 3 years later!
Everything turned out wonderful! There was only one pose that we thought we had got, but when the pictures came back it Read more...
Everything turned out wonderful! There was only one pose that we thought we had got, but when the pictures came back it wasn't there. Other than that she was great to work with and had great ideas. I still get comments on my pictures 3 years later! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Kim is AMAZING! Our photos are gorgeous and she was so incredibly fun to work with!
Kim is AMAZING! Our photos are gorgeous and she was so incredibly fun to work with!
Kim is AMAZING! Our photos are gorgeous and she was so incredibly fun to work with! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ycoulthurst
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.8/5.0
Life Is Art Photography did an amazing job with our photos!
We were very pleased on the outcome.. I liked her because she didn't do the same ol' same ol' stuff that photographers use and was open to any ideas and options that we had. I highly recommend her to anyone for anything
Life Is Art Photography did an amazing job with our photos!
We were very pleased on the outcome.. I liked her because Read more...
Life Is Art Photography did an amazing job with our photos!
We were very pleased on the outcome.. I liked her because she didn't do the same ol' same ol' stuff that photographers use and was open to any ideas and options that we had. I highly recommend her to anyone for anything Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1209821704224-loveneverfails.
blessedprincess
Wedding:
5/23/2008
4.7/5.0
Kim Larson was our wedding photographer. From the very beginning of our communication, she had been very responsive and flexible. She would do anything that we wanted and were very supportive. She was very understanding of our situation and was willing to make changes accordinly, which helped our wedding plan to go very smoothly and without much pressure at all. I highly recommend her, not only because she is very skillful with wedding photography, but also because she truly loves her job and loves her customers. She is wonderful!
Kim Larson was our wedding photographer. From the very beginning of our communication, she had been very responsive and Read more...
Kim Larson was our wedding photographer. From the very beginning of our communication, she had been very responsive and flexible. She would do anything that we wanted and were very supportive. She was very understanding of our situation and was willing to make changes accordinly, which helped our wedding plan to go very smoothly and without much pressure at all. I highly recommend her, not only because she is very skillful with wedding photography, but also because she truly loves her job and loves her customers. She is wonderful! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
schmoody315
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.0/5.0
Very satisfied with creativity and artistry in photos. The price, convenience, and flexibility were great aspects of this vendor. The photographers were very patient with our requests and interacted well with our wedding party and family members. We for sure got the "special treatment".

However, for both our engagement and wedding photos, we were told 2 weeks until the proofs were in and we had to wait 1 month for our engagement pics to be online and a month for our wedding pics to be online to view. It would have been fine had we been told this is how long it would take, but it was difficult to know a solid time frame of what to expect from this company.

Overall, a great vendor...you just have to be patient for the finished product.
Very satisfied with creativity and artistry in photos. The price, convenience, and flexibility were great aspects of this Read more...
Very satisfied with creativity and artistry in photos. The price, convenience, and flexibility were great aspects of this vendor. The photographers were very patient with our requests and interacted well with our wedding party and family members. We for sure got the "special treatment".

However, for both our engagement and wedding photos, we were told 2 weeks until the proofs were in and we had to wait 1 month for our engagement pics to be online and a month for our wedding pics to be online to view. It would have been fine had we been told this is how long it would take, but it was difficult to know a solid time frame of what to expect from this company.

Overall, a great vendor...you just have to be patient for the finished product. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kbm062510
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.0/5.0
Slow on responsiveness on Photos, has very long 7+ weeks to get photos posted to view online
Slow on responsiveness on Photos, has very long 7+ weeks to get photos posted to view online
Slow on responsiveness on Photos, has very long 7+ weeks to get photos posted to view online Read less
Services Used: Photography
Life is Art Photography responded with the following comments:

You are correct, that was way too long, and unfortunately double the time it usually takes. On rare occasion there are things outside of my control that push the timeline back. But please note that the best photos and a slideshow were published two weeks following the wedding so guests could enjoy them at the second reception. And I want to thank you for posting this review, it will keep me on my toes even if things slow me down! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.9/5.0
Hired Kim who seemed so professional. Thank God we paid for the package with the digital negatives. We received them 2 months after our wedding after Repeated calls , emails and we are still waiting for our $800.00 coffee table album. Haven't EVEN received a draft of this and been married 4 months. We're told once that she was 1/2 done.... but never got any thing! Also ordered prints...never replied to email... .text....or phone.
Hired Kim who seemed so professional. Thank God we paid for the package with the digital negatives. We received them 2 Read more...
Hired Kim who seemed so professional. Thank God we paid for the package with the digital negatives. We received them 2 months after our wedding after Repeated calls , emails and we are still waiting for our $800.00 coffee table album. Haven't EVEN received a draft of this and been married 4 months. We're told once that she was 1/2 done.... but never got any thing! Also ordered prints...never replied to email... .text....or phone. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Life is Art Photography responded with the following comments:

I'm sorry your expectations have gone unmet. Would you mind giving me a call so we can talk about how you've been trying to contact me? As of right now I have no missed calls or voicemails, though I may have a text message (on my personal cell phone?) that was sent over the holiday weekend. I'm sorry I do not generally respond to text messages of business nature because it's impossible for me to keep track of conversations. Especially on a holiday weekend while I'm enjoying time with my family. The only email I have that I have not responded to is one that was sent at 2:00 yesterday afternoon, a few hours before this review was written. Please allow me at least 48 hours to respond to emails.

Your album is actually ahead of schedule because your wedding was early in the season. I do all the album designs myself and refuse to outsource them, so I typically do not start them until late September when the wedding season is less busy. Your album is near completion and will be one of the first done since I complete them in order. I usually do a very good job letting everyone know this when they book a package with an album, so I am very sorry I may have not discussed it with you. That, and a few other frequently asked questions about package items, can be found on my website at http://www.lifeisartphoto.com/information/faq/. Thank you for promptly selecting your favorite photos because that did help me immensely in starting the design.

Your prints are in, however I withheld on sending them because I knew that you had left to go out of the country on 8/26, and I did not want UPS leaving them on a doorstep that might receive rain. I will send them today! My daylight hours this week are pretty full with last-minute seniors trying to get in their portrait sessions before the school year, but I will also call you this afternoon to chat about how I can better meet your expectations in the future. Thank you! ~Kim
130x130_sq_1309829194131-summer2010092
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.9/5.0
Honestly, I have a hard time rating Kim as a professional photographer. Here was our experience:

We loved working with her before the wedding and on the day of the wedding. We also love the photos she took - and really, that is the main point of working with a wedding photographer. So, if you want gorgeous photos you will definitely get those working with Kim.

Here's the problem we ran into: Kim was very poor in terms of responsiveness, communication, and time management. We had to contact her SEVERAL times to get anything after the wedding. I am well aware that projecting when to expect photos can be challenging, and unforeseen events can occur. However, it seemed that time we were able to get a hold of Kim there was some new reason why things were delayed. We got the electronic version of our photos several months after the wedding. We then had to ask to get all the photos from Kim (we purchased the package with full rights). We also had money in our package to order prints - which we just now received. We also finally received our wedding album. When I say that we just got these items, you should note that it took 13 MONTHS to receive them. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary before we had our wedding album. Needless to say, we were not pleased at all and because of that we will not return to Kim for future events.

I do want to say though, that Kim was incredibly apologetic about this entire situation. I like Kim, and it very well may be that she just had a very off year. I actually suspect that might be the case here. We all make mistakes, and I do want to allow for that. But, it's not like wedding photography is cheap either. It seems to me that Kim should hire a partner to run the business side of her company so she can focus on what she is good at - being a great photographer.
Honestly, I have a hard time rating Kim as a professional photographer. Here was our experience:

We loved working Read more...
Honestly, I have a hard time rating Kim as a professional photographer. Here was our experience:

We loved working with her before the wedding and on the day of the wedding. We also love the photos she took - and really, that is the main point of working with a wedding photographer. So, if you want gorgeous photos you will definitely get those working with Kim.

Here's the problem we ran into: Kim was very poor in terms of responsiveness, communication, and time management. We had to contact her SEVERAL times to get anything after the wedding. I am well aware that projecting when to expect photos can be challenging, and unforeseen events can occur. However, it seemed that time we were able to get a hold of Kim there was some new reason why things were delayed. We got the electronic version of our photos several months after the wedding. We then had to ask to get all the photos from Kim (we purchased the package with full rights). We also had money in our package to order prints - which we just now received. We also finally received our wedding album. When I say that we just got these items, you should note that it took 13 MONTHS to receive them. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary before we had our wedding album. Needless to say, we were not pleased at all and because of that we will not return to Kim for future events.

I do want to say though, that Kim was incredibly apologetic about this entire situation. I like Kim, and it very well may be that she just had a very off year. I actually suspect that might be the case here. We all make mistakes, and I do want to allow for that. But, it's not like wedding photography is cheap either. It seems to me that Kim should hire a partner to run the business side of her company so she can focus on what she is good at - being a great photographer. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
9/1/2012
0.0/5.0
This photographer took almost five thousand dollars from our family for pictures. She said the pictures would be complete in six weeks. She will not respond to many phone calls and emails. It has been 15 weeks since the wedding and she won't respond. This is a nightmare!!
This photographer took almost five thousand dollars from our family for pictures. She said the pictures would be complete Read more...
This photographer took almost five thousand dollars from our family for pictures. She said the pictures would be complete in six weeks. She will not respond to many phone calls and emails. It has been 15 weeks since the wedding and she won't respond. This is a nightmare!! Read less
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Mention this Ad!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Mention this ad and receive a 3x3 purse album with your favorite engagement or wedding photos when you book us!
Deal #WW19f9896705d290b0
220x220_1386907763806-2011003

MAP

 
Rochester, MN 55904 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Life is Art Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1386907763806-2011003