130x130_sq_1352844361115-billlaurapaulintux

Lightning Sound Mobile DJ, Photo Booth & Uplighting

Wolcott , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Wolcott, CT US 06716 (map)

PHONE

203-879-8778

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Since 1989 Lightning Sound has DJ’d wedding receptions creating fun, memorable, stress free, romantic wedding days for our brides and grooms. We take the time to listen and meet your... Read more
Since 1989 Lightning Sound has DJ’d wedding receptions creating fun, memorable, stress free, romantic wedding days for our brides and grooms. We take the time to listen and meet your needs.

The right DJ can change your reception from “ok” to “awesome”. As DJ and MC, we set the right tone for each and every moment, and provide appropriate music. With us watching the timing and details, you are able to enjoy your wedding reception with your guests!

Lightning Sound can offer “a little something for everyone”, so that guests of all ages can enjoy the music and dancing. Our extensive music library is updated monthly with current hits. Our web based planning forms and music database give you the tools to plan your wedding day and build your music lists at your convenience.

Our Classy Photo Booth offers great fun and memories for you and your guests. It is specially designed to accommodate from 2 to 15 guests at one time. It is also handicap accessible. Your guests will never forget the fun they had in the photo booth and their pictures in your photo book will provide lasting memories for you.

Great receptions are the result of selecting the right DJ / MC. Don't leave your once in a life time event up to chance. Experience is not expensive, it is priceless!

Give us a call today or visit our website for more information. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1273550491549-brittannyandmarkwithpaul
130x130_sq_1228856693378-dancing3
130x130_sq_1259556735454-p1010450
130x130_sq_1228856850346-groommom
130x130_sq_1228857351721-lightsdancing
130x130_sq_1273550214692-paulwithryanandkeely
130x130_sq_1259556392001-p1010477
130x130_sq_1273552029300-dscn1656
130x130_sq_1273550781688-johnandmeganandpaul
130x130_sq_1259556061345-p1010368
130x130_sq_1228857056753-dancing8
130x130_sq_1228857128487-2003-2004_img_5105
130x130_sq_1259557389392-p1010197
130x130_sq_1273551011493-5
130x130_sq_1273551315430-79510012
130x130_sq_1273551468899-30540011
130x130_sq_1228856590925-bride_groomdancing
130x130_sq_1273551834936-daveandjenandpaul
130x130_sq_1273551901115-joeandelainewithpaul
130x130_sq_1273552349098-dscn1642
130x130_sq_1352952446666-img3006
130x130_sq_1352952939637-img2622
130x130_sq_1352958426799-img2569
130x130_sq_1352958796915-img2533
130x130_sq_1352959518312-p1030526
130x130_sq_1352960170816-20111112jennaandericbrodeur
130x130_sq_1352960707840-20111030chrisandsharonalonzo
130x130_sq_1352999509068-20111022deniseandjohnpumphrey
130x130_sq_1353000456190-20111001valerieandjarradlange
130x130_sq_1353001002215-20110923ashleyandmichaelwilliamson
130x130_sq_1353001279350-20110910jennaandcraiggagne
130x130_sq_1353011032292-20110717jordanandperryrobinson
130x130_sq_1353011553926-20110716kellieandbrianburkhardt
130x130_sq_1353013100109-20110709amyandvancesykes
130x130_sq_1353016061223-20110708stephanieandadamgoldbrerg
130x130_sq_1353016353876-20110529erinandericmorin
130x130_sq_1353016560458-20110702jasonandbarbarabradshaw
130x130_sq_1353017294213-20110626christinaandmarkhudson
130x130_sq_1353018487452-20110514sarahandchriscosta
130x130_sq_1353019508389-img2282

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1335876601086-img2316
Erin
Wedding:
12/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Lightning Sound enough. Prior to our wedding we met with Paul twice--once as a consult and once more to finalize details. We were given the chance to make our own playlist, which was very important to us as we are Christians and only wanted clean music (no cursing or sex/drugs/rock&roll references). Paul was extremely accommodating, and he definitely upheld his promise to us. Throughout the entire process it was very apparent that he wanted to make our reception into everything we dreamed it to be. He also took great care to learn how to pronounce all the names of our family/wedding party, and this was no small task as I am Samoan and my husband is Sicilian--needless to say, we have very difficult names in our families. He did great--said them all perfectly. We also had a "dry" reception (no alcohol), so there were concerns that people might not be as uninhibited on the dance floor. However, this simply was not the case. Paul was highly entertaining, kept everyone engaged, picked great songs, made everything flow smoothly and there was a huge crowd on the dance floor the whole night. Now, we may be a little biased, but we've never had more fun at a wedding reception. Period. We will always remember how much fun we had with our family & friends during our reception. Thank you Paul & Debbie for everything!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Hiring Paul to be our DJ was one of the best decisions that we made for our 9/13/13 wedding. He was organized, professional, fun and easy to work with. He responded to emails and requests right away and made suggestions for things that we were unsure of. During the ceremony he played all of the songs we wanted, none of the ones we didn't and kept people on the dance floor all night. He also took the time to make sure that my husband and I sat and ate our dinner while keeping us on schedule for the whole night. The photo booth he recommended was a HUGE hit. I can't recommend this vendor enough. I'd hire him again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Paul was absolutely fantastic. From the moment we met with him, we felt comfortable and confident that he was the DJ for us. He wanted to make sure that things went the way we wanted them to be. His website was extremely helpful and very easy to use to help us plan. He had excellent song selection. He was a great MC. On top of all that, he checked on little details throughout the day so that we didn't have to think about them. He even came over to us when our food was being served and told us to sit down and eat. He helped the day run so smoothly! We could not be happier with Paul's service and would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I used the DJ & Photo Booth services. They were great, friendly and easy to work with. I especially want to note how great they were to deal with after my venue suddenly went out of business and I had to switch venues! I was freaking out but they were very nice, and worked with me on my venue switch. On my wedding day, they were phenomenal and really made the day go great! The photo booth is fully wheelchair accessible- an important detail for my family! (And the guestbook turned out SO great!)
Services Used: DJ,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Ann
Wedding:
3/24/2013
5.0/5.0
You were the best part of our wedding! Our guests loves the dj and how he was so involved in our wedding. I think everyone's favorite part was also playing in the photobooth! I would reccomendend you to anyone having an event! I know whenever we need a dj we will always choose you! Thank you again for everything and how organized you were I could not have done it without you!!!!
Services Used: DJ,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We decided on a photobooth last minute and I am do glad we did! They were flexible and accommodating. The guests loved it!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We are so glad we decided to go with a photobooth last minute, it was a huge hit at our wedding! They were flexible and so great to work with- highly recommended!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Excellent DJ- customized everything for us and very pleasant to work with. I do and will continue to recommend to family/friends!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristina
Wedding:
12/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul was an unbelievable quality of DJ for the value of his service. Highly recommended! He even noticed when I tried to make my way toward the ladies' room at one point during my evening and got swamped by guests wanting to chat -- he very politely interrupted with a 'question for me' so that I could run to the ladies' for 2 mins.! How thoughtful!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
10/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul was great! He had high quality sound equipment, not just the basic DJ system. He was able to play the music at a lower level and have it still be heard clearly. We provided him a list of songs we would like him to play and he was able to accommodate most of them.

We also rented the photo booth which was a great hit with the guests and almost everyone used it. They got to keep one copy and we received a photo album with a second copy of all the photos.

He was very professional and made sure everything went smoothly. It was a great night!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Highly recommend Lightning Sound, played a great selection of songs and engaging, had everyone dancing all night. Thank you for making our special day that much more special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
barbara
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Him and his wife are awesome :)
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Lightning sound was great!!! Everything was perfect.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1316005216986-johannacarmen490
Johanna
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul did a great job. Everyone had a good time. Thank you so much!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shawn
Wedding:
12/29/2012
4.9/5.0
Excellent attention to detail!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
St Patricks Day Wedding
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.9/5.0
I'd honestly have to say Paul made my wedding one of the best weddings most of our guests had ever attended. The DJing was spectacular and the photobooth was a huge hit especially with of all the crazy hats! Paul also made me feel as relaxed as possible when it came to the schedule of events and I never felt rushed which made the day so spectacular. I would highly recommend Lightning Sound to anyone looking for a DJ or photobooth. I truly believe the DJ can make or break a party and Paul surely made my wedding day the perfect party of a lifetime!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
great wedding, everyone danced the entire time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
8/11/2007
4.7/5.0
Paul was an amazing DJ. We had a lot of fun. He really cared for us and brought our food over and made sure we were okay. He also did a great job on the songs. People had a blast. If you ever get him, tell him to do the Chicken dance. It was such a hit at our wedding, he does it so amazingly and he brings everyone out to do it. I would recommend them anyday.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
Guests loved the photobooth!! Would definitely use paul again!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
Paul's services came highly recommended from multiple friends whose weddings I attended. I was impressed with Paul's skills at my friend’s weddings and was eager to have him MC/DJ at my wedding.


Quality of service:
Paul’s equipment is Bose and seemed to be very high end. His presentation is outstanding with regards to equipment looks and attire. I do have issues with the quality of the services I received. We hired Paul to setup music outside for pre ceremony, mic the officiant, setup a mic for my wife and I to speak our vows to the crowd, and to MC/DJ the reception. The mic for my wife and I speak our vows to the crowd did not work. My family let me know that they could not here our vows… -1. During the reception, there was a 5 second period where extremely loud feedback surged through the hall which instantly disturbed all guests. The hall went from happy/excited to dead silent and concerned. Lastly, some of his speakers were crackling/popping during the reception and did so for minutes on end. So much so that I asked Paul to fix the issue. I don’t really care what the issue was but I expected near perfection and believed Paul would deliver. Paul delivered sub-par services. C

Responsiveness:
Paul‘s responses to email were within 2-4 days of receiving them. I am satisfied with his responsiveness. B

Professionalism:
Paul was extremely professional in all interactions. A+

Value:
To be fair, I did not research other DJs. That said, I can’t compare his perceived value to others. For the amount we paid and the services received, the value is 4 stars. B

Flexibility
Paul was extremely flexible with regards to downloading and playing songs that he didn’t have in his stock. He was able to meet with us ad hoc. A+
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.0/5.0
We found out about lightning sound from 2 friends who had used them for their weddings. We first met with Paul at his home. We were immediately barraged by his dog who jumped all over my husband and I, the DJ did not make any attempt to stop his dog from doing this until almost 5 awkward moments had passed. The couch on which we were asked to sit to discuss the contract was covered in dog hair. The house reeked of dog. This is where he conducts all his business with his clients. Upon our second meeting with Lightning sound, we again met at his house- we spent some time discussing which songs we wanted for the anniversary dance, bouquet toss, etc. Paul was very receptive to our requests. I emphasized the fact that our wedding was to be a classic romantic evening and I did not need much of the traditional “ baseball sports announcer “ bit that you see from many dj’s do at weddings for introductions, announcements, etc. We also had a few songs that Paul did not already have in his music library. At this final meeting he told us that because he didn’t have them we would need to purchase them ourselves off Itune or some other music database. After this, we expressed to him that given the amount of money we were paying we expected him to do that for us. After a long reponse time back he emailed us to say he would be able to do it. At the ceremony, our DJ showed up promptly and with all of his equipment. On the same token, he appeared very sloppily garbed, sweating profusely and on top of that, the mic for my husband and I set up by Paul to speak our vows to our family and friends did not work.. Our vows fell on deaf ears due to his malfunctioning equipment. My parents sitting in the first row said they could barely hear me, my husband realizing the mic was not working spoke loudly so that all could hear but this shouldn’t have been his burden to bear. The rest of our family and friends on both sides later let us know that they could not hear our vows either. 2B continued
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Wolcott, CT 06716 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Lightning Sound Mobile DJ, Photo Booth & Uplighting
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo