130x130 sq 1424970907268 008 lower res

Lindsay Straw: Singer & Guitarist

Boston , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Boston, MA 02115 US (map)

PHONE

617-651-0892

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Acoustic covers, Irish tunes, folk songs or classical standards to set the mood for your wedding, party, or event!

About Me

I'm a guitarist, vocalist, and Irish... Read more
Acoustic covers, Irish tunes, folk songs or classical standards to set the mood for your wedding, party, or event!

About Me

I'm a guitarist, vocalist, and Irish bouzouki player who specializes in traditional and contemporary folk music, acoustic renditions of rock and pop songs, and the standard classical wedding repertoire. I've been performing for weddings and events ever since graduating from Berklee College of Music in 2010. Since then, I've performed for more weddings, parties, and corporate events than I can count, as well as at a variety of renowned folk music venues and house concerts throughout New England and beyond.

Weddings

For the couple looking for something non-traditional, I have an ever-growing repertoire of acoustic pop, contemporary folk and Americana covers (think James Taylor, Beatles, Mumford & Sons, Sara Bareilles, etc.) as well as Irish and Scottish folk songs and tunes that make beautiful wedding ceremony song choices. For those who want to include a bit of tradition, I can also play the standard classical wedding pieces such as "Canon in D" and "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring".

Other Private Events

In addition to weddings, I also love playing for other private events and parties - St Patrick's Day and Christmas holiday parties, birthday and anniversary parties, corporate events, or any old excuse to get together and have fun. I've also been honored to contribute music to several memorial and funeral services in the past.

Like traditional Irish music and looking for a group to perform?

I'm also happy to coordinate and subcontract with a fiddle, Irish flute, tin whistle, concertina and/or accordion player to play with me for your wedding or event.

I love working with couples and clients to pick out songs and styles that are perfectly suited to their tastes and event! I'm based in Boston, Massachusetts, and I'm happy to travel anywhere in New England to be a part of your wedding or event in any way I can. For more information, song lists, and audio samples please visit my website. Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1420667381293 008 lower res
130x130 sq 1416939044666 s and j wedding 177
130x130 sq 1413596690026 flutterflair   eyes opened
130x130 sq 1413911976128 034 lower res
130x130 sq 1416938780038 s and j wedding 168
130x130 sq 1413596817340 flutterflair   chapel 1
130x130 sq 1424971740792 darry madden   ged  petes
130x130 sq 1413912007983 055 lower res
130x130 sq 1389843631541 0310mp6a961
130x130 sq 1360449718151 598530a14273ce4234ce68d6e957d62af8ebf
130x130 sq 1420415893884 mar 2014 ivy leaf 3
130x130 sq 1340835667742 ivyleaf198
130x130 sq 1424971675943 armand  me 2011
130x130 sq 1310582601804 0004

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Soloist / Vocalist
What instruments does your group play?
Flute, Guitar, Violin
What is your usual attire?
Depending on the weather, black pants with a nice top, or a skirt or dress, in neutral colors unless all-black is requested.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
I do occasionally play public gigs with no or a low cover charge, plus I have loads of samples available online. Anyone who books me with my Irish duo or trio is given a copy of our CD of traditional Irish music!
How much time do you usually need for setup?
I like to have lots of set-up time - typically 2 hours for ceremony & cocktail hour bookings, 1-1.5 hours for ceremony only - but I can get ready in less time if necessary.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
I factor travel expenses into my rates for events within 30 miles of Boston. Additional charges apply for events beyond 30 miles.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Darah
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Lindsay is a consummate professional and a very sweet person. I loved working with her! She learned to play a unique song for my processional and travelled from Boston to Dennis for our ceremony. She has a beautiful voice and is a wickedly talented guitarist… I recommend her highly. Our ceremony was outside and the venue would not allow Lindsay to use an amplifier of any sort, so she was a little hard to hear at times. I only mention this to future brides/grooms so that they can check with their venues to make sure you get the full experience of Lindsay's talent!
Lindsay is a consummate professional and a very sweet person. I loved working with her! She learned to play a unique song Read more...
Lindsay is a consummate professional and a very sweet person. I loved working with her! She learned to play a unique song for my processional and travelled from Boston to Dennis for our ceremony. She has a beautiful voice and is a wickedly talented guitarist… I recommend her highly. Our ceremony was outside and the venue would not allow Lindsay to use an amplifier of any sort, so she was a little hard to hear at times. I only mention this to future brides/grooms so that they can check with their venues to make sure you get the full experience of Lindsay's talent! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/27/2014
5.0/5.0
Lindsay performed the most beautiful music during my wedding and cocktail hour. She was fantastic to work with and so accommodating. I would recommend her without reservations to anyone who wants fantastic live music at their wedding. My guests are still raving about her performance!
Lindsay performed the most beautiful music during my wedding and cocktail hour. She was fantastic to work with and so Read more...
Lindsay performed the most beautiful music during my wedding and cocktail hour. She was fantastic to work with and so accommodating. I would recommend her without reservations to anyone who wants fantastic live music at their wedding. My guests are still raving about her performance! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Julie
Wedding:
9/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Lindsay performed at our wedding ceremony this past September. She learned one of my favorite songs for the procession (Sweet Disposition) and did an absolutely beautiful job! She's quick to respond and is also helpful in guiding you through the process. I highly recommend booking her for any special occasion!
Lindsay performed at our wedding ceremony this past September. She learned one of my favorite songs for the procession Read more...
Lindsay performed at our wedding ceremony this past September. She learned one of my favorite songs for the procession (Sweet Disposition) and did an absolutely beautiful job! She's quick to respond and is also helpful in guiding you through the process. I highly recommend booking her for any special occasion! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
KECIA
Wedding:
9/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I looked and listened to quite a few guitarist/vocalists but knew once I heard Lindsay that I wanted her for our special day. She was instantly responsive and easy going and the range of her music was incredible. She was willing to learn several songs for our special day and when I changed our first dance song at the last minute she adapted beautifully. We are still hearing raves about her performance weeks after our wedding. She truly is an amazing artist and her pricing was pot on if not under priced for what she delivered. Definitely top notch and I can't wait to get our video back to we can hear more of her from the cocktail hour. Hire her QUICK!!
I looked and listened to quite a few guitarist/vocalists but knew once I heard Lindsay that I wanted her for our special Read more...
I looked and listened to quite a few guitarist/vocalists but knew once I heard Lindsay that I wanted her for our special day. She was instantly responsive and easy going and the range of her music was incredible. She was willing to learn several songs for our special day and when I changed our first dance song at the last minute she adapted beautifully. We are still hearing raves about her performance weeks after our wedding. She truly is an amazing artist and her pricing was pot on if not under priced for what she delivered. Definitely top notch and I can't wait to get our video back to we can hear more of her from the cocktail hour. Hire her QUICK!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lindsay was great, the highlight of the wedding. Many guests raved about how great a voice she had and what a good choice she was. She was incredibly flexible leading up to the wedding and quickly and easily moved when the ceremony was rained out. Handled last minute song changes without missing a beat.
Lindsay was great, the highlight of the wedding. Many guests raved about how great a voice she had and what a good choice Read more...
Lindsay was great, the highlight of the wedding. Many guests raved about how great a voice she had and what a good choice she was. She was incredibly flexible leading up to the wedding and quickly and easily moved when the ceremony was rained out. Handled last minute song changes without missing a beat. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Jaime
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
Lindsay was absolutely fantastic! Her music was a wonderful addition to our wedding ceremony. She was a pleasure to work with and our guests were raving about her!
Lindsay was absolutely fantastic! Her music was a wonderful addition to our wedding ceremony. She was a pleasure to work Read more...
Lindsay was absolutely fantastic! Her music was a wonderful addition to our wedding ceremony. She was a pleasure to work with and our guests were raving about her! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Abbie
Wedding:
8/9/2014
5.0/5.0
I don't know where to start with Lindsay. She is AMAZING. Incredibly professional, communicative, flexible and not to mention her beautiful voice. Lindsay did not stop playing throughout the entire ceremony and reception. I cannot thank her enough for all of her hard work. I would recommend her for any wedding or event!
I don't know where to start with Lindsay. She is AMAZING. Incredibly professional, communicative, flexible and not to Read more...
I don't know where to start with Lindsay. She is AMAZING. Incredibly professional, communicative, flexible and not to mention her beautiful voice. Lindsay did not stop playing throughout the entire ceremony and reception. I cannot thank her enough for all of her hard work. I would recommend her for any wedding or event! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
8/2/2014
5.0/5.0
Linsday has plenty of glowing reviews from happy brides. Here's one from a happy groom. Lindsay did a masterful job. We met in advance to discuss music choice, and she handled everything from there. She brought audio equipment for our outdoor ceremony, and my guests raved about her performance. She is an excellent guitarist and wonderful vocalist. I underestimated how important live music was going to be. I am so glad we chose Lindsay to perform at our ceremony. We made separate arrangements to have her MC the early part of the reception. She was all around great. I enthusiastically recommend Lindsay without reservation.
Linsday has plenty of glowing reviews from happy brides. Here's one from a happy groom. Lindsay did a masterful job. We Read more...
Linsday has plenty of glowing reviews from happy brides. Here's one from a happy groom. Lindsay did a masterful job. We met in advance to discuss music choice, and she handled everything from there. She brought audio equipment for our outdoor ceremony, and my guests raved about her performance. She is an excellent guitarist and wonderful vocalist. I underestimated how important live music was going to be. I am so glad we chose Lindsay to perform at our ceremony. We made separate arrangements to have her MC the early part of the reception. She was all around great. I enthusiastically recommend Lindsay without reservation. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Samantha
Wedding:
7/28/2014
5.0/5.0
We loved having Lindsay as part of our wedding day. I think we received more compliments on her playing during the reception than on any other vendor during the wedding weekend. It was just so perfect for the location and feel of our wedding. She was incredibly responsive from first email right the way through to wedding day. Lindsay learned our first dance song, and even emailed us a recording of her playing it the week before the wedding. Her voice is simply beautiful and she is a truly skilled musician. I would not hesitate to recommend her to any bride and look forward to one day being able to use her again for future celebrations.
We loved having Lindsay as part of our wedding day. I think we received more compliments on her playing during the Read more...
We loved having Lindsay as part of our wedding day. I think we received more compliments on her playing during the reception than on any other vendor during the wedding weekend. It was just so perfect for the location and feel of our wedding. She was incredibly responsive from first email right the way through to wedding day. Lindsay learned our first dance song, and even emailed us a recording of her playing it the week before the wedding. Her voice is simply beautiful and she is a truly skilled musician. I would not hesitate to recommend her to any bride and look forward to one day being able to use her again for future celebrations. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Michaela
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with Lindsay was one of the best decisions we made when planning our wedding. We wanted to combine all the contemporary music we love, with Irish music from our heritage, and Lindsay did a great job blending the two seamlessly. Lindsay played for both our ceremony and cocktail hour. I was brought to tears when I walked past her going down the aisle, and heard her playing. Lindsay was so easy to work with, never making us feel pressured to make decisions by a certain deadline, which is a blessing when working with many different vendors. She offered helpful suggestions, which were perfect. Our wedding guests still talk about how amazing her music was, and I can't imagine our day without her.
Working with Lindsay was one of the best decisions we made when planning our wedding. We wanted to combine all the Read more...
Working with Lindsay was one of the best decisions we made when planning our wedding. We wanted to combine all the contemporary music we love, with Irish music from our heritage, and Lindsay did a great job blending the two seamlessly. Lindsay played for both our ceremony and cocktail hour. I was brought to tears when I walked past her going down the aisle, and heard her playing. Lindsay was so easy to work with, never making us feel pressured to make decisions by a certain deadline, which is a blessing when working with many different vendors. She offered helpful suggestions, which were perfect. Our wedding guests still talk about how amazing her music was, and I can't imagine our day without her. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
Boston, MA 02115 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Lindsay Straw: Singer & Guitarist
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1424970907268 008 lower res