130x130_sq_1389587973780-nootim---underwater-trash-the-dress-photographer--

Luckie Photography

Playa Del Carmen

LOCATION

5th ave s/n
Playa del Carmen, MX 77700 (map)

PHONE

52-984-806-9807

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

DESTINATION WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER

MEXICO | JAMAICA | NEW YORK | ITALY | LOS CABOS | CANCUN | PLAYA DEL CARMEN | CALIFORNIA | PUERTO VALLARTA

I am a documentary... Read more
DESTINATION WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER

MEXICO | JAMAICA | NEW YORK | ITALY | LOS CABOS | CANCUN | PLAYA DEL CARMEN | CALIFORNIA | PUERTO VALLARTA

I am a documentary photographer and a destination wedding photographer, specialized in destination weddings around the world and underwater trash the dress, creating an award winning photographs

As a documentary and photojournalist photographer, I work in an obstrusive way to provide brides with fine art documentary photographs. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1386197663683-beautiful-bride-to-b
130x130_sq_1299117405570-luckie9045900
130x130_sq_1299117407930-nycengagementphotography8722
130x130_sq_1299117474977-luckiephotography5574
130x130_sq_1299117462524-luckiephotography9021
130x130_sq_1299117471086-luckiephotography5580
130x130_sq_1299117512742-dpp07db0208003404
130x130_sq_1299117420008-thebrideintheredhall4377
130x130_sq_1299117433320-luckiephotography3340
130x130_sq_1386197653502-antoniaigor---wedding-photographer---ivan-luckieph
130x130_sq_1386197658272-beach-palace-wedding-photography---nadineelliot---
130x130_sq_1299117397414-lebluewedding
130x130_sq_1386197673191-brookepatrick--tulum-beach-trash-the-dress---lucki
130x130_sq_1386197680964-cassiejordan---gran-caribe-real-cuncun-wedding-pho
130x130_sq_1386197689933-courtney-and-david---royal-hidaway-weddding-photog
130x130_sq_1386197707786-crislazaro-casas---monterrey-wedding-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386197714718-do-yoon-yoon-joo---dreams-cancun---luckiephotograp
130x130_sq_1386197721681-do-yoon-yoon-joo---dreams-cancun---luckiephotograp
130x130_sq_1386197729428-do-yoon-yoon-joo---dreams-cancun---luckiephotograp
130x130_sq_1386197739981-evadan---azul-sensatori-wedding-photographer---iva
130x130_sq_1386197748129-evadan---azul-sensatori-wedding-photographer---iva
130x130_sq_1386197758922-hollywood-kiss-weddin
130x130_sq_1386197766343-iliethtrino---beach-trash-the-dress-photography---
130x130_sq_1386197773245-into-the-dark---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386197785423-italy-wedding-photographer---silviakay---ivan-luck
130x130_sq_1386197793462-jamaica-wedding-photographer---luckie-photograph
130x130_sq_1386197807118-janebryan---iberistar-paraiso-maya--luckiephotogra
130x130_sq_1386197819162-jennyryan---privilege-aluxes--luckiephotography-
130x130_sq_1386197833620-jillian-jeff-now-jade-luckiephotography-
130x130_sq_1386197843324-jumping-bride-carlsbad-luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386197849932-laurastephen---the-royal-cuncun-wedding-photograph
130x130_sq_1386197858946-lorrain-and-brad---xcaret-wedding-photographer---i
130x130_sq_1386197890781-lorrain-and-brad---xcaret-wedding-photographer---i
130x130_sq_1386197904959-los-cabos-wedding---luckie-photograph
130x130_sq_1386198243789-malininick---gran-caribe-cancun--luckiephotography
130x130_sq_1386198256619-melissajason---excelence-rviera-maya-wedding-photo
130x130_sq_1386198267148-modern-wedding-photograph
130x130_sq_1386198276805-new-york-engagement-session---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198284595-palms-and-blues---barcelo-riviera-may
130x130_sq_1386198290391-roxanadaniel---dreams-tulum--luckiephotography-
130x130_sq_1386198316038-san-francisco-wedding---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198322746-saratom---dreams-cancun-wedding-photographer---iva
130x130_sq_1386198332059-seagulls-flight---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198338512-shannon-and-daniel---sandos-cancun-wedding-photogr
130x130_sq_1386198343115-shannonrick---las-ranitas---luckiephotography-
130x130_sq_1386198357816-silviakay---italy-wedding--luckiephotography-
130x130_sq_1386198366999-soul-portrai
130x130_sq_1386198374698-tatianamanuel---isla-mujeres-wedding---luckiephoto
130x130_sq_1386198382929-ufo---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198397673-under-the-bridge---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198406117-vianeychris---tulum-beach-trash-the-dress---luckie
130x130_sq_1386198416652-volcano-kiss---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198422749-white-shadow---luckiephotograph
130x130_sq_1386198429455-yazminamaury---fotografo-de-bodas-en-san-luis-poto
130x130_sq_1386198438506-yazminamaury---fotografo-de-bodas-en-san-luis-poto
130x130_sq_1386294936001-vianeychris---underwater-cenote-trash-the-dress-ph
130x130_sq_1386294941758-vianeychris---underwater-cenote-trash-the-dress-ph
130x130_sq_1386294947386-catherinemike---undwewater-cenoe-trash-the-dress--
130x130_sq_1386294953177-denisebert---underwater-cenote-trash-the-dress-pho
130x130_sq_1386294960152-denisebert---underwater-cenote-trash-the-dress-pho
130x130_sq_1386294969864-katrinamichael---underwater-photographer--ivan-luc
130x130_sq_1386294978731-katrinamichael---underwater-photographer--ivan-luc
130x130_sq_1386294989073-nootim---underwater-trash-the-dress-photographer--
130x130_sq_1386294996442-judyvictor--azul-fives-ans-cenote-trash-the-dress-
130x130_sq_1386295006805-sofiamike---cenote-underwater-trash-the-dress-phot
130x130_sq_1386297551375-sofiamike---cenote-underwater-trash-the-dress-phot
130x130_sq_1386297557844-rachaelomar---underwater-trash-the-dress-photograp
130x130_sq_1386297563022-rachaelomar---underwater-trash-the-dress-photograp
130x130_sq_1386297569849-mitzicarlos---underwater-trash-the-dress-photograp
130x130_sq_1386297578034-eva-daniel---underwater-wedding-photographer---iva
130x130_sq_1386297583707-evadaniel---underwater-trash-the-dress-wedding-pho
130x130_sq_1386297590821-judy-and-victor---underwater-trash-the-dress-photo
130x130_sq_1386297599513-nootim---underwater-trash-the-dress-wedding-photog
130x130_sq_1386297608573-sofiamike---underwater-trash-the-dress-photographe
130x130_sq_1386297615088-julianpaul---cenote-trash-the-dress---ivan-luckie-

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Digital Files, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I have experience in a wide range of light situations, all successful so far
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot in digital but also shoot film for personal projects
How many photographers do you work with?
I do work by myself and in some situations have an assistant/photographer due to my style working with more than 2 is obtrusive. also the misconception of more photographers means more photos where reality is more photographers more creative limitations, 2 photographers is OK
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Sure! If the wedding is a detonation wedging I arrive 2 days before, we are 2 photographers so any must make it, anyway we know many great photographers that are up to help as a deal in case of unexpected complications to cover the wedding
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
No, I never book myself in the same day, probably the next, depending on the wedding location
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Sure! If the wedding is a detonation wedging I arrive 2 days before, we are 2 photographers so any must make it, anyway we know many great photographers that are up to help as a deal in case of unexpected complications to cover the wedding
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
2 boday cameras plus one back up, flashes, LED
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
yes
Do you charge hourly or full day?
both, depending on the needs
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes, for extra charge per hour please send us your inquiry
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Yes, the client must provide the meal, It is needed to keep a happy, full charge , health photographer
Do you charge for travel?
depending on the location, must locations are including in the price
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Up to 6 months
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Everything is offered in digital and JPEG format
How long can the client keep the proofs?
I have all the proof so fat since I started anyway It is the client responsibility to back them up as soon as they get the photographs
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Client is able to print them for their personal use and family and friends share, Client can not profit or comest them.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Final photographs are given to client, only.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, for 3 months
What kind of albums do you offer?
Most beautiful Flush mount albums
When will the client get the final album?
45 days after all the pictures are finish and ready for deliver.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
There are no words to thank Ivan Luckie for doing such a lovely work, I did not realised he was all around, when I saw my wedding pictures, I immediately figure out that he was capturing all the real moments that were going on during the day, he insisted that his photography is true and honest, nothing manipulated and I was super excited to have a real story, well he doesn't disappoint me actually he amazed me!! and now I look at my pictures time after time and I remember the day perfectly, every picture give me a whole idea that what happened and the story is unbelievable!

My husband was lean towards the most expensive photographer in the area, 3 of them, we check all the posts and we had no doubt that Ivan from Luckie Photography will capture the day perfectly, we also realised that those expensive photographer over edited the pictures at a point where they look fake, mainly on the skins and the whites of the dresses totally without texture, I realise about this because I was looking at dresses and compared with my dress.

We leant on photo quality, but we asked for the reason why they were expensive and their answer were almost the same, the expensive equipment but! Ivan explained us later and told us that he really do photography because he loves it and he thinks most photographers manage the business as business man, love this point!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jina
Wedding:
5/2/2014
5.0/5.0
I am so thankful that I wanted to write about Luckie Photography service, I am so happy on how my wedding pictures turned out, since the first moment I talked to Ivan and after seen a lot of his work, I knew I had to have him, as a person he is great, as an artist he is unique, as a business man he is always there for me when I needed, I am not sure how to say all this, but I think this is clear

I just keep looking and looking at my pictures and me, my friends and family we all are transported to the wedding day, we feel like it was some days ago, this remarks what i think about Ivan Luckie Photography, he is gifted!

I recommend Luckie Photography to capture the best day of your life!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginna
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Ivan has an excellent communication, he answers emails in less than a day, sometimes in less than a minute, for real! he answered me all my questions and I had no doubt he was the right one, his photos shows his passion as well as the information in his website, I loved the way he offers visual and text information about him, his amazing work and everything else I need!

On the wedding day he was great and easy to work with, he is s super nice guy as well as his assistant.

I got my pictures about a week, they are so beautiful! we also ordered an album, which we were not sure about to order because you get from Ivan the high resolutions photos, but Ivan insisted and I can not regret, the album is so beautiful! the quality is great, I just love it! and everyone has loved the photos and the album so far!

I recommend Ivan´s work, he is a truly artist, a truly person and the results are the best of all!

Love! Gin and Carl
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jully
Wedding:
4/2/2014
5.0/5.0
I start saying that I got the most beautiful pictures of my wedding, unique pictures and unique moments, I am so blessed that i found LuckiePhotography, I do not regret, I am in love with my pictures and I can even select my favorite, just too many good shoots, my family is also raving about them.

I want to recommend Ivan, he si a great person, very professional and the pictures are gorgeous!

Thank you so much Ivan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We just get our wedding photos and my first word out of my mouth is WOW! all my family and relatives also raves about the pictures, I had no doubt I made the right choose, I can not say and thank enough, Ivan was fantastic! we capture great moments of me, my husband and my family and friends.

We got around 400 pictures and, believe me, I had a hard time selecting my favorite, this means to me I am blessed finding Ivan in my way, such a gift guy for such an important day is not just that easy

If you are still looking for a photographer hire Ivan Luckie you are not going to regret, ever!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
4/11/2013
5.0/5.0
There are no words to thank Ivan Luckie for doing such a lovely work, I did not realised he was all around, when I saw my wedding pictures, I immediately figure out that he was capturing all the real moments that were going on during the day, he insisted that his photography is true and honest, nothing manipulated and I was super excited to have a real story, well he doesn't disappoint me actually he amazed me!! and now I look at my pictures time after time and I remember the day perfectly, every picture give me a whole idea that what happened and the story is unbelievable!

My husband was lean towards the most expensive photographer in the area, 3 of them, we check all the posts and we had no doubt that Ivan from Luckie Photography will capture the day perfectly, we also realised that those expensive photographer over edited the pictures at a point where they look fake, mainly on the skins and the whites of the dresses totally without texture, I realise about this because I was looking at dresses and compared with my dress.

We leant on photo quality, but we asked for the reason why they were expensive and their answer were almost the same, the expensive equipment but! Ivan explained us later and told us that he really do photography because he loves it and he thinks most photographers manage the business as business man, love this point!

I recommend Ivan Luckie and will use him again for my pregnancy session and family as well, never risk my precious memories on anybody!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
1/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I can say I was a little worried about a vender that was not through the Hotel. But when they arrived they were very nice, polite and did a really good job. They came back the next day and took Omar & Rachael to another location for the Trash the Dress.

I was very impressed with them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
5/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Mama mia! We would love to speak tons of words and paragraphs about Ivan Luckie but honestly it will be boring when what I can say about him and his pictures is WOW! I am a photographer myself, I really picky one, and I think Ivan’s pictures are fascinating, he handles the available light in a way I just love it, the colors are fabulous, composition so cool and moments in the right timing!

I recommend Ivan LuckiePhotography to anyone getting married anywhere, do not through your money with out of this World expensive companies out there, truly moments can only be taken by a skilled photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Let me start by saying...if we could give Ivan 10 stars we would. From the moment we met with him we fell in Love with Ivan and his talent. He was everything we were looking for from him vibrant photography to his overall kind personality he truly is one of a kind. He capture such AMAZING!!! pictures If you want a remarkable photographer look no further!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We knew we had to have Ivan Luckie after seeing his images. He was a integral part of our wedding. Always super professional and proficient he led us with incredible vision without being pushy. Most the time you didn't know he was there, but the pictures show otherwise. His true brilliant vision captured our most important moments the way we wanted to remember it and we re-live the blissfulness of the day every time we look at them. We couldn't have wished for a better photojournalistic team and the end result was exactly what we were hoping for. We would recommend Ivan to anyone who needs their most precious moments captured in a way where the essence of the situation is shown to you through the eyes of a truly gifted photographer. We would recommend Ivan solely based on the end result of the images, which we received soon after the wedding. His great nature, attitude & business professionalism is just a bonus. Thank you so much Ivan, you will be in our hearts and minds for many years to come. We are hoping we can work with you again in the near future. Your skills were the best purchase we have ever made!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Ivan was absolutely incredible and he was able to get some truely amazing shots even that in my wedding day it rained. Ivan’s work speaks volumes about the type of photographer he is. What we loved about his work was that as you look through images of weddings he's shot, you feel like you were at each and every one of them. He's able to capture the emotions of everyone perfectly and takes some amazing in the moment shots. The pictures we got knocked our socks off, I will recommend Ivan to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nell
Wedding:
5/15/2012
5.0/5.0
LuckiePhotography has blown our minds with the talent and vision!!! Ivan photography was on some next level type awesomeness that most adjectives can't describe. We have never seen anything remotely close to Ivan’s style of photography before. We didn't have a big budget for our wedding, but we decided to splurge on Ivan. This turned out to be the greatest decision we made when it came to our wedding vendors. His attention to detail, passion, and professionalism was unmatched. He took the time to understand our vision and took it beyond anything we could have encapsulated with words. The best way I can describe it is that was a documentary of our actual day. He captured both traditional, memorable, candid, and surprised moments of our wedding that left our relatives breathless and our hearts forever changed. Ivan’s photography has created memories that will outlive both of us, we are truly greatful with Ivan Luckie Photography!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaz
Wedding:
5/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow my pictures just turned out really well. We only got to spend a few hours in a Day after session, but Ivan was able to take many great shots. He was very professional during the shoot and he was very easy going and warm. At timesIt felt like we were just haging out together. He really made us feel comfortable. We just got our photos from our session, and the are amazing. We've met with many photographers (probably over 15 of them), but his photos are consistently the best, taken fantastic shots, that you won't be disappointed. We got so many shots that we were hoping for, from looking (or should I say, admiring) at his photos on his website. Ivan, you are the best! Thanks so much for a fantastic time and good luck with your work. I hope that we can have you take photos of us again soon!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Ivan is not just an incredibly talented photographer, he is also one of the nicest people I've met. He really went above and beyond for our wedding and delivered absolutely incredible photos. Ivan is a lot of fun to work with, and makes the whole experience really easy and carefree. Coming from someone who set their wedding date around when Ivan was available, I would highly recommend Ivan as a photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
July
Wedding:
5/8/2012
5.0/5.0
If he's not available on your date, move your day!!!. Absolute genius. Seriously. He's provided the best professional wedding photos I've ever seen, and I could absolutely not envision booking anyone else. He's a genius with light and angles and amazing at capturing moments. Don't miss out! I'm thrilled beyond belief with our photos. Plus we got an Trash the Dress shoot included, which is great for getting you used to being photographed professionally. Plus - SUPER nice and totally unobtrusive.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/8/2012
5.0/5.0
When we first saw Ivan Pictures we felt we have to hire Ivan, his style, vision, quality in the pictures and the colors, made us immediatly had the decision taken. When we got our wedding and Trash the dress pictures we took out hat off, so many great moments, so beautiful portraits, I really can not say much about Ivan becuase he is great!. We searched for a photographer and there were other less expensive and other quite insane expensive, but we did the right decisión base don his work, now, we do not regret anything and actually we will recommend Ivan Luckie Photography to any couple getting married in New York City.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
LuckiePhotography is fantastic A lot of brides on various wedding forums had said good things about Ivan. I checked his website and fell in love with his images, so my husband and I met up with him on a visit to Cancun before the wedding. Ivan was so friendly, he immediately put us both at ease and we knew that he was the person that we wanted to book. It was left entirely up to me whether I would like to speak to Ivan and I am glad I did – he had loads of contacts and suggestions and was an invaluable help when my venue and restaurant closed shortly before the date! On the day of the wedding, we had planned to go to the various landmarks for pictures, but it was absolutely hammering down with rain all day. Ivan was on it straight away, suggesting locations that were indoors, or had shelter, but still were still unmistakably The Riviera Maya! . The pictures were stunning - unlike any others I had seen before. Ivan really seemed to capture our personalities and recorded the day perfectly. We have had so many compliments about the pictures, many people have said that they would like to get married or renew their vows in the Riviera Maya just so they can have great photos taken by Ivan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We hired Ivan Luckie Photography for our big event and everyone keeps telling us how amazing our wedding pictures are and they have only seen a handful so far. Ivan is so creative and original unlike any other wedding photographer that I have seen. He is very laid back and easy to work wit. I would hire Ivan again in a second. He shows up and gets the job done better than anyone else out there and has a sense of humor which just makes it so much easier! You will not regret hiring him and should consider yourself lucky if you can snag him for your event! Ivan is a genius!!!.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
4/23/2012
5.0/5.0
I don't think I could have asked for a better photographer. He was so much fun to work with and I didn't feel rushed or pressured at all by him. I just recently viewed my pictures and they are fantastic! I don't know how he was able to catch the angles he did. Our ceremony and reception site was dimly lit, but that didn't seem to matter because he captured it all. The colors and clarity are fantastic! I feel like my photos could be on the cover of a magazine!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Here is why we select LuckiePhotography, we loved the modern, photojournlistic look of his photography, and his lighting was very well done. I am an art director for a fashion design house and my husband is a photojournalist for a major news organization so the photography was extremely important to us. Ivan took our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos and we couldn't be more pleased with his work. His lighting was elegant, flattering and artistic. The posed and candid shots were beautiful in both composition and lighting and really captured the moment. His photography was so impressive that several vendors asked if they could use his photos for their website. Ivan is surprisingly well-priced for the quality of his work. It was a pleasure working with him through the entire process until receiving our final photos. Ivan is very prompt, professional and detailed, and he runs his business very efficiently. I highly recommend LuckiePhotography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Ivan from LuckiePhotography is a truly remarkable photographer. He photographed our destination wedding in the Caribbean this past May and we were incredibly pleased with Ivan’s professionalism and talent. Our photos are absolutely incredible they are far from the traditional wedding posed photos and really capture the essence of the moment in a stunning artistic manner. Ivan and his fantastic assistant covered our wedding weekend for two full days and really felt like a part of our family by the end. He gives wonderful direction and is incredibly helpful, constantly giving 1000%. We would highly recommend Ivan LuckiePhotography to any couple seeking beautiful authentic photos that capture every subtle moment of a wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I should begin that I'm a photographer and a photo editor myself by profession, so I look at a lot of photographs, and Ivan's are really top rate.We were so thrilled with the pictures we got! He created such a lovely coverage of our wedding, and we would certainly recommend him to anyone who is interested in a little story telling approach to their wedding. Initially we were drawn to Ivan's way of conveying feelings so beautifully with his pictures, his warm lighting and colors and the way he seems to sympathetically portray and complement his subjects. We are both New Yorkers but I had a lot of family arriving to the wedding from overseas, and we wanted to document the story of our families getting together, as well as of course some great portraits of everyone to commemorate our special day. Ivan was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. Super professional, fun, creative, courteous, and punctual. In just two hours, Ivan got a huge and wonderful group of amazing portraits of us as a couple, terrific family pictures, documented our ceremony, the cake, different details of the venue and decoration, and candid shots of everyone interacting. It's amazing how much he got done in such a short time, and the quality of the photos really testifies to his wonderful professionalism. We are extremely happy with the results - the photos are simply gorgeous!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This is my story! On the day of the wedding, Ivan turned up exactly as arranged and just got on with the job. No fuss, no formalities - he instantly felt like one of the wedding party. He ran between us girls and the boys in the bar and really did his best to capture every little detail in the time we had before we left for the ceremony. He snapped continually for the whole 5 hours we had him, but never once did we feel like he was in the way, or that we were being pushed from pillar to post for 'poses'. We visited locations in the city and Ivan knew exactly which spots in each would get us the best shots. He was fantastic at managing our other over enthusiastic photographers (or guests as they are sometimes known)!!. While we were on Honeymoon Ivan sent us through a couple of shots and we were literally blown away. we just received all of our photos. I can’t tell you how delighted we are with them. I've just spend most of the weekend pouring over them, and re-living every moment of the day. I've started to show them around to our friends and family and every comment is the same - Amazing, magazine quality, so different and stylish. Every single person is so impressed by them!! My fiancé and I did not want posed photos, Ivan has managed to capture the emotion of the whole day in a fantastic story style. I'm genuinely concerned that I'll never get anything done ever again as I'm spending so much time with those photos! If I could give Ivan 20 stars I certainly would!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tacha
Wedding:
4/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I am a really, really particular person!. I was immediately impressed by his artistic ability, responsiveness and personal touch. He doesn't approach his work like a typical business man. You really feel that his priority is to make sure you have the most memorable and perfect day of your life and that he will do everything in his hands to capture it all. He went above and beyond what I had expected on my wedding day - from getting me a glass of water while I was getting my hair done to offering me calming thoughts when my nerves exploded. The thing I appreciate about Ivan’s style is that when he's shooting, you never know that he's there, yet he's everywhere! He catches the most beautiful and intimate moments that I will cherish for a lifetime. Ivan truly loves what he does and it really shows. If you go with Ivan you can't go wrong! He is honestly the best! I am a forever his biggest fan! Absolutely hands down the best! decision we made for our wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Ivan has the best attitude; Ivan will work with your schedule. Ivan is perfection. Ivan is the real deal with photography, you get what you pay for. And with Ivan, you get the best, Ivan is amazing
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keough
Wedding:
3/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I was amazed that every special moment was captured by such an amazing photographer and could not have asked for more on our wedding day. The photos were perfect.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jgutz
Wedding:
12/6/2011
5.0/5.0
we found Ivan searching on google, we found also around 4 more with similar styles, some crazy expensive, I would say ridiculous and after find some disappointed brides we shorten the list in just one! Ivan Luckie Photography! we were not disappointed at all, we just got or gorgeous pictures!!, we did an amazing journalistic job, he got some fantastic moments, OMG I thank Ivan I found him and I strongly recommend LuckiePhotography!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James & Mercedes Myers
Wedding:
11/16/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were married in Xcaret Mexico on Nov. 16th, 2011. My wife found Ivan Luckie after searching for Trash The Dress images and we loved his work. His services and professionalism are exceptional and we are so happy with the pictures. All I can say is AMAZING!

I am from the United States and my wife is from Argentina. The fact that he spoke both languages was a huge plus for me because I could understand what was happening :) We highly recommend him.

He photographed "cocktail night" which was held the day before the wedding at El Taj Hotel in Playa Del Carmen, the wedding ceremony and our Trash The Dress. Ivan, his wife and team we so helpful and took amazing shots. They knew exactly where to be to get the best photos.

We highly recommend you do Trash The Dress, it's amazing! He took us to some of the most beautiful spots we've ever seen and those are our favorite pictures and some of our best memories. It's amazing because you do not have any of the stress of the wedding and you can really relax and have fun. Ivan and his wife picked us up and we spent the day with them while we shot pictures at several locations. Our pictures arrived earlier than we expected and that made my wife extremely happy!

He doesn't know yet but he's going to take pictures of my wife when she's pregnant under the water too! :)

Thanks Ivan, you're the best!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elsa
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Before selecting the resort or even where exactly in Mexico I wanted to get married, I already knew who I wanted for my photographer. I followed Ivan regularly and his galleries never ceased to amaze me! I couldn’t be happier when I booked him and knew he had exactly the vision I was looking for.

He was very responsive to emails and answered all my questions and fears I had. I met with him here in the states in Stamford, CT (where I live) when he was here for a wedding he was shooting. The day of the wedding he arrived promptly along with his wife who assists him. They are both so sweet and made us feel at ease. It helped that him and his wife were already friends with our wedding coordinator, makeup artist and hair stylist. Everyone worked so well together, it was seamless. I am not comfortable with the camera so was so happy that throughout the ceremony and reception I barely knew they were there. The next day we did our trash the dress session. It was in the afternoon and we drove around looking for the perfect spots. We had so much fun with it and Ivan’s ideas were all so animated and exciting. I could not wait to see my pictures!!!

Well, I recently got my pictures and I could not be happier!!! Ivan exceeded my expectations and over delivered the most amazing and beautiful pictures to us. He captured my wedding exactly as I remembered it and even captured moments that we were all too busy enjoying. Everyone just had their fun and we barely noticed he was there. The colors, the views, the backdrops, everything he did without a moment of hesitation was ingeniously done.

I honestly cannot say enough great things about Ivan and to be honest his work speaks for itself. He made my wedding day absolutely wonderful and I could not have asked for better. His passion for his work and dedication is exemplary. Ivan a million thanks for giving me such beautiful art and memories I can keep with me forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We just received our pictures yesterday, and we were speechless. They exceeded any expectation that we ever had.... We knew they were going to be beautiful, but they are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

We were married at the Barcelo Maya on November 8th of 2011. When we first booked our wedding we originally booked with the resort photographers. Thankfully, I stumbled upon the Unofficial Barcelo Maya Forum and everyone seemed to be raving about Luckie Photography, and once I seen his work I knew why. I was lucky enough to have booked Ivan in such short notice. Best decision we made for our wedding.

Ivan and his beautiful wife, Anell arrived at the resort and they just went right to work. They are so creative with their photographs, they captured so much emotion and laughter and such great moments of our Wedding Day. I loved how they don't look like the "same old" wedding pictures that you usually see. I knew when I booked with them that we HAD to do a Trash the Dress session, how could I not? These pictures are absolutely crazy beautiful. They picked us up at the resort on the 11th and we were lucky enough to have my in-laws join us... I'm telling you. This couple, they are just so genuinely nice and so easy to talk to and get along with. They had so many great ideas. I can see being friends with them for a very long time.

If you have the chance or if you already have them booked for your wedding, you will not regret it. At all. Sooo worth everything!!! They will be your best decision yet.

Ivan & Anell, THANK YOU SO MUCH with providing us with pictures and an experience that we will never ever ever forget....

Heather & Jimi
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cityoflove
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We're from Philadelphia, PA and we were married on October 8th 2011 at the Barcelo Maya Palace in Riviera Maya. We found Ivan online and immediately contacted him after seeing his work.

August: Ivan flew to NYC and did our engagement photo shoot. We spent the entire day with him. He has so many creative ideas and his work speaks for itself. We basically told him we wanted a mixture of fun downtown photos and he just ran with that theme. He took us through Manhattan and then to the Brooklyn Bridge when the sun went down.

Saturday October 8th: Our wedding, portraits following the wedding, cocktail hour, reception, and lanterns on the beach. Ivan made sure he captured the whole day and night. We booked him for a certain amount of hours but he never once complained that we went over. He even hung out after the wedding with some of our guests at after party!

Monday October 10th: Trash the Dress. We paid for Ivan to stay 2 nights so we met him in the lobby around 7 a.m. We shot a bunch of photos on the resort (mostly beach area). Then we jumped in his car and went to a cenote. Finally we came back and did a fun shoot in the kids water park. It was a long day but definitley worth it after we saw the photos.

I have been in touch with Ivan at least once a week for the past year via email, text & facebook. He has answered EVERY question and concern within 24 hours of my request. He has been upfront and honest about timelines for editing and shipping and has completely exceeded our expectations. Once we posted these photos on facebook our friends and family went crazy about how much they loved them.

Finally I would like to say that Ivan is not only a great photographer but a genuinely nice guy. I've gotten to know him very well over the past year and it's refreshing to see someone so passionate about their work. His knee issues that were causing delays in his editing are all cleared up. Next time we're in Mexico we're going to look him up for a beer!

We got our photos back from Ivan and we love them!

http://www.luckiephotography.com/blog/Proof/2011/Luckie_Photography_Wedding_Galleries/Jamie+Dan.html
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
csink
Wedding:
5/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Working with Ivan was fantastic. He was quick to respond to all of our questions (and we had a lot), made us feel comfortable both before we got to Mexico and during the day of our wedding, and most importantly, our photos are gorgeous! He did an amazing job catching special moments and the emotion of the evening. I feel so fortunate to have worked with Ivan and I look forward to a lifetime of beautiful photographs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeniffy
Wedding:
3/30/2011
5.0/5.0
We got married on February 27 2011, Ivan is a professional person taking care of every photographic and no photographic detail, he made our day easy to go, we were so excited to see our pictures, Ivan’s talent impressed us when we saw the pictures he uploaded on his site, the way he sees and uses the light against the poses he directs are really gorgeous, each time we look at our wedding pictures we felt so lucky to have Ivan as the person who documented our best day of out lives, my grand mother just passed away 2 weeks after our wedding and we can say these are the best pictures we have of here ever, thank Ivan we can’t thank you enough for this .

We LOVE, LOVE our pictures we did the best selection of a bunch of photographers and we feel we have the best one.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin & Frank
Wedding:
2/15/2011
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Luckie Photography to anyone getting married in the Mayan Riviera. We loved our photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheena
Wedding:
2/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We had the privilege of having Ivan do our Wedding Photos on Feb 2/2011. We just got our photos in the mail and they are amazing! We shared them with all of our family and they loved them! We are so glad that we chose Ivan. He captured the entire day from "getting ready" to the "reception". There is such a wide variety of pictures it's hard to choose a favourite! I would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen122
Wedding:
1/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Ivan was awesome to work with and his pictures came out beautiful. He was there for me every step of the way and was very easy to contact. My questions were always answered right away and put me at ease.
I would suggest him to any bride.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ahutch84
Wedding:
1/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I HIGHLY recommend Ivan Luckie Photography!!! He was a great photographer and definitely came through with beautiful pictures that made our day even more special. He was there from the time we were finishing up hair all the way until near the end of the reception. One thing that I was so impressed by was the pictures from our reception when it was really dark during dancing, it was like you'd never even know the lights were ever dimmed, the pictures were beautiful.

We also really liked Ivan because he had great english skills and was really laid back. He didn't miss a moment of the day, it was all captured beautifully in his photos.

I have seen some photos from other colleagues that had their wedding pictures taken by resort photographers, TRUST ME, Ivan is worth every penny and the wait for the photos. I personally think that resort photographers photos look like someone used a point and shoot camera, and they also don't edit them so you get the photos within a day or two.

We were married at the Azul Fives Hotel on January 13, 2011.

THANK YOU IVAN!

Angela
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ifka
Wedding:
10/20/2010
5.0/5.0
We used Ivan Luckie for our wedding in Los Cabos Dreams Resorts on October 20 2010. We fell in love with the professionalism and knowledge he provided for us at the day of his arrival to the resort. Doing the photo session with Ivan was enjoyable and FUN :) also he was not in your face for that you could enjoy your wedding day and not pay attention to the photographer. Ivan also did our TTD session WOW that was amazing!!!!! Beforehand he did some research and choose a beach for us where we went there by a boat. Everything was arranged by Ivan :) With all the photos he was accompanied by his wonderful wife Anell. We had a awesome and fun time making the TTD session!!!!! The best part of all of it was receiving our first pick of our wedding photos. It was breathtaking how beautiful they turned out. Once again THANK YOU Ivan & Anell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
XOXO
Iwona & Matt
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We hired Ivan for our wedding in Cancun! He and his wife were so nice and did a great job! I think the best thing about Ivan and his wife is that they took SO many photos - so we were bound to find ones that we liked because there were so many to choose from! His style is very photo-journalistic - that is his strength - he and his wife take many more photos like that (artistic and not posed)... so you won't end up with the same boring, old fashioned photos that you see in all wedding albums! Instead he takes very different and artisitic shots - he is a very creative eye and is a true artist. He is very responsive over email which made it very easy to get in touch with him. He will let you take the lead and tell him what you want. He spent a lot of time with us and he and his wife took so many pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
actorlindseyg
Wedding:
11/4/2009
5.0/5.0
We got married in Cancun, Mexico in November of 2009. We were living in New York City at the time and needed a photographer in Cancun. I saw Ivan's photos and knew we had to have him! He was fast getting back to me with prices and information. I was shocked at his cost of his packages. I wanted him to photograph us getting ready, the wedding ceremony, the reception, and Trash the Dress. I couldn't believe what he was going to charge us for booking him for two days! I was a really GREAT price! I thought that there was no way that this was legit! But it was! And I couldn't be happier with our photos! It poured on our wedding day and the tropical storm was coming in...but he didn't let that discourage us. In fact, I'm so glad that it was stormy...we got some great photos! The skies were amazing! And it made for some crazy waves!

All in all, I would book him all over again without question! My husband and I talk about going back to Cancun just so that we could have Ivan take some underwater pictures of us!

Thank you, Ivan!
Lindsey & Tom Kaufman
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nmurch
Wedding:
1/11/2011
4.9/5.0
he was amazing!! and i cant say enough about ivan, his communication was fabulous, as well as the end product ! GREAT PICS!! thanks so much !!

Nic Rothe
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
12/20/2010
4.9/5.0
Absolutely amazing wedding photographer! We loved our wedding pictures. We felt like his pictures captured our wedding day perfectly! Him and his wife were both so nice and professional!:)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anastasia
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.9/5.0
It was our luck to find Ivan. We booked him 4 month before the wedding. The communication by email was very easy, we got quick replies and answers to all our questions.
On the wedding day from getting ready until the very end he captured all important moments and created even more by posing people for better shots.
We love all our photos and would highly recommend him.
Thank you very very much Ivan for beautiful photos.
Anastasia & Igor
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
12/4/2010
4.8/5.0
We booked Ivan for our wedding at the Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa Del Carmen. Bottom lin, Ivan was great!! He was extremely responsive to emails while we were planning our wedding. He was great about getting back unless of course he had a wedding on a particular week, then it may have taken him a bit longer, but understandable.

Planning Before: We found Ivan by reading forum's online and tons of Google searching. I emailed several different photographers, and was most impressed with Ivan's responses and flexibility and ability to accomodate our requests. Ivan was very flexible and accomodating for what we wanted. We were looking for photo journalism style photos and we were most impressed with his pictures online. Honestly, for us there wasn't really much planning prior to the wedding. We communicated with Ivan through email primarily and had 1 phone conversation to finalize contract details. Ivan left the option of meeting open to us. We live in New York, so that made things more difficult in terms of meeting, although Ivan is occasionally in New York. One thing that I would have done differently, is that I would have arranged a time for us to meet the few days prior to the wedding. Just so that we could have had a face to face meeting, and go over some of the details in advance re: the flow of the day and some of the timing issues. Although Ivan met with our wedding coordinator prior, I would have liked to discuss the details personally.

Wedding Day: Ivan and his wife were excellent!! They captured so many great moments. One of the things that was missed however, was that we didn't have any pictures of the groom getting ready (likely because we didn't discuss some of the timing things with Ivan prior to the actual wedding day). I think we didn't know when some things were going to happen, and honestly everything was so low key that it wasn't a problem. The other thing that we wished that we had a little bit more of was some formal shots. We had a long cocktail hour after the ceremony and because our primary interest was having photo journalism shots I think as an afterthought we both would have liked some frontal formal shots in addition to those we got. Regardless though, the pictures came out spectacular and we loved all of them!!

After Wedding: We received the pictures from Ivan ~2 months after the wedding which was honestly no big deal. There were sooooo many pictures to go through and sooooo many to choose from! We're still going through them now. Ivan also sent us all of the pictures on CD so that we could add them to our computers, which was great. We chose to get a book, but have yet to select all of the photos for that. Stay tuned.

Bottom Line: We were extremely happy with Ivan, and really thought that we chose wisely. We ended up with excellent photos and the price was very reasonable!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
siapatel
Wedding:
2/12/2011
4.2/5.0
Ivan Luckie did a phenomenal job on our wedding photos! He was very easy to work with, very pleasant, and professional. His assistant (wife) was also wonderful! They went above and beyond to ensure the highest quality photos. He was also extremely attentive, captured original shots, and produced many photos which I am proud to share and keep for the rest of our lives. I also particularly loved our trash the dress session, where we did some amazingly unique photos in the Cenotes and in Tulum. So may friends and family have raved about them! Those were my favorite! Although the photos did take a while to receive, they were well worth the wait. Overall, I would recommend him highly for any event/wedding!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

For Destinations weddings just pay expenses
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
For Destinations weddings I charge just the cost of travel, accommodation and Food, this is intended to spread out my portfolio and know great places around the globe, I have 10 years of experience and I make your wedding an experience!
Deal #WW5d2e35755cd47c79
220x220_1389587973780-nootim---underwater-trash-the-dress-photographer--

MAP

 
5th ave s/n, Playa del Carmen, 77700 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Luckie Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1389587973780-nootim---underwater-trash-the-dress-photographer--