130x130_sq_1384740078882-3.-cake-toppe

Luna, Cakes by Design

Sharon Springs , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

118 Division Street
Sharon Springs, NY US 13459 (map)

PHONE

518-284-2616

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Luna, Cakes by Design "Where art meets cake..." is a unique bakery located in Sharon Springs, NY specializing in one of a kind Wedding Cakes, Grooms Cakes, Anniversary Cakes, Birthday... Read more
Luna, Cakes by Design "Where art meets cake..." is a unique bakery located in Sharon Springs, NY specializing in one of a kind Wedding Cakes, Grooms Cakes, Anniversary Cakes, Birthday Cakes, Cupcakes, Designer Cookies and the newest trend, Couture Cake Pops. We are a scratch bakery meaning everything is made from scratch using the freshest of local ingredients when available. We are the only bakery licensed to serve "The American Hotel" Maple cake.

Please call us directy at 518 284 2616 for any inquiries! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1380897045132-karenmaggie-first-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1380896899578-karen-and-maggies-wedding-cake-outdoors
130x130_sq_1380896769817-mau-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1364601117289-cinderellaupshot
130x130_sq_1364600995350-bwlowerhalftitled
130x130_sq_1364601003971-bandwcakecopy
130x130_sq_1364600624780-weddingcakeboots
130x130_sq_1364601065404-weddingcakefullshot
130x130_sq_1364601809476-orangelilycaketitled
130x130_sq_1364602318576-calicaketitled
130x130_sq_1364601014132-johnqweddingcaketitleds
130x130_sq_1364601058405-titledabricake
130x130_sq_1364601082922-windowshotdevittocaketitled
130x130_sq_1364601687008-dgweddingtitled2
130x130_sq_1364601746091-dgwedding
130x130_sq_1364601786475-dgweddingchocolatetitled
130x130_sq_1364601034690-lovecaketitled2
130x130_sq_1364605090193-weddingcakemaple
130x130_sq_1364604627878-weddingcakecakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603726463-phantomcakepop2
130x130_sq_1364603626851-cinderellacakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603810771-sisteracttitled2
130x130_sq_1364603755467-rockofagestitled
130x130_sq_1364604543795-1.seriesofbrithdaycakepopstitledcopy1
130x130_sq_1364603618533-birthdaycakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603615003-babylovecakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364604599415-broadwayseriescakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364604622532-turkeycakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364604618176-sisteracttitled
130x130_sq_1364603592518-1.botoxbottlestitled
130x130_sq_1364604568111-assortedcakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603678324-nytbcakepops
130x130_sq_1364603642352-eiffeltowercakepoptitles
130x130_sq_1364603597666-1.titledcakepops
130x130_sq_1364603607149-assortmentcakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603631516-crowncakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364605493788-maplecakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603638669-eiffelcakepoptitled
130x130_sq_1364603591468-1.3headstitled
130x130_sq_1364603644375-fancynancycakepopstitled
130x130_sq_1364603651200-guitar2titled
130x130_sq_1364603707800-packagedpumpkintitled
130x130_sq_1364603660377-lilliecakepopdisplaytitled
130x130_sq_1364603669379-lilliescakepoptitled
130x130_sq_1364603696832-nytbdisplaytitled
130x130_sq_1364603589607-1.3champagneandicebucketstitled
130x130_sq_1364603779488-samsgrad.cakepops
130x130_sq_1364603826673-varietycakepoptitled
130x130_sq_1364602233747-highheelcaketitledfront
130x130_sq_1364602223350-cowcakecentertitled
130x130_sq_1364602213450-cardinalcaketitled
130x130_sq_1299459531003-dscn2874
130x130_sq_1299459540206-gcakes1010
130x130_sq_1299459431550-anniv.cakemaple
130x130_sq_1299459440815-completelowerfront
130x130_sq_1364605917024-hatcaketitled
130x130_sq_1299459444815-dscn0605
130x130_sq_1299459448237-dscn0612
130x130_sq_1299459472206-dscn0632
130x130_sq_1299459591425-newpaintjobgailsbdayfarmersmuseumfaye153
130x130_sq_1299459433628-anthonycakeiii
130x130_sq_1364605923045-itsaboybeartitled
130x130_sq_1299459477753-dscn1600
130x130_sq_1299459568128-img1198
130x130_sq_1299459508003-dscn2846
130x130_sq_1299459545425-img0406
130x130_sq_1299459559972-img1175
130x130_sq_1299459575659-img1297
130x130_sq_1299459586987-leftsideupclose
130x130_sq_1299459600425-pict0044
130x130_sq_1299459605362-weddingcakemaple2
130x130_sq_1364607181470-stainedglasssilhouette
130x130_sq_1364607115696-heartstainedglasscookies
130x130_sq_1364607190138-titledmeringue2
130x130_sq_1364607039028-1.miniganachecakestitled
130x130_sq_1364607139820-overheadstainedglassshots
130x130_sq_1364607055692-blueswirlsstainedglass
130x130_sq_1364607195918-yellowstaindglass
130x130_sq_1364607164071-redstainedglass
130x130_sq_1364607172140-stainedglasscookieheartangled
130x130_sq_1364607066479-cardamompeartitled
130x130_sq_1364607074835-choc.meringuetitled
130x130_sq_1364607130640-maranguemousse
130x130_sq_1364607087715-chocolatecupstitled
130x130_sq_1364607091668-civilwarcookies
130x130_sq_1364607098401-dessertplatetitled
130x130_sq_1364607107546-dessertstitled
130x130_sq_1364607123506-horn2
130x130_sq_1364607148517-pear2titled
130x130_sq_1364607158902-raspberrymoussetartstitled

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Organic
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We only schedule private tastings.
What are your tasting hours?
By appointment only.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
As each cake is unique in design prices depends on size, design elements, fillings and special requirements. Our wedding cakes begin at $4.50 a slice and go up from there.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes, if there is an additional tier requested there will be an extra charge.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We pride ourselves in only making custom cakes. We will not copy someone else's design.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We use local and the freshest of ingredients whenever possible.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
We baker our cakes as close to the day of the event as possible. We never freeze our cakes. This is why we only work on one cake at a time.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
Only One cake so that we can focus on your cake for your special day.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We have many options when it comes to cake stands.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Our delivery fee begins at $25.00, it all depends on location. We have delivered wedding cakes to Manhattan, Isle of La Motte-Vermont, Pennsylvania and Canada.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Faye
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Our daughter had a destination wedding in August and decided to have a reception back home for family that couldn't attend. As favors we decided to have cake pops designed by Luna Cakes.
We couldn't have been more pleased with the little grooms and bride design that Mr. luna presented to each guest. We also asked him if he could do a candy bar for us, and let me tell you it was above and beyond what we expected! What a talent he has and works wonders! I would recommend him to anyone. Hats of to you Mr. luna, you're the best.
Our daughter had a destination wedding in August and decided to have a reception back home for family that couldn't Read more...
Our daughter had a destination wedding in August and decided to have a reception back home for family that couldn't attend. As favors we decided to have cake pops designed by Luna Cakes.
We couldn't have been more pleased with the little grooms and bride design that Mr. luna presented to each guest. We also asked him if he could do a candy bar for us, and let me tell you it was above and beyond what we expected! What a talent he has and works wonders! I would recommend him to anyone. Hats of to you Mr. luna, you're the best. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
11/3/2013
5.0/5.0
If you have a need for an absolutely amazing baked creation and haven't already checked out http://www.lunacakesbydesign.com, you might miss out on one of the highlights of your event. We are a gay couple who married yesterday (Nov. 3, 2013) who had the great good fortune to connect with (Mr.) Gail Luna and his partner Drew. We discussed the theme we were aiming for (beach wedding), then sent some photos related to that theme and discussed some more. Gail personally delivered the cake and became a welcome part of our celebration. He even sliced the cake to serve to our guests after we'd taken our first cut together, and gave us terrific instructions on the traditional preservation of the top layer for our 1-year anniversary celebration. Perfect "product," unparalleled execution, and non pareil service. And no, we're not related to Gail or hired by him to advertise his wonderful work. We're just extremely satisfied customers!
If you have a need for an absolutely amazing baked creation and haven't already checked out Read more...
If you have a need for an absolutely amazing baked creation and haven't already checked out http://www.lunacakesbydesign.com, you might miss out on one of the highlights of your event. We are a gay couple who married yesterday (Nov. 3, 2013) who had the great good fortune to connect with (Mr.) Gail Luna and his partner Drew. We discussed the theme we were aiming for (beach wedding), then sent some photos related to that theme and discussed some more. Gail personally delivered the cake and became a welcome part of our celebration. He even sliced the cake to serve to our guests after we'd taken our first cut together, and gave us terrific instructions on the traditional preservation of the top layer for our 1-year anniversary celebration. Perfect "product," unparalleled execution, and non pareil service. And no, we're not related to Gail or hired by him to advertise his wonderful work. We're just extremely satisfied customers! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
The maple wedding cake that Luna, Cakes by Design made, was hands down ***THE*** best wedding cake I have ever tasted in my life!!! As incredible as it tasted - the design was just as beautiful. Owners Gail Luna & Drew Taylor were so helpful in assisting us make our wedding cake selections. We had 2 different events - and 2 equally wonderful and unique cakes. Everyone who attended made a point of telling us how great the wedding cakes were. I wish I could add more stars to their rating !
The maple wedding cake that Luna, Cakes by Design made, was hands down ***THE*** best wedding cake I have ever tasted in Read more...
The maple wedding cake that Luna, Cakes by Design made, was hands down ***THE*** best wedding cake I have ever tasted in my life!!! As incredible as it tasted - the design was just as beautiful. Owners Gail Luna & Drew Taylor were so helpful in assisting us make our wedding cake selections. We had 2 different events - and 2 equally wonderful and unique cakes. Everyone who attended made a point of telling us how great the wedding cakes were. I wish I could add more stars to their rating ! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything about Luna Cakes by Design is wonderful. Gail was so responsive and helpful during the entire process. he provided great drawings so I could get a good idea of what the final product would look like, he was flexible with colors which for an artist says a lot! They made a wooden base out of driftwood and slice of wood which was just gorgeous and exactly what I had asked for. The cake was out of this world delicious and everyone said it was the prettiest wedding cake they'd ever seen! All in all I couldn't be happier and would definitely recommend them again! Thanks for being such a delicious and beautiful part of my wedding day Luna cakes!!

Love,
the new Mrs. Mara!
Everything about Luna Cakes by Design is wonderful. Gail was so responsive and helpful during the entire process. he Read more...
Everything about Luna Cakes by Design is wonderful. Gail was so responsive and helpful during the entire process. he provided great drawings so I could get a good idea of what the final product would look like, he was flexible with colors which for an artist says a lot! They made a wooden base out of driftwood and slice of wood which was just gorgeous and exactly what I had asked for. The cake was out of this world delicious and everyone said it was the prettiest wedding cake they'd ever seen! All in all I couldn't be happier and would definitely recommend them again! Thanks for being such a delicious and beautiful part of my wedding day Luna cakes!!

Love,
the new Mrs. Mara! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christopher
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Luna cakes by design went above and beyond to provide me with the PERFECT wedding cake based on the design we were hoping for and described to them! It was elegant, detailed, well though out and designed. The cake was fresh, moist and absolutely tasty! They even went the extra mile by hand delivering it to us in Pennsylvania and setting it up in the venue. We couldn't be happier with the product and service we received as well as the most friendly customer service possible.
Luna cakes by design went above and beyond to provide me with the PERFECT wedding cake based on the design we were hoping Read more...
Luna cakes by design went above and beyond to provide me with the PERFECT wedding cake based on the design we were hoping for and described to them! It was elegant, detailed, well though out and designed. The cake was fresh, moist and absolutely tasty! They even went the extra mile by hand delivering it to us in Pennsylvania and setting it up in the venue. We couldn't be happier with the product and service we received as well as the most friendly customer service possible. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with Luna. Everyone raved about the cake. I highly recommend this company.
We had a wonderful experience working with Luna. Everyone raved about the cake. I highly recommend this company.
We had a wonderful experience working with Luna. Everyone raved about the cake. I highly recommend this company. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
P
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
From the first time I contacted Luna until the cake was delivered each and every exchange was prompt and exxactly the way I wished all vendors ran their business. I was consulted on every detail, nothing was assumed, and I was always told of cost options. There is no overstating the WOW! factor of our cake! No one failed to notice and comment. The bride was thrilled and I (MOB) would recommend Luna to anyone planning a large or small event.
Peggy Wright
From the first time I contacted Luna until the cake was delivered each and every exchange was prompt and exxactly the way Read more...
From the first time I contacted Luna until the cake was delivered each and every exchange was prompt and exxactly the way I wished all vendors ran their business. I was consulted on every detail, nothing was assumed, and I was always told of cost options. There is no overstating the WOW! factor of our cake! No one failed to notice and comment. The bride was thrilled and I (MOB) would recommend Luna to anyone planning a large or small event.
Peggy Wright Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David P.
Wedding:
12/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Gail and Drew of Luna Cakes teamed up to create our dream wedding cake! The artisans took features from our extensive antique china collection and used these as gum paste details on the four-tiered cake. Two tiers were of The American Hotel Maple Cake and one tier of Almond Cake with Cannoli filling and Almond buttercream, all covered in fresh fondant (none of that chewy stale stuff for these professionals)! They worked with Johnstone Florist to create pillows of boxwood highlighted by Stephanotis and Star of Bethlehem between a few cake tiers.

The cake was a cornerstone to our wedding day! Professional and personals, working with them was a delight! We highly recommend Luna Cakes by Design.
Gail and Drew of Luna Cakes teamed up to create our dream wedding cake! The artisans took features from our extensive Read more...
Gail and Drew of Luna Cakes teamed up to create our dream wedding cake! The artisans took features from our extensive antique china collection and used these as gum paste details on the four-tiered cake. Two tiers were of The American Hotel Maple Cake and one tier of Almond Cake with Cannoli filling and Almond buttercream, all covered in fresh fondant (none of that chewy stale stuff for these professionals)! They worked with Johnstone Florist to create pillows of boxwood highlighted by Stephanotis and Star of Bethlehem between a few cake tiers.

The cake was a cornerstone to our wedding day! Professional and personals, working with them was a delight! We highly recommend Luna Cakes by Design. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gart
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to express my gratitude to Luna, Cakes by Design for their professionalism, pure artistry and most importantly, taste. I was married at 50 years old, and suffice it to say, after living in NYC for ten years and attending countless weddings throughout my adulthood, by far my creation that day went above and beyond my expectations in every way imaginable. Better yet, I simply made a few suggestions of what I was looking for in very general terms, and a timeless design request (I was stuck in the 60's classic white tower of simple decoration and multi-tiered, not a flower arrangement on the outside with a cake inside). I left the rest up to them. What was presented that day was the culinary highlight of my life. With confidence, I would recommend Luna, Cakes by Design to the President himself!
I cannot begin to express my gratitude to Luna, Cakes by Design for their professionalism, pure artistry and most Read more...
I cannot begin to express my gratitude to Luna, Cakes by Design for their professionalism, pure artistry and most importantly, taste. I was married at 50 years old, and suffice it to say, after living in NYC for ten years and attending countless weddings throughout my adulthood, by far my creation that day went above and beyond my expectations in every way imaginable. Better yet, I simply made a few suggestions of what I was looking for in very general terms, and a timeless design request (I was stuck in the 60's classic white tower of simple decoration and multi-tiered, not a flower arrangement on the outside with a cake inside). I left the rest up to them. What was presented that day was the culinary highlight of my life. With confidence, I would recommend Luna, Cakes by Design to the President himself! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doug
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I had worked in Catering in New York City for years. So when it came time for my own wedding, needless to say, I was VERY particular about the details.
The best part about having Luna Cakes by Design create our Cake was the confidence I had in their product. Our cakes, 1 with 5 tiers and then 4 others, all in different flavors and decoration, were not only incredibly beautiful, but the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted. We also went out on a limb and let Gail and Drew design the whole thing, so we were as surprised and delighted as our guests were when we entered the tent. And were greeted with what i can only describe as an art installation. As you can see , we were ecstatic! Truly they made our special day, PERFECT.
I had worked in Catering in New York City for years. So when it came time for my own wedding, needless to say, I was VERY Read more...
I had worked in Catering in New York City for years. So when it came time for my own wedding, needless to say, I was VERY particular about the details.
The best part about having Luna Cakes by Design create our Cake was the confidence I had in their product. Our cakes, 1 with 5 tiers and then 4 others, all in different flavors and decoration, were not only incredibly beautiful, but the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted. We also went out on a limb and let Gail and Drew design the whole thing, so we were as surprised and delighted as our guests were when we entered the tent. And were greeted with what i can only describe as an art installation. As you can see , we were ecstatic! Truly they made our special day, PERFECT. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Camille879
Wedding:
7/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Gail made the most amazing wedding cake for us, we could not have been more pleased. The cake was designed specifically for us and our story and was a hit at our wedding. Gail was so professional, responsive, and was able to share his opinions and ideas with us to help us make our cake more special than we had even imagined. One last thing...the cake was FABULOUS! We couldn't believe how wonderful the cake tasted. I want another one just thinking about it! Pleasing to the eye, and pleasing to the palette. FABULOUS!
Gail made the most amazing wedding cake for us, we could not have been more pleased. The cake was designed specifically Read more...
Gail made the most amazing wedding cake for us, we could not have been more pleased. The cake was designed specifically for us and our story and was a hit at our wedding. Gail was so professional, responsive, and was able to share his opinions and ideas with us to help us make our cake more special than we had even imagined. One last thing...the cake was FABULOUS! We couldn't believe how wonderful the cake tasted. I want another one just thinking about it! Pleasing to the eye, and pleasing to the palette. FABULOUS! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
118 Division Street, Sharon Springs, NY 13459 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Luna, Cakes by Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1384740078882-3.-cake-toppe