130x130_sq_1272301001437-fbimage

Madeleine's Daughter Bridal

Portsmouth , NH
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

775 Lafayette Road, Suite #3
Portsmouth, NH US 03801 (map)

PHONE

603-431-5454

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

As one of the most important decisions in your wedding why not make it intimate, memorable and genuinely enjoyable. Our experienced staff offers the utmost in personalized attention,... Read more
As one of the most important decisions in your wedding why not make it intimate, memorable and genuinely enjoyable. Our experienced staff offers the utmost in personalized attention, overseeing every detail from the selection of the gown to the final alteration, all in expansive private bridal suites.



We cater to your complete bridal attire, bridesmaids, mothers and flower girls. No need to travel far for the top bridal fashions. Madeleine's Daughter offers gowns from moderately priced to Haute Couture. We carry top bridal designers such as Monique Lhuillier, Pronovias, Maggie Sottero, Watters, Amsale, Christos, Kenneth Pool, Jenny Yoo, Lusan Mandongus, Mikaella, Lazaro, Jenny Packham and many more...



Experience New England's Premier Bridal Salon... experience the difference.



Please contact us at 603 431-5454 or email bridal@madeleinesdaughter.com. We look forward to working with you! Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1402669598110-mj02fs-ad
130x130_sq_1402669619267-mj06bh-ad
130x130_sq_1317742352297-mdphotobcp6410rev
130x130_sq_1252424711640-coco
130x130_sq_1252424711953-adbella
130x130_sq_1252424713000-millionaremedium
130x130_sq_1252424713796-9102reg
130x130_sq_1252424714453-09cherie
130x130_sq_1317742135379-bcp6179
130x130_sq_1252424940984-d897fsmall
130x130_sq_1252424941390-200612b
130x130_sq_1252424942406-4002
130x130_sq_1252424943531-royalty
130x130_sq_1252424943921-4242
130x130_sq_1252425951671-lz3910
130x130_sq_1252425953125-lusanmandongus2
130x130_sq_1252425953203-victoriana
130x130_sq_1252425953468-203martinaliana
130x130_sq_1252426215203-zuzannamlh
130x130_sq_1252426218578-rebeca
130x130_sq_1252426261046-anouska
130x130_sq_1317742203551-bcp6257
130x130_sq_1317742258105-bcp6389l
130x130_sq_1317742305903-bcp6414
130x130_sq_1317742343842-mdphotobcp6085l
130x130_sq_1317742344997-mdphotobcp6108l
130x130_sq_1317742347508-mdphotobcp6306x3
130x130_sq_1317742353499-mdphotobcp6410x3
130x130_sq_1372184991821-allure9004
130x130_sq_1372184993765-blissbl1301
130x130_sq_1372184996474-christosphaedra-2
130x130_sq_1372184998037-jennypackhamesme
130x130_sq_1372185001500-legends-by-rk-l366
130x130_sq_1372185019222-martina-liana-437-f-no-jacket
130x130_sq_1372185050514-mikaella1758-2
130x130_sq_1372185054044-moniquelhembrace-2
130x130_sq_1372185057352-nmgh0014
130x130_sq_1372185059252-palomablanca4365-2
130x130_sq_1372185061965-romonakevezalegendsl366
130x130_sq_1372185063892-theia880613
130x130_sq_1402669577397-mj01c-ad
130x130_sq_1402669581278-mj01cc-ad
130x130_sq_1402669585080-mj01h-ad
130x130_sq_1402669589583-mj02b-ad
130x130_sq_1402669593535-mj02f-ad
130x130_sq_1402669603125-mj02hc-ad
130x130_sq_1402669607611-mj05c-ad
130x130_sq_1402669610996-mj05h-ad
130x130_sq_1402669615242-mj05s-ad
130x130_sq_1402669662963-3---l551---low-res
130x130_sq_1402669666292-6---l554---low-res
130x130_sq_1402669669326-9---l557---low-res
130x130_sq_1402669672730-16---l561---low-res
130x130_sq_1402670614744-amsale
130x130_sq_1372183850167-after-six-bm6652
130x130_sq_1372183851069-after-six-bm6659
130x130_sq_1372183851816-after-six-bm6662
130x130_sq_1372183852554-after-six-bm6663
130x130_sq_1372183852997-after-six-bm6664
130x130_sq_1372183853744-after-six-bm6666
130x130_sq_1372183854573-after-six-bm6668
130x130_sq_1372183855100-after-six-bm6669
130x130_sq_1372183855841-after-six-bm6672
130x130_sq_1372183856397-b2-bmb153002
130x130_sq_1372183858341-b2-bmb153004
130x130_sq_1372183860204-b2-bmb153006
130x130_sq_1372183862084-b2-bmb153016
130x130_sq_1372183863677-billlevkoffbm760
130x130_sq_1372183865343-billlevkoffbm765
130x130_sq_1372183866953-billlevkoffbm766
130x130_sq_1372183868411-billlevkoffbm767
130x130_sq_1372183869819-billlevkoffbm770
130x130_sq_1372183871141-billlevkoffbm774
130x130_sq_1372183872481-billlevkoffbm775
130x130_sq_1372183874413-billlevkoffbm779
130x130_sq_1372183875819-billlevkoffbm781
130x130_sq_1372183877543-billlevkoffbm782
130x130_sq_1372183879208-billlevkoffbm784
130x130_sq_1372183880797-billlevkoffbm786
130x130_sq_1372183882403-billlevkoffbm787
130x130_sq_1372183883945-billlevkoffbm788
130x130_sq_1372183885398-billlevkoffbm791
130x130_sq_1372183886570-dessy-bm2875
130x130_sq_1372183887168-dessy-bm2876
130x130_sq_1372183888038-dessy-bm2877
130x130_sq_1372183888905-dessy-bm2878
130x130_sq_1372183889566-dessy-bm2880
130x130_sq_1372183890299-dessy-bm2882
130x130_sq_1372183891175-dessy-bm2883
130x130_sq_1372183892104-dessy-bm2885
130x130_sq_1372183892774-dessy-bm2887
130x130_sq_1372183893449-encorebm3214ginger
130x130_sq_1372183894787-encorebm3217heather
130x130_sq_1372183896382-encorebm3218coriander
130x130_sq_1372183897906-encorebm3684pepper
130x130_sq_1372183955209-allurew314
130x130_sq_1372183923732-allure9000
130x130_sq_1372183926013-allure9003
130x130_sq_1372183928537-allure9004
130x130_sq_1372183930855-allure9010
130x130_sq_1372183933135-allure9014
130x130_sq_1372183935461-allure9017
130x130_sq_1372183937862-allurec243
130x130_sq_1372183940204-allurec244
130x130_sq_1372183944196-allurec249
130x130_sq_1372183949602-allurew311
130x130_sq_1372183952249-allurew313
130x130_sq_1372183946517-allurec250
130x130_sq_1372183957074-blissbl1301
130x130_sq_1372183959552-blissbl1302
130x130_sq_1372183962211-blissbl1304
130x130_sq_1372183964630-blissbl1306
130x130_sq_1372183965487-blissbl1319
130x130_sq_1372183968074-blissbl1320
130x130_sq_1372183971015-blissbl1322
130x130_sq_1372183974109-blissbl1330
130x130_sq_1372183976875-christosophelia-2
130x130_sq_1372183978063-christosphaedra-2
130x130_sq_1372183979755-jennypackhamesme
130x130_sq_1372183982239-jpdentelle
130x130_sq_1372183984378-jpmimosa
130x130_sq_1372183987490-jptuberose
130x130_sq_1372183990829-legends-by-rk-l366
130x130_sq_1372183994797-martina-liana-346
130x130_sq_1372183996873-martina-liana-423
130x130_sq_1372184012495-martina-liana-437-f-no-jacket
130x130_sq_1372184044915-martina-liana-462
130x130_sq_1372184047374-mikaella1751-2
130x130_sq_1372184050394-mikaella1758-2
130x130_sq_1372184053149-mikaella1763-2
130x130_sq_1372184056479-mikaella1764-2
130x130_sq_1372184059870-mlhcremebrulee
130x130_sq_1372184062149-mlhdarling
130x130_sq_1372184063214-mlhembraceskirt-2
130x130_sq_1372184064459-mlhforever-2
130x130_sq_1372184066524-mlhlauren-2
130x130_sq_1372184068617-mlhluxe-2
130x130_sq_1372184070630-mlhmemory
130x130_sq_1372184073410-mlhsonnet
130x130_sq_1372184075199-mlhtreasure-2
130x130_sq_1372184077967-moniquelhembrace-2
130x130_sq_1372184081557-nmfj0019
130x130_sq_1372184082955-nmgh0014
130x130_sq_1372184084563-nmgm004
130x130_sq_1372184086433-palomablanca4311-2
130x130_sq_1372184089609-palomablanca4352-2
130x130_sq_1372184092335-palomablanca4356-2
130x130_sq_1372184095203-palomablanca4358-2
130x130_sq_1372184097531-palomablanca4362-2
130x130_sq_1372184100953-palomablanca4365-2
130x130_sq_1372184103695-romonakevezalegendsl366
130x130_sq_1372184105366-romonakevezalegendsl371
130x130_sq_1372184107128-theia880613
130x130_sq_1317742349973-mdphotobcp6355x3
130x130_sq_1317742112088-bcp5956x3
130x130_sq_1317742114881-bcp5983x3
130x130_sq_1402669924751-madeleinesdaughterhighres0006
130x130_sq_1402669933165-madeleinesdaughterhighres0019
130x130_sq_1402669941483-madeleinesdaughterhighres0026
130x130_sq_1402669950472-madeleinesdaughterhighres0033
130x130_sq_1402669959058-madeleinesdaughterhighres0118
130x130_sq_1402669988516-madeleinesdaughterhighres0371
130x130_sq_1402670529695-2148-cleaned
130x130_sq_1402669905105-madeleinesdaughterhighres0380
130x130_sq_1402670520546-1929-cleaned
130x130_sq_1317742341424-mdphotobcp6015l
130x130_sq_1402670113709-details-g1-123
130x130_sq_1402670515807-1886-cleaned
130x130_sq_1317742342454-mdphotobcp6055x3
130x130_sq_1402669881706-toni-federici
130x130_sq_1402670043884-bling
130x130_sq_1402670080039-2161-cleaned
130x130_sq_1402670159153-toni-federici
130x130_sq_1402670231594-winter0023
130x130_sq_1402670524571-2035-2-cleaned

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Flower Girls, Groom, Groomsmen, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Yes, each bride will work with one of our experiences stylist to find the perfect gown for her.
What specialty dress and attire items, such as a Kimono or Sari, do you provide?
We carry a full range of accessories from sashes and belts to veils, jewelry, headpieces, shoes, purses and more!
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
6 months to a year depending on the designer
Do you carry new or once worn gowns?
We have sample sales during the year to sell our gently worn samples, and make room for the latest gowns
How often do you receive new dresses?
We receive new gowns all the time - to view our current inventory please visit: 
 http://madeleinesdaughter.smugmug.com/
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
We can recommend some wonderful seamstresses with wedding gown experience.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
We carry dresses for mothers, bridesmaids, flower girls and all the bridal accessories you will need. We also offer tuxedos and suits at our sister store Soiree Prom & Tux located in the plza next to us. www.soireeprom.com

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1400975038347-img000
melissa
Wedding:
6/3/2015
5.0/5.0
Today was the first and final day of dress shopping for me. I came into Madeleine's Daughter not really knowing what I wanted. Brandie was my consultant and she was so amazing. I have never had such great customer service. The dress I chose was in the first round of dresses she chose for me. she knew exactly what she was doing. I had gone to another store and had an awful experience so I wasn't expecting to have much luck. I'm so happy with my dress!!! Thank You soo much Brandie!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
10/10/2014
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Madeleine's Daughter to any new brides looking for great customer service at a great value! My consultant was Olivia and she was absolutely amazing. I had gone to other stores in Boston prior to going to Madeleine's and this was BY FAR the most concierge-like service (that I would have expected at the fancy Boston stores!). All the dresses are out back (like you see on SYTTD) and you explain to your consultant what you have in mind as well as budget and she brings that in for you. Olivia actually brought in something totally opposite of what I described and it ended up being "the one", it was the first dress I tried on that day and she definitely chose it specifically for my style/body type/venue! I can't wait for it to come in, I wish I could wear it every day. A great overall experience and I have the most perfect dress for my wedding.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
samantha
Wedding:
6/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Brandi was amazing, she helped my sister get her dress 2 years ago and when i got engaged there wasnt even a question as to where i would go to get my dress.
I recommend Brandi to anyone that is looking for bridal needs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alisha
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I had looked at about 8 other bridal shops before Madelines Daughter and I wish I had just started here! It was literally the first dress that the consultant pulled for me, they had just got it in the day before and I was the first person to try it on. As soon as it zipped I FINALLY got that feeling that I thought I never would. She knew exactly what I was looking for and nailed it on the first try. I put the deposit down that day and my search was over. Every time I came back I fell more and more in love with it! The seamstress worked MAGIC to make this dress literally perfect, the finishing was spectacular. I asked my husband if I could wear the dress to brunch the morning after our wedding because I didn't want to take it off!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
This is a great shop with a huge selection! Kristin was my consultant and she helped me find exactly what I was looking for, she made me feel so comfortable and encouraged with every dress I tried on. When you first walk in you give them your budget, and I did not try on a single dress over that price! I highly recommend going here for your dress and asking for Kristin!

I'm not getting my alterations done there due to the hours that alterations are available, but they gave me a list of recommendations that I am working with now.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the best shopping experience of my life here! They must either train their employees insanely well or just happen to find the best! I simply made an appointment. My two friends came in with me. We all sat in our own bridal changing room, complete with a private gown pedestal and huge mirror!!
I got a slip, and strapless corset style bra given to me for the appointment. (Not a real corset! Those hurt.) Fantastic service and so very accommodating.
Jess was my personal bridal assistant! She pulled the dress I loved in a catalog... And several more. Yet, I bought the FIRST dress Jess pulled for me, and it was NOT the dress I loved from the catalog. She was magical!
The store was beautiful! Everything was beautiful. I even got 50% off my wedding gown! It was about 2,300 but since I could get it off the rack it was at my price range I gave them. Oh, that is basically sacred to them . You write down your dress budget and they will not show you a dress that you cannot afford! They are amazing! Don't go anywhere else! Jess, you were amazing!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Huge selection and really great bridal consultants. I didn’t really know what I wanted (I thought I did, but really didn’t), so eventually the consultant let me go to the back to look around. I picked out the dress and that was it! They were also honest with me, saying it didn’t make sense for me to get my alterations done there (because of the way my dress was ordered and their pricing structure for alterations). They gave me a couple goodies too – (fake) pearl earrings, and a little square patch that had my initials embroidered in blue that my seamstress later sowed into my dress. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Jessi at Madeleine's Daughter was so great to work with. She was extremely professional and so easy to work with!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Beatriz
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I first walked into Madeleine\'s Daughter with a vision back in March 2013. And though the appointment went smoothly and i couldn\'t find what i was looking for and decided I may have better luck with having my dress made. I found myself walking into Madeleine\'s Daughter again in mid-December feeling completely hopeless with a dress that just added to a dreadful year. My mother had convinced me that I should use the seamstress she found and not the person I had extensively researched. The dress needed to be altered big time. When I wore it I felt like spongebob square pants. I was embarrassed to even show the dress. I met with the alterations seamstress Cheryl who really started to put the silver lining. I cried a little and even got a hug. Her sincerity and kindness put me at ease. I knew I didn\'t have to worry, she could help. But she did more than just that. When I left the store, not 10 minutes had past and she called me asking me to come back to the store. I thought for sure it was just too good to be true and that my bad luck was to follow. This was a group effort from EVERYONE at the store, they had an option for me. They had found a few dresses that depicted the description of the vision I had in my design, within my budget.\r\nThese are the type of people that work for Madeleine\'s Daughter. They are genuinely caring people who took the time to find \"the dress\". They wanted to see me happy and they didn\'t even know me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1339682655812-fbavatar2485814
Greer
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I ended up choosing the first dress I tried on, which speaks volumes to their staffs expertise. I loved my dress, but the true test came for fittings. I drove 2.5 hrs each way for my fittings and Kathy did an extraordinary job and was a pleasure to see at each fitting. She was patient and kind and when I went for my last fitting, couldn't help but give her a big hug before I left. MD is top notch, worth the drive and has a great selection of dresses with experienced employees. My Mom and I had a great experience here and I would recommend anyone with any budget choose MD.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter was where I bought not only my dress and veil but my mother bought her dress there as well as all 5 of my bridesmaids. Their service is top notch. Ashley (curly hair) was fantastic as my consultant. Gigi made the process of picking out bridesmaid dresses with my girls so easy. And Renee, as alterations manager, was beyond the best. She spent so much time listening to me and my mother's thoughts on getting the perfect fit. On wedding day everything was just perfect for everyone. If you live in the area you must must stop at Madeleine's Daughter!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1388689935511-lindsay--mark-61
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
This isn't the place you go to try on dresses, this is the place you go for find your wedding dress!
The lovely ladies that work here know what they are doing! With thousands of dresses in their inventory, they work with you to find the dress of your dreams. I had the pleasure of working with Ashley for my first appointment and she found me "THE ONE" on my third try on. I tried to play it off like it wasn't the one, but I found after every dress that I put on, I kept going back to it. Gazing at it, touching the lace and comparing it to all the others that came after it. It wasn't until she said, let me just get one other thing to try on (a veil) and placed it on me, that I knew this was it! I had found my dress or it had found me!

Madeleine's Daughter was a pleasure to work with. They work with you every step of the way and have the timeline of appointments down to a science. Being like most brides, I was hoping to slim down before my final fitting. When I dropped 4 dress sizes, it wasn't a problem at all. They have a fabulous and extremely talented seamstress that was able to make my dress fit me perfectly. She was able to stitch some additional accessories in place for me. All in all, it was such a fun experience and I am so happy to have found my dress with them!

In addition to finding my dress, my Mom found her stunning Mother of the Bride dress there as well. She had an equally fun and fancy experience with trying on, selecting, and tailoring her dress to her. She was treated with the same time, love and attention as I had received. On my wedding day, we were the two best dressed ladies at the vineyard! My husband looked handsome as well, in his rented tuxedo suit from Soiree, (Madeleine's sister store). I can't thank the ladies at Madeleine's enough for all the though and care that went into making me feel like a true princess on my wedding day. Keep up the excellent customer service & I will continue to recommend to all my single friends! Lindsay
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
They were absolutely amazing!! From picking the dress to getting my dress in last minute to be pressed for my wedding day. I can see why I was recommended to them!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Madeline's Daughter Bridal by numerous friends who all talked about their incredible service. I am so glad that I chose to go here to find my wedding dress. My sales girl listened to me so well that after only trying on 7 dresses I ended up with the first one I tried on. I had so much fun at my appointment that I didn't want to leave. I can't wait to go back for my fittings!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I purchased my Pronovias wedding dress from Brandie at Madeleine's Daughter this summer and she was GREAT! I had looked all over the NY/CT area and liked a lot of dresses but I fell in love with a dress at Madeleine's. Not only are they so genuinely helpful, but the suites are spacious to dry dresses on, equipped with a private bathroom and they are very respectful of your budget. There was no pressure, only assistance and advice that I really appreciated. This was by far the best bridal shop I went to and although I now have to travel from NY for my fittings, it is well worth it for my dress and for the amazing customer service! Thank you again Brandie!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bananon21
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I used MD to purchase my wedding dress and for all of my alterations. I live in MA but was drawn to the shop because of all the great reviews they received. The 2 hr drive to MD for all my visit and fittings was definitely worth it! I had the best shopping experience and they were able to make my dress exactly how I wanted it. The service was professional and they even let me move my appointments if I arrived early after my drive. I would 100% recommend this shop to anyone looking for the true bridal experience with no stress and lots of special personal attention. Thank you MD!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
I visited Madeleine's Daughter during an April sample sale, to purchase my wedding gown. I brought with me some pictures of what I was looking for, and my consultant was able to find "The One" right away. My consultant was friendly and great to work with. Since it was a sample sale, the dress was at an unbelievable discount!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Great! Found the perfect dress, no problem - and no sales tax! Felt very well taken care of, not rushed or pushed around at all. It was a great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lois
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter was a fabulous boutique to choose wedding gowns. On our first visit, our bridal consultant asked us for a price range and what Lynn wanted in a gown. She brought in different styles to try on , but none were what she wanted. After a few tries, Ashley found a gown that met what Lynn wanted. The gown was ordered on our first visit. When it came to alterations, they offer a flat price whether the bride needs one fitting or 4 as was our case. Cheryl , our seamstress, was thorough in fitting the gown and pinning it to fit perfectly. She set up a fourth fitting on an unscheduled day to make sure everything was perfect before she did the final alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
LOVE Madeleine's Daughter! I shopped at several bridal shops before Madeleine's and either hated the dresses or the service. They have so many options and great staff. I also purchased by prom dresses here over 10 years ago. Can't say enough good things about this bridal shop!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1346091120971-firstdance
Nikki
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the best experience here! I worked with Brandie Kramer and she helped me find my dream dress. At no point did she ever make me feel rushed or pressured into buying my gown. I went in having a vague idea of what I wanted, but I knew what I definitely didn't want. Brandie helped me narrow it down until she had me in the perfect dress for me. When I put it on my cousin who was with me said "Now THAT is what I picture you in when I imagine you in a wedding gown." I didn't do my alterations at MD because it would have been such a long ride there for each appointment (about 45 minutes each way), so I can't speak for that department, but I do know that they offer a flat fee for the alterations (In February 2012 the rate was $475). They also gave me a cute grosgrain ribbon with my initials on it in light blue to be sewn into my dress as my something blue - very cute!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Madeleine's is amazing! Everyone is so friendly and helpful! I actually wished I had gotten to spend more time there, but they were so efficient I didn't have to. And the seamstress was amazing. I loved what she did.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1347416861044-jennykevin1413
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful experience... I found my Pronovias gown at their sample sale after Thanksgiving--the owner of the store helped me find my dress and was so kind in doing so--it was absolutely the best experience (and everyone was so nice as well). She did not try to push me towards something more expensive, despite my between torn between two dresses (one of which was *significantly* more money); she helped me steer towards what I thought would be the best statement of me for that day (which turned out to be the most inexpensive dress I had picked, but the one I thought was a showstopper).

They were so wonderful to deal with that we returned to get my mother her MOB dress, and they were so lovely and sweet with her. This was with the traditional make- the-appointment and order the dress and it went so smoothly. Very professional and kind.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg6
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I loved my dress and their service. I also had my dress altered through one of their seamstresses and she did an amazing job adjusting it a few times until it fit to perfection. They had a large selection but most importantly they had the dress I'd been looking for. I also went to them for my prom dress years ago and the service has always been awesome. Thank you!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Averie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Coming from Boston, I wasn't expecting to find my dress at Madeleine's... but I did!! And I had nothing but amazing service. No snobby or overly busy staff here..... AT ALL. Nothing but sweet people and complete attention during your appointment. I always felt comfortable and happy going to the store and I am so thankful that Kerry (my sales lady) pulled the most beautiful dress I had ever seen..... I am still so in love with it!!! They have a very large selection and are flexible with appointment times. HIGHLY recommend this place !!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1304935551341-img0750
crystal
Wedding:
3/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the best and seamless time dress shopping with the staff here. Sadie was my consultant and she was so full of energy and very outgoing and easy to do business with. She knew how to get you to where you need to be when it comes to dress shopping, as it can be so overwhelming with all the possible options you have. We also did our bridesmaid and tuxedo business through them as well. If you want an inviting professional experience then I would give them a "go!" All the ladies here are so great and truely love what they do.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
From start to finish, Madeleine's Daughter was an amazing place to shop for my wedding dress!. My sales associate Kerri was so attentive and supportive and was able to find me my perfect dress. The professionalism and quality of service is in my opinion unmatched by any other bridal salon in the area and mirrors that of high end boutique shops. I never felt like just a number at this salon, and would recommend Madeleine's to anyone in search of their perfect dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anthony
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife would only change one thing about this experience... she wishes we lived closer. She got a dress she loved for a price that was less than she expected to pay. She found a lot of dress boutiques in Boston to be rather... catty. Mean girls running the place, saying rude stuff, and being pushy. She was elated to find Madeleine's Daughter where she was provided ample time with a dress consultant and plenty of space. She still speaks of the experience as "warm and welcoming" and continues to refer family and friends. Added bonus? No sales tax in New Hampshire! We loved that, haha. Definitely worth a beautiful, quick drive from Boston... and it's an excuse to visit The Friendly Toast!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney Jane
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I got my beautiful Marisa wedding gown from this shop with the help of MacKenzie. She was so honest, helpful and pleasant and really made the experience special. They even sent me a personalized "something blue" with the dress! They had a great selection and I would highly recommend looking for your dress at this shop--especially working with MacKenzie!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Sadie was a godsend. That's all I can say! Everyone was amazing, but Sadie was a shining star. From finding my perfect dress, to working with my bridesmaids to find theirs, and solving a bridesmaids dress fit issue 2 weeks before the wedding. I cannot thank you enough Sadie! Well worth the drive up from Boston, any day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1289920836344-4666344472332369655470369651524654414059n
ashley
Wedding:
5/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I puchased my gown, veil, headpiece, and shoes from Madeleine's Daughter. I had heard great things about this shop, so it was first on my list when I started shopping for my wedding dress. I had MacKenzie as a consultant, and she was great! Before trying on any dresses they confirm your budget (mine was $2000-$2500), and they really do try to only show you dresses within that price range. I tried dresses on from $900 and up. The dress I chose was way over my budget, but I was able to purchase the sample, which was wonderful. It was a $4900 gown, and I paid $2500. Overall my other purchases were enjoyable as well. I got a great pair for shoes for $99! My only complaint was that I never received a call on any of my orders when they were in. I understand that these places get busy, so no big deal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
couturebride
Wedding:
9/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I had such a great experience at Madeleine's Daughter. My consultant MacKenzie was AMAZING. I had gone to a few salons in MA and no one really listened, but once I got talking to MacKenzie and tried on all different styles, she seemed to catch on quickly to what I wanted and over a few appointments of trying different accessories and what not, everything worked out perfectly!!! The only thing I am nervous about are my alterations, but I have been assured that it will be nothing but perfect. The customer service here is impecable and I have been so impressed. If it wasnt this way I would have already taken the dress elsewhere. I definitely recommend making the trip here!!! You get to play dress up and Portsmouth is a great place to hit up the boutiques and have a great lunch on the water!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Gabrielle
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Found the dress I loved, and had my alterations done there as well, and thought they were professional and easy to work with from start to finish. Would (and have!) highly recommend Madeline’s Daughter Bridal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenah
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I'm not a crier. It takes a lot of emotion to make me cry. Further more "happy tears" are usually a mystery to me.

That said, when I tried on my wedding dress at my final fitting I was so thrilled that my eyes got a little misty. Which for me is like sobbing hysterically out of joy. The dress was perfect. Fit like a glove.

Gerry (the seamstress) did a perfect job. She was awesome the whole way through and truly delivered on this dress. I was so over the moon that I actually gave her a huge hug once I put the dress on. Not to mention my exuberant hugging of both Juhree (the wonderful consultant who helped me find the dress in the first place and was my contact person throughout) and the girl who always checked me out. Apparently my response to overwhelming joy is to hug everyone in sight.

At any rate, the dress came out fantastic. My expectations were surpassed. This is THE place to go for your dress from start to finish.

HIGHLY recommend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Rachel
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I got my Allure Exclusive dress at Madeline's daughter and absolutely loved it and the entire experience of purchasing it. Every time I went to Madeline's daughter I found the service to be very personalized. The entire staff was very warm and welcoming. I also had my alterations done on my dress at Madeline's daughter by Cheryl and she did an amazing job! My dress fit me perfectly by the time she was done with it and she was so great to work with! I would definitely recommend going to Madeline's daughter to find your dream dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
LOVED them so nice to me. I told them my budget and the did what they could to get me in the dress of my dreams. Everyone loved it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Madeleine's Daughter for your wedding attire. My bridal gown, my mom's gown, and all four of my bridesmaids' dresses were purchased from here. The service we received was impeccable, and since my gown had to travel 350 miles for our big day, I had to make sure that it was packaged appropriately. They did all of this for me, and it arrived in perfect shape, no need to take it to the dry cleaners! I also had my dress (as well as mom mom's) altered here and our seamstress was amazing. She did a great job planning my bustle (it did not fall down all night!) and made my dress fit me like a glove. They could also accomodate the fact that all of my girls and my mom would come from out of state to try on dresses and have them altered later on.

The staff was friendly, and ever so helpful, and I recommend them! You can't go wrong!! The attention to detail and the individualized service was the reason I chose to go to a smaller bridal shop as opposed to a national chain!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Thanks to Madeline's Daughter for a top notch experience from beginning to end. Great picking out dress, great with alterations. And the other part of the business they have with wedding planning (sorry I forget the name!) help. Wow. They gave us so much help with ideas for vendors. Spent a lot of time with us which I appreciated. I loved the overall time we had at Madeline's. They made us feel special every time we can in. We also did our tuxes with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maeghan
Wedding:
8/26/2007
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about this shop. When I first went I was a bit put off but fell in love with the staff and their level of service. When I left with my dress I was actually sad since this meant everything was real, plus I wouldn't get to play dress up anymore and be doted on! Mackenzie and the rest of the staff were fabulous! There was one employee there when I picked up my dress that was so-so but it was easy to put aside since everyone else was great. Mackenzie was really fun to work with, my mom would come up from SC and always love when we were waited on by Mackenzie. She was very professional but also made the process a lot of fun!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1375811122868-photo-3
Amanda
Wedding:
5/24/2014
4.9/5.0
The first place I went to try on dresses was Madeline's daughter. The building is beautiful and there is always someone greeting you with a glowing smile.

My consultant was very nice and professional. She knew exactly what dresses to have me try just by seeing my expression to the first two dresses. Being sort of particular, I didn't expect to find what I wanted unless I was at some shop in NYC. Surprise to me, I found my dress after trying on 8 dresses! A beautiful Lazaro gown that I am so excited to wear!

Thank You Madeline's Daughter!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.9/5.0
This is a review more for my amazing consultant than Madeleine's Daughter itself. Kristen is friggen awesome. She was my sister's consultant when she bought her dress a year ago, and we loved her so much that we requested to have her again when we went shopping for my dress. I gave Kristen a very vague idea of what I was going for--outdoor wedding, romantic feel, no poofiness or lace. It's amazing she could pull out anything I liked from that sort of description, but I guess that's why she has the job she does! I tried on a small handful of dresses. A couple were ok, a couple I hated, and one I said I 'didn't hate' but wanted to try a few more. Turns out the one I didn't hate was the one! I kept thinking about it and comparing it to each dress I tried thereafter, and when I tried it on for a second time, I vividly remember my heart beating so fast because I could feel it was the one! So cheesy but true! I really owe it all to Kristen. She took those four adjectives I gave her and in turn gave me my wedding dress which I just loved. She is so friendly and calming and really knows what she's doing. She even said that when I was describing what I wanted, that very dress popped into her head as a contender. I mean, wow! Way to pick em, Kristen. If you shop at MD, do yourself a favor and request her to be your consultant. She managed to blow away my very picky wedding photographer husband (code for he's seen a crap load of awesome wedding dresses) who said the dress was just perfect and unique and totally me! Win-win. Also, since it was my first visit, I believe we got something like 10% off the dress and drink coupons for margaritas at the Mexican restaurant next door! What a perfect way to celebrate finding my wedding dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.9/5.0
Absolutely loved working with Kristin, she was an awesome bridal consultant. Also love that they carry Jenny Packham! It was so easy to find my dress and the alterations turned out beautifully!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1347914805888-jj
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.9/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter is an excellent choice to purchase your wedding gown. From the day I went to try dresses on, all the way to the picking up my gorgeous gown before my wedding, they were excellent to deal with. All of the staff are so nice and accommodating. The altering process was a little pricey in my opinion, but they really take the guess work out of it so it was worth it for me. It was so easy and worry-free since they schedule it all out for you with reminders and suggestions on what you will need to bring with you on those days. Thank you Madeleine's!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I wanted a short, non-traditional wedding dress, but wasn't certain of the exact style. My consultant (who no longer works there) was very helpful in bringing different options, and was patient when I rejected many of them. As soon as I mentioned that I liked a 60's "Jackie O"-type style, she brought in a Siri special occasion dress that ended up being what I ordered. The sample was full-length and navy blue, but was available in a knee-length off-white silk shantung fabric that I imagined would look perfect! The price was very reasonable (about 1/3 of the max that I had told her I was willing to spend), and it arrived right about when they said it would.
Since it was simpler than a big bridal gown, my consultant gave me a list of recommended seamstresses to do my final alterations. This was much less expensive than if I'd had them do the alterations at Madeleine's Daughter Bridal. I appreciated their honesty in offering this suggestion, and the seamstress I chose was great.
I took off 1/2 a star for value because the headpiece I bought there, while beautiful and I don't regret buying it, was very expensive! Much of their jewelry seemed to be priced higher than similar pieces elsewhere, also.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
12/22/2012
4.9/5.0
From the day I became engaged, there was no question in my mind where I would find my wedding dress. In April 2012, I returned to my childhood town of Portsmouth, NH and visited Madeleine’s where I had worked my very first “grown-up” job just ten summers before. I loved the symbolism of coming full circle – there was something so perfect about finding my dress in the shop where I helped countless brides prepare for their big days, all the while dreaming of my own fairytale wedding. Once I had found my Prince Charming, I knew with all my heart that I was fated to find my wedding gown at Madeleine’s.

With my mother and sister by my side and surrounded by my Madeleine’s “family,” I found my wedding gown in record time – in fact, it was the third dress I tried on! It was truly the epitome of my dream gown: a lace Monique L’huillier ivory beauty with a trumpet skirt and beaded belt. From the moment I stepped into the sample, I was overwhelmed with emotion. Seeing my reflection in the mirror sent shivers down my spine. And months later, when my real dress arrived, it fit like a glove – it was almost as if Monique had made it especially for me!

From start to finish, Madeleine’s went above and beyond to ensure my experience was wonderful. After the initial bridal appointment, my mom and my bridesmaids all returned to buy their dresses here as well – it truly was a family affair! Juhree, Kerry and Gigi took care of our every need, Elizabeth contacted me frequently to ensure every aspect of our experience was perfect, and Denise Shaw, our seamstress, was our wedding miracle. I could not be more grateful for all that Madeleine’s did to contribute to my fairytale come true!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karly
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.9/5.0
They were so helpful and always nice and flexible when I was late. Really had a great experience. My mother found her dress there as well!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
9/17/2010
4.9/5.0
The staff at Madeleine’s Daughter were a pleasure to work with. My first trip to there was actually to try on bridesmaid dresses for my best friend’s wedding over a year and a half ago. Since then I have visited many time. Madeleine’s was one of the first stop on what quickly became a far and wide search for my perfect wedding dress. During that first visit I actually tried on the dress that would become “the dress”. McKenzie, my bridal consultant, was extremely knowledgeable about wedding dresses and what was in inventory which was very helpful in narrowing down what exactly I was looking for in a dress. She was also very patient. I believe it wasn’t until my third visit to the store to try on dresses that I fell in love with my dress and made the purchase.

The post-purchase experience was excellent. Gerry, the seamstress, was superb – I really enjoyed working with her during my three fittings. She made it her mission to make sure my dress fit me like a glove and was exactly what I wanted. She didn’t stop until every detail of my dress was perfect. When I finally picked it up the week of the wedding, I couldn’t have been happier with the final product. Although, my husband wasn’t a part of the Madeleine’s Daughter experience he did love my dress! 
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmatrina33
Wedding:
2/10/2010
4.9/5.0
a serious store with serious value!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
1/3/2009
4.9/5.0
I was very happy with the dress selection experience. Juhree assisted me in selecting a dress and had wonderful suggestions which were right on. The dress arrived on time and I felt it was worth the price I had paid.
The alterations were a little more difficult. They didn't go exactly as I had hoped, so we had to fit in an extra fitting the week before the wedding. I suppose that is why they make multiple appointments for you, so take advantage if you have time. The alterations were also a little on the expensive side.
I also purchased my jewelry, shoes and hairpiece here. They were a little pricey, but handmade and I fell in love with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1222045671872-weddingpictures1604
Candace
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.9/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter were great. It was nice that i didn't have to search through dozens of racks of dresses myself. We sat down at talked about what i was looking for first, and then they went and got the dresses that they felt matched my description. We were in a large room with a private bathroom. I also bought my bridesmaids dresses as well as the mother of the bride's dress here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
My experience was great and the quality of dresses was fantastic. Kristin did a great job of listening to me in my 'ideal' dress type and staying within my budget. The only thing that threw me off was not being allowed to take photographs in the different dresses while trying to choose one.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.8/5.0
I purchased my wedding gown here, had alterations here, and also purchased my bridesmaid and flower girl dresses here. Each and every time we went to the store, the staff was attentive and professional and knowledgeable. Mackenzie, my bridal consultant, really listened to what I was looking for and pulled some amazing dresses. The last one she pulled for me was one she said to just give a chance, and I am glad I did. It was the one! It incorporated every aspect of a dress I had been looking for, in addition to being a dress I had never seen before. Everyone at the wedding thought it was the perfect dress for me. My bridesmaids and flower girls looked great. Their dresses all came in quickly. The seamstress I worked with was very easy to work with and really knew what alterations to make to make my dress complete. I highly recommend this bridal salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
8/30/2013
4.8/5.0
Madeleine' Daughter was great, very accommodating, and easy to work with. Ashley helped me find my wedding dress in one day on my first round of wedding dress shopping! She did a great job of identifying what I liked and didn't like about particular dresses that I had tried on to narrow down my search to "the one." The process was quick and easy, and Ashley was extremely professional and helpful. The store was very clear on explaining the process, what I should expect and kept in the loop on status the whole entire way. I also ended up purchasing the accessories (veil/sash) although the price ended up being a lot higher than I would have thought I'd spend for accessories (which is why I gave the value of 4 stars.) I also had my alterations done through the store and Cheryl was the tailor that I worked with. She was also amazing, was super friendly, professional, and did a great job understanding exactly what I wanted and what I should expect during the process. Just to throw in, I ended up selecting my bridesmaid dresses from another store and was extremely disappointed in the other store. Madeleine's had set too high of a bar!! I would recommend working with them!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/9/2013
4.8/5.0
I loved my dress, and accessories! Every associate was very sweet and knowledgeable. I had to purchase a dress off the rack and Madeleine's Daughter offered me 10% off the price, which I thought was fair (considering it was fairly new to the store). However, after purchasing my dress, a veil, belt, and under garments I realized I definitely paid too much for some items ($250 veil, $650 belt). Basically, they offer great service, and beautiful items, but expect to pay higher prices.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.8/5.0
I had the best experience imaginable at Madeleines Daughter. My consultant was so helpful. I had a very vague idea in mind of what I wanted but she helped me confirm that idea by having me try on all different dress styles. She was so patient, honest and seemed to really care about finding me a dress I loved. She helped me narrow down dresses to MY dress and found me a dress more beautiful than I have ever imagined..and for under my budget! I also got my veil there and had alterations done right at the bridal shop. The women who did my alterations was also great and really knew what she was doing. When I was unsure of what changes I wanted, she helped me find what would fit my body best. The end results were stunning and I had so much fun every time I stepped foot into the store!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.8/5.0
I just visited Madeleine's Daughter for their Thanksgiving sale. Mackenzie was awesome and very helpful and patient bringing me about 8 dresses to try on and encouraging me to try on dresses that suited my body type even though they weren't on my radar initially. This event was amazing, and I got a sample Pronovias dress for 50% off. There were some gowns even up to 80% off. I highly recommend the trip up to Portsmouth!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.8/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter was a great place to visit for picking out your bridal gown!! I hate a great time there and found it so easy to find something that I loved. The girls were all very helpful and good out picking out what suits you and also helping with making it fit perfectly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.8/5.0
Wonderful dress shopping experience at Madeleine's Daughter. They have a wide selection of dresses and really make you feel special. Sadie was my sales consultant and she was extremely nice and very helpful in helping me find the perfect dress. I rated the Value section down a little bit because while I think the dresses are on par with other salons I thought their accessories and alterations prices were exorbitant (I did not use them for this).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maryann
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.8/5.0
Overall I would highly recommend. Be sure to make an appointment before arriving. Great selection and I thought that the prices were comparable with other shops I visited. A few issues with alterations but ready on schedule.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Krista
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.8/5.0
Great experience with Madeleine's Daughter. I bought my dress and my MOH's dress here and their service is excellent. The sales consultants are extremely helpful and will guide you to find your perfect gown. Very personalized and attentive to the bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha Arroyo
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.8/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter was wonderful to work with. I bought a beautiful Maggie Sottero dress for a reasonable price and they were diligent in arranging my fittings to fit my schedule. They also helped me with the bridesmaid dresses and were always joyful and sweet. Cheryl was my seamstress and I can't talk enough about how wonderful she was. She adhered to every detail and even helped us with tailoring my mother's veil for my wedding. We tea-died it to match my European Ivory dress and she was there in a pinch when we were panicked if we dyed it too heavily. On my review card I wrote, "Cheryl deserves a raise!" I hope they listened :) Overall, it was a lovely experience, though tailoring was rather pricey, I would recommend the venue to future brides :D
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
4/29/2010
4.8/5.0
After less than perfect service at another bridal boutique, I was extremely please with my experience at Madeline's Daughter. They have a great selection of bridal gowns, the atmosphere is both comfortable and classy, while the staff is very customer-service oriented. Juhree, my consultant, has also been extremely helpful with bridesmaid dresses. Because the dress process is so personal, I feel so happy to have gotten my dress from such a great place that I can highly recommend to others.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sk8Gr8
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.8/5.0
Both my mom and I bought our dresses at Madeleine's Daughter, and had our alterations done there. We loved this place! I was able to find my dream dress that made me feel like a princess, and my mom was equally happy with her dress. The alterations were done perfectly (I am the only one of my friends who did not have an issue with my bustle during the wedding and I had a heavy dress!)

Overall, I cannot say enough good things about the experience I had there. Each time I visited they made me feel like I was their only client. It was the favorite part of my wedding planning!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1223587063125-0104art
Jessi
Wedding:
8/7/2009
4.8/5.0
The girls here are very accommodating and professional. I found my dress on the first day I looked, and they spent many hours with me until I found "the one." The seamstress was so sweet and did an utterly amazing job on my dress, adding enough boning to support my large chest, but making it comfortable so it wouldn't hurt or bother me. I also had a very complicated bustle, and she took the time and effort to make sure it was perfect, and all fixtures blended right in with the beading on the dress.

One problem was that they are b*tchy and a little rude if you buy anything else (such as jewelry and bridal party dresses) from someone else, and if you have any issues with billing, they are fair, but again rude. I think they were complaining about me right in front of me as they discussed a billing question I had (I never even made an argument, only had a question about a credit).

I would still recommend Madeleine's Daughter, but make sure you are very clear abotu your intructions!
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.8/5.0
The sales person I worked with found me exactly what I was looking for in the price range I was interested in, even after I'd heard several people at other shops tell me that what I wanted was out of my price range. My dress came in exactly as ordered and in a very timely fashion, as did the shoes and jewelry and head piece I eventually ordered. I had a little bit of a problem scheduling the fittings, but we managed to work everything out and I was very happy with my dress the other items I purchased there.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.8/5.0
I wasn't impressed when I first when to Madeleine's with the bridal consultant they gave me, but soon after I was notified that she had moved on to another job and when they replaced her with McKenzie, I couldn't have been more thrilled. She was sweet, kind, understanding, fun and thoughtful and she was patient too. I probably tried on close to 50 gowns in my 2-3 appointments there before I found "the one". I appreciated that the salon has very open, roomy dressing rooms for brides, and a lot of privacy. I also found my veil there with much help from Christine, who was also very patient and flexible. She pulled the perfect veil, just in to the store, from the back room, and it was lovely. She had it altered for me easily and quickly. Everyone ensured that we were comfortable while we were there (anyone who's tried on bridal gowns knows it can be quite a process!). My gown was by Pronovias, a Spanish company, and I couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
9/13/2014
4.7/5.0
Absolutely loved my experience at Madeline's Daughter! Felt like a 'Say Yes to the Dress' experience, I told her what I liked, showed her my pinterest board of dresses and gave her my budget and she brought me dresses that fit my parameters. I didn't have to go searching through the racks of dresses and I found the perfect dress for me. No pressure, no rushing just felt like a model sampling all the dresses she brought out!

Kristen Lovering was my consultant and she was super nice, knowledgeable and helpful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/12/2014
4.7/5.0
The store is beautiful and you truly are treated like a bride here!! Mackenzie was my consult and she was fabulous her 1st dress ended up being my dress!! Great overall experience and beautiful dresses!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LODG
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.7/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter is the spot to go for a wedding gown if you're in the Boston area. I went to 3 stores prior to going to Madeleine's and was extremely overwhelmed by the concept of walking into a store FULL of white dresses and choosing them on my own. Madeleine's has a great way of handling the dress choosing process, by providing you with a consultant, explaining what you like/dislike about some dresses and putting them to work to find one for you. Your consultant provides you with a slew of dresses to try on - you explain what you like/dislike about it and they disappear to pull in some more. After 3 rounds of this, my dream dress was found! It was so painless!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I had a wonderful experience at Madeleine's Daughter. I went to a couple of other bridal gown shops, and my experience at Madeleine's by far more the most enjoyable. The shop was quiet and clean and the staff was great. Brandie was patient, attentive and sensitive to my budget. She brought in several beautiful gowns. I tried them all but ended up purchasing the first one I tried on and loved every minute I spent wearing it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MsChippyChap
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.7/5.0
I had a great experience purchasing my dress from Madeleine's Daughter. I had a list of specific Maggie Sottero dresses I wanted to try on, and I did end up having to go to several different places to try them because Madeleine's did not have the particular samples that I wanted. However, I did order my dress through MD's and I am so glad I did! They were great to work with the entire time - organized, friendly, helpful, willing to spend the time with me and didn't make me feel rushed or unappreciated. I had all my alterations done there, they helped me choose accessories, stored my dress until the week of the wedding, pressed it for me - everything! I think the price of the alterations package was a little steep but worth it because it was one less thing to worry about - and I didn't worry at all having my dress in their hands! They did a great job and I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SuzaTorrey
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.7/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with Madeleine's Daughter. Very professional, knowledgeable staff, although I think you have to assert yourself to get the best values--it is wedding dresses!
I would recommend this store to anyone looking to buy a wedding dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
The owner of Madeleine's Daughter really took the extra step for me. My grandma's house was rapidly declining, and we suspected that she would pass away before my wedding. My wedding dress hadn't even come in yet, but Madeleine's allowed us to take the sample dress from the store to the nearby nursing home where my grandmother was living so I could try it on for her to see. It was a beautiful moment, and my grandmother did end up passing away soon after, so I'm so thankful to Madeleine's Daughter for allowing me to have that memory.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
babiigirl56
Wedding:
5/1/2010
4.7/5.0
with all sincerity i could not have been more happy to have gotten here to get my wedding dress than anywhere else. i almost cried when i received the finished product because i looked so beautiful in it. thank you so much!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mona101010
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.7/5.0
These guys were one of the best bridal salons I went to find dresses and I ultimately bought my dress here. I gave slightly lower marks on value because I would have been able to purchase my dress on the internet for cheaper than what I paid at the store. But with purchasing it at the store, you get the experience and that is also truly memorable. My bridal consultant was lackluster, but the whole experience was a lot of fun. They have a good selection and I actually purchased a dress from the Pronovias trunk show and I was in love with Pronovias dresses. I definitely recommend this store for anyone looking for a bridal dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.7/5.0
I loved the consultant who helped me find my dress. Juhree was awesome (I think she's a manager now). Everything else about the process went fine. Alterations were good, dress was nicely pressed when I picked it up, etc. It's not a place for the budget bride, but I would recommend it for anyone else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maura
Wedding:
6/20/2014
4.6/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter has been great since the start. They have been so nice and helpful. The alteration schedule was a little tough, I live and work around Boston, so getting to NH by 4 takes a lot of planning. But so far it has worked!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
I went to Madeline's daughter for my Wedding Dress. I must admit I was a bit nervous after all the not do good reviews I had heard. My experience with Madeline's was great! The dress was absolutely stunning. The seamstress there pays attention to ever little detail. She was great! The dress fit perfectly, and was flawless. Thank you Madeline's Daughter for the gorgeous dress that you created for me with such drastic alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Of course you love where you find your dress! I only had to go to one place and have one appointment and Meaghan was able to pick out exactly what I wanted. The service was unbelievable and the seamstress was AMAZING! Nothing has ever fit me so well in my life. My only challenge was the dress fittings which are on Tuesdays and Thursdays (understandably because of the weekend bridal shopping) but it was also nice to be able to spend a couple of afternoons in Portsmouth. I would highly recommend this bridal salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
ash2011
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.6/5.0
My consultant was kerry! She was amazing! So helpful and picked all the right things to make my dress. Prices were very reasonable. I bought everything from my dress, shoes, accessories, veil, and under garments there. I would recommend this shop to anyone! Thanks Madeleine's daughter for the great and fun experience picking out my beautiful dress!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Moe
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.6/5.0
The dress did take a long time to arrive, but thankfully it did arrive when promised. I wasn't able to get the correct swatch of my dress, but they did try to get me a swatch that was close to my dress. It would've been nice to have the actual swatch to take the guess work out of the other details surrounding trying to match or compliment the dress, but it worked out fine. They are very knowledgeable and helpful, but sometimes it was too busy to get someone to help us while we were there. I recommend Madeleine's Daughter for any budget and any style dress you may be shopping for.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/16/2011
4.6/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter was such a great experience. Very professional and supportive.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
whosaysthehoneymoonsover
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.5/5.0
When it came to wedding dresses, the only thing I knew I wanted was buttons down the back of the dress. There were a lot of things, however, I knew I didn't want. Sadie, the girl who helped me find a dress, listened to absolutely everything I said and was able to help me find a dress the first day of shopping. She was so friendly and helpful, and I couldn't believe that they actually had a dress to fit all the criteria of what I didn't want and still be absolutely beautiful. The great customer service did not end there. Cherie, the seamstress, was also amazing! I didn't realize dress sizing was so crazy, but she was able to take the bust in 4 sizes and the hips in 3 sizes and the dress still looked awesome! And the buttons she added to the back of the dress made it the dress of my dreams. She was also able to make a beautiful sash and a really cool bustle to complete the look. In all, I can't say enough good things about either of them. I will say that I learned you must bring your shoes to the first fitting - something I did not realize, so be sure to bring your shoes or at least know how high they'll be! Also, if you go there for bridesmaids dresses, they will probably tell you that all of your bridesmaids need to buy their dresses from Madeleine's Daughter. I could not have my bridesmaids do this since they were from all over the country. There was no 'dye lot' difference between any of the dresses so if it's not convenient for your bridesmaids to buy them all from the same store, don't worry about it. I will say that their insistence that we buy all the bridesmaids dresses from them did cause a bit of unnecessary stress for both me and my bridesmaids, which is why I did not give them a 5 for service, even though Sadie & Cherie were amazing.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
2/10/2010
4.5/5.0
Excellent service!!!!Very professional and great sales !They have beautiful dresses there... After going to several places, I found my dress there, and it was not hard to fall in love with it... Really nice place to pick your dress and very friendly people...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kross1484
Wedding:
10/17/2009
4.5/5.0
Mackenzie was the perfect consultant, professional and with a great eye for what would suit me. I am convinced that I found the dress that was meant for me and it was all thanks to her! Minor differences with alterations, suggest having an additional person in the room at all fittings to verify what was supposed to be done.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bisplinj
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.5/5.0
I bought my wedding dress and all of the bridesmaids' dresses at Madeline's daughter and was very pleased with the service. Madeline's daughter was the first shop that I went to and because the salesperson (Jurhee) was so wonderful, I found the perfect dress right away. Although the alterations were a bit expensive, I was glad that my dress was in good hands. The bridesmaids' dresses were absolutlely beautiful and I was able to find junior bridesmaids' dresses that looked great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kath
Wedding:
5/22/2009
4.5/5.0
I went to a bunch of different dress places to find "the" dress. I didn't like Yolandas as they kept bringing me the wrong type of dress despite my big file of pictures I liked.

I really wanted to like Abbey in Andover (they have that amazing storefront with the beautiful dress displays) but I think I was unlucky when I went because the very young sales girl was just useless. Me and my MOH were the only ones in the store and she ignored us for ages and then halfheartedly got me about 3 dresses from the basement storeroom huffing and puffing each time.

I loved Christina's in Andover (above Starbucks) you can pick out your own dresses and they have a HUGE selection.

And then I went to Madeline's daughter and it was just great. They make you feel really special, have beautiful private rooms and the most amazing selection of dresses. TOTALLY worth the trip to Portsmouth - it's like a day out! Book an appointment though. We went one evening after work and it was still really busy.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teagan
Wedding:
7/5/2014
4.4/5.0
I had a wonderful experience buying my dress at Madeleine's Daughter. The private rooms were beautiful and made the experience fun for myself and my mom and grandmother who joined me. My consultant was great, and within 2 hours I had the dress of my dreams. MD put me in a dress that I haven't seen on a single wedding TV show, facebook post, or anywhere else. My dress was perfectly me!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bb8
Nicole
Wedding:
9/13/2008
4.4/5.0
Madeleine's daughter is a wonderful place to get your dress/bridesmaids dresses. Their staff was so nice and the shop is beautiful. It was never difficult to get an appointment and I always felt taken care of.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1349285841336-vef
VLESA
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.3/5.0
Loved my wedding gown! I only wish that fittings weren't only held on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Made it hard to get to my fittings during the week coming all the way from Boston. Weekend fitting availabilities would be more convenient. Otherwise, everything else with my MDB experience was great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yulybabe33
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.3/5.0
God!!!!! i loved my dress it was the best thing that ever happened to me!! to go to this place and find the perfect dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.2/5.0
Look, wedding dresses are expensive. They just are. That said, when I went for my first dress shopping appointment at Madeleine's Daughter and told them my budget, they didn't flinch. McKenzie listened to everything I said about what I wanted in a dress and didn't try to steer me in another direction. I ended up buying the first dress she brought out for me because she is EXTREMELY good at her job. And? It was $700 under my budget!

I initially requested an appointment with McKenzie because my sister-in-law had worked with her to purchase her wedding dress about six months earlier and had loved the experience. So passing along the recommendation only seems right.

We ended up going back to Madeleine's to purchase my bridesmaid dresses as well (even though we had seen them slightly less expensive out of state), because my dress buying experience with McKenzie was so positive.

I would imagine that dealing with brides on a daily basis can wear on a person but you would have never known it with McKenzie. She is fantastic and I would absolutely recommend Madeleine's to anyone looking for their wedding dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1351005421774-20121008007
Tricia
Wedding:
10/7/2012
4.2/5.0
I initially went to Madeleine's Daughter because thy had the designer I wanted but I was happy with their service. With the exception of a few things that I found to be across the board at all bridal shops: pricey accessories, cost of the alterations package and then another seperate price to preserve the dress but they were very nice to work with. All the staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and the seamstress did a great job with my dress that had very intricate folds at the top. My bustle did tear at my wedding but not so much that I couldnt dance still
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
12/3/2012
4.1/5.0
I ordered my dress and veil from Madeleine's Daughter. My dress ended up coming back 2 sizes too big which caused a ton of stress when I went to get alterations. I ended up having to go to 6 dress alterations appointments to get it to fit correctly. Note: I did not get my dress altered at Madeleine's. When I was there trying on dresses the bridal consultant (who was very friendly) said I was between two sizes according to the size charts from the designer and I chose the smaller size, but my dress was still swimming on me. I'm not sure if this is the designer's fault or my consultants. I also ordered my bridal veil there and they shipped it to me free of charge and I had no problem with that. Lastly, I went one day with a few of my bridesmaids and the same consultant seemed to be having a bad day and I left not wanting to order my bridesmaids dresses from there. I'm not sure why it was different the second time I went in. They do have a ton of very nice dresses in different price ranges and they bring you into a private room which is nice. Overall, I would recommend going there, but be cautious on the size you order.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
H
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.1/5.0
I got an absolutely gorgeous dress for 50% off. No complaints.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
houghs8208
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.1/5.0
Their selection is great! Their staff is very kind and professional!

I was a bit put off when I was told that one couldn't take a photo of the dresses until you've made a payment. If people are going to go elsewhere they will do it with or without a photo. It really felt like I missed out on documenting such a meaningful part of the process. They also didn't seem to have (or want to show us any) "sale" options.

The bottom line is I love my dress (Pronovias) and they helped me find it and delivered it right on time. I would recommend Madeline's to any future brides!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LindsayB
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.0/5.0
Happy with my experience. Nice sales staff were very helpful. Alterations team was great and made sure my dress was perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lupita
Wedding:
2/1/2010
4.0/5.0
wow what can i say about these people. they are really true dream makers. i had gone to so many other bridal gown places and didnt find the one for me. after much searching and advice from friends, i stumbled upon them and they were awesome. every detail meant to me and they made sure to make my dress perfect. i was the happiest bride in the world.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1281570429957-portrait
Katie
Wedding:
6/26/2010
3.6/5.0
Our consultant was wonderful and personable. I think her name was Kerry. I had tried on about 50 dresses before I tried Madeleine's Daughter and I was feeling a little discouraged when I arrived. Kerry was really upbeat and willing to help me find what I was looking for. I showed her some photos and she pulled dresses that she thought I might like. I absolutely did not expect to find a dress that day, but Kerry found my dress for me! I chose Cabo by Watters. Some bridal salons we went to were charging $1,000s more than the stock price for dresses that were a couple years old, but the price for my dress was right where I would expect it to be. The whole process of finding and ordering the dress went smoothly. It even came in a couple months ahead of time. However, when it came in, the staff knew that I planned on using my own seamstress because I don't live too close. That may have been why I was basically ignored when I went back to pick up my dress. Someone showed me which dressing room it was in and then left, never to be seen again. When I came to buy the dress, someone helped me into it and talked to me about the fit and accessories. I could have liked some guidance, but I got tired of waiting around in my dress and just got changed back into my clothes to leave! It was a bit frustrating, but I was happy with the dress, its arrival time, and the price.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
scahoon02
Wedding:
4/18/2009
3.6/5.0
I loved working with MacKenzie in search of my perfect Bridal Gown! She was enthusiastic and honest with her opinons, which I was grateful for. I loved the dress I ended up purchasing!!

Working with alterations was okay. I thought it was on the expensive side. However, they do store everything at the salon for you (veil, shoes, bras, etc - even if you did not purchase them there). I did feel that my seamstress was annoyed when I had brought my matron of honor and mother with me each time. He attitude came across that they were in the way, and I did not appreciate it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1286397256273-emay07
BGG
Wedding:
5/15/2010
3.4/5.0
This store is a great place to start because it has lots of dresses and accessories but some of the consultants put on a little too much pressure. They were kind enough to allow me to return a dress for store credit 24 hours after I had bought it. I had thought it would be impossible to spend, but since my sister was also getting married, it was a breeze.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/7/2011
3.2/5.0
My dress was a designer sample and I paid little under $2,000 vs the $3,500 it would've cost brand new. I also purchased my veil and some accessories and my Mother in-law purchased her dress there as well.

I had Juhree initially as a consultant and she was great, at first. I then ended up with a different consultant who in my opinion got easily confused and was a little snotty. There were a lot of mixups and wrong sizing on my bra (3 different times!) I was overcharged on something and had to fight to get my $80 back.

The responsiveness (phone calls back) and communication was pretty awful. Also, some of the girls could stand to be a little more professional. At one point a few of my girls and my Mom felt uncomfortable in the store, they felt that some of the consultants we a little "snooty". Which is unfortunate, considering the $ we spent. I could've gone to David's Bridal, spent a lot less $ and received far better treatment! I would think making your customers feel as comfortable as possible was the goal, since they are putting down a little bit of $ and you are working on commission.

That being said, overall the quality was good. The seamstress was fantastic. I dont know if I'd recommend to a friend or not. I'd probably say go to Country Bridal in Hingham, which is where I should've ordered my dress. They were far friendlier there..
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachel
Wedding:
8/4/2006
3.2/5.0
The woman I had was very nice, however, all the "extras" were so expensive.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mweand
Wedding:
8/29/2009
3.1/5.0
I am torn about Madeleine's Daughter. When I went to look at veils and headpieces, the women were very helpful and knowledgeable. However, when we went to look at tuxes, the staff was clearly overburdened with work and seemed very unwilling to help us. They clearly get a large amount of orders in but do not necessarily seem equipped to deal with these orders if their customer service skills just fly out the window. I would probably not recommend Madeleine's Daughter if you are looking for personalized and attentive service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Madeleine's Daughter Bridal responded with the following comments:

In our defense, the tuxedo company that is being referred to is NOT a part of Madeleine's Daughter. The name of the tuxedo company is called Madeleine's Tuxedos, but are not a part of Madeleine's Daughter Bridal in any way!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LVogel
Wedding:
5/23/2009
3.1/5.0
If I were to do it all over again, I probably would have shopped around more for my dress. Madeleine's Daughter has beautiful dresses, but not a huge selection. I was under some time pressure when I ordered my dress, but when it came in, it was way too big (at least 2 sizes). This was very frustrating, as I had not lost weight and the dress was custom made (not cheap!!!). I mentioned this to my seamstress, but she didn't say anything. I suspect that they intentionally order dresses too big to get you to have alterations done with them. I was not happy about this at all! Beware! Check what size they are ordering for you. My seamstress and sales person were both very nice. The people on the phone who handled fittings were not as nice. For that kind of money, I expect to be treated cordially, particularly when the dress is a) late coming in and b) 2 sizes too big!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg22
JCSquared
Wedding:
7/26/2014
3.0/5.0
I scheduled my appointment online and they were very quick to get back to me. My appointment was in June 2013 and Kristin helped me out. She was nice, helpful and responded to my feedback on the dresses perfectly. She wasn't pushy or sales at all.

My dress arrived at the store in November 2013 and I tried to make an appointment to try it back on and review sashes, veils, etc but they were booked and unable to accommodate my preferred date. Upon arrival to pick the dress up, there was a very small but empty room to the right in the store as you walk in that would have worked fine for me to try on a dress. Alas, one is required to have a consultant in order to try things on and possibly spend money on accessories. I was irritated at the time, but I was able to find my accessories elsewhere.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
8/3/2012
3.0/5.0
Overall I was happy with my dress and the alterations that were completed. The store itself is beautiful and they have a great selection. I was not happy with some of the service I received from the staff. During a selection process a lot of unsolicited comments were made that were not appreciated by anyone in my wedding party. Also, planned alterations were not completed by my final fitting. I had to schedule a last minute trip right before my rehearsal dinner to ensure the fit was correct even though my size had not changed between appointments. I would recommend this salon only because of the great selection it provides in the Downeast area. However, I did not enjoy my experience with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
6/25/2011
2.9/5.0
My experience with Madeleine's Daughter started out wonderfully, but unfortunately went somewhat south closer to the date of my wedding. I picked out my dress on the first visit-my mom and I absolutely fell in love with it. Our consultant for the day, Kerry was great. She was very helpful, cheery, and made you feel very comfortable. I had purchased my prom dress there years earlier, so we were happy to be returning customers. My bridesmaids also purchased their dresses there and a few were not pleased with the service they encountered. They were measured incorrectly and not given any satisfaction when they called to inquire as to why. Fast forward to my dress fittings; we were not aware of the charges to alter my dress because we were told that part of their service was to only take on the alterations of the bridal gowns. But we paid, no questions asked. There was also a miscommunication on their end when it came to altering my veil (I was using my mom's). So 2 weeks prior to my wedding day, I'm without a veil. Lastly, 2 days before the wedding, the day we're going to pick up the dress, we get a call from them saying that we will not be allowed to pick up the dress or the veil unless the veil alterations are paid for! They weren't paid for because they weren't done! Needless to say my mom was upset; this after shelling out a lot of money for a VERY expensive gown. Very disappointing. it's too bad because they're a beautiful boutique with many gorgeous gowns. I would recommend them because I feel they can redeem themselves. However, one of my bridesmaids just recently bought her own wedding gown, and it was not from Madeleine's Daughter.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chaunceyk12
Wedding:
11/7/2009
2.7/5.0
I was pretty disappointed with MD. During my wedding my purse (that I purchased at MD) handle broke and my dress came apart at one of the alteration sites. In fact, I can even see it in a few of my pictures. I informed them (post-wedding) of how thier craftmanship held up and they were unwilling to make any adjustments or to compensate me for having a seam showing in my wedding pictures. Their respone was well I dont' know what you were doing when your purse broke or the seam came apart. I look at the pictures and want to cry. It is a true shame.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bluebride
Wedding:
6/9/2007
2.6/5.0
Madeleine's Daughter makes you feel like a princess throughout the period of selecting a gown and ordering. The store is beautiful and the staff is helpful. Once all of our orders had been placed, it never felt the same. We went from being treated so well to feeling awful after we walked out of the store. My recommendation would be if you wanted to get your dress from them, that is fine, but do not get your alterations there! They were not flexible and wanted you in and out.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LRod8
Wedding:
1/15/2010
2.4/5.0
I bought a Matthew Christopher dress from Madeline's Daughter in May '08. I absolutely LOVE my Matthew Christopher gown. I went with the 'Gatsby' dress and the minute I tried it on, I was hooked. The quality of the fabric was better than any other dress I wore, and it just fit perfectly.

The reason why I rated this vendor so low is because of the horrible sales woman I had. Her name (I believe) was Natalie, and she was absolutely horrible. She wouldn't listen to what I was saying. I said I was sick of trying on strapless, A-line dresses because up to that point, that was mostly all I had tried on and I really wanted to see something different. So what did she bring me? Nothing but strapless, A-line dresses.

On our way out of the store, I noticed my Matthew Christopher dress on a mannequin and went back into the dressing room to try it on. That is ... after she announced in front of the entire store that she thought about bringing that one to me, but that it was "way out of your price range". Well, luckily there was a trunk show that day for Matthew Christopher dresses, so it was in fact, in our price range. She was very disrespectful and uninterested in us the entire visit. We really did not want to give her the commission on the sale, but if not for the trunk show sale, we wouldn't have been able to purchase it.

We were also told that we would be 20% off my veil if I bought it that day. So I met with the accessory guy who gave his thoughts about how to style the veil that I chose. Turns out, the "style" suggestions he made forced the veil into a 'customized' state which took away the 20% discount ... but of course they didn't mention that until it was time to pay up!

other than that, the manager of the store was very nice and the other sales people we spoke with were also nice. If you can avoid Natalie, you should be ok here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
2.3/5.0
I am an older bride and found the experience of dealing with the 'stylist' frustrating and awkward. The appointment started with promise but quickly changed into what felt like a pressured sales situation. Even though I bought a dress I am happy with I did not like the experience at all. I would not recommend to others.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.3/5.0
inflexible alterations schedule - do not accommodate out of town brides! Staff members can be snobby and off-putting. Juhree is great, though!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sharonlea478
Wedding:
7/30/2011
2.2/5.0
We had a very attentive clerk that fitted us and helped us with choosing the mother of the bride gown, the mother of the groom dress, and our bridesmaid dresses. Her service was wonderful! The time it took to receive the dresses was lengthly though, and the mother of the groom received a stained and scorched gown that she never even took home from the store. The staff gave her a hard time, telling her she would have to pay again to order a replacement dress, when she didnt accept the condition of the dress to begin with. It was over $400!!! Because of how close the time was to the wedding, they couldnt even guarantee she would get it in time, so she bought a dress off the rack that was 3 sizes too big and was a floor sample, they only discounted it 10% and refused to include the alterations on it, costing her another $150 by a private seamstress...love the sales staff...not happy with the "policies" of this particular store!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
2.0/5.0
I am so disappointed with my experience at Madelines Daughter. I had my bridesmaids buy their dresses there but thankfully I had already purchased my wedding gown at Mary & Tux which was an excellent experience. However, here my consultant did not only not seem to not want to be there helping myself and bridesmaids but she had no clue what she was doing. She did not belong in that shop. It took her about 30 mins to clearly explain to me how I would be able to get different style dresses but the same color because she had no clue what she was talking about. She was not friendly we had to ask her for every little thing like strapless bras different sizes etc. the samples she brought out were no where close to the correct sizes. One was literally 8 sizes too big and the other 3 sizes too small. My friends had giant electrical looking pins holding their dresses together. Unfortunately I really liked the dresses and was running out of time. We got the dresses there. They warned us about how long it would take to come in but my sister kept calling closer to the day and they kept saying no they weren't there when really they had been there for several days.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/25/2010
1.6/5.0
I had a wonderful experience when I initially looked for and purchased my dress. My consultant was fantastic. She tuned right into my personality and sense of style, and I had found my dress in under a half hour! I was so excited that it had been so effortless. I wish I could say the same for my alterations experience. It was a disaster. I went back for fitting, after fitting. I was a week away from my wedding and the dress was a disaster. The hem was ripped, the bustle embarassing. They wanted me to come back the day before my wedding to pick it up. I had my only bridezilla moment of the whole planning process and pulled the dress from alterations and took it to a seamstress in Manchester. The best decision I had made!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Tracy
Wedding:
3/12/2011
1.2/5.0
I was not impressed with this store on any level. They were rude and pushy. Their dresses were nice but not well priced. I would not recommend them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
11/2/2013
0.0/5.0
This store wouldn't stand behind their product when the zipper on my mom-of-the bride dress broke on my daughter's wedding day. It had troubles zipping at the store on the day I picked it up, but the seamstress said that it was normal for dresses with ruching at the waist to have the problem. When I called to report the dress failure and the disappointment it caused on my daughter's wedding day, they offered to repair the zipper and chided me for not bringing it in earlier if I thought there was a problem. When I began to stress that I would have gotten the zipper fixed if their seamstress hadn't said it was normal, the clerk trivialized my problems and hung up on me. Good luck with service after the sale if you choose to go here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
775 Lafayette Road, Suite #3, Portsmouth, NH 03801 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Madeleine's Daughter Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo