Nophoto-130

Maggie Harkov Photography

Brooklyn , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Brooklyn, NY US 11211 (map)

PHONE

917-753-4583

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary
What do your packages include?
Albums, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough positive things about Maggie. I am so glad that I found her and that she is the one who did our photos. I truly believe that she has given (well, we paid for the photos obviously, but still...) us a priceless gift -- beautiful memories of one of the most special days of our lives! We came from Kansas to get married at City Hall in New York, so we made the appointment with Maggie sight unseen. I had seen her work online, so I knew she was talented and I just hoped that we would have some nice pictures. Maggie had great ideas and was constantly coming up with different things that we could try to get some good photos. Her enthusiasm was amazing. She was always encouraging us to do certain looks and to get us looking our best. She genuinely cares about how our photos turn out. She adjusted my husband's shirt when it started looking a little out of place. She stuck up for us when she was trying to get a certain shot and the guy behind the counter started complaining. She was just all we could've asked for and more. Our photos turned out AMAZING. We were so happy with them. I've received SO many compliments on them. Everyone remarks about how great they look. My mother-in-law had an issue with one of the photos -- due to where my husband was standing, it looked like a flagpole was coming out of his head. Well, she didn't notice this when she ordered the photo print online. She only saw it when the photo arrived. So, she emailed Maggie about it. Maggie sent a new photo with the flagpole removed, no hassle. She is just so great. She also put together the sweetest slideshow for us -- people have told us that it's the best they've ever seen. I am SO GLAD that she was our photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Lauren
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I’m honestly finding it difficult to find the words to explain Maggie. In short, she is absolutely amazing. Our wedding was November 17th 2012, and although we haven’t received our wedding photos yet, I am 100% certain they will be FANTASTIC and I just had to spread the word as soon as possible. Maggie shot our engagement photos as well as our engagement party photos and I have to say that everything came out totally perfect. I think I even mentioned this to Maggie the day of our wedding, but I never once had to worry about her seeing my vision for our special day…I felt as if she totally understood me and what we wanted our day to be like. It could be because she was so wonderful throughout our entire engagement. She made sure she had a clear understanding of what we wanted beforehand and after that I just completely trusted her. As many other brides mentioned, she was also extremely calming on the day of. I wouldn’t really say I was stressed out that day, but when things started to pick up (e.g. the ceremony starting, right before our first look,etc.) Maggie was right there and kept reminding me to breathe and to take it all in.

Again, I can’t really explain how fortunate I am to have found Maggie. She is such a beautiful person, inside and out and I look forward to all the other events in our life that she’ll hopefully be able to capture for us.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
sofia
Wedding:
9/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Maggie is absolutely AMAZING! We chose her after months of research. The minute we met her, I felt completely confident that she would do an amazing job. She is so talented - and makes you feel completely comfortable. It was like a close friend documenting our special day. Our pictures are stunning. She got all the small details that I didn't even get to see that day. Book Maggie to document your special day!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Kendra
Wedding:
12/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Maggie was phenomenal... superb... everything that I hoped she could be! We discovered her, while planning our somewhat unusual wedding, by googling "New York City Hall wedding photographer." In perusing the work in featured on her blog, I knew she was absolutely our first choice as wedding photographer.

We arranged our entire wedding in 6 weeks, which was relatively easy, since our plan was to marry at City Hall and then celebrate with dinner that evening. Even though we were "eloping" (kind of... our immediate family was invited), we still wanted to have the day documented professionally. Based on her obvious talent and unique style, I emailed Maggie. I was thrilled when we found that she was available!

The first time I spoke with Maggie, I knew that it would be a wonderful fit. Maggie is incredibly warm, and very visibly loves her job. She was accomodating to any and all requests that my husband and I had, however she used all of her varied experiences to help us develop the very best plan to document our day.

Maggie was incredibly easy to work with, and to get along with. Our entire wedding was tiny, 9 including my groom and me. Intially, I was concerned that we wouldn't be able to feel ourselves with a stranger in the mix. I could not have been more wrong. Maggie develops an instant and affable repoir that allowed my family and me to feel greatly comfortable. In turn, we truly looked natural in our photos.

Our images were available to us online within the month. We could not have been happier with our photographs. I look at my photos all the time, and am able to relive our perfect day each time. The prints that we purchased are beautiful. I am very pleased with the editing, color and quality. Maggie also put together a lovely slideshow with our wedding song.

I look forward to reliving our wedding days for years to come through her photography. Her ability to capture all of the raw emotion of the day was remarkable. I cannot say enough about our experience with Maggie. It was a true pleasure discovering her, meeting her, and working with her. Someday, I hope that we have reason to hire her again!

Thank you, Maggie, for giving us so much.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Karin
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our experience with Maggie Harkov was from beginning to end. I walked away from our first meeting with Maggie knowing that she would be a part of our wedding day. Of course I feel in love with Maggie's work but I wanted to make sure the photographer we chose was someone we would be comfortable with on such an important day. I can say without any hesitation that Maggie was, hands down, the best vendor we worked with throughout the wedding planning process.

Not only does Maggie have a gift for capturing amazing images, but she has an ability to make everyone around her feel comfortable and confident while getting thier pictures taken. My husband is not a huge fan of having his photograph taken but the moment Maggie started shooting our engagement photos he was having a blast, joking around and was actually excited to have Maggie capture the big day!

On the day of the wedding Maggie was a breath of fresh air. Maggie helped calm me down while it was raining and snowing (in October!) on our wedding day. She reminded me to breathe when my flowers didn't turn out as I had planned and offered to help sew my dress when it ripped right before the ceremony. I honestly do not know what we would have done without Maggie!

Now, a month after our wedding day, we are reliving every wonderful moment when we look at our pictures. I still get phone calls from family members who are in tears when they see the pictures. They are truly incredible. I could not have asked or wished for better results.

Maggie is truly gifted in so many ways. She is beauitful inside and out. Any bride will be lucky to have Maggie be part of her wedding day. I'm already looking forward to a possible baby bump shoot!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Kelly
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Words cannot adequately describe how amazing Maggie is.

First, our wedding photographs are breathtaking. Maggie has a unique ability to capture real emotions - they are no forced smiles or awkward poses - just a gorgeous documentation of your day. I never thought I would be someone that hung a large wedding photo in her house but sure enough, there is very large Maggie picture above my fireplace. And honestly, it looks more like a piece of art than a "wedding" photograph.

That said, if you visit Maggie's website, you can see for yourself how talented she is. What her website cannot convey is how great she is to work with. She is warm, responsive, is genuinely interested in who couples are and how they the envision their wedding day. She will answer any questions you have (even if its not about photography) and is an overall wealth of information about all things wedding related.

Maggie is definitely one of the best wedding decisions we made, and we know that she'll be documenting our important life moments for many years to come.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Gemma
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We were incredibly lucky to find Maggie to document our wedding day. I had looked at many vendors online & the images I wanted for our day were never quite right, until I looked at Maggie's website. Her style of photos was just the right mix for us of playful, stylish & contemporary & exactly what we had been looking for.

From start to finish Maggie was a breath of fresh air when compared to many other vendors & was always available to talk through aspects of the day I hadn't even thought of. Her postive energy & lovely nature was always a gift to have around on the day itself.

If like myself, you have a big & complicated family, Maggie handles everyone with grace & ease. Any family sensitivities will be dealt with effortlessly. My Father commented on how comfortable it was having Maggie there on the day to organise the photos & capture the day without any fuss. Everyone was incredibly impressed.

My husband has been brought to tears by the incredible wedding photos & we were definitely wowed with the results. As was everyone else we have shown them to so far. We have some really elegant & incredibly special shots of the day & for that we are incredibly grateful.

Thank you Maggie, we look forward to working with you in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Having beautiful photographs to remember our wedding day was the most important aspect of wedding planning to me. I searched the internet for days and followed up on recommendations from friends, but was not satisfied (quite frankly I was horrified) by what I was seeing. And then I found Maggie and everything fell into place. I was mesmerized by the pictures on her blog and remember thinking that if I had even 1 photo that turned out as nice I would be happy. I am thrilled to say that I now have hundreds of amazing images documenting my wedding--just sat down to figure out what ones I wanted to frame and can't decide!

But it is not just the quality of her work that is so impressive. Maggie was a resource to me throughout my entire planning process (I asked her about recommendations for hair/make-up, florists, etc.) and the most calming force on my actual wedding day (an outdoor wedding with major weather complications amongst other things). She has become our dear friend, and my husband and I both feel so lucky to have found her.

There really aren't words to describe how wonderful Maggie is--as a photographer and as a person. She is flexbile, can roll with anything, and manages to capture the most amazing images. She is worth every penny.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1287542977091-dsc01946
Allison
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
This is the one area that my husband said he was in control of. He spotted an engagement shoot that Maggie shot a couple of years ago and he absolutely fell in love with her work. Once I saw her stuff I immediately fell in love too. Maggie is BEYOND sweet, SO TALENTED, and just a joy to work with. If you don't want the same tired boring wedding photos and you would like a creative & artistic approach than Maggie is your girl. I can't say thank you enough for the work and professionalism that she displayed and I would 110% refer and recommend her to anyone looking for a photographer. I almost want to get married again so I can have her shoot another special day!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Melissa
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Trying to decide on a wedding photographer was one of the biggest decision for me. The pictures taken are going to be how you document and remember your day. It was important for me to find someone who not only understood us as a couple, but also someone who we felt very comfortable around. I spent weeks online looking through various blogs and websites and then I came across Maggie. She was featured on Style Me Pretty (my go to blog for everything wedding!) and I fell in love with the pictures I saw. I immediately contacted her and set up an appointment. I met with other photographers prior to Maggie and it was all business - what are we looking for, what is our budget, what are our expectations, etc. Maggie was different - it was like meeting an old friend for coffee to catch up. We didn't start talking actual "business" until probably an hour into our meeting. She took the time to really get to know us and our story. I immediately felt completely comfortable with her and was sold!

The wedding day of course didn't go as 100% planned. It was a little frantic and crazy the morning of, and my husband and I were both a little stressed. Maggie was my calming force - she kept reminding me of the bigger picture (I was about to marry my best friend) and that everything was going to work out. She was absolutely amazing to work with. Our schedule for pictures got derailed, and she took it with a grain of salt. Her professionalism with dealing with a huge bridal party, crazy family, and being completely off schedule was truly something to admire. It was as if nothing could phase her! She kept making the most of every moment that she was with us and continued to click away. The end result is that we walked away with not only AMAZING pictures, but also a new friend!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Kimberley
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Planning a Wedding in a different country definitely had its challenges, but choosing a photographer wasn’t one of them. We knew we wanted Maggie to be our Wedding Photographer as soon as we discovered her amazing talent through her website and wonderful blog! She was exactly who we were looking for! We were thrilled that Maggie was available for our special day and we liaised with her over the phone and with emails during the few months leading up to our Wedding. We couldn’t wait to meet her in person!

We met Maggie a few days before our wedding to shoot our engagement session . Both my husband and I were a little nervous about it but Maggie made it so much fun and we loved the pictures! It was a great way to get to know Maggie and get used to being in front of the camera! From the moment we met Maggie we knew we had made the right decision, not only is she an amazingly talented photographer she is also an amazing person who is great fun to be around and is a pleasure to work with.

On the day of our Wedding a freak heat wave swept across the country threatening our dream outdoor ceremony in Central Park which we had flown half way across the world for! But Maggie was amazing, she was full of nothing but positive energy on the day and helped put us at ease over our concerns. At the last minute we decided to cut our time outdoors to a minimum after the ceremony, which derailed our schedule and ideas for picture taking around the park. This did not phase Maggie at all, she worked her butt off to capture those special moments in limited time and we were thrilled with the end result!

Maggie is a wonderful, extremely professional and experienced photographer, but also one of the warmest, sweetest people we have ever met. She captures those special moments and emotions in a natural, modern and timeless way that you will treasure forever! We cannot recommend her enough.

Thank you Maggie!
Love Kim & Ross x
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
sara
Wedding:
7/22/2011
5.0/5.0
For us as a couple, we didn’t really have a plan on how to find a photographer, I would just obsessively look at wedding blogs, then one day I was looking at a beautiful NYC wedding shot by Maggie Harkov and I immediately linked over to her website and drooled over all her amazing photos, then I went home and made my husband look at all of them too. So her photos charmed us first, then we spoke with her over the phone and her personality charmed us even more. She got to know us as a couple and really genuinely cared, which isn’t common from what we experienced while searching for wedding vendors, some of them had that awful “salesman pitch” attitude that turned us off right away. After speaking with her, we went down to the city to have a meeting and it felt like we knew her already, like she was a friend who we were just hanging out with. We are not a very talkative couple unless we feel comfortable around someone and we found ourselves chatting with her nonstop every time we were together. There was no question after that first meeting with her we were going to choose her as our photographer!

When it came time to take pictures at our e-session, we were sort of nervous about how to pose and what to do, but Maggie made us feel so much at ease even with a ton of people looking at us! Her direction was awesome and our photos turned out amazing, we were so surprised how awesome they look! And our wedding photos too, even in 110 degree weather, she got great photos of us (and you couldn’t even tell we were a sweaty mess!). Everyone said how great the photos are and how she captured our love perfectly. We couldn’t thank her enough! And one day when we have kids, we will be contacting her to take cool family pictures of us! :) - Sara & Mike
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
melissa
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
After reading all the rave reviews below, I must say that I emphatically agree with all the other brides...Maggie is a wonderfully talented photographer and I am so so so happy that we found her and chose her to capture this very special time in our lives.

I was immediately attracted to her photographic style when I came across her pictures online. I felt like all of her photos were so personal and like I could almost feel what her subjects were feeling... She was by and far my favorite photographer after doing my research and looking at many talented people's work. When I showed my fiance my Top 3 choices (Maggie was my #1 but I didn't say), he also immediately responded to her style and chose her! And honestly, EVERYONE I show her work to responds in the same very very positive way. She's just got a really special talent!

I think it's also important to add that Maggie is really genuinely nice and friendly and likable. And that is so important because your photographer is a big part of your wedding day! I liked her and felt comfortable with her from the first time we spoke on the phone, and when my fiance/husband met her, he felt the same way. By the time our wedding came (after meetings, and engagement session, and calls, and emails), Maggie was more like a friend than some stranger taking pictures, which made it so nice. We could relax and laugh and trust her to capture our day - it was so easy!

We've gotten our pictures and slideshows back now for both our engagement session and our wedding, and WOW! LOVE THEM! They capture everything...the happiness, the love, the ambiance, everything! They make me smile and cry - and they make other people smile and cry too. My friends and family are raving and I couldn't agree more with all the praise!

In the end, I think many brides look back at their weddings and think of things they'd do the same or differently if they could. Well, for sure, 110%, I'd choose Maggie again and again and again. I feel so lucky to have these great pictures to commemorate this time in our lives...I will be able to look at them for years to come and remember the emotions and the details in such a vivid and beautiful way! THANK YOU MAGGIE!!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
GinaRose
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I can write for ages on our experience with Maggie Harkov. She was the first photographer we met with and it was love at first site :) She knew everything that we looking for in terms of photography style. She listened with patience, understanding and amazing feedback and kept us in the loop every step of the way. Her professionalism was taken to a whole different level. She periodically checked in with us, met up with us and made us feel so content in choosing her. Her enthusiasm and drive for her work succeed any photographer I have ever met. She is a true creative genius! You have to love what you do in order for it to show stylistically and that really showed. She went above and beyond all expectations. She also really got to know us as a couple which was so beneficial because we were so comfortable with her and taking our wedding pictures was such a wonderful experience!I will recommend this beautiful photographer and person until the end! We just got married two months ago and every singele time I look at my wedding pictures I get lost in the day all over again because not one thing was missed. She captured the raw emotion that every bride and groom hope to see when looking back on the big day. You are missing out if you don't book her! Don't hesitate to conact me if you have any specific questions, I don't have enough words to express my gratitude towards Maggie. We love you Maggie!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Maggie was the first photographer we met and we instantly knew that we wanted her. She seemed genuinely interested in us as a couple and took the time to get to know our story and really listened to what we wanted. She was always very professional and followed up on all of her promises. She delivered beautiful pictures exactly when she said she would and we didn't have to wait for anything. She was very flexible with our wedding day schedule and made us feel like we had a say in everything that happened. We LOVE LOVE LOVE her and look forward to using her services again and again to document our changing lives and growing family! Thank you Maggie!!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Lauren
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Photography was one of my main priorities. I looked at a million websites and met with a bunch of photographers before meeting Maggie. She had everything I was looking for and she did not disappoint. The entire gallery of photographs of our wedding are amazing. I know many photographers showcase a few great pictures from an event on their website but Maggie's entire album was perfect. In fact we received so many compliments from friends and family and they wonder how we will choose which ones to frame. It's a great problem to have! The day of our wedding Maggie showed up and immediately put me at ease. I am a type A personality and a bit of a control freak but Maggie had everything under control and I felt comfortable letting go. She took charge and got all of the pictures we asked and then some. She had such great energy and was so warm and friendly to everyone. I loved her enthusiasm and creativity. Both my new husband and I agree that our first look and pre ceremony photo shoot with Maggie was one of the best parts of our wedding day. We literally had so much fun even in the freezing cold windy weather. I would definitely recommend her!!!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Photography was one of the most important parts of the wedding to me. Maggie Harkov was fantastic find! Many photographers can take "properly" lit formal portraits, but Maggie's photographer does much more than this - she has a modern & romantic style and really captures the feeling of the day. She blends formal portraits, semi-formal portraits, still lives, and documentary photography to tell your story.

From her website you can see what a talented photographer Maggie is - the icing on the cake is what a pleasure she is to work with. From the start, Maggie makes an effort to get to know you as a couple. She is personable and warm - you feel comfortable around her, which inevitably helps you look better in the photos she takes. She has an almost impossibly positive attitude - she confessed that she was feeling under the weather during our engagement session, which I never would have know based on the fun we had & the quality of her work. My fiancé and I are both freelancers, which made scheduling our engagement session with the very busy Maggie difficult at times. Maggie was patient and understanding when dealing with several reschedules on our end, and went out of her way to work with our schedules, all of which was much appreciated during the stressful months before a wedding. Every interaction with Maggie is a positive one - you really do feel like you are working with a friend.

I had not planned on doing an engagement session, but I must say they were some of my favorite photos! It was also helpful to have met her before the wedding and to get comfortable with your picture being taken. My fiancé is not a natural in front of the camera and I think the engagement session really helped him.

The wedding photos came out beautifully! I now have the impossible task of narrowing them down for the album. The only thing I wish I had done differently was have her at the wedding for longer!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Maggie is simply amazing in every way! From the minute I saw her photos of other weddings, I knew I wanted to hire Maggie as our wedding photographer. After meeting her in person, my husband and I had absolutely no doubt in our minds! Her talent speaks for itself, but her sweet, warm, upbeat personality was the icing on the cake. Neither of us are big fans of being in front of the camera and we decided to do an engagement session to get a feel for the whole process and to feel more comfortable. We ended up having a ton of fun doing it and have some gorgeous photos as a result! She has a truly special ability to put you at ease. Maggie takes the time to get to know you right from the start. I always felt comfortable contacting her and asking her a million questions because she is the kind of person you feel like you have known your whole life. Her style is really beautiful and she managed to capture all of our amazing wedding moments...even though I don't recall seeing her there at all! Both our engagement and wedding photos turned out absolutely beautiful and I still can't stop raving about her to everyone! Hiring Maggie was by far the best wedding decision we made!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Abigail
Wedding:
11/2/2010
5.0/5.0
As a photographer myself, I knew that I had to invest in the best photography for my wedding. I came across Maggie's website a year ago or so and I instantly knew that she was THE ONE I had to have capture my wedding. I loved her attention to detail and context and her use of color and light. Maggie was incredibly energetic and poured her energy into capturing the essence of our day and of our families. Even though our wedding was very "un-traditional" Maggie managed to keep up with the insanity and captured every single "moment" beautifully and without being in the way at all. She is a natural! She was exceptional in every way and my husband and I cannot wait to have her shoot anniversary pictures for us next year!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Greg
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Of the inordinate number of items on a wedding to-do checklist, nothing is more important that finding the right photographer. So many things are important on that day; the food, the flowers, the decor, the music...but how people remember your wedding is always framed by the quality of the pictures taken.
Maggie felt like a good friend from the moment we met her. I think this is why having her at our wedding felt so natural. She belonged. She instantly came to have a sense of the location and knew how she wanted to capture the moments of the day. From the start of our day getting dressed, through the ceremony, family and bridal party pictures, the cocktail hour, the reception, and dancing, she managed to flow throughout without ever being obtrusive, and captured some of the most beautiful images of us, our family and friends, and the location. Her work is a combination of portraits and captured moments, and her use of both color and black & white images adds an extra element of uniqueness to an already incredible portfolio.
As we were waiting for the photos to be finished, I remember my mother asking me if Maggie had photographed this person doing this, or this couple doing that, and I simply did not know what to say. When we finally did get the images back, though, it felt as if there wasn't a moment that passed that day which she hadn't captured. So many of our most cherished memories were right there, in picturesque quality, allowing us to relive the greatest day of our lives.
Months later, we may not remember how the chicken or wedding cake tasted, or how the flowers smelled as we walked down the aisle, but thanks to Maggie, we have the most amazing record of our memories captured forever on film. We cannot recommend her more highly!
Greg and Mary
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
9/6/2010
5.0/5.0
We reviewed many many photographer's work, but we paused when we came across Maggie's. She has this knack with colors, highlights, and the "it" moments. We knew she was it, and our instincts were right. You can tell she puts so much love and care into each photograph. She's also really easy to work with. She hears what you like, and gives her input, to make it the perfect package for you. She's flexible, timely, and professional. Brides, you only have one "shot" at this, and Maggie is the one who can make it happen for you.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Julie
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Maggie was just amazing. We can't recommend her enough! She walked us through each step of our wedding from initial planning, to wardrobe questions to the engagement photo to the actual day of stuff. She made us, our families and all of our friends feel comfortable and natural around the camera. She has a truly special ability to put you at ease. Maggie also understands the perspective of the bride, so she was very understanding and flexible with our needs (whether it was working with the rain during our engagement shoot or handling our wedding day requests). Of course, our photos came out great. My father-in-law even said that we looked very Hollywood (which we're totally not in real life). We are so happy that we chose Maggie to capture our special day. We'd totally recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Julie
Wedding:
8/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Words can't even describe how happy we are with our complete experience with Maggie, from our first meeting in a coffee shop over a year ago to present day post-wedding.

We knew going into our wedding that for us the most important element and vendor was the photographer. After hours upon hours and days upon days of searching and making phone calls we came upon Maggie's website. We absolutely loved her photography and it had the perfect element of art, class, and photo journalism that we were looking for. After our initial phone call with Maggie we knew we already had our mind set on who would be shooting our wedding and engagement shoot.

We can still remember the morning of our engagement shoot. We had told Maggie about our idea of doing half the engagement shoot in NYC and half in the country and she not only accepted the idea, but was excited! She spent the whole day with us! We thought we would be really uncomfortable and nervous being in front of the camera but Maggie's sense of humor and professional direction made us feel like naturals. The day of the wedding was great as well. Maggie managed to get all the pictures we could have wanted without being intrusive. Every time during the night before we could even think.."we wish we had a picture of this.." Maggie was already there, camera in hand. She captured all of the small details that we would have missed otherwise.

We highly recommend Maggie to anyone. We will be using her for all of our special moments from now on!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Vicky
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I both agree that the best decision we made in planning our wedding was hiring Maggie Harkov as our photographer.

We had started searching for a wedding photographer 8 months prior to our wedding. I had scoured through at least 50 local L.A. photographers’ websites and blogs. I was pretty particular about the style of photography I was looking for, but I couldn't find anyone I liked that was within my price range in L.A. Then a friend recommended that I look through Maggie Harkov’s website (www.maggieharkov.com) at the photos taken for his cousin’s wedding, and I was blown away. We kept our fingers crossed that Maggie would be available and willing to travel out to California for our wedding. Lucky for us, she was.

As others have already said, you really can’t deny talent when you see it, and Maggie’s talent speaks for itself. Both our engagement and wedding photos turned out beautifully. Plus, speaking from two people who don’t particularly like being in front of a camera, Maggie made us feel comfortable and completely at ease during our photo shoots. She gave us great direction and told us exactly how to stand and how/where to look in our pictures. She was able to capture both the tender moments and the fun, playful moments. In the end, I can honestly say that her photos accurately captured the true essence of our relationship in a very artistic way.

When you hire Maggie, you’re hiring much more than just a wedding photographer. Even after speaking to her on the phone for the very time, I could tell that we would become friends through this process, and I was right. Maggie was always very responsive to all of my emails and was very involved in helping us plan for our engagement photoshoot and our wedding day photos. She even helped us put together our wedding day schedule and made recommendations on timing and events based on her experience as a photographer. It’s really no wonder why her clients love her so much. She really takes the time to get to know you and your relationship as a couple, and that really shows through in her photos.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Tess
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We couldn't be happier with our choice! From our first conversation on the phone, we knew that Maggie would be our photographer. Throughout the whole experience Maggie remained genuine, helpful, thoughtful, gave us guidance, made us feel comfortable, and of course was truly talented. We knew we loved her artistic and vintage style and were so satisfied when we saw our engagement pictures. Maggie traveled all the way to Boston to shoot us and our energetic puppy Penny for our engagement session. The wedding experience was just as great. Even though it was the hottest day of the summer, Maggie was so upbeat, professional, and always made us feel comfortable. Seeing our proofs was like reliving the day. She managed to capture not only the details of our wedding, but also the feeling. Our family and friends are so impressed and like we said before, we couldn't be happier! We would highly recommend Maggie!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Sora
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
After getting engaged, my husband and I looked through at least 50 photoblogs and websites. We contacted a handful of them and all of them sent a generic response with a pdf file of their rates and prices. When we contacted Maggie, she gave us her number. And that's when we realized she was different.

From the beginning to now, she's been more like a friend than a photographer. With an impeccable memory, she recalled and actually cared about how my fiancee and I had met, what we liked, what our families were like, and how we looked at each other, etc. The way she approaches her clients is different from anyone else b/c she tries her best to really, really get to know who you are. The first thing we did after contacting her was to meet in person for breakfast to get to know each other and talk about photos. We took more time to "hang out" than to talk shop and of course, in a cafe, not an office or photo lab.

This is what makes her photos stand apart from others. She knows her subjects. She catches you just when you're fully smiling because she anticipates it, and she can only anticipate it because she has taken the time to get to know you. My husband was so pleased that she captured the "good side" of his face in most of the photos (He likes one angle of his face more than the other. I had never known this.) We hadn't mentioned it to Maggie but she had taken the time to observe him and get to know us.

Not only does she take the time and energy to get to know you as a person, she brings her 100% to her work. My wedding was on a hot, humid day in July. And the ceremony was outside. Still, she was all smiles the whole day and she jumped around, climbed chairs, snuck behind bushes just to get the right angle. My husband and I have a crazy large family but she managed to get a picture of the WHOLe family, all 40-something of us!

My guests were so surprised when they saw the photos b/c Maggie and her amazing partner, Jeff, caught photos of all the guests and every moment of the wedding. Yet we hadn't noticed that she was there! She blends in w/the other guests and magically glides from place to place to take the right shot at the right time. It's pure magic! And she doesn't make you take cheesy poses. She captures the emotions, the smiles, the laughter, the love in a way that helps you relive that moment in its fullness, which is something you want to do w/your wedding photos since the day flies by!

Maggie is an amazing person and photographer and you will be blessed to have her presence and magic at your wedding!!!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Mary
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
I found Maggie Harkov Photography while researching wedding photographers last fall. I saw her images featured on Brooklyn Bride, and was immediately taken by the aesthetic (soft, easy, natural). I was all the more delighted to learn how reasonable Maggie's rates were in comparison to peer wedding photographers. From our first email exchange until present, she has been nothing but warm and professional.

Our package included an engagement session, 8 hours of wedding day coverage, an album and photo files/printing rights. The engagement session was a great way to get comfortable in front of the camera. If I could do one thing differently, I probably would not have agreed to a "theme" engagement session. This seems to be a trend in wedding photography, but was not quite right for us. Fortunately, we did get a few engagement shots we love, and most importantly, we had a better sense of what we would feel comfortable with on our wedding day.

In terms of our wedding photos, we couldn't be happier. Maggie delivered a truly breathtaking set of photos that are both classic and modern. She perfectly captured the story of the day, all of the key moments, all the details! She was organized, efficient, thorough and creative. Basically, a dream! When I look back through our photos now, I immediately feel the magic of our wedding day return. I'm grateful to have connected with such a talented photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Lisette
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
The proof is in the pudding... Corny but true. Maggie made our wedding pictures look like something out of a magazine. Friends and family raved about how HOTTT our photos came out. For a wedding that was on a strict budget (...and I mean really strict), it looked like we had a platinum wedding (...well, at least we think so). Maggie is on top of her game... She's just pure talent... an artist. She captures the essence of your vision and runs with it. She captures the greatest moments from your day and you never even realize it. Then your proofs come and you get to relive all those moments through pictures(...awesome pictures)..... and on top of all that good stuff, SHE'S SUPER SWEET!!!! She actually cares about getting to know you and that, in turn, shows up in her work. She's just a cool chick to be around! We loved working with her as a photographer, but also as a person. After being around for the most important day of our lives, she's just like family (...my non-cuban sister...lol)

Looking forward to working with her again and reliving all our future special moments through her photography.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Josip
Wedding:
6/18/2010
5.0/5.0
It is magnificent how you can let yourself serenely slide in the hands (and lens) of the recently-perfect-stranger to capture your most precious moments, when that individual is Ms. Maggie Harkov, who instantly became our warm friend from the very first contact, continued well after the farewell once the shoot ended. By the time we actually first met, we were seeing and old friend who is supposed to be a part of it in the first place.

To begin with, Maggie's website portfolio evidences her unique gift – making the photography look so captive of the persons' individual characters, but in the same time appealing to every observer with the patina of something so familiar to each of us; your old family photos, candy you recall from the childhood… it is all there for you as if you are part of the every photo, and as if the person/couple photographed and the observer have a history of sharing thoughts. The details she spots really sum it up.

The deal itself was sealed in a minute, without any rescheduling, or questions back and forth – and that is where Maggie's second big gift is; faultlessly realizing what we wanted as the outcome, and filling all the gaps we left unfilled, or have not thought of at all. After all, we are lucky to have only a single one experience in these matters; and what an experience it was... the props, locations, timing; Maggie seamlessly juggled with it all and left us sensing our day fully, as if we were not making an effort at all. When recalling her presence that day, the first thought is – a smile. A day-long smile and a perfect calm curing any glitches you might imagine threatening your Big Day. More than just a photographer, we felt like we were led by a calm close friend who really brought the best of our smiles to the pictures.

When the photos were up and finished, it added just a little extra sprinkles on the top to the memory of the day. The photos turned up just as we keep imagining the day, and sparked an amazing interest (we were even asked if it can be featured in a printed fashion magazine) and thanks to the photos the event took the life of its own.

To conclude, maximum stars in all the categories; I would most warmly recommend Maggie to anyone who is after unforgettable, out-of-a-dream photos!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
lauren
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Maggie is simply amazing. Not only is she a fantastic photographer, but she is also wonderful to work with and just a really upbeat, joyful person. I can’t say enough fabulous things about her work! She shot our engagement photos and our wedding and the photos for both were AMAZING! Her style is beautiful and she really has a great eye that helps tell the story of your most important moments. Every person that met Maggie at our wedding commented on how sweet and professional she was. Every time we wanted a photo with a family member or friend, she was already there capturing the moment. My husband and I can’t wait to work with Maggie again. I know that the next exciting milestone in our lives will certainly include her photos. We are so grateful that she was there to capture these special memories. I would highly recommend Maggie Harkov. A few of my friends hired the most well known, pricey NYC photographer(s) for their weddings and said that the quality of their pictures paled in comparison to Maggie's work--she is impressive!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Nadine
Wedding:
4/1/2010
5.0/5.0
From the first moment we spoke to Maggie over the phone (we don't live in NYC) , we knew we had made the right decision: we had picked the BEST photographer to capture our special moment in New York City! We just knew the pictures were gonna be great! However, we did not know the pictures were going to be THIS GREAT & INCREDIBLE!

Maggie is so gifted: we had never seen anyone take such very special pictures in such a natural, humorous and cheerful way! Thanks to her our memories of this special afternoon will last forever and ever and... I will be able to put the " Vogue-look" more into practice :-)

Maggie was so very relaxed during the entire event, leading us into the right place and poses, without ever being " too present or controlling". which I (as a bit of a control-freak) loved.

If there would have been 8 stars for " value for cost" / " flexibility" and "professionalsm" , I would have rated Maggie with all of them!

If you're looking for a warm personality, a great photographer, a creative artist, AND someone who will ensure you will be captured to your best on your special day, don't hesitate but contact Maggie ! You will not regret !

Nadine (en Christian)
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Brooklyn, NY 11211 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Maggie Harkov Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo