130x130_sq_1349723470964-mailelanilogo

Maile Lani Photography

New Orleans , LA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

New Orleans, LA US 70118 (map)

PHONE

504-383-5379

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Maile Lani is a fine art wedding photographer that specializes in medium format film photography. Her style is both timeless and eclectic and she has a deeply rooted love for Polaroids... Read more
Maile Lani is a fine art wedding photographer that specializes in medium format film photography. Her style is both timeless and eclectic and she has a deeply rooted love for Polaroids and toy cameras. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1349723519728-10
130x130_sq_1349723505264-03
130x130_sq_1349723501519-01
130x130_sq_1349723513426-07
130x130_sq_1349723506815-04
130x130_sq_1349723508710-05
130x130_sq_1349723517363-09
130x130_sq_1349723511840-06
130x130_sq_1349723514632-08
130x130_sq_1349723520893-11

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Both!
How many photographers do you work with?
Just myself... for larger weddings I use a second shooter.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
8 Weeks
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Fine art books, flush mount and press printed.

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with Maile for our elopement photos was such a joy!

My husband and I traveled from Cleveland to New Orleans to elope on memorial day weekend and after VERY much research, we chose Maile as our photographer. She was absolutely fantastic through the entire process, from our first contact through the planning and especially on our elopement day. We both really enjoyed working with her.

Our pictures came out breathtaking. I was very worried after browsing the internet for wedding photographers that we would end up with the same old posed, wedding-y pictures that you see everywhere and, thanks to Maile, they were exactly the "different" feel we were looking for. She made the whole experience so comfortable (much more comfortable than I had anticipated).

To anyone who might be considering Maile for any kind of photos, take my advice that you will not be disappointed in your experience.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/13/2014
4.0/5.0
Maile was lovely to work with - she was energetic, engaging, and easy to talk to. We loved her energy, and the quality of her images - they're beautiful. She had everything we were looking for in a wedding photographer stylistically, and she was a pleasure to work with. Maile provided us with invaluable tips for taking great photos. My husband has never felt comfortable in front of a camera, and she made him feel at ease and helped him understand the best ways to stand and hold himself.

There were times when it would take her a couple days to get back to us via email; having friends who are wedding photographers, I understand how quickly their days get wrapped up in shooting and editing images for clients, as well as responding to inquiries.

The only thing I would change: I wish there had been more photos of the reception. My partner and I had lots of beautiful photos of us, but only a fraction of our guests! I should have discussed this with her prior, so that we could have had a better balance of the two types of images.

I would happily recommend using Maile Lani Photography for your wedding - as well as any other needs! I'd absolutely work with her again to get beautiful shots of my now husband and I for our anniversaries.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.8/5.0
I strongly advise against using Maile Lani as your wedding photographer—working with her has been an extremely frustrating and unenjoyable experience. Her mid-range prices may be enticing, as well as her display of past work on her blog, however I would have rather paid a bit more to work with someone more responsive, and if you notice until the last week of February, her most recent post is from October ’13 and the last full blog was from July '13. I rarely write reviews, but feel very strongly that no one else should have to experience the frustration I have, uninformed that is. My primary concerns have been 1) her lack of professionalism, 2) lack of communication, 3) not following through with promises made, and 4) extreme delay in being able to view or receive photos. The process of wedding planning is stressful enough without having to deal with issues such as this. Working with her has been so frustrating, the pure joy of seeing our photos was compromised and the memories of the frustration will always be tied to these images. It appears to me that she is either not really interested in or unable to handle the demands of wedding photography, so do yourself a favor and choose a photographer who is.
After paying the deposit, Maile's appeal diminished steadily throughout the process. While planning, she would forget discussed details from one conversation to the next. She did not capture specific pictures I asked for, disappeared during the wedding, and acted put out by guests who asked for posed shots. I did not see the first picture until 10 weeks after wedding, or the USB of digital images until after 16 weeks (contract states 8 weeks). It took multiple attempts to get responses from Maile after the wedding, and her responses were not helpful or accommodating.
I could go on and on; these are a few examples. You will likely not get what you ask for or what she promises. Though you may receive some decent photos but they will not be worth it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.7/5.0
Maile takes beautiful images for first looks and ceremonies but I have not had a good experience with her otherwise.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.0/5.0
Maile was the first vendor I booked. I loved her pictures and was very excited to work with her. I was a little disappointed because I felt like I needed to follow up with her in order to get my pictures. My contract stated 6-8 weeks and when it got to 9 or 10 weeks I had to send her an email asking her to please at least give me an update. Now we are at about 3 months after and I haven't received the cd in the mail.. Some of the pictures I really liked. One of my guests commented that they saw her standing around watching her dress swoosh from side to side... The point is she takes good pictures but maybe not the most professional vendor.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
3/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Maile was a dream to work with! She is super creative and fun. I didn't want very posed photos. So, we were able to get the family photos done quickly and the rest of the night she took candids and I enjoyed my wedding. The photos are gorgeous and tell the story of my wedding. I couldn't be happier with them. I HIGHLY recommend Maile for any of your photography needs!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angaleen
Wedding:
11/27/2012
0.9/5.0
PLEASE BEWARE!! I see that most of these reviews were done a while back so maybe she is burnt out. Let me start from the beginning during our phone calls prior to the wedding she was WONDERFUL full of life quickly responded to emails etc. When it came time to the wedding day she showed up in slippers LATE. No worries her work is totally going to be worth it I thought to myself WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It took us 12 weeks before we received our disc in the mail... I was horrified. She didn't even edit the photos I seriously could have taken pictures with my I phone. I am not over exaggerating here please email me for pictures and for all of the emails that were sent back and forth between Mali and myself. You will be shocked. I just hope that I can save someone the trouble and tears this woman put me through.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1280432693165-tandramsterdam
Laura
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.7/5.0
Maile is amazing! Her photos are beautiful. If you want to move past the cookie cutter, posed photos she is definitely the photographer for you. I love all of our photos. She is very fun to work with and was super efficient on the day of our wedding. The finished products are gorgeous. I love them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elizabeth
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Maile did both our engagement photos as well as our wedding photography, and she is amazing! She has a wonderful warm personality that makes taking photos easy for those like myself, which aren't the most comfy in front of a camera. Beyond that, her photographs are absolutely beautiful. There is no other photographer in the area that does wedding photojournalism in the style that she does. She is great, and probably the best investment we made in all of our wedding planning! You won't regret having Maile photograph your wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtenay
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
One of the most important things I wanted for our wedding was great photography, it is the best investment you can make for your wedding. I was searching tirelessly for the perfect wedding photographer that wasn't your run of the mill wedding photographer and came across Maile Lani's work. One word: Incredible! Her work is very different from most wedding photographers and if you are looking for something more artistic than posed and unnatural photos then Maile is your gal! She arrived right on time to our hotel and shot the most beautiful photos without people even noticing she was there. She even got amazing shots of our second line parade which I thought would be very difficult but she and her assistant were running along with the parade firing away amazing pics! Throughout the whole process she was very professional and friendly and her prices are very reasonable for the quality you get with her photos. Definitely suggest Maile Lani if you are looking for something more artistic and memorable than regular wedding photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Bg5
KristenCarrier
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved our photographer from the time we met her! (She reminded me of one of my aunts). She has a very unique style and technical knowledge that put me at ease; I knew she would produce amazing photos that we would love. The pictures are amazing and beautiful, and the presentation was very thoughtful and cute!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
11/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Maile made the whole experience wonderful! She was very easy to talk to and she knew all of the amazing things I would want to have pictures of and didn't realize it. I loved her personality and how well she was able to make the whole wedding party and all of the guest feel comfortable. I also love that after the wedding and after we received our photos my mom said that she didn't even see her during the service taking the pictures!! That's how well she blended in!! The photos themselves are amazing! I couldn't ask for better pictures of the most important day of my life!! I truly hope to find another occasion to have Maile take pictures for me again!!

Maile has a natural talent for seeing wonderful shots and taking amazing pictures!! I would suggest that anyone who wants great photos of their special day and to have a wonderful experience with their photographer use Maile Lani!!!! We absolutely LOVE her!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We were looking for a photographer who would take pictures that didn't look like every other wedding pictures you've ever seen. We were really happy we went with Maile. Great pictures, that showed real personality. She was great to work with, very responsive and easy to talk to on the phone.

Also, and this was a big plus, her website didn't clober us with sappy music and slow loading Flash plugins. That was proof to us that she had a good idea of what people are looking for.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.6/5.0
Maile was super accommodating and took beautiful pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Bg24
girlintheclouds
Wedding:
7/15/2010
4.9/5.0
Maile was so good at making us comfortable! She kept us laughing the entire time and our photos came out great as a result. So many smiles! Taking photos with her was one of the highlights of our wedding. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rcnola77
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
Working with Maile is super fun. She's creative and willing to do whatever to get the shot. She is artistic and perfect if you're looking for something interesting in your wedding pictures. She did a great job capturing moments - and I just wish we'd had her for longer!!

Her turn-around time for the photo CD was GREAT and the sneak-peek that she does the same day was amazing. I'd recommend her in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
davidfennema
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Maile was FANTASTIC! When we first saw her work, we knew that we had found the photographer we were looking for. She has a wonderful style that really reflected the unique qualities of our event. We went with her digital + film package (we are huge fans of polaroid/holga photography) and the resulting collection of images really captures the textures, colors, emotions of being there. We HIGHLY recommend Maile!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brandy
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Maile is truly a WONDERFUL photographer. She's so much fun to work with, super easy to get in touch with, and she takes amazing pictures. I especially love how candid and natural our pictures turned out. She did a fantastic job of telling the story of our wedding day from start to finish. In all honesty, choosing Maile as our photographer was the very best wedding planning decision we made.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oz
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
When me and my bride to be began looking for a wedding photographer we quickly became frustrate at the absolute abysmal quality of photographers in our area.. Contrived posses, grainy resolutions, laughable editing, and not to mention ludicrously over priced for what your getting. What you getting being images that my uncle Sal can take with a 6 megapixel point and shoot..

But then we found Maile, a God send to say the absolute least. In a field were most "photographers" are amateurs who invested in a pricey SLR to make money of your big day, Maile is the real deal. As if her ability to take breathtaking, colorful, sharp and lush images with every "click" weren't enough. Ms. Maile Lani true talent is the ability to capture who you both (Bride and Groom) really are in a photo. You won’t find and uncomfortable face/expression, nor will you in any of your pictures an image where you'd say "That really doesn't look like us".

If you want a generic set of engagement/wedding pictures seek it elsewhere.. But if you desire is to have an album of photos that will tug your heart strings right back to the moment you said "I do", you will not find a better photographer than Maile Lani.



Oh and a side note for the grooms.. It's an awesome feeling to know that your best man's wedding pics couldn't hold a candle to yours.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica Hirt
Wedding:
1/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Maile was so amazing! Her creativity was inspiring it made the shoot cool and different but still classic as well. She is up for anything, even standing in the middle of a railroad track just for a great picture. Her passion and knowledge of wedding makes her really fun and easy to work with! She is a true romantic! I hope she moves to Chicago so I can use her talent for years to come.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Maile is fabulous! Not only was she flexible and extra pleasant to work with, she delivered breathtaking photos of our intimate wedding. Her skills and personality make her the total package for a creative wedding photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaime
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Maile, you were awesome! I love my pictures.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
New Orleans, LA 70118 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Maile Lani Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1349723470964-mailelanilogo