Nophoto-130

Main Event Caterers

Englewood , NJ

LOCATION

38 W Forest Ave
Englewood, NJ US 07631 (map)

PHONE

201-894-8710
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Eddie Izzo, Main Event Caterers, not only provided the most delicious and varied menu, but took care of every detail of the wedding. He interfaced with all the other vendors in terms of timing, scheduling and flow of the entire event. He took care of everything!! When you work with Eddie, it's smooth sailing. He has all the bases covered.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Evan (Eddie's asst) provided us with the most beautiful glatt Kosher wedding at Studio 450. Easy to deal with and Evan was present to coordinate things throughout the wedding. Highly recommend. I did comparison pricing for Main Event (although we were leaning towards using Eddie of Main Event). The comparison was between his prices, Foremost and some company named Above & Beyond. The Above and Beyond owner woman was lovely but her prices were above & beyond. Foremost never even contacted me after they sent me a price list. Eddie Izzzo is a real mansch, and his asst. Evan was terrific!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.0/5.0
We had a bumpy ride planning our wedding with Main Event, but in the end they did a BEAUTIFUL job on the day of our event. The food was delicious, the day-of coordinator (Bruce) was sensational, and the presentation was beautiful. It was also a good value for a kosher NYC wedding.

I would ultimately recommend them to a friend, with some reservations. I got very frustrated with them many times during the planning process and I was anxious about how things would turn out. But in the end, they gave us an extraordinary wedding, and we are very grateful.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at the Maritime Parc in Jersey City, NJ on 9/18. Eddie and his staff worked closely with myself and my parents in order to get the day exactly right. From the moment my parents got in touch with him, they knew he was their caterer - and when he gave them a house call in central NJ (in the freezing December weather) to seal the deal, it was even more evident.

Eddie invited us to his space for a tasting and we were all blown away. Sometimes with kosher food you don't know what the quality will be at your affair so we were pleasantly surprised.

On the day, we got SO MANY compliments from our guests that the food was terrific. The cocktail stations were numerous including a sushi chef. People raved about everything, especially the sushi and dumplings. The dinner was amazing - get the mango chicken!

Main Event worked so closely with us on the menu and we'd recommend them to anyone. Terrific day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/29/2011
3.6/5.0
I probably wouldn't use them again but their quality of food was good. Their service and who runs it - not so much.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Babs
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Very responsive, very caring, very professional, good food but too much; our only disappointment was that the salad did not look and taste like the one we expected from the tasting, which was beyond fabulous. It was good just not quite....but everything else was superb, the hors d'oeuvres, the signature drink, the ideas, the choices, the sampler dessert and the treats passed at the end. Steve was delightful to work with and we would recommend him for another kosher event though we probably will have a nonkosher wedding next! He also found our venue which was the biggest hassle we faced, so we thank him profusely from the bottom of our hearts!
Services Used: Catering
Bg2
Adi
Wedding:
4/3/2011
4.2/5.0
First and foremost, I have to say the food was absolutely excellent. I couldn't imagine better quality - amazing presentation and delicious. It's the main thing we're getting compliments about. Everyone has been raving about the food - and this was with us getting the basics, without splurging on too many extras. So we're happy. As happy as a person could be having to spend absurd amounts to have a wedding be kosher. I guess they're not overpriced as compared with other quality kosher caterers, just wish this wasn't such a prevalent issue. The only problem we had was with the responsiveness/professionalism. I deducted points for over-responsiveness. I was very interested in someone else's description of someone named Martin, because it described our person as well - except his name was Bruce. We also had met with someone else prior, so Bruce was new to us on the day of the wedding. I feel bad saying it because he tried SO HARD to be nice, but it ended up being pushy and a little bit creepy. Maybe it would just be good to mention ahead of time that we will come to you if we have an issue, and please don't feel the need to check in with us quite so much. I'm sure there are other couples who would love that level of responsiveness, we just thought it was too much. It was almost like having a bodyguard - which means he's in a few too many pictures. That said, food really was awesome.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
weddingjess
Wedding:
1/20/2011
0.0/5.0
My husband and I used main event for our wedding. We did not have food after fasting all day in the yichud room. We had to ask someone to bring us food until it finally arrived cold. Most of the hors d'oeuvres that we ordered were not passed around. Our wedding cake was given to only a small part of our guests. We never saw the charge caterer during the event and we did not receive any left overs that were promised before. We are very disappointed and think they are overpriced for the quality of their service and mainly dishonest with their customers.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luba
Wedding:
6/20/2010
4.6/5.0
We met with the caterer a week before our wedding and he was extremely knowledgeable, displaying his 20+ years of experience in the business. Frankly, he knew more about how the wedding would go down than our planner did. The maitre de that he had in place on the day of was unobtrusive and helpful. And most importantly, the food was delicious and we got rave reviews. We went with a lighter menu since our meal was at noon on a blistering summer day, and the food options really matched the season, which was important to me. My husband and I didn't get to eat during the meal, but Main Event packed up a bunch of stuff for us to eat later in the hotel room, so I can vouch that it was tasty. We ate the leftovers for the next week!
Services Used: Catering
B10
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Hubby and I keep kosher and while we can be somewhat flexible when we go out (eating only veggies), this wasn't going to do for our wedding. I contacted quite a few caterers and narrowed it down to a handful. After some positive reviews by brides I spoke to, I decided to go with Main Event.

Although we didn't get to do a tasting, we weren’t disappointed - the food on the wedding day was spectacular. Many of our guests were non-Jews and aside from deli food, not familiar enough with how fancy kosher food can get. Our event didn't look much different than any other. The portions were hearty; the flavors just burst into your mouth. We received nothing but compliments on the food, the staff, and the set up (our venue only provided some pieces, so Main Event provided the linens and tables; the cutlery, plates, and glasses was included in the catering price). I highly recommend and would use Main Event again for a party or other catered affair.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1268788813695-2585635472844644352891644337294575644786n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Main Event and Steve were great! From the first time we spoke with him until the day of our wedding Steve was the most professional, helpful, and all around best caterer we met. The food was outstanding and the display wonderful. Main Event Caterers were flexible with us and went above and beyond to create the perfect food and beautiful cake for our day! Thank you so much Steve!!! We highly recommend Main Event Caterers!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Bg19
bcoop
Wedding:
7/5/2009
3.1/5.0
The food was great, and the service before the wedding day was amazing (anything we wanted changed, they changed, super-flexible, super-responsive, no nickel and dime-ing, etc). HOWEVER, we had met, over and over with a single team "captain" and on the wedding day a different "captain was on-site.

This switch would have been ok (but not great) except that the new guy was TERRIBLE. He was PUSHY, ever-present and completely useless. He actually stopped me, right before the ceremony to ask the order of people walking down the aisle, which I found jarring, and served no practical purpose (Main Event were not serving as the day-of-coordinators, the site manager was). A few other times he interjected himself, and really left a bad taste in my, and my husband's mouth.

In other words, food was good, and if you can get, IN WRITING that you won't have Martin on the day, then use Main Event. Otherwise, stay away.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a fantastic evening thanks to the catering from Main Event.Food was fresh,healthy and wonderfully presented.If you can afford their services that you are definitely in good hands.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amraphster
Wedding:
3/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Main Event was amazing. Wedding guests are still telling my family how good the food was at my wedding, which was glatt kosher. They also took an order from my husband and I to provide food to us before the ceremony, thankfully, because I did not get to eat for the rest of the night! but we enjoyed leftovers for the next day. You can't go wrong with this caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Main Event and Steve were great to work with! The food was delicious and there was so much of it! We will definitely be using them at our other events in the future! A++++
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
polosgrl222
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Working with this vendor was absolutely amazing. Not only was the food impeccable, but the caterer was there for every aspect of my wedding and made sure that EVERYTHING went smoothly. I absolutely recommend Main Event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MGoBlue
Wedding:
8/12/2007
3.9/5.0
Excellent kosher food, a bit pricey.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happilymarried
Wedding:
7/29/2007
4.8/5.0
I thought the food was great and the caterer was extremely helpful. We had a dairy wedding and the food was fabulous and interesting. We had a difficult time getting a cake that we wanted to so that did not work out the way we wanted. Cakes, though, at religious Jewish weddings are not so common.

The caterer also organized the wedding day- times/schedules and everything regarding where and when we should be in different places. Everything ran smoothly and I thought that it was great that they did this!!!


I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Talia
Wedding:
7/29/2007
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Main Event. They did a beautiful job and the food was delicious
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
T
Wedding:
6/11/2006
5.0/5.0
Main Event Caterers did the most amazing job. Every step of the way they were supportive and completely attentive to any requests we had - and best of all, the food was amazing (so I'm told). Steve Rubenfeld was wonderful and professional for the entire time we worked with him and I would certainly recommend him and Main Event to anyone and use them for any future events myself.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
busymom
Wedding:
3/10/1996
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding 12 years ago and everyone still talks about how beautiful it was! The catering job was fantastic - nothing left out and nothing amiss. The food was delicious and we received everything we asked for and more!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
38 W Forest Ave, Englewood, NJ 07631 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Main Event Caterers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220