130x130_sq_1388121951055-dscn007

Majestic Metro

Houston , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

911 Preston Avenue
Houston, TX US 77002 (map)

PHONE

713-224-7226

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Majestic Metro, located in the center of vibrant downtown Houston, steps away from the newly renovted Market Square Park and surrounded by the Arts District, is the premier venue to... Read more
The Majestic Metro, located in the center of vibrant downtown Houston, steps away from the newly renovted Market Square Park and surrounded by the Arts District, is the premier venue to host your wedding and/or reception. After a complete restoration over a 2 year period, The Majestic Metro opened in 1990 to begin hosting fabulous events. Over the last 20 years we have hosted hundreds of weddings, receptions, and corporate functions. Always striving to make your event as special as you are. We allow you to bring in your own favorite caterer or we can assist you with a list of preferred caterers, the choice is yours. The beautiful architectural detailing along with antiques and art bring a touch of elegance to your event. Making sure it is totally Unforgettable!

For further assistance or to set up a personal tour please contact us at:

713-224-7226 or info@majesticmetro.com Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1354393835510-outdoorphotocouplekissing
130x130_sq_1354393561869-201110220940
130x130_sq_1350012792730-201110220691
130x130_sq_1350012851541-201110220628
130x130_sq_1350012876416-201110220772
130x130_sq_1354393511256-201110220777
130x130_sq_1350012900267-201110220873
130x130_sq_1350012924596-majmetmitchjennwed3
130x130_sq_1350012934197-majmetmitchjenwed2
130x130_sq_1350012951047-girlswithpearls2
130x130_sq_1350012958992-girlswithpearls3
130x130_sq_1350012967890-girlswithpearlscake
130x130_sq_1350012978211-girlswithpearlsdance
130x130_sq_1350012998454-girlswithpearlsstagephoto
130x130_sq_1350012985808-girlswithpearlsguests
130x130_sq_1350013063544-jes9155bbbb
130x130_sq_1350013080676-girlswithpearlsrickshaw
130x130_sq_1354311646814-bridegroomnavykiss
130x130_sq_1354311663053-group22
130x130_sq_1354311695981-receptionhighlights19
130x130_sq_1354312234521-group34
130x130_sq_1354312987860-receptionhighlights65
130x130_sq_1354338741804-karenandchris0364
130x130_sq_1354338778274-karenandchris0400
130x130_sq_1354338810460-karenandchris0489
130x130_sq_1354338871098-karenandchris0499
130x130_sq_1354338930068-karenandchris0436
130x130_sq_1354338972190-karenandchris0522
130x130_sq_1388105150359-regina-and-glen-poste
130x130_sq_1388105175828-regina-and-glen-enterin
130x130_sq_1388105212237-regina-and-glen-dancin
130x130_sq_1388105244069-regina-and-glen-dance-
130x130_sq_1388105287586-regina-and-glen-lightin
130x130_sq_1388105315248-regina-and-glen-popcor

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
11/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I would reccomend The Majestic any day! I'm so happy I chose to have our wedding here and our guests absolutely loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeannie
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Louis at the majestic is so easy to work with, he does not email but will talk to you as many times as needed and will always call you back. The venue is historical and has an antique feel. It is very unique. The price included the DJ services, a great sound system, and lighting! Cannot beat it. It is in the heart of downtown Houston so close to many churches!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Was a perfect venue and Lou was awesome. If I had any questions he was only a phone call away. I will tell you that COMPLETE MUSIC IN SPRING, TX was a preffered vendor of the majestic and I chose them since they were used so much there, BIG MISTAKE. DJ was good but the other services were BAD (videographer and photobooth). ALl the the pther vendors that were preferred were GREAT :) The venue is beautiful. If you are looking for the Old Hollywood Vibe this is your place. Thanks Majestic for a perfect night minus COMPLETE MUSIC RUINING EVRYTHING ELSE!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ken
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the most fantastic venue in Houston! It was a dream place for me and my wife's reception! My wife and I are big fans of old style architecture and design. This place had all the old features of the original theater with great modern sound system and stage that blended seamlessly into one another. The DJ they provided was perfect and saved us a ton of money hiring our own. They always were available to answer questions we had about different aspects of the reception and worked with us to make it a very special day. Thank you for making our wedding day one of the greatest celebrations of our lives!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Love this venue!! It is beautiful and unique. It is perfect for a bride who doesn't want a reception in a place that feels like a conference room, only decorated with wedding flowers. Louis was very nice to work with and always returns phone calls promptly. He doesn't email, which is different from most vendors, but is so prompt about returning calls that it was not an issue. Before you book, be sure to clarify which vendors you have to use for certain things (ex. photo booth, alcohol, etc) because some categories are limited. It was very worth it though and I can't imagine a better location for our reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We had the most beautiful venue to host our wedding reception. Majestic has so much character and is so beautiful. Louis was there for us the entire way and very helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
The Majestic Metro is a highly unique, historical venue available for weddings and private parties. Our October wedding went flawlessly in the care of the Manager, Mr. Louis DeRose.

Both native Houstonians, my husband and I wanted our wedding to represent us and the city we grew up in. The Majestic Metro has bounds of historical significance in Houston and has been beautifully restored. This 1930s building has updated lights, sound and fixtures that rival any other venue in town.

The price is what sold us on the Metro. Comparatively, it is the best deal in town and they include more ancillary services than any other venue.

Highly recommended,
Jen and Matt Harold
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.7/5.0
This venue MADE my reception. It was so much fun! Louis was so easy to work with because he's been doing events at the Majestic Metro for years and years.

You get a DJ with the package, and don't need to spend a lot on decorations since the venue is so beautiful on its own. Also, he has INCREDIBLE lights set up. So the value is GREAT for what you pay.

He is not available via e-mail, so you have to call to get a hold of him. This never created any problems for me except that I had to call him during my work hours. However, he is great at responding QUICKLY even if you leave a voice mail.

The dance floor is a stage with two levels, which is GORGEOUS and dramatic. However, it may be intimidating for some guests. I LOVED it, but it's just something to consider based on the personalities of the people you invite.

Louis made everything EASY. He let us drop off decorations the day before, he made sure all my vendors were in place, he followed up with me multiple times to make sure everything was OK. He put our names on the marquee, and did so much more. I HIGHLY recommend this venue if it suits your personality. Our guests LOVED it and had such a great time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maurine
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.4/5.0
Absolutely wonderful venue for anyone who wants to travel back in time to old time Hollywood but with your own current flair. The floor seating + adding the theater bar seating made it perfect for mingling.

We set up a buffet in the lobby area in a serpentine pattern which allowed a flow through and served from both sides. Our meat carver was positioned at the head of the table.

Cakes were set up in alcove and across from the cakes was a perfect spot for candid shots with fun accessories. A huge blast for all guests, young and old.

We used the dj but brought in our own band for the second half of the reception and danced the night away.

Louis was a great guy and really wanted to make your day your own. He will give you the names of vendors or you can find your own. We used Over the Top Linens, Every Whim Catering by Bobby, and Timtations Cakes. The bar set up worked great for our mixed Greek and American guests.

Because of the movie venue, we had huge bowls of gourmet popcorn drizzled with chocolate from Chocolate Pizzazz. It was a huge hit.

My daughter, the BRiDE, said she could not have imagined a better reception and the pictures are fabulous. We rented a 1940's limo to pick up the couple through a myriad of bubbles to complete the night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicola
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.4/5.0
This place is great if you want something a little different, however, it does take a lot of decor to dress it up and that adds some expense, bit its nothing compared to how much you would spend at a hotel. The final outcome at my wedding was beyond amazing and I got a ton of compliments. The DJ was really good and came with the venue and you can choose your own caterer and get wholesale alcohol. I used everyone the Majestic Metro recommended (TJ's catering, artisan cakes, madola's liquor) and was beyond impressed. I only wish I had rented the place for 5 hours instead of 4.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1248410645706-website
jillga
Wedding:
5/1/2010
4.2/5.0
When my husband and I first walked into the place, we were absolutely amazed and when we both stood on the stage looking out at this historic theatre, we knew that we found our place!
Louis, the owner, is a straight up business guy, no email really, likes to do business and answer questions in person or over the phone (very old school like), but he gets the job done. Unfortunately, for us, he was not managing the actual event at night and wished he would have because he probably would have been more on the ball then the other coordinator that was there. Other than that, we had a fabulous wedding, everything ran smoothly.
The only thing I would suggest, is that if you are having a buffet dinner with more than 150 people, to do a set up that allows two lines instead of one. Our only hang up that night was that the line was slow during dinner, which delayed our timeline for the rest of the night.
Overall, if you are looking for a unique one of kind venue that won't break your bank account-this is the place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
1/18/2014
4.1/5.0
Majestic Metro is a gorgeous venue that requires very little decorating. They've recently remodeled the front, and along with a marquee and downtown Houston outside, it makes for great outdoor and indoor photography.

Louis is the manager, and while he's a bit blunt and opinionated, he always answers your questions and does--to the best of his ability--whatever you're requesting.

The DJ that accompanies the package--Complete Music--are also pretty good. My biggest gripe with them is that they're very hard to get a hold of and you don't have a lot of time to prepare with them what you're wanting. The DJ messed up on our aisle music a bit, and took some time getting our first dance going, but otherwise he did a great job considering he had about one email and one phone call to go off of.

My biggest gripe (which is why I gave a low rating on value), is the owner's interest in nickel and diming you. Yes, most venues charge extra for the little things, such as use of their microphone ($75) and their projection screen. What I think was the icing on the cake, however, was their idea of "event time." Our ceremony started at 5:00 pm. They allow 4 hours as their base price, but we wanted to stay until 10:00 pm. We were quite willing to pay the extra hour, but Louis told us that half an hour of that "free" event time had to be allotted for "guests showing up."

What?

So if we wanted our event time to start at 5:00 pm, we had to have our "event" time start at 4:30 pm. Which means our base event time ended at 8:30. An extra half hour cost $295, and an extra hour cost $595. Great way to squeeze out that extra buck last minute, huh?

Ideally they'd just roll this into their base price (and keep a 4 hour event time as just that, because since when is guests arriving a part of the event?). But even if they refuse to do that, at least TELL your clients about this cost up front rather than waiting to slide it into the contract a WEEK before the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Tara
Wedding:
5/29/2011
2.1/5.0
I am very torn on this venue. It is really unique and different, which we really wanted, and I ended up loving my wedding, but be prepared to do A LOT of work yourself and be very frustrated. It can look gorgeous and be very fun with the right decorations, but the management is not the best. They do not have a computer so you can forget email. They close by 3pm so it is very hard to get in to see the place. The only thing included in the venue rental is the space, tables, chairs, and a DJ that you won't even be able to talk to until 30mins before the wedding (I wrote a very detailed list of the music I wanted and burned everything in order on a CD and they still played the wrong song for our entrance and it took them 3 tries to get the last song right). They claim that you can bring in any vendors that you want, but will give you a very hard time (snide remarks, jumping through hoops for approval) if you go with anyone other than the people they recommend. You will also be charged seperatly for use of the screen (one of the main selling points) microphones, etc. So basically if you want a smooth easy wedding, go elsewhere, but if you want something different and are willing to put in a lot of work and know that things will be messed up, go for it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
911 Preston Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Majestic Metro
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1388121951055-dscn007