130x130_sq_1381785653848-233

Makeup by Brea

Somerville , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Somerville, MA US 02144 (map)

PHONE

617-440-4692

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Brea Cherne Ashcraft has been a licensed esthetician and successful makeup artist in the Boston area since 2008. She left her upscale salon/spa position on Newbury Street in order to... Read more
Brea Cherne Ashcraft has been a licensed esthetician and successful makeup artist in the Boston area since 2008. She left her upscale salon/spa position on Newbury Street in order to ensure brides felt beautiful and confident on their wedding day without the added stress of traveling to a salon or spa. Brea found she can better tailor her services to brides through her own company and has now done makeup for over 200 brides. Overwhelmingly positive feedback from Brea’s former clients describes her as “professional, responsive, helpful, and very talented. But more importantly, her positive outlook and sincere warmth was wonderfully refreshing to work with.” Brea offers a makeup trial consultation where she listens to your makeup desires and then chooses and applies from her extensive collection of products the perfect wedding day look for you. She will put together a personalized makeup design page detailing your color choices so that she can be sure to replicate your preferred look on your wedding day. Reviews continually highlight that Brea goes the extra mile for her brides and truly listens to all wedding details, in order to ensure the bridal makeup will fit with the overall wedding tone and theme.




On your wedding day, Brea will travel to you equipped with MAC Cosmetics as well as some of her other favorite brands and products, a belt full of brushes, GLAMCOR lighting, a tall chair, and plenty of other wedding day emergency supplies. In the comfort of your home or hotel room, she will make you look picture perfect for your special day. One grateful bride shared that Brea is “thoughtful and ensures that the makeup will last through the day. Brea is crafty and has a nice portable setup of lights and a chair as she applies makeup. I recall my photographer even mentioning that he’s seen many makeup artists before, but none compared to Brea.” Brea’s professional and warm demeanor, ability to make brides feel beautiful and special on their wedding day, and experience keeps her winning awards from The Knot, Boston.com, Weddingbee, and WeddingWire, year after year. She has been awarded the Bride’s Choice Awards™ in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 recognizing her in the top 5 percent of local wedding professionals from the WeddingWire Network who demonstrate excellence in quality, service, and professionalism. Brea would love to be a part of your wedding day.

Additionally, Makeup by Brea offers makeup services for special events, parties, profile pictures, and consultations. Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1381783086571-228
130x130_sq_1381788439576-jilliannick-287
130x130_sq_1381787097160-hurley-096
130x130_sq_1381779724591-mgw2010dsc1041
130x130_sq_1381779141430-bp360
130x130_sq_1381785164041-stein-wedding-gallery-1-getting-ready-wwi-memorial-0413
130x130_sq_1381779251390-picture-45
130x130_sq_1381777628420-63
130x130_sq_1381782689407-bethany
130x130_sq_1381783700528-allison-2
130x130_sq_1381776889689-wedding-camimarc-blogcollage-8
130x130_sq_1381776810514-picture-42
130x130_sq_1381777003569-00660268e
130x130_sq_1381776801277-picture-43
130x130_sq_1381776825244-03021276e
130x130_sq_1381776843698-wedding-camimarc-20120825-0057
130x130_sq_1381782770128-jane-1
130x130_sq_1381780400343-dsc0276
130x130_sq_1381777606536-11
130x130_sq_1381777664708-233
130x130_sq_1381777618095-48
130x130_sq_1381778181782-90
130x130_sq_1381779200796-bp691
130x130_sq_1381783706190-allison-3
130x130_sq_1381787087132-hurley-099
130x130_sq_1381783712814-allison-4
130x130_sq_1381783165465-wedding-camimarc-20120825-0036
130x130_sq_1381788449189-jilliannick-280
130x130_sq_1381784824104-stein-wedding-gallery-1-getting-ready-wwi-memorial-0098
130x130_sq_1381780970749-bp2031
130x130_sq_1381778502033-57
130x130_sq_1381783053007-wedding-camimarc-20120825-0028
130x130_sq_1381779335741-promises-to-keep-wedding-8
130x130_sq_1381783731910-wedding-camimarc-blogcollage-2
130x130_sq_1381780356040-dsc0322
130x130_sq_1381782672321-mgw2010dsc1185
130x130_sq_1381782780389-jane-3
130x130_sq_1381787107221-hurley-091
130x130_sq_1381782789016-jane-2
130x130_sq_1381782808936-melissa
130x130_sq_1381784807840-stein-wedding-gallery-1-getting-ready-wwi-memorial-0032
130x130_sq_1381788860832-15turnerhillweddingblog
130x130_sq_1381788459974-jilliannick-356
130x130_sq_1381782819957-picture-44
130x130_sq_1381783065641-176
130x130_sq_1381783720688-allison-5
130x130_sq_1381784935382-stein-wedding-gallery-1-getting-ready-wwi-memorial-0068
130x130_sq_1381785216895-stein-wedding-gallery-1-getting-ready-wwi-memorial-0070
130x130_sq_1381788468353-jilliannick-213-1
130x130_sq_1381788873697-044turnerhillweddingblo
130x130_sq_1381790252600-10212902214d0e11de6d3b
130x130_sq_1381895375714-screen-shot-2013-10-15-at-8.43.50-pm
130x130_sq_1381788886539-045turnerhillweddingblo
130x130_sq_1381788903946-04turnerhillweddingblog
130x130_sq_1381788917506-10turnerhillweddingblog
130x130_sq_1381789339508-ajnw4
130x130_sq_1381789357634-ajnw10
130x130_sq_1381895530181-screen-shot-2013-10-15-at-8.41.12-pm
130x130_sq_1381789376808-ajnw18
130x130_sq_1381789910354-110924jc1298web
130x130_sq_1381790259354-10212864114e1420f5560b
130x130_sq_1381795692098-jenelle-3
130x130_sq_1381795704185-jenelle-6
130x130_sq_1381795714554-jenelle-7
130x130_sq_1381796081410-jenelle-1
130x130_sq_1381796112293-13
130x130_sq_1381796267977-jane-5
130x130_sq_1387396296055-josie-and-luke-bethany-and-dan-s-favorites-000
130x130_sq_1387396310586-josie-and-luke-bethany-and-dan-s-favorites-000
130x130_sq_1387396326005-josie-and-luke-bethany-and-dan-s-favorites-001
130x130_sq_1387396338821-josie-and-luke-bethany-and-dan-s-favorites-003
130x130_sq_1387396354546-josie-and-luke-bethany-and-dan-s-favorites-003
130x130_sq_1387396368889-josie-and-luke-bridal-party-and-family-formals-005

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Facial, Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes
Do you charge for trials?
Yes. At the trial we can meet, talk about you, your skin, your wedding, and your wedding day makeup desires and I would do your makeup how you would like it for your wedding day. I will then record what we did and be able to give you your free tube of lip color on your wedding day.
Do you provide any specialty services? (airbrushing, hair extensions, etc.)
I use three different sizes of individual lashes so I can customize your lash look to be as natural or dramatic as you would like. The best parts about individual lashes for the wearer is they feel much better than strip lashes, stay in place better, and if one happens to come off--no big deal! If a strip lash comes undone, then you have to remove it and if you remove one strip, you have to remove the other. 
 I do not airbrush for several reasons. One, it makes me dependant on a piece of technology and if something happens like a power outage or the airbrush gun breaks, then I would be unable to do my job. Two, I can easily create foundation color that is a perfect match for each person in your party in seconds. With airbrush foundation, it’s harder to create new color in the quantity needed to airbrush so I would either be restricted to limited foundation colors or would be wasteful of product thus needing to increase my prices to cover the loss. Third, most people like the idea of airbrush, but not the actual results. Many brides who come to me after they have had airbrush makeup done somewhere else complain that it looked dirty and unnatural. The desire for airbrush makeup up is to have long lasting, natural looking makeup; using primers, well blended foundation, and setting spray I can achieve all these results without the airbrush gun.
Do you travel to the client on the day of the event? If yes, is there a fee?
I will travel to the client the day of the event. Travel fee is based on the distance I need to travel from my home to the location where wedding makeup will be done. To calculate the travel fee, I use Google Maps directions from my home to the location where the wedding makeup will be done. I then charge $1 per estimated minute of travel one way. Required payment for parking at the venue is the responsibility of the bride and she will be responsible for coordinating vendor parking permits, valet, or any other parking arrangements the the day of the wedding. If estimated time of travel exceeds two hours, the bride may choose to cover overnight accommodations for me which would include the cost of the room, taxes, and overnight parking in lieu of the travel fee.
How many customers can you serve at one time if the bride were to book her entire bridal party? Are there discounts for doing so?
I can do as many faces as time will allow. Please allot one hour for the bride, 30 minutes for each additional attendant and mother, 15 minutes for girls 12 and under, and 15 minutes for setup. I also will need an additional 10 minutes for each attendant who would like false lashes. If there is an extreme time crunch or a very large number of faces, I can find an assistant to join me the day of the wedding.
How far in advance should clients book your services?
I prefer not to book weddings more than nine months in advance to allow for life changes and avoid disappointment. If a bride inquires more than nine months in advance, I can put her on my calendar to follow up with nine months before her wedding, but cannot guarantee that I will be available on her date. Most brides book between nine and six months in advance, but if a bride inquires closer to the wedding date and I am still available, I would be happy to work with her.
What is your cancellation policy?
A refund for the trial is not issued if the client (Bride) decides to cancel the reservation. If a bride cancels the reservation between 90 and 30 days before the wedding date, a $100 fee is charged for loss of potential business for that date. If a bride cancels the reservation less than 30 days before the wedding date, the Saturday minimum $350 fee is charged regardless whether or not the wedding falls on a Saturday.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ehirst
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I booked Brea for my wedding in May based on other positive reviews and pictures on Weddingwire and they didn't steer me wrong. I was looking for someone that was willing to come to the house and do the makeup for myself and my full wedding party. From the moment I met her at my makeup trial, I knew Brea would be great to work with. She was very accommodating and went through trial very slowly, discussing what I did or didn't like at each point, so that there wouldn't be any problems on my wedding day. On the day of the wedding she showed up on time ready to roll, and got all of our makeup done with time to spare for touch ups before we started taking pictures and left for the church. Her prices are very reasonable and my makeup lasted all night despite a lot of sweaty dancing. I actually had to scrub it off before going to bed! I would highly recommend Brea and will likely use her myself in the future for big events and weddings.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Brea is an amazing person and a fantastic makeup artist. She is professional, responsive, flexible and kind. I first met Brea in her studio for a trial makeup session. We discussed my daily makeup routine as well as what I envisioned for my wedding. She takes thorough notes and makes sure to incorporate all of my feedback and comments. It is obvious that she truly wants nothing but the best for her clients. My wedding makeup was flawless! I also want to note that at the very LAST minute, I requested an extra service. Brea was not bothered at all and immediately went to work to make me happy. I strongly recommend considering Brea for all of your Boston-area makeup needs.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Briana
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Brea did an amazing job at my wedding!! I absolutely loved my makeup! It looked fabulous both in person and in pictures. Brea was also very responsive, flexible and extremely easy to work with.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I used Brea for my wedding after my sister used her services and we fell in love with her. Brea is wonderful to work with and very accommodating. She did a facial for me a few months before the wedding and my makeup trial was more than I could have asked for. Brea tried multiple options on me and allowed me time to look at my makeup in different light settings for each option. She didn't pressure me to choose a certain look or style and worked with the look I was going for. I absolutely loved my makeup on my wedding day. Brea arrived exactly when she said she would and brought along a great assistant as I had a large wedding party. Everyone was extremely happy with the makeup Brea did and a few girls who weren't going to get their makeup done changed their mind once they saw her work. I would highly recommend Brea for your wedding makeup. She is very professional and very sweet.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Brea was such a pleasure to work with. She is very professional and organized and her attention to detail is remarkable. She asks great questions to figure out your style and what you are wanting to go for on your big day and then listens attentively and makes suggestions based on what you've described. On the day of the wedding, Brea was again organized and ready to go as scheduled. She was a very calming and positive person that helped calm any day of jitters. When I saw my husband that day- the first thing he complimented me on was how good my makeup looked. I'd highly recommend her to anyone needing makeup done for a wedding or special event!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I would absolutely recommend Brea for any event. She did my wedding makeup and I couldn't ask for a better experience. She was a calming and positive presence and made me feel at easy. She is also very knowledgeable and gifted. Brea listen to everything I wanted and asked all the right questions and made great suggestions. My makeup turned out exactly how I envisioned it would look!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Makeup by Brea for my wedding in August and could not have been happier. Brea was absolutely amazing and very easy to work with. My bridal party and I were extremely pleased with our makeup!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Makeup By Brea for anyone in the Boston area. Brea always emailed promptly and I was always aware of pricing and any updates.

Brea listen very carefullly when I went for my trial and made sure to ask follow up questions to make sure she understood. Even when she began applying makeup she let me look to see if that is what I wanted, and told me exactly what she was doing. While I don't usually wear tons of make up in the past getting my make up done felt intimidating, and this didn't at all. I am glad I had the trial because the day of the wedding I knew she would do a great job.



Wedding day came and she showed up promptly. More important then that she did a terrific job on my make up.

In addition to her amazing work I really benefited from her make up knowledge. For instance, I was nervous about my mascara running and she gave advice on how to prevent this from happening.

During the make up both the trial and actual day Brea was very friendly and easy to talk to.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Brea was incredibly accommodating, friendly and charming. She was not only attentive towards myself (the bride) but also helpful to friends and family that were present in the room, offering up tips and lending a hand with others' makeup choices. We were more than pleased with her work and her demeanor.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Brea was absolutely wonderful to work with on my wedding day. She was professional, flexible and so personable, my bridesmaids and I loved having her with us on the morning of my wedding. She even brought a hanger that spelled "Bride", which my photographer used to take beautiful pictures of my wedding dress as we were all getting ready. Everyone's make-up looked fabulous and lasted well into the night! She even gave everyone lipstick so that we could all touch up throughout the day! Many guests even commented on how none of us looked too "done-up" and that the make-up was so natural. I highly recommend Brea to any future bride. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I would 100% recommend Brea to future brides! She was so accommodating and easy to work with! My makeup looked so natural for the wedding! I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Brea was awesome, she was very informative on every question I could think of, she was very patient when some of my people changed their minds on getting make up which caused a wait of about an hour in which she had no one to work on...and she is so easy to talk to, you don't have that awkward silence of just sitting there while someone is doing your make up. She explained everything she was doing and I really liked that.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Brea did the makeup for our wedding in May, and she was wonderful to work with! She is very professional and talented! All of my bridesmaids also loved her, and several mentioned that they would book her for their wedding in the future. On the day of our wedding, she arrived at our venue 30 minutes before anyone else arrived. By the time we got there, she was all set up and ready to get started. She was very well prepared and did everything to make our day go smoothly - she even brought "essential" like a steamer, double-sided body tape, a hanger for the bride, etc. in case we forgot anything. She is a joy to work with and I would highly recommend her! Book her before she's no longer available for your date!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darrielle
Wedding:
5/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Brea for my recent wedding. I found Brea to be professional, responsive, helpful, and very talented. But more importantly, her positive outlook and sincere warmth was wonderfully refreshing work with.

I contacted her with only a month and a half until the event, and she immediately worked with me to get me in for a trial within just a couple of days. She was amazingly flexible and understanding of how incredibly busy my life/work was on top of wedding planning. When we met for my trial, she immediately put me at ease, and was very communicative about each step in her process – something that was very helpful to me, a makeup novice. I explained the overall look that I was looking for, and asked her to do the rest. Dispite how unhelpful my direction was, she managed to deliver exactly what I was looking for.

Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with her work. She was willing to travel to our location, her rates were very fair, and her work is impeccable. My makeup was absolutely perfect, and each of my bridesmaids who worked with her looked fantastic as well! I would recommend Brea to anyone!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!! I was referred to Brea by my hair stylist after I had a horrible experience at another makeup trial. I went for my trial and was blown away. I had my sister there with me and when I saw her reaction I knew that Brea was the way to go! Brea is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She was so easy to get along with and made me feel comfortable telling her exactly what I was looking for!!! Neither I or the bridal party wear a lot of makeup and we all wanted a very natural look. The day of the wedding Brea knew exactly how much time she needed for each girl and she had it down to a science. We were never rushed and it made for such a relaxing day. I have never felt more beautiful than I did on my wedding day and can honestly say that I have never seem our mothers or my bridesmaids look more beautiful! Everyone absolutly loved how their makeup came out and we were all getting compliments all night long. Brea is very professional, all of her products are top of the line and everything is kept neat and clean. She is extremely talented and I would refer her 100% to everyone! I cannot wait to have a formal event to go to so that I can go see her again!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I chose Brea for help with the makeup for a photo shoot I was to be in, largely because of the positive reviews I had seen here. She is every bit as wonderful as she comes across in the reviews here, and I'm just so glad that I found her. I am not used to wearing makeup because my current job doesn't require a corporate or business appearance; but I knew I would need a more polished look for the photos. Brea was lovely to work with -- warm, attentive, listened to what I was hoping for, collaborated with me on choices, made some of her own suggestions (which I was grateful for) and just made it a very positive experience. I'm not used to wearing any makeup, and so I thought perhaps the eyes were too dark; she was glad to take some of it off for me but assured me that some definition would be needed for the shoot -- and she was so right! What she did turned out to be just the right amount for the lights, letting "me" and my eyes come through with the right definition, and not overpowering at all. She was generous with her time, and she was kind. I also tend not to wear makeup because of allergies; I usually react to products I put on my face and eyes. She went out of her way to check the ingredients with the company and make sure the allergens I was concerned about were not in any products she would be using. At the end of my appointment, there was some difficulty with my transportation to the shoot, and so she simply offered to drive me there herself, which was just so kind, and so above and beyond. I will be in situations soon where I will need a more professional look than I require now. Brea also offers lessons in applying makeup that I'm looking forward to. I know she'll be a patient and expert teacher. My makeup session was held in her home, and she'll go out of her way to make sure you feel comfortable and welcome. I just feel incredibly fortunate to have found her. And my photos turned out well -- the makeup was just as I had hoped!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I chose Brea as my wedding day makeup artist knowing she would be excellent and she did not disappoint. She had previously been hired for my sister’s wedding a few years prior and I recall feeling she did a great job. Her performance for my wedding was no different. She is a joy to work with and she has all of the best makeup options. She’s thoughtful and ensures that the makeup will last through the day. Brea is crafty and has a nice portable setup of lights and a chair as she applies makeup. I recall my photographer even mentioned that he’s seen many makeup artists before, but none compare to her. My bridesmaids and I were very satisfied and we highly recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Brea was fantastic! I loved doing the trial run with her and she was very responsive in updating my look for the day of based on my feedback. She was a fun and calming person to have around the day of the wedding and was wonderful with my sister-in-laws, nieces, and mother! I felt beautiful and my make up lasted well throughout the whole day. I also loved getting a MAC lipstick for touch ups and now I think of my wedding day whenever I wear it.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Brea is just fabulous! An incredible makeup artist who uses the highest quality goods (I cried a lot, makeup did not smudge), so friendly and easy to be around, and affordable. Don't skimp on having your makeup done, it makes a huge difference for having that finished look. Plus, it was so fun getting ready with the girls. It made for a fabulous pre-party. Thanks, Brea!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Brea was simply amazing! I had 2 other makeup trials before her and they both either didn't understand the look I wanted or didn't listen because I wanted simple makeup and they all made me look like Jersey Shore! I reached out to Brea about 2 months before my wedding and she was able to fit me in for a trial no problem!
During the trial, Brea and I sat down first to discuss the wedding details and atmosphere. Then we talked about colors and styles and how I wanted to look and feel on my wedding day. I think that was the biggest difference between her and my other trials. I can honestly say I've never looked or felt more beautiful than when Brea did my make up! And she was reasonably priced which I feel is rare among make up artists! Her calm demeanor on the big day was like a breath of fresh air and she brought an emergency kit that both myself and my bridesmaids ended up needing!
I highly recommend Brea!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marriedlady11
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
as you can tell from my rating, i loved working w/ brea.
i found her warm, sooooo nice, and very professional for the trial and the day of the wedding.
she handled all the personalities and the styles of the moms and bridesmaids with grace, i could not have asked for better artist on the wedding day. a huge plus for us is that she travels to where you are, which made getting ready so comfortable. she even provides you with a tear sheet of the colors and makeup she used in case you want to try it yourself!!!
if i were to get married again - i would use Brea!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ali
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I used Brea for my my bridal makeup along with my bridal parties make up. She did an AMAZING job! She is so sweet and really listens and understands how you invision your "look" on your wedding day. She came right to my hair salon on a sunday morning and was done in a few hours with all our makeup. Everyone looked so beautiful! I am so glad I my friend told me about her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
denisecol
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
I was in a wedding this past Saturday and Brea did our makeup. I have been in about 12 weddings and usually I end up wiping off 75% of what the makeup artist puts on me. Not this time! My makeup was great! I was actually sad to go home and wash my face because I knew I would never look that good again. Brea is really nice and patient and has great suggestions. I highly recommend her services!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sun
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved working with Brea and would give her 10 stars out of 5 in every category if I could! I never wear makeup and was rather nervous about wearing any for my wedding because I didn't want to look too made up or different from the way I normally look. I have had my makeup done by other makeup artists many times when I have been in my friends' weddings, and I have only come out of those experiences more and more against wearing makeup. I'm an Asian girl and I've found that most people don't have the talent or patience to deal with Asian facial features. I expressed all of my concerns to Brea, and she really listened to my requests for very natural, subtle makeup - and took the time to figure out what worked for my Asian face! The trial was great; she was so friendly and put me at ease very quickly, yet so professional at the same time. I loved that she asked questions to try to get to know me and my personality more as well, so that she could tailor my look even more. She let me try on false eyelashes at the trial for free(!) so I could decide whether I would want them for the wedding. I liked my makeup so much I didn't even want to take it off after the trial. I was so impressed at the detailed notes she took at the trial so that she could refer back to them on the wedding day and also gave me a copy so I could buy any of the things she used on me easily.

Her attention to detail on me wasn't just because I was the bride - on the day of the wedding Brea was just as attentive to all of my girls and the mothers as she was to me. All of the bridal party (some of whom don't wear makeup normally either, and another girl who is Asian) were thrilled with the results. She gave all of us the lipstick that she used on us so that we could touch up during the day, free of charge, AND she came with an emergency wedding day kit just in case the bridal party had forgotten anything we needed! She also made sure to check up on all of us before she left - again, so attentive!

Brea went above and beyond what I would have ever asked or expected of my makeup artist. My girls and I had so much fun with her on the day of the wedding, and I recommend Brea to everyone and anyone who needs to get their makeup done for any occasion!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/31/2010
5.0/5.0
I love Brea! She does a great job and I've been lucky enough to use her as a make up artist in my own wedding and in friend's weddings.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Spumpkinlover
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so happy I hired Brea to do my makeup the day of my wedding. She did such a great job. My makeup lasted all day. She also gives you a lipstick to do touch ups throughout the day when she is done. My bridesmaids' makeup also came out stunning. Everyone looked so beautiful. She is so friendly and calm. Such a pleasure to have around the day of your wedding. I did a trial with her and loved how my makeup came out. I signed the contract on the spot. Her prices are reasonable and I love the MAC products she uses. I definitely recommend her to other brides. You will not be disappointed she is an excellent makeup artist.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ceebee
Wedding:
8/20/2010
5.0/5.0
I do not know what the hype about airbrush makeup is. I tried it out (it seemed like it was all brides were talking about on the forums), and just didn't feel right about it. It looked like a mask. Thankfully I found Brea. Her makeup is so classic and tasteful, she is seriously talented as a makeup artist and as a businesswoman is very professional. Keeps detailed notes from the trial so what you see on wedding day is exactly what you signed off on at the trial. And the trial is so much fun! The entire experience was such a pleasure with Brea. She is such a sweet person and lovely to work with, after she left all my bridesmaids and I were talking how we wanted to be her friend! And she's so much more than a makeup artist: Someone's dress was wrinkled, Brea had a steamer right there. Someone's curls started falling, Brea whipped out a curling iron. Clearly these are not responsibilities of a makeup artist, but she was so equipped it completely took the stress out of getting ready. It was almost comical how we were all stressballs and Brea was calm and prepared for any possible need. We all looked beautiful on wedding day, and most importantly, we all looked like ourselves!! Only better! Thank you Brea!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amylee4835
Wedding:
8/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Brea does an incredible job and is such a sweet girl. I had 3 makeup trials before I went to her and no one else even came close to what she did. I swear she is a miracle worker! There really isn't anything to say other then to go for a trial - you will not be disappointed and her prices are great - I would have paid triple!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Brea recently did make-up for me and five members of my Bridal Party. She was easy to schedule a trial with and very responsive in our communication prior to the wedding. I had checked out other make-up artists online and felt like the make-up looked very heavy and unnatural. I was so happy with my trial and after a brief conversation with Brea she quickly figured out what I was looking for and I left feeling very confident in her abilities. The day of the wedding she arrived on time even with traffic from a local parade. I was so impressed with how calm and organized she was. Not only did she do an amazing job on our make-up but thought of many additional details. Brea brought straws for our champagne toast so we wouldn’t ruin our lipstick, had a dress steamer that I was able to use for my dress and veil that were slightly wrinkled from being packed in the car, and left a sheet with the name of the make-up products she used that day. I liked the make-up she chose so much I’ve already gone out to buy some. I absolutely loved my make-up and felt beautiful on the day of my wedding. I know my Mom and bridesmaids felt the same way (and we are all very particular). I’ve seen photos of the wedding and the make-up and false lashes make such a big difference. Brea has a great personality and my bridal party members enjoyed talking with her. She was a wonderful addition to my day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that I hired Brea to be my makeup artist. Brea was personable and calm. She did a great job and our makeup lasted for the whole event...even in the summer heat. She really listened to my bridesmaids and I when we told her what look we were going for. We even got into a time crunch because we got held up at the salon and Brea still finished all of the girls and me by the time we needed to leave. She did a great job at my trial and was easy to get a hold of when I had questions in between the trial and wedding. Everyone looked stunning and her prices are by far the most reasonable I found.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
summerbride10
Wedding:
6/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Brea was such a pleasure to work with. Not only is she incredibly talented, but she is sweet, personable, and just an all-around great person. At my makeup trial, she asked a lot of questions to get to know me and gain an understanding of my wedding “vision,” before she even started doing anything with the makeup. Brea seemed to understand exactly what I was looking for, and she exceeded my expectations.

On the wedding day, Brea arrived with her own makeup chair, lamp, bridal emergency kit, and more makeup than could fit on my parents’ large kitchen counter. She was able to create beautiful looks for the bridesmaids and mothers, tailoring each person’s makeup to their skin tone and eye color, as well as their own preferences. Brea was very patient with one person who couldn’t decide how she wanted her makeup, trying a few different looks until they both felt like it was perfect. My makeup stayed on, and looked perfect, from 10:00am until I took it off at midnight. Overall, Brea did an amazing job, and I would hire her again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1255567896667-blog8
bostonbride919
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I hired Brea to do make up for me, my Bridal Party, my Mom, my Aunt, our two flower girls, and our two program attendants - She was such a trooper and got all of the ladies looking BEAUTIFUL in a timely fashion. She is super sweet and calm and just a great person to have around while you are getting ready the day of your wedding. Our make up stayed on all night long and looked great in photos. 5 stars for sure!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cbuzzell
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Brea was fantastic! My makeup and my bridesmaids makeup was absolutely beautiful and lasted way past the reception! Her prices are extremely reasonable. She is great!!! I highly recommend her.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mbmisk
Wedding:
7/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Brea is a sweet and talented person. She made my special day very relaxing. My makeup and bridal party was amazing....natural and lasted all night long. I love how she gave every day tips to some of my bridesmaids along the way.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jasmine09
Wedding:
5/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Brea did a fantastic job with the makeup for my wedding. All the ladies looked gorgeous! She was very professional and has a great eye for color. She is patient and pays great attention to detail. I highly recommend her.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.9/5.0
I cannot say enough amazing things about Brea Ashcroft and all that she did for my big day! I was originally told about Brea from my sister-in-law who used her for her wedding in October 2011. From day one, Brea was very friendly, professional and responsible. She was easy to contact and was flexible in setting up my makeup trial. Even while being 8 months pregnant, Brea was punctual and was such a calming presence on the wedding day. I am still getting compliments on my makeup and can truly say that it was flawless. I will be sure to recommend her to my friends in the future!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/5/2014
4.9/5.0
Brea is so great to work with. She is so nice and calm, a perfectionist in the best way. She must have changed my lipstick six times at the trial at my request until we found the exact one I wanted. The day of she worked in a girl who had previously said she wasn't going to do her makeup. At my trial I looked in the mirror and thought, "Wow, I don't even look like myself--I look so much better!" This was what I wanted, heavy eye makeup and false lashes and such--she can definitely just make you look like a slightly refined version of yourself as well. She's a master!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alessandra
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.9/5.0
Brea was amazing! She did makeup for me, my mom, and 6 bridesmaids and everyone looked absolutely beautiful. I felt special while still looking natural, which was really important to me. Not to mention that Brea is so nice and just a really pleasant person to work with and have around on your wedding day.

Her prices were also some of the best I found (though lashes are a little steep at an extra $25--totally worth it on my wedding day but if I had just been a bridesmaid I probably would've skipped them, as many of mine did).

All in all a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1274284580542-jess1
Jessica
Wedding:
5/2/2010
4.9/5.0
Brea is great. She is so nice and does such a great job. My makeup looked amazing all day! I didn't look overdone or like a different person. Just a better version of me. She used a mixture of MAC and BareMinerals. She is laid back and easy to work with. Even when my mom was a little unsure of her makeup she did a great job at fixing it and making my mom feel more comfortable. I would definitely recommend her.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Brea Ashcraft is a great makeup artist an fun to work with! Not only did she do a fantastic job with my makeup and my bridesmaids makeup, it was so pleasant starting my wedding day with Brea! I received countless comments on my makeup both throughout the wedding day and from pictures. I could not have been happier with how it turned out, and neither could my husband. Even though I almost never wear makeup, Brea was great at making the makeup look both beautiful and natural at the same time. I highly recommend Brea Ashcraft!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bernadette
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.7/5.0
I can't say enough about Brea. The only reason for not giving her 5 stars was the time of her e-mail responsonses, she always did respond but sometimes a few days later. She is absolutey amazing!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lora
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.6/5.0
This is the 3rd event that I have used Brea for makeup. A friend loved the makeup look from my recent wedding, she inquired about using Brea for her wedding this August.
Brea is a pleasure to work with and so relaxing to be around her on such a hectic day. She really takes into consideration your overall "picture" from your dress, to the flowers and even the wedding venue to come up with a look that fits your special day perfectly.
She's very pleasant to everyone that she encounters and was very good with managing her time, so nobody feel rushed. Even leaving extra time for touch ups and last minute make-up drop ins.

I would highly recommend Brea for anyone's makeup needs from a special night, to a wedding, to a Sweet 16. You won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
Somerville, MA 02144 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Makeup by Brea
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1381785653848-233