Nophoto-130

Marble Slab Creamery - Ice Cream Catering

Knoxville , TN

LOCATION

4885 North Broadway
Knoxville, TN US 37918 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Stations
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Schedule a tasting session and sample our delicious homemade ice cream and treats.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Full service ice cream catering; delivery; set-up; service.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Sandy was great! She was very flexible when I had to add more people last minute. I am so glad that I used Marble Slab for my wedding day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anastacia
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Marble slab was awesome!!! I didn't even have to stress! They took care of everything and set up so nicely! Everybody enjoyed them! I actually used them during my cocktail hour, and by the time I got there, everybody had gotten to it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
olivia
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
John and Sheila are wonderful to work with. They explained every detail and answered every question. The service and product they provided were amazing! We were thrilled!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maura
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
One of the best decisions we made was to have Marble Slab ice cream at our reception. We chose the deluxe sundae bar which came with cake, brownie, 3 flavors of ice cream, six mixins, hot caramel, hot fudge, whipped cream, and sundae nuts. They also provide cups, napkins, spoons, etc. We had approximately 265 guests, and they were all extremely excited and impressed by the quality of the ice cream. I think most people came for the ice cream rather than for the wedding. :) The Thigpens were excellent to work with and always available to answer any questions/concerns. Their team was extremely professional. They did their own setup/break-down. We only had to provide a location for them to serve the ice cream. The staff served the ice cream and made the sundaes which really helped move the line along. I would most certainly recommend Marble Slab and the Thigpens to anyone! I would love to work with them again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved having marble slab at my reception! it was a big hit, and perfect for an outdoor reception!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chante
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
The Marble Slab Team was amazing and I really appreicated how nice they were. All my family and friends loved the ice cream in the 107 degree heat. The strawberry icecream blew my guests away :) Thanks so much for all your hardwork!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KDeSocio
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.8/5.0
Sheila Thigpen owner of Marble Slab Creamery was great to work with. Everyone at my wedding absolutely LOVED the ice cream bar. I had several ppl tell me what a great idea it was the evening of the wedding! Everywhere I looked everyone had a bowl of ice cream. When I went back to the office ppl were still saying how much they enjoyed the ice cream. I'm very glad I decided to have Marble Slab cater my wedding.

There are 3 different options to choose from, I went with the mid-range - for 100 ppl the total was about $800.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherry
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Having Marble Slab/Knoxville TN serve ice cream sundaes at our daughter's wedding reception was an excellent idea - was a big hit for all, really could not have gone any better. Highly recommend Sheila Thigpin's team!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.9/5.0
This was one of the most talked about parts of our reception! Everyone we talked to and worked with was extremely helpful and willing to take time to help us decide what we wanted for our reception. Thank you do much for helping us make our wedding day so special and fun! -Kathryn and Jon
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MLR0512
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.5/5.0
Marble Slab was a HUGE hit with my reception. My husband and I were looking for a laid back reception and didn't want to have a sit down diner. Marble Slab allowed us to walk around and socialize with our guests while we could still enjoy our ice cream.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elhblais
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful people to work with and an amazing ice cream! My husband isn't a big fan of cake so I wanted something truly unique and special for him for his groom cake and this is what he chose. We loved it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Norris Goose
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.9/5.0
Sheila Thigpen was an amazing person to work with. They were very flexible and helpful with our specific needs for our wedding. They had everything set up and ready for our guests and served quickly and efficiently without causing any bottlenecks in the food line. They served us with a great attitude and the ice cream was great!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katiepickle
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We were so excited and pleased to have Marble Slab at our wedding. This was one of the first decisions we made even before we had a location set & it couldn’t have gone over any better with all of our guests! Everyone was so excited & loved having, not just ice cream, but MARBLE SLAB ice cream at the wedding! Marble Slab was very professional and truly a wonderful vendor to work with throughout our wedding planning process. If you get the chance to work with Sheila and John at any event, I highly recommend it!

Thank you so much!
Katie and Gary Pickle
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pdraper
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
We enjoyed working with John and Sheila from Marble Slab! The ice cream and toppings were absolutely delicious! They were both so extremely helpful in the planning process and in turn the reception sundae bar went off perfectly! We received rave reviews from all of our guests! We will most definitely be referring them to our other engaged friends and will be returning for more ice cream!! Thanks Marble Slab!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nlpoore
Wedding:
7/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The whole experience with Mr. & Mrs. Thigpen and the whole Marble Slab team was absolutely amazing. Our guests loved it and are still talking about it almost two months later! I highly recommend them for a SWEET addition to your big day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JeniCody
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Marble Slab Catering was great at our wedding! Before the wedding we got to have an ice cream tasting and pick out all of our ice cream flavors and toppings (I think it was my new husbands favorite part of the wedding planning). Sheila was great and was easy to get ahold of for questions. Having the slab with a server to make ice cream for the guests was a huge hit at the wedding and everyone loved it! We would definitely recommend marble slab catering! They were awesome!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esmith1111
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Marble Slab Creamery was AMAZING to work with. Great service, so helpful, staff was so personable, everything was just GREAT! The ice cream was tasty as always and the guests at my wedding loved it and couldn't stop talking about it! I would recommend it for any wedding! Such a fun idea.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Shelia and her husband were an absolute pleasure to work with. They are friendly, professional and most importantly...serve great ice cream! All of our guests were so surprised that we were having marble slab at our wedding, and they were definitely not let down by the ice cream or the service. We had guests of all ages smiling like children as they enjoyed our sundae bar!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Waller Wedding
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We LOVED having Marble Slab at our wedding! The owners are FABULOUS & easy to work with. They were reasonable, responsive, helpful, friendly, kind & courteous.....and above all very professional!! We wouldnt change a thing about our wedding & look forward to having Marble Slab at future events!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Our guests loved having Marble Slab at the wedding to enjoy with their cake. They were extremely professional and easy to work with, which was so refreshing and helpful during such a busy time!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JDBruce
Wedding:
5/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful ice cream. My daughter and her husband chose the sundae bar for their wedding. The staff was not only friendly but very professional. They were only positive reviews from the guests. Highly recommend. Now a big fan of Marble Slab Creamery.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BlueTwirler
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
The relationship with Marble Slab was effortless. They were so professional and took care of everything, from set up to clean up, cups, spoons, napkins.... I didn't have to worry about a thing. Great, great people to work with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shauna
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Awesome experience! Sheila is amazing. It was the one of the best parts of the reception. Our guests are still talking about it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We would highly recommend the Marble Slab Ice Cream Catering for any type of party. They provided a sundae bar for our wedding reception and it was a huge hit for young and old. Also, my groom and I made sure that we got some ice cream though we didn't get to eat much else. Delicious!! Thank you Marble Slab.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jannie
Wedding:
4/5/2011
4.8/5.0
It went over as expected...GREAT!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
John and Sheila (I feel like I can call you that because you treated me like a friend not a customer! ),

Chris and I wanted to take a moment to let you know how pleased we were with our daughter's Marble Slab Ice Cream wedding reception. Everything was just as you promised, even better! Your professionalism, interraction with our guests, obvious enjoyment of what you do and of course the delicious ice cream made the afternoon perfect!

We recommend you without reservation. Thank you for helping to make our daughter's special day EXTRA SPECIAL. Brides and parents, if you are looking for a "no fuss" business to lighten your load and make a great impression at your reception or rehearsal - Choose Sheila and John, you won't regret it.

We love Marble Slab

Chris and Kim King Campbell
Maryville, Tennessee
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Marble Slab's ice cream was definitely the biggest hit at our reception! We got so many compliments on it. Ice cream is the way to go and Marble Slab does it very well. Everything was perfect-the only thing I would advise is to make sure and tell them when to open the ice cream bar because they will start it as soon as the reception starts if you don't tell them. Great job over all! YUM!
Services Used: Catering
Marble Slab Creamery - Ice Cream Catering responded with the following comments:

We were given direction by the venue's wedding coordinator that we could begin serving immediately, so I am sorry that your wishes weren't conveyed to us. I'm thrilled to know, however, that Marble Slab was such a big hit with your guests! Thank you for including us in your wedding celebration!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.8/5.0
Sheila was great. They set up on time and were ready to serve my wedding guests by 7pm. They all loved it. She emailed me several times to make sure we got what we wanted. One of the easiest vendors we worked with.

If I had to find a fault it would be that cones weren't served due to the hot weather and I wasn't offered an alternative topping or something else to compensate.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rusty822
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Awesome! We can't say anything else. One of the best parts was getting to do a tasting a month before the wedding to pick out flavors. At the wedding reception, EVERYONE immediately skipped the regular food line and headed for marble slab. John and Sheila could not have been any more spectacular in their preparation. It was just like having a marble slab cremery at our wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Sheila and John did an EXCELLENT job at our wedding! The ice cream was a great hit - everyone loved it and folks are still talking about the ice cream! Such a great idea. It was presented professionally and with class, yet added that air of fun that we wanted at our reception! Thank you!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paige
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
For a July wedding Marble Slab was our best choice. It was something for the kids to enjoy and adults to cool off with. Everyone loved to choice to get ice cream it was so different. The bride and groom could not of been happier. Thank you for everything! Just love working with you two, you are a great team!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Shelia and her husband were excellent! They were exteremely professional and took care of everything on their own. It was nice that I didn't have to worry about the ice cream being set up on top of everything else that day! I would recommend Marble Slab to anyone who wanted to use them for any event. The ice cream was the perfect touch to our summer wedding. Everyone enjoyed it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anneal6510
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
They were so wonderful! My guests had so much fun!!! I would recommend Marble Slab to anyone who loves ice cream and wants a fun reception!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Micki
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
As a wedding planner, I must ensure that my vendors are reliable, affordable, and professional in every aspect of their service. John & Sheila Thigpen with Marble Slab exceeded every expectation! Their service was exceptional, their professionalism was outstanding, and their sweet personalities were the "whipped cream and cherry on top of the sundae!"

My client wanted the portable slab for her 320 guests. I was concerned about serving that many guests within our timeframe of 1 1/2 hours. Through careful organization and planning, John, Sheila, and their team of professionals energetically and pleasantly served every guest with plenty of time to spare. Many guests even enjoyed seconds (and, I suspect, maybe even thirds! ;-)

I would highly, and without reservation, recommend John & Sheila Thigpen of Marble Slab to any bride considering their catering services.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jwilliams
Wedding:
5/9/2010
4.7/5.0
everyone at my wedding loved my ice cream bar, especially the kids!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wedding Coordinator
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.8/5.0
As a wedding coordinator I could not have been more please with the outstanding service, professionalism, responsiveness, and flexibility due to rain from the Marble Slab staff. They did a superior job in meeting the request of the bride. I was not able to rate Value of Cost fairly due to Bride handling the cost, however, as a mother of the bride 2 years ago and paying for a grooms cake I am sure the price was a great value as well. Most importantly the comments from the guest were unbelievable. They were thrilled the could have bride's cake and ice cream with their favorite toppings. It is by far the best option and most positively received by guest. I have never had as many compliments than was given for Marble Slab. Thank you for making this wedding so special.
Services Used: Catering
Marble Slab Creamery - Ice Cream Catering responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for the review! We hope we can work together again in the future.

John & Sheila Thigpen
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerbear
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
It was awesome having Marble Slab cater our wedding reception. It was easy, fun, and different. They really wanted to make my wedding day a day to remember. We continue to receive positive comments on how awesome it was to have Marble Slab cater for our wedding. I wanted to have something at my wedding that everyone would enjoy. Guests at my wedding had several mixins that they could choose from to put in their ice cream. This is one of the best decisions that I made for my wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karenkrl72
Wedding:
6/20/2008
5.0/5.0
We had an outdoor summer wedding and the ice cream social was a perfect fit for us. The staff was very easy to work with and help us out a lot.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
benfinch
Wedding:
6/5/2004
5.0/5.0
Of the things our guests remember about our wedding, having ice cream at the reception is the first thing that comes to mind. Friends still rave about how great it was! There's nothing better than ice cream at a summer wedding... it's certain to be a crowd-pleaser!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
4885 North Broadway, Knoxville, TN 37918 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Marble Slab Creamery - Ice Cream Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220