Nophoto-130

Marcella's La Boutique

Seattle , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1417 4th Ave
Seattle, WA US 98101 (map)

PHONE

206-264-0700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Veils

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elise
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcella and her staff made the dress buying process a truly special & memorable experience for me. The alterations department did incredible work on my Lazaro tulle ball gown that was too big and too long for me. At my last fitting, the dress was in such a perfect condition that it looked as though the dress was made to fit me from the beginning!

I would not hesitate to recommend Marcella's La Boutique to any Bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1385455693522-group-formals-001
Private User
Wedding:
10/6/2013
4.4/5.0
I found my dress here after visiting at least 20 other dress shops in 2 different states (extreme, I know). I had a great experience at Marcella's. I loved my sales consultant a lot (Meredith), especially compared to other sales consultants I had run into during my dress-shopping extravaganza. She left the salon before my dress came in but Marcella's did a great job of keeping me informed of the dress status. My dress came in early and there were no issues whatsoever. My only complaint about the store is that you can't take pictures before ordering the dress. I know this used to be a really common policy, but this is the only bridal salon I encountered this at, and I went to other salons that carry a lot of the same designers. It really makes dress shopping so much easier to have pictures of yourself in the dress before deciding.

I would not recommend getting alterations done here unless you have money to throw around. If I remember right, Marcella's wanted $800 for alterations (a flat rate for any and all alterations that would be needed, I'm guessing). All I ended up needing was the dress shortened and a bustle added, which I got done near my home for about $250.

Anyway, I had a great experience with Marcella's! Definitely check it out.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jade
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Such a great place to get a dress from! Everyone was so nice and accommodating!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kim
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.7/5.0
we purchased my daughters dress here, it was a wonderful experience, the dress was beautiful! wew were treated wonderfully. definitely recommend
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.8/5.0
Beautiful store! Great selection!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1339288959175-img50132
Laura
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Great selection and service. Gorgeous hand painted vail.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1292912432937-marinersgame
Kat
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.8/5.0
Marcella herself is such a delight. Our sales rep Sonia was so amazing. She took what was a very stressful experience at all the other bridal shops and made it perfect. We found the perfect dress that not only pleased me but my parents. They were even great to help alter the Vera Wang to make it my own. Sonia even would come in before the shop technically opened to help me out before I had to leave town for work.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1295056003851-p1010285
Cassie
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.3/5.0
I found my dream dress here...and yes it was over my budget but I did that to myself. Ali did a great job listening to me and getting me in on a last minute appointment. She put me in 10 dresses that were exactly what I thought I wanted and then 1 Monique Lhuillier that my girlfriends thought would be best (they were right) but it was not Ali's fault it was double my budget.
The problems I ran into were around fittings. I live in Oregon so I had to plan my fittings with a 3 hour trek. For my first fitting I had scheduled my appointment over a month in advance and my mother in law, mom, and 2 sister in laws all arranged their schedules to make it to my fitting. As I was driving up from Portland the day of, they called and said their fitter just called in sick and they would be able to see me until after the weekend IF their fitter was feeling better. To say I was frustrated is an understatement. They also changed me to a new sales consultant when Ali quit which was a bit annoying but understandable.
Their alterations are a bit overpriced but they were very flexible when I asked to take my dress at my 2nd fitting when the dress fit perfectly. They were able to steam it for me and have it ready to drive to Portland within the hour of my appointment.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1296872392922-09181019.22.08
cristasaunders
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.4/5.0
I was hesitant about going here for my wedding dress after reading some not so great reviews. I however, had a positive experience here. I worked with Ali throughout the whole process. She was super sweet and nice, and helped to find me exactly the dress I wanted (very simple and classic). I also got my jewelery and veil here, which was a fun experience since I was able to meet the designer during a trunk show. Things can be pricey here but nothing more than expected (they only sell designers like Vera and Monique Lhuillier). I loved the atmosphere and whole store. They have tons of beautiful dresses to try on and great accessories as well. I know they also have sample sales every once in awhile, and you can find great deals on designer dresses then!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erolson
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked with Lindsay at Marcella's and she was so great. She totally understood what I wanted, or more, what I didn't want, and kept things within my price range.
I ended up with a gorgeous Vera Wang gown that was within my price range, which was so exciting. I had a whole gaggle of girls with champagne there and we all had a blast.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fairy26
Wedding:
8/22/2009
3.7/5.0
Marcella's was recommended to me by a friend. We knew going in that they carried designer dresses and that they had a high price point. My dress budget did fit their prices. I discovered Jenny Lee dresses! Chelsey was my first consultant. Jenny Lee fit me great, but I hadn't quite found "the dress". Then her Spring line came in. I fell in love with a photo of an organza and lace dress. They got in the sample, I tried it on and was sold. The service I received was impeccable, until, Chelsey left (or was fired, I don't know). They did not transfer my account to anyone. When I called to check on my order and shipping status I was given the run around for a while. Finally I got a hold of Marcella and she connected me with another consultant. From there things were great. All of my fittings went well and my dress was beautiful. I would recommend this shop to a friend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1282091373782-325rfu
RebeccaKen
Wedding:
8/8/2009
1.1/5.0
If I had been able to find my dress somewhere else I would have. Marcella's is overpriced and the staff is completely unorganized. Several of my family members and girlfriends took time out of their day to come to the shop with me after I was called and told the dress was in and was ready for the first fitting. Upon arrival the staff could not find the dress. The second time the dress was apparently “in the shop” my fitting was cancelled literally two minutes before my appointment time. I honestly believe they forgot to order it.
When my dress did arrive it was only days before my wedding. In addition to the dress debacle - the Lazaro sash that was purchased with the dress ended up being too big. When I was able to have my one fitting - 3 days before my wedding - I asked about alterations to have the dress fit better and got nothing but attitude and was basically told "it is what it is because of the late date".
I loved everything about my wedding except the dress experience. Unfortunately, I think that Marcella’s is a boutique where staff and even Marcella herself is so sweet to you until they get your money, after that - they could care less. My only advice to future Seattle brides – DO NOT BUY YOUR DRESS FROM THIS SHOP. You can find it someplace else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrssquid
Wedding:
8/2/2009
2.0/5.0
Does Marcella's have beautiful dresses? Yes. Did I find my "the One" here? Yes. But I paid way more than I wanted, I felt like I was being up-charged at every turn ($400 to take my dress in at the waist a little?) and I never saw the same employee twice. Everytime I went in I felt like the employees were a little less professional and by the end I really just wanted to take my dress and run. The alterations lady didn't really listen to what I wanted and my dress wasn't properly fitted and my "second fitting" was just an employee letting me try on my dress and telling me that the problems I was pointing out would be fixed when it was steamed. Happy with my dress, wish I could have bought it somewhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Marcella's bridal botique totally saved me the day before my wedding. I came out of the shower to find my dog eating my wedding shoes. After visiting all the downtown department stores to find nothing, I went here and they were a lifesaver! The staff was really friendly and helpful. Within minutes, I had over a dozen shoes to choose from. Thank you so much for helping me find a perfect pair of wedding shoes!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hails1015
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
My experience at Marcella's was exceptional. From the very first appointment to the very last fitting. Every details was checked and re-checked right until it was just perfect. The staff was always bright and cheery, and the selection is oustanding. I was lucky enough to find a dress that was also being shown in a trunk show. No only was I able to meet the designer but also get a special trunk show discount on my brand new dress! I would recommend Marcella's to any bride who wants nothing but the highest quality of dresses and service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnb2008
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.4/5.0
Chelsey was a great dress consultant. The dress was shipped to my Hawaii address which was really convenient. The only complaint I have is that I wanted my veil altered and when I asked for it at my fitting, I got some attitude about it (this was from another dress consultant), plus she kept trying to sell me overly priced jewelry that I didn't need. So I ended up not having it altered because she really pressured me into not doing it. When I asked to have it shortened after I got it sent to me in Hawaii, though, Chelsey was very accommodating and had it done then sent back to me...but the edges were a little frayed (looked like it was cut a little haphazardly). I recommend this place for dress shopping but as far as the alterations go I'm not so sure. The drawback here is that they require you get your alterations done at the same place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
White07
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.4/5.0
Amazing service and help. I had spotted a dress in NYC, they didnt' have it here but recommended another dress, so I came in and fell in love with it. Just by seeing a picture of what dress I had wanted, she knew exactly what I should get.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
claram26
Wedding:
8/30/2007
4.9/5.0
Everyone at Marcella's was wonderful. Each time I went in, even without an appointment, the girls knew who I was and what I was looking at. Chelsea helped me and she was just great! I chose the most beautiful Monique Lhuillier gown and Marcella's altered it to fit me perfectly. The dress was pressed and ready to wear when I picked it up! I had the best experience, they truly made me feel so special, and the atmosphere is perfect - if you are buying an expensive designer gown, this is the place to go.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
Beautiful dresses, something for everyone.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1184187093156-20myangel
Laura
Wedding:
6/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Kim helped me order my Lazaro gown long distance. I live in a place where high-end wedding gowns are not available. She provided excellent top notch quality customer service, communicated well, and got my gown made in time. She also gave us a nice discount, which was wonderful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happy & blessed
Wedding:
6/9/2007
4.8/5.0
I bought a Romona Keveza dress from Marcella's and it was absolutely beautiful. Marcella was a very nice lady as well!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
8/26/2006
2.4/5.0
I absolutely loved my dress. It is the only place in Washington that sells Reem Acra's. If it weren't for that I would have bought the dress somewhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
I only have GREAT things to say about my experience there with Meredith. She was incredible. Helped me find my DREAM dress, wasn't pushy when I was uncertain about things and let me make my own decisions. She was truly fantastic and made my experience excellent. About two months before my wedding, she called me to let me know she was leaving the company which was really nice of her except when I went to pick up my dress , one of the girls who was working there was NOT nice. I'm not sure if they are on some sort of commission there and my time wasn't valuable for her but she had me wait one hour to pull my dress and veil and had no idea where my hair comb was. After calling and asking her to check with the vendor where it was she finally found out it was on it's way to the boutique and I would have to wait a while to get it. The ending experience was disappointing but hey I found my dream dress and that's important!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
oldlady
Wedding:
8/19/2001
1.1/5.0
This place had hands down the most beautiful dresses. I got hooked in when I found a dress at the Wedding Expo. It was the first dress I had ever tried on and the show was closing so I told Marcella I would like to think about it and come back to her store. When I did, she told me the dress had sold. Six months later I found out about her January sample sale, and I went. There was the dress. Hard to believe someone would lie to you when you want to buy a dress from them. But that's Marcella. Probably it was in storage and she didn't want the bother. I would have preferred an honest answer.

In the interim I had tried on some of her new dresses. The process was strange. The place was like a wedding dress show-room or something. You had to tell the salesperson what kind of dresses you liked, and she'd go into a back room and bring you some to try on. You couldn't go look at the dresses and pick them out yourself. I was limited to 5 dresses per session. My mother-in-law at one point was scrutinizing some of the detailing on one of the dresses, and Marcella accusingly asked if she was a seamstress (she's not), saying seamstresses aren't allowed in the store.

I didn't want to patronize this store, if I had found a new dress I would have bought it through someone else with better manners. But my dress was 50% off and no longer made.

Problem is, she has by far the prettiest stuff around. No polyester here. Everything is silk, gorgeous. Once I went here it was hard to find anything else as nice.

My advice, if you have expensive taste, look up the brands Marcella caries, and see who else caries them. Then go there. Go to Portland, even. Or, catch her sample sale or the wedding expo, where you can buy the samples half off, and try on whatever you want. But you have to buy them right then, she won't let you have them later.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
1417 4th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Marcella's La Boutique
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo