130x130_sq_1315398141676-mg9374

Marcey Brownstein Catering & Events

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

555 West 23rd Street
New York, NY US 10011 (map)

PHONE

212-807-0568

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

It almost goes without saying that, for this, one of the most important days of your life, every detail must be perfect. We feel strongly that it’s our role to ensure perfection,... Read more
It almost goes without saying that, for this, one of the most important days of your life, every detail must be perfect. We feel strongly that it’s our role to ensure perfection, seamlessly executing your grand design. This is an occasion for you to celebrate with your friends and family, and we are there to tend to the details – because you shouldn’t have to.

Marcey Brownstein Catering has access to some of the city's best venues, bakers, and floral designers, and will work with them to ensure that your dreams of this special

day are made into reality. From decor to entertainment, from impeccable service to exquisite food, you and your guests will enjoy and remember this perfect day long after the honeymoon. Whether your wedding is to be simple or spectacular, we can find service providers that fit most every style, taste and budget. Read less
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, Premium Liquor
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
700

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.9/5.0
Leslie was great to work with and incredibly helpful not just in picking food but in scheduling the whole night. She provided guidance when we needed it but didn't impose her ideas on us.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
If I could give Marcey Brownstein Catering & Events 10 stars I would! I was so lucky to have her cater my recent outdoor wedding in East Hampton, and I would recommend her without hesitation to any bride! From start to finish, Marcey and her team were an absolute joy to work with!

Marcey's lovely personality put me at ease from our first meeting. She is smart, professional, polished, and organized. She is proud of the service that she offers and I felt that she genuinely cared about my wedding. I told Marcey that my favorite cook is Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa) and Marcey nailed the wedding menu selection.

Her food really is "wow"-worthy and countless guests complimented our hors d'oeuvres, drinks, and dinner menu. We had a few hors d'oeuvres from cocktail hour that ended up all over Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest because they were so unique and delicious. It felt like every time I looked over my shoulder someone was taking a photo of the food.

My wedding day was truly one of the happiest days of my life, and I owe this to key vendors like Marcey. She created a delicious menu that impressed our guests, made sure that the bar was stocked with plenty of top-tier beverages, and made everyone feel like they were eating in a five-star restaurant with the best service!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
Marcey Brownstein Catering was on the preferred caterer list provided by our venue, 632 on Hudson. I interviewed all of the caterers on the list and there was absolutely no question that Leslie Russell at Marcey Brownstein was the person to work with. From our first phone call, Leslie was warm and engaging, and clearly possessed expertise on how to structure the cocktail style reception we envisioned. She also is intimately familiar with 632 on Hudson. When we met with her in person, we were even more impressed. In addition to helping us create the best menu, she provided great advice on music, and hooked me up with excellent hair and make-up people. Oh, and the guest couldn't stop talking about how delicious the food was.

There were only two minor glitches at our otherwise perfect event. Neither glitch had anything to do with Leslie or our catering, but she swooped right in and set things straight. On top of her professionalism and expertise, she is a lot of fun to work with. And, we learned at the end of the evening, that she did all of this for us on her birthday! We recommend her highly, especially if you're considering the wonderful 632 on Hudson for your event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gillian
Wedding:
11/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a fantastic experience this past weekend at our wedding! We met Leslie when touring the Foundry for our wedding. She was so excited and warm that we had a great feeling about working with her. We also looked at Raging Skillet, which is also awesome (and had catered 2 of our friends' weddings), but we felt meeting Leslie was meant to be and it was! Leslie spent the months leading up to our wedding creating the perfect menu and bar selection based on our favorite foods and multi-cultural backgrounds. Leslie and the chefs were as excited about incorporating our Texas / Jamaican / British / Floridian / NY / Irish backgrounds as we were. When Leslie learned we wanted to bring Jamaican patties from a bakery in Queens, the chefs studied, experimented and created teeny tiny Jamaican patties for cocktail hour that were amazing. It was such an amazing gesture. And the Jamaican family really approved! Leslie was so flexible and extremely responsive during our planning -- right up until the day of our wedding. She kept me calm and reigned me in so things wouldn't get out of budget! We have gotten tons of compliments from our guests about the drinks and food and the few bites we had were delicious. (It's true, that after all your planning you'll see that you'll eat almost nothing at your own wedding, so make sure to have some given right to you!) The bar was also very important to us. She gave us great wine options to choose from. And my husband is a big bourbon buff, and I wanted to surprise him with a tasting bar. Leslie helped me put it together and it was a huge hit. The Marcey Brownstein team is amazing. You'll be thrilled!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ian
Wedding:
10/27/2013
4.2/5.0
Finding an NYC caterer who a) was able to do kosher and b) understood our sophisticated philosophies about food (local, organic, non-GMO, sustainable, creative) was a real pain until we contacted Leslie Russell at Marcey Brownstein. What a find and in our neighborhood, too. The food for our event was AMAZING. Really! It was one of the highlights and a huge hit with guests. We did a dairy kosher meal. The salmon was superb. Get the the wild mushroom and fontina hors d'oeuvre. The pumpkin brulee thing -- well, Mom had two. Leslie is incredible -- and lives up to what someone said: "She is the best wedding planner in the city." And I only learned that after we hired her. I'm a fan. She is totally fun to work with. Great, great energy. Amazing skills and approach. She made us feel totally confident that the wedding would be great and it was. I'd hire her again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.8/5.0
My fiancé and I met with several caterers and found none to be as accommodating, friendly, and professional as Leslie was at Marcey Brownstein. She made sure that our budget was respected and was receptive to all of our ideas and overall vision for our wedding menu. Although we personally did not eat very much on the wedding day, all of our guests were blown away with the quality of food and the attention to detail. Leslie was very easy to get in touch with via e-mail and phone, especially in the few days before the wedding. The waitstaff and bartenders were extremely professional and attentive and they all had genuine smiles on their faces all night!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Judi
Wedding:
8/25/2013
1.5/5.0
Sometimes one little "oops" can have a big effect. In our case the "oops" was that Leslie Russell, the one we thought would be on top of everything at our daughter's wedding, forgot to order the right food. She forgot that we wanted to include sliders, hotdogs and french fries for the kids. Oops.
We picked Marcey Brownstein because of Leslie. After interviewing three caterers, we thought that she just seemed to know exactly what was what and could really be there for us. We thought that under her care nothing would go wrong. Oops.
But I guess the thing that was most appalling was the way it was handled. Olga, who she sent to the wedding (we thought she would be there) apparently knew the food wasn't there but didn't say anything to us. I didn't notice until I saw my young niece and nephew pining over a lack of foods for them and then it hit me - I never saw the sliders, hot dogs and french fries.
But I decided that I was too happy to start complaining about it during the party. I hoped to get a call from Leslie the next morning, at the very least to see how it went, and I would speak to her then.
Amazingly, I never got a call, and so at 3pm I called her.
Small talk, small talk....until i finally said, uh, where was the food. And the answer? Oops. That's right. Oops. It was totally her fault and she made a mistake and that's it. No offer. No reduction. Nothing but oops.
Really?
In an age of Weddingwire.com, I guess "oops" isn't enough for me.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcey Brownstein Catering and Events is the best. We worked mainly with Leslie who is a God send! However,every member of their staff was wonderful. Our wedding was destination for us and she made it so easy to plan. She helped us create a timeline for our event and gave honest suggestions. She was so accommodating with our tasting and rental selections. We were able to plan this wedding with only 2 visits to New York. During our consultation she met with us for approx. 2 hours and even had drinks and treats for us to enjoy. She put a menu together for us and we were able to adjust the selections as needed. After the tasting, she then adjusted the menu and flavors to our liking. We were able to sit down with the chefs to discuss our likes and dislikes. I even sent a recipe for one of the desert selections and they used it. I was amazed. Our guests commented on how great the food and service were. It was more like dining at a fine restaurant then eating your traditional wedding/banquet food. They even provided our bar service with only top shelf alcohol and fulfilled our requests with that as well. I would use them again in a heartbeat. They are more than caterers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to say enough about Marcey Brownstein Catering. I worked with Leslie Russell, who was wonderful from beginning to end. Here's a list of all the ways in which Leslie and her team really blew me away:

1) Having been to weddings where you either can't eat your hors d'oeuvres and hold your wine, or where you bite into something and half of it falls down your dress, I needed hors d'oeuvres that you could eat in one bite. Leslie understood this and everything we served was easy to eat.

2) The hors d'oeuvres were also AMAZING. We got comments on them all night. Everyone had a different favorite and REMEMBERED what it was - I still hear about them. Also, the fish entree at dinner got rave reviews. Delicious fish at a catered event? Who has ever heard of such a thing? Marcey Brownstein pulled it off.

3) The service was impeccable. During dinner, a line of waiters would come in, each holding two dishes, and an entire table was served at once. That attention to detail really added to the classy feeling of the evening.

4) Leslie was so accommodating. We did some signature cocktails at our event and when a few weeks before we tracked down a different, and very specific, recipe for one of them, Leslie made it happen.

5) Leslie was also helpful from beginning to end with things above and beyond the catering. Leslie was the one who reminded me about a walkthrough at my venue and to suggest the easiest way to get it scheduled. And when I was separated from my maid of honor immediately after the ceremony, guess who bustled my dress? Yup, Leslie.

6) All the little details that you don't think about until you're at a wedding and get irritated were thoughtfully considered and prepared for. For example, you never waited more than 30 seconds at the bar.

I couldn't recommend Marcey Brownstein more, and am particularly grateful for having had the opportunity to work with Leslie.

-Rebecca Crosby (Wertzer)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bess
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I would absolutely recommend Marcey Brownstein Catering for a wedding. After researching over six catering companies for our cocktail-style Brooklyn wedding, Marcey Brownstein offered a competitive price with a professional, knowledgeable, and warm attitude, which convinced us to work with their team. And they were phenomenal! In particular, it was Leslie Russell who made it happen. Despite the fact that most of our wedding planning happened a month leading up to the big day, Leslie always made us feel totally comfortable and confident that we were right on track. Everything came together beautifully, thanks to many suggestions and advice from Leslie. For instance, my mom is allergic to shellfish so we decided last minute to cut out any seafood - no biggie! Leslie had great ideas for rounding out the menu. Advice on laying out the space at The Green Building? She was on it. Recommendations for a car service? Done.
Working with the Marcey Brownstein team was one of the easiest and most enjoyable aspects of wedding planning. Our meetings were always informative and timely, our tasting was delicious and on point, and the execution at the wedding was flawless. The staff an food got rave reviews from guests, and everyone left full and satisfied. No one had to hunt down a server, and guests were pleasantly surprised when their drinks were replaced - mid-dancing! Did I mention the food was amazing? Every one of our guests said it was the best 'wedding food' they'd ever had. I must also mention that Leslie did a tremendous job helping to prep the space and keeping the reception on schedule. You can trust her instinct regarding planning. She has a ton of experience so you don't have to second-guess her decisions. If you're in the initial phases of wedding planning, I'll save you the time and effort of researching catering companies -- hurry up and book Marcey Brownstein (and cross your fingers for Leslie!) for unbelievably delicious food and impeccable service.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Leslie Russell and her team truly made our wedding better than we had ever imagined. We fell in love with the food from the first tasting and agreed that it tasted like what we would order at a nice restaurant and was sooo much better than standard wedding food. Leslie was almost psychic, curating a menu for us that exactly matched what we wanted, even before she ever met us.
On our wedding day, Leslie's team were so welcoming and friendly and beamed at us the whole day while wishing us well and congratulating us. Leslie herself managed to oversee the set-up and food prep and coordinate all the moving parts of the wedding while at the same time finding time to check in with me and help to calm me down before the ceremony.
During the dinner, her servers presented the food so professionally that my husband(!!) and I kept pausing mid-bite to watch them put the food down on tables. They were also very attentive to everyone's needs during the meal and I even noticed that they observed our guests during dinner and if they noticed that a centerpiece was obstructing conversation, they would swoop in and move it out of the way. The food was as extraordinary as we expected from the tasting and all our guests raved about it.
Along with choosing a groom and a venue, I think that choosing a caterer is what can really make or break a wedding. I would never hesitate to recommend Marcey Brownstein (and Leslie Russell) to any bride!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
What can be said about Marcey Brownstein Catering & Events and most specifically, about Marcey herself that hasn't been said already! Marcey catered my husband's 50th birthday party and truly knocked it out of the park. However when I say "catered," what I should really say is acted as the Event Planner extraordinaire. When I contacted Marcey, all I knew is that I wanted to throw a fabulous party for my husband's 50th that included all of our closest friends and family, we had to play 80s music (per my husband's request), but most importantly, that the party would be unlike most other 50th birthday parties one typically goes to in NYC . I didn't even have a venue when I contacted her. Marcey not only helped me find a venue - Ramscale studio which she told me was one of her all time favs and after visiting it, I saw why, but she also helped me create an overall 80s night that my husband and all of our guests still talk about a year later! Marcey helped me source fabulous furniture and all the necessary 80s accessories - including a glass-mirrored bar, as well as a DJ who loved the 80s as much as my husband did. Of course, Marcey created a phenomenal menu that featured all of my husband's favorite items. She even convinced her staff to dress up 80s style. Marcey's staff was top-notch - professional, friendly and fun. If you are looking for a caterer to come up with a wonderful menu and delicious food - Marcey is it in spades - but if you are looking to find an extraordinary caterer who delivers catering services and more --- don't hesitate to look anywhere else --- Marcey Brownstein Catering is it and then some! My next party…for sure will be catered by MBC!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
The short version: You just don't get more pro than Marcey and her team.

The long version: We sampled several caterers in the NYC area, ending our tour with Marcey Brownstein, and they simply blew us away. They served us every dish that our guests would taste at our cocktail-party wedding reception, and the menu rivaled some of our favorite restaurants. Short ribs with fingerling potato salad! Grilled shrimp on rosemary skewers! Heavenly mushroom risotto! Amazing cheese and cured meats! Lemongrass gelato! It was an easy decision to go with them. They even went above and beyond to work with our budget.

On the big day, the food was every bit as delicious as it had been at the tasting. Do you know how hard it is to get risotto exactly right for 85 people? It's hard for me, but no problem for Marcey's team. I know this because her excellent staff made sure I actually ate food, and that I always had a drink in hand. The entire team was delightful, and my guests even commented on how warm and accommodating they were. It was like a well-oiled machine set up entirely for my happiness.

Hire Marcey Brownstein and give your guests the best wedding food they've ever had. You're welcome!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nyctrichick
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.4/5.0
Marcey Brownstein Catering promised to put together a spectacular menu for our wedding and they did not disappoint! The food, drinks and service at our wedding were unparalleled and we are still hearing from our guests how much they enjoyed the food. I can say without reservation that our wedding menu was the best I've ever had at any wedding. We were disappointed however with a few logistical issues on the day of. Leslie Russell was mostly amazing to deal with, super responsive and helpful up until our wedding day, she even helped us find our florist when we were down to the wire. The only complaints we have are that the signature drink we had agreed upon at our tasting was not actually the one served at our wedding, with no explanation for the substitute. Also, our wedding venue was an unusual space which did not provide enough seating for all of our guests, who were left standing throughout the space during our ceremony. Having worked with this venue before, Leslie assured us that she would coordinate the logistics for a smooth ceremony, but when the time came, she left our guests standing on the staircase which made it very difficult for me to get down to the altar. Also, just a tip if you plan to work with MB catering, they require that you provide a minimim number of guests and if you fall below, you're charged for the minimum number. The tip is to provide a much lower number than you think you'll have. In the end, we had to pay for a larger number of guests than attended because of a miscommunication with MB regarding the minimum number of guests. Other than these few minor glitches, we were overall very pleased with this caterer and would recommend them to others.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maya
Wedding:
11/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Food was very important for us, and we wanted to make sure that everything we served at our wedding stood out and was truly special. Some reviews led us to Marcey Brownstein, and after speaking with Leslie we were completely sold. Leslie was a dream to work with, being both flexible and super responsive (replies to emails within the hour) and experienced enough to help guide us through the menu selection and planning process.
Leslie went far above and beyond her role as catering manager, she acted as a day of event coordinator as well, helping to manage deliveries, timing of the ceremony, having her staff (who were amazing) handle coat check and corrall guests, etc etc etc. She paid attention to every little detail so we didn't have to (and even made sure we ate, which apparently lots of couples forget to do).
The food. It was perfect in every way. The passed hors d'eurves were plentiful, carefully crafted, and beautifully presented. Same with the main courses. The flavors and quality of every dish was far beyond what you expect for large format events like weddings, and we're still getting compliments and rave reviews from our guests three weeks later. Specialty cocktails, desserts, and a late night grilled cheese service were all an absolute delight.
We'd recommend Marcey Brownstein catering to anyone looking for amazing food that breaks the mold of typical wedding fare. And if you're lucky enough to work with Leslie Russel, get ready to sit back and enjoy the least stressful part of your planning process.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
saramiri
Wedding:
10/8/2006
4.8/5.0
Working with Leslie and Marcey at Marcey Brownstein catering was the highlight of planning my wedding. Not only did they "get" the vibe of our event and provide appropriate sample menus, but it was a joy to work with them. Most importantly: the food was the best (people still gush to me about the drinks, in particular - pear ginger bellini...yum) and the service was wonderful. The only issue of which to be wary: this is not a budget caterer (though it is also not outrageous and they totally worked with us to make it work). I think we paid about $75 per person for a lunch buffet plus extra for cocktail hour, open bar, etc. The price below is so high because they took care of all our rentals, planning etc. Bottom line: loved them.
Services Used: Catering, DJ

MAP

 
555 West 23rd Street, New York, NY 10011 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Marcey Brownstein Catering & Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1315398141676-mg9374