130x130_sq_1297466040217-feliciab.adj

Maria's Bridal Designs

Fairfax , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

9858 A main st.
Fairfax, VA US 22031 (map)

PHONE

703-865-8338

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Unique, exotic bridal fashions for our special customers.

We believe in a low-pressure, relaxed atmosphere! Our saleswomen do NOT work on commision, and we believe in giving... Read more
Unique, exotic bridal fashions for our special customers.

We believe in a low-pressure, relaxed atmosphere! Our saleswomen do NOT work on commision, and we believe in giving every customer the attention they deserve!

Y, tambien, se habla español.

We also provide professional alterations, and wedding dress preservation. Additionally, we are owned by a designer who is an excellent seamstress and can custom-make the dress of your dreams.

So, come pay us a visit! You'll never go back. Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Jewelry, Shoes, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
We ask for appointments on Saturdays. We want to insure that you receive quality customer service. You can can come in anytime to just look, but if you would like to try on we need an appointment to reserve a fitting room for you.
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
For bridal gowns, we recommend 6-9 months in order to allow time for the gown to be delivered and leave time for alterations or other changes, should they be needed. Typically, the wedding gown will arrive within 5 to 6 months. As for bridesmaids, flower girls, special occasion, and mother-of-the-bride gowns, we recommend 4-5 months. These gowns may take a little less time to be delivered, but we want to leave a little window of time for the same reason as the bridal gowns. Most accessories take as little as 3 weeks to be delivered. Can a dress be ordered in shorter time? Yes. You have a couple of different options. First, we can always rush and super-rush a dress in order to receive it between 6 to 8 weeks. This is an added fee determined by the company. (Note: super-rush is a little more expensive than the regular rush. You can expect to pay between $50 to $150, depending on the company.) If you have less than 6 weeks, we do sell off-the-rack dresses. The dresses purchased off-the-rack would be professionally cleaned and, if needed, altered to fit.
How often do you receive new dresses?
We receive dresses at different times but typically in the late winter and late summer.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
Yes. Maria is the owner and the seamstress. She does all of the alterations and designing. For more than 18 years in her home country of Bolivia, Mary Del Carpio created custom haute couture bridal gowns for thousands of customers. She knows what shes doing and she is dedicated to making the customer happy.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
Tiaras, combs, shoes, veils, underskirts, and jewelry .

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MarLascoew22
Wedding:
12/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I heard of Maria's shop a while ago and when I got engaged I decided that I wanted to get my dress from her shop. She was so helpful and all her staff. I am so happy with everything I truly recommend Maria she is so talented and she know what she is doing. I am very thankful to Maria and I wish her success.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sally
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I have been engaged for 2 years and have been looking for my gown for just as long. After trying on at least 75 dresses, I loved something about all of them, but was unable to find one that "WOWED" me. I was referred to Maria's by a friend and scheduled an appointment. I met with the Manager, April, who immediately assessed my predicament. Maria makes custom gowns and we decided that may be the best route to go. For the next two hours we went through photos and designs of gowns as well as looked at numerous swatches of fabric and beading. I still tried on many gowns, but still no "wow" dress. Maria worked with us throughout the process and then drew the exact design I was looking for!! It was budget-conscientious and not nearly expensive as I thought a custom gown would be! A few months later my dress is ready and the most beautiful gown I ever could have imagined! I can NOT WAIT for my wedding day! Thank you, Maria!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with Maria's Bridal Designs. Maria knew exactly what dress would be perfect for me. Thanks to her and her wonderful staff member, Erica, I found the perfect dress after a long and unsuccessful journey of searching for THE one. They were professional, kind and attentive throughout the entire process. Maria was completely honest about what looked good on me and what did not. She even helped pick the perfect veil to go along with the dress. I am glad I trusted Maria b/c not only did I love the dress, but my husband and everyone at the wedding LOVED it too. I highly recommend Maria's Bridal Designs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Jamie
Wedding:
9/8/2012
3.0/5.0
I love my dress. My husband and everyone at my wedding loved my dress. I however did not love my vendor. Maria seems to hire young people who can't get ordering a simple dress correct. When they call you they are super unprofessional. My dress arrived 6 weeks after it was supposed to, good thing I ordered it well in advance. Also when I went to pick it up the girl wouldn't let me try it on because she had just pressed it. Seriously? Now I understand why people go with more expensive store, you are treated better. The store is really dirty and the dressing rooms leave something to be desired. There is NO seating for your guests. If you have more than one bride there at a time you are screwed. Also Maria goes back to her country several times a year, bc she has another store there, so getting a hold of her certain months is impossible and when that is the month that your dress is supposed to arrive it's super ANNOYING.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abbey
Wedding:
6/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria made my bridal dress by hand- a true haute-couture gown with the best materials and incredible attention to detail. I brought her 3 different Elie Saab designs I wanted represented in my wedding dress.... and she actually made a vision...a hybrid dress that is simply stunning for a fraction of the price! I cannot fathom why anyone would go buy an off the rack dress when Maria is an option...to have your own gown that is a one of a kind creation, created by the bride.. is unreal- esp in overpriced DC....her creation is easily the most amazing detail of the wedding.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria’s Bridal had exactly what I was looking for when I didn’t even know what that was to begin with. On my initial visit the sales women were so helpful and sincerely complementary I felt completely at ease. There were many options that all look great as the selection had a great range to narrow down the type of look I wanted to achieve. Before walking out that day I was handed a card with a great price. I kept that in my wallet while continuing my search and kept finding myself comparing all other dresses to the one I found at Maria’s. Eventually I knew it was time to go back as I now knew the dress I had tried on was the ONE. Sure enough, this was it and I knew it! I recently went for my first fitting and could not be any happier. With custom measurements taken, the dress arrived and fit like a glove. With Maria’s keen eye, she evaluated the dress during the fitting and made notes for minor adjustments to really achieve perfection. With Maria having the ability to make spot on modifications this was an added plus knowing she could do whatever was needed in a pinch. The dresses are all on mannequins so there is no need to flip through bags and imagine what it would look like. Customer service is great as the group works together and really makes you feel special as full attention is given to you. The experience was great and I would 100% recommend Maria’s Bridal. As I am 6 weeks away from my wedding I am super excited to be wearing my dress selected from Maria’s.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LadyD
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I found out about this place from google maps. they had great reviews and I didn't want to waste time. they were the only store I visited and I am very happy I visited them first. They are very professional at what they do and they have excellent customer service. My dress required several alterations that they did gladly and perfectly. I would highly recommend them for any one.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria's carried a designer I liked for bridesmaids and I initially went looking for their gowns. I went on a Saturday and even though they were busy, they allowed me to try on some gowns also when I saw some i liked on their display mannequins. I ended up finding my gown purely by accident! They gave me a great price on my gown and my bridemaids gowns and were friendly through the entire appointment unlike some snooty shops I have been in before. Definitely recommend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ljvece
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.9/5.0
My dress was perfect. Very few alterations were needed on any of my bridesmaids. They were great!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/18/2012
4.8/5.0
I truly cannot say enough good things about Maria's. When I went into the salon, I was only there to try a few things to see what I liked. However, my consultant, Erica, was fantastic, and without applying any pressure whatsoever for a sale, she helped me find the perfect gown for me! The dress came in earlier than anticipated (always a plus) so I came in for a no-fuss preliminary fitting, during which Maria listened to my ideas for the gown and told me exactly how she was going to make them happen. When I came back for my second fitting, I had dropped a size and the dress was WAY too big on me, which usually means tons of hassle and lots of money...but not here. Once we finally got our schedules lined up, which proved a teeny bit challenging, they remeasured me and completely remade the dress so that when I came back for my final fitting, it was PERFECT...and the alterations were priced incredibly low! We loved the service here so much that we decided to get my veil and headpiece - both expertly matched to my gown by April - and all our bridesmaids' dresses from them too. I got so many comments on the gorgeous gown throughout my entire wedding! Maria is an incredibly talented designer and seamstress, and she and her staff are all an absolute dream to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sunny S.
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria's Bridal Design is amazing! They are wonderful, attentive and helpful. The staff are so nice and professional and Maria is a fashion genius. I am short and kind of plump. I had no idea what kind of dress I wanted. They fitted me with the most gorgeous and high-quality dress I've ever seen. It was beautiful beyond my wildest dreams and it was a very good price! Not to mention, I wasn't even thinking of going with that style, but you can't go wrong with Maria's consultation. My now husband was blown away when I walked down the aisle. I live in Seattle, so my opportunities to visit Northern Virginia were quite limited. Maria and her team worked with my schedule and accommodated me with my unusual circumstances. They promised to get me my dress while I was visiting DC (I ordered my dress in the summer) and they delivered! I also bought a gorgeous matching veil. It was the perfect package. You will be very happy going to Maria's Bridal. They are attentive, caring, and the customer service is wonderful! No other boutique can provide such an experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnjt
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.1/5.0
I had a few problems with this bridal shop to begin with, once the owner got involved things got fixed eventually. The dress was perfect, however it was strapless and didn't stay up well during the wedding/reception not sure if this is because of the alterations or not. My maid of honor went to all the fittings with me but come time to "put it on" she had no clue how to do it because the bridal shop never let "her" do it herself in the store. I missed our family dinner two nights before the wedding because my moh and bridesmaids all had been trying to figure out how to lace my dress it took two hours!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AFitzWedding
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria and her staff were AWESOME! I am beyond happy I got my dress from them and wouldn't even think of getting it somewhere else. Maria's was the first place I went dress shopping and they did a great job of helping me narrow down what it was I was looking for. I found the most beautiful and perfect dress I could ever imagine. Everyone who worked there was so nice and put all their focus and attention on me. They were very personable, knew my name and the dress I ordered. I even dropped in without an appointment one day to show my friend the dress and they knew right away which one was mine and didn't hesitate to pull it out. My engagement was rather short so, getting the dress in in time I knew would be a challenge, but they went above and beyond to make sure everything got in in plenty of time, and my dress fit like a glove. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this boutique to someone shopping for their wedding dress. You are in very capable hands with Maria.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.8/5.0
Maria is like the dress whisperer. I'd been sort of happy with some other dresses at other salons, but I walked into Maria's and said that I loved Pronovias designs. She looked me up and down and seconds later emerged with my dream dress. She knows her dresses and she knows how to match them with people. The only negative I could ever say was that for a bustle that costs what it does to make, I wish that the stupid thing hadn't kept falling out while I was dancing. That may well be the burden of wearing a huge dress with a huge train, though. Otherwise Maria and her staff are a dream - so kind and so responsive and so sensitive to the needs of a crazy, stressed bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kearney1022
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
April at Maria's Bridal was so helpful!!! She always had a smile on her face and knew what she was talking about!!! I was worried about doing a strapless dress because I was told in high school that my shoulders were too broad for strapless. April convinced me to try on a few dresses and I ended up choosing strapless - and LOVED it!!!! She was always following up on appointments and ensuring we had everything needed for the big day. They also do the preservation which is a huge plus!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KellyB
Wedding:
10/8/2011
2.8/5.0
Wow! I went with my MOH and mom on a Saturday and it was a zoo! I got help from a young girl who was "helping out for the day" and had no idea what she was doing. It was impossible to get someone who knew what was going on to answer questions or clip the dress to make it presentable to come out of the dressing room in (Samples were a size 6, I'm a 12!). Perhaps it would be better on a weekday, but I do not recommend going on a weekend. The dressing rooms were also WAY too small for a bride, a poofy dress and someone to assist with the dresses. The prices were also very high for my budget. I had a much better experience at a smaller shop in Falls Church (Rosalin's) and ended up getting my dress from there for half the price of anything at Maria's and couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1294203215187-89
Laurel
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.5/5.0
Maria's had a wonderful selection of dresses. They were about my third stop on the dress hunt and the more dresses I tried on the more I said "Nope, we need to go back to Maria's". Erica was fantastic to work with. She is such a sweetheart, and really listens to what you want and somehow manages to make it ten times better. The only issue I had was that I was told my dress would be in at the beginning of July. The dress didn't actually get there until 3 weeks before my wedding (in October). That I wasn't happy with, but I was lucky because the designer I chose specifically makes the dress to fit your body so I didn't need alterations. If I had needed them, we would have been cutting it close and it just would have added stress. Overall, I had a great experience with Maria's and I would definitely recommend them to other brides. There selection is wonderful and it's pretty impossible not to find the dress of your dreams there.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Loved the help with April (the manager) and Maria (the owner), my only problem was that my dress was supposed to arrive sometime around Aug. 27, but they never called me to tell me that it would be arriving late. Otherwise, it was a perfect experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I did not buy my dress from Maria's because I eventually got one from a family member, but I had this dress altered at Maria's. I chose Maria's because when I was trying on dresses, they were so very helpful, so I wanted to give them my business. April and her team there were very helpful and the dress was perfectly altered by Maria. I highly recommend the gals and Marias Bridal Designs!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.8/5.0
The Maria's staff were a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RKRobertson
Wedding:
8/12/2011
4.5/5.0
My dress was AMAZING and Maria's worked with me on the price since I was on a budget. Also, Maria did a fabulous job with the bustle; it was one of the best jobs I've ever seen.
I had a very difficult time getting anyone to call me back with the delivery date for both my dress and my bridesmaids' dresses- I had to call them several times. I ordered my dress in October for an August wedding and it didn't arrive until a few weeks before my big day because I "kept getting pushed back" when orders came in after mine for weddings before my date.
I'd still recommend them but be aware that you will need to be the one to follow up!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marlena
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding dress hunt was a bit stressful. I looked all over the NOVA area and was disappointed by the selection and the pushy saleswomen. I was almost hopeless until I found a dress in a magazine that I loved! Since it was a designer dress, it was super expensive and way over my dress budget. After searching for the perfect dress all over, finally, I found Maria! I noticed on her website that she designed dresses in her country and I wondered if she would be up for making a custom dress for me based on the picture I found in the magazine.
I made an appointment for that Saturday! Upon arrival, I was greeted with warm, friendly faces. There were so many women at the boutique that morning but I felt adequately attended to! Maria and her staff are amazing. I did not feel pressured to buy ANYTHING! For me, this was important because I felt such pressure at every single boutique I visited.

When I met with Maria, I presented her with the picture of my dream dress and asked her if she would make it. She was definitely up for the challenge. Over the next couple months, I came in a couple times for fittings, and even was almost an hour late once, and she still met me with a smile. She went above and beyond to find the perfect silk and the perfect lace for my dress. Even after we already decided on a fabric she would find something even better for me the next time I went in! I went for my final fitting today and the dress is beautiful! Absolutely stunning! She made the dress exactly how I wanted it and the quality is unbelievable. I am so impressed with her work and so happy that I asked her to make my dress. She also custom made my veil with lace that matches my dress! So beautiful. I don't think I could be happier.

Maria's Bridal is amazing. Maria and her staff are professional and friendly and I can tell they care so much about their brides! They were all such a pleasure to work with! I highly recommend Maria's Bridal to brides-to-be, bridesmaids, and Mothers-of the Bride! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I had bought my wedding dress second-hand, and since there was unique pleating all down the train, I wanted to make sure it got altered at a place that has seen and worked with the style before. Since Maria's was one of the only bridal salons in the area that carried that style, I brought it in to be altered.

The dress was badly altered the first time around, and Maria worked carefully to cut away the uneven train and to take in the sides and fix the bad alterations. She was patient and listened to all my concerns, and altered the dress multiple times to get it just right.

The salon was flexible in their hours, which was great as the big day got closer and I had to change my final fitting multiple times to accomodate my schedule. I would recommend Maria's alterations services, since she performed a miracle and made my dress perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Maria's Bridal Designs responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review, and glad we could help you. Come back and visit us again.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julybride11
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
I bought my wedding dress from Maria's and my mother ordered her dress there as well. It was such a lovely experience everytime I went into the shop. I didn't require many fittings, Maria took measurements when I ordered the dress and it came in just the right size, so it was very easy. Maria put in the bustle that was beautiful and my mom's dress was perfect as well, after a little bit of hemming from Maria. It was wonderful not to have to worry about how the dress would be. Everyone I dealt with at the shop was very professional and the dress was beautiful! Erica was very helpful in showing one of my bridesmaid's how to get me into the dress and do the bustle.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NNorton
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I am absolutely impressed with Maria's Bridal and would recommend it to every future bride. I was on a budget wedding, and found my dream dress for a great price. During the dress search, I learned how expensive lace dresses can be. I found the perfect match at Maria's Bridal Designs - the dress I bought is lace from top to bottom. Excellent service and an incredbibly helpful staff. I couldn't have been happier... so thank you, Maria!! You rock!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ysa
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.4/5.0
La mejor forma de hacerlo es mi idioma: Despues de probar diferentes tiendas finalmente llegue a Maria's Designs, Erica fue clara, especifica, y te muestra su opinion pero siempre tomando en cuenta al cliente. Luego de mostrarme diferentes modelos, ademas de comentar que tienen marcas exclusivas, llegue a enamorarme del modelo Fuente de la linea Pronovias, es hermoso, y llego en un tiempo considerable. Todos mis invitados comentaban de mi vestido, es un sueño. Luego lo lleve a la tienda nuevamente para lavar y preservar, ya que hacen ese servicio tambien. Mil gracias Erica y Maria.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josie
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Maria and her crew were extremely friendly. I had my dress customed made from Spain and due to what happened in Japan, it delayed the shipment of my dress. I finally received it 2 weeks prior to my wedding and was a bit worried that they wouldn't have it ready. However, to my surprise, they had it ready 5 days before my wedding. It fit perfectly and received so many compliments. They're by far the best around!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't enough about Maria's Bridal Designs. Maria is simply amazing. My dress was gorgeous and the bridesmaids looked incredible. Several of the girls' dresses were too big and she tailored them to look perfect. You would have never known they came two sizes too big. We also had to have last minute alteraions done on one dress and she made them within 15 minutes at the salon. She and her staff are such nice people and are so helpful! They also offer great deals, for instance, since i bought my dress there, the girls got 15% off their dresses. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jubie230
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Maria's was the first and then the last place I went to when dress shopping! I went to so many places, but Maria's really had so many of the dresses I loved. The first difference is that their dresses are on mainicans so you can really SEE them versus trying to push through clear plastice bags on a rack. The dress are all well-cut and well-made using elegant materials. Even the lower priced dresses hold a certain standard, which is still affordable. Maria, herself, is often in the shop and does the alterations, so you can feel assured that the dress will be perfect for your body. I kept going back with bridesmaids anf friends to try the dress on and they were very willing to let me do this. The staff was always curteous, even on a Saturday afternoon when the shop was busy. They work by appointment, so you are promised the attention to detail that you want when dress shopping.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tmntshimmer
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow, what to say about Maria's. They have blown me away with their service and quality. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and can address any concerns that you may have. Their selection is great and they do whatever they can to make you happy. Their store is slightly smaller (can be very crowded during wedding/prom season and on the weekends), but they really make up for it in service and knowledge. The alterations were fantastic. There were some bumps in the road, mainly because of me and the stress I was under for the wedding. Maria assured me that everything would be perfect and it really was. Maria is an artist with her alterations and is extremely caring/thoughtful. She cares about her brides and wants them to have an amazing day. I wouldn't go anywhere else and had I known they had bridesmaid dresses (the girls bought them somewhere else before I shopped for a gown), then I would have had them purchase and alter them here. They are wonderful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tania
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Maria is AMAZING! There's really not much more to say. She is so incredibly knowledgeable about gowns and fit - when you work with her you really are working with an expert!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1286398403894-p7300348
Kate
Wedding:
12/28/2010
3.7/5.0
I got my dress from Maria's. When we went there to try dresses on, we had a great experience and found a beautiful dress. Maria's staff are very helpful and adept at finding you a beautiful dress for your body style. I received tons of compliments on my dress at our wedding. I bought the dress straight off of the rack and it fit me perfectly without alterations. If this is your situation, I would definitely recommend buying a dress there. However, I needed my dress to have sleeves and to be built up so that it had a higher neck line. When we purchased the dress, Maria looked at it and agreed to do this. We paid for the service. I went in several weeks later for a fitting and to have the sleeves and neck designed. Maria began to make a bolero, which was not what we had requested. We discussed it with her and agreed that was a better choice. She designed the bolero. I went in for a fitting again. She draped the pieces of the bolero on me and fitted it to me. When I went in to pick up the dress and bolero and to try them on for the final time, the lining of one sleeve of the bolero was twisted shut so I couldn't put my arm through it. I waited while Maria re-sewed the lining in. Then there were problems with the placement of the snaps that Maria had sewn to the dress so that the bolero would remain in place. The bolero gapped and pulled if I wasn't standing straight up. Also, the neck and seams on the bolero were not even. I brought the dress home as I needed it the next day and showed it to my mom whose degree is in clothing and design. She looked at the construction of the bolero and was very disappointed. She said that the lining was too big causing the bolero to wing out, there was no serging where there ought to have been, and the spacing allowed for putting the jacket on was way more than necessary. Thankfully my mom was able to fix the bolero. When she called the store they were very apologetic and offered to repair it, but at that point it was too late. We were very disappointed, however, because we paid $250 for them to make the bolero and expected a very professionally made product for that price which we did not receive. If you can wear what you buy there straight off of the rack then definitely get your dress there, but if you need alterations...beware!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.4/5.0
I found Maria's quite by chance. I had an hour to spare and ended up finding my dress. Maria's was the first place I looked for a dress. It was an event I was dreading... I was unhappy with my weight and did not think I would find anything I liked. I went to a few other dress shops, but they were either too "stuffy" or outrageously expensive and I did not like their dresses near as much. I went back to Maria's They really helped me choose the dress since I was really unsure what would look good at that point, but there dresses were the best I found... However, I made a commitment to myself there that I would lose at least 30lbs before the wedding. I asked that my fitting be made tight. Maria did not make it as tight as I wanted, expressing she could take something in, but not out. But I was getting a "tailor made" dress and did not want to pay for alterations. Maria agreed that if I needed more alterations, she would do them for free.

And 45 lbs later, I was nearly at the altar and back at Maria's dress shop for alterations. Maria was a bit shocked, and a bit worried, but she kept her word. She made the alterations, for free. The laced back became a bit too narrow even after alterations (It was closed shut to nearly the top to accommodate my smaller waist), so I wish I had the dress smaller to begin with, but it felt great to show off my new figure and that was a small tradeoff. The only other tradeoff was on length. I tried on the dress with shoes in the store that were comfortable despite the 3 inch heel. I tried buying several others at that height, but hated them all. When I went back, that shoe was gone and because I lost so much weight, she could not raise the dress hem anymore without messing with the dress design (she already had to take it up). So, I was stuck with a higher heel than I was comfortable wearing. In the end, I did not care, but I would suggest being under not over height if you don't know your shoe.

She made cap sleeves that added a softness and elegance for the ceremony, but being able to take them off for the reception gave me that party feel. The dress is a little worse for the wear in that I danced all night with everyone. I suppose, a ball grown dress is probably meant for the more sedate bride, but I loved the swish of the billowing skirt and did not worry about what was happening to the ends… I was having fun and felt beautiful at the same time! Despite the juxtaposition, I loved having a five foot train flow behind me as I walked down the grassy knoll to the arch overlooking the foothills. It had a fairy tale feel, for a wedding that has been 17 years in the making!

Anyway, my experience with Maria and her team was a pleasure and would definitely recommend them if you are looking for an affordable, friendly place to get the dress of your dreams.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1268610991313-dsc01041mike
rockinfree
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I'm so glad I found Maria's Bridal Designs! After hearing not-so-great things about the bigger stores like David's Bridal, I was determined to support and find a dress at a smaller, local boutique. I had a couple places in mind to check out, but after my first visit to Maria's with my maid of honor, I found my dress! A few months later we went back in search of bridesmaid dresses, and found those there as well :) The staff at Maria's (and Maria herself) were super nice and accommodating, and eventually knew my maid of honor and I by name. One of my friends who got married a few weeks before me also got her dresses there, so I definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1287277063399-thomasbirkbyhouse7
bashfulle
Wedding:
10/8/2010
0.6/5.0
Terrible experience. There was one sales rep in the shop (who smelled like stale cigarettes), and 3 brides trying on dresses. I had made an appointment about 2 weeks in advance and the rep seemed less than enthused at my being there. Maria, who was in the shop, would come out and watch us, but then would disappear and not help at all. The sales rep sent me into the dressing room with a lace up dress and never offered to help out. She refused to make any suggestions on other gowns for me to try on, and said that all the dresses in the back were "couture dresses, and I wouldn't be interested". (She never asked what our price range was, so not sure why she didn't want to show me the "couture" dresses. Especially since one of the reasons I selected that salon is they sell Pronovias.

In addition, the shop space is horrible. There was no place for my mother to sit... ok, they did offer her a tiny stool in a corner, or said she could sit on the floor. There were no 3-way mirrors, and the mirror they had for me to use had only about 2-feet of space, so I couldn't get a good look at the dress other than up close. I never did see the backs of the dresses I was trying on.

They do not allow pictures.

Maria was nice enough, and offered to make any alterations I wanted, but of course, she's a dress designer and had every intention of charging who-knows-what for all the alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best I could have hoped for. From the day I set foot inside Marias and had the help of April, I felt calm, collected, and like I really wanted to buy my dress from them. In fact, I found a dress elsewhere, and had Marias order it (they now carry that line) so I could work with them -- that's how unbelievably wonderful this boutique is. The staff is responsive, helpful, thoughtful, experts in the field, not pushy AT ALL, pleasant, cheerful, and make you feel as wonderful as you deserve to feel during this process. Kudos to you all!! In fact, I miss seeing them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1283890997567-backofme
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.4/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with Maria's Bridal Designs. I absolutely loved my dress and it fit perfectly. I was really nervous about wearing a strapless dress, and very skeptical about the idea of a built-in bra, however this dress was made to my exact measurements and it fit perfectly. No bra needed at all! I was well supported and did not find myself pulling the dress out throughout the event.

Maria is amazing. I wanted to have my veil adjusted one week before the wedding, and it only took her five minutes to get it to the length I wanted. The bustle was gorgeous-- it had over 10 different ties!

Also, when I first ordered my dress, they called me the next day told me that it had been discontinued. I was crushed by this, so they called the designer and pulled some strings, and convinced them to make one more dress in that design for me. I was thrilled. I haven't seen another dress I like nearly as much, so I am really glad that Maria's shop was able to order that one for me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Maria is an absolutely amazing designer and her prices are more than fair. She went above and beyond my expectations of redesigning part of my gown and I will be forever grateful to her for that. I was a little upset when I went in for my second fitting, as it was not the way we had discussed at the first fitting, but she did everything she could at that second fitting to make me happy and when I saw my dress completely done... it was exactly as I had pictured and exactly as I had wanted. Again, Maria is absolutely amazing when it comes to design! AMAZING! I do have one recommendation when it comes to the staff at Marisa's Bridal. Stick to what you want. The staff tried to talk me out of getting a white gown -- they explained that it would "flush" me out and not look good with my skin tone (I purchased the dress in the fall and my "fall" skin tone is much different than my "summer" skin tone, which was when my wedding was). Luckily I had brought a friend and listened to her and stuck with my decision of getting a white gown. Come my dress fittings, those same staff members were commenting on how well the white looked with my skin tone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
6/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOVE MARIA'S BRIDAL!!

Maria's was the first boutique I went to and I felt comfortable the minute I walked in. Maria and her staff made me feel like they were more like my aunt and cousins than sales people. They truly took the time to learn about me and my vision for my wedding day. Once they had an idea of what I wanted, they were great about selecting dresses that were "me". Being indecisive, I decided I needed to go look at other dress shops just in case...it was a waste of my time. Every other shop I went to disappointed me with their selection and customer service.

When I came back a month later, Maria welcomed me back with open arms and we tried on a few more dresses. She was completely honest with how she thought things looked and what was the most flattering on me. I finally landed on my perfect dress, veil, and hair pick and LOVED IT!

I truly felt like a princess on my wedding day, my husband was wowed and I got compliments the whole night on my dress.

Go to Maria's...you won't be sorry.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1278302456212-tessawedding14
xpebblesx_1999
Wedding:
6/11/2010
2.4/5.0
I purchased a Pronovias dress from Maria's Bridal Design. The consultant Sarah that helped me find my dress was amazing. My experience after that was not so great. I loved the fact that I was able to pay my dress off montly; which is very helpful when you are on a budget. I ordered my dress a year and a month before my wedding and my dress took a year to come in. I kept getting the run around on when my dress was supposed to come in and they would give me a date and then it did not come in that day and when I would call in it would take someone awhile to get back to me. They were not very responsive which did not make me happy. If I was only rating Sarah, I would give them a 5/5 because she was amazing and very nice, but I am rating my entire experience. I had my dress custom fitted when I ordered it so I did not need any alterations and I am happy for that because I am not sure if it would have been ready in time because when I had my first fitting they were supposed to add the bra cups, do the bustle and fix some of the loose strings for my final fitting, but the only thing that was done was the bustle. I did not pick-up my dress until 2 days before my wedding and that made me very nervous.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.6/5.0
My dress came out like a dream! From a size 10 to a size 2 like magic. Working w/ Maria was fabulous and she was very sweet and professional.

I had an appointment on a Saturday afternoon and they were quite busy. I really like that some dresses are displayed on mannequins and not stuffed in bags - gives you an good idea of silhouettes. We were immediately greeted by the lovely April when we came in. Though April was very busy pulling dresses for many other brides and doing various errands, she was always very sweet, attentive, and informative whenever she had a second w/ me. I was getting a lot of pressure from my mom and aunt to try on dresses I didn't like and April was very sensitive to that and kept assuring me that I should focus on what I wanted for the big day. I couldn't really explain exactly what I was looking for (and I'd forgotten the dress numbers at home) so she gave us the Pronovias catalog and we finally found the dress I was considering. April agreed to pull it for me even though it wasn't in my price range and it turned out to be the dress! Note: They don't keep the more expensive dresses out so you'll have to ask for specific styles if you know them.

The dress was exactly what I wanted but was a stretch out of my budget. Ordering it brand new wasn't really an option b/c of the price and it might have taken too long. Maria to the rescue! She offered me the dress they had in-store PLUS bustling and alterations (the dress is a size 10 and I'm a 2) for about $300 less than it would have cost to order a brand new dress (and not including alterations and bustling). The dress is still outside of my price range, but not by so much that I couldn't get it thanks to Maria's Bridal Designs!!

I will say that her employee Erica is not quite as capable as April. As my wedding date approached, I wasn't working w/ April anymore, but w/ Erica. Once she called to confirm my 1st fitting and told me the only thing I needed to bring was my shoes. Well, I showed up for my appointment and she asked me if I was going to pay the remainder of my balance. But of course I didn't have the money handy b/c I hadn't been told I'd need it. It wasn't a problem though and I was able to pay the balance on a later appointment. Before I left that 1st fitting, Erica told me that I'd be able to take the dress home the next time I came back. Good thing I scheduled my return fitting for 1 week before the actual date I needed it b/c when I showed up, Maria informed me that the 2nd fitting was for my bustle and that I wouldn't be able to take the dress home yet! So the moral of the review is - Maria's Bridal is great...but double-check w/ Maria herself...not Erica!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Rachel
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.6/5.0
Maria and her staff made buying a wedding dress a very easy, stress-free experience. This was actually the only shop I went to, as she picked out the perfect gown for me after I had tried only a few on! It is really helpful that they have most of the dresses on manequins - makes visualizing it much easier. The alterations she did were all flawless, and she even made the bustle so that the beading on the end of the train was displayed beautifully. The only small complaint I would have is a little bit of a pressure sales technique was used - if you buy this today, we'll give you free alterations - which I am not a big fan of!! But overall, she does great work and they have beautiful dresses in a relaxed setting.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dupa
Wedding:
3/6/2010
4.2/5.0
Great selection on beautiful and unique designs... but all around +$800 though, so don't go expecting David Bridal prices. However, they don't treat you like a number at David's Bridal (not to mention you you'll have greater success finding a unique dress here than at David's Bridal). The customer services was great, and it helps if you speak spanish (or bring a friend who does) b/c Maria herself speaks Spanish and its easier to communicate that way
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Riga
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
From my first phone call to Maria's Bridal Design to the day I picked up my dress I could not have asked for a better expierence. The staff at Maria's was extremely helpful and never pushy! I can't say enough about Maria herself, she was fantastic to work with-extremely knowledgable-and provided many excellent suggestions. I loved my dress and it was a HUGE hit at the wedding. I highly recommend Maria's Bridal Design to anyone looking for a special occasion dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
Ruhal
Wedding:
11/17/2007
3.0/5.0
Maria or manager is named April, they are a referral service, very nice to help find everything. They were really attentive to my high demandslol. And they called me 3 times to remind me to bring in my cake topper. They set both cakes up on time and from what I heard it was delicious. I honestly do not like cake but I heard it was very moist.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Maria was great and very reasonable. My wedding was outdoors and so I wanted to cut the train off my dress. The sad part was that the train had a lot of beautiful beadwork that I really wanted to keep. Maria cut the trane and hand sewed all of the beads back onto the dress. It looked absolutely amazing. Thanks again Maria!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Working with Maria and her staff was my favorite part of planning my wedding. When I went to Maria's to shop for my gown, I described my wedding venue and the type of wedding we were having and the consultant helping me pulled the perfect dress. Anytime I had a question, the staff at Maria's was pleasant and more than happy to help. Maria is an expert seamstress, she did a great job on the hem and bustle of my gown. I highly recommend purchasing your gown at Maria's Bridal Designs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.8/5.0
Maria is a nice person but I wasnt happy with the way my dress turned out.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.7/5.0
The service was good, but the selection of bridal and bridesmaid dresses was on the small side. Also, I thought the dresses were overpriced - we ended up ordering our bridesmaid dresses from a different store for $30 less.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1296167188974-dscn2019
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.0/5.0
I went to Maria's sort of as a last resort - I had been having terrible experiences at other bridal stores and no luck finding a dress. I made the appointment and when I arrived I was greeted by a woman who identified herself as one of the managers. I let her know about my experiences and she promised a great experience - she delivered. I tried on 6 dress and decided on dress number 3. I paid half of the total cost and was told it would be 6-8 months. I ordered the dress in March of 2011, so the manager figured about end of October beginning of November.

When I called in October to see if they could give me an idea of when my dress would arrive. I was told end of November. End of November came and I called to see if the dress arrived - I was told they would check to see where it was at and then call me back. About a week later with no call from Maria's, I called the store. They said my dress had shipped and it would be here in December.

I called again and in December was told again - let us check and we will call you back. Again – no call back, so I called them. I was told that I was given the wrong information the dress did not actually ship. The company who makes the dress doesn’t complete orders for March 2012 weddings until January so it will be here in January. I also find out that the “manager” no longer works at Maria’s.

Fine, fine – I call in January. No dress – AND there is only one person who can call the company to see when it will be shipped and she is off today. I, in my calmest voice, why don’t you call and ask where my dress is – well I guess I can call and see if it is okay for me to call… I get a call back a few hours later to be told not sure where my dress is but “don’t worry” it should be here in February. I think I was told not to worry about a hundred times – which of course makes a person WORRY!

I needed to ship my dress to California, so knowing the game very well by now, I took things into my own hands. I researched who was making my dress – this was a little difficult because the company makes several dresses and since my dress was not exactly an expensive top designer gown I had to dig for the info. Fortunately, the company, Private Label by G, has a Facebook account. Since I couldn’t get an answer from Maria’s and I couldn’t find a phone number for the manufacturer – I left a post on the Facebook page. Sure enough two days later, a response on the page asked me to email the company.

I emailed them, told them the entire story. They didn’t know where my dress was and I suspect that either Maria’s didn’t send in the order or the manufacturer lost the order. I was never told what happened – each blamed the other - it was always the others fault. I was exhausted with trying to figure out where my dress was – I just wanted my dress!

It finally arrived in February. I had two fitting appointments. There were extra things added to my dress like breast cups that I didn’t ask for and alterations that were wrong after the first fitting. When I went to try it on the second (and supposedly final time) before I even got it on I saw there were two spots were someone had gotten food on the dress. Once it was on, the right side was stitched incorrectly – I knew it was wrong. Maria told me I was wrong. (I knew every inch of that dress- I am a details person especially with regards to my dress.) She said it came from the manufacturer that way. I took out my phone and showed her the pictures from my first fitting – she was wrong and then said something about – don’t worry we will fix it and told me to come back a couple of hours later.

They were able to get the food stains out, and fixed the incorrect stitching. They also expected me to just take the dress. I let them know that while I appreciated the efforts – I would need to try it on again to make sure it was as it was supposed to be. I put it on and Maria said see it is okay. I asked her to lace up the back – I spent a lot of money and I wanted to make sure it was correct. Huffing she laced up the back and was also annoyed I wanted to see myself out in the bigger mirror so I could make sure everything was correct. Which thankfully it was…

When I went to pay for the rest of my dress – Maria let me know that the cups would be an additional $45 – I reminded her I did not ask for them. She said it’s okay I will leave them for you. As if it was a great favor.

I love my dress and it was very comfortable all day. I didn’t have to fidget with it – pulling it up or messing with the train because the bustle was done so well. Maria did a great job of altering the dress around the waist as well to bring it in without it looking like there was extra fabric on the sides.

Would I recommend Maria’s or Private Label by G – probably not. I get people make mistakes – I make them all the time – we are all human, but the blame game, the back and forth on my part, and the added stress was not worth it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.3/5.0
I am extremely disappointed with the work that was done on my wedding dress. I had not tried it on since my final fitting until a few weeks ago when my mother and I discovered a huge error that was made. When two of the bustle ribbons were sewn into the bottom layers of the dress, the top layer was caught as well, with 2-3 stitches in it in two different spots, causing the dress to have big puckers on the back of the skirt. I am very upset and appalled that they would let a dress out of the store with a huge error like this. This is the most important dress I will ever wear and I put my complete trust in Maria's to make it perfect.

I would not recommend them to any bride. It was heartbreaking to discover this huge mess-up on my dress a month before my wedding. They need to get their act together if they plan on staying around. When I sent them a letter stating my disappointment, I received no response.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1286831899567-us
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
This place is amazing! Great staff!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
9858 A main st., Fairfax, VA 22031 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Maria's Bridal Designs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo