130x130_sq_1318263700899-butterflyfreewedding

MarJennys Cakes

Owen Sound , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1735 7th Avenue West
Owen Sound, ON CA N4K 5L4 (map)

PHONE

519-371-3844

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

MarJennys, is a licensed home based bakery, with a fully functional separate kitchen, health inspected.
Situated in beautiful Grey Bruce region, operating in a small city called... Read more
MarJennys, is a licensed home based bakery, with a fully functional separate kitchen, health inspected.
Situated in beautiful Grey Bruce region, operating in a small city called Owen Sound, Ontario.
We offer big city flavor!

Using only fresh quality ingredients, which is most essential, as quality is a
integral aspect, of this business. Our products are Home made, using the pure basic ingredients. Such as, real butter, fresh milled flour, real cream, milk, and fresh eggs

One favorite scratch made receipe is our red velvet raspberry cake, made without red food colouring.

If you have a diet restriction we will use alternative ingredients for Diabetic, Gluten Free, Low Fat baking. Separate oven, and pans used for Gluten Free baking. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1326208345519-mjsquarefreshflowers
130x130_sq_1326208352063-mj1
130x130_sq_1326208332192-mj
130x130_sq_1326208361248-mj2
130x130_sq_1326208372192-mj3
130x130_sq_1326208387769-mj4
130x130_sq_1326208399110-mj5
130x130_sq_1326208413584-mj6

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
private tasting available, appointment needed.
What are your tasting hours?
Will work around clients, mostly evenings, and weekends
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Price is determined by size, design, and extensive amount of work. All cakes are scratch made, even the icings.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
yes
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Custom cakes, with the interest of the couples flare.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
Fresh made fillings, some times fresh in season fruits.
 Pure butter, cream, used if needed. Organic or special diets
 accomodated, ie Gluten Free, Wheat Free, Diabetic, Lactose Free, Organic if requested.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
1 week
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
Usually 2 weddings, if time is permitted. Prefer to not be rushed, and center upon the couples day, not the money!
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Always, will even pick up the flowers if needed for the cake.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
Deposit rental required and percentage is returned upon return of the stands.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
No charge for delivery within Owen sound, delivery outside of owen sound, is determined upon distance

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
All I can say is.. great looks and great taste is what makes a perfect cake, and these guys have both!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1381759795494-avatar
Elysha
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Marg did our wedding cake and it came out more stunning then I could ever imagined. We took her a few pictures of ideas and she did a fantastic job combining them. We also had 2 cakes to serve our guests, we went with banana and vanilla-cinnamon. They were the most moist and delicious cakes I've ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you Michael and Elysha for the opportunity to design your wedding cake. Your venue set up, was most suiting to the both of you. Well pleased that you liked your design you helped to create, and thanks again. Remember your free first anniversary cake. Blessings :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
For our wedding we were recommended to Marg by a family member and we weren't disappointed! After the free tasting my husband and I decided on the Strawberry Cream cake with a buttercream icing. It was absolutely delicious (especially with the fresh strawberries she uses)! At our request, Marg also made us some simple cupcakes for the children attending the wedding and even a diabetic cupcake for my grandmother, which I really appreciated. Marg herself is a very sweet lady and easy to talk to. She was always quick with responses when I contacted her and went over our order with us a couple of times to make sure she had everything right before she went ahead and made our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Jessica for you kind review. Please remember your complimentary 1st anniversary cake, just please give me a call. Blessings Marg :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We came to Marg with a few pictures from the internet of different cakes and cupcake styles that we liked. Marg designed a 2-tiered cake and cupcakes for our wedding. We were stunned when we saw it at our wedding - everything looked identical to the pictures we had showed her.
We were sold on Marg the minute we met her and tasted her sample cakes. The flavours were absolutely fantastic and ALL of our guests were raving about how delicious the cupcakes were!
We also had 4 guests with food allergies and Marg was very accommodating in making special cupcakes for each individual.
We can't thank Marg enough for how amazing she made out wedding cake and cupcakes. We will definitely work with her again in the future!

Thanks Marg!

Jenn & Brandon Earnest
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve & Marlene
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Custom designed cake exceeded all expectations. Delicious-no leftovers! A second small cake for diabetics was also a great success. Highly recommend MarJennys Cakes. Delivery was no time-set up was excellent & they came in chef outfits-very well done.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing experience! Very personable planning the cake and also flexible with budget. Elegant final product! We loved it! Thank-you. It looked and tasted fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Marg went above and beyond to see we had what we needed. She even let us use an extra large tray to help transport the cake and provided advice and direction so that the cake turned out the way the bride wanted it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it! Marg was very personable and friendly. Always asked when she had an idea with something! I love the fact that on our one year anniversary that she will make us another cake, we did keep the one we have, of course as a tradition. I also like the fact that the cake is sweetened with apple juice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and i have so many allergies and not only could Marjennys make us a cake they made a very beautiful tasty masterpiece!

we had to ask for a gluten free, dairy free, egg free, strawberry free and artificial dye free.

we got a three tier amazing waterfall design that was in keeping with our wedding in niagara falls.

Thanks MarJennys for an amazing cake, there was 0 left by end of reception!!

dont hesitate when looking at marjennys there so helpful and professional and top notch at design :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
For our wedding, we ordered a cake topper, a mini cake to cut and then got cupcakes for all the guests. These were some of the most delicious cupcakes we have ever had plus they were beautifully decorated!! She has multiple cake flavors to choose from so good luck picking only one or two!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for the great review. I know you forgot about your free 1st anniversary cake, so please do give me a call, even if it has been almost 2 years. Blessings Marg
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alysha
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Marg was a pleasure to deal with and her cakes and cookettes are amazing. We had a taste testing of a few different flavours and they were all great. Are absolute favourite was the chocolate caramel. We enjoyed it so much. We will be ordering many cakes from her for birthdays or any special occassion we can think of that needs a cake. The cookettes were awesome such a different treat from the usual cupcakes served at weddings, I enjoyed them much more than cupcakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaylene
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Marg did an amazing job on our cake. It was perfect for our theme. Highly recommended by me and will be using her service in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with the outcome of our cake, it was not only gorgeous but extremely tasty as well! Highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Marjenny Cakes did an awesome job our wedding cake was beautiful and very delicous. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ada
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Marg was amazing to deal with. She wanted our cake and mini bites as perfect as we wanted them! Highly recommend her services and cakes. Great flavours. Overall an AMAZING experience! Thanks for being part of special day Marjennys Cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chau
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Marg did an amazing job on our wedding cake! She takes great pride in her work and produces not only the most beautiful cakes, but they are extremely tasty and made with quality ingredients from scratch. Thanks again, Marjenny Cakes, for making our wedding day so successful! Matt and Chau Johnston
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Marg made us a beautiful 3 tiered lemon raspberry wedding cake, everyone raved about it (and they're still raving, almost a year later!). We had a guest that has a dairy allergy, and Marg made a little personal cake just for her, decorated exactly like the big cake. She was great to work with, my husband and I highly, highly recommend her. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much for making our cake. We got a fantastic 4 tear cake. I really like how we could keep our top piece for a souvenir, along with the wonderful bouquet you put on the cake. All 3 tear's where different flavours, they were really good. My husband wanted eagle feathers on our cake and Maggie tried her hardest to get them. But we found out they where sarcred. So she found feathers that went prefect with our cake and the colours it turned out awesome. Thanks again Maggie for making our wonderful wedding cake for our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was held outdoors at a private estate. Throughout the planning process, Marg was very communicative and really was able to vison our theme and colour palette when creating the cupcakes and a two-tiered cake for us. Guests were 'in awe' of how lovely all the cupcakes and cake looked, and they tasted yummy, too!! We had three different flavours, our favourite being the mojito with buttercream icing with rum (: Marg delivered and set up as well...she was a breeze to work with and is very talented. In addition to that, she made a diabetic friendly cupcake for one of our guests, which was much appreciated by the guest, and by us. We are so happy that Marg was our "cake lady" and certainly would recommend her to others (:
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bethb
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
The cupcakes were amazing. I was very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karen
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Margaret did an amazing job with our wedding! We opted for cupcakes, and she offered us 3 different flavours, all made from fresh ingredients..they were a huge hit! Included, was our cake to cut at the reception, and a huge slab cake for a party at our home the day after. She gave us so many options to choose from, and just made it special for our special day...An amazing lady with amazing talent, I would recommend Marjenny's cakes to everyone!! Thanks for everything, Margaret!! You know we'll be back for other occasions!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
loftylamb
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend MarJennys Cakes. I was extremely pleased with my wedding cake. It was delicious, beautiful, and reasonably priced! The service was outstanding and professional!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg8
Brittani
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Marjenny's cake for both of our wedding cakes. We had a more formal wedding cake as well as a more of a "fun" slab cake. Both turned out amazing. Both cakes surpassed our expectations and completley brought to life what we had pictured in our heads.
Not only did the cakes look amazing, they tasted amazing too. Having an alergy, Marjennys Cake worked with me to solve the allergy problem and provided me with my own special cake.
It was a pleasure to deal with Marjennys Cake and I would highly reccomend her to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
The cake was awesome and looked to good to eat. Thanks again
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Marjennys cakes made our special day perfect with the most amazing cupcakes. Each one looked absolutely flawless like it had been clipped straight from a bridal magazine. The flowers on top looked almost to good to eat!!!! Marg dealt with all the little details, from my cupcakes delivery to the amont of time the fresh buttercream would last outdoors. Marjennys cakes gets two thumbs up here!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
P.J.
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
I was married for my second time and only wanted a small wedding with family and friends and only wanted a small wedding cake.MarJennys Cakes was the perfect solution.I got the wedding cake I wanted at a price that was reasonable.It was made with two hearts-one smaller and placed on top of the other.One heart was banana cream filled and the other was carrot cake.It was covered with white chocolate icing and covered with real burgundy roses and greens. It wasn't too sweet as my husband is Diabetic but had a wonderful taste to it. Everyone loved it and there wasn't much left over but the flowers. I would recommend this vendor.All was done with curtesy, respect and a big smile.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabriela
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Very reliable and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheerah
Wedding:
10/14/2006
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful & MarJenny Cakes really went above & beyond with all the little extras. They were fantastic! I will be calling on them again when I need a special occasion treat!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/1/2005
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much for creating our cake for our wedding. I gave you the decor. ideas I had in mind and you made it 10 times better than I had imagined! I highly recommend MarJennys Cakes to anyone - she did such a great job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
6/18/2005
5.0/5.0
We have had her do a few cakes over the years and they are always great and no left overs. Jean is really good to deal with. She loves to bake cakes and pies
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake was exactly what we envisioned but better! It was beautiful and delicious!! Very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
this vendor is very good at what she does and listens to the wants and needs of her clints i would not have had any one else to do this it was a great cake and done the way in which it was ask to be done.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SHELLEY
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.9/5.0
VERY WELL ORANIZED AND VERY HELPFUL WITH COLORS AND STYLES OF CAKES. LOTS OF CHOICES TO CHOOSE FROM. BRIDES SHOULD ALWAYS BRING A COLOR SWATCH SO IT IS EASIER FOR COLOR MATCHING.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susanne
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
The cake was truly beautiful and all my guests were very impressed. Maggie and her husband were extremely helpful in deliverying my cake to the hall and having it set up well in advance of the reception. I have recommended Marjenny's Cakes to a number of friends and co-workers.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
7/11/2014
4.7/5.0
Excellent cake and service. Dave and i had the raspberry choc wedding cake. Our Guests kept coming up to us and telling us how much they enjoyed the cake. Any time that i need a cake for a special day, I will be giving her a call.
Dave &Pam Beattie
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for the privilege in making you wedding cake, and also the kind expression of our service. Please remember you free first anniversary cake, just give us a call.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephany
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.7/5.0
MarJennys Cakes did a wonderful job on our wedding cake. It was exacly what we invisioned and was delicious! We had fresh blueberries and Rasberries from the garden in our lemon cake which was perfect for our summer weeding. I would highly reccomend them to any friends or family members having a wedding or any other special occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Makcrow
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.7/5.0
Maggie listened to all of our concerns and gave us exactly the cake we were wanting. She delivered the cake & set it up at our hall & the cake was delicious . Thank you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Amazing flavours and variety. Was unique and tasted delectable:) Personable and took time with us helping to decide, and taste test some items. Delivered cake to wedding. Amazing value for the product we received compared to other companies in the area. We took a picture of what we wanted and she was very confident she could do it for us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelley&Neil
Wedding:
9/16/2011
4.0/5.0
We had our wedding on a Friday in September in Niagara Falls. Marg brought the small cake and the cupcakes all the way from Own Sound. She is professional, understanding and did a fantastic job. The cupcakes were such a hit and they tasted so good! If you have a chance try the white raspberry cupcake, they were my favorite!

Thanks again Marg.

Shelley and Neil
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
1735 7th Avenue West, Owen Sound, ON N4K 5L4 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MarJennys Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1318263700899-butterflyfreewedding