130x130 sq 1318263700899 butterflyfreewedding

MarJennys Cakes

Owen Sound , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1735 7th Avenue West
Owen Sound, ON N4K 5L4 CA (map)

PHONE

519-371-3844

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

MarJennys, is a licensed home based bakery, with a fully functional separate kitchen, health inspected.
Situated in beautiful Grey Bruce region, operating in a small city called... Read more
MarJennys, is a licensed home based bakery, with a fully functional separate kitchen, health inspected.
Situated in beautiful Grey Bruce region, operating in a small city called Owen Sound, Ontario.
We offer big city flavor!

Using only fresh quality ingredients, which is most essential, as quality is a
integral aspect, of this business. Our products are Home made, using the pure basic ingredients. Such as, real butter, fresh milled flour, real cream, milk, and fresh eggs

One favorite scratch made receipe is our red velvet raspberry cake, made without red food colouring.

If you have a diet restriction we will use alternative ingredients for Diabetic, Gluten Free, Low Fat baking. Separate oven, and pans used for Gluten Free baking. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1326208345519 mjsquarefreshflowers
130x130 sq 1326208352063 mj1
130x130 sq 1326208332192 mj
130x130 sq 1326208361248 mj2
130x130 sq 1326208372192 mj3
130x130 sq 1326208387769 mj4
130x130 sq 1326208399110 mj5
130x130 sq 1326208413584 mj6

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
private tasting available, appointment needed.
What are your tasting hours?
Will work around clients, mostly evenings, and weekends
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Price is determined by size, design, and extensive amount of work. All cakes are scratch made, even the icings.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
yes
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Custom cakes, with the interest of the couples flare.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
Fresh made fillings, some times fresh in season fruits.
 Pure butter, cream, used if needed. Organic or special diets
 accomodated, ie Gluten Free, Wheat Free, Diabetic, Lactose Free, Organic if requested.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
1 week
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
Usually 2 weddings, if time is permitted. Prefer to not be rushed, and center upon the couples day, not the money!
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Always, will even pick up the flowers if needed for the cake.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
Deposit rental required and percentage is returned upon return of the stands.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
No charge for delivery within Owen sound, delivery outside of owen sound, is determined upon distance

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
All I can say is.. great looks and great taste is what makes a perfect cake, and these guys have both!
All I can say is.. great looks and great taste is what makes a perfect cake, and these guys have both!
All I can say is.. great looks and great taste is what makes a perfect cake, and these guys have both! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1381759795494 avatar
Elysha
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Marg did our wedding cake and it came out more stunning then I could ever imagined. We took her a few pictures of ideas and she did a fantastic job combining them. We also had 2 cakes to serve our guests, we went with banana and vanilla-cinnamon. They were the most moist and delicious cakes I've ever had.
Marg did our wedding cake and it came out more stunning then I could ever imagined. We took her a few pictures of ideas Read more...
Marg did our wedding cake and it came out more stunning then I could ever imagined. We took her a few pictures of ideas and she did a fantastic job combining them. We also had 2 cakes to serve our guests, we went with banana and vanilla-cinnamon. They were the most moist and delicious cakes I've ever had. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you Michael and Elysha for the opportunity to design your wedding cake. Your venue set up, was most suiting to the both of you. Well pleased that you liked your design you helped to create, and thanks again. Remember your free first anniversary cake. Blessings :)
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
For our wedding we were recommended to Marg by a family member and we weren't disappointed! After the free tasting my husband and I decided on the Strawberry Cream cake with a buttercream icing. It was absolutely delicious (especially with the fresh strawberries she uses)! At our request, Marg also made us some simple cupcakes for the children attending the wedding and even a diabetic cupcake for my grandmother, which I really appreciated. Marg herself is a very sweet lady and easy to talk to. She was always quick with responses when I contacted her and went over our order with us a couple of times to make sure she had everything right before she went ahead and made our cake.
For our wedding we were recommended to Marg by a family member and we weren't disappointed! After the free tasting my Read more...
For our wedding we were recommended to Marg by a family member and we weren't disappointed! After the free tasting my husband and I decided on the Strawberry Cream cake with a buttercream icing. It was absolutely delicious (especially with the fresh strawberries she uses)! At our request, Marg also made us some simple cupcakes for the children attending the wedding and even a diabetic cupcake for my grandmother, which I really appreciated. Marg herself is a very sweet lady and easy to talk to. She was always quick with responses when I contacted her and went over our order with us a couple of times to make sure she had everything right before she went ahead and made our cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
MarJennys Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Jessica for you kind review. Please remember your complimentary 1st anniversary cake, just please give me a call. Blessings Marg :)
Default vendor profile pic
Jenn
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We came to Marg with a few pictures from the internet of different cakes and cupcake styles that we liked. Marg designed a 2-tiered cake and cupcakes for our wedding. We were stunned when we saw it at our wedding - everything looked identical to the pictures we had showed her.
We were sold on Marg the minute we met her and tasted her sample cakes. The flavours were absolutely fantastic and ALL of our guests were raving about how delicious the cupcakes were!
We also had 4 guests with food allergies and Marg was very accommodating in making special cupcakes for each individual.
We can't thank Marg enough for how amazing she made out wedding cake and cupcakes. We will definitely work with her again in the future!

Thanks Marg!

Jenn & Brandon Earnest
We came to Marg with a few pictures from the internet of different cakes and cupcake styles that we liked. Marg designed a Read more...
We came to Marg with a few pictures from the internet of different cakes and cupcake styles that we liked. Marg designed a 2-tiered cake and cupcakes for our wedding. We were stunned when we saw it at our wedding - everything looked identical to the pictures we had showed her.
We were sold on Marg the minute we met her and tasted her sample cakes. The flavours were absolutely fantastic and ALL of our guests were raving about how delicious the cupcakes were!
We also had 4 guests with food allergies and Marg was very accommodating in making special cupcakes for each individual.
We can't thank Marg enough for how amazing she made out wedding cake and cupcakes. We will definitely work with her again in the future!

Thanks Marg!

Jenn & Brandon Earnest Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Steve & Marlene
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Custom designed cake exceeded all expectations. Delicious-no leftovers! A second small cake for diabetics was also a great success. Highly recommend MarJennys Cakes. Delivery was no time-set up was excellent & they came in chef outfits-very well done.
Custom designed cake exceeded all expectations. Delicious-no leftovers! A second small cake for diabetics was also a great Read more...
Custom designed cake exceeded all expectations. Delicious-no leftovers! A second small cake for diabetics was also a great success. Highly recommend MarJennys Cakes. Delivery was no time-set up was excellent & they came in chef outfits-very well done. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing experience! Very personable planning the cake and also flexible with budget. Elegant final product! We loved it! Thank-you. It looked and tasted fabulous!
Amazing experience! Very personable planning the cake and also flexible with budget. Elegant final product! We loved it! Read more...
Amazing experience! Very personable planning the cake and also flexible with budget. Elegant final product! We loved it! Thank-you. It looked and tasted fabulous! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Becky
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Marg went above and beyond to see we had what we needed. She even let us use an extra large tray to help transport the cake and provided advice and direction so that the cake turned out the way the bride wanted it.
Marg went above and beyond to see we had what we needed. She even let us use an extra large tray to help transport the Read more...
Marg went above and beyond to see we had what we needed. She even let us use an extra large tray to help transport the cake and provided advice and direction so that the cake turned out the way the bride wanted it. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Angela
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it! Marg was very personable and friendly. Always asked when she had an idea with something! I love the fact that on our one year anniversary that she will make us another cake, we did keep the one we have, of course as a tradition. I also like the fact that the cake is sweetened with apple juice!
Cake was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it! Marg was very personable and friendly. Always asked when she had an Read more...
Cake was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it! Marg was very personable and friendly. Always asked when she had an idea with something! I love the fact that on our one year anniversary that she will make us another cake, we did keep the one we have, of course as a tradition. I also like the fact that the cake is sweetened with apple juice! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Richard
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and i have so many allergies and not only could Marjennys make us a cake they made a very beautiful tasty masterpiece!

we had to ask for a gluten free, dairy free, egg free, strawberry free and artificial dye free.

we got a three tier amazing waterfall design that was in keeping with our wedding in niagara falls.

Thanks MarJennys for an amazing cake, there was 0 left by end of reception!!

dont hesitate when looking at marjennys there so helpful and professional and top notch at design :)
My wife and i have so many allergies and not only could Marjennys make us a cake they made a very beautiful tasty Read more...
My wife and i have so many allergies and not only could Marjennys make us a cake they made a very beautiful tasty masterpiece!

we had to ask for a gluten free, dairy free, egg free, strawberry free and artificial dye free.

we got a three tier amazing waterfall design that was in keeping with our wedding in niagara falls.

Thanks MarJennys for an amazing cake, there was 0 left by end of reception!!

dont hesitate when looking at marjennys there so helpful and professional and top notch at design :) Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
JOYCE
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that we picked this vendor, who was recomended by my sister in law, as everything was handled in a very professional manner. The cakes were delicious, beautifully decorated,and everyone who attended my son's wedding remarked on them. We had the wedding cake at our dinner just as decoration, and then had a small one for the bride and groom to cut for pictures. At our evening reception, we enjoyed the slab cakes which were "just out of this world" for flavour, I know that Jean put her whole heart in to making these cakes for us! She helped us with many ideas to help make our son's wedding so special to us. I would certainly recommend to anyone to give MARJENNYS CAKES a call.
I am so happy that we picked this vendor, who was recomended by my sister in law, as everything was handled in a very Read more...
I am so happy that we picked this vendor, who was recomended by my sister in law, as everything was handled in a very professional manner. The cakes were delicious, beautifully decorated,and everyone who attended my son's wedding remarked on them. We had the wedding cake at our dinner just as decoration, and then had a small one for the bride and groom to cut for pictures. At our evening reception, we enjoyed the slab cakes which were "just out of this world" for flavour, I know that Jean put her whole heart in to making these cakes for us! She helped us with many ideas to help make our son's wedding so special to us. I would certainly recommend to anyone to give MARJENNYS CAKES a call. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
1735 7th Avenue West, Owen Sound, ON N4K 5L4 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MarJennys Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1318263700899 butterflyfreewedding