130x130_sq_1359491071206-1359490628886a1031

Marquee Events & Catering, featuring the Gershon Fox Ballroom

Hartford , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

960 Main St.
HARTFORD, CT US 06103 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Marquee Events and Catering are the exclusive hosts to the Gershon Fox Ballroom and the Mezzanine lounge. Located in the historic landmark G. Fox building in downtown Hartford, we are in... Read more
Marquee Events and Catering are the exclusive hosts to the Gershon Fox Ballroom and the Mezzanine lounge. Located in the historic landmark G. Fox building in downtown Hartford, we are in the center of it all. Upon entering our doors, you will experience our elegant art deco decor and refined Old Hollywood ambiance. With four events spaces, we are the perfect venue for any event. Weddings large or intimate, Marquee can promise you a unique night that you will never forget.

Call us to find out about our newly enhanced Premier Wedding Package! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1359490628886-a1031
130x130_sq_1359490620395-003aprileveimages
130x130_sq_1359490627160-1219efp110909195555salaklawco
130x130_sq_1359490635561-geiger7
130x130_sq_1359490630456-a1105
130x130_sq_1359490622399-012aprileveimages
130x130_sq_1359490625714-1179efp110909185512salaklawco01
130x130_sq_1359490632069-chandalier
130x130_sq_1359490640031-parker25
130x130_sq_1359490633771-curtaincouplehighres
130x130_sq_1359490624236-1094efp110909155541salaklawco01
130x130_sq_1359490637935-geiger17
130x130_sq_1359490642086-parker28
130x130_sq_1359490643923-perkinswedding069

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1850
When was your venue last renovated?
2006
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
City, Glamorous, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
9500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
95
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
6/27/2014
5.0/5.0
Beyond amazing experience. I didnt have to worry about a thing! The staff is so professional, the food is out of this world and the atmosphere is perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
We got married at the Marquee and couldn't have been happier! Our guests raved about how everything looked and the food, and everything went smoothly. Working with Darren made everything easier and he was always responsive and patient with my many many questions. I would definitely recommend the Marquee!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a unique wedding venue with stellar service, look no further! The Marquee was incredible from beginning to end. The space in itself is jaw-dropping, different from any other wedding venue I've ever seen. It has a very unique feeling to it. I cannot tell you how much we have heard from our guests how impressed they were with the space, how nice it was to be somewhere "different," and how convenient the location was. With the Marriott right next door and valet parking available, you could not make it easier for your guests to have a worry-free experience. On to the service. We worked with Darren from the moment we walked through the doors for our first appointment until the night of our wedding. He is so easy to work with, very responsive, and knows what he is doing. I had no worries leading up to my wedding because I knew I was in good hands. As for the night of, the service was spectacular. I was so impressed. One of the servers made a point to look up how to say "fish" in Portuguese so that he could serve it to my family from Portugal. As the night went on and our guests were feeling good, the inevitable happened -- someone dropped their drink. Before I could even turn around to see what had happened someone was there with a broom and towel and it was cleaned up literally within seconds. We were in awe! The food is amazing. You have so many options to choose from and it is truly difficult to make a decision because it is all SO good. I made a point that it was very important to me that meals were served hot, as nothing is worse than being served a cold meal, and the Marquee did not disappoint. Our guests have not stopped raving about the food.

If you do decide to book the Marquee and are having a fairly large wedding, I suggest having the dance floor in the atrium as we did. I have heard from many of our (older) guests how nice it was to sit and socialize with people without having to yell over loud music. Just another plus!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Heather
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
The venue in itself was a beautiful location, easy access for all our guests and the valet parking was a great extra. I can even begin to rave about the food, the service, and attention to detail. Darren was an amazing coordinator and answered all my question in a very timely manner. The staff was amazing and attentive and all our guests were in awe of the venue. The price for everything that was included was perfect! The amount of guests that praised the food, the venue and the staff was amazing and everyone had a great time. We had a few guests that are a bit stuffy that were were just waiting to hear about what they had to critique and not one of them came back and didn\'t say that everything was perfect! Not that I want to ever get married again, but vow renewal..charity event, if I ever have a chance to organize something like this I wouldn\'t go anywhere else. On a side note...somehow some way all my things made it back to the honeymoon suit in one piece. With my husband and I being a bit liquored up I have no idea how they did it! Kudos to Marquee!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
LOVED this venue!!! Had our wedding here in February - it's a really beautiful indoor facility. We primarily worked with Laura, who I could always count on to get back to me immediately, no matter what day of the week. She was so professional and we thoroughly enjoyed working with her. Despite the snow on our wedding day, everything went super smooth.Everyone LOVED the food as well, from the appetizers to the main dish! Highly recommend getting married here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doris
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We needed to find a venue in which we could have a wedding, cocktail hour, and reception in the same place. We found this at Marquee Events and the Gershon Fox Ballroom. Not only was it convenient for all of our guests (most of whom were from out of state), but it was beautiful, elegant, and comfortable. Working with Darren and Tony was a true pleasure, and they easily exceeded all of our expectations and requests. Their timing, attention to detail, and responsiveness were all excellent; we were thrilled with the ultimate décor, room set-up, and overall service. Our daughter and son-in-law were happy as could be with everything that evening, and family and friends were thrilled with the room and the food. It made for a perfect evening, one that we will never forget!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
XC
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing venue and service! They catered to our every need. The food was excellent. My vintage wedding dream became a reality!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Darren, Tony, and Laura are the reason you want to book an event at the Marquee. Sure, the venue is Art Deco gorgeous. And yeah the food created by Mike Kelly is rich and delicious. But what made the day for my husband and I was knowing that we were being taken care of. Darren, Tony, and Laura go above and beyond and they do it with a smile. They are calm, cool, and collected - which is just what I needed on my wedding day.
Our guests LOVED the venue. It was so great to have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception in the same venue, but in different sections. The Atrium was simple and lovely - you can decorate it anyway you like. Also - have someone sing! The acoustics are amazing! The Mezzanine for the cocktail hour is beautiful and there was plenty of seating. The ballroom is art deco beautiful. The bar set up makes you look like a rockstar.
We ate, we drank, we got married and the G Fox Marquee made it all possible. A million thanks. xo
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Darren at the Gershon Fox Ballroom was AMAZING! He fielded a ton of emails from me and the moms throughout the year we were engaged and was always quick and thorough in his responses (including adding and subtracting guests the week of the wedding). He worked with our band, who had never played at the venue before, to come up with an amazing timeline for the evening which we got a ton of compliments on. He helped us develop a beautiful look for our evening with linens and tableware, and he was so enthusiastic about incorporating our DIY projects. Tastings with Darren were a blast and we loved all the time we spent planning with him. He even worked with the chef to customize our menu items and provide a signature drink and fun latke bar for our Hanukkah cocktail hour. We cannot say enough about how much we love Darren and Marquee- our wedding went off without a hitch!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shawna
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
The Marquee was such a beautiful and unique venue for a wedding. I loved my experience with them! We did a Hollywood/Glam theme which worked out perfectly with the Art Deco decor.

All the staff were excellent, professional and courteous. From the Event Coordinator, bar staff, wait staff, and back office. The food was beyond amazing! My guests are still raving about it a year later! Makes you feel good when your wedding stands out from the crowd.

Much thanks to Jessica for helping to plan and orchestrate the wedding so I didnt have to worry about a thing on my special day. I'd recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1319748957722-sdvegas1
Sherika
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
The Marquee was an excellent venue for my 2012 wedding. The staff was VERY thorough. My family and friends are still raving about my event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at the Marquee/Gershon Fox Ballroom on September 7, 2012. It was by far the most amazing night of our lives! We researched a lot of venues before deciding on the Marquee and we are so happy that we did. The Gershon Fox Ballroom is not your typical ballroom it has this amazing art deco feel with so much character, we just fell in love with it. We worked directly with Jess Sanzaro, who is extremely talented and incredible at what she does. I really felt more like a friend than her client. She had so many fantastic suggestions/recommendations and responded to emails within 20 minutes (or quicker) of sending them. I felt like I was the only bride she was working with! I really can’t say enough good things about Jess! We also had the pleasure of working directly with the chef, Mike Kelly who customized our menu to ensure we got exactly what we wanted. To be honest, we haven’t stopped hearing rave reviews from our guests about how much they loved the food and venue! Not only did Jess and Mike go above and beyond but the entire wait staff at the Marquee did! It definitely was a night we will never forget and can’t thank everyone enough for ensuring every expectation was met. My husband and a I really didn’t have to worry about a thing the entire evening. We highly recommend this venue to any couple who is looking for something aside from a typical ballroom and a night you will never forget!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marissa
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
First of all... Darren was phenomenal to work with! He was so helpful throughout the whole planning process! I was an out of state bride and he was always able to answer my questions and provide information in a timely manner. He was flexible with our food tastings and meetings to allow us ample time to get things done. He is a fabulous event planner and I trusted he would do the job well and he exceeded my expectations.

The venue itself is gorgeous. The upstairs cocktail hour area feels like a cool lounge and gives off such a unique vibe. The Gershon Fox Ballroom is just breathtaking. Those beautiful chandeliers, mirrors and architecture make it stand out from other traditional venues.

Also - the food!! My guests RAVED about the meals. The portions were huge and everything was delicious. From our first food tasting, we were in shock at how good everything was. Wedding food never really satisfies me but the quality and presentation of the dishes we had was that of a top notch restaurant. Service was spot on, from the servers, bartenders and Darren as well - they were all wonderful. Thanks so much for a beautiful evening!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MsDiamondPrincess
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about The Gershon Fox Ballroom. My wedding day was over a month ago and I am still in awe of how perfect the day was. I'll start with the planning process. The event coordinator Jessica was absolutely fabulous. She must have met with me and my family/vendors four or five times and she was gracious, helpful and full of suggestions each time. If I emailed her on a Saturday at 10pm, she would respond right away, even if it was just to say "I got your email, I'll make sure I get you whatever on Monday." I truly felt like a VIP as did all my guests. Over the course of my planning I truly felt like she became a friend and I was so happy to have had her there for me. Tony, the banquet manager, is also phenomenal. If I had an idea or wanted something setup a certain way, he would understand right away and make sure it was done and done right! The food was amazing, the decor is striking, modern and the atmosphere of the venue is pure elegance. Several of my guests said they felt like they were at a high society wedding and everything was perfect. It truly was. I would recommend this venue a million times! Thank you all so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
960 Main St., HARTFORD, CT 06103 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Marquee Events & Catering, featuring the Gershon Fox Ballroom
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1359491071206-1359490628886a1031