130x130_sq_1321594881534-mayacamas

Mary McHenry Photography

Oakland , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Oakland, CA US 94611 (map)

PHONE

510-407-7959

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I am a wedding photographer based in the San Francisco Bay. I shoot weddings with a fresh, modern and authentic style. Please be in touch if you would like to know more about my pricing... Read more
I am a wedding photographer based in the San Francisco Bay. I shoot weddings with a fresh, modern and authentic style. Please be in touch if you would like to know more about my pricing and availability. I look forward to hearing from you. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1273511491837-contact
130x130_sq_1273511508290-jen7
130x130_sq_1273511527337-open04
130x130_sq_1273511531603-smile15
130x130_sq_1273511551119-lisa08
130x130_sq_1273511556259-66
130x130_sq_1321595174799-barriearielwed048
130x130_sq_1321595180727-barriearielwed139
130x130_sq_1321595192006-barriearielwed463

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Mary's photography was unbelievable. Not only was she fun to work with, she managed to capture the essence of the day/evening with her shots. There was so much emotion behind the shots and the video she put together for us literally told a story of the wedding. She was professional, fun, down to earth, easy to work with and she created photographs that will help us relive our magical day forever. The other thing about Mary, which seems to be untrue of many photographers that I've seen at other weddings, is that she wasn't in your face or annoying...she managed to capture photos in this inconspicuous way. I can't recommend Mary highly enough. She is absolutely fantastic!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Mary is a simply wonderful person to work with -- she is friendly, relaxed and easy to talk with. But even more importantly, she has a fantastic eye for scenery, composition and lighting. We have so many photos from our engagement and wedding shoot that we like that it is hard to decide which to print and frame! She works well with groups -- both our families and our bridal party -- and her compositions and arrangement of people are lovely, you end up with a photo that both captures each person and also is interesting to look at as a whole. And thankfully she does all of this intuitively, since I wouldn't have even known what to ask for during the photos. I would highly recommend Mary to any bride.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We are just so thrilled, so happy, still grinning about our wedding photos.

From the very start, Mary was incredibly friendly, organized and professional, always quick to text, email and call to answer questions. I'm so glad I took her advice and did an engagement session -- It gave us time to get to know Mary and feel comfortable having her around snapping photos. (All while learning to be natural and not deer-in-headlights) So when it came time for our wedding, Mary felt like an old friend. She was never got up in our faces. And when we got our photos back, we kept wondering "How in the world did she get that shot? I didn't even know she was there!"

From my dad shuffling his speech cards to my jewelry to close ups of our guests facial expressions, Mary's candid shots are truly captured the emotion of the day and all the crazy activity swirling around us so perfectly.

Our Big Day was such a blur, we have just loved sitting back (yes, with a nice glass of rum on the couch) and reliving our wedding in slow motion. And all our family and friends have echoed what we already know -- Mary is so talented!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Lucy
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Mary McHenry is a really amazing photographer. The idea of writing a review for her is sort of daunting because we don't even know where to begin! She was basically the MVP behind the scenes for our wedding between doing the save the dates, our engagement album, and our website. She is incredibly organized, professional, and artistic. Her work has a flair of uniqueness while still being simple, clean, and sort of traditional old fashioned. We could not be happier with our choice to go with Mary as our photographer. The pictures from our wedding turned out amazing and the album she put together will be a true treasure to us. Mary is really nice to be around, she makes you feel really comfortable. On the wedding day, we were both really happy to have her presence of calm and cool on the scene. We have heard countless times from our friends and family what an amazing photographer we had and a number of people have commented that our wedding pictures are the best they've ever seen. She and her assistant did such an amazing job capturing all the details, the facial expressions, the emotions - really inspiring talent. We give Mary the highest review possible on all levels and seriously urge people to choose her as their photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
xoxithon
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.5/5.0
As I heard before, and now know first hand, your wedding is an absolute blitz -- it speeds by in the blink of an eye. This is why you absolutely MUST have a good wedding photographer. As the memory of the details fade, you will have the pictures to connect you to the important moments.

That is why I'm so glad we got to work with Mary. She captured everything so wonderfully. We were hoping to get a couple 'winner's out of the day -- pictures that we could frame or put into a book. What we ended up with is page after page after page of amazing photographs. We were even contacted by Town and Country to ask if we could have our photos in the magazine. Wow!

We also did an engagement shoot with Mary about a month before the event. We are a bit of an oddball couple, so we did our shoot at a warehouse in Oakland with some big art and my motorcycle. The pictures were wonderful, and it did a perfect job of getting us practiced in front of a camera.

I would highly recommend Mary. She's very professional, always quick to get back to you via phone or email, and offers a great value for the money. We feel lucky that we found her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elodie
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Mary's photos were so sunningly beautiful and she was such a pleasure to work with. She is extremely professional, but with a very human and friendly personality. During the wedding she was very discrete, never blocking anyone's view, but still got all of the photos. It was also nice that she was never pressuring us toward the bigger print packages. We highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ahna6
Wedding:
10/23/2009
5.0/5.0
THIS PHOTOGRAPHER IS 100% AMAZING!!! Her eye is so on target when capturing the most special day of two people's lives. Mary was our photographer at our wedding and not only was she incredibly personable and easy to get along with....but she also was extremely professional. Her photos have an artistic flair with a twist of tradition. She made every step effortless as she worked with us on creating our vision. She made me and my now husband look gooooood:) There wasn't a moment when I felt like she was "in our faces," as she captured wonderful moments while maintaing her distance. It is key for the bride to get along with the photographer and she surpassed all my expectations. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND MARY MCHENRY PHOTOGRAPHY.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Mary was such a gem to work with! I feel so lucky to have found her. Not only was she a total professional, but her presence was so wonderful. Mary is calm, sweet, and so nice -everyone just loved her and kept saying I had the best photographer! Now, as far as the pictures go, I really couldn't imagine anything better. I knew they were going to be amazing from the engagement shoot, but she really blew us away. Artistic, documentary -she sees things that I would never notice. She really is amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eve
Wedding:
12/23/2008
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with Mary's work from beginning to end. She was reliable and very easy to work with. Mary made us all feel so comfortable in front of the camera. I was amazed at how she managed to get every shot, every combination of people without being in our faces or taking over our special day. We love that we have a mix of black and white and color photos and how the pictures actually look and feel like us but better! We were so excited to get the slideshow and then the awesome album. Mary's great eye allows us to relive this day and to share it with friends and family. I would highly recommend Mary for your wedding or any other event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurab
Wedding:
3/8/2008
5.0/5.0
A came across Mary's website and I immediately fell in love with her photographs but meeting her completed the package. When I met Mary I felt comfortable and at ease in a situation that has the potential to be stressful. I couldn't of asked for a better wedding photographer. What I was truly amazed by was her ability to capture the unique and personal qualities of our wedding. She was professional and had a wonderful understanding of what we wanted in our photographs. I believe that wedding photographs are the one thing you can always have from that special day and how Mary captured us was extraordinary!!!
I still follow her blog and I'm continuously amazed by her work. I highly recommend her!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eden
Wedding:
4/19/2006
5.0/5.0
I'm a designer and was very specific about who I wanted to shoot my wedding. When I saw Mary's website, it was a no brainer for me. Her work is artistic, inspirational and truly captured my experience. I didn't think I was the type to hang wedding photos in my home but I had a hard time choosing which ones to put up because they were amazing!

Not to mention that on wedding day, she was on time, reliable and fun to be with. She has a calmness to her that was reassuring during all the craziness of wedding day prep. I HIGHLY recommend! You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eliza S
Wedding:
9/24/2005
5.0/5.0
Mary McHenry Photography is a member of that rare breed of wedding vendors: professional AND friendly. She somehow manages to be where she needs to be at all times, and not only takes all the shots you want her to, but adds her amazing ideas to the mix. She and her team also provide the friendliest, most calming presence you'll ever be near during the whole crazy day. You cannot find a better photographer in terms of quality and experience. Book her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eligray
Wedding:
9/18/2005
5.0/5.0
There are nowhere near enough stars to express the incredible experience we had with Mary. I have never (seriously) seen a photo of myself that I liked. We are not photo people. Mary managed to capture the sweetest, simplest micro moments that you'd miss if you blinked, and we love (seriously!) the way the photos turned out. I'm in awe of the unique cropping and style-y but not styled images she captures. It was like having an old friend who you're totally comfortable around as a low key guest at your wedding. I kind of want her to be my new best friend! I can't recommend Mary highly enough! She is lovely and amazing.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Oakland, CA 94611 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mary McHenry Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo