Nophoto-130

MARYLINN'SBRIDAL AND TUXIDO

CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

CA US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.3
out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
3.2/5.0
3.3/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shauna
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience and would recommend it to anyone... we love them!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryndac1
Wedding:
2/25/2011
4.9/5.0
This review is for the Pasadena Store. As a bride being married for a second time, I had no idea what type of dress that I wanted to wear. The sales person was very helpful. She and my daughter pulled a variety of different style dresses and what do you know - we actually found one that I liked. It took about 5 months to come in. Once it did, we worked with the alterations person to add some lace to the bodice and take it in. She was an absolute sweetheart and was patient with me when I asked about adding the lace. The only thing that was a little stressful for me was their steaminng schedule for the dress. They only steam dresses on Wednesdays and my daughter ended up picking up my dress on the Thursday before my wedding. The dress was absolutely gorgeous and I continue to get compliments on it. The lace detail on the train was loved by all. Thank you!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jltong
Wedding:
11/20/2010
3.3/5.0
I did end up getting my dress here (and I did go to Soir as well as Kleinfelds in NY). They told me that it would take 6 months for the manufacturer to make the dress - I got it in 3 months which is a good thing other than I felt really pressured to "buy the dress, otherwise we'll have to charge you a fee to rush it." This is why I don't think the Quality of the Service was as good as it could have been - but in reality, EVERY bridal salon tells you that. It really just depends on how many orders that particular manufacturer has when you order it.

The dresses are expensive - no doubt about it. But my mom wanted me to buy a dress that she had seen me try on (instead of a dress from a designer online that I found and ADORED who would make it from scratch to my measurements, but alas no trying on beforehand since it was custom made), so it fit the bill.

It's not a very glamorous store. You do feel like everyone is watching you and assessing how great you look in the dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hfpint10
Wedding:
10/17/2010
2.4/5.0
I purchased my wedding gown here in Fall 2009 for my Fall 2010 wedding. The sales staff was very helpful in finding me a dress I LOVED and that looked great on me (which was a big challenge since I am barely 5 feet tall). But aside from my great sales experience, the rest of my experience here was pretty awful.


The alterations staff here is beyond slow and they totally lie to you. At my first fitting, we found out that when they ordered my dress, they didn't take my hollow to hem measurement (which now I know is crucial, but them I didn't) and my dress came in over 8 inches too long. I was so upset as cutting off this much of the dress changed the shape that it should have had and then required so many more alterations.

When I left my first fitting, they assured me that my dress would be hemmed by my second fitting and then we could address all of the other issues with the fit of the dress. When I arrived for my 2nd fitting a month later, nothing had been done to my dress. I was now only 1 month from my wedding - my dress needed a ton of work and I was panicked.

I won't go through all of the details, but lets just say by the time I was done, I had 5 fittings. TWO DAYS before my wedding the lace still was not sewn on to the bottom of my dress -- and it had to be hand sewn. This place is a mess. Beyond that, even though alterations were INCLUDED in the dress price when I bought my dress there - they still charged me over 400 dollars for alterations that they claim were "extras" and were not included. If I were you, I'd stay away from this place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bridetellez
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I went to the shop in pasadena, and tho they are def 5 stars and worth every penny, i was nailed when i lost 28lbs for my wedding and didnt tell me alterations would be about 100 shy of the total amount i spent on my dress. I was 2wks away from my wedding and had no choice since it's a couture shop, its hard to find anyone who would touch the dress, without being afraid of ruining it. I would def recommend add another 1K to your budget for dress, for alterations as it is impossible to find a bride who doesnt lose weight before her wedding or find a dress that has the perfect tightness where you want it ;). p.s. I absolutely loved my dress tho, just wish the cost for alterations wouldnt have killed me ;/! P.s.s. my dress wowed everyone @my wedding. :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1283323796653-fbavatar1378028359
Nacia
Wedding:
9/25/2010
3.9/5.0
Great selection and service. Not so responsive with my requests for timely alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tarakiyoko
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I got my dress on a black friday sale. Even though it was a busy day for them the staff was really nice and helpful giving personal service. I had to buy the sample dress as is but I got it for less than half the original price!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
miriam
Wedding:
7/12/2010
0.0/5.0
BRIDES and BRIDESMAIDS BEWARE! This review is for the Pasadena store. We had ordered the entire wedding party's dresses two months in advance. Many of us had to pay a $30 RUSH fee and I paid extra to have my dress delivered to my home. The staff ordered the wrong dress for half the wedding party and blamed it on the bride. The dresses arrived one week before the wedding so it was too late to order the same dress and we had to pick out entirely different dresses (in the wrong size so it needed altering) for the wedding. After multiple visits to the store (I live almost 80 miles away from Pasadena) they finally finished the dress 1 hour before the ceremony. It was AWFUL!! The manager lied to my face, blaming the bride on the error, when they had already accepted responsibility for the mistake to the bride. I went in to the store to talk to the manager and there was a future bride and her mother already waiting for the manager. The bride was in tears because she had ordered her dress 10 months in advance, paid rush fees and they botched the order. Her wedding is in two weeks!! Terrible service - take your money elsewhere!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mx4family
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
All of the staff at MaryLinn's were wonderful! Thank you for helping me choose the perfect dress for my wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimforsythe
Wedding:
6/26/2010
3.1/5.0
I agree with others that buying my dress was a great experience. The dress itself was a bargain because I bought it at one of their sample sales, however alterations and dress cleaning were not. This wouldn't be such a big deal except alterations were not the quality you would expect for the amount you pay. The dress was cleaned well, but again it was too expensive. I saw it as paying for the convenience of getting it all done in one place.

I recommend getting alterations and cleaning done elsewhere, at a place you trust.

That said, they were willing to help me in any way when I told them I wasn't happy with the alterations the first time around, even though it was peak wedding season and I needed things done in a week (that was my fault - I live across the country from where my wedding was taking place and could only have fittings when I was in town). They were helpful and gave me their opinions up front. I was very happy with how honest they were about what looked good on me and what didn't, even when I purchased things elsewhere and came in to try them on with my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kkpina
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.6/5.0
This is for the store in Pasadena.

I went in looking specifically for a sample dress, as my wedding was less than 2 months away. Nora, my rep, directed me to the sample room, which, unlike many other sample dress rooms I've seen at LA area bridal stores, was just as nice as the main showroom - spacious and lovely with the dresses well-spaced out on racks. I pulled several dresses, and Nora pointed to a dress she said I should definitely try on. "Nope, too fancy for me," I said. 10 minutes later my best friend arrived and immediately spotted the same dress. Well, since they both wanted me to try it, I decided to oblige. I'm sure you can guess that that dress turned out to be "the one." It was a gorgeous designer gown that was $1000 off the original retail price! At first I thought it may have been marked up to begin with, but some internet searches later revealed that their listed retail price was indeed the standard price for this gown. The lovely Nora even went to the trouble of searching the store for extra beads and buttons to go with my gown. She was helpful, kind, and positive, and never gave me a hard time about my deadline or about needing to only buy a sample dress. She knew the inventory up and down and was able to quickly pull some other dresses in similar cuts for me to try. I had a very positive experience there and would definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1275420200810-wedavatar
Amy
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.0/5.0
I went to Marylinn's alone after driving all over LA and finding literally nothing that I liked. I went alone intending to look and maybe find something, 2.5 hours later I was leaving having had the best time ever and having found my dress.

I came back the following Sunday with my mom and my girls, luckily enough just perfect timing to catch the trunk show for the designer of my dress, Matthew Christopher, who I got to meet and try dresses on for.

I bought my dress that day with the trunk show discount and he took silly pictures with me and my girls, we had an absolute blast.

The staff there has always been nice and helpful, I'd definitely recommend them highly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg8
Amy
Wedding:
4/17/2010
3.8/5.0
I went to Marylinn's in Pasadena, where I found The Dress. It was beautiful, and I was surprised the price was reasonable (sale price). My only concern was that I purchased the alterations package, for which they assured me all alterations were included. However, I was then charged $50 for bra cups...one of the alterations they originally had confirmed would be included. I have to say the alterations turned out beautifully, though, and I got so many compliments on my dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane004
Wedding:
4/3/2010
4.8/5.0
Azi, Nareh and the team at Mary Linns (Now Panache) are wonderful. From the moment I walked into the bridal shop they made me feel like a princess and I knew I would find the perfect dress. They are helpful and responsive. I also purchased my bridesmaid dresses from them too and they handled that wonderfully too - all without meeting or seeing the bridesmaids as they were all over seas. I cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful job they do. Do not go anywhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Princess Tea
Wedding:
2/20/2010
3.8/5.0
The consultant was extremely helpful in helping me choose a dress that would look good on my body type. However, I felt a little rushed and I also felt I didn't really get to try on as many dresses as I would have liked. But, in the end, I was really happy with the dress I chose. The price is average.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
flhibbert
Wedding:
11/7/2009
1.8/5.0
The shopping process was great and I found the most amazing dress. I got so many compliments - it was gorgeous. The process of getting it in, alterations, etc. was a nightmare. It was too small and they had to order beading - the beading alone cost $350. Total alternations were $1000 and it was done literally 36 hours before the wedding.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiffanysonly
Wedding:
10/10/2009
3.5/5.0
My dress was exactly what I wanted and exactly what I had envisioned wearing. I found my beautiful Jim Hjelm dress with looking through bridal magazines. It was an ivory Silk Organza trumpet bridal gown,strapless with Alen�on lace body skimming silhouette, empire bodice accented with Ivory satin ribbon, and a chapel train. The minute I saw it I knew it was the one and that was confirmed when I tried it on.

My initial experience & the service at Marylinn's Couture Bridal in Pasadena was exceptional. I had an appointment to try on my dress and my bridesmaids and soon to be mother-in-law. We were warmly greeted and soon the fun began when I was trying on the dresses. The minute I tried on "the one" I had no doubts it was it! And to sweeten the excitement I was offered the trunk show price when I mentioned that I thought that I like to purchase during a next trunk show. They also informed me the my alterations and shoes would be included. I was thrilled!

My girls & I were also able to pick out the bridemaid dresses. Once again we went with a Jim Hjelm dress in the color Minx. They too were told they would receive the trunk show price.

My order was in and shortly there after we were supposed to receive a cutting for approval so I could verify the fabric swatch color of my dress and the bridesmaids and have a sample to try & tie in the colors with our groomsmen's attire. As well as a swatch for my book I was putting together. A few weeks passed and the sample never came. I called and was assured that it would come and they would place another request. It still never came. So eventually I was told I could come to the store and have a small 1" x 1" square of the Minx fabric from their Jim Hjelm fabric swatch book. (They didn't even offer to mail it to me).

When my dress arrived (early!) it was PERFECT and just needed to be taken in a little bit. My service was wonderful however the girls nor I were never called when our dresses arrived. And we were soon informed that their alterations were not included. Although a few of the girls thought they were. The only other hiccup was that they should have been a bit better about sizing with my sisters dress as they ordered it a size too small based on her measurements. She was in-between sizes. Luckily she was able to find a good seamstress to commission to alter the dress for her. (I feel that since they did not do a good job of ordering her dress size they should have offered to do her alterations gratis).

Overall I am pleased with my experience. And Cecy was a great help when I worked with her by phone & in person. My only wish is that they could have been a little better about handling my sisters dress situation & when the dresses arrived as none of the girls were were called even after I requested it.

As for Jim Hjelm I highly recommend his creations. He is an excellent designer and I just LOVE my dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
goldengatebride
Wedding:
9/6/2009
3.2/5.0
I got a beautiful dress that was very affordable and was even offered a discount for a previous trunk show. The girls that work there are friendly and helpful. I choose not to have my dress alterations done there due to many bad reviews and I was treated very poorly by the seamstress that had to fix a seam before I took the dress. I do not recommend using their seamstress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Toni and Steven
Wedding:
9/6/2009
3.9/5.0
This review is the the store in PASADENA.

Dealing with our initial visit for the bridesmaids' and mothers' dresses, was great, from choosing dresses to measurements. Receiving notice of dresses being in the store and ready for pick up was horrible. They use an automated system which only one of my 5 girls received a call. No one else knew their dresses were in. Then there was an issue which was gratefully corrected regarding a charge. All in all the experience was okay, just make sure you order far in advance to make sure you get your dress on time.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicholl
Wedding:
10/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Great The most complements on my dress at my wedding
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.0/5.0
Marylinn's Bridal Salon- Beverly Hills
I visited Marylinn's Bridal in Beverly Hills to find a wedding gown. I emailed ahead looking for a specific Jim Hjelm gown. I was told they had the dress at the Beverly Hills salon. I made an appointment. When I got to the salon and showed the saleswoman the picture and style number I was told “oh, we just sold that sample”. Booooo.

I was told I could pick out only 5 dresses to try on-store policy you can only try on 5 dresses during your appointment (what’s that all about, what if I don’t find the one or want to try something else-wouldn’t you want to make the customer happy and try to get the sale). They did have a Justin Alexander dress from a picture I brought as well as some Pronovias styles I wanted to try.

Overall the sales girl was very helpful and ended up bringing out more than 5 dresses for me to try on. The samples were in decent shape, however the Pronovias silk dress was very dirty-made it hard to picture how it look on me when it was clean. I ended up buying a different dress at another shop (they didn’t have it here).

I would recommend visiting Marylinn’s Bridal. They carry a great selection of designer dresses and had good customer service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
9/12/2008
3.4/5.0
I have mixed feelings about MaryLinn's. On one hand, I found a gorgeous dress there (Pronovias Diamante) that I had trouble finding anywhere else. The sticker price was very reasonable, but that did not include the cost of alterations. Here is where they get you to dish out a lot more than you expect to pay. I was originally quoted over $700 for alterations (mind you, nothing major except for a bussle that they said was elaborate and had to be that way due to the style of the dress). I was able to bring them down to $500 with some negotiation, but that was still quite a lot in my opinion. Still, the seamstress was very skilled and the final product looked great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgmalinin
Wedding:
8/30/2008
1.2/5.0
I was very unhappy with my experience at Marylinn's, both in Pasadena and Beverly Hills.

The dress I fell in love with was only available at the shop in Pasadena. The staff was rude and ignored me for an entire hour during my first fitting (while I stood there in my dress and heels!) until someone told me that the seamstress wasn't coming in. They also ordered my veil in the wrong color, so when it came in, it clashed with my dress. I ended up returning the veil and not wearing one because it took too long to have another one shipped.

After moving across town, I had my alterations done at the Beverly Hills shop. The service there wasn't any better. I was over-charged for simple alterations (about $800 for just a basic hem, taking in the sides, and a single-button bustle on plain fabric, no beading)... and they messed up my dress!! I kept my cool all along, as I was at their mercy to fix it. When I went it for my final fitting (three days before the wedding!), the seamstress told me that she couldn't fix my dress because I had "gained too much weight," which was not only false, but incredibly insulting to a nervous bride who was already upset and all alone!

It's a long story and by the time my wedding day rolled around, the dress was wearable, but not perfect. I had accepted the fact that the dress wasn't going to look exactly the way I wanted and that it wasn't as important as marrying the love of my life! But if I had my choice, I would have happily gone somewhere else, where I was a valued customer.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melodiouscarol
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.4/5.0
One thing I’ve always imagined to prepare for my wedding was to be in a beautiful boutique to try on wedding gowns. Well, this is definitely the place for that! It even has the cliche fancy couches where your bridesmaids & moms can sit and watch. The Beverly Hills store is a cute little boutique and they had lots of fabulous gowns. However, I have to say that most of their gowns are expensive! I only went in because I thought they had a trunk sale, but my gown was the 2nd cheapest to cheapest gown there. I told them that my maximum price was $1000, and they took away ALL the gowns but two. Luckily, I ended up loving one of the two.

Their service is great but I give their alterations just okay because it ended up being too short on me! The dress didn’t fit me perfectly at all, but I wonder if it was just because of the way the dress was made? I’m jealous of those girls whose dresses fit them SO snug and perfectly because my dress had always fit weird. I don’t really recommend their alterations as much as their service, maybe you can take it somewhere else? It was also super expensive for alterations! (Around $500!) One great example of their service is when I went to go pick up my dress. For some reason, they had set it to be ready on Friday but I remember telling them Thursday because Friday was jammed packed. When they realized this, they said they would drop it off at my house! So the manager came by herself and dropped it off on Thursday night at my house. Great service! They truly understood bad situations and handled it professionally.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dezibaby_20
Wedding:
9/2/2007
0.4/5.0
They were horrible avoid them at all costs. aletered my dress wrong took over a year to get it in. salesladies extremely rude
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alora Zrenda
Wedding:
9/8/2005
1.3/5.0
I went to the MaryLinn store in Pasadena. I only had 5 months to plan for my wedding so I didn't have to much time to find a dress. I fell in love with a dress they had on display in the window. They didn't seem very interested in my business when I went in to inquire about the dress. I reluctantly ordered it from them. I didn't get my dress until the actual day of my wedding!! Luckily for me, I didn't need alterations. If I had more time to look for my dress, I definitely would NOT have given my business to them. Avoid them if you can!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
I went to the Marylinn's in Pasadena during their sample sale. The lady (Kiting?) who's no longer working there was terrific. I didn't have an appointment but since the store was not busy she helped me look for dress styles all without making me feel rushed (I had read some bad reviews of this store afterwards). It was her personality and attention that made me decide to buy my dress there. Since I was on my own, she took the time to give me her genuine opinion - btw, my family and friends loved the dress! She wasn't so much interested in making a big sale as she was in helping me find the right dress for me. We narrowed it down to 2 and price is what decided the dress for me. I had the dress put on hold until I could decide. When I went back to try it on one more time I had a different girl. She was no Kiting! She was nice enough but her attention to detail (like thoroughly doing the back) was lacking. If I had her the first time I likely would not have bought the dress. Maybe I'm biased but I I think it really depends on who you get to help you that makes a difference in choosing a dress from Marylinn's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
We didn't know what to expect as best friends/brides walking into this store... the interior was pretty old but the shop was filled with so many gowns!! Then, the storepeople politely asked us if we had appointments. We did, but it was at a later time - after looking at their schedule, Azi frankly told us we could use one of the rooms as they had another customer coming in. So I don't understand so many negative reviews!! Making an appointment was a breeze for us and the staff were very knowledgeable and friendly... and we did find the perfect dress for us!!

This boutique is hands down the best bridal shop we've been to so far, and we had been shopping for a dress nonstop for several days straight. No one was as knowledgeable about their dresses as Marylinn's staff and we fell in love with their dresses that were very well kept. The manager, Azi, obviously loves her dresses and know what fits the best on a bride. She pulled out several dresses that looked very good on me. My friend also found the dress that she was looking for, and we ended up buying the dresses after getting ourselves a deal from Azi (we were buying two bridal gowns, after all). She even gave me some discounts after we found out we got a parking ticket from getting so awed from our dresses!! (we totally forgot to put in more coins...) There is a private parking lot behind the store if you're planning on driving straight there.

Since they are currently doing a moving sale, she gave my friend a very good deal as she is buying one off the rack. It was brand new and she walked away with her dream dress! I could totally see her walking down the aisle in it.

We've been to both L'ezu across the street and Marylinn's (as well as other shops), and I have to say that some of the reviews are very biased for L'ezu, which I don't understand. Marylinn's is obviously the more fashionable and well kept place in this area, as well as a lot more reasonable. Be sure to double check their address and phone number though, because they're moving in February. My advice is, SHOP AROUND for your dress.

NOTE - you cannot take pictures in this boutique because I guess they're afraid of getting their designs stolen. So be aware if you were planning on taking pictures while shopping. Also they only have alterations on Mondays and Thursdays. I had no idea and had to drive 3 hours each way to get my dress altered. It's okay but it would've been nice to know this fact before purchasing the "free alteration included" deal.

FYI they moved to a new location and changed their name to PANACHE. It's located at:

Panache
9740 Wilshire Blvd.
Beverly Hills 90212

The new store is GORGEOUS!!! However, the parking situation on Wilshire kind of sucks... They validate first 15 minutes of the parking lot next to it but then it's $2 per every 15 minutes afterward so be aware...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MARYLINN'SBRIDAL AND TUXIDO
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo