130x130_sq_1389661506260-5-070311-matt--jen-stedman-bw-style-me-pret

Matt Stedman Band

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chicago, IL US (map)

PHONE

630-670-0316

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Featuring world touring professional musicians with GRAMMY AWARD winning talent. Concert quality music with style, versatility, & fun. We guarantee a FULL DANCE floor & can take care of... Read more
Featuring world touring professional musicians with GRAMMY AWARD winning talent. Concert quality music with style, versatility, & fun. We guarantee a FULL DANCE floor & can take care of your ceremony, cocktails, dinner, & emceeing. Our brides = happy brides!
More specifically we take care of the following, leaving couples worry free: ~ Ceremony ~ Cocktail Hour ~ Dinner ~ Dancing ~ Master Of Ceremonies/MC (Announcements) ~ DJ Service In Between Or After Live Music ~ Coordination
We encourage you to visit us @ www.mattstedman.com Read less
Band , Ceremony Music , DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1389029740644-1-070311-ernie-hendrickson--brian-burk
130x130_sq_1389029759515-2-080413-msb-andrea-miologo
130x130_sq_1389029793239-3-051813-msb-matt-stedma
130x130_sq_1389029840185-4-move-
130x130_sq_1389029904562-5-070311-matt--jen-stedman-bw-style-me-prett
130x130_sq_1389029933074-6-063013-msb-andrea-miologos-smilin
130x130_sq_1389029944424-7-070311-jen--matt-with-quarte
130x130_sq_1389029961034-8-111712-kenny-smit
130x130_sq_1389029986569-9-051813-msb-thom-masla
130x130_sq_1389030016892-10-062914-rom-bw-schrage
130x130_sq_1389030026943-11-101610-matt-wcute-kid-kyl
130x130_sq_1389030049710-12-051813-msb-rick-kin
130x130_sq_1389030086744-13-070311-cake-toppe
130x130_sq_1389030104017-14-051912-mike-rodbar
130x130_sq_1389030114675-15-080413-msb-brian-burke--matt-stedman-
130x130_sq_1389030127895-16-070311-cake-with-musicians-behind-i
130x130_sq_1389030148429-17-070513-ms
130x130_sq_1389030156825-18-070513-msb-john-kattk
130x130_sq_1389030170349-19-0311matt--jen-hand
130x130_sq_1389030189587-20-070712-msb-mark-diff--brian-burk
130x130_sq_1389030200270-21-0712-msb-neal-ohar
130x130_sq_1389030216854-22-070909-jenmattweddin

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Blues, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Stylish & professional.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Our set up time depends on how many band members we are performing with, where we are performing, & if a sound system is provided or if we are providing one. Set up could take as little as 30 minutes to as much as an hour and a half.
How much space do you usually require?
The amount of space we require depends on how many band members we bring and if we are performing on acoustic or electric instruments. We could require as little as a 8 X 13 foot space to as large as a 16 X 20 foot space.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We provide sound upon request.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Yes, we emcee most weddings & events.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
We always keep everyone dancing because we always perform the appropriate music at the appropriate times. We know what people want to dance to before even they do. THIS IS WHY WE ARE THE BEST!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Our answer is available upon personal request.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes, we do if music is not already provided.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
Our answer is available upon personal request.
What is your overtime rate?
Our answer is available upon personal request.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Our answer is available upon personal request.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Our answer is available upon personal request.

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, String - Quartet, String - Quintet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Guitar, Piano, Violin

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
It was really important to my dad, my husband, and I to have a live band at our wedding instead of a DJ. My husband did some searching online for bands in the area and came up with the Matt Stedman Band. We decided to hire them after watching some of their youtube videos and talking to Matt over the phone. Our wedding was very DIY, it was not at a banquet hall but at the county fairgrounds, and we didn't hire a wedding coordinator so I was a little worried that things wouldn't run smoothly at the reception. Little did I know that when you hire Matt Stedman, you aren't just getting great live music, you are also getting an MC, DJ, and basically a coordinator in one. It really put my mind at ease and helped me relax on my wedding day knowing he had a whole itinerary planned out for how the reception would go, and he definitely knows how things work being that they perform at weddings pretty much every weekend! They have a very large catalog of music that they can perform and they let you choose which songs you really want to hear, and then they choose other songs to perform based on their experience of what will get people out on the floor. They also DJ during breaks so people can keep dancing. We received many compliments on the band, and everyone had a great time! The night ran very smoothly and we were so happy with how everything turned out. I would definitely recommend Matt Stedman Band to anyone who wants great live music and friendly, professional service!
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/13/2014
5.0/5.0
We had the Matt Stedman Band play at our wedding reception in mid-June. We had the trio play at our cocktail hour and they provided excellent musical accompaniment while our guests were chatting and eating. We chose the fibe piece band to play at our reception and we couldn't have been happier with how they performed! This band was exceptional and we would highly recommend them! From the moment we decided to go with the band, they were so easy to work with and very helpful, honest and accommodating. Matt was an exceptional leader and made sure that we got exactly what we wanted. He went through every detail with us and walked us through the whole process which made it so easy for us. We did not have to worry about the music at all because Matt and the band had it all under control! We absolutely loved Andrea's singing and her performance of our first dance song. The band has a fabulous choice of music and was able to keep our guests dancing the whole night! We absolutely loved this band and would recommend it for anyone looking for a band. The best around! :)
Services Used: Band
Wwnetwork-128
Alishia
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman Band provided all music for our ceremony and wedding reception on 5/17/14, and they were amazing! Matt was very approachable and easy to work with from the beginning. I had never seen the band live in person prior to booking them, only through their music online, but an hour long phone conversation with Matt put me at ease and let me know this was the right band to book for our wedding. (I was luckily able to see them live at Navy Pier a few months later, which solidified my feeling of ease, as they were amazing and so much fun!) I have always wanted a live band vs a DJ, and The Matt Stedman Band is worth every penny! They provided a guitarist and violin for my ceremony, and it was perfect! Between the birds chirping as we walked down the aisle to the beautiful music, it just set this amazing atmosphere for the ceremony. And, the reception....you guys rocked it! From keeping everything running smoothly, with Matt as the MC, to the great music keeping people on the dancefloor...they helped make our special day even more perfect and wonderful. My only complaint --- I wish they played even more songs! Thank you all, especially Matt, for helping to make our day more wonderful and memorable! ---Alishia and Paul
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
The reviews on Yelp, The Knot, Gigmasters, etc. all consistently rave about the Matt Stedman Band, and for good reason! We booked them for our 5/10/2014 wedding, and they found a way to exceed our very high expectations for them. We had heard them live before, so we knew they were great musicians... but, we were blown away by two things: (1) Their professionalism. Matt really has this down to a science. He knew *all* of the right questions to ask, and was really thorough to ensure everything went smoothly. He was quite helpful as we thought through the flow of things with details we might have overlooked had it not been for him. (2) The diversity of the music they played (and played amazingly well!). Having a live band play acoustic guitar + violin for our ceremony as my wife & her father walked in to Pachelbal, solo piano music for cocktail hour, a polka for the father/daughter dance, a great blend of familiar rock favorites & slow dance songs, and a 20 minute country music jam session to keep a crowded dance floor going until the very last minute of the reception... we got quite a few compliments on them, and we truly could not have asked for anything more from the band! They were exceptional!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamara
Wedding:
12/31/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband found the Matt Stedman band through some internet research. We were planning a Chicago wedding from Washington, DC and Matt made it so easy to work with him. Matt is the consummate professional and really knows how to runs party. He made us feel at ease about the wedding running smoothly and it went off without a hitch! From announcing us to feeling the crowd as to what song to play, he did great job. It was New Year's Eve wedding and they really brought down the house at midnight. We had a number of people tell us the band was the best wedding band they had ever heard. Not to mention Matt gave us a really amazing wedding gift (a surprise, so I won't ruin it for you). It was important to us to have the whole wedding dancing from grandmothers to tween cousins and Matt got the job done.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
BEST WEDDING BAND EVER!! Matt and his crew were an absolute joy to work with, and i would gladly have them again at any parties or events in the future. His lines of communication were very direct and timely; he was always very courteous, professional, and helpful whether we used him or not (we definitely did!); they played beautifully at the processional/recessional at the ceremony; and our guests raved about them at the wedding, playing everything from rock to oldies to slow songs to our requested polkas.

I remember going to see the Matt Stedman Band one night to check them out and immediately knew after hearing them and talking with Matt that they would be our wedding band. He also handled all of the emcee duties at our venue and made the whole process quite easy! Thanks so much again for a magical evening - you guys rock!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Libby
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We were thrilled to have the Matt Stedman Band perform for our wedding. They are the perfect combination of being true professionals with outstanding talent and fantastic personalities. Each band member was so kind and friendly to our wedding guests, and we were impressed by the variety and quality of songs performed. Matt worked extensively with us to ensure that the music would reflect our individual style, as well as set the tone for our day. They were a joy to work with, and I would absolutely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tera
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band was amazing to work with! We choose Matt Stedman Band because we were searching for a band that did not sound like your typical wedding band. My husband and I often visit Nashville TN and really wanted a band for our wedding that could play the fiddle - This band was it. The venue we had our wedding at even asked for their information for an upcoming event. Every guests has raved about how awesome they were.

Matt helped me organize every minute of my day to ensure I could relax and enjoy my day as much as my guests. Ladies, trust his suggestions he knows what he is doing!

Thanks for everything!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caroline
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow - I can't possibly give these guys as much credit as they deserve. Working with Matt was so easy, he's very organized and from our first call I could tell that this band truly knows how to help plan a wedding. Their level of experience is beyond any other vendor I spoke with and you will be lucky to have this band at your wedding! Everyone else was right, we had all of our guests dancing throughout the night and are still getting rave reviews from them on what a great time they had, which is a true testament to the entire band. Thanks again, guys!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved Matt Stedman and the band! From the ceremony, the cocktail hour, first dances, to the dancing at reception, they were able to meet and exceed our expectations! The music was beautiful and everyone was on the dance floor!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Matt was one of my top vendors to work with because he made great suggestions and was always upbeat and professional. He came highly recommended to us and we would like to do the same for him and his band members! Book them and their fee is well worth it. Live band is the way to go if you have it in your budget and if not make cuts elsewhere so that you can book a band. We had so many guests afterwards that told us they hadn't danced in years until our wedding because the band got everyone up and out of their seats and out to the dance floor.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not have asked for a better experience with the Matt Stedman Band for our May 26th Wedding. Most people know that wedding planning comes with many stressors and headaches and of course, uncooperative vendors; however Matt Stedman was the complete opposite. Not only was he extremely friendly and professional, he was also very organized and detailed leading up to the day of our wedding.

When we first showed interest in the Matt Stedman Band, he right away invited us to one of his shows, which my husband and I attended. During one of his breaks, Matt took time to talk to us about our upcoming wedding. We loved that he really showed interest in us and our big day. After booking our date with him, he right away sent us all the information we needed to know. His information was always extremely detailed and organized, which we definitley appreciated. Leading up to our wedding, we spoke with him many times, making sure everything was perfect. Not only did we want everything to run smoothly, but he did, too! We were also able to choose the music we wanted, from his selection, which was so great. Not only were we able to choose what we thought our guests wanted to hear, but he played everything we chose! Our guests, of all ages, were so complimentary of the Matt Stedman Band. We are so glad we decided to go with the Matt Stedman Band; it was definitely a highlight of our wedding.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
I'll break it down into small sections of what I felt was most noteworthy in my experience of using the Matt Stedman Band. My first words of advice: Don't think too hard.....they are FANTASTIC! Simple as that, no question about it!

1) Making the Decision
~ Matt spent plenty of time with me explaining the services him and his band offered. He also performed at my sister's wedding in 2007 and I remembered him 6 YEARS LATER so it wasn't too difficult to make my decision! It was so comfortable to talk to him over the phone and I knew he'd by an absolute pleasure to work with right off the bat.

2) Time spent with me before wedding
~I never actually met with Matt in person, however if you are concerned about this, don't be! He is a very thorough communicator through phone, email, and text. He literally spent hours with me over the phone to make sure EVERY detail was covered before the day of my wedding. He asked me what genre of music I prefer, any special music I would like played, and took the lead when I couldn't make decisions for myself. He also wrote up an itinerary for me based on all our conversations so that I could go over every detail visually before the big day! I passed this itinerary out to my entire wedding party which was extremely helpful as I did not have a wedding coordinator and everyone depended on me for direction! Made the actual wedding day flow perfectly! I was confident before the wedding that he would take care of any issues that might pop up and also be a director that I could depend on if my brain froze haha, which is common with brides.

3)The Wedding Day
~ WOW! I could not have been more pleased :). The band played throughout my ceremony, the cocktail hour, and of course the reception. I even requested that they learn a song for the cerem
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band performed at my February 2013 wedding. It was a blast! They style of music was easy to dance to for everyone and the quality was beyond my expectation.

Matt was very easy to work with in the months leading up to the wedding. He made sure I had every detail of my ceremony and reception planned and set. When the day came, I didn't get a chance to talk to Matt before everything started so having everything planned left me stress free! Matt did a great job being the master of ceremonies and got everyone's name pronounced correctly! (That's a tough one to do!)

My guests (including myself) never left the dance floor. I thought 3 hours of dancing time would be plenty but I could have went for a few more!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I used the Matt Stedman Band for my wedding in February. Matt was very timely and organized when it came to planning the music for my ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. He had a variety of options and suggestions based on my personal taste. When I wasn't sure about what I wanted, he was able to make great suggestions to further guide me. The band members where very talented, and my guests had many compliments about the band. These guys are not your typical "wedding band;" they are true musicians.

One of the best things about having the Matt Stedman Band at my wedding was the fact that Matt basically ran the show when it came to the various events throughout the night. He smoothly transitioned from cocktail hour, to announcements, to cake cutting, to toasts, to dinner, to reception. He took all the pressure of of me and my family to, in a sense, host the evening.

I recommend the Matt Stedman Band, to anyone!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelbee
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band was amazing at our wedding - they made everything that much better than it already was. They are professional, fun, pleasant to work with, and above all, they ROCK. A friend sent me their website, and I loved what I heard. My fiance and I went to check out a gig, and we were hooked! They are so fun and so talented, and I'd use them again and again!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terra
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment we first chatted with Matt Stedman we knew, this guy just gets it. He has an obvious passion for music that is only outmatched by his talents. Early on, he focused on understanding our personal music tastes as well as our guests and had it thoroughly documented to avoid unwanted surprises for either side. We took his professional suggestions each and every time and found them to be right on the money. Overall, the Matt Stedman Band knows how to deliver. His bands acoustic violin and guitar performance for our outdoor ceremony was delicate and romantic while the cocktail and post dinner tunes were upbeat and wildly energetic. Anyone who appreciates the purity of live music over mp3 recordings will find this band is worth every penny. We highly recommend the Matt Stedman Band for any and all occasion, but most credibly so, a wedding. Terra and Russell
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I found the Matt Stedman Band when we were planning our daughters wedding. We live out of state and never had the opportunity to listen to them live. I booked them based upon their reviews and the music they have on line. The band played beautifully during the ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception. Matt coordinated the entire evening and he kept everything flowing. At the end of the night we had many, many compliments on the band. From the time the band started playing, the dance floor was packed. Matt and his band were phenomenal! I would absolutely hire the band to play at another wedding or event. I highly recommend this band and am glad we were able to get a true wedding band. Matt was very easy to work with during the planning phase and helped us choose a good mix of songs for all ages! Absolutely a fantastic time!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Where do I even start? The Matt Stedman Band was out of this world! Our guests keep talking about how amazing they were and that it was one of the best weddings they have ever been to. Our dance floor was ALWAYS full and The Matt Stedman Band knew exactly what to play to keep all guests laughing, dancing and having fun! Matt was an absolute pleassure to work with and made everything that much easier! I HIGHLY recommend The Matt Stedman Band for your wedding!!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debby
Wedding:
8/3/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Matt's music. Our guests kept asking "Where did you find these guys?" The band was superb. The doors to the reception were open, and people from within the resort came in to listen, and even started dancing to the music Matt and his band played. When the band took a break, Matt converted over to an ipod so the music never stopped. Matt and his band went above and beyond to entertain us and our guests. The age ranges in our wedding reception was from 7 to 87, and each one of them was entertained. Matt personally handled a song request for me, "Marry Me" by Train that sounded like the original artist. For my husband, Matt's guitarist learned the lyrics to an oldie that my husband requested, and it too sounded awesome.

Matt is also a great wedding organizer and helped me plan the schedule from the start of the wedding all the way through the end of the evening.

Matt's website doesn't do him justice - we told him that the night of the reception. So if you're considering Matt, here him play in person before you make your final decision. You won't be disappointed. The Matt Stedman Band are true professionals in every way.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I was reading these comments just a few months thinking the Matt Stedman Band must be too good to be true. Now I'm writing my own comment after having worked with Matt and having had the Matt Stedman Band play our wedding ceremony and reception. Matt and the Band really are "all that"!!! Matt is an amazing communicator, honest, helpful, entirely trustworthy and an amazing musician! He constantly went the extra mile to make our wedding music perfect and left us with no work to do! They are amazing. Seriously.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My wife told me about the Matt Stedman Band when we were planning our wedding and we had never heard them live or even heard of them at all before that. In fact we were living in Georgia at the time so we never had the opportunity to go and watch them live prior to the wedding. Nonetheless we still decided to book them. Multiple people came up before the wedding, as the band was setting up, and asked how I found the band. I told them my wife just randomly found them online and decided she liked them. Everyone was astonished that we hired a band that we had never heard. The band played beautifully all the way through the ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception, coordinated the whole evening, and kept everything running very smoothly. At the end of the night we had more people come up and compliment/ask about the band then I had wishing us congratulations for getting married! The band was phenomenal and I would hire them again in a heartbeat. They kept everything flowing perfectly and had everyone out on the dance floor the entire night; they definitely took our wedding from ordinary to extraordinary! We highly recommend this band and we are so happy we spent the extra money instead of just getting a DJ.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlsie
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
From the intital inquiry e-mail to the end of the reception Matt Stedman was extremely helpful and detail oriented! I was very impressed that every detail was covered and that nothing was left to chance. The band and ceremony were two things that I didn't have to stress about. Matt and his band are professional and extremely talented! They Took requests at the reception and everyone was dancing the entire time. Everyone that I have spoken to that attended my wedding ceremony and reception has complimented me on the band and I have even passed on their contact info to a handful of people. I would Highly recommend to anyone who asks me for the name of a DJ, because a DJ just doesn't compare to what Matt and his band bring to the table!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mkotche
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We used the Matt Stedman Band for our wedding on June 2 and it was wonderful. They were very organized and played great music. We had many musicians at the wedding and they were all very impressed by the bands ability to play many genres so well. Also many people at the wedding said they have never seen a dance floor so packed. We were very impressed but the band. Everything was fantastic and we would definitely recommend them. Thanks guys!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bajagyspy
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
More Than Just Music! posted 6/19/2012
Professional, positive, talented, FUN, and more than just music! Reception coordination and communication made us feel very comfortable about the night's festivities. We appreciate it all and loved every mintue of it. Amazing music selection and great Celtic, bluegrass and country sounds for the more off-beat nontraditional couples. We heard that what people remember the most about weddings is the food, but we know that in our case it is definitely the band! Everyone loved it. Thanks Matt, we had a blast!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ckunkel1
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band was hands down the best choice we made in the wedding process - and they made it so easy for us! Between their excellent website with tons of audio samples, emails letting us know where they were performing, we were able to see them live and book them within a week of finding them online. We also spoke to Matt on the phone for an hour to discuss the kind of party (raucous) that we wanted, and how exactly we wanted to evening to run. They delivered 110% - the crowd was whipped into an absolute frenzy by their versions of "Devil Went Down to Georgia" and "Honky Tonk Woman," and people swarmed the dance floor all night long. They sounded AWESOME, and the energy they brought to the latter half of the evening really made the party. Not to humblebrag, but many of our guests said that this was the best wedding they had ever been to, and I sincerely believe that The Matt Stedman Band was a HUGE part of those compliments. I would hire them again in a heartbeat - and crash any wedding where I heard they were playing!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ConnorDurkin1987
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
It has been roughly 3 months since the wedding, and our parents, friends, and family are still talking about how great the band was!
Matt was personable, adaptable, and offered great advice (that is backed by his years of experience). We came in not knowing how/why/when to do ANYTHING, and Matt walked us through the entire process.
Our favorite aspect was how Matt tailored the music based on what was going on. When the band felt it was time to "kick it up" he would play something fast and fun. When it needed to calm down a bit, slow song! Along with this, each of our dances were more personal because they came from a live performance.
Many are scared away from a live band thinking that they will isolate the dancing/music and it won't be for everyone. But let me tell you, everyone (not joking, EVERY SINGLE PERSON) loved the music. This includes our young friends, our middle aged cousins/uncles/aunts, our grandparents, and all ages in between.
We cannot recommend the Matt Stedman Band enough. They are fantastic!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ryanetuttle
Wedding:
3/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt and the band were professional in all matters leading up to and during the event. Beyond that, their musicianship and performance were top notch. They were a perfect wedding band since they could do all ceremony music, emceeing, and reception music, but they are also more than "just a wedding band." They are professional quality, creative musicians with a lot of style and enthusiasm. Very much entertainers. They were even so cool to learn my favorite song (as a surprise to me - what a great moment). We got a lot of great feedback about them from our guests, and we could not have been happier. Rock on, guys.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KBot
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman Band played at my wedding on January 7th, 2012 and were absolutely wonderful. From my initial contact with Matt, he was extremely professional and accommodating to my somewhat unconventional wedding. They provide an amazing song list to choose from and really know how to get your guests up to dance! Matt also played with his band's pianist at my wedding ceremony and were absolutely amazing. They made my wedding very memorable and guests are still commenting on how wonderful the band was! Book them for your event, you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band played our wedding and reception over the weekend, and we could not have been happier with way everything turned out. From day 1 of planning our big day, Matt was extremely helpful and professional, and always responded to our questions promptly via email or phone. Their knowledge and experience made the entire day run smoothly. It could not have been more perfect. The piano and violin at our ceremony was absolutely beautiful. Their interpretation of Elvis and The Beatles made wonderful wedding music. Our reception could not have been more fun. They played a little of everything, and everyone was dancing, including family members we've NEVER seen dance before! We highly recommend The Matt Stedman Band for your celebration, and we can't wait to head to Chicago to see them live again!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lholmes8286
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
After seeing Matt and his band play at our friend's wedding, my husband and I knew that we wanted them to play ours as well. From the first e-mail, Matt was incredibly organized and thorough. He set great expectations for us so there were no surprises and made sure we were all on the same page. We had Matt and his keyboardist play the music for our ceremony, which was absolutely wonderful. We got many compliments from guests on our song selection and the violin and keyboard combination was perfect for our venue at the history museum. Matt did a great job Emceeing the wedding, from inviting guests to sit for dinner, to coordinating the toasts, to making sure we were in place for the first dance. We didn't have to remember (or worry about) a thing and were able to enjoy the evening, knowing that Matt was keeping us on track. The band during the reception was truly phenomenal! They played a great mix of old favorites, some newer hits, and a great celtic folk medley (loved the fiddle!). Our guests danced the night away and are still raving about the music. Overall, Matt Stedman Band was easy to work with, very professional, and truly delivered on excellent music for both the ceremony and reception. We would not hesitate to recommend them to other couples looking for something a little different than a typical wedding DJ.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jesse
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band exceeded our expectations 100 times over! If you are looking for real musicians performing real music, look no further than the Matt Stedman Band. Matt is a very detailed and organized individual to work with...from asking all the right questions to controlling the flow of the ceremony and reception. The dance floor was full all night, from the youngest of guest to the oldest of guest - with everyone fully enjoying themselves. Nothing but complements from our guests about the stellar band! We would highly recommend the Matt Stedman Band for any type of wedding ceremony and/or reception. We look forward to catching them at one of their shows in the near future. They are incredible!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Musician Groom
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt and his band played a big part in making our wedding day as special for us as it was for guests. From intimate acoustic sets for our ceremony, to the full five piece band playing songs WELL to a full dance floor.

Their set list is extensive and covers many styles.

At a wedding where many guests and vendors took time to tell my new wife and I this was the best wedding they had ever been to says a lot!!!


~ The band played a major part in that ~
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
szar
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding a few weeks ago and we could not have been happier with the way things went. From the moment we spoke with Matt, his communication was extremely helpful in so many aspects. Not only did he have a ton of knowledge and obvious passion for the music, he heard our thoughts and concerns about our day, shared his honest opinion, and helped in so many areas to make it go smoothly. He is much more than just the leader of this band and that will be evident and appreciated once you speak with Matt. We took his recommendations on everything from the music, to speech order, to timing of dinner service at our wedding and everything ran perfectly because of this.

More than that, the band itself is extremely entertaining, talented, and reads a crowd of people incredibly well. Our guests were non-stop dancing our entire wedding to a variety of music styles and I cannot count the amount of compliments we received about the music. Our guests truly appreciated this fun band that got people moving and feeling good, but stood out by playing different music than a typical wedding band.

I feel very confident recommending this band for a wedding, and we can't wait to go out and see them play again at another function with our friends and family! Enjoy!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taralynduby
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman Band played for our wedding, and they did not fail to impress us and all guests. This band not only played music that made everyone have a great time, but the also made an agenda that kept everone, including other vendors, prepared and on time. Working with Matt, during the planning process, was thorough and wonderful. We absolutely loved Matt Stedman Band. I will recommend them to everyone. Thank you Matt and all the guys for making our day perfect!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerod
Wedding:
9/9/2011
5.0/5.0
MATT STEDMAN BANDS ROCKED THE HOUSE!!!!
That should be the headline if this were a newspaper. On a serious note, the Matt Stedman Band was terrific and made our wedding very memorable. Matt personally accepted all of our calls, and was available 24/7 to answer any of our questions. So the service we received was exceptional, and the responsiveness was second to none. We thought the value for what we received was perfect. The band was so easy to talk to and had a geniune care for if we had fun. We actually stayed an extra 20 minutes after and spoke with the band about how incredible they were. We had multiple guests ask for the band's contact information. I think that proves how talented they were, and they even performed for the ceremony (violin and acoustic guitar).

If you are truly looking for an ecletic band with great attention to detail, then Matt Stedman Band is your band. We couldn't have asked for a better band.

Jerod & Taralyn 9/18/2011
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TeamThornton
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring this band was the best decision we ever made. First, they are surprisingly affordable. Matt was willing to work with our budget and even threw in ceremony guitar and violin for free when we couldn't afford it. They are so talented, know how to keep the party going, and are just pleasant to work with. Matt has so much experience, he knows all the right questions to ask ahead of time to ensure the event is perfect. We even had a 1.5 hour long phone call with him the week of the wedding to make sure we were all on the same page. He is extremely detailed and will take care of everything. If you don't have a DOC or wedding planner Matt can handle a lot of the "master of ceremonies" type responsibilities. Definitely a MUST if you want live music at your wedding.

PS Before hiring the band we went and heard them play at a restaurant, they are SO good. Even if you already have a wedding band go hear them play - amazing night out!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
From the very first time I contacted Matt Stedman he was incredibly enthusiastic and attentive. He was easy to get a hold of and quick to respond to any questions I had. Not only was he super personable and a pleasure to work with, the band was unbelievable. I had several people tell me that they were the best wedding band that they had ever heard and I couldn't agree more. The dance floor was full from the very first song to the end of the night! They totally made the party.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mikeb3
Wedding:
8/8/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were totally unsure about looking at bands for our Michigan wedding (we live in CA), but came across the Matt Stedman Band website. We listened to every track they listed and were really impressed with their sound and fun approach to a variety of kinds of music. Matt was very professional, organized, and loaded with good advice for music selection and event flow leading up to the event. And on the big day? They were great!! The band could not have been better. They sounded fantastic for the ceremony on the beach, and even better in full arrangement under the wedding tent. They are obviously a talented group of musicians and a terrific band, but they also KNOW how to play at a wedding. They were very fun and our guests could not have been happier. Matt MC'd for us and kept the event moving along, and played just the right music at the right time for our guests. If you are planning a wedding and are looking for a professional, excellent sounding, very nice, band to play, you will not be disappointed with the Matt Stedman Band.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
8/5/2011
5.0/5.0
The wisest investment we made at our outdoor wedding was not umbrellas, citronella candles or even kegs of delicious beer.
It was hiring The Matt Stedman Band. Matt was totally professional every step of the way and his experience was particularly helpful (and greatly appreciated) when it came to preparing the small details for the ceremony.
Matt and the guys are AWESOME musicians and everyone had a blast at the reception. I know this for a fact because I had actually never seen my dad dance before and on our wedding night he was out on the floor for almost every song.
The Matt Stedman Band is worth every penny and I promise your wedding will be a fun one if you hire these guys.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding this summer and we could not have been more pleased with how the entire evening went. Matt really set the tone for the night, starting with introductions of the wedding party and toasts, fabulous dinner music, and entertaining tunes all night. He kept everything organized and moving which is a huge help. Our friends and family absolutely loved this band and the dance floor was full all night.

Matt was extremely professional to work with since the beginning and we felt very comfortable discussing the type of wedding and music were were looking for. Matt also performed classical music during the ceremony which we loved.

The best thing about this group is the diversity, they can play just about anything so they appeal to the entire crowd. We especially loved the blues, Matt is amazing on the harmonica. And when we heard that electric violin we knew we had our band.

Matt Stedman Band is extremely professional and highly entertaining. We can't wait to catch their next show!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darcy
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt is a consummate professional when it comes to how he presents himself, and how he organizes the music for the evening. When you're worrying about all of the crazy planning you need to do pre-wedding, the last thing you want to be worrying about is the music. Matt takes care of everything, and makes the night go by smoothly, and the band is great on top of that! He has an extensive selection of songs that sound amazing. One warning, just be ready to dance most of the night. =)
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Excellent, Professional Entertainment-Exceeded All Expectations

We knew we wanted a live band for our wedding and there were many options. After seeing the Matt Stedman band at a Chicago wedding in 2009 we were really impressed with the bands versatility and ability to match the style of wedding-something that would appeal to all ages. As a musician I was very particular about the songs for each part of the wedding day. I was so moved when I heard the violin and piano echoing through the church while I was in the brides room waiting to walk down the aisle. It sounded even better than a recording. I was so impressed with the number of songs to choose from. It was hard to pick songs because they were all so good. Matt did an excellent job managing the time of events and everything appeared flawless. We did not have to worry about anything, which meat we could really enjoy the night. Matt promised to keep the crowed dancing --and he did. People of all ages danced right to the very end. We received many many compliments on the band from guests who were musicians as well. We would highly recommend this band for any size wedding. We had 250 guests at our wedding.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jbray
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman band was on fire! The music was so hot I am surprised the fire department did not show up. They truly made our wedding a complete success. Our guests were blown away by their amazing talent and professional sound. Everyone at some point was shakin it out on the dance floor(even Grandma). Matt worked with us to make sure they played the music we requested to hear. Our wedding would have not been the same without the band, it was a truly memorable experience. If you can't get them booked for your wedding or event go see them live somewhere else. We will be forever fans! Thanks guys for a rockin’ good time.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan Mc
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt is very meticulous in the way he helps plan and organize the performance and logistics of the weddings he participates in. We had so many compliments on the music, my only complaint is that I wish I could have devoted my whole attention to their performance! They offer a variety of styles and have a unique sound yet maintain the integrity of the pieces they perform. Having the Matt Stedman Band perform for us was the highlight of our wedding :)
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1276084693428-us2
Courtney
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
We wanted to do just one thing that was different from other weddings, and this was our one big thing! Everyone loved the band. After the wedding I had several guests email me and ask who they were and where I found them. They definately made our wedding stand out. Matt was so easy to work with and our wedding day went very smoothly. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
boop40111
Wedding:
4/1/2011
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band was amazing. Everyone at our wedding loved them (from the 8 yr olds to the 80 yr olds)! In addition, Matt is wonderful to work with: he is extremely nice, professional, and obviously loves what he does. He is also a lot of help when it comes to organizing a wedding--no need to hire a wedding planner with Matt there! Anyways, I can't say too much without gushing b/c he and his band truly brought our wedding to another level. Thank you so much, Matt! And all the best to you and your upcoming wedding! ;)
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessicamack4242
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Five stars for the Matt Stedman Band! What a talented group!! Were so elated we choose them to play at our wedding. They helped make our special day unforgettable. Not only did they rock our wedding, but they played flawless classical music at the church and elegant jazz for cocktail hour! We were blown away by their performance through the day and night! and a BIG THANK YOU to Matt Stedman for helping so much with all of the details and who is a fantastic MC. He's well organized and always available, what a life saver. LOVE THIS BAND!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Our RAVE REVIEW OF THE MATT STEDMAN BAND:

From the moment we first spoke to Matt on the phone, we knew he was our man…he immediately asked questions as to what WE wanted, and told us how he worked, and how the wedding was to be “all about us” and not the other way around. Matt invited us to hear him play, so we would know if that was the sound we wanted. We heard him at more than one venue on multiple occasions. His sound is awesome! Depending on the venue, the crowd, the lateness of the evening, we always heard different coooooool licks coming out of the musicians!

Throughout the process, Matt was regularly checking in to make sure all questions were answered, and that we had listed charts for him to play that were most important to us. We told him we had 2 things we wanted: 1) that we feed our musicians, and 2) he keeps the volume adjusted such that people can eat or have dessert without shouting at each other. Due to being musicians ourselves, we know how important it is to play at a gig and not be starving all evening, and we also have been to many weddings wherein the band never makes adjustments to the size/height/acoustics of the room, thus the evening is ruined, for guests give up conversing and go home. Matt was awesome about coming up throughout the evening and asking about sound level. We most appreciated that.

We could write a book about all the wonderful things Matt and his band did to make our Wedding day and evening just PERFECT, but that is not for this venue. Matt is professional, organized, easy to talk to and work with and also eager to please. He and his band treated the Bride and Groom as a couple, yet as unique individuals who might want different things- which often required artful juggling to please both parties. Jim and I liked how he said that all we had to do was “…just show up, for I have the music covered.” That was hugely calming for us, because we had chosen special music for the Introductions, cake cutting, dinner, special dance tunes post-dinner and throughout the evening. Matt told us he had a surprise for us…and his last tune for the evening was “an original”- based on Copland’s “Rodeo”. He and his incredible band played for a minimum of 15 minutes straight- get-down, fiddlin’, Hoe-down music that had everyone dancing on the full-length, rectangular dance floor. Jim and his brother are both violinists, and they became the main attraction, for they “air-fiddled”, facing each other, squatting on their heels, spinning, turning…it was a blast! It was AWESOME MATT! THANKS A GAZILLION for making FANTABULOUS memories! We loved that from the moment you began to play, the dance floor was always FULL! We have spread the word, and many of our guests are still raving about “our band”…we will definitely hire you again for an upcoming event…stay tuned for more!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mayur
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
The Quartet's performance at my daughter's wedding reception, held at the Shedd Aquarium was outstanding. It was a pleasure working with Matt Stedman during the entire planning process. In addition to a great playlist performed by the band, Matt also delighted us with a wonderful violin solo during the cocktail hour. The execution was flawless and our guests enjoyed a wonderful evening of music by the quartet.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding in Madison, WI on 10/02/10. They provided music for the whole day, including working with a trombone soloist (that I added in) to learn new processional and recessional music.

Matt was great to work with - after a few conversations he was comfortable enough with me and my tastes to make some executive decisions regarding what music would be played at the wedding...taking a lot of stress off of me. And I'm happy to say that he didn't guess wrong! Everyone - the guests, wedding party, and even the other vendors - loved these guys. They played a great mix of music that kept the dance floor full all night - the party actually didn't stop until after the band started packing up their equipment!

Overall, we were really happy that we went with this group of highly professional and talented musicians. They definitely helped to make our wedding extra special.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band was absolutely amazing at our wedding. Matt did a wonderful job as the lead singer and also as the MC. He spent a good amount of time with me getting to know the pronunciations of everyone's name in the wedding party, finding out what style of music we liked and also getting to know both me and my now husband!! We first heard them perform at a bar in Naperville and as soon as I heard them playing when I walked in, I knew they were the band for us. All of our guests had a great time at the wedding and that was mostly due to great music provided by their band. Thanks!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JRiv
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We booked the Matt Stedman Band for our wedding (both ceremony and reception) and they were fantastic! We were looking for something unique and they definitely exceeded our expectations both with their outstanding musicianship and great selection of songs. We received multiple compliments from our friends and family. They traveled quite a distance to play for us and were very accommodating and professional, which we also really appreciated :) Next time we are in Chicago, we are definitely headed to one of their shows!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nasaut4
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
During the wedding process, my husband was on Pacific time, I was on Eastern and Matt was on Central time. Matt Stedman really helped by openly communicating and adapting to our very chaotic schedule during the planning process. He was willing to conference call with us over skype which was extremely helpful since neither of us could meet him in person.

Matt sent me a ton of suggestions and advice but was never pushy. He wanted to do what I wanted to do. It was a breeze to plan the schedule with him. A few weeks before the wedding he contacted me to finalize everything and see if I had any questions he could answer.
The day of the wedding Matt took care of everything with regards to the schedule. He and the band easily adapted to our needs whether we were running early or running late (and we did both). Matt also took cue from the crowd as to what music to play and he gave me a list of songs that I could choose from before the wedding.

We received many compliments about the band. They really have a spark and would be well worth hiring.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
8/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt and the band helped make our wedding the party of a lifetime. They MC'd everything (including introductions of the wedding party with funk music), were super responsive and the band was AMAZING. We were able to choose our music -- between the band playing live, and DJ-ing during band breaks, we heard every song we wanted, and nothing we didn't.

They really kept people moving and dancing, and they looked great. So many people told us after that wedding how much they enjoyed the band. I had no idea about bands vs. dj prices when we started this whole wedding planning thing, or where my priorities should lie in terms of where we should splurge or where we should cut corners, but its clear to me now. I am SO glad we hired a band, specifically THIS band. Definitely worth it.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katia
Wedding:
8/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Having Matt Stedman Band play at our wedding was a highlight! With high level of professionalism we had one less vendor to worry about! They are very flexible, understanding, and very easy to work with.
We are very happy that we found them.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debweena
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
First of all - super organized! We had a good idea going in what to expect, Matt provided lots of guidance without being overbearing at all (he has after all been to many more weddings...this was our first). Still, we had a difference of opinion on some minor details and it was "bride's way" without question from Matt.
Second of all - Music for the church - OUTSTANDING! If you are looking for music that is peaceful, reverent, different...go with the Matt Stedman band. My daughter walked up the aisle to The Lover's Waltz, and it was lovely!
Thirdly - music while waiting for the bride and groom to arrive AND at dinner time (yes, they did take a break to eat a meal). Great selection of music - great musicianship. Matt and all did a wonderful job of introducing key participants in the day, very professional and again organized. One of my favorite memories is of seeing the band enjoy themselves as the toasts were made - big grins on all of their faces. It seemed as though they knew the bride and groom and were happy to be there. To me that was very special.
Lastly - the reception/dancing music. All I can say, is if people are not up and dancing at your event, then your people are duds. We are still getting feedback from friends and family about "the great band" at our daughter's wedding. The dance floor was packed all night long. They seamlessly infused music from an ipod so much so that when the band returned from a break, it was surprising to realize they had been gone. The day is all about the bridal couple - no showboating/look at me kind of antics...yet such a presence! The band is definitely more expensive than a d.j. but I think that it is money well spent. I told our daughter that choosing to have the Matt Stedman Band was the second best decision they made (the first was deciding to marry). You will be happy with your decision too!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The McGuire's
Wedding:
8/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman and his band were absolutely amazing! We could not have asked for a better band to play at our wedding. Not only did they play for our reception, but Matt and his guitarist played at our ceremony. BEAUTFUL!!! :) They have such a wide range of music and our guests could not say enough good things about them. No one wanted the party to end and we would do it all over again! Throughout the entire wedding planning, Matt was great to work with and I know it made us less stressed about how the music would turn out. Thanks again for making it memorable!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
walkerw
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We hired Matt Stedman Band for our wedding last summer and they provided great service and music. Matt took care of business both on stage and during the planning phase of our wedding. He was very detailed about planning and working with him was a pleasure. People keep telling us how good the band was; the dance floor was consistently packed for several hours. The choice of songs they offer demonstrates their skill and breadth as musicians, and almost certainly contains a wedding's-worth of songs that you like. I recommend songs that emphasize fiddling and foot-stomping. You won't be disappointed because Matt Stedman band rocks hard.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sioked
Wedding:
6/25/2010
5.0/5.0
This band was fantastic. Matt worked with us leading up to the wedding to understand our musical tastes and helped put together our timeline for the event. He was very thorough going into it but on the day of our wedding we didn't need to do a thing. He knew what to do and when and it worked out great. They're eclectic styles of music kept everybody on their feet. They knew the music that would keep people entertained and happy and it was perfect for us. I only wish I had another excuse to hire a band and throw a huge party! I highly recommend Matt Stedman & his band for your wedding or other party.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mazie
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman and his band were truly incredible! Matt was instrumental in helping to find an incredible venue to have our wedding and reception (we live in San Diego and the wedding was in Chicago), his music is beyond what we can convey in a few short lines! Our guests were truly blown away and continue to comment on how good the band was. On June 19, 2010 Matt was our wedding MC, our wedding coordinator and our band leader (although he was only paid to be our band!) The diversity among the instruments and music he played and the level at which they performed was so far beyond our expectations we were literally left speechless. We interviewed eleven bands and are very thankful and lucky we chose Matt and he was able to accommodate our date. Thank you Matt and your incredible band! ----Lance & Mazie Tamyo June 19, 2010
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyBride34
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman and the Matt Stedman Band were fantastic! They played classical music with the violin and piano for our outdoor ceremony and cocktail hour. Then they switched it up for our reception and brought in the rest of the band and played a variety of music ranging from rock to jazz. They also compose some of their own music and we loved hearing their songs on our special day!
They're all very professional and easy to work with. Their goal is to make your day perfect, and they truly made the evening.
We heard so much feedback from our guests on how well they played and they were well-worth the money! I would recommend them to anyone, and they are so much classier than a DJ.
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1257270658309-pc300919
GomesMiller
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
GREAT! I cannot recommend the Matt Stedman Band enough, not only are they all very, very talented musicians, but Matt goes beyond just doing music. He helped us greatly with wedding planning, smoothing out details and organizing - he was a big help for our wedding, he offered his advice and great wedding experience. His music was incredible, I'm 25, the young crowd loved it, my parents loved him, and he got my grandparents dancing also. Our crowd was very diverse, from college age buddies to the conservative Baptist crowd to older relatives, and everyone complimented us on how they enjoyed the Matt Stedman Band’s music. Thank You Matt, you did an amazing job and we are so happy!
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1274829333036-timobubbles
Highlander
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt's attention to detail helped to get us though our big day. When we first met, he gave us an generic outline with suggestions from his experience. We used this as a guide for our wedding day.
Matt's offer to provide a total music package was what sold us. We only had to work with one person to cover music at our wedding ceremony (two piece; fiddle and piano), our cocktail hour (keyboards) and our reception (5 piece band). He also acted as our MC to keep things moving along on schedule at the wedding. He was very flexible and accomodataing, working with our desire to invite special performers to our reception.
We knew Matt from his work at Irish festivals but also knew his band had the ability to play great rock and roll and get a crowd out on the dance floor. He didn't disappoint.
We had a many complimets from our guests on the great music throughout.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin27
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman is awesome. Like many engaged couples, we were a little nervous in all the events leading up to the wedding. We are in our late 20s and wanted a band that everyone of all ages could enjoy. Matt gave us peace of mind. He was very professional and detail-oriented, letting us know the timeline of the events for the ceremony and reception. He's played tons of weddings, and gave us some great tips and advice for the reception.
He and his band are an incredibly talented and versatile group of musicians. He played both our church procession during the day and the wedding reception at night. Matt (violin) and his pianist played classical music perfectly during the processional at our wedding, and then the five-piece band brought down the house at our reception. They played everything from rock n' roll, soul, uptempo blues, funk, classic rock, and even upbeat Irish folk music. For those who think a violin might not work with blues and rock music--trust us, it does! All these people came up to us during the reception saying "This band is great!" By the end of the night, everyone was worn out from dancing so much.
Furthermore, Matt and his whole band are genuinely nice people. VERY friendly and down-to-earth. Matt is a great guy to talk to. It's your wedding day, and Matt wants to make sure that everyone is happy and that the day goes as perfect as can be for the bride and groom. Don't break your wedding budget on a 20-piece band; Matt and his band definitely make it a great wedding. (Just be aware, he is in high demand, so contact him early.)
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny MacKenzie
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful. Great and diverse music selection, professional, fun, extremely detailed, organized and they even gave me a gift and tailored the entire selection/party to what I wanted as the bride. Called several times to make sure I was comfortable and that everything was on track.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hsmi123
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased and felt extremely lucky to have the Matt Stedman Band play at our wedding. From the moment they were hired, Matt showed a high level of professionalism as he helped me plan and concentrate on the important details which made the day run so smoothly (he's truly a "pro" when it comes to mapping out the progression). I also felt that finding a wedding band that could play not only the ceremony but the RECEPTION as well, was extremely rare. The variety of music this band can play is unbelievable- from classical to rock, pop, celtic, blues- you name it! The music at our ceremony was beautiful- we chose traditional, classical music however he had a large listing of available songs to choose from and we could have chosen more modern songs as well. The Matt Stedman Band was timely, reliable and noticeably professional and experienced (i.e. it was obvious that they've played many weddings and have been successful in doing so). I haven't even mentioned how much our guests enjoyed the music!! They really will gear the song choices to the "feel" of the wedding you are going for and because this band is truly talented (the musicians are not your typical "wedding band" musicians) the reception becomes almost concert-like as people are amazed by the skills of the band's members. They also truly look like they're having a blast while playing and it's contagious. Everyone danced, sang and really got into the music. If you're looking for a an amazing, one-of-a-kind wedding band, you've found it in the Matt Stedman Band! My wedding was made more special because of its presence and we'll be forever grateful!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deputy1079
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
We had a fairly large wedding and the Matt Stedman Band was able to play a variety of music that met the approval of all the guests. Matt even went so far as to put the song list in order knowing that certain songs that would be enjoyed by the older guests would be played earlier in the evening knowing that they would most likely leave earliest - reserving more modern music for later into the night when the younger guests who stayed late would benefit. I have followed Matt's band for years and I was thrilled that I was able to have them play for our wedding. The balance of the live band and the recorded music meant that I was able to have the best of both worlds and even over a year later we still have people tell us how much they enjoyed our wedding!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridie
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about the Matt Stedman Band. Before the wedding day, Matt was thorough and detail-oriented. He asked all the right questions, made terrific suggestions, and was on the ball so we didn't have to sweat the details on our wedding day. At the reception, I can't remember a moment where the dance floor wasn't packed. This band has a huge repertoire and bases the set list on the mood of the crowd. We had several people comment that the band was a big highlight. I recommend the Matt Stedman Band highly!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brea
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
We hired the Matt Stedman Band and were very happy with the band’s professionalism and energy that they brought to both the wedding ceremony and the reception. In preparing for the event, Matt Stedman worked with us to find the music that we believed fit the style of the wedding ceremony and reception that we wanted to create for the event. He also worked with us to organize the timing of the majority of the little events throughout the day. The Matt Stedman Band plays a lot of different types of music, and excels at it all. They play very well together and have great vocals. The Matt Stedman Band comes highly recommended from us and all of our guests!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Don't think I'm his cousin or something because we're giving the Matt Stedman band five stars. They were amazing, above and beyond. It's been a year and a month since the wedding, and when we see old friends, they still tell us how incredible our band was.

We were married Sept. 6, 2009 in Watervliet, Michigan -- at least a two-hour drive from Chicago, over a Labor Day weekend -- and you can get a taste of it here: http://bit.ly/aTneSE

Matt and his band started months ahead, practicing new violin arrangements over the phone to see if we liked them. That impressed us. The day of, they showed up early, played beautifully in the ceremony, and had us rollicking and dancing all night long. They learned new songs for us, made new arrangements of a couple of our old favorites to fit his violin-led style, and made a wedding like nothing we'd ever seen before. You should have seen the 15-minute crazy hora we danced, even though they'd never played one like it before.

They closed with a pulsing medley of different songs -- bluesy, a little Celtic, a little Jewish, everything that had meaning for all of us -- and left us spent and breathless after dancing all night. Their price was reasonable, so we tipped them lavishly afterward because we were so blown away.

We never wanted to videotape our wedding -- we figured, who ever goes back and watches that? -- but the only reason I regret not taping it is that we can't hear them playing again. I'm serious. They were that good. I can't recommend them enough.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Faye and Curt
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We had Matt Stedman and his band play for our wedding reception. They were absolutely amazing. Obviously they were professional and accommodating, but also very talented musicians. Our guests are still complimenting us on our band choice, even guests who are in the music business. The dance floor was full the entire night! We also received compliments from guests who said they usually leave with their kids shortly after dinner due to music getting raunchy, but they stayed all night because our music was fun and uplifting and their kids were having so much fun. You guys were great, and we appreciate the class and fun you added to our wedding!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
When I started planning my wedding I knew it would be on the smaller side and I had a pretty tight budget. I didn't think I could afford a band, but after disappointing research for DJ's (who put in very little work and charge a buttload for it) I decided to look into some bands. I decided to take away some money from my flowers and put it into the entertainment which definitely had a bigger impact on the wedding.
The Matt Stedman band was GREAT to work with. They did our ceremony (outdoors) and reception. We had a lot of "different" songs that I wasn't sure the band would learn for us, but they did everything I asked. Everyone raved about our band long after the wedding... and they're all very good looking people so they looked nice in our pictures. WORTH IT!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
arb
Wedding:
7/10/2009
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman band truly helped to make our wedding a wonderful event. Matt was very knowledgeable about planning a ceremony in a garden setting and helped us make sure every last detail was taken care of. We felt his involvement in planning went above and beyond what we had expected from the wedding musicians, and the whole event ran smoothly. All three band members played an impressive repertoire of celtic, classical, and pop music throughout our ceremony, cocktails, and ceremony, and they worked hard to incorporate our personal requests for the first dance and otherwise. These guys are true musicians who love what they do, and this will show in any performance- including your wedding!!

-Anjali and Aaron
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kellyjones
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
Wow! This band is amazing. The dance floor was PACKED all night long and everyone commented on how much fun they were... Matt is so organized and also helped orchestrate the timeline for the evening. He and his band do a great job of making sure you get exactly what you want, from picking all of the IPOD songs for the break to announcing people's names right- they are awesome! I would definitely definitely recommend them to my friends and family! Love these guys.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jacks1199
Wedding:
10/5/2008
5.0/5.0
At first it was a little overwhelming planning all of the small details that included choosing our music, but working with the Matt Stedman Band made it almost easy. My husband and I agreed that we wanted to have a band instead of the typical dj most people have. We had heard of the Matt Stedman band and actually had the privilege of heard them play live at a nearby venue and we were SOLD. Having the Matt Stedman band play at our wedding was one of the best decisions that we could have made. It made our day that much more special for both of us. We had our ceremony and reception all at the same location. The Matt Stedman band (portion of them) played during the actual ceremony and added the special touch that I will never forget. I will never forget the image I have walking down the aisle with my father, feeling beautiful, and hearing the live violin music in the background. It was all just perfect. When it was time for the reception, not only did the band perform the songs we approved but they were absolutely fantastic! Family and friends commented to us over the next year about how much fun it was actually listening to live music playing. The music played kept our guests involved even if they were not actually dancing; they were still able to sit back and enjoy the music as well. Some of our older guests were thrilled about the "older/traditional" songs that brought back personal memories for them. I truly believe when you have someone singing/playing instruments with emotion then it makes everything else just a tab bit more special. Matt and the band were so professional to work with and made the process painless and easy. Throughout the planning process Matt was always prompt in getting back to me when I had any questions and also gave some helpful advice for different song selections that he had noticed in the past got positive attention from guests. He was so professional to work with and even came to my house to let my husband and I hear some of the songs he played on the violin which he recommended for our ceremony. It was that special/personal touch that made us feel even more special during the planning process of our wedding. This same special/personal touch was also giving to us on our actual wedding day by the Matt Stedman band. I love going to weddings when everyone is up dancing and you can just feel the happy energy in the room. I believe that this band definitely helped to keep the energy flowing in the room on our wedding day. They were so professional, easy to work with, price reasonable and absolutely amazing musicians. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone!!!!!!!!!!
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jackie Nosek
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Foxborn
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Each time we saw the band before our event, they were impressive. Matt and the band took time to speak with us about how our wedding planning was going and if we needed anything from them. Matt was always available to answer questions and was VERY organized with his questions for us. He had pre-made lists for songs and went over every detail. The wedding was amazing! They were fantastic! All our guests wanted to know who the band was and where we found them. There were even a couple people who wanted to book them soon. Long story short, if you want a fun band that plays great music, really reads a crowd, and is super accommodating, these are your guys!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mdenoo52
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman from the start was a professional and personable individual to work with. We actually booked without ever seeing a performance. We did eventually see him before our wedding, but it was the performance at the ceremony and wedding that blew us and our guests away! The ceremony music was beautiful and the reception music was appropriate, unique and extremely well performed. One wedding guest is already talking about booking the band for her Christmas party, while another wants to know if they have a CD he can buy. Tons of compliments all around! Thanks Matt Stedman and the Band for creating the PERFECT tone for our wedding!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlborino
Wedding:
10/7/2007
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding reception. We also had violin and keyboard play at the ceremony. Matt was easy to work with and we loved their music. We are really pleased we choose them to play at our wedding. We definitely recommend the Matt Stedman Band!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amj85745
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
My wedding was over three years ago and people are still talking about the band! We wanted a band that could keep kids from ages 5 to 75 on the dance floor all night. They did that and left our guests wanting more...begging for an encore. It was truly a highlight of our wedding day. The entire experience, from my first conversation with Matt through the wedding day, exceeded my expectations. If they are available for your wedding day, hire them now!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessicamanaois
Wedding:
8/25/2007
5.0/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding and it was truly a wedding to remember. They played great music that got everyone on the dance floor. From the classical ceremony music to the blues for dinner and the rock/blues for the reception, their diverse music selections were well suited for our guests. Matt was very friendly and easy to communicate with which helped make planning the wedding less stressful. Even three months after the wedding we are still hearing from guests about the great music that made such a memorable wedding night!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
peterklyachenko
Wedding:
5/26/2007
5.0/5.0
Very tight band and tasteful musicianship! I asked the band to tone it down a bit prior to the wedding because of my highly conservative family and they were all asking for more by the end of the night!!! I am very pleased with Matt Stedman band! As a musician the music was the most important thing (besides the bride of course) and I couldn't be more happy! Thanks a lot and hope to see you again at our next party!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patrick
Wedding:
9/15/1985
5.0/5.0
Matt Stedman band played our wedding. It was a great experience. Everyone was up and dancing. The music was perfect!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.9/5.0
I consider myself a pretty big music fan and finding a great band was one of the most important components of our wedding planning. We wanted to find more than just a cover band, and we found that in the Matt Stedman band. In my opinion, if a band will cover anything, then they are mediocre at almost everything. I found most wedding bands to fall into that category, but not this band! Each member of the band is a talented musician and their song list follows a clear genre and style. They still throw down wedding classics, but they also play some unexpected blues and rock songs that everyone will love. There were always people dancing. Matt is very open and easy to work with leading up to the big day. He likes to be clear on details and expectations so you both have no surprises. That being said, you can really trust the evening to Matt. He did a great job emceeing our reception. Andy and I didn’t have to think twice about anything. Highly recommended for people who don’t want a standard orchestra band, but want an authentic band that can jam and keep the night moving (in more ways than one). Great job guys!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
UTC
Wedding:
8/20/2010
4.9/5.0
Matt and the band were amazing. The sheer variety of music they're able to play is impressive, and they're able to tackle each genre with skill. The guests at our wedding all had a great time, and asked where we found the band. We feel extremely fortunate to have had them play at our reception, and would hire them again without a second thought.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nmoreno23
Wedding:
8/20/2010
4.9/5.0
Matt and Brian performed at our 08/20/10 wedding ceremony. They played the violin and acoustic guitar. They were wonderful! So happy with their music, and extremely happy to have had them play at our wedding.
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1287697952364-tam6349
jaymers04
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.9/5.0
Matt was absolutely wonderful! He was great to work with during the planning phase, and even better the day of our wedding! He spent a lot of time with us to work through our playlist and song requests, and he did a great job mixing up live music with the ipod during our reception. I would highly recommend him!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joan
Wedding:
7/26/2008
4.9/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band provided the music for our daughters wedding ceremony as well as the dancing. He was extremely accommodating, learning a new ethnic song. He read the audience well. He adjusted his playlist to make sure the dance floor remained crowded. He gave good suggestions for both the ceremony and reception providing a good variety of music to satisfy everyone's musical interests. We have received glowing comments from many of our guests, some of whom are musicians and normally quite critical. Even our wedding planner thought they were very good and would recommend them to others.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band played at our wedding and we could not have been happier with their performance. Very professional and very talented! The highlight of the reception!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
3/23/2013
4.8/5.0
We loved working with the Matt Stedman Band leading up to our wedding and on our big day. They did a really nice job setting a beautiful tone for our ceremony, controlling the flow of our reception and generally playing a really good variety of music. Everyone was dancing and we received a number of compliments that it was the best wedding set list they've heard (including friends of all ages). Matt has good attention to detail and was very thorough in all of our conversations about the evening and in understanding our musical tastes. This is the band to hire if you're looking for good music for music lovers!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Greg
Wedding:
7/6/2012
4.8/5.0
My wife told me about the Matt Stedman Band when we were planning our wedding and we had never heard them live or even heard of them at all before that. In fact we were living in Georgia at the time so we never had the opportunity to go and watch them live prior to the wedding. Nonetheless we still decided to book them. Multiple people came up before the wedding, as the band was setting up, and asked how I found the band. I told them my wife just randomly found them online and decided she liked them. Everyone was astonished that we hired a band that we had never heard. The band played beautifully all the way through the ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception, coordinated the whole evening, and kept everything running very smoothly. At the end of the night we had more people come up and compliment/ask about the band then I had wishing us congratulations for getting married! The band was phenomenal and I would hire them again in a heartbeat. They kept everything flowing perfectly and had everyone out on the dance floor the entire night; they definitely took our wedding from ordinary to extraordinary! We highly recommend this band and we are so happy we spent the extra money instead of just getting a DJ.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B.V.
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.8/5.0
Matt was great to work with. His enthusiasm and love of music is priceless. It is obvious Matt and his band have done a lot of weddings, he help guide us through the process which made the event much less stressful. He really took charge and facilitated the reception nicely. The music for our ceremony was beautiful (Violin and Pianist), and the 5-piece band played at the reception was great too. The wide range of music kept the dance floor full until the very end. I would highly recommend the Matt Stedman Band to anyone who is looking for fun and lively music for their event.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megkolisch
Wedding:
1/21/2012
4.6/5.0
The Matt Stedman band performed at our wedding on January 21, 2012. Matt is very professional and easy to work with. We loved the violin and guitar music played for the ceremony, piano/keyboard for the cocktail hour and the live 5-piece band for the reception. Everyone was dancing and had a great time! We would recommend The Matt Stedman Band for your big day or any live music event.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
We had Matt Stedman Band at our 4/28/2012 wedding and we had such a great time. Working with Matt was easy-he is super organized and has a ton of experience. His advice of how to work the timeline during the reception was so great I pass it along any other bride I meet. Matt and the band kept everyone dancing as soon as the music started until the end of the night. Matt was a great MC and helped make sure everything went so smooth. Matt accommodated us in learning a few family favorites songs the band played during the reception and downloaded all the music we asked for on the ipod during the breaks. They played piano(keys) during out cocktail hour and 5 piece band during the reception. We thought the price was very reasonable for the band and the amount of time.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.3/5.0
After reading all the great reviews and getting a recommendation from a family member who had them at their own wedding, we decided to go with the Matt Stedman band for our reception. We were very happy we did! Matt was extremely helpful, professional, and thorough from the start of the process through the end. He answered all the questions I had via email or over the phone. He was also very detail-oriented in making sure the reception ran smoothly. We received many compliments on the music and had an amazing time dancing the whole reception!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wed_123
Wedding:
9/18/2009
4.2/5.0
The Matt Stedman Band did a fantastic job at our wedding reception, ceremony and cocktail hour. We had a duet for our ceremony and cocktail hour - violin and piano - and the full band for the reception. Matt takes charge with all his wedding experience and helps detail the timing of events. Without him we would have had to hire a planner to coordinate all the details like first dance, cake cutting, toasts and announcements. They are not your typical wedding musicians and play a variety of songs including bluegrass, jazz and rock.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music

MAP

 
Chicago, IL See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Matt Stedman Band
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1389661506260-5-070311-matt--jen-stedman-bw-style-me-pret