130x130_sq_1282159304469-austinweddingphotographyknot2

Matthew Johnson Studios

Austin , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Austin, TX US 78745 (map)

PHONE

512-589-5921

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My style is simple, vibrant and artistic. It doesn't resemble the posed cake cutting and stiff family portraits of your parents wedding album. I catch real smiles, beautiful details, and... Read more
My style is simple, vibrant and artistic. It doesn't resemble the posed cake cutting and stiff family portraits of your parents wedding album. I catch real smiles, beautiful details, and fleeting moments when eyes meet. You'll make the day beautiful. I'll make it last. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1277764786921-austinweddingphotographyknot1
130x130_sq_1277764790499-austinweddingphotographyknot2
130x130_sq_1277764790968-austinweddingphotographyknot10
130x130_sq_1277764794187-austinweddingphotographyknot3
130x130_sq_1277764794515-austinweddingphotographyknot4
130x130_sq_1277764797468-austinweddingphotographyknot5
130x130_sq_1277764799921-austinweddingphotographyknot6
130x130_sq_1277764800421-austinweddingphotographyknot7
130x130_sq_1277764804109-austinweddingphotographyknot9
130x130_sq_1277764804515-austinweddingphotographyknot8
130x130_sq_1277764810781-lagunagloriaaustinweddinghenry10

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I really wish I could give more than 5 stars for Matt! It's rare when you meet someone as genuine as him. My husband and I have talked continually about what a great experience working with him was. We planned our wedding from El Paso, Texas (wayyy far from Wimberley). We only were in the Austin area a few times, but Matt was flexible in meeting with us while we were there. He took time to really get to know us as a couple prior to the wedding and that really showed on the big day. He was professional, sweet, and always in the right place at the right time to capture all the moments. He worked seamlessly with our videographer (Richard Lizama) as well.

Our big day turned out to be extremely cold, but Matt didn't let it bother him, and he took that into consideration while we were standing out in the cold for pictures. He gave us dinner suggestions for our time we spent in Austin the next week (and the suggestions were GREAT!)

We haven't received our photographs yet, but I have no doubt they will be gorgeous, just like all of the work on his website. If you are looking for someone to capture the essence of your day with such kindness, look no further. This is the photographer for you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Matt is an incredibly skilled photographer with a beautiful eye for images. From our first meeting Matt's professionalism made him stand out. Matt was very responsive and we really appreciated his questionnaire, which ensured that he knew which images we wanted to be sure were taken on the big day. On our wedding day, Matt was everywhere he needed to be, but never in the way. After the wedding, Matt let us know when we could expect to see our final photos and stayed in touch with us, giving us updates and sneak peaks. We choose to purchase a formal wedding album and we are so glad we did. Matt worked with us to select the photos to be featured in the album and the end product was beautiful. I would recommend Matthew Johnston Studios to all brides!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
RUN don't walk to meet with Matthew Johnson and get him scheduled for your Wedding! Matthew went above and beyond any expectations that we had going in to hiring a Wedding photographer. As a part of the total package price Matthew offers an Engagement photo shoot. He let us pick the locations and didn't limit us to just one hour. It just so happened to be my 30th Birthday and he brought me a Happy Birthday balloon, which started off the day well. One of our locations was an East Austin bar, and he brought along a second photographer at no extra charge just so he could create great lighting and perfect photos.

On our actual Wedding day Matthew did not give us just a 6 hour time frame, like a lot of photographers do. He was there all day, as long as we wanted him to be to capture every moment. He took the time to pull us aside when he felt the lighting was right to get the perfect shots throughout the evening. We also decided to do a "First Look" before the ceremony, which gave us time to make sure we took all the photos together that we wanted. (I would highly recommend this!)

He even submitted our photos to a wedding website/blog where we were recently featured as a Rustic Texas Wedding!

I would describe Matthew's photography as artsy, natural, and professional. He's not big on the overly cheesy poses, but instead focuses on the photos that matter. I can not recommend Matthew enough. He absolutely went above and beyond any photographer I have ever experienced in the past. I could easily tell that he really loves photography and finding new creative shots. If you pass up meeting with Matthew for your wedding - you're missing out!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelynn
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew is such a family man! What a great guy to work with. Matthews professional knowledge and work ethic were top notch. So glad we chose him for our engagement session in Dallas at White Rock Lake. THANKS MATTHEW!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt came highly recommended to us from our wedding planner, who is based in Wimberley and services the Austin/Hill Country area. She's worked with a lot of photographers and had been impressed with Matt's work and thought he offered the best value services.

We met Matt for lunch one weekend and were immediately put at ease. We appreciated how easygoing, warm, and professional he was and the amount of time he spent getting to know us individually and as a couple and understanding our vision for our wedding day. He was very responsive by phone and email throughout the planning process.

We got a ton of rain on our wedding day and were really impressed with Matt's ability to find unique (dry!) spaces for our portraits. His creative use of overhangs, umbrellas, etc. made for some really neat photos.

After Matt took portraits of us with our family and the wedding party, we didn't really notice him, which minimized that feeling of being on stage that we were concerned about and had experienced at other weddings. When we got our pictures back (in under two months!), we were floored by all the special moments he captured: the laughter, tears, looks between family members, goofy moments, dancing...It was like he was right there beside us the whole day.

I would recommend Matt to anyone, for any occasion.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt was a wonderful photographer! Our pictures were absolutely gorgeous. I get compliments every time someone new sees them. He was not a pushy photographer, he let things happen naturally and captured everything. We got married in July and it was so hot. He worked with us and was patient when I asked to take a couple of breaks. Our initial meeting was great, he explained everything and answered all of our questions. If we sent him an e-mail with a question he would respond quickly. I highly recommend using Matt for wedding photography. He truly did make our day special.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
arrel
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Matt was amazingly easy to work with, captured everything we cared about without ever being in the way, and the photos he took were jaw droppingly good. I really could not be happier with how it all turned out. Thank you Matt!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ariane
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Matthew did an absolutely phenomenal job photographing our wedding. I could not possibly recommend him more highly. Our photographs turned out more beautifully than I could have hoped - I found myself not believing our wedding looked that good. I know my husband and I have certainly never looked better!

Matthew did an amazing job of blending in with the crowd and making everyone feel comfortable. He really captured the spirit of our wedding and of all our wacky and sweet friends and family members. I appreciated his sincere eagerness to incorporate our more unique ideas like a wedding cake-shaped pinata and our bow-tie wearing dog. I'm so glad we picked a photographer who didn't just stick to the expected shots, but also creatively captured lots of surprising moments. All the arrangements went smoothly and I honestly don't have a single complaint. We found his rates surprisingly affordable and would happily pay every penny again.

On a personal note, not long after we had received our wedding photos, my father passed away unexpectedly. Matthew's photos not only ended up documenting my wedding, but also the last time my whole family could be together. I'm so grateful we chose such a truly great photographer for the occasion and I really treasure his work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a blast taking pictures with Matt. He did a great job of getting the details of the day. But an even better job of capturing the tiniest of moments. I was amazed by the photos and pleasantly surprised by the action shots that he took. We look forward to working with him again in the future! I highly recommend him to everyone!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K. Grady
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I truly enjoyed working with Matthew. It began with our initial meeting. I knew he could provide exactly what I was looking for and was interested in my ideas as well. As a wedding professional, as well as a bride, I will definitely recommend him to our clients. Matthew could be best described as quietly involved with the whole evening. Our pictures captured the memories perfectly...
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
10/21/2010
5.0/5.0
We immensely enjoyed working with Matt. He has an engaging personality that makes even the most camera shy person feel at ease in his presence. His ability to capture a person's personality, their essence, through his photographs is truly remarkable. I loved the way he captured precious moments of the day. Matt also has a talent for beautifully integrating natural elements, like sunlight, into his shots. I have gotten so many compliments on our pictures and am honestly having a hard time deciding which ones to frame and display because they are all so good!

Matt is dependable, kind, friendly and fun to work with, all attributes that were a must for our photographer. I highly recommend Matthew Johnson Studios to anyone wanting an exceptional photographer and experience for their wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer Cray
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Matthew Johnson Studios did our engagement and wedding pictures a few months ago. Our wedding pictures are breath taking. I couldn't be more happy with the work that Matt did. His artistic eye translated several beautiful shots. He was on-time, professional, and made us feel very comfortable. He was so easy to work with that I would recommend him to anyone. I hope to use him again and again in the near future... maybe for some baby pictures :)
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Austin, TX 78745 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Matthew Johnson Studios
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo