130x130_sq_1329857768689-artichokedisplay

Matthew's Catering and Events

Jacksonville , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL US 32207 (map)

PHONE

904-396-1213

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Matthew’s Restaurant provides the perfect platform for catering unforgettable events by artistically presenting and graciously serving award-winning restaurant-quality cuisine in your... Read more
Matthew’s Restaurant provides the perfect platform for catering unforgettable events by artistically presenting and graciously serving award-winning restaurant-quality cuisine in your home or ours. All menus are customized with your event in mind, using seasonal and local ingredients. We offer full-service catering and event design, both at Matthew’s Restaurant and at the location of your choice. We can coordinate rentals, linens, staffing and bar service as well as decorate and break down your event. Our goal is to assure your vision is a fabulous reality that is memorable, cherished and respected.

We would like to extend our off-site catering services; from a simple brown bag lunch to full service catering, enjoy the Matthew's Restaurant experience at your office, home or location of choice.

For more information please contact our Catering Director at 904-396-1213 x117 or our Catering Assistant at 904-396-1213 x112. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1329932701689-24footbarsetup
130x130_sq_1329933311711-antipastotable
130x130_sq_1329934682698-artichokedisplay
130x130_sq_1329934818819-carrotsdisplay
130x130_sq_1329934894860-caviar
130x130_sq_1329935058530-champagneandsalmon
130x130_sq_1329935322247-coffeesetup
130x130_sq_1329935529901-matthewsfront
130x130_sq_1329935620840-saketunatable
130x130_sq_1329935827418-tricolorcarrots
130x130_sq_1329936029283-scallopssautee
130x130_sq_1329936122987-salmonandcaviar

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Creole, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, No Pork, Organic, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1949
When was your venue last renovated?
2011
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
City, Glamorous, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
800
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
50
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
1/24/2014
5.0/5.0
What can I say, Matthew did an amazing job at my daughters January 24th wedding. My guests were blown away by the service and food. I am still hearing comments like, "I've never had a better piece of meat," and "Those were the best mashed potaotes I've ever had." We had 5 different food station which included soup and grilled cheese sandwiches, beef tenderloin and mashed potatoes, sushi, vegetables, chicken and just whe the guests thought the food was over, they butler passed sliders and milkshakes from M Shack. That combined with the glass champagne fountain, fire pits, s'mores table made the night unforgettable!!! Thank you Matthew and your team for making our special night perfect!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Everyone loved the food and everyone kept complimenting us on it.

they let us take home the leftovers and perople were excited to eat them the next day!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1370202319889-wedding-pic
Jamie A Winters
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Matthew's was absolutely AMAZING!! From day 1, Elizabeth was the most responsive caterer we tried contacting in the general St. Augustine/Jacksonville area. She was a pleasure to work with, especially for a wedding. Everyone wants this day to be the most perfect in every way, and she helped make that possible. With every question, concern, or even a change of heart back and forth a few hundred times, she was there with an answer or support. We loved them so much, that we even had them come and provide the food for our rehearsal dinner! On our big day, everything was absolutely amazing and I have never heard so many people say "they LOVED the food!" Tons of our guests raved that they never seem to enjoy food at weddings, but our food was phenomenal.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Matthew's catering director was wonderful to work with during the planning process. I'm a pescetarian and my husband is a serious meat eater and we were able to create a menu that satisfied both our taste buds and gave our guests a variety. The servers and chefs were on time, professional and extremely helpful (a special plate was made for us with all the appetizers and they boxed up dinner for us as well, which we enjoyed at the end of the evening!). The set up was amazing and they came well prepared. We opted for food stations one of which was an action station. Our guests raved about the food (we are foodies so that was important to us, check!) and several went back for seconds and thirds! Overall I would recommend Matthew's catering to everyone (and I already have)!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cate
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I hired Matthew's for my wedding on November 24th. The food and beverage portion of my wedding was an important element to my day. I'm a catering/event manager and have been producing events for 12 years. My guests had huge expectations for every aspect of my wedding. I chose Matthew's because of their reputation, my personal experiences and my trust in Elizabeth. They delivered and I'm so glad I made the right choice. I highly recommend them for your special day or occasion.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyndsey
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I will recommend Matthew's to every friend and relative who is having an event in Jacksonville until I'm blue in the face! Matthew's was the first nice restaurant my fiance and I ever went to and when it came to wedding planning, great food was my fiance's only request. Knowing that Matthew's was one of the most expensive caterers in town and we had quite a large reception planned, I was very nervous. However, Elizabeth, their catering director was absolutely wonderful. I was only in town for a week to plan the wedding, and she met me at my dad's house to show me options. Don't be fooled with the options and prices online, because Elizabeth worked with me extensively to get a menu that was both delicious and within our budget.

Once I had the menu, I actually contacted several other catering companies in town and gave them the menu Matthew's quoted me on and surprisingly, Matthew's price was actually below! I knew that Matthew's would provide the food quality and service we desired.

One of my favorite things about Matthew's was I didn't have to worry about setup or professionalism. Elisabeth asked me what my colors were and the theme and feel for the reception (backyard, rustic elegance) and they delivered! All of the food was displayed on rustic wood boards and basket with my flowers stuck all in between. Everyone was on time and extremely professional. I bought sheet cake from Publix and their staff cut and passed out cake, as well as poured and passed out champagne.

And last but certainly not least - THE FOOD WAS EXCEPTIONAL! They saved us a big box of leftovers which we ate on the way to the honeymoon and we still couldn't get over how good the food was. We heard it from numerous guests as well. I may be biased, but it's the best wedding food I've ever had.

If you're considering Matthew's, don't fret the price. Determine what you can afford and work with their staff to make it happen, you won't regret it!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1353243736231-fbavatar2777944
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Words can not express how impressed we were with Matthew's. The passed hor dourves were delicious and plentiful. The sit down served meal for 180 people was perfectly cooked, nicely presented, and simply mouth watering. The staff was excellent! And an added bonus that the executive chef was on site to co-ordinate everything! Thank you Matthew's for your attention to detail! Our guests are still talking about how delicious everything was!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The catering services provided by Matthews were simply outstanding! The food was excellent, and we received many complements. The bartenders were very attentive and provided a great service. I would definitely recommend them to anyone for any special occasion event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Enough cannot be said about Matthew's. I have had nothing but rave reviews from my guests about how incredible the food was at our reception. To begin with, Elizabeth was a delight to work with and was so helpful in directing us with possible ways to coordinate our menu. We had a variety of food for our guests and there was not one thing I did not get a compliment on. You can tell they are true professionals and take pride in creating delicious food that tickles all your senses. As if looking at the beautifully presented dishes aren't enough, the lingering smell draws you in for seconds and thirds because having one plate is not nearly enough for your tastebuds. We also used bartenders from Matthew's and they were just as enjoyable. It was nice to have knowledgable bartenders available to serve our guests a wide variety of delicious concoctions. Dealing with everyone setting up was the least stressful part of my day. Matthew's came in, took charge and had everything to go on schedule. If you are looking for someone who's knows what they're doing, is a great value and is professional and enjoyable, call Matthew's. You will be sorely disappointed if you don't.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow. People are STILL talking about the food, and if you've ever eaten at Chef Matthew's restaurant in San Marco, you know why. Elizabeth, the manager and coordinator of events is SO sweet and the entire team is awesome- not only do they humbly accept requests for different menu items, but they work seamlessly to ensure precision and perfection throughout your entire event. Not only was I proud to have them as our wedding reception caterers, but I'm also excited to spend every anniversary of my husband & I's in the future at Matthew's, eating the same dreamy, mouth-watering amazement that we had on our wedding night. Matthew's is a true gem of Jacksonville.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Matthew's Catering did an amazing job catering my wedding reception. Their food was outstanding and service even more commendable. I would highly recommend Matthew's to any bride looking for a professional catering company with food that doesn't have that 'typical cheap wedding food taste'. I had more compliments on the food than anything else!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marge
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding was almost a month ago, and i still have guests contacting me- just to tell me how great the food and service was! Best food my guest have ever had at a reception! and set up is gorgeous!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
antoggie
Wedding:
6/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Excellent food at a reasonable price.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mamaberr4
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth was great to work with from beginning to end. Very helpful and patient with many last minute changes. The serving staff was wonderful as well....and we received many, many compliments from our guests. Our sincere thanks to Matthew's!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arjola
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
We were treated with such care from day one until the night of our wedding. Elizabeth Van Nuys, the Catering Coordinator at Matthew's is phenomenal! She is just amazing to work with, answered all of our questions, handled everything with such extreme care and attention to detail. The food was impeccable! It's beyond belief good. We have had so many of our guests comment on how amazing the food was. Although new to the catering business, they had a superior performance at our wedding and we are truly grateful for them. The entire staff was incredible, the rentals and everything they did was superb. Elizabeth handled everything with such professionalism yet we felt like she cared so much about the two of us and our event. Matthew himself cooked for us for the tasting, that was quite an experience to have the chef extraordinaire all to ourselves. We made some great decisions in choosing our vendors for our wedding and choosing Matthew's as our caterer was one of the top ones. Thank you so much for making 08-08-08 an amazing experience for us and all of our guests!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
130x130_sq_1353027799589-dsc1116
Rebecca
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.8/5.0
Our overall experience was pleasant and the food was fantastic. The only draw back for us was that we didn't receive any food to go as discussed. We were so occupied with guest and didn't get to enjoy the food to its fullest and was disappointed there was nothing packed for us to take with us back to the hotel. Overall I would recommend them to anyone. There was so much flexibility in the specific menu choice we wanted and they delivered above and beyond and exceeded our expectations! Thank you Guys!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lipsnarms
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.8/5.0
LOVE LOVE LOVE THE FOOD. It was truly gastronomic .
From the cocktail menu of crabcakes and salmon cream cheese dip to the scallops that was served in the buffet.
FANTASTIC!!!
everyone raved about the food.
truly wise decision to get them for our reception.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Loubens
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.7/5.0
Elizabeth was great to work with and the staff was knowledgeable and courteous.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
What I enjoyed most about having Matthews Catering do my wedding was the freedom! Known to my friends and family as a well seasoned Chef, the food was one of the most important things about my wedding day. So I wanted MY MENU at the wedding. Matthews Catering coordinators didn't see a problem in making my menu work. I knew the food would be beautiful, and tasty, as having dined at Matthews and Medures frequently...so to me the food was the easy part. Getting me to stop being the bride to eat these delectables was going to be the hard part. The food was a reflection of me and my husband and so it had to be perfect, and had to have all my favortite foods, and it did, and I was thrilled. I wish I had some Tacos as I type this!!! However, all this personlization does come with a heaftly price tag, but it was my only splurge, I budgeted everything else, but again the food and drink was OUR most important part about our day. I baked my own wedding cake, cupcakes, desserts, and more, so I can't speak about their desserts, but I know they are always yummy at the restaurants. They even made me a Blueberry Mojito as my signature cocktail! I was a very laid back bride so if anything went wrong, I don't think anything did, but if it did I don't think I cared that much. I just remember it being the best day of my life, and the food was what everyone talked about...that and my Dancing!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.1/5.0
Working with Matthew's for our Rehearsal Luncheon was aboslutely wonderfiul. We worked with Elizabeth with Catering to plan our meals, timeline, etc. She was able to work with us to incorporate the meals we wanted especially for those in my family who have allergies.

I loved the venue because it's large, elegant, and beautifylly decorated. We didn't need to add decoration because the banquet room already has nice decor.

Best part about a rehearsal lunch is the fact that we were able to use the entire restaurant for our party. They served the hors d'oeuvres in the restaurant area and drinks served at the bar. We also had a cheese and meat display. They then ushered us into the banquet room for lunch - the buffet tables were placed in the restaurant area.

I love the flexibility of Matthew's along with the delicious meal they served. Folks were raving about the rehearsal luncheon, which was a prequeal to our awesome reception & dining at TPC Sawgrass.

I also loved how my hubby was able to order me my own Truffle Mac & Cheese bowl. Now here's where I took off stars on my review - the chef was kind to make my special bowl of Mac & Cheese and drop it off to my table. I asked if the second bowl he was carrying was extra for me or my fiance (now hubby). Chef said no and it was for his friend - one of my bridesmaids. I jokingly asked him if I can keep it since I'm the BRIDE and love truffle mac & cheese or just give it to my fiance since his family is paying for the rehearsal lunch. Chef just smiled and dropped off the mac & cheese to the bridesmaid. EXCUSE ME? my Hubby specifically ordered it for me, if you're going to have an extra bowl please give it to the BRIDE (who hasn't really eaten much the week of the wedding) or the Groom who has paid for this event. I was atually ticked about that incident and thought that was NOT professional of the chef even after I asked if the Groom or I can have it.

Overall, I was pleased with our experience.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
2107 Hendricks Ave., Jacksonville, FL 32207 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Matthew's Catering and Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1329857768689-artichokedisplay