130x130_sq_1325952520410-ballroom2

Mauch Chunk Ballroom

Jim Thorpe , PA

LOCATION

41 W Broadway
Jim Thorpe, PA US 18229 (map)

PHONE

484-629-5070

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The beautiful Mauch Chunk Ballroom is located in the heart of historic and picturesque Jim Thorpe, PA. Near white water rafting, hiking and biking trails & more you can turn your wedding... Read more
The beautiful Mauch Chunk Ballroom is located in the heart of historic and picturesque Jim Thorpe, PA. Near white water rafting, hiking and biking trails & more you can turn your wedding into a weekend of adventure.

With its pristine hardwood floor, ornate moldings, decorative paint, and cavernous climate-controlled space, the Mauch Chunk Ballroom is the perfect event space for your wedding reception, corporate meeting, family reunion, theatre performance, or birthday party.

At the Ballroom you can select from our list of pre-approved chefs/caterers or bring your own (must be licensed and insured). They provide the food, we provide the stellar service. Packages start at $60.30. All wedding packages includes a FREE wedding cake from either Cake Designs by Angie or Icing on the Cake. Have your own preferered cake maker, then receive a $200 rebate (limits do apply). Parking in Jim Thorpe is also taken care of for you and your guests and a convenient shuttle brings guests right ot the front door.

And now, the Ballroom utilizes Planning Pod to make it easy for Brides to plan their entire wedding all in one location. Every couple gets their very own wedding website that they can share with family and friends, collect RSVP's and much more! Just an added benefit of booking your wedding at the Mauch Chunk Ballroom.



Most wedding packages includes the following;


Use of the Ballroom for 5 hours (Economical Package is 4 hours) Ceremony at Ballroom ($175 additional charge) Room set up with linen tablecloths, napkins, chair covers w/your choice of color sash, water, wine & champagne glasses, china, and flatware Professional Wait staff to serve you and your guests (dressed in black pants, white shirts, black tie) Basic Beverage package that includes Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite & Unlimited Coffee & Tea Service Free Shuttle Service Free Parking FREE Cake (limits apply) Wedding planning services with our in-house wedding planner that includes: Budget guidance Recommendation and Coordination of Vendors (including caterer) Follow up with vendors on any changes to schedule Setting the room to your specifications with any items brought in by the Bride(photos, seating cards, guest books, and other décor) Coordination of reception activities Troubleshooting as needed & More Help make arrangements for out of town guests Coordination and attendance by planner at ceremony rehearsal at any venue in downtown Jim Thorpe from the train station to the Jail House Wedding Website to share with guests Online planning location to keep all your information organized in one place Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1325952227430-ballroom1
130x130_sq_1325952229149-ballroom2
130x130_sq_1352857696363-flowers
130x130_sq_1352857694567-courtneyernieinnjt
130x130_sq_1352857691839-cake1
130x130_sq_1352857693068-cake2
130x130_sq_1325952232414-ballroom4
130x130_sq_1325952230368-ballroom3
130x130_sq_1352857699674-immconceptchurchjt3
130x130_sq_1352857702558-jailhousejt2
130x130_sq_1352857701226-jailhousejt
130x130_sq_1352857703864-jttrain
130x130_sq_1352857690424-jttrain3
130x130_sq_1352857705198-jttrain2
130x130_sq_1325952223618-mcballroom
130x130_sq_1325952224602-mcballroom2
130x130_sq_1325952226633-slide4
130x130_sq_1325952225977-ballroom
130x130_sq_1352763172089-connorportraitsheathertom002
130x130_sq_1352763178226-connorportraitsheathertom003
130x130_sq_1352763164523-connorportraitsheathertom001
130x130_sq_1352763184256-connorportraitsheathertom004
130x130_sq_1352763192382-connorportraitsheathertom005
130x130_sq_1352763215008-connorportraitsheathertom008
130x130_sq_1352763201065-connorportraitsheathertom006
130x130_sq_1352763207886-connorportraitsheathertom007
130x130_sq_1352763223558-connorportraitsheathertom009
130x130_sq_1352763232098-connorportraitsheathertom010
130x130_sq_1352763239908-connorportraitsheathertom011
130x130_sq_1352763247779-connorportraitsheathertom012
130x130_sq_1352763255734-connorportraitsheathertom013
130x130_sq_1352763265088-connorportraitsheathertom014
130x130_sq_1352763273970-connorportraitsheathertom015
130x130_sq_1352763157909-connorportraitsheathertom025
130x130_sq_1352763283035-connorportraitsheathertom016
130x130_sq_1352763290359-connorportraitsheathertom017
130x130_sq_1352763297764-connorportraitsheathertom018
130x130_sq_1352763304957-connorportraitsheathertom019
130x130_sq_1352763312209-connorportraitsheathertom020
130x130_sq_1352763321239-connorportraitsheathertom021
130x130_sq_1352763329108-connorportraitsheathertom022
130x130_sq_1352763336980-connorportraitsheathertom023
130x130_sq_1352763343905-connorportraitsheathertom024
130x130_sq_1352763393135-031carineric2012072108571
130x130_sq_1352763396109-053carineric2012072114591
130x130_sq_1352763397756-054carineric2012072114631
130x130_sq_1352763401205-057carineric2012072115501
130x130_sq_1352763402962-060carineric2012072115601
130x130_sq_1352763405000-062carineric2012072115791
130x130_sq_1352763407551-071carineric2012072116881
130x130_sq_1352763412719-077carineric2012072117871
130x130_sq_1352763418499-078carineric2012072118081
130x130_sq_1352763423429-080carineric2012072118461
130x130_sq_1352763428323-081carineric2012072118561
130x130_sq_1352763433107-084carineric2012072118781
130x130_sq_1352763437131-095carineric2012072120301
130x130_sq_1352763441846-107carineric2012072121011
130x130_sq_1352763445820-113carineric2012072121971
130x130_sq_1352763683421-mqwedding394
130x130_sq_1352763710125-mqwedding424
130x130_sq_1352763738612-mqwedding439
130x130_sq_1352763763204-mqwedding446
130x130_sq_1352763794145-mqwedding480
130x130_sq_1352763820956-mqwedding482
130x130_sq_1352763851980-mqwedding483
130x130_sq_1352763881245-mqwedding484
130x130_sq_1352763909482-mqwedding513
130x130_sq_1352857370828-mqwedding484
130x130_sq_1352857396856-mqwedding394
130x130_sq_1352857424378-mqwedding424
130x130_sq_1352857454826-mqwedding446
130x130_sq_1352857483895-mqwedding480
130x130_sq_1352857510581-mqwedding482
130x130_sq_1352857543230-mqwedding483
130x130_sq_1396896760048-gay-wedding-photos-1
130x130_sq_1396896763169-gay-wedding-photos-3
130x130_sq_1396896766036-gay-wedding-photos-3
130x130_sq_1396896769002-gay-wedding-photos-3
130x130_sq_1396896771864-gay-wedding-photos-3
130x130_sq_1396896774514-gay-wedding-photos-3
130x130_sq_1396896777348-gay-wedding-photos-4
130x130_sq_1396896780020-gay-wedding-photos-5
130x130_sq_1396896782765-gay-wedding-photos-5
130x130_sq_1396896785751-gay-wedding-photos-5
130x130_sq_1396896788669-gay-wedding-photos-59-
130x130_sq_1396896791626-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896794713-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896797716-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896800492-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896803030-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896805480-gay-wedding-photos-6
130x130_sq_1396896808047-sunflower-wedding-centerpiece
130x130_sq_1396896810444-vegetarian-wedding-14-acre-far
130x130_sq_1396896812511-wedding-cake-du
130x130_sq_1396896814987-gay-wedding-photos-1
130x130_sq_1396897177074-logoballroom
130x130_sq_1399049755896-0931dsc5382spotlitet
130x130_sq_1399049823087-1259img1302spotlitet
130x130_sq_1399049862657-0825dsc5276spotlitet
130x130_sq_1399049864409-0820dsc5271spotlitet

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1879
When was your venue last renovated?
1995
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
80
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
We loved everything about our Wedding day! Tara was extremely helpful and organized! I have already been recommending people to go through her and will continue for years to come! I would do it all over again and have her by outside again. She was so kind and knew what to say in moments of panic. She was so attentive and understanding. She became a friend in my opinion. Thank you so much for everything! Our day was enchanting with your help!
We loved everything about our Wedding day! Tara was extremely helpful and organized! I have already been recommending Read more...
We loved everything about our Wedding day! Tara was extremely helpful and organized! I have already been recommending people to go through her and will continue for years to come! I would do it all over again and have her by outside again. She was so kind and knew what to say in moments of panic. She was so attentive and understanding. She became a friend in my opinion. Thank you so much for everything! Our day was enchanting with your help! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom was a great place to have our wedding. The ballroom really set the tone for our wedding and worked well with our Winter Rustic theme. Tara was very accommodating and always made sure our needs were met. I am sad our wedding is over...I would relive that day over and over again if I could.
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom was a great place to have our wedding. The ballroom really set the tone for our wedding and Read more...
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom was a great place to have our wedding. The ballroom really set the tone for our wedding and worked well with our Winter Rustic theme. Tara was very accommodating and always made sure our needs were met. I am sad our wedding is over...I would relive that day over and over again if I could. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regan
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a gorgeous venue with historic charm and grace. We also enjoyed the flexibility that the Ballroom offers in terms of choosing your own catering and bar list. (We had an amazing meal from a local, organic farm called 14 Acre Farm!) Tara was an accessible, amiable and thoughtful wedding planner with amazing listening skills. With our choice of the Ballroom as our wedding venue, we enjoyed knowing that we were supporting a cultural treasure, and an independent business woman. Thank you to Tara and her staff for throwing an amazing party! All our guests have been raving about how much fun they had!
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a gorgeous venue with historic charm and grace. We also enjoyed the flexibility that the Read more...
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a gorgeous venue with historic charm and grace. We also enjoyed the flexibility that the Ballroom offers in terms of choosing your own catering and bar list. (We had an amazing meal from a local, organic farm called 14 Acre Farm!) Tara was an accessible, amiable and thoughtful wedding planner with amazing listening skills. With our choice of the Ballroom as our wedding venue, we enjoyed knowing that we were supporting a cultural treasure, and an independent business woman. Thank you to Tara and her staff for throwing an amazing party! All our guests have been raving about how much fun they had! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather & Tom
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I can honestly say we had the best wedding ever! Tara the wedding planner was great from the moment we first met her until a week after our wedding as well. I'm so happy we chose The Mauch Chunk Ballroom for our big day. My husband Tom and I will have great stories to tell about it forever! A+ place
My husband and I can honestly say we had the best wedding ever! Tara the wedding planner was great from the moment we Read more...
My husband and I can honestly say we had the best wedding ever! Tara the wedding planner was great from the moment we first met her until a week after our wedding as well. I'm so happy we chose The Mauch Chunk Ballroom for our big day. My husband Tom and I will have great stories to tell about it forever! A+ place Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.8/5.0
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a beautiful wedding venue in the historic and charming town of Jim Thorpe. I really enjoyed being able to have the ceremony and reception at the same place. Tara and her staff were very friendly and accommodating. They truly appeared to enjoy being a part of our special day.

The only room for improvement that I could see is that the staff should not plate salads at the bridal party table during speeches and the shuttle needs to be easier to identify as the wedding shuttle. Neither of these things were an issue for us, but I know that it could be an issue for others. These are two things that can be easily addressed and improved. I'm sure Tara will make the necessary changes for future weddings.
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a beautiful wedding venue in the historic and charming town of Jim Thorpe. I really enjoyed Read more...
The Mauch Chunk Ballroom is a beautiful wedding venue in the historic and charming town of Jim Thorpe. I really enjoyed being able to have the ceremony and reception at the same place. Tara and her staff were very friendly and accommodating. They truly appeared to enjoy being a part of our special day.

The only room for improvement that I could see is that the staff should not plate salads at the bridal party table during speeches and the shuttle needs to be easier to identify as the wedding shuttle. Neither of these things were an issue for us, but I know that it could be an issue for others. These are two things that can be easily addressed and improved. I'm sure Tara will make the necessary changes for future weddings. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joshua
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.7/5.0
Very flexible and able to assist us through phone and email. We were not local to the area.
Very flexible and able to assist us through phone and email. We were not local to the area.
Very flexible and able to assist us through phone and email. We were not local to the area. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juliette
Wedding:
7/12/2014
4.6/5.0
Tara did a great job helping us organize our special day! The venue is beautiful by itself, but Tara went above and beyond to help us add the finishing touches to achieve our romantic vintage theme. The food was fantastic and catering/drink packages are flexible and customizable. Both our ceremony and reception were in the same location, and the room was beautiful and accommodating for both. I would recommend the Mauch Chunk Ballroom to future brides & grooms. Beautiful venue, beautiful town.
Tara did a great job helping us organize our special day! The venue is beautiful by itself, but Tara went above and beyond Read more...
Tara did a great job helping us organize our special day! The venue is beautiful by itself, but Tara went above and beyond to help us add the finishing touches to achieve our romantic vintage theme. The food was fantastic and catering/drink packages are flexible and customizable. Both our ceremony and reception were in the same location, and the room was beautiful and accommodating for both. I would recommend the Mauch Chunk Ballroom to future brides & grooms. Beautiful venue, beautiful town. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.5/5.0
Tara, it was a pleasure working with you through the course of our wedding planning!! I highly value working with someone as down-to-earth as you are, and who was flexible in arranging meeting times over the course of the past few months. You transformed the Ballroom into my vision!! I've heard nothing but wonderful things from my guests! I like the idea of saving the cake for a later, but I think it was a lttle too late....guests were already beginning to leave by the time cake was cut & served. Your staff was incredibly friendly as well. The food was excellent....and again, I've heard the same feedback from guests. My only complaint working with the caterer through your venue was the difficulty I had getting in touch with someone from the restaurant and getting a response back. Stephanie Shay from Icing on the Cake was incredible!! Very pleasant and friendly...she welcomed us into her home for some yummy tasting! The cake looked amazing and was probably one of the best tasting wedding cakes I've ever had!!!! All around, this has been an incredibly positive experience!! I'm sad to see our day has come and gone so quickly...I'm ready to do it again!
Tara, it was a pleasure working with you through the course of our wedding planning!! I highly value working with someone Read more...
Tara, it was a pleasure working with you through the course of our wedding planning!! I highly value working with someone as down-to-earth as you are, and who was flexible in arranging meeting times over the course of the past few months. You transformed the Ballroom into my vision!! I've heard nothing but wonderful things from my guests! I like the idea of saving the cake for a later, but I think it was a lttle too late....guests were already beginning to leave by the time cake was cut & served. Your staff was incredibly friendly as well. The food was excellent....and again, I've heard the same feedback from guests. My only complaint working with the caterer through your venue was the difficulty I had getting in touch with someone from the restaurant and getting a response back. Stephanie Shay from Icing on the Cake was incredible!! Very pleasant and friendly...she welcomed us into her home for some yummy tasting! The cake looked amazing and was probably one of the best tasting wedding cakes I've ever had!!!! All around, this has been an incredibly positive experience!! I'm sad to see our day has come and gone so quickly...I'm ready to do it again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
My service from Tara came in two parts: the ballroom and her planning. The ballroom was an absolutely fabulous venue. It is very unique, in a beautiful town, and a great size for hosting a wedding or event. The wooden floors and stage are perfect for dancing, and the lovely painted walls are a nice feature. The chandeliers are also extremely elegant. If you want to surprise guests with a romantic or elegant evening, this is the place!
The service was also excellent. Tara is a great networker, which meant she was able to offer suggestions and recommendations for different services for the wedding. She even coordinated the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, which was at a venue owned by some folks down the road from the ballroom. She was available throughout the entire process of planning the wedding, and though I didn't utilize her for every aspect of the wedding, she was willing to do much more than I expected. Especially when it came to set up and tear down, Tara went above and beyond what I predicted her to help with. She would have done the entire set up if I had wanted!
Finally, my husband and I were very conscious of the money we were spending along the way, and Tara's fees were by far the best price for the level of quality that she offered in our area (within 45 min of Allentown, PA area). This allowed us to spend the money on dressing up the ballroom even further, and she was happy to help with suggestions.
The only small thing that caused some hiccups was during the ceremony and rehearsal. We planned a fairly traditional Protestant ceremony, and Tara seemed unfamiliar with the type of ceremony. However, between her recommendations and the recommendations of my pastor, we worked it out to be exactly how I wanted it.
Overall, my husband and I would highly recommend Tara and her services!
My service from Tara came in two parts: the ballroom and her planning. The ballroom was an absolutely fabulous venue. It Read more...
My service from Tara came in two parts: the ballroom and her planning. The ballroom was an absolutely fabulous venue. It is very unique, in a beautiful town, and a great size for hosting a wedding or event. The wooden floors and stage are perfect for dancing, and the lovely painted walls are a nice feature. The chandeliers are also extremely elegant. If you want to surprise guests with a romantic or elegant evening, this is the place!
The service was also excellent. Tara is a great networker, which meant she was able to offer suggestions and recommendations for different services for the wedding. She even coordinated the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, which was at a venue owned by some folks down the road from the ballroom. She was available throughout the entire process of planning the wedding, and though I didn't utilize her for every aspect of the wedding, she was willing to do much more than I expected. Especially when it came to set up and tear down, Tara went above and beyond what I predicted her to help with. She would have done the entire set up if I had wanted!
Finally, my husband and I were very conscious of the money we were spending along the way, and Tara's fees were by far the best price for the level of quality that she offered in our area (within 45 min of Allentown, PA area). This allowed us to spend the money on dressing up the ballroom even further, and she was happy to help with suggestions.
The only small thing that caused some hiccups was during the ceremony and rehearsal. We planned a fairly traditional Protestant ceremony, and Tara seemed unfamiliar with the type of ceremony. However, between her recommendations and the recommendations of my pastor, we worked it out to be exactly how I wanted it.
Overall, my husband and I would highly recommend Tara and her services! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
8/2/2014
4.0/5.0
The ballroom was very beautiful. The staff very helpful. The only thing the guests complained about was the parking arrangements and the food. We asked for roast beef and chicken cacciatore. And received the chicken and turkey with no gravy (got to choose one of two birds). Was not compensated for the mess up. The parking lot was full for some of the guests and if you wanted to leave early or after the shuttle bus was done its tour, you had a far walk to the parking lot. However the vendor was very helpful and responded to questions very quickly either by email or phone. Overall the hall was great and everyone had a great time.
The ballroom was very beautiful. The staff very helpful. The only thing the guests complained about was the parking Read more...
The ballroom was very beautiful. The staff very helpful. The only thing the guests complained about was the parking arrangements and the food. We asked for roast beef and chicken cacciatore. And received the chicken and turkey with no gravy (got to choose one of two birds). Was not compensated for the mess up. The parking lot was full for some of the guests and if you wanted to leave early or after the shuttle bus was done its tour, you had a far walk to the parking lot. However the vendor was very helpful and responded to questions very quickly either by email or phone. Overall the hall was great and everyone had a great time. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue
Mauch Chunk Ballroom responded with the following comments:

I do apollogize for the food mix up. The dish changed on two different occassions and when I went to tell the chef which dishes, I had the selections confused and referenced a previous choice, rather than the most recent choice. The price for the service was the same regardless of meal choice.

Parking in Jim Thorpe is a challenge and fortunately we have managed to make arrangements for our guests to have a lot specifically for them. In over 20 weddings so far this year, this is the first time that parking went over its capacity. I am working on figuring out a solution for the future, should this happen again.

Our shuttle does only transport guest at the beginning of the evening starting about 45 minutes before the start of your reception for one hour (till about 15 min into the start for late arrivals) and at the end of the evening staring 1/2 hour before your event is scheduled to end for one hour. This time is included with every package. However, the shuttle could be made available for the whole night at an additional fee, should you feel that any of your guests may want to leave earlier than that.

DEALS

FREE Cake with wedding packages
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $350 Value
At the Ballroom, you get a free cake with your wedding from Icing on the Cake! (limits apply, upgrades are available)
Deal #WWe20e296332cab698
220x220_1325952520410-ballroom2

MAP

 
41 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mauch Chunk Ballroom
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1325952520410-ballroom2