130x130_sq_1261506503478-annaken671

Maurice Ramirez Photo

Emeryville , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1500 Park Ave, Loft #120
Emeryville, CA US (map)

PHONE

415-251-3591

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I see what you feel, explore what you love about each other, and capture your day forever.

With a decade of photojournalism and fashion photography experience, my... Read more
I see what you feel, explore what you love about each other, and capture your day forever.

With a decade of photojournalism and fashion photography experience, my award-winning images express the moments, emotions, and relationships most important to you.

If you appreciate authentic and personalized artistry, please contact us.

"Inspired By You."

---

A published editiorial photojournalist and commercial photographer with ten years of experience, whose clients include MTV Networks (as Chief Photographer), San Francisco Business Times, Rolling Stone Magazine, Spin Magazine, People Magazine, the San Jose Mercury News, Karma Magazine, the Marin Independent Journal, AsianWeek Magazine, Fortune Magazine, Apple Inc., Oracle.

I am now dedicated to weddings, coporate, and fashion shoots from my Emeryvile studio, as well as across the world from Southeast Asia to Europe.

Having studied Photojournalism and Humanities at San Francisco State University, I continue to develop by participating with top-tier industry events and professional organizations around the country. I occasionally teach workshops on lighting and beauty photography.

International Society of Professional Wedding Photographers (ISPWP)
Wedding Photojournalists Association (WPJA - International Award-Winning Wedding Photographer)
Advertising Photographers Association (APA/SF)
Professional Photographers of the Greater Bay Area (SF PPGBA - Award-Winning Judged Wedding Album)
Wedding and Portrait Photographers International (WPPI) Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1274306312521-tinapedrowedding496
130x130_sq_1274305454115-jackiejoel0613
130x130_sq_1274306496990-20090926185525
130x130_sq_1274306159927-20090724182311
130x130_sq_1274307051177-20080426144841web
130x130_sq_1274306511693-20090926142524
130x130_sq_1274306549630-20090926150755
130x130_sq_1232214842000-armidabrent-477-a
130x130_sq_1261506292697-kaceybrian737
130x130_sq_1274306124880-20090724133937
130x130_sq_1274306186193-20090724141606
130x130_sq_1261506341228-kaceybrian730
130x130_sq_1264478186204-20090412124501c
130x130_sq_1232215769687-armida-brent-065-blog
130x130_sq_1246491730021-20090611195255b
130x130_sq_1246491758646-20090611183441b
130x130_sq_1264478188344-20090611194548
130x130_sq_1264478188844-20091117150916
130x130_sq_1264478193000-668
130x130_sq_1274306295068-tinapedrowedding243
130x130_sq_1264478190563-577b
130x130_sq_1232214934593-amypaul-enggd-020
130x130_sq_1264478190735-210b
130x130_sq_1274305898740-nataliealexwedding094
130x130_sq_1274305925037-nataliealexwedding261
130x130_sq_1261505987963-annaken671
130x130_sq_1232214953625-amypaul-enggd-070
130x130_sq_1243668800921-christeldarrenlifestyle095
130x130_sq_1243668325984-christeldarrenlifestyle071
130x130_sq_1243668813046-juliealbert083
130x130_sq_1243668818031-juliealbert057
130x130_sq_1243668820609-michellesam097
130x130_sq_1243668838250-michellesam080
130x130_sq_1243668830890-michellesam019
130x130_sq_1243668810562-juliealbert052
130x130_sq_1243668803109-christeldarrenlifestyle092
130x130_sq_1243668843062-aprilron037
130x130_sq_1264478184297-20090411140727
130x130_sq_1264478194954-vivianroyceheadlights
130x130_sq_1274305393927-bernicejoe090
130x130_sq_1274305513177-jenniferchrisengaged034
130x130_sq_1274305539943-jenniferchrisengaged059
130x130_sq_1274305574505-dawndave058
130x130_sq_1274305598240-dawndave081
130x130_sq_1274305645959-jackiejoel068
130x130_sq_1274305678834-kellypatrick020
130x130_sq_1274305721802-desireenicole034

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
As an artist, custom toning is particular to my style.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I love challenging lighting conditions as the results separate my work from others.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
One, two if necessary.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
One of the benefits of networking with the best photographers in the Bay Area is that I have a circle of talented friends who I trust and can count on in an emergency.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Whatever is the best available tool on the market at the time. We upgrade our gear frequently with no compromises.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
We even have backup of backups.
Do you charge for travel?
Not within the Bay Area
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
I always shoot for my portfolio. This is what helps me be creative and makes your photos unique!
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Three different high-end flush-mount, One quality matted style. None of the typical.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tfong
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We got married last October 2011 in San Francisco and chose our photographer very carefully. We hired Maurice not only because of his amazing photography talents, but because he actually cared and made a huge effort to tell our story and didn't just want to take a photo for the sake of photography. Maurice (and Nina) took their time to get to know us so that they could convey our lives with each other through his photos. Needless to say, we had a blast with Maurice during both our engagement session (full SF city bus tour) and on our big day at the InterContinental Hotel!

Maurice was so easy to work with and was so fluid with each moment in all the unique surroundings and atmospheres that we encountered. He was ultra patient with us and our 550+ guest list as well...and I can't say the same for most photographers to be able to cover that size of a group so smoothly.

When we saw the final product, we were blown away and his photos and ultra high quality "storybook" took us right back to our wedding day! We recounted the entire day and saw all the special moments that he captured for us. We're not planning another wedding anytime soon, but if we had to, we'd quickly book Maurice as he was our favorite vendor (and now friend). Anna and Tim thank Maurice and Nina for being simply FANTASTIC!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Maurice is the BEST there is! I would give him 10 stars if I could. When my husband and I were planning our wedding we already knew we wanted Maurice as our photographer because he did such an amazing job capturing my sister's wedding. However, we had some tricks up our sleeve requiring our photographer to endure very high heights and make it to several different locations throughout the day. When we approached Maurice he was more than excited to take on the challenge. And it was worth it! The photos are once in a lifetime, absolutely amazing! Maurice literally ran all over the mountain to get every shot perfect. He captured our story perfectly and the storybook he created after the wedding is unbelievable - better than you could ever imagine. We can't thank Maurice enough for what he did for us! He is a truly remarkable photographer that I would recommend for any occasion (especially those with an imagination)!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanisha
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were recently married in August 2011 at the Palm Event Center in Pleasanton. I am very meticulous and wanted to make sure that the photographer I chose was as meticulous to detail as I when highlighting such a special day in our lives. I interviewed up to 20 to 30 photographers and once I met Maurice I just knew he was the best candidate for the job. His photographs are amazing and he's professionalism is out of this world! His wife Nina, is also amazing! She is so organized and makes sure all your needs and concerns are met. For our engagement session, I didn't know exactly how to explain our vision. But Maurice knew exactly what I wanted without adequate direction. When my husband and I received the pictures we were floored. Everyone complimented his skills and wanted to know who our photographer was. At our wedding, his timeliness and attention to detail was apparent. There was not one shot Maurice was going to miss. He even layed on the floor to capture moments in time! I would highly recommend Maurice Ramirez for photographing your special day. You will definitely be impressed when you get your pictures back. I'm still glowing and reminiscing about our day everytime I look at our albums! His skills are priceless!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1238984786375-mee.1
kristineclarinda
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
I was a bridesmaid in one of Maurice's very, very first weddings, and I sang at another wedding he did 10 years later. (Both weddings were my family members!) We were impressed with him the first time, and we were amazed by him the second time. The growth in his creativity was apparent. So when it came time to book vendors for my own wedding, Maurice was the one and only photographer we went to. In fact, he was the very first vendor we booked because we wanted to make sure we could get him!

What can I say that hasn't already been said about Maurice? Simply put, he is amazing. When you pay for Maurice's work, you are truly paying for art. His vision, style and method is truly unique. We've only seen our teaser photos from him and we are already blown away. It actually rained on our wedding day, and at first we were bummed at not being able to get as many outdoor pictures at our beautiful San Diego venues. But Maurice approached the rain in a different way and said it was a chance to have truly unique wedding photos that have a certain darkness (but not too dark) and depth to them that we wouldn't otherwise have. And sure enough, the rainy pictures are the best! At one point, Maurice even stood in the rain (and it was raining buckets at this point) to get the perfect, original, unique photo of us standing under an umbrella underneath the downpour.

Our vendors that had a chance to see Maurice in action were also impressed by him. He was on the floor, in the closet, behind doors...all to get the perfect shot. Our hair and make up vendors just kept saying, "Wow, we've never seen anyone do anything like that that before! He's definitely different from all the other photographers we've seen!" And once the ceremony started, Maurice and his assistant (Ed Atrero, who also owns his own studio in San Diego and was also amazing) were like wedding photography ninjas. They weren't intrusive during the ceremony and allowed everything to happen naturally. Later on my mom told me, "I saw Maurice in the candles, and then I saw him behind a statue!" And even at the reception, we almost forgot they were there because they both faded into the background and just let everything flow. No direction or staging, just a lot of great candid moments. And even during our creative session where Maurice gave us more direction and prompting, he still did what was natural and comfortable for us. He is true to his motto of "inspired by you."

There's also a certain swagger about Maurice that just radiates. I'm self-conscious and I don't really like having my picture taken, but Maurice made me comfortable and gave me the confidence I needed to have truly amazing photos. Plus, he also inspired my husband to pursue his own passion for photography even further. He's friendly, he's creative, he's genuine, and at times he can be intense. But it's a good intense.

And then there is Nina! We never got to meet Nina, but she is the primary contact before the actual day. She helped me to organize and her experience with planning the photography for the day was Godsend. She helped us with all the logistics and helped us minimize our time with the formal altar shots. She was a delight and all of our guests had great things to say about her when they bought gift certificates from MR Photography.

Okay, I think I've exhausted all the great things I can say about Maurice. Hire him! You won't be disappointed. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shunte
Wedding:
10/2/2010
1.6/5.0
I debated over writing this review. Our wedding was this past Saturday, and Maurice cancelled on us less than three weeks from our wedding.

There is no doubt that Maurice takes beautiful pictures. His assistant, Nina, is also very friendly and responsive. Unfortunately, after signing the contract and paying the amount in full (and cash), he reneged on his contract. His reason? Nina accidentally booked us for October 2011, not October 2010. This was suspicious, as we received several emails from Nina with additional details about our upcoming wedding a few weeks away.

I've had nothing but great experiences with Nina (we actually first reached out to them over a year and a half ago when we started planning, then again a few months ago when we finally decided to set a date). I don't believe that there was a mix up in dates. Since we had a smaller ceremony/reception and paid in full, Maurice was able to give us a considerable discount on his package. I fully believe that another bigger, pricier client came along and was too good for Maurice to pass up.

I don't doubt Maurice's talent. However, I am most disappointed that having a signed agreement and paying the total cost up front wasn't enough to confirm him for our wedding. It's either poor organization or poor business ethic, and that is the last thing that any bride would want to worry about.

I am giving Maurice two stars because he quickly refunded our money and offered a complimentary session. Maybe in time I'll feel differently, but I think I'd just be scowling in any pictures he shot of me!

In the end, we fortunately found a FANTASTIC photographer (Charles Le Photography), and I truly think this cancellation was a blessing in disguise.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridal876
Wedding:
7/22/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married last July, and we were so glad to have Maurice as our photographer! I spent months looking for a wedding photographer until we found Maurice. My husband and I immediately loved his style and portfolio. Maurice went above and beyond what we expected. We really appreciated that Maurice captured all of the little moments from our wedding such as the grandparents holding hands, or someone wiping a tear away. Plus, our engagement and wedding photos were gorgeous! Thank you Maurice and Nina!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina T.
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Maurice and Nina are the perfect duo. Maurice is an amazing photographer. He is professional, talented, easy-going, and very personable. He truly has an “eye” for capturing an emotion and moment that transfers to each photo. He made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and most importantly made the entire experience so memorable and fun for us. He really took the time to get to know us so that the photos really reflect who we are as a couple. We had the pleasure to work with him for our engagement session, wedding day, and an after shoot. And throughout the entire process, Nina was so thorough in providing us timelines and guidelines that prepared us for each photo session. We really appreciated her promptness to emails, attention to details, and true professionalism. We are so happy with our storybook album; it truly does tell our story and it is more than what we had imagined it to be. Our family and friends are still raving about the photos and slideshow from our wedding day. We thank you Maurice for capturing the most important moments of our lives and allowing us to relive our wedding day through your photos. We would highly recommend Maurice…..he truly is an awesome photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aileen
Wedding:
10/26/2008
5.0/5.0
We were very fortunate that we didn't have to worry about our photographer on our wedding day. Maurice and Nina are very experienced professionals and they are good at what they do - to say the least. They were on time, ready to work and came with a happy attitude which makes all the difference when the bride and/or groom are already tense about the day.

With their experience at wedding photography, they were able to help us with planning our timeline and flow. While we communicated through email and phone up until the day of, they brought up points that I would have looked over if I never talked to them!

My family and friends couldn't stop raving about how hard Maurice worked during the wedding! My husband and I were both impressed he captured all the exciting moments of the day. 5's all they way for Maurice Ramirez... and Nina!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vy
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
We saw one of Maurice's albums at a venue we were considering. My husband first looked at the album knew that Maurice would be our photographer. When we met up with Maurice and Nina, the pricing of their package drew us back as we had a lower budget for photographer. We started to look into other photographerssssss, but we always had Maurice at the top of our list. As we were thinking that photos of our wedding is the most important part of our wedding. We want to make sure that we have the best pictures, which means the best photographer. Maurice is an amazing photographer!! He can take the most ordinary setting and capture a priceless memory. Our pictures came out BEAUTIFUL!! We are so glad we had chosen Maurice as our photographer!

Thank you Maurice and Nina!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Maurice is amazing!!! He and Nina were wonderful to work with from the beginning. Maurice was very easy to work with and took truly stunning photos of our wedding. We could not be more pleased with his work. He is has the ability to catch the emotion in each moment of the event!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
regandroseasenloo
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
We immediately fell in love with Maurice's work and couldn't be happier about our decision to have him capture our wedding memories. To describe the quality of service: at our first meeting, Maurice displayed a sincere desire to photograph "who we were" and that is truly what he accomplished. For responsiveness: we have busy lives and was easy and efficient to communicate with Maurice via email. For professionalism: while is demeanor is relaxed and easy going, once he's behind the camera, it's all business and he treats you with respect. In terms of value for cost, before and after our wedding we believed hiring Maurice would be the best investment we'd make. For flexibility, Maurice always made us feel that it was all about "us". We would refer Maurice over and over again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsrockefeller
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
Let me start off by saying Maurice shot my sister's wedding 10 years before ours, which was on 7/7/7. Ever since he shot my sister's wedding, I knew I wanted pictures just like hers. We decided to Google Maurice and luckily he was still in the business, with 10 years of experience, success and technological advances under his belt.

When we were budgeting for our wedding, we knew photos would be our big ticket item, mostly because they are what you have years later to remember the day while most other things last only for the day, and also because my husband is a wedding photographer himself. We knew right away that Maurice was worth every penny because he is not just experienced, professional, and talented, but he is an artist with a distinct eye.

Here is the link to our entire photo album that was included in the package as digital negatives on a CD, and also the first slideshow Maurice ever did which is one of his trademarks now:

Album:http://flickr.com/photos/robertrock/sets/72157602711923397/
Slideshow: http://homepage.mac.com/mauriceramirez/personal/slideshow/index.html

Maurice was great at getting the wedding party to interact with one another during our pre-ceremony photo shoots. You can tell we all had a lot of fun. There is one great group shot that he took looking down at us from the balcony of the inn, and you can see everyone was having a great time. There are some moments which he created that you couldn't tell by looking at the photos, but for example the bouquet toss was enhanced by Maurice's direction.

What I LOVED about Maurice and his assistant is that they were almost invisble throughout the day. They were like ninjas, dressed in black, totally unobtrusive and there to capture moments in photojournalistic style, which is what we wanted.

Our wedding was in the day time and outdoors, so they only used flashes at night. They are very skilled and talented and know how to manipulate natural light. No obtrusive lighting equipment like umbrellas or anything like that.

We did not choose to do an engagement session because we were on a budget and found someone to do it for free--you get what you pay for. We drove out to Napa for the shoot only to get stood up. Looking back, we would have done it with Maurice for sure. We are now expecting, and hope to have him shoot family portraits in the future.

The digital negatives were top quality with a high resolution. If you click the largest size photo on Flickr, you can see that there is no pixelization.

We did not negotiate Maurice's price because as I said before, my husband is a wedding photographer and he knew Maurice was worth the money and very reasonable. Many photographers do not include digital negatives. We also liked that he scouted the locations ahead of time, was at the site in the morning until the last person was off the dance floor, and got our pictures to us in a very timely fashion.

I actually met Maurice 16 years ago, when I worked with Maurice (and my sister) when I was sixteen (fourteen years ago), but I know him better because he was my sister's wedding photographer.

I cannot say enough about how happy we were with our photos. We always get compliments on our photos, and Maurice really captured our day. My cousin who is soon to be married just let me know she wanted to book him for her 2010 wedding. You may find a comparable package, but you will not find someone with a better eye. Nothing fell short of excellent.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zandra
Wedding:
5/25/2007
5.0/5.0
Excellent service and wonderful to work with. We highly recommend!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K. Rogers
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
We discovered Maurice after the photographer we had booked completely flaked on us 3 weeks before our wedding! Talk about things happening for a reason! I was so much happier with Maurice than I ever could have been with the guy we were supposed to have! He came in last minute, put us at ease, was a complete profesional, got amazing shots without ever "running the show". My father is disabled, and he captured grace and dignity in our photos for which I will be ever grateful! Thank you Maurice!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lagamora
Wedding:
8/20/2005
5.0/5.0
We are big fans of Maurice Ramirez’s work. He not only captured the special moments of our wedding, but also the joy we felt when our daughter was born two years later.

He has photographed many of our friends’ weddings and has shot many of their family photos as well. We love how he is able to seize a host of emotions with his lens. With weddings you have the usual tears of joy and smiles. But with kids, you get everything and Maurice Ramirez knows how to get it all on film. We like this journalistic style because life is not always just about smiles. It's also about uncertainty, wonder and frustration. Maurice Ramirez was able to capture all those emotions from our baby and we love all the pictures and will surely cherish them for years to come.

We look forward to working more with him with our different life stages. We are expecting our second child soon. So we will be contacting him again!

P.S. He has a hard-working assistant, Nina, who is great at handling all the administrative and creative stuff. Plus, we see that she is wonderful with children!javascript:submitForm();
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
7/31/2004
5.0/5.0
Maurice is a super talented photographer. He pays so much attention to detail. We absolutely loved working with him and having him do our wedding photos/book. WE were pleasantly surprised at the high level of quality that our photos displayed, everything turned out way better than I had ever expected. Our wedding photos were such a highlight of our wedding day. When so many things went by so fast and other things didn't go the way we wanted, at least we have all of our memories of the spectacular parts of the day captured forever in our gorgeous wedding book that we show off to everyone that comes to visit. I highly recommend Maurice if want your photos to do the same for you.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
1500 Park Ave, Loft #120, Emeryville, CA See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Maurice Ramirez Photo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1261506503478-annaken671