130x130_sq_1286987476983-heatherpinhoshots010

Maxie B's

Greensboro , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2403-7 Battleground Ave.
Greensboro, NC US 27408 (map)

PHONE

336-288-9811

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a locally-owned bakery that specializes in made-from-scratch cakes. We support local farmers whenever possible and use pure butter, real vanilla, and the freshest ingredients to... Read more
We are a locally-owned bakery that specializes in made-from-scratch cakes. We support local farmers whenever possible and use pure butter, real vanilla, and the freshest ingredients to make all of our cakes, icings, and fillings. Our dessert cafe is open daily...so feel free to just drop in for a slice of cake whenever you like! Wedding cake tastings are also available daily by appointment. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1321373285919-054
130x130_sq_1264474242117-wd20beautifuldisplay
130x130_sq_1264474530772-wd108pureshimmeringbeauty
130x130_sq_1321373292309-055
130x130_sq_1264475232719-wd330fullywhippedfinishonthisicing
130x130_sq_1321373318997-110
130x130_sq_1264475439068-wd528zebraweddingcakedone
130x130_sq_1293561038645-oldhollywoodcake
130x130_sq_1321373313294-083
130x130_sq_1321373323059-12of16onsite
130x130_sq_1293561076239-wd14pinkribbonscake
130x130_sq_1321373300981-072
130x130_sq_1321373309950-074
130x130_sq_1293561153458-wd81fallfruitscakewithmonogram
130x130_sq_1293561198630-wd327topsyturvysquared
130x130_sq_1321373305700-073
130x130_sq_1293561260942-wd343cupcakesinthepavillion
130x130_sq_1293561401536-wd315lovelyblackdamaskpatternoffondant
130x130_sq_1321373283200-023
130x130_sq_1288625949375-thumbdrivephotos061
130x130_sq_1288625972406-thumbdrivephotos105
130x130_sq_1288626129859-thumbdrivephotos328
130x130_sq_1288626131953-thumbdrivephotos402
130x130_sq_1288626143578-thumbdrivephotos516
130x130_sq_1288626170921-thumbdrivephotos565
130x130_sq_1288626211515-thumbdrivephotos689
130x130_sq_1288626301031-thumbdrivephotos1484
130x130_sq_1293560578817-thumbdrivephotos004
130x130_sq_1293560680708-thumbdrivephotos396
130x130_sq_1293560737645-thumbdrivephotos423
130x130_sq_1293560853239-showplace1

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Thanks Maxie B's for your great service. My cake looked perfect and everyone enjoyed the flavors.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We were excited to use Maxie B's as our wedding cake vendor because my husband and I had gone there for Valentine's Day early on in our relationship. From the cake tasting to the wedding day, Shannon was incredibly wonderful to us. The bakery is stunning and fun to visit/do cake tasting at. They worked with me to make my vision fit within my budget. When I got to the wedding reception and saw my cake…I was so happy. It was more beautiful than I thought it would be! It was definitely a statement piece at our reception. And the quality of the cake…OH MY GOODNESS!!! There are some slightly embarrassing photos of how much I loved the cake. I wish that I would have eaten more than the few bites at the cake cutting because it was so delicious. Two other engaged couples who attended our wedding are now going to use Maxie B's for their wedding cake vendor too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lilly
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's was one of the best parts about wedding planning. From the cake tasting to the final product their service and attention to detail was perfection. Maxie B's did my wedding cake, the grooms cake and an additional sheet cake. Every single cake was dense, moist and so flavorful. The cake decorations exceeded my expectations and were absolutely stunning!

Just to give you an idea of how much I love Maxie B's, I live in Denver and will be ordering Birthday cakes from them every year (almond on almond, yum!).

Can not say enough good things about Maxie B's, you can not go wrong.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
I could not have been happier with how both the wedding cakes and groom's cake came out. As a baker, I really wanted to have delicious cake that people remembered for the flavor, not just how it looked on the outside and it was perfect. People raved about the taste and even went back for seconds, so they could try on of the other flavors. It didn't only taste good though, but both the wedding cakes and groom's cake looked exactly the way I had drawn them. I would highly recommend Maxie B's for any special occasion. From start (cake tasting) to finish they were wonderful to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
mcslate82
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's went above and beyond my expectations! Both the wedding cake and the grooms cake were spectacular!!! They took the images I gave them and not only made them a reality, but made them even prettier!!! They tasted just as amazing as they looked : ) Everyone was raving that it was the best cake they had ever had!! Thank you guys soooo much!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1345429448136-weddingemailprofilepic
Mandi
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
As soon as we saw that Maxie B's had a Banana Pudding Cake, we were sold! We didn't realize that you couldn't tier that cake, but they worked with us to find a solution that worked for our wedding and for our budget.

We ended up with 3 smaller cakes, rather than 1 large tiered cake. We went with Banana Pudding (YUM!), Lemon Almond and Chocolate with Cream Cheese Filling. All 3 cakes were delicious and they looked great.

Shannon was so easy to work with for our tasting, accommodated our limited time in town and was very responsive to my questions via email.

There are several decent bakeries in the Triad, but I would highly recommend Maxie B's. You're going to get excellent service and an excellent product. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with the Event Coordinator was such an easy and enjoyable process! I chose to do a non-traditional approach to a wedding cake - with a small two-tiered cake for my groom and I to cut, along with a southern spread of some of Maxie B's delicious cakes! The day of the wedding, when my matron of honor showed me a picture of the cake table, I was in awe.. And still am!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did a wonderful job on our cake. It was beautiful and we received a lot of compliments on how good it tasted. Shannon was great to work with even taking some time one evening to show us how to cut the cake since our venue would not cut it for us. Maxie B's is the best in town!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Savannah
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
As always Maxie B's delivered above and beyond! From the initial meeting to taste & choose our flavors to the finished product- they were wonderful to work with...I wanted to do something simple and easy rather than an elaborate wedding cake, so we decided on mini cupcakes with a topper cake for cutting. We sampled over eight flavors before deciding on five kinds of cupcakes. Maxie B's provided the cupcake stand free of charge & had the cupcakes ready on the Friday morning of our destination weekend- so we could pickup and transport everything that day. Of course all the guests raved over the delicious cupcakes!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
You cannot go wrong with getting your cake made by Maxie B's!!!! Shannon was great to work with and so easy going! She was really supportive and had great idea's; the cake tasting wasn't too bad either! We had three smaller cakes made, which kept costs really reasonable, and all of our guests couldn't get over how great they tasted! We had SO many compliments about the German chocolate and carrot cake (which is really to die for)! I have requests to bring more of her cakes back to family when I go home for a visit soon!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did an amazing job with our wedding cake! They are our favorite bakery and we had 5 different flavors of cake for the wedding. All of our favorites. The cake was beautiful and exactly as we had pictured it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We had heard wonderful things about Maxie B's FOREVER! Being an avid lover of cake and desert, my (now) husband and I were over the moon when we learned we had WON the wedding cake of our dreams from the esteemed Maxie B's Bakery.
I can't shout their names from the rooftops loud enough.
The staff made us feel like family, which is so endearing and important when you are a stressed out bride and the flavor(s) of your wedding cake seem among the most important decision(s) you could ever make in your life.
We tried almost ALL the flavor options they have to offer (and there are TONS). We received guidance on the best flavor options for our wedding (i.e. cake shape and availability of freshly available ingredients for our November wedding).
We settled on 4 flavors (we had a HUGE cake) and Shannon, the B's wedding coordinator checked back with us several times to make sure that
we were happy with our decision. Their correspondence and happiness to work with us really set them apart from other bakeries I have worked with in the past.
On the day of the wedding my heart skipped a beat when I saw the most beautiful cake in the whole world displayed for all to see. Not to mention, the most delicious! Our guests were raving about the tastiness of the buttercream icing and fresh strawberries, apples, etc that were beautifully baked into the "artwork" that sat upon the cake display.
I am not writing this review because I won a wedding cake from Maxie B's. I am writing this review because my family will continue to be a part of their family for years to come.
I take my parents there for coffee and pastries when they are in town, my husband's next birthday cake will be Maxie B baked and iced.
Maxie B's is more than a bakery, it is a beautiful and delicious nook of Greensboro pride.
We feel as if we are part of the team and would recommend them for ANY event, big or small.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
You would have to look long and hard to find a bakery better than Maxie B's. They have an amazing cake selection, and every flavor is absolutely amazing! We had 9 flavors of cake at our wedding and our guests are STILL going on about how much they enjoyed each and every one. Maxie B's will absolutely be my cake head quarters for all special events in our future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose to pick a small two tiered cake with cupcakes for our wedding. We loved that we were able to choose different flavors for the cupcakes for more variety for our guests. We loved the simple grape design to go along with our vineyard wedding. All the guests loved the cake and it was super moist. Love Maxie B's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1382901856156-avata
Tarra
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I chose Maxie Bs because I absolutely love their cake. They serve the most rich indulgent cake I've ever had. Shannon the wedding consultant there was extremely sweet, professional and helpful; she made the experience easy and fast. My cake was simple and beautiful just like I wanted. I visit the shop maybe once a week for my sugar fix.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent through and through. From the tasting to the design process to the execution they were consistently fabulous. The cake was complete perfection and all of my guests thoroughly enjoyed the delicious quality they provide. I look forward to working with them regularly for all future celebrations!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany Crews
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's makes the best cake there is! Not only are the cakes beautiful, but they are so delicious. Shannon was so easy going and fun to work with, and the cake embodied my vision 100%. We had had no cake left after a 200 person reception! I think it's safe to say that the cake was so good our guests went back for seconds.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1357227589158-fbavatar2934470
Courtney
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
The cakes and cupcakes were so delicious, I am still receiving compliments on them. Their designs are beautiful and I can't wait to use their services for all my upcoming parties/gatherings!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
From the time we walked into the bakery to two weeks after my wedding, Maxie B's went above and beyond. Our cake was beautiful and delicious. We had an issue with our caterer messing up the cake servings and Shannon went beyond the call of duty and made us more than happy customers in the end. I 100% recommend them and can't wait for our cake on our one year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Shannon was great, she was knowledgable and prompt. My daughter wanted a dessert table, so we purchased 4 different cakes for guests to enjoy. All delicious and beautiful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deidra
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious and our guests are still raving about it. Shannon was very helpful from the cake tasting, grooms cake design idea's and suggestions on how to serve all our guests cake when our head count spiked two weeks before our wedding. She made all our dreams a reality and we will always remain loyal customers to Maxie B's.

Kimili + Deidra Long
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sadie
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I have used Maxie B's for both a baby shower cake and my wedding cake. With both experiences, I was thoroughly impressed. Both cakes were beautiful and delicious. Additionally, I couldn't be more pleased with their professionalism. For our wedding, my family sat down with Shannon. She made our cake-tasting experience a treat and from start to finish took care of our order. Everything (including delivery) was flawless.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved my wedding cake from here! It was so yummy!! All of our guests were in awe of this cake. Not to mention it was BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I have enjoyed Maxie B's cakes over the years at birthdays and graduations so when I got engaged I knew that I wanted my cake from them! Everything from the tasting to the main event went smoothly. We had so much fun tasting all the different flavors and flipping through the hundreds of different pictures. The cake was delicious! We added a cupcake for a bridesmaid's birthday at the last minute and it was delivered with the cake. I'm so happy we went with Maxie B's.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
When we first schedule a tasting appointment with Maxie B's, we were amazed at all of the flavors they brought out for us to taste. It was hard narrowing it down to just a few flavors. They were willing to create the cake exactly as we wanted it. They were always quick to respond to any questions or correspondence. The cake was beautiful as well as delicious. The guests loved it and many asked who made the cake because it was the best they had tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Cakes turned out perfect!! And so Sinfully delicious!! Can't go wrong with Maxie B's!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Shannon was so helpful throughout the entire process and made our decision to work with her easy. Her knowledge about all the different things that go into wedding cakes was invaluable. Everyone commented on how not only gorgeous the cake was, which was an extreme custom-bling design to match our Old-Hollywood theme, but how absolutely delicious. Many people had SECONDS! I don’t normally like cake, but Maxie-B’s is the only one I eat…LOVE iT, especially the Seven-Up, Oreo and Chocolate!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I approached Maxie B's for our wedding cake and we were truly impressed! The cake was beautiful and delicious and Shannon was a joy to work with. She was organized, professional and very responsive. Our guests are still raving about how wonderful our cake was! I would highly recommend Maxie B's for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
THe best cake you have ever put in your mouth! And the designs are classic and elegant and almost too beautiful to eat. Pricing was absolutely reasonable and options for cakes were too numerous to count; and we were able to taste test all of our options which was an added perk. Maxie B's is everything they advertise and more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marquita
Wedding:
3/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I was very pleased with the service and cake from Maxie B's. I go there all the time to purchase slices of cake and wanted to have them do my wedding cake. Shannon Barbee is awesome to work with on the cake tastings and cake order process. Everything turned out perfectly!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1328055257175-dsc03147
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
their Strawberry and Buttercream cake is to die for. We had it at my engagement party and it was so good we had to have it again!! Every single piece was eaten at the wedding. The price is fantastic and their wedding contact is very nice and informative. They are willing to work with you to make the cake look like the one you've always wanted at the price that fits. Again, the taste is unparalleled. They are so sweet that they will send you a freshly baked cake on your one-year anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My cake turned out exactly how I envisioned and it was tasty. The planning process was easy and I had no worries. I love Maxie B's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lonnie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's is wonderful! Shannon was so attentive during our consult, our cakes (we had 3 flavors) were such a huge hit at our wedding to where we had no leftovers!

Our cake design was even more beautiful than we could have imagined! The colors were perfect and the design was unforgettable- our guests complimented our cake so much! Maxie B's handled our cake set-up with our venue and working with our florists and left me totally stress free.

I would highly recommend Maxie B's for wedding cakes and any other cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/23/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful! I made my cake topper and they were very helpful with making sure it would work on the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Beautiful AND delicious! I can't say enough good things about Maxie B's. The cake looked beautiful and tasted amazing. We got the fresh strawberry buttercream cake and received so many compliments on it! I have heard that several people had seconds and even thirds at the reception. Shannon was easy to work with and completely reliable. I also had a wonderful time at the initial cake tasting at the bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything from the customer service, to the wedding cake of my dreams...Maxi B' s was absolutely AMAZING. Every single one of our guests raved on about how delicious and beautiful our cake was. They knew exactly how to design a cake (even though I didn't know how to explain my vision to them) that suited our personalities and individual style. I can never thank them enough for all they did to help make our wedding such a magical experience!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure to work with Maxie B's. Not only does this bakery make the most delicious cake in the Triad, but they also work really hard to ensure your budget is comfortable. We opted to do a cupcake display for our August wedding. It was so much more impressive and beautiful than I could have ever imagined. They provided a variety of display options (we opted for a set of nine crystal chandelier style cake stands) and a small cake for us to cut. It was a great because we were able to pick several flavors and color options, as well as frosting designs. Our guests loved the beautiful display, but above all, they loved the delicious flavors. After working with them for our wedding, we will be sure to use them for all future celebrations!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Best Cake I have ever eaten! So good I couldn't choose just one flavor!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AK
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We had the best experience with Maxi B's. The decoration was exactly how we wanted and they included our monogram perfectly. The cake, as always was delicious!! The fresh strawberry buttercream is to top notch. I cannot wait for my anniversary cake!! I would definitely recommend them for any wedding. Great customer service and excellent product:-)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1318100951003-052
Kamisha
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's was such a great choice for our dessert bar at our wedding! They helped us come up with a variety of great cupcakes, cakepops and even banana pudding! Our delectable treats were all gone before we could finish announcing 'Dessert bar open"! Great company and sweet treats!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
burlapgirl
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Beautiful lace wedding cake for my daughter's wedding! So delicious friends came to my house the next day wanting leftover cake! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg19
Shannon
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
This is your Bakery – Look no more!
Maxie B's is the best bakery in town and made the most amazing cake display for our wedding. Shannon, is the Event Coordinator and she is EXCELLENT! Her service, explanations, communication and overall approach is outstanding. The cake is by far some of the best cake I have ever had and will only return to this bakery for all future events and any baked goods I will serve.
We had an original idea and they made it happen. We wanted to do a 170 Cake Pops with a small square cake on top to cut. They made it happen and it was incredible. My Husband built the stand for the pops as he and Shannon worked through any of the glitches along the way. The bakery and Shannon made it easy.
Your only worry will be if they are available for your event so get in early!
Cheers to Maxie B's!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
contrice
Wedding:
3/30/2012
5.0/5.0
I brought 100 mini chocolate chip cookies and 100 mini cupcakes of 5 different flavors from Maxi B's to put on my dessert table. They were absolutely delicious and everyone enjoyed them. Sharon and her staff were very professional and super easy to deal with. The chocolate chip cookies literally melt in your mouth. I will definitely be using this vendor again in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Customer
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Maxi B's Cake was the best food at the wedding!! Our only complaint is that we had no leftovers because all the guests wanted seconds and thirds! It was absolutely delicious! We had a layer of Birthday Cake and a layer of Chocolate Sin. Both were outstanding!. We did a tasting at the shop which was wonderful and a great way to make choices. We worked with Shannon, who was very professional in scheduling, contracting, helping us with design, executing on the big day, and follow up. I would not hesitate to recommend Maxi B's to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Walker
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
They were great to work with and so helpful when making decisions about the cake. We had a tasting months before the wedding where we tried many flavors and discussed design and pricing. The birthday cake, chocolate, and pink lemonade flavors were delicious. We also rented a beautiful cake stand from them that was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Shannon and the whole Maxie b's family. My sister and I frequent the storefront often, so when it was time to plan my wedding, there was no doubt that Maxie B's would create my cake. I had the most fabulous cake I'd ever tasted ANYWHERE! I have 3 satellite tiers of moist deliciousness. The bottom tier was lemon almond buttercream (insane!), the middle tier was their special strawberry buttercream (incredible!) and the top tier was cream cheese pound cake with cream cheese icing (delicious!). My cakes were round, smooth tiers covered in gold sugar carnations. My guests kept going back for more. We had NO cake left afterward LOL. Luckily, Maxie B's gives their patrons a gift certificate for a free anniversary cake, instead trying to freeze that top tier. I absolutely love MAxie B's!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1303278736953-bride
Carrie
Wedding:
12/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Being from Greensboro originally, and being familiar with Maxie B's, I knew without a doubt that is who we wanted to do our wedding cake. With a very recent write up in Southern Living on the best bakeries of the south Maxie B's is at the top of the list.
We worked with Shannon who was awesome! I just gave her a picture of a general idea and told her to run with it...it was gorgeous! We received so many compliments from guests who all loved it! As a matter of fact, I believe several out-of-town guests have placed orders at Maxie B's to be shipped to their homes because they loved it so much. And Shannon has been so kind & gracious to make it happen.
I can not thank you guys enough! You're awesome!
Carrie & Gregg Gelinas
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
We ordered bridal cake (2 flavors) a chocolate groom's cake with chocolate dipped strawberries, and a german chocolate cake for rehearsal dinner - all were sinfully delicious ! Shannon did a fantastic job making sure that we got exactly what we wanted at a reasonable price. The cake stands provided were perfect for the wedding location. Cake tastings were awesome - we really got alot of bang for our buck. You cannot go wrong with a cake from Maxie B's :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Freckles
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's created the most beautifully, delicious cake for our wedding day. I just wished I had ordered more of it, so many people said it was the best cake they had ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I had a different type of wedding cake. I had 2 different people making my cake Maxie B's did the fire truck and a friend made the 3 tiered cake to go with it. We were able to take pictures of my husbands actual fire truck that he works on and send to them for the cake. When we got the cake it was more than I had imagined. It was very, very detailed and exactly what I had wanted. Every small thing that was on his actual truck was on the cake. Not to mention it was very tasty. We had the 5 flavor pound cake and it was moist and awesome. The fire truck sat next to the 3 tiered cake with a ladder from one to the other like the fireman was coming to get the bride off the top of the cake. It was awesome there are no other words for it and I would recommend them to any one as well as I will be having other cakes made by them in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashleyh8108
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Hands down the BEST and most beautiful wedding cake that I have ever had or seen! It was exactly what we wanted !! It could have not been anymore perfect!! The staff at Maxie B's were very friendly each visit, and Shannon was awesome to work with!! They created our dream wedding cake and made life long customers out of us!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's was the talk of the night! We ordered cupcakes in place of cake and were able to have three flavors and a single tier for our cake cutting ceremony for FAR less than a tiered cake would have cost. The cupcakes were ideal and I cannot wait for our one year anniversary to break out that wedding cake again! My husband and I reside outside of the area, but make a point to visit Maxie B's everytime we are in town because it has the BEST cupcakes we've ever had. They staff was cortious and responsive to our questions and requests. They worked with us and the final product was pristine... I cannot imagine a better tasting nor a better looking table scape than the one Maxie B's provided for me.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
toverby
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake from Maxie B's was absolutely fabulous!!! Way better than I ever imagined...beautiful peacock themed cake! They took a picture and made the cake much more beautiful than the picture...extremely pleased and extremely tasty! Soooo many guests were asking about the cake! Shannon at Maxie B's was awesome to work with as well! They even did the groomsmen cake too and make a golf design
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Maxie B did our wedding cake and grooms cake. I could not have been happier with the end product of either. Both cakes turned out exactly as we had discussed and everyone was so great to work with. Most importantly, both cakes were so delicious and i received a ton of compliments on them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1306766668562-tn
Leslie
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Shannon and Maxie B's was just spectacular! The cakes were amazing, the service was wonderful. I felt more like I was talking to a friend than dealing with a "business partnership." They were responsive to my questions, gave me feedback on my ideas without trying to "sway" me to a specific design. They even had suggestions for ways to save money, which was awesome! I will definitely use them again, and will be stopping in for slices of their cake on the regular as well. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's made our "storybook fairytale" wedding cake for our May 29th wedding this year at Castle McCulloch. They were very friendly and professional. We sat down with them months before the wedding and they took the time to get every little detail I wanted to be perfect for our big day! Anytime I emailed with a note or question they responded immediately. They offer a huge variety of flavors and I've NEVER tried one that was anything less than amazing. I would recommend them a million times over! Thank you sooo much for making our cake everything we wanted and more!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katie0501
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
We've used other popular local bakeries in the past, but Maxie B's far surpasses any of them. The wedding cake was simply stunning - the detail, the presentation, and most importantly the TASTE was incredible. The most fun thing that my daughter and I did when planning her wedding was taste-testing cake with Shannon at Maxie B's. Shannon was sensitive to what my daughter wanted, offered suggestions, but did not try to push her into something that was not her. The experience was wonderful and the cake couldn't have been more perfect!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rleelph4
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's is AMAZING!!!!!!! I knew right away when I got engaged that they would be making my cake. When I set up my cake testing the only problem I had was which flavor to choose because I loved them all! After the cake testing I just couldn't get enough of Maxie Bs - I went back every day for about a week! But I figured if I wanted to fit into my wedding dress I should probably cut that out for a little while : ) Shannon Barbee of Maxie B's was absolutely wonderful to work with - she is very sweet and is very good at her job! She is very accessible and wants to make sure the bride has everything perfect for her big day! She stays in touch very well and makes sure the brides vision of her perfect cake comes to life! I am a customer for life and would highly recommend Maxie B's to every bride! (We also used them for the grooms cake as well for the rehearsal dinner - again a big hit!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danielle
Wedding:
9/19/2010
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working directly with the owner, Robin, given the Wedding Coordinator was on maternity leave. Robin was so helpful with suggestions and was super flexible with me, which I greatly appreciated. When we first sat down I envisioned a dessert table but went back and forth with theme, and she walked me through it with ideas. Even though I changed my mind a few times, she was always there to keep things moving and on track.

I ended up getting my three tier cake in the "My Favorite Pound Cake" flavor and they also made four types of cupcakes for my dessert table. One thing I really appreciated was Robin going above and beyond in helping me find a ribbon of the type of unique brown I was looking for...it was so nice of her to do. I received a ton of compliments in how delicious everything was. I drooling as I type this actually! I also ended up getting my groom's cake there also in their caramel flavor- I had a sketch I referred to for what I wanted and the cake designers there did it perfectly!

I love everything about Maxi B's - the smell, the creativity, their professionalism. Wedding cakes is an area of expertise for this bakery, and you really can't go wrong. Their reputation alone should make you feel confident in their work. From the cake tasting to the first bite, I am a happy bride (with happy guests!).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1272514740459-jayneandjess1
Jayne
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did our grooms cake! It was probably one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever tasted. I was happy with their service and product and would fully recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Crystal
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did the cakes for our wedding, and were wonderful to work with. We decided to do a cake buffet since we couldn't decide on just one flavor and it was the hit of the wedding! Shannon was wonderful to work with, and they went the extra mile. I would highly recommend them to any bride!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kels513
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and yummy cakes! I came in with many different ideas for a cake and they streamlined my ideas into the perfect cake. It was amazing and even better tasted really good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kdespain
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake and groom's cake were fabulous! Guests kept commenting on how great the cakes were. The customer service was wonderful and Shannon at Maxie B's was wonderful to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our three tier wedding cake and our groom's cake through Maxie B's. Starting with the tasting everything was wonderful! Shannon worked with us closely the whole time from the first time I called with a billion questions. She called back right away and answered everything over the phone and email. I was able to email pics and get an accurate quote which was so helpful. Our tasting was awesome! The bakery is so cute and the cakes are great. My fiancee had to work so my dad went with me so Shannon sent me home with some cake samples so he could try them. They were able to make my wedding cake exactly like the Wedgewood china picture I brought in and they were even able to make my fiancees sound device grooms cake. The cakes are unbelievably tasty, the service is amazing and they are so creative!!! Definitely get any cakes you can from Maxie B's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
evagantt
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Maxi B's. They were very accommodating. I found a picture of an adorable wedding cake in a magazine that had a cookie bride and groom on top, and was decorated with other cookies that spelled out "Just Married" around the tiers. I showed the people at Maxi B's the picture and they were more than willing to make this cake for us, although it was unlike anything else they offered. They were really fun to work with and their acceptance of our ideas made it special for us. The cake was delicious and just what we wanted. They also had great delivery service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taliface
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
We did a tasting, then came back and booked two weeks later--which was also two weeks before our wedding. They were very communicative via e-mail between our tasting and booking, and not pushy at all when we elected to downsize to cut back costs. We got our two-tier wedding cake (plus a sheetcake for overflow) for 100 people, plush my bridal shower cake (for 15) and my husband's bachelor party cake (for 15) for less than $400! Great deal, great service, I highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1243289453937-lancedebwedding005
DebbieB
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazingly beautiful and delicious!!! Everyone commented how delicious the cake was! We don't have any left!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
2/14/2009
5.0/5.0
PERFECT!!! Maxie B's did such an amazing job on my wedding cake. I actually took a photo of a cake out of a magazine and wanted them to re-create it. They were very professional and responded to each of my phone calls and e-mails right away. On my wedding day I was a little nervous about...well...everything :) After all it was my wedding. When I got to the reception site I took one look at my cake and my mouth dropped open. It looked EXACTLY like the photo I gave them. All of the decorations on the cake were done just so and the icing was so smooth. I chose the Strawberry Buttercream and everyone at the wedding loved it. AMAZING!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
12/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Shannon did a fabulous job of bringing my snowflake cake vision to life! I had a beautiful winter wonderland blue frosted cake with amazing hand made snowflakes that were actually edible, if you like fondant. Everyone loved their famous "strawberry" cake (can you believe I had a fresh strawberry cake for a December wedding at no increased charge???)! My hubby and I barely managed to have a piece.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reagan Vogt
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's is hands down the best place to go for your wedding cake. It was hard to pick three flavors because they were all that good. I went with fresh strawberry and butter cream, red velvet, and topped it off with coconut. Everyone at the reception made comments on the cake! We saved the top and ate it a year later and it was STILL delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did a wonderful job on our groom's cake for the rehearsal dinner. They took my idea and it came out perfect! The cake also tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved our wedding cake. When I went for the tasting I enjoyed so many of their cakes that I chose different flavors for the different layers. By far, the best cake I have ever eaten. There was hardly any cake left over. So many people came up to me and told me that they went back for more because they wanted to try the different flavors. I would highly recommend Maxie B's. I live in Atlanta, GA, but our wedding was in High Point, NC and Shannon Barbee stayed in contact with me by email and sent me a thank you after the wedding for using them to make our wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keverhart
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's came highly recommended from my Mother who is a professional florist (for over 40 years & had worked with them many times on weddings before). We met with the staff there & gave them some ideas for what we wanted - colorful & festive! The cake was absolutely beautiful & it tasted even better than it looked! Thank you to the staff at Maxie B's for making our wedding special (& tasty)!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsgray
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Shannon and the cake team at Maxie B's were outstanding. From the moment we walked into the shop and saw the detail of the decor, I knew this was the place. Their cake is outstanding---our flavor PINK LEMONADE was a hit! Everytime we go to NC we stop into the shop and get a slice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natasha
Wedding:
5/4/2008
5.0/5.0
The cake was soooo good and so beautiful. I asked them to match my color and it was exactly the same.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg8
Katie
Wedding:
11/10/2007
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did an excellent job on my wedding cake. All of the guests gave rave reviews. We had a fall wedding, so we ordered the pumpkin chocolate chip cake with cream cheese icing, yum! I just had my first baby and Maxie B's was where I went if I had a sugar craving :). Try the red velvet or coconut cream cheese cake, phenominal!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
weddinginNC
Wedding:
10/14/2007
5.0/5.0
We wanted our cake to portray our personality and taste. We chose Maxie B's decadent Volcano Cake, chocolate cake with chocolate icing and chocolate sauce. The outside of our cake was chocolate and decorated with fall leaves.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's did our wedding cake and groom's cake. Not only did they look amazing, they tasted amazing! I would not only recommend this bakery highly, I would suggest you use them for everything! I live in Georgia now and still order cakes from them... I just make my brother bring them down!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1184973224140-walk
jsizzle28
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Maxie B's was one of my favorite vendors that we worked with. They did all the work, and didnt make me pay for it! The cakes were amazing. We went in and tasted them pretty early. There is a $20 tasting fee unless you put the deposit down on the cake... we did and it was $100 that went towards the final price of the cake. Our wedding cake was 4 round tiers of Red Velvet Cake with Buttercream Icing. It was decorated to match the intricate design on my dress. It looked JUST like it! I had more compliments on that cake than I expected! People loved it and most of them told me "this is the best cake I have ever had at a wedding." The price was about $3.50 a serving. That isnt bad considering the amount of decoration and the quality of the cake. The total price after tax on our wedding cake was $620. We also got the Grooms cake from this vendor. Check my pictures to see how amazing the cakes looked! The Grooms Cake was a Strawberry filled Vanilla Cake with Buttercream Icing. It was so good, and it was decorated EXACTLY how I asked them to do it. My husband is a Steelers fan and a Duke basketball fan! The cake was decorated half and half. One half looked like the Duke basketball court and the other half looked like the Steelers football field. It looked GREAT! $120 and it fed over 50 people.
They did a great job. Very organized, very nice and easy to work with.
We worked with Shannon Barbee
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gracey6
Wedding:
8/11/2007
5.0/5.0
Best tasting cake ever!!!!!! It didn't look quite as polished as I had hoped, but I think that's because I did buttercream rather than fondant to save $$. But everyone raved about the flavor and they let me do each layer a different flavor, all for a very reasonable price. I dream about Maxie B's cake...And for cake tasting they give you four huge slices rather than tiny little pieces, and let you take home the leftovers from the tasting!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.9/5.0
Awesome cake......great value......responsive & flexible vendor !!
Is there anything else to say !!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittney
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.9/5.0
I LOVE Maxie B's, I have been getting cakes there for years because they are so DARN delicous! Maxie B's did our wedding cakeS - we did not have one main cake, but rather 4 that sat on a dessert table. We were able to do 4 different flavors and our guests LOVED them. They also did a last minute grooms cake for me (I almost forgot!) I called them the weekend before and Shannon was able to work with me. Great service and delicious! The only downside is that it's pricey, but worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leilaniwhitmire
Wedding:
11/5/2010
4.9/5.0
Ok, I am biased. I absolutely knew I wanted our cakes from Maxie B's. I have been a fan for a few years. I was more than thrilled with the results. The cakes turned out to be very moist, sturdy, and flavorful, not to mention very pretty. We got the "Five-flavor pound cake, "Chocolate Sin, "Italian Cream" and "pineapple Coconut." We also got cupcakes, which I was afraid would be dry, since they are at times dry in the refrigerated case, but they were delicious!!!! Moist cake was top priority. Shannon, was very helpful, courteous, and great to us. I appreciated the "thank you" e-mail after it was all over. They are very professional and it shows. P.S. The cream cheese and buttercream icing is the best I've ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melody
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.9/5.0
Maxie B's did an AMAZING job on our cake. It was beautiful and oh so tasty! Shannon, the cake coordinator was very prompt and easy to work with. I highly recommend this bakery. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
4/24/2014
4.8/5.0
Delicious! We picked up our cakes on a Tuesday and took them with us to Wilmington, where we got married. They were as delicious as if we had gotten them that day. All of the guests loved the cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1267924291784-chancesbirthday
Jessica
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
The cake was delicious and eaten quickly! I loved working with, even though Shannon was on maternity leave she still answer my questions as I had them, made everything as easy as possible and was very flexible and accommodating. The flavor options were great and I really like the design, simple but stunning. I keep going back to the bakery now for Cake and icecream.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ConDubi
Wedding:
5/14/2010
4.8/5.0
I'm going to start this review by saying - I don't really like cake. And I usually hate wedding cake. But MAN - this cake was amazing!! We had a 3 layer cake with each layer a different flavor. They worked with us to make sure this was possible but that we didn't compromise the flavors of the cake with different icing, etc. The bottom was their signature cream cheese cake with strawberry & buttercream filling (the BEST). The 2nd layer was their caramel pecan and the top was Italian Cream! And we got a gift certificate for our anniversary cake instead of having year old stale cake! They were fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leigh
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
My cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious. The best part about Maxie B's is that they give you the option to come back for your one tear anniversary to get a fresh cake so you do not have to eat your freezer burnt top layer. We served our top layer and now can get a fresh cake at our one year anniversary. Everyone that helped us was so kind and very willing to work within my budget. They can truly make your dream cake and still stay within whatever budget you tell them. We have already been back since just to have cake and ice cream!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alycat75
Wedding:
10/15/2005
4.8/5.0
All the cakes are like homemade...everything was delicious. i highly recommend a tasting...unique offerings and beautiful work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
12/29/2012
4.7/5.0
Not only was the cake BEAUTIFUL!!!, but it really was the most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted. Maxie B's created a custom flavor for us (Funfetti), let us taste anything we wanted to taste, accomodated multiple changes to our order AND provided instructions for freezing our top layer!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Jillian
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
Delivered all the way to Boone, NC from Greensboro just so I could have Maxie B's make it - and it was so worth it! Absolutely delicious and so beautiful - just how I wanted it. Got many comments that it was the best wedding cake they had ever had!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/1/2010
4.7/5.0
Cake turned out perfect! Just what we wanted. Delicious and beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Salita
Wedding:
4/13/2013
4.6/5.0
Maxie B's was one of the best vendors we worked with during the planning process and at our wedding. They were very respectful to us and worked hard to ensure that all our needs/wants were meet. They even went beyond to make an old fashion cake for us that is typically hard to find all the parts for. Our friends and family loved every bite and we have been told by many that the cake was amazing. Our only regret is that we only ate 1 piece. lol We will definitely be frequent customers and hope to use Maxie B's again in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/27/2011
4.6/5.0
The cake was beautiful and delicious! Shannon was a dream to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marya
Wedding:
12/1/2007
4.6/5.0
We saw a picture of the cake of our dreams in a magazine. It was absolutely beautiful, and it had butterflies on it, which I loved. So we called and set up a tasting. We took my fiancee's children with us and they loved the cake! As did we, so the choice was made. The cake was absolutely stunning and we chose three different flavors for the different layers. We were concerned a little bit about the strawberry creme layer because the cake was transported about an hour to our wedding reception. We were really suprised when we cut the strawberry layer and it was nicely chilled, every strawberry intact and the cake had a wonderful texture - not mushy or anything. Several people went back to have a taste of another layer that they did not get. The children are waiting for our 1st anniversary so they can help us eat the top layer which is mocha chocolate. The price was a little bit high for us, but we absolutely did not want any other confectioner after tasting Maxie B's.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.5/5.0
I knew I would use Maxie B's for my wedding cake one day. Both my sister and my best friend used this wonderful baker and I am delighted that I did as well. Not only were the cake flavors delicious (red velvet, devils food cake, apple cinnamon and white with raspberries) but they used my wedding invitation to create a truly unique design of champagne colored leaves on our gorgeous white cake. Definitely recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/22/2013
4.5/5.0
Cake was exactly what we drew up for them to go by! Cake was beautiful and the cake itself was a reasonable price, when delivery and rental for cake stand was a little overpriced to me, so we arranged to use our own cake stand and had someone pick up cake since it was a smaller cake and safety of getting it to location of wedding was not a risk!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
Great tasting cakes! Shannon is the best and stayed in touch frequently. The cake was lovely-just what we wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
7/12/2008
4.4/5.0
Most delicious cake I have EVER tasted, our guests LOVED it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
7/2/2006
4.0/5.0
I had their signature strawberry buttercream cake for my summer wedding and it was so exceptionally delicious. Since then I've returned just to purchase slices of their cakes as little treats. I had a photo of a designer-style cake I wanted, which they reproduced rather well. They do not (as least when I worked with them) do fondant cakes, which may limit some of the flawless aesthetic appeal but is definitely friendlier on the wallet. And what they DO do with their cream icing is still impressive.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Maxie B's responded with the following comments:

We do make fondant cakes! We just encourage the use of our freshly-made frostings over the use of fondant when we can! Complex design work sometimes requires the use of fondant to achieve the look...but not just to get a "smooth" finish on a cake!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleyluve
Wedding:
9/6/2008
3.8/5.0
The cake tasted wonderful!!! the guest all loved it and wanted to know where they could get some more....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Massie
Wedding:
10/11/2008
3.4/5.0
My husband and I got married in October and booked MaxieB's in May. I took a picture of what we wanted when we went for our cake taste testing. All the cakes were delicious, it was such a hard choice to choose a flavor. We made our final decisions and put down our deposit. We had a few contacts in the comming months but I thought everything was a go. The day of the wedding the cake shows up on a black board when it was suppose to be on a silver cake stand. The 2 girls that delivered the cake around 4pm never said anything to me as I was in the tent where they were setting up the cake. I had to go online really quick to pull off a list for the band and I checked my email and there was an email from MaxieB's telling me that they were going ot refund me the $40 something dollars for the cake stand that it was not returned to them so they didn't have it to put my cake on. I was very very upset that I got an email at 3:30 the day of my 6:00pm wedding. The wedding was black tie and here was our 4 tier cake on a black board. I was unhappy about how they went about contacting me about the cake stand.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
9/22/2012
2.8/5.0
We ordered our wedding cake pretty early, we were really excited since we love Maxie B's. However on my wedding day we were cutting into our bottom (largest) tier and what was supposed to be red velvet cake was hummingbird cake. It was very upsetting. They did offer a $100 refund, however this still bothers me to this day and I am not sure $100 was enough. MAKE SURE TO TRIPLE CHECK. Maybe call the day of, because I double checked and was let down.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cbradshaw
Wedding:
4/18/2009
1.7/5.0
WE DID NOT HAVE A WEDDING CAKE! So the story goes .... Everything was set up and a go with Maxie B's to do our wedding cake. Unfortunately our cake "collapsed" while it was en route to Tanglewood. We were under the impression that the cake would be put together on site at our reception when arrived .. but that's not what happened. It was transported completely assembled and didn't make it. I was upset about the cake but I was more upset about the lack of professionalism by the owner of this company (who was making the delivery, Shannon was out on maternity leave). She did make it back with some sheet cakes, but left a very tacky artificial cake (multi-colored) sitting on the table and left it up to the caterer to inform us about what had happened. Guest were arriving prior to the wedding party arriving and were the first to see the artificial display on the table (very embarrassing). It would have been better for me if she would have stayed and took the responsibility instead of e-mailing me after we returned from our honeymoon. Don't get me wrong their cakes taste wonderful ... but the carelessness that led to this unfortunate mishap combined with lack of concern for us (bride and groom) is not worth the taste of cake or what was paid for it. We were reimbursed fully but just know that this DOES happen and be sure to ask how they transport cakes and if they have ever had a cake collapse. They have been to not tell the truth when confronted about this particular incident.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D
Wedding:
5/1/2010
1.2/5.0
Very lousey desserts. So dry, don't waste your $$$$ here, go to Delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.7/5.0
Was good in helping get my cake two weeks before my wedding
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
12/14/2012
0.0/5.0
Maxie B's...I found her shop on-line. My beautiful cake was truly the centerpiece of my reception. All the staff are eager to please! Ms. Barbee, event coordinator, was over and above easy to work with at all stages. She was able to scale my cakes to work within my budget. My guests are still talking about the delicious and beautiful cakes!!! Thanks Maxie B's! Shaw Wedding
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arielle
Wedding:
5/9/2009
0.0/5.0
Review Removed
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
2403-7 Battleground Ave., Greensboro, NC 27408 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Maxie B's
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo