130x130_sq_1338838453769-600x6001306961426239crabfresco

MBP Distinctive Catering

Indianapolis , IN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2502 East 52nd Street
Indianapolis, IN US 46205 (map)

PHONE

317-636-4444

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Mary Beth Poe and her team of professionals have been creating distinctive events since l987. Offering professional catering services, MBP Distinctive Catering has the expertise your... Read more
Mary Beth Poe and her team of professionals have been creating distinctive events since l987. Offering professional catering services, MBP Distinctive Catering has the expertise your event needs. MBP provides an innovative selection of cuisines along with an infinite number of combinations for any budget.

MBP is made up of dedicated professionals that love catering! This is done with passion and a flair that will make your special day perfect. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1306961426239-crabfresco
130x130_sq_1306961446161-lobstershrimpmartini
130x130_sq_1306961458020-passedhorsdoeuvres2
130x130_sq_1306961441739-gazpachosoupsip
130x130_sq_1306961462677-tasteofspring
130x130_sq_1360774851156-buffetsetup
130x130_sq_1360774857615-chocolatemousse
130x130_sq_1360774865393-mashtini
130x130_sq_1360774885979-saladplating
130x130_sq_1360774894765-shrimpshooterwithgreenflowers
130x130_sq_1360774998782-archatchathamwedding
130x130_sq_1360775008642-weddingatdomontceremony
130x130_sq_1360775051232-weddingindianalandmarks
130x130_sq_1360775071114-weddingonthecanal3

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, Italian, Mexican, Pan-Asian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
No
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
No cutting fee
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
Yes, Indiana
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Depends on location, please ask.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
Yes
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1383234073225-img027
Jenn
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
MBP and Caroline did a fantastic job on our reception! Caroline was so easy to work with and she helped fill in the blanks and ask questions to make sure our day was special. The day of staff was awesome and went out of their way to make sure we had all that we needed.
Services Used: Catering
MBP Distinctive Catering responded with the following comments:

Thanks, Jenn! We loved working with you :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
The food and service were fantastic. I didn't have to worry about any setup. They even went above and beyond helping with additional day-of tasks. They were very accomodating with customized menu options. And they provide a 5% discount if you pay with cash so be sure to ask!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We used MBP for our wedding and it turned out great! Anne was really easy to work with. The food at the wedding was so yummy and the catering staff was awesome! All of my guests commented on how we had such a variety of food and there was so much to eat. Everyone said everything tasted really good too and it wasn't the typical blah wedding food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
5+ stars for MBP. Their service before the wedding impeccable. Easy to work with, accommodating and very responsive. I had very high hopes for the wedding day, and I was blown out of the water. The staff they brought to work my wedding were great, very professional, worked quickly but also you didn't even notice them. The cake was taken away to be cut and cake slices were brought back, you didn't even notice that it happened. The served dinner was amazing, we were able to make a few modifications to dishes. Everyone's food was served hot and prepared perfectly. Would use them again if the opportunity arrises.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
MBP was a great caterer. I am the groom, so I'll take you through my experience from first contact. I went into their shop and I didn't know what to expect. Then they started to bring in food and I was impressed. And before long, I was full. They brought samples of everything, but not just mini-samples, they brought the real deal--exactly what you'd expect to get at the wedding. Full portions at the tasting. I liked that. And the portions were BIG.

And so even after we decided to go with them and picked out our food, I was excited, but I kind of expected that the quality and portion size at the wedding wouldn't quite measure up to what we saw at the tasting when they were, presumably, trying to win our business. But I was wrong. At the wedding, the portions were big, the food was awesome, and everyone--even our pickier guests--were pleased. Some people, whose opinions I trust, made a point to say that their steak was the best they had ever had. That's not something you expect at a wedding--that's pretty amazing.

I also have to say that the staff was amazing at the event. Our planner who we had worked with was there throughout and she communicated with us so well, I couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liane
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Words can not describe how amazing MBP catering is. Practically every guest we spoke to, meat eaters and vegetarians alike, raved about the food to us on their own volition - no exaggeration. We even received an inadvertent drunk voicemail from the groomsmen that night where we could overhear them talking about how good our food was. People were so happy to eat great tasting wedding food - which is strangely such a rarity!

Even the next morning, at our brunch [also catered by MBP] I kept hearing about how good the food was. Our menu: fried chicken, short ribs with peach bourbon sauce, mac and cheese lorraine, mashed potatoes, green beans, salad, and fried biscuits with apple butter. They even made the apple butter from scratch! People were obsessed with the fried biscuits.

MBP was able to make exactly what I wanted for our wedding and were very reasonably priced. They were also able to provide china and flatware for a price that wasn't insane like some vendors.

We worked with Christina Tooke and she was awesome - everything went so smoothly. Christina kind of stepped into the shoes of event coordinator and helped with the pacing of the evening. MBP's staff was very professional, and it all went swimmingly. I've already recommended MBP to several girlfriends getting married and one is planning on using them at her wedding next summer.

If you want a reliable, professional caterer that won't cost you an arm and a leg and that makes delicious food - MBP is the obvious choice.

ONE WORD OF ADVICE TO COUPLES: ask your caterer to prepare you to-go meals. We didn't spend a lot of time eating because we were so busy with wedding activities and on our way to our hotel we were starving. So we ended up eating mushy sandwiches from Steak n' Shake and were so sad thinking about our amazing food that we only got a couple of bites of. I think caterers ought to ask couples if this is something they're interested in.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding catering from MBP was simply fabulous and amazingly delicious. Our guests raved about it and many said it was the best wedding food they'd ever had. MBP also worked with us to allow our guests to choose between a few different entrees, which went very smoothly. We will recommend you to our friends. It was great. Thank you!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nick.finch
Wedding:
3/1/2012
5.0/5.0
The food was absolutely wonderful! A lot more food than I had thought I was going to get! The company worked very hard to make everything right and I really liked that.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing! They did a fantastic job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
I worked extensively with Mary, the owner of MBP. She was very helpful and very accomodating. The food at MBP was delicious & they even let us schedule a second tasting since my fiance was unable to attend the first one. I rented linens, tables, & chairs from MBP. They worked with me as I changed my mind about colors & numbers in the weeks leading up to the event. I would highly recommend this caterer. They were one of the few caterers allowed by my venue & they had, by far, the most reasonable prices.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jms4143
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
MBP is absolutely excpetional; and I would highly recommend their services! We had a large wedding of about 200+ guests and we were absolutely thrilled with all of the food the day of the event. From the cocktail hour to the last course of the dinner, everything was to our specifications. Food is such a huge part of the wedding day; and our guests were all raving about how great the food tasted as well as the high quality of the service staff.

Our guests were treated exceptionally well by the wait staff, and were never without a full glass or full plate. The wait staff was very response to not only the VIPs of the day but also the entire guest list felt welcomed and like a VIP.

To say the food was amazing would be an understatement; it was absolutely incredible and cooked to perfection. My bridal party and myself were running slightly late and did not attend the cocktail hour but the catering coordinator was at the door when we arrived with cocktails and appetizers on a silver tray so that we could grab a bite to eat before we were introduced to our guests!

The food, the wait staff, and all the extra little touches make MBP the caterer of choice for your big event! I would not hesitate to recommend MBP to my friends and family!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Mary Beth was FANTASTIC to work with! She was extremely flexible. We were excited to find vegetarian options other than just pasta. The food was great, the service was great, and everyone was happy!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1214506625748-costa
clbarrick
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.9/5.0
Absolutely gorgeous presentation, as well as delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
11/21/2009
4.8/5.0
MBP catering was awesome! We booked them because they were the sole caterer of our reception venue. When our personalities didn't click with our first representative, Mary Beth (the owner) stepped in and handled the rest of our event. Even when she broke her shoulder and had surgery the week before our wedding, she was at the wedding! We couldn't believe it!

The food was delicious and we heard numerous similar comments from guests. Mary Beth worked with us, our venue, our ideas and our budget and provided a wonderful buffet for our guests. Our only complaint was that the waiters served each guest a piece of cake without giving the guest a choice in flavors. We had four flavors of cake and really wanted guests to have choice. Other than that, MBP was perfect.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1318781395426-ceremonythekiss
Melissa
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
MBP was awesome! The food was excellent, the staff was pleasant and helpful, and they made our event wonderful for everyone.

Our event coordinator, Caroline, was fantastic as well. She really helped me work through any issues or changes we needed to make up through the big day, and she tracked down our missing dessert from the bakery on the day of the wedding. She was flexible, and helped make the setup I wanted at my venue possible. I wanted the ceremony and reception both in the same room. The venue told me I'd need to have everyone seated at their dinner tables for the ceremony if I wanted this - that is not at ALL what I wanted. Caroline set it up so that we could have everyone seated in a more traditional ceremony setup, and then the MBP staff could flip the room during cocktail hour. It worked beautifully!

I would definitely recommend MBP!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The food from MBP was outstanding!! We went for the top of line buffet choice, and so glad we did! The service was fantastic (with the exception of an ill bartender who was promptly replaced). I would use them again in a heartbeat...
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
9/22/2007
4.5/5.0
Working with Mary Beth Poe was a wonderful experience. She was very knowledgeable and very professional. We had hors d'oeuvres and cocktails, a champaign toast, seated dinner and then cake. It was excellent! The food was great and the service was wonderful. We would definitely recommend MBP Catering.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/27/2014
3.6/5.0
At the beginning of the planning process, our consultant was very responsive and flexible. However as the wedding came closer there was minimal communication from their end. Also, we had many complaints from our wedding guests about the service of the waiters. Despite the complaints the food was still very good.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.5/5.0
I first began working with MBP & the person assigned to us (Lisa) was let go, I was not informed of this but had already signed a contract with the company--the owner Mary took our wedding reception over, shes very nice but very blunt in her suggestions and what she thinks is neccessary, I finally had to put my foot down as she was adding charges to our night that were not needed/asked for. Overall the company did a great job with the food and service, but I wish I would of had more options to choose from in catering as our venue only allow MBP or another company that was even more expensive which is why we chose MBP.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karlkollmeyer
Wedding:
8/31/2008
3.4/5.0
A logistical nightmare but in the end, they came through perfectly with amazing food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.3/5.0
We used MBP catering for just our bar services, because it was the approved bar caterer for our venue. At first, the person I spoke to on the phone was really rude and unprofessional. She seemed aggravated that I was just doing bar, and not catering, and seemed pushy when it came to signing a contract. However, once I got placed with a person dealing with my contract, the new person was very nice and helpful. The bar tenders at the event were nice and good at what they did. My only complaint is that I requested they have no tip jar since I was going to tip for all of my guests, however I found out after the even from my family that they had a tip jar and were accepting tips, which I thought was a bit inconsiderate.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
newbride
Wedding:
8/31/2008
3.3/5.0
Administratively, we had issues with contract and getting appointments set but once we got to the event, they pulled it off beautifully.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
2502 East 52nd Street, Indianapolis, IN 46205 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MBP Distinctive Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1338838453769-600x6001306961426239crabfresco