130x130_sq_1236783192110-mcgrath_clambakes

McGrath Clambakes, Inc.

Newport , RI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Newport, RI US 02840 (map)

PHONE

401-847-7743

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

McGrath Clambakes, Inc. is a full service, off-premise caterer with 45 years of industry experience. Although they are one of the few caterers to specialize in true authentic old... Read more
McGrath Clambakes, Inc. is a full service, off-premise caterer with 45 years of industry experience. Although they are one of the few caterers to specialize in true authentic old fashioned clambakes, McGrath’s offers a variety of traditional catering menus as well.

The staff at McGrath Clambakes, Inc. has worked with many brides and grooms over the years to create their dream wedding. They offer a variety of wedding packages from which couples can choose – some of which include the use of tent, tables and chairs for one stop planning convenience! Contact their event coordinators today for your customized wedding menu package. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1391809300355-2014-02-07003
130x130_sq_1262892394981-07showcase
130x130_sq_1391809317234-2014-02-07004
130x130_sq_1391809309013-2014-02-07004
130x130_sq_1391809294052-2014-02-070030-
130x130_sq_1383775593632-michelle-and-john127
130x130_sq_1383775473712-michelle-and-john127
130x130_sq_1383775353305-cassidy019
130x130_sq_1391809679628-2014-02-07003
130x130_sq_1391809675644-2014-02-07002
130x130_sq_1391809682446-2014-02-070039-
130x130_sq_1391809685275-2014-02-07004
130x130_sq_1391809312462-2014-02-07004
130x130_sq_1391809323101-2014-02-070061-
130x130_sq_1262895577893-gingersearedscallops
130x130_sq_1262895137127-surfandturf
130x130_sq_1383773519905-buffet-open-with-no-guest
130x130_sq_1262893298731-coconutshrimp
130x130_sq_1383773367922-pies-flippe
130x130_sq_1383773199697-chowde
130x130_sq_1391809297476-2014-02-07003
130x130_sq_1391809320079-2014-02-07006
130x130_sq_1389650023029-table-setting-at-linden-plac
130x130_sq_1389649965570-sweet-heart-table-at-linden-plac
130x130_sq_1389650037226-ceremony-at-linden-plac
130x130_sq_1383773278048-aures-ceremony-chairs-glen-mano
130x130_sq_1383773233100-aldrich-bake-covere
130x130_sq_1389649911698-tables-at-the-narragansett-tower
130x130_sq_1383773795089-upstage-design-mcgrath-clambake-picierne-wedding-2
130x130_sq_1383773558306-farm-tables-
130x130_sq_1383773600791-farm-table
130x130_sq_1262895431846-ehtent
130x130_sq_1262893371700-flynntent
130x130_sq_1383773344260-lavin-wedding-bake-in-jamestown-
130x130_sq_1383773348363-lavin-wedding-bake-in-jamestow
130x130_sq_1262892309841-04showcase
130x130_sq_1383773301183-photo-4-
130x130_sq_1383773732554-image-
130x130_sq_1389649986995-table-setting-at-gooseberry-with-lantern
130x130_sq_1383773271733-photo-4-
130x130_sq_1262895610064-12showcase
130x130_sq_1262892449669-24showcase
130x130_sq_1383773862750-kelly-table-with-white-woode
130x130_sq_1383773910202-white-linen-with-na
130x130_sq_1383773885856-moore-npt-ten
130x130_sq_1262892608325-blithewoldtent
130x130_sq_1262892683700-blithewoldtent1
130x130_sq_1383773360270-photo-1-
130x130_sq_1383773712698-ceremony-
130x130_sq_1383774021071-cermeony-chair
130x130_sq_1383773412241-tabl
130x130_sq_1383773442679-2013101914493
130x130_sq_1383773475213-2013101914494
130x130_sq_1383773693209-longacre-r
130x130_sq_1383773644049-favors-placecard
130x130_sq_1383773681526-market-lightin
130x130_sq_1383773754196-mcgrath-clambake-picierne-wedding-2nd-day-01
130x130_sq_1383775719436-cassidy018
130x130_sq_1383773697311-longacre-rd-bak
130x130_sq_1383773935155-bake-
130x130_sq_1383773831397-upstage-design-mcgrath-clambake-picierne-wedding-2
130x130_sq_1383773397853-photo-

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Italian, Mediterranean, Southwestern
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pat
Wedding:
6/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Prior to my daughters wedding I had only spoken with Allie Casham event coordinator for McGrath Clambakes on the phone or via email . I would like to say that the service that was provided was second to none from the moment I called a year ago through the night if my daughters wedding. Great job Allie, and to the staff, what can I say you were all more than helpful. Anything that we needed you were right there. Onto the food, it was amazing , the seafood, the filets all were outstanding and again the staff was wonderful .

I have been too many events in my lifetime but have to say that this was wonderful and everyone is still talking about the wedding and our selection of caterers.

When my daughter first decided that she would like to get married on the beach in rhodeisland and that she would like a clambake/boil our dear friends referred us to McGraths and we can't thank them enough.

Pat Peterson
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We used McGrath's Clambakes for my daughter's wedding and couldn't have been happier with both the food and the service. The Lobster Bake Buffet that McGrath's provided was fantastic! We received many compliments and felt it was sumptuous and delicious. Allie Cashman was easily available for every question we had, even on the weekends and was very responsive to our e-mails. Allie was very helpful seeing to every detail before and during the event. I highly recommend them for any event you're planning!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We hired McGrath's to cater our daughter's wedding. The staff was great to work with. Kerry our coordinator was very helpful and made sure the whole evening ran perfectly. The food was fabulous and the service was excellent.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Dear TR:

As you probably could have guessed from Carol and my numerous meetings, emails and phone calls, this clambake was really important to us. Neither of us had ever been to one before and didn’t know quite what to expect. All we knew was what people had told us “…if you’re ever going to do a clambake, let McGrath’s do it.”

Well … words like thank you - it was perfect - it exceeded our expectations - don’t really convey our feelings. From the very beginning, working with you, Kerry, Allie and everyone else was a total pleasure. No concern of ours was ever too small. It was a joy throughout the entire process.

As for the clambake itself - it was beyond words. Everything was professional and seamless - and orchestrated to perfection. The lobsters were much larger than we thought, the brown bread was exceptional, the corn, the clams, the chowder were all fantastic. We heard dozens of times “…this is the best barbecue chicken we’ve ever had.” There was not a single thing that Carol or I would have done differently or even suggested you do differently. Every staff person was pleasant, personable, professional, and meticulous in every detail. As soon as a bucket for shells was half-filled, it was emptied; water glasses were constantly refilled; and the tables were set exactly as planned.

And Kerry was unbelievable! She was there the entire evening and made sure everything went off without a single concern. She conveyed total confidence throughout the evening and that made it so much more enjoyable for us. I don’t want to be too dramatic, but it was like watching a Broadway play where everything just clicked in perfect sequence.

So TR, we thank you and we thank all of your staff for such a wonderful evening. I will add that 80% of the guests were from Florida and probably had never heard of a “clambake” before - and they were truly blown away. They complimented us (and thus you) the entire weekend.

Thank you again.

David & Carol Bazarsky
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had a lobster bake at our wedding reception and we knew McGrath was the way to go! It was a pleasure working with their staff- Kerry, the events coordinator, was so professional, personable and helpful. The planning process was smooth- they were quick to respond to emails and update us on new menu items available. I was so greatful and pleasantly suprised to find out how much they were willing to help with the set up of table decor. From the time I arrived at the venue to get ready and saw how beautifully they had everything set up, I knew the day was going to run perfectly. The cocktail hour was wonderful with great food everyone enjoyed (especially the scallops and chowder station)! They made sure the bride and groom were well fed despite being off getting portraits taken. I also appreciated their flexibility, making sure the menu was just the way we wanted it and that our wine and beer options were suited to our taste. The reveal was so much fun and all our out of town guests loved seeing this for the first time (the steam also makes for some really great photos). All our guests are still talking about how good the food was and how much fun it was. Everything ran so smoothly at our wedding day and I credit this to McGrath Clambakes and the wonderful staff.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I had the great pleasure of working with Allie at McGrath Clambakes for my wedding this May. The service they provided was outstanding - they were helpful in planning all aspects of the day, and everything ended up running very smoothly. The food itself was absolutely marvelous. All the guest raved about the appetizers (the bacon wrapped scallops and goat-cheese stuffed mushrooms were hits!) and the clambake itself was a blast. The food was amazing and watching the unveiling of the bake was a real treat. I received an incredible number of compliments on the food and presentations, and I cannot recommend McGrath highly enough.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
McGrath's was the caterer for our son's wedding rehearsal dinner. Melissa & Allie were so helpful with responding to every detail of our event. The staff on site during the event were very friendly and true professionals. The food was fabulous. Every single detail of this event exceeded all expectations! It was truly a magical night and I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The staff at McGrath's were professional and everything flowed smoothly on our wedding day. We had the mixed grill buffet and it was amazing. The lobster tails and filet were top notch! Allie, the coordinator made planning our wedding easy and worry-free. T.R. and the rest of the staff were so kind and attentive to us as well as our guests. I am so pleased that we chose McGrath's to cater our special day. The set up and take down were flawless. If you are looking for a clambake, look no further!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
My family, friends and I had such an awesome experience with McGrath's! Kerry and Melissa were awesome. Kerry was always there to help me with any question I had and she was always quick to respond to emails or phone calls. Melissa was so helpful and nice the day of our wedding. We ordered the filet and lobster tail and it was amazing! Everyone keeps talking about how great the food and venue was and I can't wait to use McGrath's again in the future!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
McGrath Clambakes were the utmost professionals! My wedding was performed flawlessly by their very professional crew. McGrath had to meet with the owner of he house who was very meticulous about his property. They made the owner feel very comfortable about the event and they emphasized how much they would respect his home. During the wedding, the food was on time, hot, and served very professionally. I barely knew the staff was there as they were quiet, professional and accommodating. I had everything I needed as the bride including a fresh glass of wine in my hand at all times! I even through a few curve balls at them late in the game and you would have never known I did. I can't say enough about McGrath and their level of service! Allie Cashman was so very pleasant as the coordinator. She kept me informed of anything that was going on during the night but never made me feel as if I had to worry about anything. The next day, you would have never known there was a clambake at the property. Everything was cleaned to perfection. Have no doubts about using McGrath!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ronald
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
No complaints at all. The food was amazing and the services was great! They paid special attention to detail and provided an amazing experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Kerry and the whole McGraths team is amazing! Super helpful in the planning stages and extremely professional throughout the event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Allie was a pleasure to work with. I would recommend McGrath clambakes to everyone who asks.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
McGrath Clambakes Inc. was the catering company of my dreams!!! Seriously....

In one sentence: The food and service were top notch.

Our guests raved about the meal all night ("This is the best meal I have ever had at a wedding!")and the staff were beyond attentive and friendly.

As a bride that did all of the planning on my own, I really appreciated having Allie and Kerry to help guide the process and coordinate everything from the floor plan to the timing of the first dance (and everything in between) on the day of the wedding.

McGrath Clambakes helped us throw the best party of our lives. Be sure to hire them for your special event.

Justine & Tyler King
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
On Sat Sept 28th 2013 my husband and i were married at Fort Adams in Newport RI. We chose to have our reception be a traditional New England Clam Bake. Kerry and the entire McGraths team were phenomenal!!! From the moment we started this process Kerry helped us every step of the way. She was an absolute professional who helped us with everything from seating charts to decor, to the amazing food that was prepared for our special day. She kept us calm and organized, And the end result was absolute perfection. I have never heard so many compliments about how amazing the food was at a wedding. From the appetizers to the reveal of the bake and the food that came with it, it was all so good. We actually dream about the lobster and talk about it on a frequent basis, lobster will actually never be the same to us again!!! We had our dream wedding planned and McGrath's gave us just that! We can not thank them enough for all the hard work and dedication that they put into our wedding. If you ever have the opportunity to be at one of their events, don't walk RUN to join in on the festivities:) We highly recommend working with this team for a wedding, rehearsal or really any special event!!! You will not be disappointed!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Great food, great staff. Guests said it was the best wedding food they ever have. Allie was great to work with - very attentive, she took care of everything! We would highly recommend McGrath!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deanna
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired McGrath Clambakes as our caterer for our wedding on 9.14.13 at the Narragansett Towers in Narragansett, RI. Words cannot express the absolutely amazing job they did! The food was out of this world, the service was top notch! Kerry Sullivan who was my event coordinator was fantastic to work with! Kerry always took the time to answer my endless questions and I had SO many things that I had purchased to personalize the wedding reception and Kerry put every single thing together perfectly! Kerry is simply amazing at what she does and truly helps calm a brides nerves! I would recommend McGraths to everyone and if you are lucky enough to work with Kerry you will be in very good hands! I am still receiving compliments on how amazing our venue looked and how unbelievably delicious the food was!

Thank you Kerry and McGrath's for everything!
Much love,
Deanna & Brian
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are interested in having a clambake for your special event...stop looking around. You have found the best. Kerry and the gang at McGrath made our wedding a unique, fun, and stress free event! These guys are true professionals that are willing and able to work with you to make your special day exactly what you want it to be. My wife and I could not be happier with our experience, and our friends and family swear that they have never had better food at any wedding! You cannot go wrong with McGrath.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I had to plan my daughter's Newport wedding from North Carolina because she was living in Australia. From start to finish, the staff at McGrath's was incredibly helpful and accommodating. Everything was perfect that day. I had so many people come up to me at the reception to tell me that the meal was the best they had eaten at ANY wedding. I would use McGrath's again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding last weekend was simply perfect, and so much of that was due to McGrath! I cannot recommend them enough.

The food was simply delicious. My husband and I haven't been married a week, and have already been overwhelmed with compliments on the food (both the cocktail hour and dinner entrees). It goes without saying that the clams and lobster were out of this world, as these guys are experts. I was worried that it would be difficult to serve well prepared steak for a large number of people (usually wedding steak is tough/overcooked)...but the steaks were absolutely delicious.

Kerry was outstanding to work with from the very beginning. She was responsive, accommodating to our (many) changes, and extremely professional and organized. As for the wedding day itself, I was nervous about not hiring a "day of" wedding coordinator...but the entire event was seamless thanks to Kerry. She went above and beyond throughout the evening, and I honestly don't know what we would have done without her!

I have never written a review on any type of vendor, but had to write about McGrath ASAP. I can't thank them enough for the perfect day!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with McGrath's. Kerry helped make the best day of my life perfect in everyway. My suggestion, keep the white and green tent. I wasn't sure if I was going to rent a white tent. I decided to spend the extra money on the Clambake. The green/white tent was in excellent condition & I loved the extra graphic element.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
McGrath's was fantastic in every way. From start to finish, McGrath's was professional and responsive. Allie was a joy to work with, quickly responding to our questions during the planning phase, and offering terrific recommendations for the DJ, cake, and florist. Allie was cheerful, attentive and well-organized throughout the wedding. The food was amazing--we did the plated surf and turf, and the lobster tails were especially delicious. From tent setup, serving, bar service (Kirsten was excellent also!) and cleanup/breakdown, everything ran like a dream. We had many guests tell us this was the best wedding they had ever attended, and in particular complimented the catering and Allie. Great job and thank you!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Exceptional service and the food was amazing! Kerry was extremely helpful and took care of every detail. She kept checking to make sure everything was perfect (and it was)!!! It was so comforting to know somone was taking care of everything - it really allowed me to relax and just have fun.

Everyone was a pleasure to work with and true professsionals!! TR and the staff were wonderful and worked so hard all night. Our wedding was on the North Lawn at Fort Adams under a beautiful tent. The food (lobster tails, steak, steamers) was delicious as well as our mini ice cream cones for dessert! Our family and friends kept talking about how amazing the food was! I would highly recommend McGrath's to anyone that wants an exceptional wedding reception!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
McGrath Clambakes was AMAZING! They did everything we asked of them and more... much much more. ! We absolutely loved the food - everyone said it was amazing and delicious, from the passed hors d'oeurves to the main meal, everything was great - we had steak crostinis, rizotto balls, and bacon wrapped scallops that were passed around, and a clam chowder station (even as the bride I tried it all and had seconds when they came around), and then we had the lobster broil dinner (we were not allowed to do the lobster bake in ground at the venue) and everyone commented how fun and delicious everything was from the salad and potatoes with corn on the cob to clams, quahogs, steamers, and Lobster! Whatever the seasoning is and or cooking method is, it was DELICIOUS! It was also an extremely hot day, so we were very grateful the staff was so attentive in bringing the wedding party water wherever we were, even during photos which was well before the ceremony and probably before the staff actually was supposed to start working. I haven't seen all the wedding photos yet, and everything was a whirlwind, but from what I hear, they did a great job setting up all the decorations exactly the way I asked which was above and beyond what they had to do. Everything I saw, looked GREAT! They did such a good job, everything looked beautiful and everthing tasted amazing, and everything was so well coordinated, I can't say enough good things about them! We love our coordinator Kerry Sullivan who asked all the right questions and made sure she was on top of every detail, and we love McGrath's!!!! Thank you for making our special day absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pat
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I am so happy we went with McGraths. They provided a clambake for my daughters wedding at Ft. Getty for 150 guests - food was delicious and service was great! But it was the extra attention to details where I give them the best marks - from helping to organize the table decorations, to finding an extension cord so we would not keep blowing a breaker. I highly recommend them for your next event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
McGrath Clambakes was outstanding! From the very first contact to the clean up after the wedding their attention to detail, advice, professionalism and outstanding food quality made our event fantastic. Guests were raving about the food and how well the buffet was run. When the parents and couple being married don't have to worry about any details regarding the event on the day of the wedding it makes the wedding day even more special. I highly recommend McGrath.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Kerry was amazing before, during and after my wedding! She was a pleasure to work with and there is no way the day would have gone so smoothly without her! The staff was friendly and the service was great! Highest recommendations for mcgraths!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Top Notch in every way, couldn't have asked for anything more! Food, Service, Professionalism: 5 Stars across the board.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
OUTSTANDING reception. Everyone that we have spoken to since the wedding have told us that it was the best wedding they have ever been to. The food was fantastic, the waitstaff was attentive and McGrath's staff was professional and caring. We loved the unveiling by T.R. McGrath and would use McGrath's again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing, the tent had the prefect feel to it, and the day was a huge success! Some of the attendees had been a clambake before, other had never seen one, but everyone was thrilled with the presentation of the clambake. Most people had never heard the history behind the clambake and commented to us how fascinating it was. Everyone loved the food and commented on how good everything was- from the chicken to the potato's to the smokey flavored lobster. T.R. and the rest of your staff were amazing to work with! I wish I could have a second wedding so I could work with you again! I will certainly be recommending you to everyone I know!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We used McGrath to cater our outdoor wedding in Newport, RI. They were exceptional throughout the entire process. We met with them several times to go through all the details prior to the wedding so that everything was right. Everyone from their staff was attentive and never in the way. It really helped that they have worked with so many other vendors so they were able to coordinate a lot of things on their own. Overall, a great experience!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystle
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
McGrath catered my wedding and their professionalism and friendly staff helped make my wedding wonderful! The food was unbelievable, I heard a few people say it was the best for they have ever had in their lives! McGrath also provided all of our tables, chairs linens, china & tent for the ceremony and cocktail hour.
If you're considering having a clambake for your wedding I highly suggest you call McGrath.
Also we made a last minute call to rent a tent due to weather. Melissa gave me her honest opinion they day of the wedding and they made the tent happen (even though I had already decided to not get the tent). Turns out we needed that tent and the ceremony and cocktail hour was beautiful.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about McGrath's Clambakes!!! Everyone at the wedding said that the food was the best wedding food they have ever had in their lives. I am still receiving phone calls from friends and relatives who are interested in using McGrath's for their own wedding or party. They made our day special and perfect!!!
~Kelly & David Cole
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
They were so helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic. People were telling us it was the best lobster they have ever had. I was so grateful for how helpful they were the day of the wedding. They set up the whole reception for me! Kerry was very patient and super friendly! I wish I could have them cook for me every day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
McGrath catered my wedding as a Lobster Boil at Easton's Beach, The Rotonda Ballroom in Newport, RI. Not only was the food (buffet style) amazing but all of my guests raved over the polite, generous, and helpful service they received on our special day. The servers and waiters went out of their way to ensure that each guest was happy. Thanks again for your service and we will definitely pass along referrals.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mallory
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I had attended quite a few weddings before mine, and I knew exactly what I wanted and what I didn't want in a caterer. What I wanted was fantastic food at a reasonable price. What I didn't want was a line at the bar or inconsistent servers/guests waiting for their meals. When it came time to hire a caterer for my own wedding, we searched high and low to find out all we could about each vendor we contacted. Thank God we chose McGrath Clambakes.

While we were planning, we had a ton of questions, and changed our minds on a few details a bunch of times. Every time we called, the McGrath staff was amazingly patient and very accommodating. They amended their proposal two or three times so that we could see how the changes affected the bottom line.

At the reception, we had over 250 guests and McGrath's attention to detail had every table served at the same time. EVERY TABLE! We were amazed at how flawlessly it seemed to come together. The salad then the entrees; not one table was out of sync! And the food was beyond fabulous...not one complaint, NOT 1 out of 256 guests! We chose Lobster Tails and Filet Mignon for the "Surf & Turf" entree. Every one had the same comments: the filet just melted in your mouth and every lobster tail was perfectly prepared.

I was at a wedding three weeks ago (not catered by McGrath) with 150 people and the line at the bar was 20 minutes every time we went up for a drink. The two bars at our wedding never had a line of more than 4 or 5 people at a time and that was with 100 more guests!

It has been a little over two months now and people are still talking about how awesome our wedding was! Thank you McGrath Clambakes we owe most of that praise to the outstanding job that you did for us!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1288535047843-dsc00174
Jaquelyn
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Working with McGrath Clambakes was so enjoyable and made wedding planning so much easier. The price is very reasonable especially for all that they provide and the quality of their food and service. We booked our lobster boil 15 months before the wedding and working with Kerry was amazing! She is very professional, organized, detail oriented and was quick to respond to any of my calls or emails. One of the many nice things about working with them is they not only provide the food but also the tables, chairs, linens, tent, dance floor, etc. The few days leading up to the wedding and the day of the wedding, T.R. and the McGrath crew were so great in setting up the tent, dance floor, seating area and everything else. On the day of the wedding Kerry and their entire crew were so great to all of our guests. Our guests raved about the food and the service for weeks after. From start to finish it was a pleasure working with McGrath and all they provided was of the highest quality. Thank you Kerry, T.R. and all of the McGrath crew for all you did.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sdb.mhw.6.26.11
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for more from McGrath Clambakes (and especially Kerry). The food was delicious (we had a Lobster Boil), and the staff was fun and friendly. At one point, my husband and I left our table without having eaten our 1st course. When we returned, we found that our plates had been refreshed with fresh steamers/clams. It was a very pleasant surprise, especially considering how delicious they were! The younger guests chatted with the bar staff and enjoyed them immensely, and as the bride and groom, my husband and I were taken care of extremely well. We can't speak highly enough of McGrath. Thank you so much to Kerry and co. for such great work!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WILLIAM DESKIN
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough great things about McGrath Clambakes! They made our wedding such an elegant event. We ordered the surf and turf as a more formal sit down dinner. The food and service were TOP notch! All of the staff, especially their event coordinator Kerry Sullivan, were kind, professional, and went above and beyond to make are wedding day amazing! We will be using McGrath for future events. Anyone considering this company to cater an event, should look no further...

Thanks again for everything,

Christina and William Deskin
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
surfotter
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
McGrath was amazing! Kerry was a joy to work with. Always willing to make things easier for me. I did my own decorations and Kerry was willing to put the decorations up at the wedding. The staff was amazing. Pleasant and attentive with out being in your face. The food was EXCELLENT. My guest have not stopped talking about the food. I thought the price was very reasonable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Our dinner was absolutely incredible! Huge portions of delicious seafood & excellent service. You should know that along with great food, if you hire McGrath's you get a wedding coordinator for the day -- if you haven't hired a wedding planner, which we didn't, you will appreciate the organization, helpfulness, & quick thinking of Tania, who made our lives on a wet, stormy day a lot easier. They even stored & set up my mother-in-law's homemade italian cookies! Highly recommended on every level.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malissa
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
If you are getting married in or around the Newport Area, you must use McGrath's Clambakes. Their service and food are top-notch and well worth the money (which was very reasonable). I would highly recommend them!!! They were superb!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzy
Wedding:
4/7/2009
5.0/5.0
McGrath Clambakes catered our 4th of July wedding and we couldn't have been more pleased with their services. They were lovely to deal with, extraordinarily helpful, the service was above and beyond, and the food was insanely delicious.

Our wedding took place at my husband's grandmother's home on the bay and T.R. had tons of great ideas about how best to work everything. He visited the house twice to help plan things out (he has a very calm and down to earth manner) and had solutions for how to fit in all of the tables, what time to start the ceremony, and even where to stage it so we would get the prettiest pictures. He took his time and was free about offering up advice, even on things that weren't really his job.

The day of the wedding Kerry was there to guide us through, she was completely on top of everything and couldn't have been sweeter. The staff was friendly and fantastic about running the whole show. They did their jobs flawlessly and didn't hesitate to help out with anything we needed . They filled our coolers with ice, passed out our ice cream sandwiches, and helped set up our cupcake table. Kerry kept checking in with us to make sure we had time to eat (so thoughtful). When the time actually came we realized we didn't have a place to sit (we didn't have assigned seating) and Kerry quickly grabbed an extra small table and set up a beautiful spot on the deck for my husband and me complete with flowers and candles grabbed from inside the house (we hadn't planned this and it ended up being one of our favorite moments.) The next day when they came to retrieve the tables we told them we had a family get together later and so they were sweet enough to offer to leave a bunch of tables for that night even though that meant they had to make an extra trip back to the house later the next day.

And finally, the food. When the time came to reveal the bake, everyone gathered round and the tarps were revealed. The crown burst into applause and my husband and I felt so proud of the dinner. The food was AMAZING. Truly the best seafood most of us had ever tasted. And the salad was fresh and the corn was sweet and everyone got stuffed!

I can't recommend McGrath's enough. They are wonderful in every way and would make any party a big hit.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erinkfol
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
They did a great job, and everyone loved the clambake idea. It made the wedding really fun and different. Tania was our coordinator, and she was so wonderful to work with throughout the whole process. We made a few custom requests, especially with the types of wine and beer, and she made everything happen perfectly. The clambake was really fun because they did a cool revealing of all the food with an explanation of the clambake tradition and how they had cooked the food. We were a little worried that a clambake would be too informal, but they really let you customize it. We had nice china and white linens, and it really didn't feel too informal at all. Plus, the food was delicious!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.9/5.0
McGrath's was amazing! We received so many comments from our guests on how exceptional the food AND service were at our wedding. We could not have been happier. Kerry is absolutely the best!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenna
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.9/5.0
McGrath Clambakes was wonderful. We did a farm fresh theme and everyone loved the non clambake meal. Kerry so responsive and helpful at our wedding. We really enjoyed working with her and would hire McGrath in a heartbeat for any future event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melaniewolf
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.9/5.0
Everything was perfect on our day thanks to McGraths! Our guests were blown away by the dinner options! Everything was a complete success! Their professionalism was top notch! EXCELENT IN EVERY WAY!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/23/2007
4.9/5.0
McGrath's was a lifesaver - the food is absolutely amazing. They cook everything in the old-fashioned style, in a pit, covered in tarps - and the reveal of the food becomes part of the wedding celebration for all to see. With the exception of a cake and the DJ, they essentially provided everything - a tent, tables, chairs, linens, place settings, bar service, and dance floor, as well as professional and attentive service all night. They are expensive, but they truly take care of everything for you. Nine months after the date, I'm still getting so many compliments from family and friends about how unique and fabulous our wedding was, and the vast majority of the praise is focused on McGrath's. I cannot recommend them enough, and hope I'll be able to use them again for a special family event!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/22/2013
4.8/5.0
Kerry was amazing and bent over backwards to help me out with anything that I needed including working with the other vendors that may not have even had anything to do with the catering, and often offered to deal with the go between with the other vendors. She was quick in responding to any questions that I had with layout, design, and menu (even with a lot of food allergies). I have recommended them to other people before and have had family that have gone to other events by them and were just as impressed.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CK
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.8/5.0
If you are looking for a caterer to host a New England Style clambake and lobster boil in Newport, RI, McGrath Clambakes should be at the top of your list.

Melissa McGrath worked with us to come up with a custom menu that fit our budget. Her staff catered a splendid event on Friday evening of 9/2/2011 for our rehearsal dinner the night before the Saturday wedding.

McGrath handled everything from tables and chairs to full bar to outstanding food. Staff was exceptional at food prep and service. Highly professional, courteous, very friendly and thoughtful in every way.

We could not have been more pleased. Highly recommend!!! If you want to talk to us about our experience, ask Melissa McGrath to put us in touch and we would be happy to be a reference.

Best regards,
Chau and Annie K.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carin
Wedding:
8/31/2008
4.5/5.0
McGrath's was AMAZING! The food was really out of this world! To come to a wedding in RI and experience a real clam bake was so unique for our guests. To this day, people are STILL talking about how the food was the best they've ever had at a wedding, and it made them like mussels or clams, etc. I couldn't have been happier. Emily and Tania were SO helpful and really put a lot of effort into making our day special for us, and they were so friendly and nice. I would highly recommend them again
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Newport, RI 02840 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for McGrath Clambakes, Inc.
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo