130x130_sq_1340049187326-fingerlakesweddings

McKay's Photography

Rochester , NY

LOCATION

32 Nelson Street
Rochester, NY US 14620 (map)

PHONE

585-244-4866

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hello and thank you so much for swinging by!

Do you enjoy truly documentary images that capture the essence of a person and a real moment? Are you wanting a wedding that runs... Read more
Hello and thank you so much for swinging by!

Do you enjoy truly documentary images that capture the essence of a person and a real moment? Are you wanting a wedding that runs smoothly and is fun for you?

If you answered YES to the questions above, then look no further and save your date before someone else does. Or better yet, contact me before you pick your wedding location….

My work is best described as artistically real – enhancing your memory of the day. My images are clean, modern yet timeless and more often than not, appear to be natural light. I’m interested in redefining traditional wedding photography and pushing your limits of what you think you want.

* Certified Professional Photographer with 10 years in business (a well oiled machine)

* Internationally recognized Photographer from Wedding Photo Journalist Association and Fearless Photographers

* Certified Green Photographer (even if you don't care, I do)

* A very down to earth and practical person (you won't even remember taking the formal portraits...)

* Most weddings are approx. 8 hours for approx. 3K

You committed to each other, now commit today to a real, seasoned and naturally creative Photographer: info(at)mckaysphotography.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1353379087062-fallnyweddingphotos2
130x130_sq_1348501138469-nybarnweddings7
130x130_sq_1348501162181-nybarnwedding19
130x130_sq_1340047882926-larijamessalon
130x130_sq_1348501028268-fingerlakeswedding15
130x130_sq_1340048703062-aurorainnweddingphotos2
130x130_sq_1348501058545-fingerlakeswedding31
130x130_sq_1340047993063-rmscweddingphotos17
130x130_sq_1340048023117-rochesterweddings4
130x130_sq_1340047862525-blessedsacramentroc
130x130_sq_1348501391373-buffaloweddingphotog19
130x130_sq_1340048003185-rmscweddingphotos27
130x130_sq_1348500979996-gayweddingsny1
130x130_sq_1340048709435-aurorainnweddingphotos3
130x130_sq_1340048037671-rochesterweddings20
130x130_sq_1340047867932-casalargavineyardwedding
130x130_sq_1348501120758-fingerlakeswedding70
130x130_sq_1340048715382-aurorainnweddingphotos4
130x130_sq_1340048719469-aurorainnweddingphotos5
130x130_sq_1340047940730-vineyardweddingny44
130x130_sq_1348501108738-fingerlakeswedding57
130x130_sq_1348501443622-buffaloweddingphotog49
130x130_sq_1340049627446-rusticnyweddings
130x130_sq_1340049656756-bluegrassbandny
130x130_sq_1340049687627-rusticfarmweddingsny22
130x130_sq_1340049700750-mckaysphotopalmiter49
130x130_sq_1340049715421-mckaysphotopalmiter35
130x130_sq_1340049731713-rusticfarmweddingsny39
130x130_sq_1340049746090-rusticfarmweddingsny12
130x130_sq_1340049772832-keukaweddings21
130x130_sq_1340049784197-keukaweddings24
130x130_sq_1340049795951-keukaweddings27
130x130_sq_1340049807679-tentweddings5
130x130_sq_1340049819497-tentweddings44
130x130_sq_1340049831696-tentweddings18
130x130_sq_1340049857345-tentweddings25
130x130_sq_1340049869650-tentweddings39
130x130_sq_1340049883900-tentweddings60
130x130_sq_1340049904854-tentweddings55
130x130_sq_1340195772904-locusthillweddings21
130x130_sq_1340195792070-artisanworksweddings11
130x130_sq_1340195803102-artisanworksweddings26
130x130_sq_1340195837731-nytentweddings27
130x130_sq_1340195855853-nytentweddings48
130x130_sq_1340195869124-nytentweddings10
130x130_sq_1340195899330-nygaywedding35
130x130_sq_1340195920331-nygaywedding21
130x130_sq_1340195954869-southwedgeweddings8
130x130_sq_1340195985794-southwedgeweddings21
130x130_sq_1340196027515-southwedgeweddings55
130x130_sq_1250696954737-dkwed27
130x130_sq_1353379013902-topweddingphotographers
130x130_sq_1250696946300-dkwed15
130x130_sq_1200409496860-web55
130x130_sq_1250696924503-bk27
130x130_sq_1250696965159-vf24
130x130_sq_1278343971650-dcwedding24
130x130_sq_1278343980369-dilmoreweb11
130x130_sq_1250696939503-dkwed1
130x130_sq_1250696882894-atweb4
130x130_sq_1250696898519-atweb26
130x130_sq_1250696910019-atweb61
130x130_sq_1250696916128-bk4
130x130_sq_1200409625423-web85
130x130_sq_1250697006519-ryan14
130x130_sq_1278343982854-dilmoreweb15
130x130_sq_1278343989917-dilmoreweb41
130x130_sq_1250697011987-ryan23

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Lots of B&W!
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Rochester is one of the most random places to photograph, as the weather always changes. I am familiar with all that it has to offer. I do bring an extra light into the reception, however I prefer natural light when possible.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I am 90% digital, and 10% B&W film. I love the look and feel of film and I have a darkroom on premises for custom printing.
How many photographers do you work with?
I will be the photographer for your event. Assistants are available at my discretion.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes. If I am physically unable to attend (act of God), then I will find a suitable replacement. It would take a lot for me to not be there!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Not on one day, occasionally I will have more than one wedding in a weekend. When taking the job, I look at what else I have booked that weekend and turn down work if needed. I typically will bring assistants if I have two in a row.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
See above.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
2 film and 2 digital cameras. All pro grade. Several lenses. An extra light for the reception or as needed. 4 flashes. And my bag of extra stuff.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
see above
Do you charge hourly or full day?
My Saturday packages have a min. of up to 8 hours for a set fee. I find that we are both too stressed out if there are fewer hours to the day.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Additional hours are $275 each.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I pee when I can.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes, outside of Rochester.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Typically one month after your wedding.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Proof book with wallet size images and online viewing/ordering for friends and family.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
The proof book is yours to keep.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes. Even if you buy the Negatives.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, unless you request otherwise.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes, for an additional fee. There is a way for you to earn this as a gift from me.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, for 3 months.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Any and all... I am constantly trying to find the right album to fit the style of the wedding day.
When will the client get the final album?
When you order it. Typically, my couples work on their album during the winter following their wedding.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tabitha
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have had a better experience working with Heather. She was so fun and really helped us with every aspect of the day. We were thrilled with the beautiful photos she took and would recommend her to anyone! Thanks, Heather!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tanders1
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Choosing McKay's Photography for our Wedding was one of the smartest decisions we made. Heather was professional, courteous, and very attentive to detail. The thought process that goes into her photos sets her apart from the standard wedding photos that people typically have done. Her journalistic approach really helps to tell the story of your wedding and it really pours forth in the album. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone else looking for a creative and fun wedding photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
opal
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.5/5.0
I would definitely recommend Heather as a photographer. She was incredibly helpful throughout the planning process, not only in the realm of photography, but in several aspects of wedding planning. She provided us with several recommendations and things to consider while always giving us the freedom to make our own choices. Interpersonally, she was very positive and supportive during what was sometimes a stressful process.

The only thing we'd reconsider if we could go back would be to discuss the option of having a second photographer. We had a fairly large multi-cultural wedding with several things happening throughout the day, especially "behind the scenes." Overall though, we had a great experience working with Heather!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
goldencats
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
We're so glad we went with Heather as our photographer - she was helpful every step of the way, fun to work with, and recommended several other vendors for us that were also great. We've lost track of how many people have raved about our engagement and wedding photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ps1138
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Thanks for the great job. We love our pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Heather was and is absolutely amazing in all meaning of the word. She is professional and easy going-she has a calming presence amongst the stress of planning/preparing a wedding. My husband an I would recommend Heather for any type of photography need. She is fun, down-to-earth and beyond talented-she captures moments in a way that makes them sublime. She is an incredible photographer and person. We are so grateful that she was able to be a part of our wedding. Without a doubt, Heather has inspired me. We never had to worry if she was capturing the moments we hoped for-she's totally trustworthy! We couldn't have asked for more!!! Thank you so much Heather!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
m
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Talking with Heather was one of my favorite parts of the process from beginning to end. I have nothing but gratefulness for her kindness and professionalism. She is truly an artist! I haven't even seen the images yet (the wedding was 2 days ago) but trust they will be gorgeous. She is someone you can rely on. Hiring her was one of the best decisions I made.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LisaT
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.6/5.0
Heather was great to work with: flexible, professional, responsive, everything we could have asked. She got some of the best shots ever of my husband and me, and a lot of fun pics from the reception. She took the time to understand what we wanted. Her website is *very* professional and makes it easy to do business with her. We haven't ordered prints or albums yet, but are looking forward to them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vincent
Wedding:
8/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Heather was amazing. Our wedding coordinator quit right before our wedding but Heather stepped up and helped us coordinate the wedding her self. She adapted to our very creative needs and shot just the most amazing photos. She was a joy to work with I can't recommend her enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Heather McKay was wonderful to work with. She captured the day completely from beginning to end and didn't miss a thing. Her quality of work was so impressive that I highly recommend her to everyone I meet. There were so many fantastic casual and formal shots throughout the day. Her talent and creativity added so much to the event. Each time I look at my album I feel like I am reliving the day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacy
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved Heather's work from the minute we saw it, and from the few photos we have seen from our day, we absolutely love them! She did a great job,and is just a fun person! We would recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elaine
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
We were so excited to have Heather as our wedding photographer. I have always loved Heather's work and I knew that our wedding photos would be spectacular!! Now when we look at our amazing photos, we can't even pick our favorites, there are just too many. :) Not only did we get amazing wedding photos but we had a great time taking them!! I couldn't believe how much fun we had. So far we have had our engagement portraits, wedding photography, and a family portrait session with our puppies!! And the comments we hear from our family and friends about our photographs is just Great!! They love that they see Matthew and I as we are.

We would and do recommend Heather to everyone!! And Matthew and I will continue to have Heather capture our lives together and are grateful to have Heather as our photographer and friend.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
We do not have enough good things to say about Heather!! From our first phone conversation, we knew that she was exactly what we were looking for. She is friendly, fun, resourceful, and has an amazing eye for capturing (not posing) the most important moments. Not only did we get incredible photographs to remember our wedding day by, but we also gained a new friend. We absolutely adore her! We would (and do) HIGHLY recommend Heather!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/26/2007
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience with Heather! She was fun and professional from start to finish. She kept all of our guests (and us!) at ease and laughing the whole time! Everyone that has seen our pictures has commented on how beautiful they are. We need to buy a bigger house so we have room to hang all of her amazing work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
Heather was exactly what we were looking for. She was extremely flexible, answered all of our questions and did a beautiful job with our wedding. Her passion and dedication was very apparent.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
6/30/2007
5.0/5.0
Great to work with, wonderful energy. Very flexible. Have recommended to others
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tjkauffman
Wedding:
12/15/2006
5.0/5.0
My wife and myself have nothing but high regards for Heather and the work that she did for us. The photographs that we received were exactly what we wanted and we have received high praise from our friends and family. We would highly recommend Heather.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vibacchi01
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
This photographer has a gorgeous portfolio of intimate, documentary-type work on small and medium-size weddings, with superb still-life photos detailing all the little things you worry about while planning and everyone tells you you'll forget. With Heather on the job, you won't forget...and you'll be impressed how beautiful your food looks!

We had a 200-guest wedding that really kept her running. The ceremony and party photos were fun, of course, but my favorites of the day were the getting-ready photos at my parents' house. There was a buzz and a loving vibe going though everyone there--aunts, cousins, 'maids, friends, bride, makeup artist, & so forth. In photographing all this, she preserved the most delicate interactions among the people who were closest to me in that special time. Everyone interpreted this in the photos, and went crazy over them. Our makeup artist was particularly touched at the attention given to his craft. Well done, Heather!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenna
Wedding:
10/15/2005
5.0/5.0
Heather was great. Felt like we knew her forever. She really got into it and we loved having her around. Awesome pics, too. Thanks so much, Heather!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Audrey
Wedding:
9/10/2005
5.0/5.0
Heather McKay is the best wedding photographer ever. When we saw her portfolio, we knew she was the one for us. Heather perfectly captured the details of our event and she is a great person to work with as well. Our wedding wouldn’t have been nearly such a success without her help. Thank you Heather!

We were so happy with Heather's work that we have recommended her to our closest friends. My husband and I continue to rely on McKay's Photography to document our growing family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I just went to a wedding not too long ago, and I was looking at the photos their photographer took. Needless to say they were not even close to the perfection you gave us almost 4 years ago. I sill go back and look at our album every couple months and think how lucky we were to be able to have you photograph our wedding. I always talk about how amazing you were at our wedding and how beautiful our album is. I would recommend Heather for any event that you want to capture flawlessly.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Thank you Heather for everything! You did an amazing job!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Heather was not only a fantastic photographer but her experience with weddings in general was a tremendous help. I would not hesitate to hire Heather again for my photo needs.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1217383990510-n58600347_30359074_3932
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Heather is an absolute dream to work with! We were married on Saturday and she had photos of our wedding on her blog by Monday afternoon! I honestly can't praise Heather enough! She even helped my mom bustle my dress! She captured images that I never even saw her take! She flowed seamlessly among the wedding guests. She made everyone comfortable and I heard praise throughout the night about how wonderful our photographer was and how friendly she was being to everyone. She captured special details that other photographers often overlook. She captured candid moments that are absolutely priceless! My husband and I recommend Heather with no reservations whatsoever! We look forward to having her photograph our family throughout the years! What an absolute pleasure!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Personalized Guest Book
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All Engagement Sessions include a Guest Book with select images from the session to be displayed at the reception!
Deal #WWe548e3eee3928b0b
220x220_1340049187326-fingerlakesweddings
Album w/files
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All wedding albums are designed and produced during the winter months. As a Thank You for waiting, I always include a disc with your wedding files upon completion. Album must be completely paid for and produced between Jan. & April in order to qualify.
Deal #WW19f6f65b2b9441a4
220x220_1340049187326-fingerlakesweddings

MAP

 
32 Nelson Street, Rochester, NY 14620 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for McKay's Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1340049187326-fingerlakesweddings