130x130_sq_1354054684977-weddingwire

Melissa Jill Photography

Phoenix , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Phoenix, AZ US 85008 (map)

PHONE

480-241-9762

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My approach to photographing your wedding, is to capture emotions and relationships in a photojournalistic style. I strive to capture spontaneous moments with an artistic eye while... Read more
My approach to photographing your wedding, is to capture emotions and relationships in a photojournalistic style. I strive to capture spontaneous moments with an artistic eye while working unobtrusively. My goal is to create images that tell a story & become tangible reminders of the feelings shared between a bride & groom. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1354220595026-melissajilleadportfolio03
130x130_sq_1354220266569-melissajilleadportfolio04
130x130_sq_1354220515265-melissajilleadportfolio01
130x130_sq_1354220572383-melissajilleadportfolio02
130x130_sq_1354220728740-melissajilleadportfolio05
130x130_sq_1354220877290-melissajilleadportfolio06
130x130_sq_1354220976444-melissajilleadportfolio07
130x130_sq_1354221362070-melissajilleadportfolio09
130x130_sq_1220990956922-ss1_22
130x130_sq_1354222641505-melissajilleadportfolio18
130x130_sq_1354221475747-melissajilleadportfolio10
130x130_sq_1354221791566-melissajilleadportfolio12
130x130_sq_1354221913469-melissajilleadportfolio13
130x130_sq_1354221998686-melissajilleadportfolio14
130x130_sq_1354222072943-melissajilleadportfolio15
130x130_sq_1354222215471-melissajilleadportfolio16
130x130_sq_1354230462273-yee025
130x130_sq_1354222447341-melissajilleadportfolio17
130x130_sq_1354236531745-melissajilleadportfolio20
130x130_sq_1354236534373-melissajilleadportfolio21
130x130_sq_1354236537161-melissajilleadportfolio22
130x130_sq_1354236539847-melissajilleadportfolio23
130x130_sq_1354236542108-melissajilleadportfolio24
130x130_sq_1354236544392-melissajilleadportfolio25
130x130_sq_1354236546268-melissajilleadportfolio26
130x130_sq_1354236548493-melissajilleadportfolio27
130x130_sq_1354236551269-melissajilleadportfolio28
130x130_sq_1354236553572-melissajilleadportfolio29
130x130_sq_1354236555942-melissajilleadportfolio30

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
I use digital.
How many photographers do you work with?
I always have one assistant photographer and one assistant at the wedding event.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
I guarantee my presence if you book me. I also have Associate Photographers that you can book specifically, and I guarantee their presence as well.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Since I shoot 9 hours per wedding, I never book more than one a day. Sometimes I have more than one per weekend.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, this is spelled out in the contract.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
My pricing packages include 9 hours of shooting. If more is necessary, it can be paid on an hourly basis.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, I use Pictage.com. The couple, family and friends can all view and order photos from there.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Associate Photographer Tina for both my engagement portrait shoot and wedding day. She was not only extremely professional but such a delight to work with. I hit it off with her immediately on the day we first met to discuss all of my plans. I knew then that I could trust her and the Melissa Jill team to fulfill all my wedding day dreams. I am more than pleased with our wedding photos and cannot thank them enough for delivering quality beautiful images that I will cherish for the rest of my life. You must seek quality when searching for a wedding photographer! I would highly recommend Melissa Jill Photography to any future bride.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We were really lucky to have found Melissa Jill Photography on our Google search for a photographer (I planned my entire wedding in less than 5 weeks!) :). We ended up booking Tina who is one of her associate photographers and she was perfect! She worked really well with my fiance (now husband!) who is pretty tough to work with and who hates posing for photos. Great job, Tina! The focus and colors of the finished pictures are soft and flattering and she got a lot of impromptu photos that are really awesome. There are a lot of creative shots as well that I love. I am not sure how the photos could have turned out any better! The booking was very easy and all questions were answered. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I would use this vendor again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
4/2/2014
5.0/5.0
Wow! I am in love...and I am not just speaking about my husband! Melissa Jill is amazing! She was a dream to work with and captured moments from our day that we will be able to treasure forever!

The first time that I viewed our photos, I felt so many emotions as the photographs took me right back to particular moments from our day. After viewing our photos and being so impressed with them, I started to share them with friends and family. EVERYONE has been looking at Melissa’s amazing blog post with our photos and telling us that our pictures look stunning! From friends on Facebook to people that we see every day at work, they have all sought me out and commented on what an absolutely phenomenal job she did! I have heard so many comments about how it looks like a beautiful magazine spread and even a comparison to having been photographed by Annie Leibovitz! So many others have said how even though they couldn't physically be at our wedding, her photos made it seem like they were there and saw/experienced everything! There have been so many tears of happiness and joy around so many laptops here viewing the blog entries and now our album!

My husband and I have been married for about ten days now and we have already been able to show off our beautiful photos on her blog, have our album design layout, and have access to ALL of our proofs! Melissa is the only photographer that I know of that works this quickly AND is able to provide such high quality and beautiful photos!

I knew that when I was researching photographers before my wedding, and started to cry at a complete stranger's wedding photos on Melissa’s site, that she was the photographer for us...but she has truly exceeded any/all of my expectations!

Thank you, thank you, thank you Melissa!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniele
Wedding:
3/16/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were thrilled with our decision to go with Melissa Jill & Associates for our engagement and wedding photography and highly recommend them! We loved working with Tina, our fabulous associate photographer. From the start, Tina wowed us with her funny, warm personality and her sheer skill at somehow making us look great (not always an easy thing to do, haha). Our engagement photos at Papago Park were gorgeous, and our wedding photos from The Icehouse in Downtown Phoenix are truly breathtaking. Tina perfectly captured our day without ever being in our faces -- and she was so polite and kind to all of our friends and family. She captured every aspect of our day -- our first look, all of the decor, family portraits, the ceremony, cocktail hour, the food and dancing at the reception, and our sparkler exit -- every image we received is basically the most beautiful picture we've ever seen.

Sara, the office manager and associate, is also a dream to work with -- she responds quickly, is always so sweet, and does GREAT work. They are definitely, definitely, definitely worth every penny. We cannot say enough great things about our entire experience with Melissa Jill & Associates!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Associate photographer Mary provided us with the most beautiful wedding photos! She was extremely professional though the planning process. Mary scouted the best locations at our venue and worked with our hectic schedule that day. Working with Mary, her assistant photographer, and Sara helped make my wedding day perfect!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We worked with Rachel who is one of Melissa Jill’s associate photographers. She had amazing energy to add to our wedding day!! She is warm and professional and did a great job taking our wedding photos and making us feel comfortable. The office was great and had our photos edited and online for us to view quickly. We are so glad we picked Rachel as our wedding photographer and we couldn’t be happier with how our wedding photos turned out!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We had associate photographer Rachel shoot our wedding and we could not have been happier!! From my first meeting with Rachel I knew her personality and artistic view was exactly what we wanted for our wedding. Both my husband and I truly loved every moment of our wedding day. Rachel and Ben from Melissa Jill Photography played a huge role in making the day a wonderful experience. They were fun, high energy and did a great job calming any nerves either of us had. The pictures are beautiful and we could not be happier.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Tina did a wonderful job at our wedding a few weeks ago! She was friendly, fun, professional, and she did a great job of capturing all the important moments of our day. We received the pictures soon after our wedding and they were fantastic! We had an excellent experience with Melissa Jill Photography and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina was amazing! The pictures are so beyond great. My husband and I are so pleased!! :)))) a+++++
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Mary at Melissa Jill and she was wonderful! She listened to all of our thoughts and wants and also listened to all of the things that we didnt want! She was so easy to work with and friendly she made it very easy! Also, I have heard so many stories about brides waiting months for their photos and having hard to work with photographers that I am glad to say not only was that not the case for me but I got my photos back just 2 weeks after my wedding! I could not be happier with the way the photos came out and how easy they were to work with! I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Madison
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I worked with Associate photographer Rachel for our engagement pictures and our wedding. First of all- she's amazing. Very creative and talented, but also very easy to talk to and work with. The whole staff at Melissa Jill was incredibly helpful, prompt and flexible. And most importantly, our pictures are absolutely amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better photographer and team to work with, and can't wait to work with them again in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We worked with one of the associate photographers, Rachel. She was fun, creative, and professional. She did our engagement and wedding photos. I would recommend her to anyone. Sara handled all the details over email and she was also very professional to work with. She quickly responded to emails and answered questions thoroughly. Without question they are one of our top vendors we hired and working them was absolutely stress free. Another amazing perk to working with them is that they had our wedding photos back to us in less than 2 weeks and they are amazing!!!. That is unheard of in the wedding business! I would definitely recommend them to anyone and I'd use them in the future for any big event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Rachel was my wedding photographer. She was very knowledgable, professional, and flexible-even on the wedding day! She had a vision, and was able to execute that vision perfectly. My pictures are AMAZING!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cecilia
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Melissa did an amazing job of capturing the love, joy and happiness that permeated our wedding!
Everyone that has seen our pictures, all 615 of them, has told us how beautiful it turned out.
She made us feel relaxed, not posed, and she made us look gorgeous (she even took out a couple of wrinkles here and there). We highly recommend Melissa. We will use her services in future events.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is an amazing photographer and a true professional! From our first meeting, I could tell that she 's not only talented, but a good business person who truly cares about her clients. She took the time to get to know my husband and I, which put us at ease during our engagement shoot and most importantly our wedding. Melissa and her team did a wonderful job capturing our wedding day and we couldn't be happier with our choice of photographer. I look almost daily at the beautiful photo album that Melissa created with the images from our wedding and I remember how special that day was and always will be! Melissa we can't thank you enough!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
After we got engaged I knew that for us the most important part of planning our wedding was finding the perfect photographer and from the moment I found Melissa’s website I was sold! If you ask my now husband Brian I was borderline obsessed! Her work is so amazing! Melissa’s photographs captured weddings so exquisitely and in such a classic way that we hadn’t seen in our search for a wedding photographer. Then we met her and I loved her even more! She is simply delightful and her team is wonderful as well. Planning for a wedding can be a hectic and stressful time, but Melissa made everything easy. She and her team are talented, professional and prompt. We were so pleased with our experience from beginning to end. I truly can’t say enough good things about Melissa! She exceeded our expectations in every way and we couldn’t be more thrilled with our wedding photos. They so wonderfully captured our special day and we will cherish them always!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I'm only getting married once, so I had to do it right. Wait for the right man, wait for the right timing, and pick the right photographer. Jesus took care of getting me the right man, and we waited on Him for the right timing, so all I had to do was pick the right photographer. Easy enough, right?
Wrong.
You see, I'm a photographer myself. And as my now husband, Sunil, can attest -- I was a wreck. We had a budget, and I wanted to stick with it: cheap. Melissa had been my DREAM for 6 years, so naturally, I wanted her to shoot my wedding. Easy enough, right?
Wrong.
She wasn't in my budget. I, being the saver, did not want to spend millions of dollars on my wedding, so I was cutting corners at every turn, which included the photography. So silly me, I decided to look for someone cheap. I wasn't thinking like a photographer anymore, I was a bride. I wasn't thinking like a business woman, I was thinking like a stressed out, soon-to-be wife. As I searched around for a photographer, I just wasn't satisfied. Melissa was still my dream.
One night, Sunil sat me down for a talk. He asked me who my dream photographer was. Naturally (duh!), my answer was Melissa. "What's stopping you from hiring her?" "Babe, it's not in our budget..." "But do you have the money?"
Yes. I did. You see, God had blessed me abundantly last year, and I had a bunch saved up. It was like Sunil was offering me my dream on a platter and I didn't want to take it -- it was too risky. But since when is life not about taking risks?
So I risked. I emailed her right then at like 11:30 at night, hoping she wasn't already booked for our date. She emailed me back the next day that she wasn't booked, was totally open, and I booked her the same day.
Freedom. Joy. Rest. I was like a little kid that had just found out that Christmas was TODAY! The whole experience with her was incredible - I couldn't have dreamed for anything better!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maureen
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill has the amazing ability to capture the emotion of the occasion. When Dale and I were looking for a photographer in the Arizona area we looked at over 50 sites before choosing Melissa. We were not disappointed, Melissa and her team did an amazing job and we are more than pleased with our photos. Melissa not only did our photos, she had recommendations for catering, wedding planners , florist's on her web site which was extremely helpful, especially when you are trying to plan a wedding from Canada.
Professional knowledgeable, we highly recommend MJ.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The photographs from Melissa Jill and her team are amazing and truly capture all of the joy and love of our special day, giving us the opportunity to experience all of the details and emotions of the day over and over again.

Her dedication, professionalism and promptness throughout the entire process were impressive. We are grateful to have had such a wonderful wedding photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
As soon as Dave and I were engaged I was determined to find the perfect photographer to shoot our wedding. Even though I consider myself photo-obsessed and a frequenter of many wedding blogs, I didn't know what to expect when I started hunting for my own wedding photographer as far as the investment, the packages, or the overall experience. I knew the kind of photos I wanted to have of my own wedding day but no idea who could make it happen or what that would cost. As soon as I found Melissa's website I was hooked! Even though I loved her images, it was scary making a big commitment to photography so early on in the wedding planning process when everything is adding up rather quickly... but when I compared her work to others, I just couldn't get myself to feel the same way about their images... I had to have her! Once we pulled the trigger and booked Melissa, we never had a single doubt that we'd made the right decision. It was such a relief not to spend any time during the wedding planning process worrying that our photographs wouldn't be all that we imagined - we knew we were in more than capable hands! Not only did she shoot our wedding and New York City engagement session, but we ended up bringing Melissa to shoot our rehearsal dinner, my business headshots, and our son's first infant photo shoot. It's hard to imagine calling anybody else to take our picture! We love her and loved the entire experience we had with Melissa and her team from the initial inquiry to the moment the final album arrived at our door. To any future bride out there, I would urge you to invest in your photographer! There are so many other places to shave costs on the wedding but your photographs are truly the only tangible thing you will have when the big day is over. You do not want to regret hiring the wrong person because there is no way to re-capture the emotions, the feelings, the people and the places from your wedding and the day goes by so quickly... you will cherish having great
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Melissa was absolutely incredible to work with. She captured the most amazing moments from our wedding day and I could not be more grateful for her eye for beauty. I cherish the photos she captured of my husband and I, our families and friends. She is a smart business woman, and I truly admire her for that.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anthony
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill makes it all look easy. She's a true professional. Our photos/her artistry exceeded our expectations and I would recommend her in a heartbeat to any family or friend. She is very organized and has all her ducks in a row adding to your confidence in her ability to get things done. If you want MOMENTS captured at your wedding, hire Melissa Jill. This is what set her apart for me when I did 7+ months of research on different photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey Almquist
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Within 5 minutes of my first meeting with Melissa, I knew wholeheartedly that she was the photographer we would use for our wedding day. Melissa has a lovely way about her; at once, you sense both her skill and passion for her craft, as well as her compassionate and authentic love for people. She put me at ease right away, just as she did me and my husband, when she took our engagement and wedding photos. Melissa went to great lengths (literally and figuratively!) to make us happy clients. She flew to meet us in San Diego to photograph us for our engagement shoot at Balboa Park in San Diego. Afterwards, we enjoyed appetizers and a glass of wine together; I felt fortunate to have found both a wonderful photographer and a new friend. At our wedding, Melissa was fabulous. Her calm demeanor helped my husband and I remain relaxed, as well. We were SO pleased with the results--our wedding pictures are just perfect. I love Melissa's photojournalistic style; both the staged and candid shots she captured explain the storyline of our wedding day, as well as the array of our emotions so accurately and effortlessly. Melissa is a master of her craft and what's more, she's a beautiful person, too. Wholeheartedly, I recommend Melissa! At the next opportunity, I plan to hire her again for future photo shoots!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth Kleiman
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
MJ is not only the epitome of class and has the kindest heart, she truly is the most amazing photographer I have ever worked with. She understands that your wedding day is about you and your future wife/husband, sits back and photographs the day with all of the emotions and love coming through in her photos. Every time I look back at my pictures, which I promise you was everyday on our honeymoon, at least once, I felt as though I was right back in that moment. My husband also hates getting his picture taken and no joke MJ is golden to me because he is more than happy to be photographed by her since she is not a 'poesy' photographer. He feels he can be himself while she shoots photos and isn't put into a specific place with a fake smile. We have not only used MJ for our wedding photos, we may have the record for the amount of times using her between our engagement photos and our wedding. We did 2 sets of family photos within that year time span. So with that said, you won't be disappointed if you choose MJ, you will get your photos back from your day within 2-3 days of your event and make a friend in the process. Choose MJ and you will have pictures to cherish for a lifetime!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is my favorite photographer ever. Not only is her work beautiful, but she has the uncanny ability to make all brides look super beautiful. I've never seen anyone look less than stunning in her pictures. She has been so great to work with, and she is just a wonderful, loving person.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KHall
Wedding:
1/5/2010
5.0/5.0
For my husband and I, the photography was the most important aspect of our wedding. We knew that the day would fly by in an instant and we wanted to have images that captured the emotions, the joy, the love of that day, forever. These are the images that would hang in our first home, that we would show my grandparents who were too frail to be there, and that we would show our children years after the day had come to an end. I found Melissa's photography online and KNEW that this was the photographer we had been hoping for. I didn't talk to any other photographers but her. Melissa was always very professional and direct in her communication, which was great especially since I was trying to juggle 100 different things. Throughout the day she unobtrusively worked, capturing moments as-they-happened instead of "false-poses." At the end of it all, my husband and I now have the most wonderful gift we could have asked for -- photographs that, when we page through them together, bring back the emotions we felt every step of that incredible day. After returning from our honeymoon, this is the message I wrote to Melissa. I believe it says it all: "Melissa, sitting here looking at our photos, my heart starts racing as if I were getting my hair done, as if I were standing in front of the mirror-seeing myself as a bride, as if I were seeing my Michael for the first time ... all over again. Your ability to envoke the emotions of that day through your photography is a true gift -- and one ALL of your clients (past and future) will cherish. I know, years from now when I see these photos, my heart will still race the way it did the day I married Michael. For that, I will be forever grateful."
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joan
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Jon and I knew that Melissa is one of the best photographers in the wedding industry. We have many friends that have hired Melissa for their wedding so we knew we were going to receive excellence and she would offer awesome customer service. Even though we knew what an amazing photographer Melissa is, nothing can describe the moment we first saw our wedding pictures and how incredibly in awe we were of Melissa’s work. Family members and friends that couldn’t make it to the wedding looked through our wedding pictures and said that they felt like they were there because of the way Melissa captured the moments, emotions, details, and the entire day’s story!

Not only is Melissa an amazing photographer but she was such a joy and pleasure to work with. She’s passionate about people and is incredibly nice, down to earth, and super fun to work with. She performs her job with the utmost excellence and is always striving to improve her business and make it more efficient. Our wedding was six days before Christmas and she had some of the wedding image highlights up within two days of the wedding, our wedding album posted within four days, and all our wedding pictures online within a week of the wedding!

If you’re looking for a photographer that you can trust completely and enjoy working with throughout the entire wedding planning process, Melissa Jill is definitely the best choice. I’ve looked through my wedding pictures over and over again and I am thrilled we went with Melissa as our wedding photographer. I can’t express how amazing her work is and how much I love her photography. I’d highly recommend her again and again to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa's work is so beautiful and inspiring. Her talent is not a skill that can be learned...she is truly a naturally-gifted artistic genius. After having her shoot our wedding and seeing the final product, we will never use another photographer other than Melissa Jill! (And her customer service is absolutely outstanding!)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sweetonor
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
We first saw her work five years ago at my best friend's wedding. From then on, we remembered her and made a point to hire her for our wedding. An outstanding photographer that captures unbelievable moments of the wedding, moments that speak louder than words. She exhibited professionalism and expertise in her work. Her quality of service was exceptional, very prompt with time and schedule, and so easy to work with. Most of our guests has seen her work from our wedding and has given endless praise and comments on the beautiful work she has done for us. Everyone has said that the pictures have brought tears of joy and has allowed then to reminisce the wedding all over again. She gave us unforgettable memories that will last for the rest of our lives and one that we can share with our children. We were very fortunate to have her as hour photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie Jones Russell
Wedding:
10/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Mellissa Jill was the most amazing photographer, she was not only attentive, but prompt, and listened to our needs, she delivered exactly what we wanted for our wedding photos. She has the "eye" to produce an image that is not to artsy, yet not too traditional. She was a perfect match for us, and I would highly recommend her to family, friends, anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Bg3
martin1281
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
We first saw Melissa Jills work at a wedding in Sedona, Arizona and were so impressed with her talent and professionalism that we had to have her for our wedding in Houston. The weather in Arizona turned out to be a wet one on the Big Day and had to be moved indoors at the last minute. Melissa was able to make some quick decisions before the bad weather came and was still able to take some AMAZING pictures.
For our engagement pictures we were able to meet up with her in San Francisco since she was also shooting a wedding there that same weekend. Melissa had thoroughly planned out ahead of time some great picture taking spots and we were very very happy with her work and had a wonderful time hanging out with her that day. She even treated us to dinner! ;-)
Finally, when she came to Houston for our wedding day in August we were again impressed with her planning and efficiency. With all of our other craziness going on we were greatly appreciative of Melissa and her crews attention to detail and on being totally self sufficient. Again, Melissa already had planned out some great picture spots the day before. She has an amazing eye for making simple spots turn into a lifetime of memories.
We still receive many compliments on ALL of our photos and look foward to using her again for our family pictures in the future!!!

Martin & Melissa Mejia
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
saralin
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Both David and I are thoroughly impressed with how Melissa and her team created an artistic record of our wedding. With each captured glance and expression, we can look back and remember what we were thinking on our special day. Her team was in control of the photographic process without being intrusive. David and I would recommend Melissa Jill Photography to anyone newly engaged. We look forward to seeing her work with us in the years to come as we build our family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mksteen
Wedding:
5/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa is professional, creative, easy to work with, fun, sweet, personable, and patient. She has given us memories to last a lifetime. We both felt so comfortable working with Melissa. It as like having another sister there to be part of the big day. Her assistants were great as well. No one even knew they were there capturing every precious moment. Melissa really captured everyone's personality and conveyed the bond between us. The album was amazing. Her shots were priceless. It takes true talent to capture the images and moments that she did. I have received compliments from everyone who has viewed the album. I would 100% recommend Melissa Jill Photography to anyone. We will be using her for family photos too! Love her work!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ac
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Melissa Jill. She was very easy to work with. The pictures came out wonderful and speak for themselves. I have had family and friends not only comment on how much they love the pictures but how much they liked the photographer! Overall my expierence was very enjoyable and I couldnt be happier with the results!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
4/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa has the most unique and artistic way of taking pictures. Every photograph that was taken by her at my wedding was absolutely stunning. I have worked with hundreds of photographers before and she is by far the best.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marie
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa's work is truly exceptional. Not only does she have an eye for photography but she was so easy and such a pleasure to work with. From the very beginning we knew she would capture all the special moments in the best light;and she did! The day went by so quickly, and looking back i am so happy to have these amazing pictures that capture the moments I didn't get to see. I think what I love the most about Melissa's work is that she is a photojournalist. In otherwise we did not want to end up with stiff looking portrait pictures. She took some amazing pictures that really showcased the venue and us! Our pictures turned out so well we were asked to have them pucblished in a local magazine! Another big plus with Melissa is she is so FAST! We had our pictures ready for us a week later before we even got back from our Honeymoon! And our Album a few weeks later! The album is top quality and she did an amazing job with the layout. Overall Melissa is a Top Photograher and I have yet to meet anyone who didn't agree with that! When we show people our album they are blown away!I would recommend her to anyone and will continue to use her in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen92
Wedding:
3/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill did a wonderful job with our engagement photos, wedding photos and wedding album! Even that it has been 9 months since the wedding, the slideshow and album bring tears to my eyes. Melissa captures the beauty and emotion that was involved with this special day for us. Our experience with her was perfect:)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jocelyn
Wedding:
3/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill was so wonderful to work with from the very start. She made the whole process so easy, and was always extremely organized and responsive. We were especially pleased with the quick turnaround of our proofs and our album and the quality was just amazing. Not only is she a true professional, but she makes you feel so comfortable, like you've been friends for years. It is evident that she truly loves her job!

If you are looking for a photographer with a unique and artistic eye, you will not be disappointed with Melissa Jill. Her photography tells a story and if you look at any of her portfolios, you feel like you are there at that wedding. I think the thing that we love best is that she captured all of the emotion that we were feeling the entire day... all of the happiness, tears of joy, and love. When we look at our photographs, those memories are just priceless and we have Melissa Jill to thank for that!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
2/28/2009
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute joy to have Melissa capture our wedding day! My husband and I continue to get compliments on our wedding photos and we love looking at our pictures over and over again. Our wedding day was perfect in every way and thanks to Melissa's amazing pictures we get to relive that special day as many times as we want. It was a blessing to have Melissa be a part of our day and we look forward to having her capture more special moments in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
2/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so happy we hired Melissa for our wedding in February, 2009! She was everything we could have wanted in a photographer. She was super easy-going and relaxed, yet she captured all of our special moments in a unique, absolutely gorgeous way. The groomsmen even liked working with her because she let them be themselves, and the pictures proved it! Our wedding was featured as one of the most beautiful weddings of 2009 (as were two other weddings shot by Melissa), and there is no way we would have received that honor without stunning photography. Many of my guests follow Melissa's blog because they love looking at her work, and my engaged friends all want her phone number! Additionally, all of my married friends complain that it takes forever to get their photos, but mine were online two days after the wedding, and she even showcased some of them at the reception. Melissa is extremely professional and prompt, and she does her very best to make each wedding come to life through her photography. You will not be sorry if you choose Melissa Jill!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
I would not hesitate to recommend Melissa for anything photography related! I am being genuine when I say Melissa's talent is undeniable. She is an incredibly gifted photographer with an amazingly creative take on her subjects and surroundings who will stop at nothing to make you feel comfortable! Melissa shot my wedding just over a year ago, and I still look at the photos with a tear in my eye - they capture every emotion so perfectly, it's almost like going back to that day! Melissa also did a family portrait session with my husband and parents recently, and they came out beautiful just as I would have expected. Melissa is a brilliant talent and such a great person!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NYCAZBride
Wedding:
9/21/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married in 2007 in Sedona, Arizona. We live in New York but I am originally from Arizona and had wanted a wedding where I grew up. My husband and I were referred to many photographers through various vendors and did a lot of research on each photographers portfolios. We wanted to find a photographer that would do more than just line up our families and friends in ridiculous poses and shoot.

We wanted someone with true artistic talent to capture the once in a lifetime moment of our marriage union.

On logging on to Melissa Jill's website we were very impressed with her portfolio. The clarity and the colors she captured in her photos were absolutely amazing. Her style is exactly what we had been looking for. Intimate and candid.

Melissa was very responsive to my emails and worked with us seamlessly despite the distance.

We met with her in her viewing studio and she was extremely professional. The products that were included in the packages she offered were of great quality.

Like most "wedding planners" we wanted to deviate from the standard packages offered to save a little money here and there. Melissa was very professional and understanding of our wants and needs.

The day before our wedding day we had our engagement photo shoot with Melissa. We drove all over Sedona, which despite some sore feet from hiking a bit in heals we had a blast. Melissa and her assistants were very personable which made it easy for my shy husband to relax and allow for her candid photographs.

On the day of our wedding it rained... in AZ. Go figure. Even though our dream of getting amazing photos of our wedding party on a hillside lawn in Sedona were ruined we ended up with photos that were beyond our expectations.

Melissa has an eye, which of course comes from being a true artist.

Our photographs have been so well liked that our wedding story and photos were featured in an Arizona wedding magazine. Additionally, a girl friend of mine flew Melissa out to San Fransisco AND Houston for her engagement and wedding photos!

We have put a collage of our wedding photos on our foyer wall and receive glowing reviews of our photographer from all of our guests.

If you want someone to take a photo of you and your guests on your wedding day simply lined up or posing in some ridiculous way then PLEASE go elsewhere.

But if you want your day, as special and memorable as it is to be captured as such then contact Melissa.

I would DEFINITELY recommend Melissa to anyone and everyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/24/2008
5.0/5.0
Melissa paid exquisite attention to detail and went the extra mile to make us feel like it truly was OUR day. She was professional yet personable and listened to what we had expressed we wanted for photos. She was flexible to work with and willing to accomodate our requests. Her talent from both the photography persepective and the album design elements were incredible and high-class. My family loved her and she truly is the "whole package!"
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pinkfiresky
Wedding:
3/15/2008
5.0/5.0
I cannot even begin to count how many compliments that I have received about Melissa's photos from our wedding. From the engagement photos, to the guest book, to the slideshow at the wedding, to the wedding photos, to the wedding album...it all was just what we would have hoped for and more. She did such an amazing job capturing every event, every detail, and every emotion of our wedding day and we will treasure those photos for the rest of our lives. We still look at them today and they make us cry! She is not only a fantastic photographer but a sweet, genuine person who cares about her work and provides top notch customer service to her clients. I do not hesitate to recommend her to future brides!! I can't say enough good things about her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valorie
Wedding:
2/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Melissa is one of the most talented and friendly photographers EVER. She blew everyone away with her photography. My friends who are already married wished they had her and my single friends asked for her card. No joke, she so poignantly and stylistically captured the event. I interviewed several photographers and she's the absolute best.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katinapatriquin@aol.com
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
Yes, I would recommend Melissa Jill for anyone interested in photography that is not only breathtaking but memorable! I was very particular about the look I wanted to capture for my wedding day and she nailed it! In all honesty other than my groom being the best choice of my wedding day:) Melissa Jill was not far down the line!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen1234
Wedding:
8/26/2007
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is incredible! My husband and I were so delighted with our images and working with Melissa every step of the way. I've worked with Melissa on other projects because of her hard work ethic, amazing talent and overall stellar performance. If you choose Melissa to shoot your hometown wedding, destination wedding or other event- you will be thrilled your entire experience.

As the editor of a wedding magazine, I can attest to Melissa's professionalism and talent. I've used her for more than my own personal needs and wedding, I've used her for several photo shoots and have published her work countless times. If you hire MJ, she'll work hard and give you the most incredible images you could ever hope for.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shan8780
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is one of the best photographers I've seen! She has an amazing eye for details and puts all her energy into capturing the special moments of your life, whether it's your wedding or special family times. She is very easy to work with, professional, and personable. I've enjoyed every time I've worked with her including my family portraits and my wedding. During our family portraits she managed to capture not only some great pictures, but the personality of each member of my family.

During my wedding, Melissa made photos such an easy and enjoyable part of the day. She blended right into the excitement of the day and portraits were so quick and fun! Having a first look experience with my husband was the best decision we made and Melissa created an environment that was so personal and sweet. I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone looking for a photographer for the important events of your life!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TarynLivingstone
Wedding:
3/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Melissa did a fabulous job and our pictures are absolutely beautiful. Everytime we look at them it just makes me feel good and reminds me of the beauty of that day in our lives. My husband just linked up our PC to our 60 inch TV so that we could look at them almost life-size and they are even more beautiful in clear as day HD. I can't wait to get the pictures into an album. Thank You Melissa!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/12/2006
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is AMAZING!! Every person who attended our wedding or who didn�t and saw the photos after the event felt like they were there. Melissa Jill is truly gifted at capturing the event and emotion in a candid style that my husband and I loved. We wanted someone that was going to capture the moment and not do too many staged or portrait style photos aside from the typical ones. However, the portraits also looked amazing. Since we didn�t have a videographer we really wanted a photographer that could come in and capture the day for us. From when we were getting ready to dancing under the stars as husband and wife Melissa Jill and her team captured it and were beyond our expectations. As you look at her website you really get an idea of what her style is and the photos speak for themselves. Melissa Jill is so easy to work with and such a sweetheart. Very professional and even though it was her first time shooting at the location of our wedding she just went with the flow without previously scouting the place. I still have people comment on how beautiful our photos are from our wedding and I really enjoy telling them about Melissa Jill. If you are looking for a photographer that will capture the moment and doesn�t only do the usual portraits you see all over, then she is the photographer for you. I can�t say enough about how we LOVE her work!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/21/2006
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill is such a talented wedding photographer. I could have not been any more happy with our wedding photos. She made the memories of our special day just amazing to look at and enjoy for years to come! As a wedding planner, I would recommend her to any bride!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathryn
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
There are no words to describe how Happy my husband and I are with the pictures Melissa took and with her customer service!!! She is wonderful to work with and we wish we could buy all 800+ pictures. Thank You Melissa!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichole
Wedding:
5/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Melissa was amazing! Keeping with the goal of her passion of photography, we rarely noticed Melissa's presence throughout the ceremony and reception; capturing every moment I missed on our whirlwind-of-a-day! I appreciated her trip to NC and would do it all over again in a heartbeat. Photography was one of the most important elements of our wedding day and I couldn't have found a more professional, talented woman to be there for us!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esvans
Wedding:
4/29/2006
5.0/5.0
Melissa and her team did a fantastic job capturing our wedding. The slideshow she created was amazing, and has everyone in our families amazed at how good of a job she did. As a photographer myself, the quality of her work is stunning, and the post-wedding organization was seamless. She was shooting for 12 hours, capturing every detail including the ones we couldn't witness in 1200+ beautiful photos. She's the best wedding photographer out there and would recommend her to the most particular bride to be!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TrishTK
Wedding:
3/11/2006
5.0/5.0
Melissa Jill's photography leaves me speechless. Our personal experience with her during our wedding was wonderful and the images she captured of the day were amazing. I was thrilled to be able to see the slideshow of ceremony photos during the reception, I was so excited when the full collection of images were available to review within 2 weeks of the wedding, and I was ecstatic that I had my custom designed wedding album in my hands only two months after we got married. My best friend was married a year ago and she has yet to even see the design of her wedding album. She's mentioned to me more than once how she wishes she would have had Melissa Jill photograph her wedding. Melissa Jill really takes the time to personalize each bride and groom's experience. I am continually impressed and inspired by Melissa Jill's work and her friendly and humble personality makes her a great person to know.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jesska
Wedding:
1/28/2006
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin!? Melissa Jill is such a talented photographer! I was extremely excited to hire Melissa as THE photographer for my wedding. Melissa did a fantastic job from start to finish. My wedding album is packed with beautiful images of such a wonderful day! Thank you so much Melissa Jill for all your hard work!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arizona Bride
Wedding:
12/18/2005
5.0/5.0
My groom and I searched through over 80 different photographer's portfolios and packages and none impressed us as much as Melissa's. Throughout the whole planning process with multiple wedding vendors/professionals, she was one of the easiest and most fun to work with, always straight-forward and accomodating. She made us both feel at ease before and during the big event. IF you want someone you can trust to capture not just portraits, but the emotion of the day, and leave you and your guests stunned by the images captured, Melissa Jill is the perfect choice. The very fact that only a month after the wedding, I had a copy of all of the digital images only added to the pleasure of working with Melissa. I would recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmyTeegan
Wedding:
11/6/2005
5.0/5.0
Amazing work ... better than I imagined and so easy to work with.

I think it's really important to have an easy-going, flexible, professional photographer who won't drag you away from your own party to take more pictures, but rather document what you are actually doing ... and Melissa and her team were exactly that.

Everyone should work w/ Melissa ... we had absolutely no complaints and I still love love love our photos several years later!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley1678
Wedding:
10/22/2005
5.0/5.0
Melissa is the absolute BEST photographer we could have chosen to do our wedding. Not only were our pictures perfectly beautiful, but we enjoyed every moment of her being a part of our special day! Melissa's passion and devotion to her photography is so evident in every image she shoots. She is incredibly professional, meaning she returns phone calls and emails promptly...what a concept! I would not only recommend her for your wedding photographer, but also for her portraits as they are awesome as well. Melissa is dedicated to the gift she's been given and it shows. We can't wait to work with her again for family portraits of our own! Thank you, Melissa!!! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
onejengirl19
Wedding:
10/15/2005
5.0/5.0
Melissa and her team did an excellant job capturing all of our wedding day moments on October 15th, 2005. I can not tell you how many compliments we get from the photo book of our footage from that day. I encourage any couple getting married to check out her site. She does great work at a fair price. I receive her newsletters each month and check in on her site time to time. Her ability to capture cherished moments in a new light unlike any other amazes me. She is in our opinion one of the best photographers out there. If we could go back in time I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Melissa Jill!

Sincerely,

Jenny H.

Follow this link to begin your review:
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joyfullymarried
Wedding:
9/10/2005
5.0/5.0
Melissa did an OUTSTANDING job shooting our wedding! She was timely, stayed the whole day of the wedding shooting at multiple locations, and produced fabulous photographs. And, she was great to work with--very friendly. We are so pleased with her work. We would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a professional, high-quality photographer with great design taste.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bandh0729
Wedding:
7/29/2005
5.0/5.0
Melissa and her team were way above what I expected. Between the three of them, they were able to capture every little detail of my wedding day in a way that tells the story beautifully. I would recommend them to anyone who wants quality photography from quality people. Thanks Melissa!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roxy
Wedding:
3/27/2004
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love Melissa's work! She's so professional and very friendly...
She did our wedding pics, and both my husband and I absolutely loved/love her work.
Unlike a lot of wedding photographers, Melissa truly is an artist. Her images can speak to the unspoken, that essence of human emotion.
I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
5/19/2007
4.9/5.0
Melissa did our engagement and wedding pictures, and I am incredibly satisfied with how everything turned out. She is a very talented individual! The combination of being professional, artistic, timely, honest and sensitive won us over. Not only was working with her an enjoyable experience, but I also have beautiful photos to last a lifetime.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.8/5.0
Mary was our photographer and we couldn't have been happier with our pictures. Her capture of the "First Look" was amazing, our ceremony shots were beautiful, and the candid reception shots were all perfect. Her creativity and originality were just what we wanted. We would recommend the whole crew at Melissa Jill to anyone who asks!!

Jenn and Troy Slater
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/2/2011
4.8/5.0
We couldn't be happier with the photographs from our wedding! From day one, Melissa was super easy to work with. She made us feel right at ease in front of the camera, and aside from the portraits, we hardly even knew she was there (which was great because we are very camera shy) and we were elated by the shots she got! The photographs are such high quality and really capture the emotions and story of the day. And not only that, we got to see a lot of them 2 days later! And less than 2 weeks after the wedding, we had our DVD of all the images. Thanks, Melissa! It has been a pleasure to work with you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.8/5.0
I absolutely loved working with Melissa Jill. When my husband & I began planning our wedding we decided that our wedding photographs was the one thing we were not going to hold back on. We wanted to amazing pictures, and that's what she delivered. Not only is Melissa's work amazing, but she is a joy to work with. Aside from fantastic pictures, Melissa is easy going and very easy to get along with. I love the fact that she is so accessible to her clients. Never once did I have to wait very long to receive a response from her. I will definitely use Melissa again for future portraits, even if she is living in AZ and I live in TX...her work is amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
11/12/2005
4.8/5.0
Melissa is very good at finding opportunities for creative, unique shots that capture memories well. She teaches seminars and is consistently seeking out new learning opportunities. I would highly recommend her as a photographer
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/15/2005
4.8/5.0
She was relaxed, open to our crazy ideas (even going on a hike to get our engagement shots which required going down a dangerous road to get there). I was glad before the wedding that I hired her, but even more so after I saw the pictures. She's been so helpful every step of the way including afterwards (two months later as I'm now ordering albums). I couldn't be happier with the job she did for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.3/5.0
Our associate photographer, Tina, was amazing! She is extremely talented as well as friendly and funny! She did a wonderful job! The associate photographers with Melissa Jill are a great choice for those that can't spring for Melissa Jill herself :) The office manager, Sara, was also great to work with!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.2/5.0
I worked with associate photographer Tina. She was wonderful to work with. I loved her creativity and also really appreciated how she listened and embraced exactly the kind of photography I was hoping to get from the wedding day. All of the photos were well edited. I also loved how great the customer service was from everyone at Melissa Jill, and I would highly recommend them to anyone needing a photographer!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1319472626683-006
Ellen
Wedding:
2/18/2012
1.5/5.0
Our experience with Melissa Jill Photography was beyond disappointing; it was downright heartbreaking. Our photographer showed no real approachability or interest in either bride or groom's appearance, acted rushed and distracted, and didn't get to any of the appointed meeting spots on time. The photo proofs included a shocking number of people's backs, exit signs, and horrible angles of both guests and wedding party (there was literally a picture of the bride and groom dancing without heads. No heads. This isn't artistic; it's awful.). The office was responsive when we aired our concerns, but did not offer any refund of services or discounts when we asked that over HALF of the online gallery be removed due to being bad pictures and another third being cropped due to wasted space, drinks in hands, exit signs, and the like or righted due to awkward angles that left the viewer feeling seasick. In the end, we not only paid for the time that was wasted taking nonsense shots, but also our photographers dinner, the time they spent eating it, and when we said this seemed like bad value, we were told the charges are "industry standard" and there is nothing further the studio is willing or able to do. Wedding photos should be a wonderful recollection of the best day of your life; these pictures cause extreme disappointment and the feeling of having paid a LOT of money for poor work.
Services Used: Photography
Melissa Jill Photography responded with the following comments:

This client hired one of our associate photographers. We are VERY sad that she was disappointed with her service and photography. We strive to blow our clients away with the value we offer, so this outcome is heartbreaking for us as well. Unfortunately, after speaking with the client after the wedding -- which our associate felt went very smoothly and reported no issues on the wedding day -- it became clear that we were not the right fit for this particular client. Her complaints indicated that she would have been happier hiring a traditional photographer who only took closely cropped photos of people smiling at the camera. I wish we could go back and steer her in that direction. The photos delivered to the client match the style of the photos on the online gallery of our associate and the sample album shown to the client before the wedding. The images told the story of the day as it happened, and many of our clients would have been thrilled with them. Unfortunately, this client chose to delete many gorgeous images from her online gallery that would be worthy of being included in our associate's portfolio. In the end, it just came down to the fit not being right.

We did do everything we could to try to help appease the client after the wedding, however. We spent hours designing an album and then refunded the money for it. We also spent hours re-cropping images, deleting unwanted images and photoshopping out exit signs. We did all of this within 2 business days of the initial complaint.

We are very sad with this outcome but feel confident that we did everything we could under the circumstances to please the client.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
p
Wedding:
10/25/2013
1.1/5.0
Am a very, very busy professional who thought she was hiring the best in the Phoenix area but was sorely disappointed.
She and her team spent 3 days on site and on the 3rd day still didn't know where to take photos. Our venue was at high profile hotel (Molly Sims got married there) and the photography team had no idea where to take pictures. She needed lots and lots of handholding and direction and subsequent to the wedding would not work with us to cure our disappointment. While it was clear she thought she did her job, we and our guests were astonished at her lack of creativity, service and attitude.
I can not recommend her. Ever.
Services Used: Photography
Melissa Jill Photography responded with the following comments:

I’m so sad that this client has chosen to respond anonymously without sharing the whole story. In truth, she’s angry that I won't' give her what she wants, something that no other professional photographer would give her: all of the unedited images from her wedding day. Every. Single. One.
When this client booked, she chose a package that included 500 images. She signed a contract acknowledging this. Within a week of the wedding, I delivered 787 individually edited images to her. I’m proud of the way they tell the story of her wedding. I’ve made the gallery available for you to view and decide whether or not this client’s review is fair: http://bit.ly/1bHrHlj
Part of the service of a professional photographer is curating through the images, narrowing them down to the very best ones, and removing those that are unflattering or almost identical. I tried to respectfully explain this to my client, but she still demanded all of the images, and lashed out in an angry email with obscenities and this review.
I will add that this client must not be too upset with the service I provided because she recently purchased all 787 high-res edited images as an add-on to her package.
In response to her accusations here, I will say that I did provide ideas for locations, but the bride was unwilling to take photos in the beautiful vineyard nearby for fear of getting her shoes dirty. After that, the bride and groom took over the remainder of the shoot. Considering their response to my suggestions, I thought that complying with their requests would be the best. I have been a professional photographer for 10 years, photographed hundreds of weddings, and LOVE finding locations for portraits and leading clients through a shoot. You can see an entire series on my blog dedicated to this topic here: http://bit.ly/1idkiiA
Default-vendor-profile-pic
none
Wedding:
11/14/2009
0.0/5.0
I would not recommend Melissa Jill for any wedding photography or any photography for that matter. I was so disappointed and distressed with the work she did. Additionally, when I expressed my disappointment, she was very defensive and did nothing to try to make the situation better. Her shots were crooked, the color was poor and there was little to no staging. She was extremely expensive and I certainly did not get what I paid for. Stay away!
Services Used: Photography
Melissa Jill Photography responded with the following comments:

This is the email response in full that I sent to this client. I did not hear back from her.

"I wanted to write you to say again how sad I am that you are disappointed with your wedding photos. This really just makes my heart ache because I put my heart and soul into my work and do my best for each and every client. I feel sad and wish that I knew what I could have done differently for you. If I in any way felt in my heart that I didn't do my best for you I would be happy to admit that, give you some money back or give you a print credit but I feel I did the best I could for you and I also don't think doing either of these things would really change your opinion of me.

I wanted to just write to address a few of the concerns that I heard from you on the phone yesterday in writing so that you can know that I heard you.

I heard that you felt like the quality of my work was not consistent with what is portrayed on my website. I'm wondering if you are referring to the content of the photos (lack of emotions, moments, story portrayed by them) or to the quality of the images themselves (clarity, color, etc.)? I should say a few things about this. The weddings portrayed on my site are all of a different nature than yours. They are all 9-10 hour events so there is more time to capture moments. Also, the content of what you had me photographing was largely portrait in nature. There was an hour and a half of portraits, a short ceremony and an hour long cocktail hour. I feel that I captured what happened that day as it naturally happened (which is my style and approach). I don't feel that I missed capturing the essence of the moments or emotions that happened while I was there. I heard that getting portraits of your family and friends was the most important thing to you and that is what I did. As for the quality of the images themselves, I think you'll find that your images are comparable to what you see on my site. The lighting during cocktail hour required that I use flash and we talked about this in our meeting before your wedding and it was my understanding that you knew they would look the way they did.

I heard that you felt like my images didn't tell a story. Again, the only time I was given to tell a story was the ceremony and the cocktail hour. The rest of the coverage was portrait in nature. The ceremony photos are true to the event and what happened. The cocktail photos are representative of any cocktail hour I do at any wedding. I don't have many photos on my website of cocktail hours because honestly, it's tough to work with them artistically. All that is happening is that people are talking, drinking and eating. Capturing people talking, having fun and interacting is about the extent of what you can capture during a cocktail hour. I was also able to capture your beautiful decor and the details at the location.

I stand by the work I did for you. I'm very sorry that you're dissatisfied. If there is anything else you can say as to what it is about the photography that you are not satisfied with, I would love to hear from you. I'm open to constructive criticism and always strive to improve my work and business. I'm afraid I just don't understand where you are coming from. Perhaps this is a case of differing subjective opinions about what good photography is, in which case, all I can say is that we just weren't a good fit. And I'm sorry we didn't come to recognize this before your wedding rather than after."

MAP

 
Phoenix, AZ 85008 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Melissa Jill Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo