Nophoto-130

Mena Catering

Miami , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7462 SW 48th Street
Miami, FL US 33155 (map)

PHONE

305-666-8545

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1351098870351-im003700
130x130_sq_1351098876341-im003706
130x130_sq_1351099202942-img1320
130x130_sq_1351099221028-elementweddingstables3
130x130_sq_1351099671147-beggarspurses
130x130_sq_1351099724900-cevicheinshotglass3
130x130_sq_1351099819058-duckspringrolls
130x130_sq_1351099836521-floribbeanblt2
130x130_sq_1351100405495-phyllobasketwithgorgonzola3

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, French, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2500

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.3/5.0
Mena Catering provided a DELICIOUS menu for our wedding. One of the most challenging parts, was choosing from an extensive menu of options to serve at the wedding. His food is undoubtedly top notch. He's not very cheap but he's definitely the best (or one of the best) at what he does. It can also be a bit challenging getting a reply from him. Not the most responsive. But...at the end, it all gets done and it was delicious! I would also like to add that when you get to interact with him, he's a very nice, friendly man!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
1/18/2014
4.8/5.0
Loved Mena! The food for my wedding was delicious and the service was great. The catering staff were super nice about making sure that me and my husband ate. Would definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martina
Wedding:
12/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The catering company impressed us with great tasting service prior to the wedding. We were able to choose few appetizers, entrees, salads, and desserts. We loved the professionalism of the owner from the beginning. His experience, kindness, and great food was enough to impress us. We had some issues with the weather so the wedding on the last minute had to been changed quite a bit on the day of the wedding. I was little worried about it but my friends and Mena catering professional staff made it all work to perfection.I couldn't been happier. The appetizers, entrees, salads was fabulous. Everybody was very impressed with the food and professionalism, friendliness of the staff.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yesi
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I had been to a party a few months before i was engaged and I was blown away by the food and service. The minute I was engaged and started planning my wedding the first thing I did was find out who catered that party! Once I found out it was Mena thats were my planning began. Mena catering was so attentive from day one! We were so impressed by their professionalism throughout the whole process but even more blown away the day of our wedding. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. All of our guest are still talking about how amazing the food and service was. They are one of the main reasons why our wedding was exactly what we wanted and so much more!!!! The entire staff and crew are all so sweet and helped us feel relaxed and assured that everything was going to be amazing (as it was)!

I can't thank them enough!
If you are looking for amazing food and service Mena catering is it!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1337480874287-mg0724
Sophia
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We are so happy that we hired Mena Catering to cater our wedding. From the start, they were responsive, kind and professional. For a bride planning a wedding from out of state, I needed vendors who could communicate with me well over the internet and phone. They never dropped the ball in our conversations and this made me confident I had made the right choice. Also, when we had our tasting, the food was delicious. Working with Lily, Jorge and the rest of the Mena team was truly wonderful. Everyone raved about the food and service at the wedding, and Quincy and I were thrilled to our own personal waiter throughout the evening. We were also touched to have Jorge stop by to say hi. It's these kind of personal touches that definitely know they go above and beyond for their clients. We are happy to recommend them to anyone who needs their event catered. Our food was marvelous!! Guests are still talking about it. We can't thank them enough!
Sincerely,
Sophia and Quincy
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I had heard great things about Mena Catering but they turned out to be even better than we imagined! We hired Mena Catering for our cocktail hour and sit-down dinner. The hor’devours were delicious and made with both our cultures in mind! We even had our own signature drink for the cocktail hour (Strawberry Basil Mojito) that was a hit! All of our guests were raving that they had never been to a wedding with such great food and service. The food did not feel mass produced and is top quality. The service was impeccable… very professional and everything went according to schedule. Both Jorge Mena and Lily were a pleasure to work with. Mena himself attended our wedding and made sure that we were happy with his service. We will definitely be using them for any other event and we whole-heartedly recommend them to anyone. Thank you Jorge and Lily! Ele & Umbee
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathalie
Wedding:
3/9/2013
4.1/5.0
Mena provided the catering for our wedding and the food was delicious. Our guests are still raving about the appetizers and dinner. The late night bites were also a very fun and creative touch. Having many guests traveling from around the country, we were happy to show them what great Latin food! Thanks again, Jorge!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Mena and Lily!!! When guest at your wedding come around and tell you that they have never had such amazing food at a wedding before, you realized that your choice of catering was the right one. 24 hours later and I am still receiving phone calls just to let us know that our food was incredible. Ariel and I cannot say thank you enough for everything that you put together for our event. Your service was spectacular, I have never seen anything like it before. We love you guys and want to say thank you one million times for making this the best day of our lives. We could not have asked for anything better. It was a true dream come true.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
The food was delicious and the caterers were very professional and courteous. They were aware of my needs the entire night. The way they set up the food was very pretty and looked amazing with my my decor. Everyone loved the food
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1332090544178-mollyandsean0261robertriosweddingphotography
Molly
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.7/5.0
Argh! I just typed up a long review, and WW ate it. Darn internet, so I'll try again....

Okay, the good:
-The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD!! So delicious and everything we'd hoped for. We wanted a "Floribbean" theme for our destination wedding and ended up with delicious items like conch fritters, pork belly on cheesy grits cakes, beef churrasco, mahi mahi with key lime buerre blanc, orange-glazed grilled asparagus, and on it went. Everyone raved about it!
-The price was reasonable (they fit into our budget wedding, but we were willing to spend a little more on food) but just make sure to get a quote when you're shopping around. Mena gives you the food price per head, and then staffing, etc. separately. It's very clearly outlined in their quote sheet, so no hidden surprises, but just be forewarned it will be extra. This works in your favor though, for larger weddings.
-The food wasn't the only thing that was great. The servers/staff were the height of professionalism. They were a well-oiled machine and although you never knew they were there, they also made sure I never had an empty glass, that any food items ran out, and even made sure our elderly guests got their food.
-They brought beautiful decorations (jars of submerged orchids). An unexpected, and great addition to our decor!
-They were flexible and worked with our budget. Knowing we needed to save whenever possible, they offered a kid's menu, allowed us to provide all our own beverages, and had very competitive rental item prices (tables, chairs, linens, etc.) which allowed us to use only one vendor. So convenient!
-I had to plan this wedding from 2500 miles away, and only had other reviewers to trust on the quality rather than tastings, and I sure was glad I did, it was so great!!

The cons:
There aren't many, and none were really anything I'd be too worried about.
-Responsiveness: Since I was planning from so far away I had a lot of questions and organizing to do. Email responses were often quite short, although my guess is since these guys are so busy they rely heavily on smart phones. I ultimately still got all the information and as many quotes as I needed.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1313730209005-dscf1534
Crystal
Wedding:
11/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Mena Catering is hands down the best caterer in South Florida. Not only is the food outstanding, but the presentation is artwork. The Mena team was extremely welcoming and patient throughout the entire process, even when I changed the menu 6 weeks before the wedding to be more upscale and boy was it. Everyone still talks about the fried tempura orchid appetizer filled with a lobster mousse, the lemon caper mahi-mahi and the Willy Wonka dessert bar! Mr. Mena personally handled my tasting and met me at the venue to discuss options for the food presentation and the rentals. His staff went out of their way to get my linen rental from a company in New York to match my theme and Lily was my go-to back up.

On the day of the wedding, Mr. Mena had one of his staff waiting for my husband (still getting used to saying that) and myself with our favorite drinks in hand. Arturo was assigned to shadow our every movement to ensure that we ate and that our cup was never dry. It was such a relief not to have to think of getting food or something to drink.

I had some important guests in attendance from overseas and they have made comments of how my wedding was better than and/or on par with some events (including royal ones) that they had attended previously. Mena Catering was a huge factor in having that statement made and you will not be disappointed int his family run business that can also coordinate your entire wedding. Thank You to the amazing Mena family for your dedication, support and stellar service!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudia
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
If I could give Jorge Mena and his team a better rating i would! This is far more than a catering company. Jorge has such an eye for detail, and gives you the absolute best that he can give that its very hard not to fall in love with his service. I never asked how long he's been in the event industry but he knows far more than most people i've spoken with.
OOOHHHH and the FOOD!!!! My guests raved about it for days!!! At most weddings you hear about people going for the free drinks and rarely for the food. But this was definitely not the case. People could not get enough food.
If that wasn't all Mena had a waiter follow my groom and I throughout our pictures, while we greeted people, while we danced, and even walked around aimlessly with food and water. We had many guests come up to us telling we weren't going to eat because we were going to be too busy. But that wasn't the case at all! We were well fed and hydrated throughout the night. I seriously don't know what we would've done without Jorge Mena and his team. I'm truly thankful for all their help and dedication!
Services Used: Catering
Bg20
esti
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I'm not sure how to put into words the appreciation and love I have for this catering company. But this is my attempt:

Short Version: MENA CATERING provided excellent food and service at my wedding, and proved their amazing professionalism to us during the planning stages of it all. I highly recommend this company to everyone! One tasting might prove it all (trust me).

Long version:
I planned a destination wedding in Miami from San Francisco, and it took me several trips to Miami and many weeks of tastings to finally find Mena Catering and I could not have been happier with their level of quality, service and professionalism. Jorge and Lily were incredible at helping me prepare everything via email (and were VERY RESPONSIVE, unlike a lot of other catering companies that shrug you off till the week of your wedding). The day of the wedding Jorge was present at my tasting and helped me put together my menus, and figure out the details. It went great and it was all really comfortable (also, extra points for working with our budget).

The week of our wedding, we flew into Miami and Lily from Mena was still helping us out with all the last minute details, when something terrible happened. My husband and I were scammed out of our venue and where put into a situation where we had to re-plan our wedding within 2-days.

Lily from Mena Catering was there with us all the way. We changed venues on her 3 times and I must admit I've never seen anyone handle it all so well. She re-planned seating and decor at each venue I dragged her to and she kept me calm. The day before my wedding, I dragged her to one last place and she basically planned my reception under half-an-hour! It was amazing. I wish I could have videotaped her, it was like she was on auto-pilot and knew exactly what to do.

Fast-forward to the day of the wedding: It turned out amazing! We were both impressed, and the guests raved about the food & Decor (all set up by Mena Catering). Oh the food! The food was really great (this didn't surprise me though, since I had already experienced an amazing tasting and knew what treats were coming). The bartender which Mena provided did a great job with our signature drinks (caipirinha and mojitos). And the entire night was great.

Special Message to the people at Mena (especially Lily): if you are reading this; THANK YOU!

and just to prove that this story is real - click on this link for the news story: http://www.local10.com/news/28353008/detail.html
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
1/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Mena Catering provided us with absolutely impeccable service for our wedding in January 2011 at the Spanish Monastery in Miami. Jorge Mena is a real professional, and his team was superb. The quality of food was exquisite - our guests raved about the quality and creativity of the cuisine. The service was outstanding all around - and as a nice personal touch, Mena had an individual that specifically catered to us as bride and groom, ensuring we had what we needed and our glasses were always full. The quality of food and service is well worth the price. We couldn't have asked for a better caterer - thank you Jorge and the Mena team. We highly recommend to anyone planning a wedding or other event in Miami.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackyalsi
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.9/5.0
Their food is amazing, I had had it at two other weddings and that's why I chose them. They are a bit pricey but they are worth it, everyone commented on how good the food was. They also surprised me with the buffet table decorations, very tasteful and pretty. They did a great job overall, they even offered my husband and I hors d'oeuvres while we were having our pictures taken.

Since the rental company (Christina's rentals) they work with wasn't on the list I'll review them here. All in all it turned out ok but I was a real headache dealing with them. They are really disorganized, I had to bypass mena and go to their office to straighten out the mess they made with my rentals. I went line by line with the girl and she still messed up 3 times (some items were duplicated, other things were doubled, they had the delivery pick up time wrong etc.). They gave me a final invoice that i agreed on and the day of the wedding they still brought a tent that i had previously removed from the list and of course after the wedding they were going to charge me for it. If you do use them tell mena to give you an invoice and go over it careful checking for mistakes, I saved over $400 by doing that.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Bg20
capt
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.6/5.0
Mena caterer food was top notched and the service was excellent. We heard this feedback from all of our guests. I will definitely use them again.

After the wedding we heard from our wedding planner that there were some details the were not executed by them during the wedding such as bringing the cocktail tables inside the dancing area for people to sit durng the sit down dinner. Also instead of two bar set-up after dinner they kept one bar with 3 bartenders. These were small details that if you were not involved with the details you would not know.

Also thety did a fantastic job of decorating the buffet tables and cheese tables with flowers.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrMrsZ
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Mena Catering was wonderful. Their presentation is like no other caterer, and I have worked with many caterers. The food was delicious, guests complimented the food. Jorge's staff was very attentive of me and my husband and made sure that we had food and drinks all night. The made my wedding day very memorable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
friecia
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Mena catered my rehearsal dinner and wedding. . . and both were fantastic! People don't usually rave about wedding food, but my guests loved it! I (the bride) even made a point of making time to eat at my wedding because I knew I'd be disappointed to miss out on Mena's food.

Their staff is also very professional and attentive. Both nights I felt like a superstar due to their quality of service. Jorge Mena (the owner) even made an appearance at both of my events - I really admire and respect that the owner himself makes time to check-in on his clients. They are also very creative with their presentation, and end up doing things you aren't even expecting. Mena was also incredibly flexible and willing to work with my budget. I love Mena Catering and will definitely recommend and hire them again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
feregamo60
Wedding:
2/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Usually food is what everyone goes cheap on and what the guests usually complain about, and although I didn't want to spend that much money, after tasting their food, I didn't have much of a choice. I had ZERO complaints and on the contrary, everyone kept telling me how great the food was, even 2 weeks after the event. The staff was phenomenal and my husband and I even had a personal attendant to cater to everything we needed. He even followed me around to make sure my cup was never empty and to provide us with ANYTHING we wanted when we wanted it. He even told me when to fix my hair or makeup (that's awesome!). Services couldn't of had been better.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jack
Wedding:
1/18/2009
4.7/5.0
The food from Mena Catering was great.They where willing to work with all of our desires to cut costs.They were extremely professional and so sweet and attentive to meet our needs.I would select them to cater my wedding again!
Services Used: Catering
Bg10
lucylee23
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
Very nice people. Wonderful food, service & quality. Everyone loved the food! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALINA
Wedding:
12/10/2005
5.0/5.0
If we can give them 10 stars we would! Jorge's team attended to us as if we were king and queen! Food was AMAZING. For my brother to get seconds at a wedding, that says alot!
presentation was PRICELESS!! i should have just had THEM decorate instead of our useless wedding planner! The freshness of the food, personality of the team, attentiveness to our guests was UNSURPASSED. I cannot wait to host my baby shower one day and have them grace us again with their presence. Absolutely without a doubt one of my favorite vendors of my wedding day. Cuban Sushi is delicious!!!! i should just go for a tasting one of these days! lol great job!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We went with Mena Catering because they did Oriental Cuisine.They where very professional and kept in contact with us till our wedding day.It was very enjoyable too have a sit down with them and plan out our menu.We where able to personalize whatever we wanted.Their staff was also very professional and made sure everything went off without a hitch.We got several good comment about the food from a lot of our friends and family.We where glad we hired them to cater our wedding and will certainly do business with them again.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1279079909271-mtm
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
I cannot say enough about the food, it was great! I went to Mena under the advise of my florist/planner, Sylvia Conde-Rodriguez, and whoever she recommends has to be great, otherwise she doesn't bother.

Our food was plenty, tasty and the service was extraordinary, they were very attentive. You need to be alert with Mena, as they are busy and tend to overlook some details, but they come thru the minute you point it out.

Our guests have not stopped talking about our food, the ceviche, the appetizers, the cuban rice take out station was a complete hit!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
Their Vizcaya location is a wonderful place for a reception.They provided everything for us from food to entertainment.It was a very lovely evening where everything worked out beautifully.Their staff was everywhere and ready to serve.If you got the money then you should definitely shell out for their first class service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
I love Mena Catering. They catered a lot of events for the company i use to work for so i knew what their food was like. They did an amazing job at my wedding and they have great food! Everyone love the food! Jorge Mena is great! and so is Lily!!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
7462 SW 48th Street, Miami, FL 33155 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mena Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220