130x130_sq_1334865247318-176

Mercury Hall

Austin , TX

LOCATION

615 Cardinal Lane
Austin, TX US 78704 (map)

PHONE

512-236-1226

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nestled on a secluded hilltop, just minutes from downtown Austin, Mercury Hall offers an idyllic setting for a variety of occasions. The historic structure was built in 1904 in Mercury,... Read more
Nestled on a secluded hilltop, just minutes from downtown Austin, Mercury Hall offers an idyllic setting for a variety of occasions. The historic structure was built in 1904 in Mercury, Texas, and was moved to its current location in 1997. The hall plays host to weddings, special events, funraisers and performances. Here at Mercury Hall, we try to keep things in the South Austin mindset; laidback. Mercury allows you to choose from a broad selection of caterers and allows you to bring in your own alcohol. The hall accommodates parties up to around 300 people, if you utilize both the hall and the patio. If you are only using the hall (mainly during hot & cold months) then 120-150 guests will fit comfortably. Please visit our website at www.mercuryhall.com for additional information or email Courtney, the manager, at info@mercuryhall.com. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1334866000268-jakeholtphotography01
130x130_sq_1334865901438-253
130x130_sq_1334866096809-sweetcarolinephoto110
130x130_sq_1334866106904-sweetcarolinephoto120
130x130_sq_1334866026830-sweetcarolinephoto114

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1904
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Farm / Barn, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Mercury Hall is so beautiful!!! It feels like the hill country, but it is located downtown! The outdoor lawn is just amazing, I wish the weather had been nicer on my wedding day, so we could have enjoyed the lawn a bit more. The indoor venue is gorgeous! The stained glass windows are absolutely beautiful and bring so much life to the venue. I love the white walls, because you can decorate with any color to tie it in to your event.
Courtney, the manager, was easy to work with, although sometimes a little scatter brained; it helped that my mom was so well organized. With that said, don't judge Mercury Hall on the manager - the venue is all yours the day of, so you are able to make the event very personal. The bridal room is small, just a head's up, but you can make it work.
I would highly recommend Mercury Hall!!! The venue is so beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/22/2014
4.9/5.0
The hall was absolutely beautiful for our wedding. The convenience of one site table/chair rental was especially nice. The venue coordinator was extremely helpful and great with communication. I would definitely book this venue again for future events!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Courtney of Mercury Hall was a pleasure to work with! The venue itself was perfect. Austin chic, Rustin, romantic and intimate. We're so happy we found this venue and used it to celebrate our life long commitment! The in house manager was great too, what a joy you all have been!
The inhouse lighting was superb! Crystal chandelier, outside string lighting and inside up lighting was great.

Thank you all again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Mercury Hall responded with the following comments:

Thanks Leah! It was great working with you too!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicola
Wedding:
3/8/2014
4.9/5.0
I fell in love with Mercury Hall and our wedding was beautiful!!! The most perfect day...even though it rained. If you haven't been to this venue yet, check it out. Stunning even w/o decor. You can decorate or not, have it outside or inside and the place is so charming. Courtney is great to work with also!!! Wouldn't have changed anything about our wedding there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Georgian
Wedding:
1/18/2014
4.5/5.0
We had our wedding reception at Mercury Hall. The venue is a beautiful space. Our yellow, grey and purple flowers on the white linens with the whitewashed walls made the space unbelievably simple and elegant. Our 110 guests were quite comfortable. There was plenty of room for 12 tables, and we even had enough room to dance.

I'm glad we hired a wedding planner, though. Mercury Hall staff was very hands-off.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
10/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Mercury Hall was the perfect backdrop for my fall wedding. Its antiqued feel is warm and inviting, and it's surprisingly adaptable to a range of decor. The grounds are lush and well-kept, while the light coming through the ancient oaks made a truly stunning altar. The staff is professional and very easy to work with. All my guests were raving!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Mercury Hall. The venue is absolutely beautiful. It worked perfect for our garden wedding and indoor reception. It's really great that you can do it all at one location. I knew even looking online that i wanted to get married here. The pictures are beautiful! But the hall and the grounds are breath taking in person.. A must see! You'll fall in love in a second!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I was a do it yourself bride. As soon as I stepped on to the property I knew I had to have my reception here. I had about 100-120 people inside the hall for a reception and there was plenty of room for dinner and dancing. The room is so beautiful with the high ceilings and the stain glassed windows. I didnt have to do a lot to make the place beautiful. Their list of vendors was very helpful in planning my wedding. The were responsive to all my emails and offeref chairs and tables for rental. THe property is well maintained the outside area is lovely. All the girlfriends fell in love with the place. THe pictures online don't do it justice, you have to see it in person!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Miki
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Mercury Hall was the best choice for us for our wedding. It was a good value, beautiful and historical, and intimate enough to make our friends and family feel like they were at a family reunion. I am so happy that we made our memories here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Great environment. Easy to book and work with. Awesome Experience
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
2/24/2013
3.4/5.0
The venue was beautiful, inexpensive and centrally located. They were very quick to return our deposit, which I appreciated.

That being said, they weren't that flexible about outside vendors, and the contact person was extremely hard to get ahold of, and not very personable when we did speak. Don't expect a high level of service, but I guess you get what you pay for?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Mercury Hall responded with the following comments:

I am sorry you were dis-satisfied with your experience. As I am in and out of the office, giving tours/appointments it sometimes can be difficult to catch me on the phone. I try to return all calls quickly and it is my goal to respond to emails within 48 hours, but usually sooner. Just depending on the season, sometimes it takes longer to get back to clients.
We have a preferred catering list because we trust how these caterers take care of you, as our client. Other than that, we prefer any additional rentals to go through Premiere Rentals, but we are flexible if you want to work with someone else. You can bring in any other decor/vendors you want to work with. Mercury Hall trusts the preferred caterers and Premiere to provide excellent service to our clients, and that is why they are preferred.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ilsefly
Wedding:
2/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I found this place last year when researching venues for an event at work and instantly fell in love. I knew that I would make it my mission to book this venue if at all possible, should I get engaged. The place is absolutely magical and made our day such. Little decor is required as the place stands well alone and photographs well. We are very pleased!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pete
Wedding:
11/30/2012
4.8/5.0
A small wedding chapel space in the middle of the city with a country feel. Amazing trees and lawn space that photos well and gives a lasting impression for you and your guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.8/5.0
I loved having my wedding at Mercury Hall! It was so beautiful and Courtney was so easy to work with. She didn't mind my many emails with questions and was always fast in responding. It was a bit pricey considering nothing was included. But, it was worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Charming, quaint, fabulous and glamourous, all wrapped up in one tucked away downtown Austin package. For the Austin bride who wants the perfect mix of indoor and outdoor charm.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.6/5.0
Mercury Hall was a gorgeous place to hold our wedding reception. The place is immaculate and exactly as promised. Courtney was very accommodating when we needed to do a walk-through or to check out the place. They are booked well in advance so we happen to get lucky with a cancellation. We got so many complimants on the beauty of the place and it was a perfect backdrop for our photos.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caris
Wedding:
7/6/2012
4.6/5.0
Let me start with the fact that we LOVE Mercury. It is beautiful and the only place that we saw that we liked both the aesthetics and location. We live in central Austin and wanted to have our wedding in central Austin, y'know? If I could live in Mercury Hall, I would.

So we had a little bit of trouble 11 days out from our wedding. Apparently a local cop came by and told Courtney that events with outdoor amplified sound all need a sound permit. Well, we had planned our ceremony outside and wanted to have a couple of songs played as well as having our officiant mic'd. So I panic and my husband jumps in and starts navigating city offices so that we can have sound at our ceremony. The folks at the city were super nice, but normally a permit like this takes 21 days to acquire. In reading the city ordinances, we realized that there is a limit to site permits of one per month. This meant that our permit would be the only one that could be issued to Mercury for 30days. That didn't seem right!

After spending the better part of a day navigating city permits, we emailed this info to Courtney. Within a couple days, she sent out another note saying that Mercury had gotten a site permit for sound (which they should've had ALL ALONG, this law isn't new), so there would be no need for each event to have a permit.

This caused a lot of anxiety shortly before our wedding and caused us both to miss some work totally unnecessarily. I think Mercury management should have been more proactive before panicking a bunch of people (e.g. talking to their lawyers first). Why the owners didn't have this in place years ago is a mystery, but it's done now. That said, this was really the only snafu. Mercury is a great basic venue -- they provide some tables and chairs and that's it. They also have quite a few rules about how you can and can't decorate -- be sure to read carefully and ask lots of questions!

All that being said, we would definitely rent Mercury again and recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susan
Wedding:
5/27/2012
3.9/5.0
The venue is gorgeous and I wouldn't have my wedding anywhere else. So despite my nit picky complaints below, it's such a perfect wedding setting, I'd probably use it if they told me I wasn't allowed to have guests!

My only complaint is about all of their rules. I know it's an old place and I don't want to destroy it. But they should at least provide some advice on how to hang things. Many of the photos of the hall show pom poms and lanterns hanging from the ceiling. I never figured out how we could hang anything. I was told no tape or nails and that we could use 3m sticky hooks, but on the wedding day, 3M hooks weren't allowed. I have yet to figure out how all the pom poms and lanterns shown in photos were hung.

I was also a little disappointed in their flexibility. There was not an event the next day and we asked if we could come back the next day to clean up the outside decorations (lanterns on trees) and possibly leave some decorations outside to pick up. One of the caterers we tried said they will usually let you do that if there's no event the next day, but the we weren't allowed to. We weren't asking to be let in the building the next day. Just to go in the yard and cut down lanterns from the trees!

Also note that flower girls can't throw petals. Not a big deal for me, but it might be for you.

Read your contract carefully to understand what you can and can't do.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mercuryhallbride
Wedding:
2/24/2012
4.8/5.0
Our very first wedding-related decision was to pick our venue. We tromped all over the greater Austin area, looking for a place that had beautiful outdoor space with a good indoor option in case of inclement weather (a real consideration when you get married in February!). We wanted something charming, warm, cozy, and a bit Austin-y. As soon as we saw Mercury Hall, it was a no-brainer: We immediately signed the contract. It it a gorgeous old building with hardwood floors and white clapboard walls surrounded by stately oak trees. The best part? It's smack dab in central Austin, which makes it a breeze for local and out-of-town guests alike. Oh, and did I mention that it provides amazing value for the price? Fantastic! Choosing Mercury Hall really set the tone for our day. We could not be happier with our decision!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1301868807770-caseyandleeann
LeeAnn
Wedding:
12/17/2011
4.9/5.0
I had my wedding at Mercury Hall in December and it was absolutely beautiful. A lot of people from Austin were surprised that they had never been there before. It's tucked away a little bit off of 1st Street. It feels very private and special. The parking is super easy for guests, and the price was really reasonable when I compared it to other venues.

The only reason why I didn't give full marks is because I was told that there would be a staff member on site to oversee everything at the wedding. I was told this person would help adjust the temperature and the lights. No one ever showed up, so I turned on the heat when I got there. When dancing started, I dimmed the lights myself. It wasn't a big deal, but it wasn't really something I should have had to worry about.

But again, it's absolutely beautiful and that was a minor issue to deal with. I'd definitely recommend checking it out for a special event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lily
Wedding:
10/22/2010
4.8/5.0
We fell in love with this venue the very first time we saw it. It had exactly everything we were looking for: in the city limits, but with a county/outdoorsy feel. We got many compliments on our choice of venue and how pretty and relaxing the atmosphere was. The owner of the venue hosts many open houses so you can get a hold of him that way, but at times it can be a little hard to reach him, which is why I gave them 4 stars at Responsiveness. It sometimes took a bit, but he always did get back to me and answer my questions which is why I gave four stars. Definitely recommend this venue. It is beautiful and sure to create a night you will always remember.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alart
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.2/5.0
The place is really pretty, however they should offer a package that includes set up and tear down. There is only one set of chairs, which isn't good. I am certain people would pay extra if they offered services that took care of setting up tables, chairs, centerpieces, etc. If you want a wedding on a low budget, this might be the place for you - but you get what you pay for. The owner was very nice and like I said the place is beautiful, but who wants to work like that the day of the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashleynoelmack
Wedding:
8/8/2010
4.8/5.0
Herb was great! I loved Mercury Hall, it is so beautiful on its own there is not a lot of need to make it prettier! We got so many compliments!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tracey
Wedding:
7/9/2010
4.9/5.0
Mercury Hall is a great place for a wedding! Herb is great, and its such an Austin kind of place to get married. I highly recommend this venue, its incredibly charming!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1257191963599-epic1
Kristin
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.5/5.0
We had our April wedding/reception at Mercury Hall and were extremely pleased with Herb and his staff. From the moment we put down the deposit, he was very responsive (we were planning our wedding from another city and had to email many times) and very flexible and accomodating to our needs. The day of went very smoothly and the grounds and hall were beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ssimpson
Wedding:
3/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Mercury Hall is a beautiful site for a wedding or any event. Well maintained, full of history, and a peaceful setting. We loved our wedding here and wouldn't have had it anywhere else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marykat33
Wedding:
9/18/2009
4.7/5.0
Herb from Mercury Hall was great to work with, friendly and totally let us take control of the place. He also had good recommendations for vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alisonkn
Wedding:
8/17/2007
4.8/5.0
Mercury Hall is gorgeous, inside and out. Located in downtown Austin off of S. 1st St, the hall is a relocated old church. With original wood floors, white walls and pretty stained glass windows, it is the perfect backdrop for your wedding. The outdoor area is wonderful too, with grounds to get married on if you so desire. A perfect place if you plan on having les than 150 in attendance. Very easy to work with, I was even able to get a VERY good deal because I booked late.

I've been to 2 other weddings here, and they always look beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Mercury Hall is fantastic!
The owners are really nice, easy to work with(bent over backwards for us) and gave us an excellent price!
We got married in 2004 but have heard that it has been remodeled since and is even more beautiful now.
We did not have to decorate much because the hall itself is beautiful -gorgeous stain glass -very classic and romantic.
We did our ceremony and our reception there. -My wonderful family did all the work preparing and decorating. After the ceremony, all the guests were led outside for the greeting and drinks while my family quickly rolled up the white carpet and set up the tables for the reception.
It was a fabulous and joyful night of celebration with wonderful family/friends, good food and fun dancing!
Thank you Mercury Hall!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We looked at several options when looking into the perfect venue. Once we came across Mercury as a referral from our caterer, we fell in love with it upon arrival. Having the ceremony and reception all at the same location was stress free and our guest appreciated the beautiful setting Mercury had to offer. Courtney at Mercury was so kind and appreciative that we had chosen Mercury to host our wedding. We love this space, history and peacefulness under the large live oaks. It was all that we wanted in a venue and more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Mercury Hall is beautiful and Courtney Landers was wonderful to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

FREE Table/Chair Rental!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $250 Value
When you book your Mercury Hall wedding for 2012 events, submit this coupon and receive free table/chair rental of Mercury Halls own inventory ($250 value)! Includes 150 white chairs, twelve round tables, three 6 foot tables and three 8 foot tables. Offer valid only at the time of booking (turning in contract and deposit).
Deal #WWa8d5b81cd0bde345
220x220_1334865247318-176

MAP

 
615 Cardinal Lane, Austin, TX 78704 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mercury Hall
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo