130x130_sq_1377545842405-umbrella-photo

Merrimack Valley Golf Club

Methuen , MA

LOCATION

210 Howe Street
Methuen, MA US 01844 (map)

PHONE

978-683-7771

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

PERFECT TIMING...
Thank you for considering our beautiful new venue for your wedding day. We welcome you to the most beautiful new wedding destination in eastern Massachusetts, your... Read more
PERFECT TIMING...
Thank you for considering our beautiful new venue for your wedding day. We welcome you to the most beautiful new wedding destination in eastern Massachusetts, your timing is impeccable. There will be no finer setting in the Merrimack Valley befitting your once-in-a-lifetime occasion.

Overlooking 150 acres of a neatly manicured 18-hole golf course, pristine ponds and the undulating woody hills of southern New Hampshire, the Club has a breathtaking setting that will make your celebration complete. The stunning sunset is a spectacle that should not be missed.

The venue at Merrimack Valley Golf Club will insure that your wedding day far surpasses your expectations, and guarantees that the entire planning process will be stress-free and enjoyable. You are about to embark on a journey that starts with making the first of many thoughtful decisions. It will culminate with the perfect day that brings your guests together in celebration of your marriage. It will be the day you've always dreamed of.

Our three indoor event spaces, Equinox Ballroom, Sunset and Aurora rooms are sophisticated and dramatic locations for your event. The design embraces the natural beauty and serenity of the surrounding environment. Each room has unique architectural features with cathedral ceilings and walls of windows and the expansive outdoor patios overlooking the golf course are the perfect location for intimate conversations and photo opportunities. Luxurious soft fabrics and polished hardwood floors make for a striking yet harmonious transition between the indoor and outdoor spaces. The interiors are tastefully decorated, presenting a neutral setting to be dressed up in stunning fashion with your colors and details. We look forward to helping you celebrate your wedding in style. We realize the importance of your day and we pride ourselves in celebrating





…ONE WEDDING AT A TIME Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1266331826011-bostonuplightsmerrimackvalleygc
130x130_sq_1303741284646-mvgcmarch12wedding2
130x130_sq_1266331849701-picture091
130x130_sq_1266331900629-merrimackcca
130x130_sq_1365629990817-tenderloin-pic1
130x130_sq_1303741246320-mvgcmarch12wedding1
130x130_sq_1266331882783-picture103
130x130_sq_1266331938305-picture126
130x130_sq_1365629930478-photo1-4
130x130_sq_1365630067441-bridal-shower-21
130x130_sq_1365630155337-katheryn-and-jason-0011
130x130_sq_1303741335284-escortcards3
130x130_sq_1260548477075-picture025
130x130_sq_1266349989785-picture034
130x130_sq_1260548535653-picture041
130x130_sq_1260548571512-picture084
130x130_sq_1363883700229-120505jm1310
130x130_sq_1363883736791-120505jm1114
130x130_sq_1365629656330-passedhorsd1
130x130_sq_1369333617557-153
130x130_sq_1369333673031-219
130x130_sq_1369333724040-451y9024
130x130_sq_1369333725833-451y9702
130x130_sq_1369333734102-451y0326
130x130_sq_1369333768650-view
130x130_sq_1369333803736-tortellini
130x130_sq_1369333858759-tom-basil-buffalo-mozz
130x130_sq_1369333860972-sunsetroom
130x130_sq_1369333891326-sunset
130x130_sq_1369333916259-salmon-pic
130x130_sq_1369333970950-071212-photo-2
130x130_sq_1369334033559-bridal-shower-4
130x130_sq_1369334061089-ronkoliasphoto02knot
130x130_sq_1369334063048-ronkoliasphoto01knot
130x130_sq_1373496862229-cake
130x130_sq_1373496897216-guestbook
130x130_sq_1373496921716-sunset
130x130_sq_1373497030238-monogram-on-dance-floor
130x130_sq_1373498828054-img-0064
130x130_sq_1373498851608-img-0602
130x130_sq_1373498863355-img-0641
130x130_sq_1373498872790-img-0655
130x130_sq_1373498882325-img-0659
130x130_sq_1373498891661-img-0661
130x130_sq_1373498902993-img-0666
130x130_sq_1373498923286-img-0676
130x130_sq_1373498932608-img-0769-edited

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2009
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
180
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
195
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
195
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son in law got married at Merrimack Valley Golf Club in May 2014. He is in the military so they were planning the wedding long distance, because of this I worked closely with Michelle Ambra as the mother of the bride.

From the first meeting to tour the facility, signing contracts, the food tasting, rehearsal and wedding day itself, she was always a pleasure to deal with. The facility is beautiful, loved the fact that it was the only function going on in the building. Was so nice to know it was just our guests.

They had an outdoor ceremony on the grounds and we had a beautiful day, but also loved the fact that in case of bad weather we had a back up plan to be able to use the separate room upstairs. Many venues I looked at in the event of bad weather the ceremony would have been just on the dance floor with guests at their tables. Knowing we had a nice back up plan helped relieve the weather stress issue.

The place is beautifully landscaped, even with the late start to spring this year, I had emailed Michelle just a week before the wedding to inquire if the flower beds would be planted in time for the wedding. She assured me they would be, and they were!

The food was fabulous ( be sure to go to the food tasting hungry, lots to sample) and served in a timely manner by friendly and helpful staff.

I had booked the wedding while attending a bridal show at Merrimack Valley Golf Club, so we got some extra perks, everything that was promised to us was delivered and fantastic.

The wedding was all we had hoped for, we received many compliments. I highly recommend the venue and simply elegant catering who runs it.

Laurie C
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
It was everything I expected and more! They where very attentive and professional. The food was excellent!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot imagine a better place for our wedding! It was centrally located, very clean (I'm in the service industry so this is big), and beauuuuuuutiful sunsets! The course is in great shape and my guests commented on the view calling it "breathtaking" and "a stunning backdrop" for our ceremony.
Jameson, who is the bar manager, was more than accommodating with some last minute changes and requests on my part- never making us feel like a nuciance. Service is A+ and the scenery is to die for! Fantastic pictures!!!

Sam and Michele are awesome. The food was out of this world and they even stepped up to help me get a cake 3 days before my wedding when my cake vendor backed out. They truly go above and beyond and it completely made the difference in my day. I couldn't have asked for a more supportive, efficient team!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sabrina
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue! The landscape for photos was breathtaking. Michelle and Sam are excellent and have a good thing going there. All our guests commented on how their food was not dry when wedding food tends to be. They set the room up perfect like we envisioned and their staff were excellent to us and our guests. They had an excellent food selection it was tough making our decisions when we did our tasting. There wasn't anything we really disliked. Food excellent, staff excellent! You need to use this venue for your wedding bottom line!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
adelia
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Merrimack valley gold club was the ideal location to have my wedding. The staff was amazing, the ceremony location was beautiful, the food was great and the service throughout the whole wedding process was phenomenal. Thank you to everyone who made my day unforgettable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1326167676818-carshow007
Stacy
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely gorgeous venue! Michele and Sam are amazing and the venue is so lucky to have them!! My wedding was the best night of my life thanks to these 2 and their amazing staff!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
From beginning to end, I felt incredible support through the journey of planning my wedding. Sam, Michele, Audrie and all the staff were attentive, helpful, present and fun. Weeks after our event, we're still hearing from our guests about how amazing the food was, how beautiful the space was and how great the staff were. This kind of feedback is the ultimate compliment to a hard working bride. I give all the credit to Merrimack Valley Gold Club! They were accommodating, kind and gracious even through the unexpected. This group of wonderful people made 'My Day' exactly that. I didn't have to worry about anything. The vendors' needs were met, my families' needs were met, and I was treated like the princess I wanted to be on that day. One story I keep hearing from my guests is one that, in the hustle of the day, I missed, but love to share it's magic. I heard that as we were all dancing and celebrating, the waitstaff were standing off to the side. They had on their professional black and white, they stood, stoically in a line prepared to step up to meet guests needs. A fun song began to play and the staff cautiously looked around then broke out into a celebratory dance. They then, quickly composed themselves and returned to their professional state. I love this story because these actions made my guests laugh and helped some of my stuffier guests loosen up! My husband and I talked for hours during our wedding planning process, about the intentions we had for the wedding celebration. We always agreed that we wanted Joy, love and laughter. Thanks to everyone at Merrimack Valley Golf Club, our celebration was brimming with Joy, Love and Laughter! I highly recommend this vendor for the bride and groom who want no drama and deserve to be treated with respect, kindness and compassion. Terri Naroian
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
Whitney
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
The Merrimack Valley Golf Club was exactly what we envisioned for our wedding day. It is a gorgeous venue, the price is right and Michele and Sam were great to work with. Many of our guests had never been to the venue before and were raving over how beautiful it was. We had perfect weather and the outdoor scenery was to die for! I would definitely recommend MVGC - we wouldn't have changed a thing about the venue or the food catered by Simply Elegant Catering!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough nice things about the staff with Simply Elegant Catering at the Merrimack Valley Golf Club. The food was delicious, the decor was perfect, the staff was so nice and helpful, and the planning before was seamless. My wedding was booked with the prior catering company and Michelle was extremely kind and patient with me during the transition.

5 stars to Simply Elegant Catering at Merrimack Valley Golf Club! You will not be disappointed if you book with them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Merrimack Valley Golf Club and Simply Elegant Catering were amazing. The food was delicious and no one went home hungry. The ballroom, bar, bridal suite and grounds were perfect and I could not have asked for better staff.

Michelle Ambra and her team are great! I would recommend them to any bride and groom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
micjac
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
From the tasting to the rehearsal to the actual, magical moment of the wedding, we were treated like royalty. Attention to detail was key and both Michele and Sam assured us of this. They were always available for any questions we had and were very flexible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joan
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter got married at MVGC and everything was so lovely. From the staff to the decor and everything inbetween. Absolutely beautiful venue...highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
MVGC was the most amazing place to be married! We were married right on site which was so convenient for our guests! Michele, Sam, and the rest of the crew went above and beyond to make our day/night such a special one. We were able to take pictures on the back deck wihile the sun was setting and now have the most beautiful pictures! Wonderful venue and people...definitely recommend MVGC!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
olga
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Excellent venue!!!! The staff was just wonderful to work with, very attentive to our needs!!!! Gorgeous inside and out!!!! Food was delicious....all our guests talked about how wonderful Merrimack Valley Golf Club was for weeks. We are actually attending a friend's wedding there this fall!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1318524127536-img4132
Olga
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Where do I start. The place is gorgeous!!!! Very modern!!! The food was delicious!!! The staff was wonderful!! The landscape is amazing, we went out on the golf course and did a photo walk. I would highly recommend this venue to all the couples looking to book a modern venue!!! This place e was beautiful!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Great company great service and a beautiful venue ... I got married at the Merrimack golf course and Simply Elegant Catering (the in house caterers) did such a great job... The food was plentiful and delicious and service was outstanding ... My bride and I had our own personal server which was great... People who were guests at the wedding made comments like " you can't get a filet dinner like this in Boston" the owner Sam and his wife Michelle really make you feel like you are their most important customers ... I would recommend simply elegant catering to anyone looking to get married or even hold any type of function.
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MAUREEN
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
From start to finish - the staff at the Merrimack Valley Golf Club--- the presentation- the quality--- the facility-- absolutely fabulous--- would re-live the entire day all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Methuengirl
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue.
Amazing food.
Tremendous service.
Thanks for making my wedding everything I dreamed of!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CherylMancini
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
This was a great choice for our wedding. Everyone at the MVGC was very professional from the moment we started planning to our final goodbye.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.6/5.0
We truly loved hosting our wedding reception at Merrimack Valley. It was a prefect setting for our a beautiful sunset and my purple themed reception. The in house catering is amazing and will take of everything for you. The bar is handled seperately from the catering and that was my only small hick up. Just make sure you stay on top of your bar selection and what you need. What really makes this venue amazing, is the hardwood floors, chivary chairs, outdoor patio and bridal suite. The fact that you can host your ceremony outdoors onsite, is a plus as well! We loved this place and can't wait to go back for another event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
This Venue is extremely beautiful. Picture perfect place to have a wedding. It seems like the staff doesn’t have much experience in planning a wedding so they could use work in that area. They could have paid a little more attention to the bride and groom during the wedding and what they wanted also. They were a little too opinionated and should have gone over more details with us instead of saying not to worry. I was a little unhappy with the way the ceremony was laid out and I wish they went over that with me first instead of thinking I would like where they place all my hired musicians. Besides that though the place is amazing and very nicely keep.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1280451691605-cupcakeweddingcakes300x300
soontobemrspanag
Wedding:
7/9/2011
3.9/5.0
This venue is extremely beautiful and exactly what I was looking for to hold my ceremony and reception at a decent price. In the beginning, after my contract was signed, I also had trouble with contacting people and the venue switched caterers three times while I was planning my wedding. This made it very difficult and stressful to believe everything would work out. However, once the got their final caterer (simply Elegant Catering...reviewed separately), everything went smoothly and we were more than happy with how everything was working out. The one thing that bothered me was that my husband left multiple messages to get in touch with the owner about the bar and he never returned calls. I had to go there and seek him out personally (the week of my wedding). However, he was nice and I was pleased that he honored the champagne toast that was in our original contract (the caterer does not have a liquor license so that is handled through the venue). We also ended up with a lot more space than we had originally thought due to the restaurant there closing as well. The gentleman who took us out into the golf course for pictures was kind and funny. All in all, everything ended up working out very well and in our favor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
9/1/2013
3.4/5.0
I loved Michele and Sam from Simply Elegant catering they did a great job and this review has nothing to do with them. I actually wish they had more control of the golf course. The grounds were very nice and the the reception area was beautiful with the hard wood floors. The cocktail hour in the bar and patio had awesome views of the golf course. The bridal suite was very nice add on and loved how we had a separate area for the bridal party. I didn't really like how I had to talked to separate person for bar service and wasn't thrilled about the 20% admin charge. Also, the golf office seems little bit disorganized. We ended up paying for a foursome of golf that should of been free. However, they offered us a free round when we come back.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
5/29/2011
2.2/5.0
Pros: the food was great, and the venue is gorgeous. Cons: everything else. In the 15 months between booking the venue and the actual wedding, the venue changed caterers (and event staff) 3 times - so I ended up with at least 6 different contact people at the venue who were 'in charge' of the wedding at various times. They were actually completely without caterers for a couple months over the winter, 5 months before the wedding. Unfortunately for us, we were planning long distance and had wanted to do a tasting at that time. We were unable to, and had to fly up closer to the wedding specifically to do a tasting (and then the tasting had to be rescheduled because of venue error). The venue itself does NOT provide event staff, so all event planning goes through the caterers. The caterers at the time of our wedding did not have a designated event planner, even though the package provided at the time of our booking included one. We didn't receive any kind of apology, acknowledgment, or compensation for the MANY issues we encountered with the venue, and we tried to contact the club owners on multiple occasions, via phone and email to talk about our displeasure and all the issues. Also, on the day of the wedding, about 10 minutes before the ceremony, we learned that the AC in the ballroom was not able to cool it adequately (and our wedding was in May!), so it remained warm and stuffy throughout the reception. Overall, working with this venue just soured and ruined our whole wedding planning experience. I would not recommend it. (Unless, you are already planning to hire your own wedding planner and will not have any contact with the venue at all).
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

DEALS

Available Fall Wedding Date for 2014
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $2,500 Value
Saturday, September 13, 2014 is still available! We are waiving the deposit of $2,500 for this open date!
Deal #WW7685b6daa52071ea
220x220_1377545842405-umbrella-photo
There are no room rental fees for wedding packages.
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
There are no room rental fees for wedding packages.
Deal #WWbbc30cedafbdf2aa
220x220_1377545842405-umbrella-photo

MAP

 
210 Howe Street, Methuen, MA 01844 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Merrimack Valley Golf Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1377545842405-umbrella-photo