130x130_sq_1311634498979-waitingtowed

Merry Maui Weddings

Kihei , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

483 S. Kihei Rd #214
Kihei, HI US 96753 (map)

PHONE

888-588-0400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

With exquisite Maui wedding photography by Vincent Salamander
What we offer that sets us apart is ultra-high quality wedding photos with exclusive photography by Vincent Salamander... Read more
With exquisite Maui wedding photography by Vincent Salamander
What we offer that sets us apart is ultra-high quality wedding photos with exclusive photography by Vincent Salamander (see portfolio) at Maui’s least expensive prices. Although we have - by far - the lowest prices for the level of quality we offer, we have the happiest clients. Read our client testimonials - you won’t believe your eyes. We’ve been collecting them since 2002, and have, literally, hundreds for you to read. Just because we’ve been in business for 7 years now and have done over 1,000 weddings, doesn’t mean we’ve begun to rest on our laurels. Happy customers are our #1 goal. We still have ecstatically happy customers - wedding after wedding after wedding.

Don’t you want to be happy and save money at the same time? If so, we are your logical choice! Accredited by the BBB and given an "A" rating! Also members of MWA, MWN, HVCB.

Super High-Quality Photo Weddings from $395 + tax! No Hidden Charges!

TOLL-FREE 7 DAY TELEPHONE SUPPORT - (888)588-0400 OR (808)357-1171 Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1218008374126-just_maui'd_500x500
130x130_sq_1218008510766-flowergirlhulaonbeach
130x130_sq_1218008598923-58340022-square
130x130_sq_1218008687641-minor
130x130_sq_1218008813298-74650005
130x130_sq_1218008894563-10-06-04025
130x130_sq_1218009022391-img_0995
130x130_sq_1218009195876-58360024-square

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Digital Files, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
sepia, b&w
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
sunset photography, broad daylight, overcast, indoor
Is your media preference film or digital?
digital only
How many photographers do you work with?
exclusively offer Vincent Salamander for our photo wedding packages, but photographer can be changed to any available photographer.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
yes
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
camera, lenses, flashes, reflectors
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
yes
Do you charge hourly or full day?
price included in wedding package pricing, but additional time can be purchased at $300/hr.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
yes. $300/hr.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
two.
Do you charge for travel?
to Moloka'i, $400. to the Big Island, $500. No travel charges on Maui, except to Hana, which is $300.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
No proofs. Customer gets all images after editing.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
If proofing required, in the instance of picking enlargements or pictures for a photo book, we either send out a photo CD, or make the images available for download from our servers via the internet.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
we share the photo rights with the customer and there is no additional charge for this, either.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
yes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
if customer pays for a gallery, otherwise, no.
What kind of albums do you offer?
custom published photo books only
When will the client get the final album?
up to 3 months

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
How many planners do you work with?
three.
What style of wedding do you specialize in planning?
discount musical photo wedding package planning and wedding & reception event planning.
What sizes of weddings have you coordinated in the past?
bride & groom only to 80 pax.
Which venues have you worked at or are familiar with?
Familiar with and have worked with most venues on Maui.

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aj
Wedding:
6/16/2014
5.0/5.0
The wedding turned out great. The customer service was outstanding and the wedding location was a surprise. The photographer was also 5 star
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We used Merry Maui Weddings for the videography at our brief ceremony. Ayesha was very responsive and helpful in her e-mail and phone communications prior to our wedding date, and very flexible (we had planned an outdoor ceremony and changed the venue and timing several times during the week just before the wedding!). She and her colleague arrived at our venue early in order to set up their equipment, and helped to ensure that the camera angles were good and that we and our minister were "photogenic". She gave us the completed raw-footage video disc of the ceremony as soon as we were finished, and it turned out very well! It was exactly what we wanted.... A true-to-life recording of our wedding! Pricing was extremely reasonable.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
We very much enjoyed our experience with Merry Maui weddings. We worked closely with Ayesha for our planning and the ceremony was perfect. Ayesha was quick with responding to emails and everything was handled very professionally. We changed the venue for our ceremony 2 days before and they were very flexible. We have not yet received our photos but the photographer showed us some as she took them and they were outstanding! We received our marriage license within three weeks. I would highly recommend merry Maui weddings to anyone looking for a wedding planner on the island. Great value and easy to work with!
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.5/5.0
We were just recently married in Maui and had booked our date with Merry Maui Weddings about a year in advance. Ayesha provided a lovely ceremony and the flowers, cake, etc, were everything we wanted. We had a wonderful day, perfect weather, and a great location.

I just recently received my photos and am terribly disappointed. When I chose a wedding planner photography was one of the most important things to us. We only had a few family members come to the wedding so we relied on beautiful photos to capture our wonderful wedding. The website advertised (and still does) a photographer that they do not work with any longer. We were told about a month before the wedding that another professional photographer would be at our wedding. I wasn't too worried because I figured "Who could screw up pictures of a beautiful sunset wedding in Hawaii", well, it happened. We ended up with several hundred pictures and I would not consider framing a single one. The lighting was off, the angles were bad,she included several photos with our eyes closed and they look very unprofessional. My friend took much better photos on her camera phone. I am still shocked at how bad these pictures turned out, and instead of looking at them and being reminded of what a wonderful, once in a lifetime day we had, I nearly burst into tears when I look at them. I am so embarrassed I don't want to even show them to my friends and family! It is pretty obvious that they did not provide professional photography.

It is unfortunate that everything else with the wedding went well, and the pictures ruined the positive things I have to say about Merry Maui Weddings. I think if you want to use them, I would recommend not using their photographer, you would be better off having your friends and family take photos. I am devastated that our special day was no captured well, and there is nothing that can be done about it.
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
1/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing:)   
I would definitely recommend Merry Maui Weddings, they did a great job!
Our wedding turned out better than we thought it would be. Our package was very affordable, but the quality of service was great. Jeanny and Ayesha were there to answer our questions every step of the way. Our minister Kai was wonderful and our ceremony was very heart felt. He also stayed after the ceremony and played music while we were taking photos. Our photographer Lia was fun to work with and made us feel very comfortable. She went above and beyond to get the perfect shots and she even gave us an extra 15 min cause we were having so much fun. We just received our photos and they are stunning! We are very happy with the way everything turned out. Thanks for making our special day so memorable:)
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.2/5.0
Do not trust these people with your wedding!

My (now) husband and I weren't married for several months because they messed up the paperwork, absolutely unacceptable. 2/3 of the flowers didn't arrive (the ones that did were incorrect) and I still haven't received a refund after 4 months. They're disorganized, they're unprofessional and you may or may nto be ACTUALLY married.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Merry Maui Weddings responded with the following comments:

I am sorry this bride is disappointed with our services and the beautiful wedding she received.

It is true that two guest leis were not present as there was a misunderstanding of what she ordered, which we should have verified. We sent her a check to refund the leis quite some time ago.

The minister did everything he was supposed to in regard to her marriage certificate but the State of Hawaii made a mistake and did not enter it. A new system is in place that ocaisionally has glitches, though not often anymore.

The day, the bride let us know about this problem, the minister set out to correct it and did, as soon as possible. They were always legally married. the health department simply failed to enter it, upon their new website. It was easily corrected and would have been sooner if they had let us know sooner. The website had informed the minister, that the wedding certificate was confirmed and he had no way to know it had not.

I am sad, that because of a couple of communication glitches, that have been corrected already, this new wife wants to cause people to think we won't do a good job, because we care very much and we do an excellent job. We are not always completely perfect and neither are computers but we do our best and most think it is wonderful.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Our beach wedding on makena beach was absolutely everything and more that we could have ever imagined. Ayesha's words were beautiful and so meaningful to us. She even gave us a special heart shaped piece of white coral/rock that she found for us. We couldnt have asked for a better minister. Leah and Jeannie were fabulous to work with and helped make our experience very enjoyable!! We got so many hugs and smiles and kind words and wishes. Planning a wedding wether its big or small, from far away can be stressful but there is no doubt that putting our trust into Merry Maui Weddings was the right choice. Thank you so much to Ayesha, Leah and Jeannie for making our day perfect. We will always remember you and feel so blessed to have had this experience. We cant wait to see the pictures!! :) ALOHA!! :)

With so much love from,
Josh and Kelsey Panoch (Portland, OR)
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
5/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding with Merry Maui Weddings was so beautiful and moving. They were a pleasure to work with. The day, the setting and the ceremony were just perfect in every way – everything we had hoped for. Ayesha's words were true and timeless, and the ceremony was perfect and meaningful. The photos were all that we had hoped. And top of all that, amazing value.
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/21/2012
1.5/5.0
Wedding was nice, follow-up was not what it should've been.
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Venue
Merry Maui Weddings responded with the following comments:

This review is inaccurate, mean- spirited and distorted. This bride had a beautiful wedding that we worked so conscientiously on. There was one problem with a free video, that we worked diligently to correct the best we could but she was determined to hurt us. We will stay in business, and continue to provide quality weddings for many people. Please read our other reviews.
Ayesha
Default-vendor-profile-pic
qtpie2827
Wedding:
12/12/2011
5.0/5.0
They did an absolutely wonder ful job. The ceremony was beautiful and the vows were perfect. The photographer took a lot of time to make sure the picture came out just right and they did. The pictures were better than I could have expected. The pictures captured every moment.
Services Used: Officiant, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Merry Maui weddings was not the first place I called to inquire about a Maui Wedding. But they were one of the few who actually answered when I called (and called, and called, LOL) . I shopped around to probably about 7 different wedding outfits and submitted at least 5 online requests. Vincent was the only one who answered each and every time.

I called Merry Maui Weddings 6 days before we wanted to get married in a panic. You see, I am a world-class procrastinator, though not always by choice. In this case I had to leave for Maui with less than a week’s notice for work and thought it would be wonderful to bring my wonderful girlfriend of 4 years along with for a surprise wedding in Maui. Let me also add, not only am I a procrastinator, but I am also budget conscience. Making there job twice as hard. =)

When I first called, I actually caught Vincent (owner/photographer) on his way to another scheduled wedding, but he still took the time to talk with me and make me feel comfortable with the whole process. We spoke briefly about the options he had available and I followed up with him the next day. Vincent was able to confirm my wedding date over the phone, accept payment over the phone and confirm the whole package with ease. I was amazed at how easy he made it.

When our big day came, we got excellent directions and met Vincent and his Wife (the lovely Hawaiian minister) at one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The spot they recommended was a pretty area with perfectly manicured grass, lovely swaying palm trees with waves crashing in the backdrop behind us. We also had the option to have the ceremony directly on the beach, but chose the grassy area above to be able to have a variety of pictures.

The ceremony was performed by Vincent’s wife, who did a lovely job of administering her version of the traditional Hawaiian ceremony. At the end, we got to exchange lei’s and were allowed the opportunity to exchange our own vows.

After the ceremony, we went down to the beach and took several pictures. Vincent is an excellent photographer, he told us exactly where to go and stand and took some of the best pictures of my now wife I have ever seen (he actually showed us some of them after it was all over on his camera so we had a sneak peak). My wife is the first to tell you that she is not very camera friendly, but Vincent was able to capture her in the same way that I see her… the most beautifully bride in the WHOLE world!

In closing I want everyone to know just how perfect Merry Maui Weddings made our special day. Somehow they were able to give us everything we wanted, in the time frame we wanted and all for a price that was more than reasonable. I mentioned at the beginning that I was in a hurry, but I did shop around and I encourage you to the do the same. But I promise you will not find a better value than Merry Maui weddings, and when it’s all said and done you will thank me.

Note: I also want to add that Vincent has continued to reply promptly to my queries even now after our wedding (and getting paid) he has gone above and beyond the call of duty. I feel doubly blessed to have picked not only the perfect wife, but the perfect wedding planner/minister/photographer. Thank you Merry Maui Weddings!!!
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lulu702
Wedding:
7/21/2011
5.0/5.0
WOW! Our Merry Maui Wedding was amazing. The location was beautiful overlooking the ocean with sunset in the background. We couldn’t have ask for more. From the beginning with the photos, music, and our circle of love. We loved it and it felt so loving and natural right on the sand. If you are planning a beach wedding I would defiantly recommend them. They were always there for me and everything came out perfect just by planning it over the phone. We are so happy, we feel like our wedding was so special because of Merry Maui Weddings. We were so blessed that everything came out so beautiful.
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.7/5.0
I CANNOT recommend Merry Maui Weddings to my worst enemy!!
Your wedding is supposed to be the most special day, you are supposed to be crying because you are so happy, not because there is still a bride and groom and the exact location, with the same company, at the time your wedding is supposed to start and because your flowers, that you paid and extra $100 for to have the "premium selection" were rotting and disgusting!!

The flowers looked as if they were picked off the side of the road on the way to the wedding, they look like the kind you would pick on the side of a freeway that are covered in bugs and half dried out! (there were no bugs surprisingly)!!
The colors we chose were not represented AT ALL....
Half the guest leis were good, half were obviously a bit older...

Now, the worst part, the photography!!! My family that were there took much better photos with their point and shoot than were provided by this "photographer"..half the photos, not even kidding, have either his wife sitting in a double person red lawn chair with an umbrella in the background, his kid who was "learning to be a photographer" or had SUCH bad lighting or exposure!! We do not have even ONE of his photographs displayed in our house, they are too embarrassing!!
We paid extra for the "24 hour photo rush" which was NOT 24 hours, and then they were just put on a website that you can only access for a week! well we stayed in Maui for more than a week, so when we got home, we no longer had access to the photos! AND we are pretty sure NONE were edited!

The only thing worth the money was the extra we paid for a true hawaiian minister that played the ukulele and sung!! ( but again, Vincent and his "team" messed that up buy not playing OUR WEDDING DANCE SONG and instead played the song we specifically requested NOT be played for our first dance....even thinking about it I am FUMING!!!!)

DON'T DO IT!!!!!!
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Kings
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Vincent and Ayesha were fantastic at making our destination wedding perfectly picturesque! Vincent had wonderful planning suggestions from the accommodations to our choice of beach. They made our wedding planning as easy as I can imagine it can be. We didn't have to worry about anything. They were always available by phone or email to answer questions and they were very well planned and professional with our ceremony.
Vincent took wonderful photographs to remember our special day and I will always cherish our Merry Maui wedding! Mahalo Vincent and Ayesha!!
The Kings
Services Used: Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Timothy
Wedding:
4/8/2011
4.9/5.0
MERRY MAUI WEDDINGS Did a wonderfull job with everything that we asked for. Vincent & Ayesha are awsome. We had a small weather issue and they were very flexable and made it the best it could be. Again the wedding was awsome. We are so happy and cound not have started our marrage any better
Thanks so much
Timothy & Stephanie Courtney
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning
Wwnetwork-128
Rishel
Wedding:
11/18/2010
1.1/5.0
It is extremely unfortunate that I CAN NOT recommend Merry Maui Weddings for your memorable wedding experience. While my husband and I were pleased with the wedding location (Charley Young Beach) and the musical talent at the wedding, we were left disappointed with the execution of the ceremony and the quality of the photography. During our ceremony the owner/reverend (Ayesha) spoke so softly that none of our guests could hear anything she said. This was very disappointing for our guests who spent thousands of dollars to see our wedding. Our largest complaint, by far, is the photography services provided by the owner Vincent Salamander. Nearly every shot that was taken during the ceremony cut off my husbands head! If his head wasn’t cut off, then a large portion of his body was instead. We found very few pictures that were actually worth paying for. Vincent clearly didn’t take the time to frame the shot before snapping the photo, since heads, bodies, feet, etc. were continually cut off. This seems like something that even basic amateur photographers would make sure to do. He makes the claim on his sight that he takes; something to the effect of, artistic non-portrait pictures but really the majority of the “artistic” photos of our wedding were completely unusable since any remaining portion of my husbands head would be covered up by the boarder of a frame. Our wedding would have been just as successful if one of our guests would have taken the photographs instead of us paying Merry Maui Weddings for amature photos. If you are on this site to consider choosing Merry Maui Weddings: PLEASE, beware when you purchase your dream wedding package, that Merry Maui Weddings is more then likely NOT your best choice. Take the experience of others, like me, to heart. I would hate to see your wedding day memories completely ruined because some guy with a $2k camera thinks he’s a “photographer”. If you think that they offer a ‘good priced package’ please consider the quality of what that price is going to get you.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cardinal11
Wedding:
11/14/2009
1.3/5.0
We were married last year, and also found Merry Maui weddings to be well under the expected level of service. It seems that this company is better suited to small beach weddings wih only the couple. Highly organized weddings are not their forte! We had quite a large wedding, and felt that due to the higher costs involved that they would put in more of an effort to showcase their abilities. However we were mistaken, as we felt as if we were being more of a bother to them. Who is paying who anyways!?

Further, at our wedding the owners/ operators made an appearance to oversee the wedding, but did not stay until the end. We never saw them again, without so much as a congratulations. We felt that this was rude to say the least.

As well at our wedding we had asked our coordinators to move some items, but they declined saying that they were too heavy. As a result, my 65 year old aunt went and moved the items herself.

Following our wedding, we both reflected about how we had to arrange outside agencies such as a DJ, cake, etc with minimal assistance from our coordinators. It appears that Merry Maui Weddings has minimal knowledge of companies and individuals who provide services on Maui for weddings. Rather, they choose to promote those within the Maui Wedding Association(whom they are a part of), and no others.

As you can see, the effort and care that Merry Maui Weddings put forth towards our wedding was minimal at best, and we would not recommend them to any couple wishing to be married on Maui.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CeCe
Wedding:
2/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Merry Maui Weddings was definitely Exceptional. They gave us an absolutely beautiful wedding. The venue was a botanical garden and the ceremony was sacred and like a dream. Their service was second to none. Vincent and Aisha went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. They were prompt in returning all of my calls and emails all through the planning process. They were very patient and very sincere. They spent so much extra time making sure that they captured the perfect photos that we will forever cherish. They are true Christians and I think the best wedding planners you could ever ask for. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to get married in Maui. We had the time of our life. I give them an A+++++. 5 STARS.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Videography
Merry Maui Weddings responded with the following comments:

Dear Cece

Aloha. We just now discovered your kind and generous testimony. We don't look at this website often but were so thrilled to see this.

I hope that you two are doing well. God bless you abundantly.

Ayesha
130x130_sq_1199371940456-n6842484_39166194_4094
Kelly
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
We are from Indiana and wanted to get married in Maui, It would have been very hard to plan a wedding a million miles away without the putting our full trust in them. We are glad we did. The wedding was beautiful. I wanted a traditional "hawiian minister" and that is exactly what i got. the photos were amazing. the wedding was at sunset and vincent knew exactly what to do to get the pictures just right. I couldnt have asked for anything better. They were so nice and so easy to work with. The 5 hr time difference didnt even become and issure while planning either. they suggested a wonderful restaurant to go to after as well as the condo we stayed in. they were right on with everything. I cant stress enough how wonderful they are.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Videography, Unique Services

MAP

 
483 S. Kihei Rd #214, Kihei, HI 96753 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Merry Maui Weddings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1311634498979-waitingtowed