130x130 sq 1471212791 9f8a9a414ff98912 2016 christinazenphotography mghairandmakeup 600x600

MG Hair and Makeup

New York , NY

LOCATION

the nation's premier on-site hair and makeup services, we come to you for on-location/in-home blowouts, updos, hairstyling and makeup
New York, NY 10022 US (map)

PHONE

917-279-7086

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Look like you -- only better.



On the most important day of your life, our goal is to make sure that your day is as stress-free and enjoyable as possible in your... Read more
Look like you -- only better.



On the most important day of your life, our goal is to make sure that your day is as stress-free and enjoyable as possible in your process of becoming a more beautiful you. We want to make sure that on the day of your wedding, as a million and one things race through your mind, you can relax knowing that no matter what happens, you look gorgeous in pictures and in person. And that everything else - the decorations, the flowers, the cake, the gown - pales in comparison to your radiance. And that is priceless.

MG Hair and Makeup is the nation's premier on-site hair and makeup service. Whether for a large bridal party or just the bride, we travel to you wherever you are getting ready for your big day. We also offer in-home blowouts, hairstyling and makeup for engagement photo shoots, bridal showers, bachelorette parties, rehearsal dinners, and other special occasions when you want to look your best.

We were inducted in The Knot's Best of Weddings Hall of Fame and chosen as the Editor's Pick for The Knot Best of 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016 for New York, New Jersey, Minnesota, Chicago, DC/Maryland/Virginia, and Long Island. Our work has been featured in various local and national publications including The Knot’s National Magazine, multiple editions of The Knot’s Local Magazines, Ceci New York, Inside Weddings, Aisle Society, Style Me Pretty, Every Last Detail, Elizabeth Anne Designs, Premier Bride, New York Magazine, Real Simple, World Bride Magazine, Minnesota Bride, Mpls/St. Paul Magazine, Minnesota Monthly as well as on Entertainment Tonight, CNBC, Bloom.com, Gilt City, WE TV's Get Married and David Tutera's My Fair Wedding, TLC's Randy to the Rescue, Curvy Brides and on the couture fashion shows of The Wedding Salon New York, The Weddings Event NYC as well as on the runways of New York's Bridal Fashion Week.

Since 2003, MG Hair and Makeup has also been creating the hair and makeup for the main stage and couture fashion shows of the five-time international award winning producers, The Wedding Guys®, who produce the Unveiled Wedding Event nationwide and also the TrendSpot Fashion Show for Bridal Fashion Week. Megan is also quoted in many online and print beauty articles for The Knot and collaborates with The Knot China as their Western Beauty Expert. Megan and her team have contributed to the multi-award winning Trend Weddings produced each year by The Wedding Guys®, as well as Love is a Cure, an annual breast cancer benefit with 100% of the proceeds benefiting breast cancer survivors and their families. MG Hair and Makeup also sponsors beauty nights for Covenant House's homeless teen mothers program.

We also offer beauty lessons, DIY makeup kits as well as sell some of our favorite makeup products and tools for brides to look as great everyday as they do on their wedding day! Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1449183280458 tice wedding mountainview manor christina zen film
130x130 sq 1449183880847 runway watters 184x242
130x130 sq 1449183705924 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv246sm
130x130 sq 1472045198426 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 06
130x130 sq 1425476031466 byjennykim cover 332x500
130x130 sq 1472045230962 seangallery olga selection 022
130x130 sq 1432837737027 kelly faetanini wedding dresses 2016 57 e143069412
130x130 sq 1449183440632 laurenbrendencurranlfp297
130x130 sq 1432837345687 20150420ivyandaster 201
130x130 sq 1472045205126 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 04
130x130 sq 1265374073209 mghairandmakeup3
130x130 sq 1425479656037 amytim 414
130x130 sq 1449183825832 img7105
130x130 sq 1472045273254  mirellecarmichaelwattersspring2016301
130x130 sq 1425476043467 bylinajang cover 332x500
130x130 sq 1428410864610 byjennbarnett
130x130 sq 1433799431488 jr1471
130x130 sq 1432837315391 20150420ivyandaster 397
130x130 sq 1449183479564 laurenbrendencurranlfp196
130x130 sq 1428410795189 bybillfredricks
130x130 sq 1449183876746 runway allure 184x242
130x130 sq 1425479310899 maisa fw15faetanini173
130x130 sq 1433799945301 103862766573922343599363539092152893842693n 1
130x130 sq 1432837714388 kf runway
130x130 sq 1472045248068 mirellecarmichaelwattersspring2016455
130x130 sq 1425475956166 beautify mg gilt image 5 b
130x130 sq 1449183417872 laurenbrendencurranlfp447
130x130 sq 1265374012225 mghairandmakeup2
130x130 sq 1425479641754 amytim 511
130x130 sq 1425476054370 0316genajoshwparty 123x120
130x130 sq 1425476025373 byash cover 332x500
130x130 sq 1265374114740 mghairandmakeup4
130x130 sq 1425479342377 dasha fw15faetanini094
130x130 sq 1425479256425 clara fw15faetanini054
130x130 sq 1428410881299 bykeithlathrop
130x130 sq 1433799445363 jr1450
130x130 sq 1449183335852 tice wedding mountainview manor christina zen film
130x130 sq 1432837730555 kelly faetanini wedding dresses 2016 0
130x130 sq 1432837721545 kelly faetanini wedding dresses 2016 38 e143069397
130x130 sq 1432837725627 kelly faetanini wedding dresses 2016 36 e143069396
130x130 sq 1449183714906 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv251sm
130x130 sq 1449183701608 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv240sm
130x130 sq 1428410859776 by kate mcgough 73410012d
130x130 sq 1428410813295 by lina jang photography 2
130x130 sq 1265374174943 mghairandmakeup5
130x130 sq 1428410854396 by life on prints 3
130x130 sq 1472045198442 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 05
130x130 sq 1425476008909 beautify mg gilt image 3
130x130 sq 1425475963052 beautify mg gilt image 6
130x130 sq 1265374662600 mghairandmakeup10b
130x130 sq 1425475997147 beautify mg gilt image 2
130x130 sq 1425475984368 beautify mg gilt image 4
130x130 sq 1425475972915 beautify mg gilt image 5
130x130 sq 1428410870744 bymsch
130x130 sq 1425479282611 giovanna fw15faetanini086
130x130 sq 1428410833654 by jenn barnett 2
130x130 sq 1265374222006 mghairandmakeup6
130x130 sq 1449183692657 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv236sm
130x130 sq 1265374468693 mghairandmakeup9
130x130 sq 1428410857645 by life on prints 2
130x130 sq 1265374398787 mghairandmakeup8
130x130 sq 1432837472679 20150420ivyandaster 435
130x130 sq 1432837331691 20150420ivyandaster 259
130x130 sq 1432837326672 20150420ivyandaster 273
130x130 sq 1432837339611 20150420ivyandaster flowerbomb480
130x130 sq 1449183253904 tice wedding mountainview manor christina zen film
130x130 sq 1449183307505 tice wedding mountainview manor christina zen film
130x130 sq 1432837489023 20150420ivyandaster 423
130x130 sq 1425476065749 1179genajosh
130x130 sq 1432837335657 20150420ivyandaster 177botanical beauty3300
130x130 sq 1432837320199 20150420ivyandaster 372 duo
130x130 sq 1432837355397 20150420ivyandaster 314
130x130 sq 1265374367350 mghairandmakeup7
130x130 sq 1449183697004 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv239sm
130x130 sq 1449183720012 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv252sm
130x130 sq 1472045210561 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 03
130x130 sq 1449183729279 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv261sm
130x130 sq 1472045223370 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 01
130x130 sq 1449183724086 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv260sm
130x130 sq 1472045217152 harley hall photography stylized shoot 2016 02
130x130 sq 1265374614225 mghairandmakeup10a
130x130 sq 1449183687946 cecistylemagazinecovercecijohnsonv268sm
130x130 sq 1265374431147 mghairandmakeup8a
130x130 sq 1428410876057 bycoppersmith5a
130x130 sq 1265374504584 mghairandmakeup9a
130x130 sq 1428410798085 by natural expressions ny
130x130 sq 1265374686303 mghairandmakeuplogo
130x130 sq 1265374290740 mghairandmakeup6a

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Consultations, Group Discounts, Group Services, Hair, Licensed, Makeup, Multiple Stylists, On-Site Service, Trial Service
What hair services do you offer?
Blowouts, Hair Extensions, Textured Hair Styling, Updos/Styling
What makeup services do you offer?
Airbrush Makeup, Contour Makeup, Fake Lashes, Tattoo Coverage
What is the maximum group size you can accommodate?
1000

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Olga
Wedding:
7/23/2016
5.0/5.0
I found MG Hair & Makeup after my first wedding hair and makeup trial with another vendor went terribly. I am so happy that I did!

My artist was Cinthya, who was so nice and so very talented. I had a trial with her first and she came right to my apartment, which was very convenient. She created the look I asked for and it looked amazing. I did end up changing my mind about the makeup look after the trial and wanted something a bit different, so I was a little worried how it would look on the day of the wedding as I wasn’t doing another trial.
On the day of the wedding, Cinthya was early and ready to set up. She first did hair for my two maids of honor and then did my look. As amazing as I thought my trial look was, my wedding look was about 1000 times better. I didn’t think that was even possible.

It was one of the hottest days of the year, reaching almost 100 that day, I was so worried about my makeup holding up and my hair staying put. Our first dance was also a fast swing dance, where my husband had to flip me upside down, so I really needed my hair to hold through all of this and it did! Cinthya made sure to do my makeup in a way that would not only hold up through the heat but also make me look fresh and glowy, without looking sweaty. Even when I thought I was sweating, my face didn’t show it. I also normally don’t wear much makeup so I really didn’t want the cakey look a lot of brides have, and Cinthya made sure to make it look natural and still look amazing in photos.
My hair never lost it’s volume or shape, and didn’t even look like it had much hairspray in it, it looked so natural and pretty. She did an amazing job! Thank you Cinthya!
I found MG Hair & Makeup after my first wedding hair and makeup trial with another vendor went terribly. I am so happy Read more...
I found MG Hair & Makeup after my first wedding hair and makeup trial with another vendor went terribly. I am so happy that I did!

My artist was Cinthya, who was so nice and so very talented. I had a trial with her first and she came right to my apartment, which was very convenient. She created the look I asked for and it looked amazing. I did end up changing my mind about the makeup look after the trial and wanted something a bit different, so I was a little worried how it would look on the day of the wedding as I wasn’t doing another trial.
On the day of the wedding, Cinthya was early and ready to set up. She first did hair for my two maids of honor and then did my look. As amazing as I thought my trial look was, my wedding look was about 1000 times better. I didn’t think that was even possible.

It was one of the hottest days of the year, reaching almost 100 that day, I was so worried about my makeup holding up and my hair staying put. Our first dance was also a fast swing dance, where my husband had to flip me upside down, so I really needed my hair to hold through all of this and it did! Cinthya made sure to do my makeup in a way that would not only hold up through the heat but also make me look fresh and glowy, without looking sweaty. Even when I thought I was sweating, my face didn’t show it. I also normally don’t wear much makeup so I really didn’t want the cakey look a lot of brides have, and Cinthya made sure to make it look natural and still look amazing in photos.
My hair never lost it’s volume or shape, and didn’t even look like it had much hairspray in it, it looked so natural and pretty. She did an amazing job! Thank you Cinthya! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Jackie
Wedding:
7/23/2016
5.0/5.0
Talia was so amazing- I could not have asked for a better hair and makeup stylist! She made my whole bridal party feel absolutely beautiful after getting their hair done. My mother-in-law was especially happy! When I looked in the mirror after my appointment, I looked exactly how I had always envisioned myself on my wedding day! She was extremely efficient and we actually finished all of the appointments early. She was also very friendly and easy to talk to. She's the best!
Talia was so amazing- I could not have asked for a better hair and makeup stylist! She made my whole bridal party feel Read more...
Talia was so amazing- I could not have asked for a better hair and makeup stylist! She made my whole bridal party feel absolutely beautiful after getting their hair done. My mother-in-law was especially happy! When I looked in the mirror after my appointment, I looked exactly how I had always envisioned myself on my wedding day! She was extremely efficient and we actually finished all of the appointments early. She was also very friendly and easy to talk to. She's the best! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/21/2016
5.0/5.0
Very nice people to work with and very responsive. Very professional and take careful note of critiques and preferences.
Very nice people to work with and very responsive. Very professional and take careful note of critiques and preferences.
Very nice people to work with and very responsive. Very professional and take careful note of critiques and preferences. Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Lana
Wedding:
3/12/2016
5.0/5.0
MG Hair and Make up were super helpful for my crazy short term booking. Denise communicated very well with me and I just loved how she accommodated all my requests.
Ashley was beyond awesome and she did my trial in under 2 hours. She just got what I wanted and she was so nice! I enjoyed it so much. She is very patient! My moms make up and hairstyle stayed fresh till the late evening, which is much more than what I even expected! Ashley is MUCH recommended!
MG Hair and Make up were super helpful for my crazy short term booking. Denise communicated very well with me and I just Read more...
MG Hair and Make up were super helpful for my crazy short term booking. Denise communicated very well with me and I just loved how she accommodated all my requests.
Ashley was beyond awesome and she did my trial in under 2 hours. She just got what I wanted and she was so nice! I enjoyed it so much. She is very patient! My moms make up and hairstyle stayed fresh till the late evening, which is much more than what I even expected! Ashley is MUCH recommended! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Meg
Wedding:
12/24/2015
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I eloped in New York last Christmas Eve. As we are both Australian and had never been to New York before it was very daunting having to book everything we needed online. We found MG Hair and Make up online and found them to be extremely reasonably priced compared to other vendors and extremely responsive in responding to emails with detail. I had Ashley come to our hotel room to do my hair and make up on the morning of our big day. As it was just the two of us it was so nice to have such an amazing, kind, down-to-earth person come and share the morning getting ready with me. She listened to everything I wanted and I could not have hoped for my hair and make-up to turn a good out any better. My hair stayed curled all day which was so important as we had our photos several hours after the ceremony. Ashley also featured in our wedding video and was as good sport to pretend to continue putting make up on me so we could get the perfect footage. I am so thrilled to have met her and to have stumbled across MG Hair and make up on my google search. I would recommend them to anyone!!
My fiance and I eloped in New York last Christmas Eve. As we are both Australian and had never been to New York before it Read more...
My fiance and I eloped in New York last Christmas Eve. As we are both Australian and had never been to New York before it was very daunting having to book everything we needed online. We found MG Hair and Make up online and found them to be extremely reasonably priced compared to other vendors and extremely responsive in responding to emails with detail. I had Ashley come to our hotel room to do my hair and make up on the morning of our big day. As it was just the two of us it was so nice to have such an amazing, kind, down-to-earth person come and share the morning getting ready with me. She listened to everything I wanted and I could not have hoped for my hair and make-up to turn a good out any better. My hair stayed curled all day which was so important as we had our photos several hours after the ceremony. Ashley also featured in our wedding video and was as good sport to pretend to continue putting make up on me so we could get the perfect footage. I am so thrilled to have met her and to have stumbled across MG Hair and make up on my google search. I would recommend them to anyone!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend MG Hair & Makeup! We had a complicated booking- 14 women at two different locations in the hamptons- and Denise coordinated everything seamlessly. Ashley was so helpful during the trial, and her friendly and mellow demeanor was perfect for the crazy morning of the wedding! All three artists were super professional and highly skilled- everyone from my husband's 90 year old grandma to our three year old flower girl looked great!
I highly recommend MG Hair & Makeup! We had a complicated booking- 14 women at two different locations in the hamptons- Read more...
I highly recommend MG Hair & Makeup! We had a complicated booking- 14 women at two different locations in the hamptons- and Denise coordinated everything seamlessly. Ashley was so helpful during the trial, and her friendly and mellow demeanor was perfect for the crazy morning of the wedding! All three artists were super professional and highly skilled- everyone from my husband's 90 year old grandma to our three year old flower girl looked great! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/22/2015
5.0/5.0
Finding MG Hair & Make-up was a key moment during my engagement period. I so, so strongly recommend this company and my artist in particular, Ashley, and would like to highlight a few points:

Responsiveness/Staff support:
-Denise responded to every email of mine within the hour, if not within 10 minutes. Even on weekends. Your questions will be answered promptly and thoroughly
-When I had reservations about the training each artist received and the service I would receive, their founder and director offered to speak with me. We did, I am convinced of their expertise, and I am beyond grateful I went with MG.

Style preference:
-Make-up: natural, while still looking good in pictures (I am an asian female)
-Hair: loose curls, half-up/half-down (I have thick, long hair)

Quality of service:
-WOW. I don't usually get my make-up done because I don't trust others to know my face well enough, but Ashley blew me away. She made my make-up so good, and I still looked like myself. The right features were highlighted, and the make-up stayed on all day/night.
-My sister was so impressed after the trial that we reserved time for Ashley to do her make-up on wedding day as well

Flexibility:
-Ashley met me, in my apartment, at 2:45am for my make-up trial. No extra charge. How crazy is that?! I wanted to schedule my trial before my engagement photoshoot, which we decided to do at sunrise. I half-jokingly asked if I could have my make-up done before then, and to my great shock, MG accommodated! You can't get more flexibility and selfless service than this.

Value:
-Outstanding service for affordable rates

I will recommend MG Hair and Make-up to all future brides I know, and would do the same for anyone reading this review!
Finding MG Hair & Make-up was a key moment during my engagement period. I so, so strongly recommend this company and my Read more...
Finding MG Hair & Make-up was a key moment during my engagement period. I so, so strongly recommend this company and my artist in particular, Ashley, and would like to highlight a few points:

Responsiveness/Staff support:
-Denise responded to every email of mine within the hour, if not within 10 minutes. Even on weekends. Your questions will be answered promptly and thoroughly
-When I had reservations about the training each artist received and the service I would receive, their founder and director offered to speak with me. We did, I am convinced of their expertise, and I am beyond grateful I went with MG.

Style preference:
-Make-up: natural, while still looking good in pictures (I am an asian female)
-Hair: loose curls, half-up/half-down (I have thick, long hair)

Quality of service:
-WOW. I don't usually get my make-up done because I don't trust others to know my face well enough, but Ashley blew me away. She made my make-up so good, and I still looked like myself. The right features were highlighted, and the make-up stayed on all day/night.
-My sister was so impressed after the trial that we reserved time for Ashley to do her make-up on wedding day as well

Flexibility:
-Ashley met me, in my apartment, at 2:45am for my make-up trial. No extra charge. How crazy is that?! I wanted to schedule my trial before my engagement photoshoot, which we decided to do at sunrise. I half-jokingly asked if I could have my make-up done before then, and to my great shock, MG accommodated! You can't get more flexibility and selfless service than this.

Value:
-Outstanding service for affordable rates

I will recommend MG Hair and Make-up to all future brides I know, and would do the same for anyone reading this review! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Manali
Wedding:
8/1/2015
5.0/5.0
I am very, very happy with the services provided to me by MG. They provided me with two hair and make up looks for my Wedding and Reception. First, the woman who coordinates the scheduling of your trial and event is Denise, and she is incredibly accommodating and responsive. She answers emails super quickly and found ways to accommodate our needs. Second, the specific person who did my hair and makeup, Ebony, was AMAZING. When she came to do my trial, she was super friendly, took extra time to understand what I wanted, created amazing looks for my day and evening events. In addition to being very skilled at hair and makeup , she is also so precise, punctual and just a very nice person. I felt very lucky to have her there on my big day. I highly recommend MG for anyone who is looking for hair and makeup services. They made me look gorgeous and moreover, they gave me one less thing to worry about on my wedding day. Big thanks to them, and Ebony!
I am very, very happy with the services provided to me by MG. They provided me with two hair and make up looks for my Read more...
I am very, very happy with the services provided to me by MG. They provided me with two hair and make up looks for my Wedding and Reception. First, the woman who coordinates the scheduling of your trial and event is Denise, and she is incredibly accommodating and responsive. She answers emails super quickly and found ways to accommodate our needs. Second, the specific person who did my hair and makeup, Ebony, was AMAZING. When she came to do my trial, she was super friendly, took extra time to understand what I wanted, created amazing looks for my day and evening events. In addition to being very skilled at hair and makeup , she is also so precise, punctual and just a very nice person. I felt very lucky to have her there on my big day. I highly recommend MG for anyone who is looking for hair and makeup services. They made me look gorgeous and moreover, they gave me one less thing to worry about on my wedding day. Big thanks to them, and Ebony! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Bianca
Wedding:
7/3/2015
5.0/5.0
I used their services for hair and makeup for myself and my 9 bridesmaids for my wedding. Ashley did my trial and hair/makeup on the day of, and I was so pleased with the results! She gave me the perfect look and was so fun to chat with! They were so responsive and organized, creating a schedule for the 10 of us to get ready that worked with our busy wedding schedule. I honestly could not have been happier with this vendor!!
I used their services for hair and makeup for myself and my 9 bridesmaids for my wedding. Ashley did my trial and Read more...
I used their services for hair and makeup for myself and my 9 bridesmaids for my wedding. Ashley did my trial and hair/makeup on the day of, and I was so pleased with the results! She gave me the perfect look and was so fun to chat with! They were so responsive and organized, creating a schedule for the 10 of us to get ready that worked with our busy wedding schedule. I honestly could not have been happier with this vendor!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have been happier with this service! The schedule Denise created for us on the big day worked out perfectly. Everyone was very happy with Ashley, Cinthya and Silvia. They did a wonderful job with all girls' hair and makeup. And they even arrived early (which was much appreciated). I have to give a special shout-out to Ashley (who did my hair and makeup). She was absolutely lovely to work with and did a fantastic job.
I couldn't have been happier with this service! The schedule Denise created for us on the big day worked out perfectly. Read more...
I couldn't have been happier with this service! The schedule Denise created for us on the big day worked out perfectly. Everyone was very happy with Ashley, Cinthya and Silvia. They did a wonderful job with all girls' hair and makeup. And they even arrived early (which was much appreciated). I have to give a special shout-out to Ashley (who did my hair and makeup). She was absolutely lovely to work with and did a fantastic job. Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health

DEALS

Special Rates for Large Bridal Parties
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
For over 12 bridal party/mothers' services (i.e. 6 others' hair and makeup OR 10 others' hair and 2 others' makeup OR 4 others' hair and 8 others' makeup, etc.) in addition to your hair and makeup (the bride), receive between 20% - 25% off of the regular rates for bridal party/mothers' services.
Deal #WWc1b2c93e027a5815
220x220 1471212791 9f8a9a414ff98912 2016 christinazenphotography mghairandmakeup 600x600

MAP

 
the nation's premier on-site hair and makeup services, we come to you for on-location/in-home blowouts, updos, hairstyling and makeup, New York, NY 10022 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MG Hair and Makeup
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1471212791 9f8a9a414ff98912 2016 christinazenphotography mghairandmakeup 600x600