130x130 sq 1353084922959 1353084663542sharon
(8)

Michael Monar Photography

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

458 N Green St.
Chicago, IL 60642 US

PHONE

917-971-9799

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Michael Monar began his career under the tutelage of the prestigious and world recognized David LaChappelle Studio in New York City from 1999 through 2002. As a photo and studio... Read more
Michael Monar began his career under the tutelage of the prestigious and world recognized David LaChappelle Studio in New York City from 1999 through 2002. As a photo and studio assistant, he was privy to the workings of a photography giant, learning and aiding in the production and editing of images for a number of major magazines, advertising campaigns and celebrity shoots; from Vogue to Vanity Fair, Sheseido to Absolut.

After completing his BFA in photography and art history at Indiana University in 2002, Monar continued to stretch his range as owner and director of his own gallery, Gallery Mornea of Evanston, IL. Designing and directing the building of the space himself, Monar brought an atmosphere of the sophisticated art community to the North Shore. Even while maintaining the gallery, Monar continued to freelance for such clients as the Annie Leibovitz Studio, Chicago Magazine and Boss Modeling Agency, amongst others.

Today as owner of Michael Monar Photography, he brings his experience and innovation to each project. Working closely with clients, he personally tailors each proposal to their needs. From first concept to final product, Monar is instrumental in designing and creating images as well as print materials for whatever you demand.

Demonstrating a wide range of ability, Monar works in a variety of fields while bringing his artistic touch to each. Highly experienced in portraiture, Monar spans the range from individual shoots to publicity stills. You may find extensive examples of his images amongst many prominent Chicago politicians such as Aldermen Toni Preckwinkle, Howard Brookins, Commissioner Joe Berrios as well as candidates Jay Paul Deratany, Judge Thaddeus Wilson.

As a wedding photographer, Monar regularly travels cross country to meet the needs of his clients. Capturing the fleeting moments that unite to create that special day is one of his many talents, including an eye for the unique.

In addition to portraiture, Monar brings his touch to trade and industry shoots. Recently published in Kee Magazine, his article "Denim and Diesel" about auctions in the Midwest brings a quotidian subject to stunning life through his words and images. Additionally, Monar will soon attend the University of Chicago Dept. of Oriental Studies to Syria, documenting their momentous Hamoukar dig.

From weddings to portraits, trade stills to special events, Michael Monar Photography will work with you to realize your ideas. With his experience, not only technically but artistically, Monar can transform your vision into reality. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1353084265274 halperin2
130x130 sq 1353084613076 staceyryan
130x130 sq 1353084514917 icecreamtruck
130x130 sq 1233678166425 derstinewedding 0011
130x130 sq 1353084351526 halperin1
130x130 sq 1233678269785 derstinewedding 0023b
130x130 sq 1353084663542 sharon
130x130 sq 1233678339128 400202 0093b
130x130 sq 1233678435894 dolehide 0561b
130x130 sq 1233678504582 ebiewedding 0016b
130x130 sq 1233678602363 ebiewedding 0021b
130x130 sq 1233678665457 dorrwedding 0002b
130x130 sq 1233678710816 georgeandmichelle2406
130x130 sq 1233678790972 dorrwedding 0003b
130x130 sq 1233678906597 ebiewedding 00291b
130x130 sq 1233678979488 baum0001
130x130 sq 1233679056722 475695 0029b
130x130 sq 1233679148691 derstinewedding 0014b
130x130 sq 1233679204378 ebiewedding 00321b
130x130 sq 1233679262941 georgeandmichelle2407
130x130 sq 1233679351175 jessica9
130x130 sq 1233679448519 hattieandmichael0033
130x130 sq 1233679543410 kelly12
130x130 sq 1233679606191 megan1
130x130 sq 1233679673613 megan2
130x130 sq 1233679747394 megan4
130x130 sq 1233679817832 megan5
130x130 sq 1233679887988 megan7
130x130 sq 1233679947769 megan8
130x130 sq 1233680200832 rosenbaumwedding 0030
130x130 sq 1233680459785 wed003b

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Stacey
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael Monar was our photographer for our 9/1/12 wedding -- and he was wonderful!

From our initial meeting, he impressed my father (who is an amateur photographer himself) and me. Not only did we approve of his portfolio and background, but my father approved of Michael's answers to all of his tricky photography questions!

Michael was very organized, calling me a week before to discuss the photography shot schedule, which ended up getting changed the day of due to inclement weather. Despite the changes, Michael was happy to go with the flow!

We really appreciated all the impromptu shots he took because the trolley driver ended up getting lost on the way to the venue, so there wasn't enough time in between the ceremony and reception for group portraits. You would never be able to tell though because Michael still managed to take over 700 photos for us -- and we loved them all! We can't wait to see our finished album!

We would definitely recommend Michael as a wedding photographer. He is extremely professional, and his photos are phenomenal!
Michael Monar was our photographer for our 9/1/12 wedding -- and he was wonderful!

From our initial meeting, he Read more...
Michael Monar was our photographer for our 9/1/12 wedding -- and he was wonderful!

From our initial meeting, he impressed my father (who is an amateur photographer himself) and me. Not only did we approve of his portfolio and background, but my father approved of Michael's answers to all of his tricky photography questions!

Michael was very organized, calling me a week before to discuss the photography shot schedule, which ended up getting changed the day of due to inclement weather. Despite the changes, Michael was happy to go with the flow!

We really appreciated all the impromptu shots he took because the trolley driver ended up getting lost on the way to the venue, so there wasn't enough time in between the ceremony and reception for group portraits. You would never be able to tell though because Michael still managed to take over 700 photos for us -- and we loved them all! We can't wait to see our finished album!

We would definitely recommend Michael as a wedding photographer. He is extremely professional, and his photos are phenomenal! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Alireza
Wedding:
3/24/2011
5.0/5.0
We are so delightful to have Michael in our 3/24/11 wedding. He is a fascinating photographer and a great guy. The unique thing about him is that you never feel someone is taking a photo of you. You just have to live your wedding day and you might not even notice him at some points but he is somewhere special and taking special photos.

While we were planning our wedding, we looked for a good and reliable photographer for more than 2 months. When we first saw his website, we were impressed with the amazing photos. I called him to set a meeting to see his works. From the very first moment that we saw him, we were both impressed. He never stopped smiling and he was so positive. He even helped us plan our wedding day.

He was supper flexible as well. We changed the wedding plans just a week before the wedding and he didn't even complain. On the wedding day, he was on-time and very well organized. He was with us from early in the morning to late at night. He had no intention of leaving and I finally asked him to leave because he looked so tired after 12 hours of continuous working. He was wonderful.

We would definitely recommend Michael not only because of his great photos, but also because of his great personality.
We are so delightful to have Michael in our 3/24/11 wedding. He is a fascinating photographer and a great guy. The unique Read more...
We are so delightful to have Michael in our 3/24/11 wedding. He is a fascinating photographer and a great guy. The unique thing about him is that you never feel someone is taking a photo of you. You just have to live your wedding day and you might not even notice him at some points but he is somewhere special and taking special photos.

While we were planning our wedding, we looked for a good and reliable photographer for more than 2 months. When we first saw his website, we were impressed with the amazing photos. I called him to set a meeting to see his works. From the very first moment that we saw him, we were both impressed. He never stopped smiling and he was so positive. He even helped us plan our wedding day.

He was supper flexible as well. We changed the wedding plans just a week before the wedding and he didn't even complain. On the wedding day, he was on-time and very well organized. He was with us from early in the morning to late at night. He had no intention of leaving and I finally asked him to leave because he looked so tired after 12 hours of continuous working. He was wonderful.

We would definitely recommend Michael not only because of his great photos, but also because of his great personality. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Bg22
NewMrs
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
We were able to work with Michael Monar through Bella Pictures. Michael was the best! He captured great candid moments and also beautiful posed photos. He did a wonderful job and we were so happy to have him. I'd recommend him to anyone! He is a really nice guy, very flexible and fun to work with, as well as incredibly talented and professional. Our photos are gorgeous!!
We were able to work with Michael Monar through Bella Pictures. Michael was the best! He captured great candid moments and Read more...
We were able to work with Michael Monar through Bella Pictures. Michael was the best! He captured great candid moments and also beautiful posed photos. He did a wonderful job and we were so happy to have him. I'd recommend him to anyone! He is a really nice guy, very flexible and fun to work with, as well as incredibly talented and professional. Our photos are gorgeous!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
nkm
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
amazingly talented - great photojournalistic photography - very professional - one of the nicest, most flexible people i have ever met! a pleasure to have at our wedding, and to capture the day perfectly!
amazingly talented - great photojournalistic photography - very professional - one of the nicest, most flexible people i Read more...
amazingly talented - great photojournalistic photography - very professional - one of the nicest, most flexible people i have ever met! a pleasure to have at our wedding, and to capture the day perfectly! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/1/2009
5.0/5.0
THE most amazing photographs! I found him extremely creative and easy to work with- a great combination! His photographs are truly a work of art, we have many displayed in our condo. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for something unique and cutting edge.
THE most amazing photographs! I found him extremely creative and easy to work with- a great combination! His photographs Read more...
THE most amazing photographs! I found him extremely creative and easy to work with- a great combination! His photographs are truly a work of art, we have many displayed in our condo. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for something unique and cutting edge. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1207019246609 flsb'08087
Valerie
Wedding:
1/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We were able to work with Michael through Bella Pictures. He took absolutely stunning pictures, we are so incredibly thrilled with each of the pictures Michael took. He was very professional and I feel like I didn't even see him while he was shooting because he wasn't intrusive, but still captured each moment perfectly. He did a great job of getting great candid photos as well as beautiful posed photos.
We were able to work with Michael through Bella Pictures. He took absolutely stunning pictures, we are so incredibly Read more...
We were able to work with Michael through Bella Pictures. He took absolutely stunning pictures, we are so incredibly thrilled with each of the pictures Michael took. He was very professional and I feel like I didn't even see him while he was shooting because he wasn't intrusive, but still captured each moment perfectly. He did a great job of getting great candid photos as well as beautiful posed photos. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
miamia
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
I understand that ranking 5 stars across the board seems over the top, but Michael was the truest professional. He responded quickly to my inquiry, set up a meeting, came prepared with a photobook of past work and sheets on his rates, and helped find a package in our budget range. He also was not rude to us when we told him our wedding was only 3 months away like some other photographers had been.
He contacted us several times before the wedding with ideas for location shoots between our ceremony and reception, like we wanted.
On the day of the wedding, he was on time (actually, he was 20 minutes early!), dressed in an all black outfit (black pants, black dress shirt with dark tie), and got right to business. The pre-wedding shots of me and my girls getting ready are all magazine quality!
He had his own transportation. We didn't even see him during the wedding, he was so stealthy. During the reception we even had to tell him to grab a bite to eat because he didn't stop.

Needless to say, he didn't miss a moment. He got every picture that we wanted, and some we even forgot to ask for (including pictures of our wedding invitations, the program, the flowers, the shoes, the limo, etc etc). The poor guy even got soaked with us when it began to hail all of a sudden during our outdoor pictures. But we got some amazing shots (a few with a gorgeous rainbow background) despite it.

What can I say? Michael Monar was fantastic.
I understand that ranking 5 stars across the board seems over the top, but Michael was the truest professional. He Read more...
I understand that ranking 5 stars across the board seems over the top, but Michael was the truest professional. He responded quickly to my inquiry, set up a meeting, came prepared with a photobook of past work and sheets on his rates, and helped find a package in our budget range. He also was not rude to us when we told him our wedding was only 3 months away like some other photographers had been.
He contacted us several times before the wedding with ideas for location shoots between our ceremony and reception, like we wanted.
On the day of the wedding, he was on time (actually, he was 20 minutes early!), dressed in an all black outfit (black pants, black dress shirt with dark tie), and got right to business. The pre-wedding shots of me and my girls getting ready are all magazine quality!
He had his own transportation. We didn't even see him during the wedding, he was so stealthy. During the reception we even had to tell him to grab a bite to eat because he didn't stop.

Needless to say, he didn't miss a moment. He got every picture that we wanted, and some we even forgot to ask for (including pictures of our wedding invitations, the program, the flowers, the shoes, the limo, etc etc). The poor guy even got soaked with us when it began to hail all of a sudden during our outdoor pictures. But we got some amazing shots (a few with a gorgeous rainbow background) despite it.

What can I say? Michael Monar was fantastic. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Michael Monar Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1353084922959 1353084663542sharon