130x130_sq_1355531030970-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1003

Michael Stephens Photography

Atascadero , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Atascadero, CA US 93422

PHONE

805-703-4477

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are Michael Stephens Photography. We LOVE weddings. We love capturing images of all the details and small, quiet moments as well as the exhilarating, heart pounding events that make... Read more
We are Michael Stephens Photography. We LOVE weddings. We love capturing images of all the details and small, quiet moments as well as the exhilarating, heart pounding events that make up your most special of days.

We are based out of San Luis Obispo County, CA, one of the MOST stunning areas we've ever experienced. We love working with natural light, shooting into the sun and framing stunning images.

We believe that everyone is created beautiful and unique and we want to capture that. Working out of the Central Coast of California has allowed us to photograph couples and families in some of the most beautiful, natural settings in the whole world. Still, the very best of it all, is you. We want to be there to document this amazing part of your journey through life.

Together, lets capture moments that you can look back on, years from now, and laugh, cry, re-live and love. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1355531120605-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1000
130x130_sq_1355531129518-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1001
130x130_sq_1355531134137-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1002
130x130_sq_1355531143796-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1003
130x130_sq_1355531153981-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1004
130x130_sq_1355531159695-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1005
130x130_sq_1355531164934-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1006
130x130_sq_1355531170609-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1007
130x130_sq_1355531174897-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1008
130x130_sq_1355531181480-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1009
130x130_sq_1355531186527-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1010
130x130_sq_1355531192863-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1011
130x130_sq_1357950492912-wiseborrowedandblue1015
130x130_sq_1357950527483-wiseborrowedandblue1016
130x130_sq_1357950558349-wiseborrowedandblue1020
130x130_sq_1357950605610-wiseborrowedandblue1021
130x130_sq_1357950653362-wiseborrowedandblue1022
130x130_sq_1357950701337-wiseborrowedandblue1024
130x130_sq_1357950746244-wiseborrowedandblue1025
130x130_sq_1357950825627-wiseborrowedandblue1037

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
11/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Truly amazing photography! I would definitely recommend to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We got married in Morro Bay, California, but we are from Toronto, Canada, so we had to rely on Internet reviews like these to find our wedding photographer. Michael Stephens was very well reviewed, and he did not disappoint!! Michael was quick to reply to emails, and he was always very helpful and polite in his responses. We hired him for only two hours, as we had a very small and intimate ceremony, but he arrived and started early, making sure we never felt pressured about running out of time. Michael had lots of great ideas for poses and backgrounds, taking us all around the beach and main shopping strip as we had requested. Michael was easy to talk to and he kept us laughing the whole time! We felt very at ease, and had a lot of fun throughout the whole photo shoot. We told Michael that we wanted to make a slide show with our pictures for the reception we planned to have back home, and he assured us that we'd have the photos in time, and we did! We got our photos back very quickly, and they are amazing! Michael did a fantastic job of capturing our special day and bringing our personalities out in the photos he took. We are extremely happy with how the photographs turned out, as well as with the experience of working with Michael! We would definitely recommend Michael Stephens to anyone looking for a fun, friendly and creative photographer :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Mike and Mekenzi were very fun and made us feel comfortable! They blended with the flow of the wedding with ease and never made it feel like the perfect shot was more important than the wedding and our guests enjoyment. When something needed to be done they always stepped up to help us, from offering to help us find an affordable DJ to last minute hair fixes and hiking steep hills to get the perfect sunset pictures. We are so happy we chose Mike and Mekenzi to document our engagement and wedding day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael and his wife Mekenzi make such an amazing team of photographers. Ryan and I are so lucky and grateful to have chosen them to capture our engagement/wedding photos. We first met with Michael to talk about our budget, what we wanted from a photographer, and to see if we would feel comfortable working with him. Michael is very professional but also incredibly personable and warm. Mekenzi is so wonderful because she makes sure that everyone is taken care of and relaxed. We felt so at ease during our engagement photo shoot and had the opportunity to get to know them; they really are great people and really take care of their clients.

The weather on our wedding day wasn't what we had hoped; it rained for the majority of the day but Michael and Mekenzi reassured us that our photos would be beautiful. They captured our families perfectly and made sure to get specific photos that I had asked for. Our guests really loved the photo booth that they set up at the wedding; they even brought all of the props and made sure it ran smoothly for everyone.

I really can't stress enough how wonderful they are as professionals and people. The quality of their work is impeccable; Ryan and I couldn't be happier with our photographs. We will always have our photos to help us remember what an amazing wedding we had, full of lots of laughter and love.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyler
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael Stephens (and his lovely wife Mekenzi) were everything we wanted from our photographer and more. He was very friendly, patient, and could easily grasp and carry out our vision for how we wanted our wedding photographed. The most amazing part about Michael was his ability to shoot what we wanted, but also inject his own creativity and imagination into our wedding photos. The blog he created for us to view, our perfectly crafted wedding album, the photobooth (a HUGE hit at our wedding), and not least of all his true talent behind the lens, more than exceeded our expectations. Michael and his wife were also very supportive and helpful during the day of our wedding. More than once they were actively making sure that every aspect of our wedding was on time and also did a fantastic job of keeping the mood light and making us feel comfortable. We would recommend Michael Stephens Photography to anyone and everyone. Michael and Mekenzi's are truly professional photographers who are also great people to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jared
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael & Mekenzi make an amazing team. They were very professional , creative, and pleasent to work with. Most importantly, they are amazing photographers. I highly recommend Michael Stephens Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I did a lot of research on wedding photographers and interviewed quite a few. We decided to go with Michael because he's professional, has great energy, and has a knack for capturing emotions and love. My husband and I are both so awkward in front of a camera and Michael was patient and able to get us both to loosen up. We also have large complicated families and he was sensitive and catering to our unique situation. We had him photograph our wedding rehearsal to give my husband and I another chance to loosen up in front of the camera. I would definitely recommend this to all couples whether you are comfortable in front of a camera or not. Another thing I truly loved is how he interacted with my husband and his groomsmen. Like I mentioned before, my husband is not a ham in front of the camera. Which made it important for him to have a good relationship with our photographer. There's not much else to say, except Michael Stephens is an awesome and talented photographer :) We have gotten so many compliments on our wedding photos; guests even told us how professional and great he was. We definitely recommend him :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandee
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael Stephens did a fantastic job with our engagement and wedding photos. He captured every moment of the day better than I could have imagined. He was always friendly and professional. He responded quickly to questions and concerns. His sweet wife Mekenzi who was the second shooter also did an amazing job with pictures. We couldn't have asked for a better photography team. Many people at the wedding commented that he was one of the best photographers they had seen, because he was nice to everyone and never got in the way. Also, Mekenzi helped keep us to a very strict schedule that I had planned out because I didn't want to keep the guests waiting after the ceremony for a long time. She did a great job with that, which was important to me. Thank you over and over and over again Michael and Mekenzi Stephens! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Serena
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Mike and Mekenzie are exceptionally kind, accommodating, devoted, talented and caring photographers. Not to mention their photos are amazing! They were able to capture so many amazing moments from our wedding that we cannot thank them enough. Mike and Mekenzie make you feel like friends, not like clients or customers. They were so well organized and on top of their schedule that we did not have to worry about a thing the day of the wedding. We will definitely recommend them to all of our friends and family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jovanna
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
How can we ever thank both you and Mekenzi for the awesome job you guys did! You managed to capture every beautiful moment of our wedding with over 300 ppl there! From our engagement pics to the wedding pics so happy to have met you both and feel so blessed to now call u our friends! we love you guys dearly!
BEST PHOTOGRAPHERS EVER!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael Stephens was recommended to us by Preston Wallace of KJons Jewelers after we asked if he had any recommendations for photographers. Michael had done some family portraits for him and he told us he was very professional, the pictures were gorgeous, and he is incredibly funny and fun to work with. He was the first wedding photographer Ryan and I met with and we were glad to find out that Preston was right on all counts. He is very confident in his work, and his passion for the art truly shows through in his pictures. Being a local, he is well familiar with the beautiful environment that sets this county apart and that can only be captured by a truly gifted photographer. He and Mekenzi were such a joy to work with, from our engagement shoot all the way through to our wedding day. We look at his pictures every day and love the way they turned out. In fact, one of our wedding pictures taken by Michael was featured on the KJons Fine Jewelers' billboard! We think fondly of our wedding every time we drive by it. Turns out life really comes full circle! I would recommend anyone to Michael Stephens and his wife Mekenzi.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Photography is one of the most key elements NOT to screw up when its YOUR a wedding. These snapshots capturing the love, joy, smiles, & memories can never be recreated once the day is done. Despite that I was 3+ hours away, the stellar reviews from previous clients were particularly inviting. Also, given the distance and lack of opportunity for us to meet prior to my big day, Michael Stephens made a custom photography package that fit our needs, while also accommodating he and his fellow photographer for the trip to my venue. He arrived early during our makeup & hair prep at the hotel, being quite professional in dealing with self-conscience women not yet ready, he caught some of the greatest candid shots of my ladies and Mama. I didn't want only posed pictures and there are some hilarious and fantastic shots that reveal the true silly nature that exists in both my husband and I. These of which could not have been captured even if told to stand a certain way. Ranging from the 8AM start time to our grand finale at 8:30PM, even to this day, my own Mama can't seem to select a mere 100 photos for a personal family album because she loves them all!! And rightfully so. Truly, Michael Stephens Photography has earned 10 stars out of 5. So many great angles and emphasis on certain faces among a crowd, along with creative ideas with the given environment and couples' personalities.

Thank you so much!!!
James & Monica Hunt
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caryn
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Michael Stephens Photography was such a great decision for our wedding! He truly made us feel comfortable during the engagement photos and throughout the entire wedding! And the pictures were AMAZING!!!! I would recommend Michael Stephens to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Michael was incredible. I am not a big fan of getting my picture taken but he made me feel so comfortable and at ease. He was also very patient with me and the rest of our wedding party. I feel very lucky that he was a part of my special day. He captured so many precious memories. I will forever be grateful for him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANDREA
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband Adam and I were truly honored to have Mike photograph our wedding in Cambria on October 8, 2011. Simply put, we could not have been happier with how our wedding photos turned out, and could not have wished for a better wedding day experience working with both Mike and his assistant Corrine. We had a pretty large wedding party (8 Bridesmaids, and 8 Groomsmen), which I am sure is not an easy task, especially when everyone is excited and ready to get the party started. . . not to mention a large extended family on both sides, that we wanted to be sure to include in the family shots. As hard as it can be to coordinate and manage such a large group of people, Mike and Corrine did an amazing job at keeping to the timeline and capturing all those special shots we had wanted to get. He pays attention to all those little details that make the day so special. What is most important is that we felt so comfortable with him, and everything that day went so smoothly. We laughed a lot and just had an overall blast! I would highly recommend Mike to any one of our friends getting married in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kanani
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Michael was truly amazing. From the planning stages to the day of our wedding and even after, he was a delight to work with.  Every time we share our photos with others they comment on what a talented photographer we had, and we couldn't agree more! Thank you, Michael, for capturing the memories of our beach wedding so perfectly! We will cherish those memories and our beautiful photos forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deborah
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
David and I were married on October 02, 2010 in the beautiful setting of the Cass Winery. Michael was our photographer and I would recommend him for your wedding in a heart beat! He can somehow capture the moments of your event that you can reflect upon looking at the photos and it takes you right back to the day.

We were married under a magnificent oak tree, it started thundering that day as well. I am sure the lighting was a challenge outside as well as inside. We had dinner a feast style dinner in the barrel room of the winery. The pictures are perfect with coloring, lighting and the special moments when my daughter gave a toast was the best.

Michael is pleasant to work with, he listens to your needs and is unobtrusive throughout the event from beginning to end. He dealt with the winery coordinator who was not always easy and he made it seem like a breeze. Even with some last minute changes with some family photos, he was flexible and moved with grace.

I can't recommend him enough for his quality of service, level of professionalism, ease of working with and he is really amazing in the "off the beaten path weddings". Not everyone can take pictures in the middle of a vineyard and have the results be magical.

I look at our pictures everyday.....

Deborah
Services Used: Photography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Michael Stephens Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1355531030970-michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1003