130x130 sq 1438199027905 michaelstephenswwwmstephensphotocom

Michael Stephens Photography

San Luis Obispo , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 US (map)

PHONE

805-703-4477

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I am eternally grateful to be a wedding photographer and my promise to every client is to provide not only amazing photos but an incredible experience. Every moment is fleeting and we... Read more
I am eternally grateful to be a wedding photographer and my promise to every client is to provide not only amazing photos but an incredible experience. Every moment is fleeting and we only get one chance to capture it. Be it the emerging gap tooth smile of your youngest daughter during a family photo shoot or the epic grand exit to your happily ever after. I want to document that place in time for you so you are able to look back, laugh, cry and remember.

My biggest loves:

God, Chloe, Caed and Carly
Photography
Coconut water
Amazing meals (Especially with amazing people)
Firestone's Double DBA
The Chive
Adventuring

Contact me at (805) 703-4477 or by EMAIL. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1438198978019 michaelstephenswwwmstephensphotocom
130x130 sq 1355531143796 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1003
130x130 sq 1413831218738 port36
130x130 sq 1355531134137 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1002
130x130 sq 1355531192863 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1011
130x130 sq 1432309852556 michaelstephensphotography 2000
130x130 sq 1355531120605 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1000
130x130 sq 1432309883390 michaelstephensphotography 2004
130x130 sq 1432309932377 michaelstephensphotography 2001
130x130 sq 1355531153981 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1004
130x130 sq 1432309943457 michaelstephensphotography 2002
130x130 sq 1355531129518 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1001
130x130 sq 1355531181480 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1009
130x130 sq 1436311533806 michaelstephensphotography 2000 2
130x130 sq 1432309891873 michaelstephensphotography 2005
130x130 sq 1355531159695 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1005
130x130 sq 1355531164934 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1006
130x130 sq 1355531170609 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1007
130x130 sq 1355531174897 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1008
130x130 sq 1355531186527 michaelstephensphotographymichaelstephens1010
130x130 sq 1413831404077 port14
130x130 sq 1423433567767 los angeles wedding 1000
130x130 sq 1432309863086 michaelstephensphotography 2001
130x130 sq 1432309874048 michaelstephensphotography 2003
130x130 sq 1432309921207 michaelstephensphotography 2000
130x130 sq 1357950492912 wiseborrowedandblue1015
130x130 sq 1357950527483 wiseborrowedandblue1016
130x130 sq 1357950558349 wiseborrowedandblue1020
130x130 sq 1357950605610 wiseborrowedandblue1021
130x130 sq 1357950653362 wiseborrowedandblue1022
130x130 sq 1357950701337 wiseborrowedandblue1024
130x130 sq 1357950746244 wiseborrowedandblue1025
130x130 sq 1357950825627 wiseborrowedandblue1037
130x130 sq 1428941289659 michaelstephensphotography 1000
130x130 sq 1428941299725 michaelstephensphotography 1001
130x130 sq 1428941312779 michaelstephensphotography 1002
130x130 sq 1428941324260 michaelstephensphotography 1003
130x130 sq 1428941336362 michaelstephensphotography 1004
130x130 sq 1428941349169 michaelstephensphotography 1005
130x130 sq 1428941363537 michaelstephensphotography 1006
130x130 sq 1428941379765 michaelstephensphotography 1007
130x130 sq 1428941391879 michaelstephensphotography 1008
130x130 sq 1428941402899 michaelstephensphotography 1009
130x130 sq 1428941412819 michaelstephensphotography 1000
130x130 sq 1428941422576 michaelstephensphotography 1001
130x130 sq 1428941433767 michaelstephensphotography 1002
130x130 sq 1428941447801 michaelstephensphotography 1003
130x130 sq 1428941459730 michaelstephensphotography 1004
130x130 sq 1428941473563 michaelstephensphotography 1005
130x130 sq 1428941487529 michaelstephensphotography 1006
130x130 sq 1428941507632 michaelstephensphotography 1007
130x130 sq 1428941518990 michaelstephensphotography 1008
130x130 sq 1428941535632 michaelstephensphotography 1009
130x130 sq 1428941547460 michaelstephensphotography 1010
130x130 sq 1428941560272 michaelstephensphotography 1011
130x130 sq 1428941576109 michaelstephensphotography 1012
130x130 sq 1428941586558 michaelstephensphotography 1013
130x130 sq 1428941606133 michaelstephensphotography 1014
130x130 sq 1428941620772 michaelstephensphotography 1015
130x130 sq 1428941640526 michaelstephensphotography 2001
130x130 sq 1428941652443 michaelstephensphotography 1004
130x130 sq 1428941664007 michaelstephensphotography 1005
130x130 sq 1428941677202 michaelstephensphotography 1006
130x130 sq 1428941691330 michaelstephensphotography 1007
130x130 sq 1428941704854 michaelstephensphotography 1008
130x130 sq 1428941720021 michaelstephensphotography 1009
130x130 sq 1428941733312 michaelstephensphotography 1010
130x130 sq 1428941744208 michaelstephensphotography 1011
130x130 sq 1428941759351 michaelstephensphotography 1012

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional
What photography services do you offer?
2nd Shooter, Add'l Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, Slideshow/Montage, Trash The Dress
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Canvas, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Matted Prints, Prints, Proofs, Save the Date, Thank You Cards

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Bg10
BeccaMunchkin
Wedding:
7/25/2015
5.0/5.0
I simply cannot find the words to write about how awesome Mike is. He drove forever to get to both our engagement shoot and wedding, showed up early, and stayed with us all day both times. No really, right to the end of the reception for those "everybody in a circle" songs!
He took every picture we asked him to, talked to us when we were feeling uncomfortable in front of the camera, and of course took friggin' awesome shots. I can't wait to see the pictures of our wedding day; I'm not waiting to write this review because I know they are going to be great.
I hope this review has convinced you to book Mike... if it hasn't, go read some of his other 5-star reviews to convince yourself!
I simply cannot find the words to write about how awesome Mike is. He drove forever to get to both our engagement shoot Read more...
I simply cannot find the words to write about how awesome Mike is. He drove forever to get to both our engagement shoot and wedding, showed up early, and stayed with us all day both times. No really, right to the end of the reception for those "everybody in a circle" songs!
He took every picture we asked him to, talked to us when we were feeling uncomfortable in front of the camera, and of course took friggin' awesome shots. I can't wait to see the pictures of our wedding day; I'm not waiting to write this review because I know they are going to be great.
I hope this review has convinced you to book Mike... if it hasn't, go read some of his other 5-star reviews to convince yourself! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Michael Stephens Photography responded with the following comments:

Wow! Thank you Becca:) It was an honor and a blessing to photograph yours and Chuy's wedding day! Not to mention you had the most awesome engagement shoot idea ever!!! I am so stoked to know you both:)
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/20/2015
5.0/5.0
Three words: beards, brews, & bacon. Those are the words that Michael Stephens used that made me and fiance (now husband!) sold on booking him as our photographer for our wedding. We met Michael at a bridal fair convention at the Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo, it being Michael Stephens 1st bridal fair! He was calm, cool, and funny! We fell in love with SLO and Michael was the answer to our wedding prayers! He fit right into our budget and man did we get lucky! The composition of his photography will blow you away! It is spectacular! We were so pleased with our engagement and wedding photos. He captured moments that would never be able to be described in words! Not only was his work one that you want to show off, but working with him as our photographer was so delightful and easy! He has became our friend and I am pretty sure my husband loves him! He made us laugh and feel comfortable. He complimented and supported us throughout the whole wedding/photography process! Even our guest let us know how cool they thought Michael Stephens was! ooo and did I mention he has a bada** beard? You would be a dummy if you choose not to have the pleasure of working with Michael Stephens!!
Three words: beards, brews, & bacon. Those are the words that Michael Stephens used that made me and fiance (now husband!) Read more...
Three words: beards, brews, & bacon. Those are the words that Michael Stephens used that made me and fiance (now husband!) sold on booking him as our photographer for our wedding. We met Michael at a bridal fair convention at the Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo, it being Michael Stephens 1st bridal fair! He was calm, cool, and funny! We fell in love with SLO and Michael was the answer to our wedding prayers! He fit right into our budget and man did we get lucky! The composition of his photography will blow you away! It is spectacular! We were so pleased with our engagement and wedding photos. He captured moments that would never be able to be described in words! Not only was his work one that you want to show off, but working with him as our photographer was so delightful and easy! He has became our friend and I am pretty sure my husband loves him! He made us laugh and feel comfortable. He complimented and supported us throughout the whole wedding/photography process! Even our guest let us know how cool they thought Michael Stephens was! ooo and did I mention he has a bada** beard? You would be a dummy if you choose not to have the pleasure of working with Michael Stephens!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Michael Stephens Photography responded with the following comments:

Melissa... Wow! I am still smiling from your kind words. I feel so blessed to be able to spend my time with such amazing and in-love couples like you and Darren. You guys are some of the kindest, most caring and coolest people I have ever met. I can't say enough about the two of you. Thank you for allowing me the privilege of being a part of your incredible wedding day! I am thankful to call you my new friends:)
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/3/2015
5.0/5.0
WOW! I can't say enough how TRULY awesome Michael Stephens(Mike) was. Seriously, he was the best vendor of all from our wedding. I don't usually write reviews, but I really felt like I had to express my gratitude for such great work. We met Mike at a wedding expo, and where all the other photographers just felt way over our budget and not like folks we could click with, Mike felt like someone we could trust. That came in really handy, because we had a limited budget, and were upfront with Mike about that. He instantly worked with us to com up with a plan where we could afford his really professional work, and he also let me know where I had to be more realistic about time and money in a way that put me at ease. On the actual wedding day, Mike was again such a pro at helping us through the photo taking process, making us laugh and feel our best so that would be reflected in the photos.

I can’t recommend Mike enough! It is just a week after the wedding, so of course we don’t have any pics yet, but Mike did post a few on Facebook, and they just made our day- so wonderful! A great reminder that this was the best day of our lives:) THANK YOU MIKE!!!
WOW! I can't say enough how TRULY awesome Michael Stephens(Mike) was. Seriously, he was the best vendor of all from our Read more...
WOW! I can't say enough how TRULY awesome Michael Stephens(Mike) was. Seriously, he was the best vendor of all from our wedding. I don't usually write reviews, but I really felt like I had to express my gratitude for such great work. We met Mike at a wedding expo, and where all the other photographers just felt way over our budget and not like folks we could click with, Mike felt like someone we could trust. That came in really handy, because we had a limited budget, and were upfront with Mike about that. He instantly worked with us to com up with a plan where we could afford his really professional work, and he also let me know where I had to be more realistic about time and money in a way that put me at ease. On the actual wedding day, Mike was again such a pro at helping us through the photo taking process, making us laugh and feel our best so that would be reflected in the photos.

I can’t recommend Mike enough! It is just a week after the wedding, so of course we don’t have any pics yet, but Mike did post a few on Facebook, and they just made our day- so wonderful! A great reminder that this was the best day of our lives:) THANK YOU MIKE!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Michael Stephens Photography responded with the following comments:

Jennifer, thank you for the amazing review! It was such a blessing to work with you, Joey and your sweet family.
Default vendor profile pic
May
Wedding:
5/2/2015
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that my husband and I chose Michael Stephens Photography for our wedding photos! Mike did an amazing job photographing all of the special moments on our wedding day. Mike, and his second shooter for the day, Paul Bolger, did a fabulous job on scouting out locations and finding the perfect angle to capture our emotions. He was very well organized and extremely accommodating in order to make sure we got all of the shots we wanted with friends and family before, during, and after our ceremony. There was a quick turnaround between the wedding and when we received our digital copies; Mike edited and stylized the photos appropriately. Many of our guests complimented his work after the wedding. I would highly recommend Michael Stephens Photography to any future Bride & Groom!
I am so happy that my husband and I chose Michael Stephens Photography for our wedding photos! Mike did an amazing job Read more...
I am so happy that my husband and I chose Michael Stephens Photography for our wedding photos! Mike did an amazing job photographing all of the special moments on our wedding day. Mike, and his second shooter for the day, Paul Bolger, did a fabulous job on scouting out locations and finding the perfect angle to capture our emotions. He was very well organized and extremely accommodating in order to make sure we got all of the shots we wanted with friends and family before, during, and after our ceremony. There was a quick turnaround between the wedding and when we received our digital copies; Mike edited and stylized the photos appropriately. Many of our guests complimented his work after the wedding. I would highly recommend Michael Stephens Photography to any future Bride & Groom! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Erin
Wedding:
1/10/2015
5.0/5.0
Michael and Paul were amazing! They joined the party and were so much fun to have on our special day. Our photos turned out beautiful and really captured the event.
Michael and Paul were amazing! They joined the party and were so much fun to have on our special day. Our photos turned Read more...
Michael and Paul were amazing! They joined the party and were so much fun to have on our special day. Our photos turned out beautiful and really captured the event. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Mike
Wedding:
9/6/2014
5.0/5.0
When my wife and I first started planning our wedding, we knew one of the most important decisions was to get the best wedding photographer. After the wedding has come and gone 10 or 20 years later it will be the wedding photos that will help us relive the most important day of our lives. I knew about Mike Stephens photography, but had no idea how amazing his work was. When looking through his portfolio it was difficult for me to see myself in other people's pictures. The package I chose to purchase from Mike was the engagement shoot as well as wedding photos; every penny was worth it! When arriving on the location for our shoot my wife and I had no idea how to pose for a camera, where to go, or what to do, Mike was able to take control of the situation and guide us through an amazing photo shoot. He picked the location and knew exactly what to photograph and how to shoot it, I put all of my faith into Mike, hoping he would do a good job. Once our photos were taken, Mike was able to edit them and distribute them to us so quick. When my wife and I opened up the email that included the images of us, we were in aw, we had the biggest smiles on our faces. The photos turned out some much better than I could have ever imagined; everything looked perfect. This lead us to the wedding, I knew my wife and I would already be under a lot of pressure, so the last thing we wanted to worry about was the photos. I had no doubt Mike would do an outstanding job, it was such a relief to know I hired such a phenomenal photographer. Every single one of our photos looked "picture perfect." I do not regret the decision to hire Mike by any means, I would recommend him to any one looking to hire a professional and outstanding photographer!
When my wife and I first started planning our wedding, we knew one of the most important decisions was to get the best Read more...
When my wife and I first started planning our wedding, we knew one of the most important decisions was to get the best wedding photographer. After the wedding has come and gone 10 or 20 years later it will be the wedding photos that will help us relive the most important day of our lives. I knew about Mike Stephens photography, but had no idea how amazing his work was. When looking through his portfolio it was difficult for me to see myself in other people's pictures. The package I chose to purchase from Mike was the engagement shoot as well as wedding photos; every penny was worth it! When arriving on the location for our shoot my wife and I had no idea how to pose for a camera, where to go, or what to do, Mike was able to take control of the situation and guide us through an amazing photo shoot. He picked the location and knew exactly what to photograph and how to shoot it, I put all of my faith into Mike, hoping he would do a good job. Once our photos were taken, Mike was able to edit them and distribute them to us so quick. When my wife and I opened up the email that included the images of us, we were in aw, we had the biggest smiles on our faces. The photos turned out some much better than I could have ever imagined; everything looked perfect. This lead us to the wedding, I knew my wife and I would already be under a lot of pressure, so the last thing we wanted to worry about was the photos. I had no doubt Mike would do an outstanding job, it was such a relief to know I hired such a phenomenal photographer. Every single one of our photos looked "picture perfect." I do not regret the decision to hire Mike by any means, I would recommend him to any one looking to hire a professional and outstanding photographer! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Leah
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
I scheduled Michael less than a week before our wedding, and everything worked out perfectly! He was great to work with over email and phone, and in person. He showed up on time, had great ideas for pictures, and my husband and I both felt comfortable and really enjoyed working with Michael. We got our pictures back sooner than expected and they are beautiful! I highly recommend Michael Stephens Photography.
I scheduled Michael less than a week before our wedding, and everything worked out perfectly! He was great to work with Read more...
I scheduled Michael less than a week before our wedding, and everything worked out perfectly! He was great to work with over email and phone, and in person. He showed up on time, had great ideas for pictures, and my husband and I both felt comfortable and really enjoyed working with Michael. We got our pictures back sooner than expected and they are beautiful! I highly recommend Michael Stephens Photography. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Katie
Wedding:
8/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Seth & I traveled from Utah to wed in Paso Robles, CA. Due to the distance, we didn't have an opportunity to meet Mike before he shot our engagement photos the day prior to our wedding. After email exchanges and a couple phone calls, we were certain that Mike was our guy. His work speaks for itself (obviously brilliant), so the fact that he was professional, prompt and easy to talk to set our minds at ease.

We're both self-professed awkward photo takers and doing the engagement shoot before the wedding was just what we needed to get comfortable in front of the lens and build a rapport with Mike. If you're traveling from out of town, I highly recommend doing a session before the wedding to get comfortable. I think this made a huge difference on the big day. Seth & I ended up actually enjoying photo taking and have vowed to return to Paso, not just for the wine, but for a family session with Mike.

The photos turned out better than we could have imagined. I look at them everyday and think "Mike made us look so good, we could actually be in a bridal magazine."
Seth & I traveled from Utah to wed in Paso Robles, CA. Due to the distance, we didn't have an opportunity to meet Mike Read more...
Seth & I traveled from Utah to wed in Paso Robles, CA. Due to the distance, we didn't have an opportunity to meet Mike before he shot our engagement photos the day prior to our wedding. After email exchanges and a couple phone calls, we were certain that Mike was our guy. His work speaks for itself (obviously brilliant), so the fact that he was professional, prompt and easy to talk to set our minds at ease.

We're both self-professed awkward photo takers and doing the engagement shoot before the wedding was just what we needed to get comfortable in front of the lens and build a rapport with Mike. If you're traveling from out of town, I highly recommend doing a session before the wedding to get comfortable. I think this made a huge difference on the big day. Seth & I ended up actually enjoying photo taking and have vowed to return to Paso, not just for the wine, but for a family session with Mike.

The photos turned out better than we could have imagined. I look at them everyday and think "Mike made us look so good, we could actually be in a bridal magazine." Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Melly
Wedding:
7/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I don’t even know where to begin. We had a big wedding at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, California with about 250 guests. Having a wedding that size, there are inevitably things that will go wrong, but the saving grace of it all was having Michael Stephens Photography there. We contracted Michael to photograph our event with 2 photographers. He and Paul did an absolutely incredible job of keeping us calm, making sure we had fun taking pictures, and above all providing us with some absolutely STUNNING photos from our wedding day.
I loved that they were creative with poses and backgrounds. Michael has an ease about him that makes you forget he’s even taking photos & Paul did some incredible things with light capture. We were fortunate to receive so many photos that we love, like a really cool photo with the Long Beach skyline at dusk or a great picture of us on the docks with the boats. I’m not one who is very photogenic, or even likes to have my picture taken, but Michael Stephens was the best to work with & my husband and I would recommend him to ANYONE! In fact… my best friend is getting married in January & she’s hired Michael as well!

In the sea of wedding vendors you’re inevitably bombarded with once you’re engaged, Michael Stephens Photography truly stands out for professionalism and quality of product. Seriously – the best photographer and such a wonderful and honest vendor to work with!
I don’t even know where to begin. We had a big wedding at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, California with about Read more...
I don’t even know where to begin. We had a big wedding at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, California with about 250 guests. Having a wedding that size, there are inevitably things that will go wrong, but the saving grace of it all was having Michael Stephens Photography there. We contracted Michael to photograph our event with 2 photographers. He and Paul did an absolutely incredible job of keeping us calm, making sure we had fun taking pictures, and above all providing us with some absolutely STUNNING photos from our wedding day.
I loved that they were creative with poses and backgrounds. Michael has an ease about him that makes you forget he’s even taking photos & Paul did some incredible things with light capture. We were fortunate to receive so many photos that we love, like a really cool photo with the Long Beach skyline at dusk or a great picture of us on the docks with the boats. I’m not one who is very photogenic, or even likes to have my picture taken, but Michael Stephens was the best to work with & my husband and I would recommend him to ANYONE! In fact… my best friend is getting married in January & she’s hired Michael as well!

In the sea of wedding vendors you’re inevitably bombarded with once you’re engaged, Michael Stephens Photography truly stands out for professionalism and quality of product. Seriously – the best photographer and such a wonderful and honest vendor to work with! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Michael Stephens Photography responded with the following comments:

Melly ~ I don't have words to express how grateful I am to you and Kevin for the kind words and more importantly for trusting me to photograph your stunning wedding day. I love it when clients turn into friends and I consider you both the best of people and wish you both all the best in the years to come:)
Default vendor profile pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
11/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Truly amazing photography! I would definitely recommend to anyone!
Truly amazing photography! I would definitely recommend to anyone!
Truly amazing photography! I would definitely recommend to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Michael Stephens Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1438199027905 michaelstephenswwwmstephensphotocom