Nophoto 130

Michelle Waters Photography

Parkersburg , WV
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Parkersburg, WV 26101 US (map)

PHONE

304-481-0212
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Robyn
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle photographed our wedding in August. We are so thankful for her talent and that we were able to have her photograph our wedding. The images that she captured will be treasured by us for a lifetime. She captured details that I didn't even see on my wedding day. My husband, who doesn't even like to get his picture taken, loved her. With Michelle, you don't even realize that you are being photographed. She captures you being yourself, which accounts for the beautiful images that she is able to get with the emotion attached. We are hoping to have Michelle photograph us throughout our lives. While I realize that she is a professional photographer, she seemed more like a friend by the time we had our engagement photos and our wedding photographed.
Michelle photographed our wedding in August. We are so thankful for her talent and that we were able to have her Read more...
Michelle photographed our wedding in August. We are so thankful for her talent and that we were able to have her photograph our wedding. The images that she captured will be treasured by us for a lifetime. She captured details that I didn't even see on my wedding day. My husband, who doesn't even like to get his picture taken, loved her. With Michelle, you don't even realize that you are being photographed. She captures you being yourself, which accounts for the beautiful images that she is able to get with the emotion attached. We are hoping to have Michelle photograph us throughout our lives. While I realize that she is a professional photographer, she seemed more like a friend by the time we had our engagement photos and our wedding photographed. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Caroline
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle was a pleasure to work with. My husband and I love her! She did our engament pictures and wedding, they turned out beautiful!! Our wedding was this summer when the big storm hit and she helped calm everyone and trying to get everyone to laugh and forget that it was almost 100 degrees inside the church! I highly recommend her to anyone her work is amazing and she has done nothing but been kind and helpful through out everything even picking out pictures! When I have kids I will have her do maternity and babies first photos!!
Michelle was a pleasure to work with. My husband and I love her! She did our engament pictures and wedding, they turned Read more...
Michelle was a pleasure to work with. My husband and I love her! She did our engament pictures and wedding, they turned out beautiful!! Our wedding was this summer when the big storm hit and she helped calm everyone and trying to get everyone to laugh and forget that it was almost 100 degrees inside the church! I highly recommend her to anyone her work is amazing and she has done nothing but been kind and helpful through out everything even picking out pictures! When I have kids I will have her do maternity and babies first photos!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle is nothing short of AMAZING!!! We are so lucky to have had her snap our wedding photos, I've lost count of how many compliments we've received on them because of her amazing work. Not only is she a talented photogrpaher, she was so much fun to work with! She was so wonderful throughout the entire planning process, was incredible the day of our wedding, and just as awesome getting us all of the amazing pics she took in such a timely manner after our wedding. Michelle was so flexible, creative, and so easy to work with. She has an aura about her that made everyone feel relaxed, just like a dear friend that you've known for years (one of my bridesmaids actually said that!) Words can't express how incredibly awesome Michelle is.
Michelle is nothing short of AMAZING!!! We are so lucky to have had her snap our wedding photos, I've lost count of how Read more...
Michelle is nothing short of AMAZING!!! We are so lucky to have had her snap our wedding photos, I've lost count of how many compliments we've received on them because of her amazing work. Not only is she a talented photogrpaher, she was so much fun to work with! She was so wonderful throughout the entire planning process, was incredible the day of our wedding, and just as awesome getting us all of the amazing pics she took in such a timely manner after our wedding. Michelle was so flexible, creative, and so easy to work with. She has an aura about her that made everyone feel relaxed, just like a dear friend that you've known for years (one of my bridesmaids actually said that!) Words can't express how incredibly awesome Michelle is. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Jordan and Zack
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle's work speaks for itself! Her work is always unique and amazing. We have nothing but great things to say about Michelle and the job she has done for us. The wall art, albums, and quality pictures she provided us were top-notch. She does a great job of being laid-back and fun, while still being very professional and delivering quality results. She was always very flexible, and takes great pride in making sure her clients are happy and they get everything they want. She went the extra mile to fix a shipping problem with one of our prints when Fed-Ex claimed it was delivered, but we never received it. She made it right, no questions asked, when most people might think we weren't being truthful. We have nothing but good things to say about her, and we have had a tremendous amount of people tell us they love our pictures and comment about what a great job our photographer did!
Michelle's work speaks for itself! Her work is always unique and amazing. We have nothing but great things to say about Read more...
Michelle's work speaks for itself! Her work is always unique and amazing. We have nothing but great things to say about Michelle and the job she has done for us. The wall art, albums, and quality pictures she provided us were top-notch. She does a great job of being laid-back and fun, while still being very professional and delivering quality results. She was always very flexible, and takes great pride in making sure her clients are happy and they get everything they want. She went the extra mile to fix a shipping problem with one of our prints when Fed-Ex claimed it was delivered, but we never received it. She made it right, no questions asked, when most people might think we weren't being truthful. We have nothing but good things to say about her, and we have had a tremendous amount of people tell us they love our pictures and comment about what a great job our photographer did! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/30/2012
5.0/5.0
We booked Michelle for our destination wedding in Florida. Michelle was flexible with us every step of the way, from travel plans to Florida, booking a date, customizing a package that worked best for us and scheduling times for engagement pictures. Michelle was easy to contact and prompt in her responses.
Michelle made us feel so comfortable during our engagement pictures. She even took the time to come to our house and include the dog in our photos. She helped keep everyone on schedule on the wedding day and
she captured photos of us just being "us." The photos she took were way beyond what we were hoping for when we booked her for the wedding. We received priceless photos of ourselves, family and friends. After ordering special art prints of the wedding pictures, Michelle hand-delivered them to our home.

We would highly recommend Michelle Waters photography and are looking forward to our next major life event so we can work with her again!
We booked Michelle for our destination wedding in Florida. Michelle was flexible with us every step of the way, from Read more...
We booked Michelle for our destination wedding in Florida. Michelle was flexible with us every step of the way, from travel plans to Florida, booking a date, customizing a package that worked best for us and scheduling times for engagement pictures. Michelle was easy to contact and prompt in her responses.
Michelle made us feel so comfortable during our engagement pictures. She even took the time to come to our house and include the dog in our photos. She helped keep everyone on schedule on the wedding day and
she captured photos of us just being "us." The photos she took were way beyond what we were hoping for when we booked her for the wedding. We received priceless photos of ourselves, family and friends. After ordering special art prints of the wedding pictures, Michelle hand-delivered them to our home.

We would highly recommend Michelle Waters photography and are looking forward to our next major life event so we can work with her again! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Besides the wedding itself I think pictures are one of the most important things. Your wedding can be such a blur at times and photgraphs are priceless ways to remember those special moments. I first found Michelle through friends. She had photographed of few of their weddings. I loved how her photos were so natural and not too posed. From the moment I contacted her I fell in love. She was so kind and easy to work with. She was even able to do our engagement pictures in San Antonio (where we love now).
We were so pleased with our wedding pictures. She was able to capture all the big and small things and never seemed to stick out or be in the way. Our wedding album that she made for us was perfect. Everyone I showed it to was so impressed. I cannot recommend her enough!!!
Besides the wedding itself I think pictures are one of the most important things. Your wedding can be such a blur at times Read more...
Besides the wedding itself I think pictures are one of the most important things. Your wedding can be such a blur at times and photgraphs are priceless ways to remember those special moments. I first found Michelle through friends. She had photographed of few of their weddings. I loved how her photos were so natural and not too posed. From the moment I contacted her I fell in love. She was so kind and easy to work with. She was even able to do our engagement pictures in San Antonio (where we love now).
We were so pleased with our wedding pictures. She was able to capture all the big and small things and never seemed to stick out or be in the way. Our wedding album that she made for us was perfect. Everyone I showed it to was so impressed. I cannot recommend her enough!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Cortney
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Michelle Waters is without a doubt the best around. She was the first thing we booked for our wedding in 2011. With living in Columbus, OH and having our wedding in Marietta, OH travel schedules were hard to plan around; but she went over and beyond for us....she traveled to Columbus for our Engagement session! She made the session to much fun and comfortable for both you. (lots of laughs!! ) She got Ryan and I as a couple in every picture!!! We were more than excited after that session for our wedding!!! ...and our wedding pictures....words can't describe how happy the both of us were with them!!! Michelle we could not thank you enough!!!! <3
Michelle Waters is without a doubt the best around. She was the first thing we booked for our wedding in 2011. With living Read more...
Michelle Waters is without a doubt the best around. She was the first thing we booked for our wedding in 2011. With living in Columbus, OH and having our wedding in Marietta, OH travel schedules were hard to plan around; but she went over and beyond for us....she traveled to Columbus for our Engagement session! She made the session to much fun and comfortable for both you. (lots of laughs!! ) She got Ryan and I as a couple in every picture!!! We were more than excited after that session for our wedding!!! ...and our wedding pictures....words can't describe how happy the both of us were with them!!! Michelle we could not thank you enough!!!! <3 Read less
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork 128
Jonathan
Wedding:
5/21/2011
1.0/5.0
Although Michelle may take beautiful pictures we had a serious issue with using this photographer. In our wedding package we were promised engagement pictures but since we lived hours out of Parkersburg and due to the fact that she was unwilling to meet with us on a weekend we were forced to take time off and travel only to have her cancel a half hour before our appointment due to "poor lighting" with weather. Understandable, yet no attempt was made to reschedule or be flexible to fit our short time we had available. Note no apology was ever even given.

Then on top of this due to a sudden change in jobs we were forced to change the wedding to May instead of September. We immediately informed Michelle of the changes of plans and were told that we will not receive our money back ($700 deposit) unless someone else booked that weekend. Somewhat understandable but considering the previous experience that had already occurred we were a bit stunned at the lack of understanding. Needless to say we never heard a word from this photographer again even after numerous attempts to contact her.

As stated before, the pictures may look nice but the professionalism was absent with our experience and this photographer. Luckily we were able to find a photographer in our new location with a professional and attentive service.
Although Michelle may take beautiful pictures we had a serious issue with using this photographer. In our wedding package Read more...
Although Michelle may take beautiful pictures we had a serious issue with using this photographer. In our wedding package we were promised engagement pictures but since we lived hours out of Parkersburg and due to the fact that she was unwilling to meet with us on a weekend we were forced to take time off and travel only to have her cancel a half hour before our appointment due to "poor lighting" with weather. Understandable, yet no attempt was made to reschedule or be flexible to fit our short time we had available. Note no apology was ever even given.

Then on top of this due to a sudden change in jobs we were forced to change the wedding to May instead of September. We immediately informed Michelle of the changes of plans and were told that we will not receive our money back ($700 deposit) unless someone else booked that weekend. Somewhat understandable but considering the previous experience that had already occurred we were a bit stunned at the lack of understanding. Needless to say we never heard a word from this photographer again even after numerous attempts to contact her.

As stated before, the pictures may look nice but the professionalism was absent with our experience and this photographer. Luckily we were able to find a photographer in our new location with a professional and attentive service. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Michelle Waters Photography responded with the following comments:

While I appreciate the kindness in this review, and would never want someone to feel they can't share their opinions, this review is not truthful, and it makes me very sad. I have more than one conversation in writing, proving that I not only was willing to meet with them on the weekend, and that I would have traveled to Columbus to photograph them (as I do travel for many engagement sessions and do not charge extra for this), I also was told Jonathan was in school the day of their session, not working, and would be heading down to meet with us after he got out of class. So I had no knowledge of him taking time off of work, until reading this review (which was sadly, posted 8 months after his wedding, and during a very publicly announced maternity leave...so I do apologize for the delay in a response to this). I did, unfortunately cancel the session that day, after talking with his fiance (now wife) several times, all day...we kept talking about the weather, and how we were hopeful! But please know, my judgement call was made because his wife-to-be also had a fractured hip(!), and it was pouring outside...and we were going to climb a rocky cliff for their session! The alternate, indoor location was not normally a bad choice...but the sky was SO dark, the pictures would have looked terrible...and I explained this to them...that they would not have gotten the images they hired me for. <3 During this same conversation, I offered several other dates for a reshoot, and I explained how terrible I felt about the situation. Unfortunately, it's not the first time I've had to reschedule a session, and I know it won't be the last. Sometimes these things happen. Additionally, 1 week later, I received a phone call explaining that their wedding date may "possibly" be changing, due to a new job and a move. Unfortunately, this new date was a date I was already booked for, and I would not be available. This phone call was in March of the same year as their wedding. However, it was only suggested as a possibility, and left at that. I explained my policy about the retainer fee on the phone and that, if their current September date was rebooked, even though my contract doesn't include it, I would refund their retainer. 2 weeks later, as I was friends with the bride on Facebook, I noticed a status update about their definite change in wedding plans (location and date), and contacted her to verify. I was never informed, and had to ask them, myself for release of the original date. I also explained that the fee I receive for booking weddings is a retainer fee, to reserve service (and it says so in our wedding contract), and not a deposit on an album, product, etc. If someone reserves my services, I am refusing anyone else that date. And if the wedding is cancelled, or changed to a date I can't work, I am not making a profit...in fact, I am losing thousands of dollars I was expecting to receive, to pay my family's bills and make an income for me and my family (as this is my only job). I also explained I would be in touch if someone else booked that date...but with less than 6 months to rebook, the chances were not as good as if I'd had more than a year to do so (most of my weddings book 12-18 months in advance). I explained this, and his wife stated she understood and was hoping a rebooking would happen, as was I. :) I have been in contact with this couple since this review was posted, and asked them to kindly review this information, with the knowledge that they were sharing some things that just weren't true. Again, I have no problem with opinions, reviews, and if someone goofs up, calling them on it. Lord knows, I've messed up a time or two. I just really don't feel like I did, here, and it makes me sad that even though the groom replied to me, saying he would reread his review, updating the information if there was anything that wasn't true, and possibly even removing the review entirely, it's becoming kinda clear to me this may not be his intention, after all. I'm sorry if this reply comes across as negative or frustrated, but I take my job seriously, am very passionate about it, and am usually so close to my brides and grooms that I feel like we're close friends...so to read this, and know there are lies in this review, and to know I can't remove it, or do anything about it...yes, it makes me very sad. Thank you SO much for taking the time to read this response. It means so much to me that you'd be willing to read so much!
130x130 sq 1296690416563 cropped
Lesley
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Michelle is seriously THE BEST! My whole family and I felt so at ease with her the entire day. She has a way about her that makes you feel like you've known her forever, and she takes the most amazing pictures. She even made my mom, who hates having her picture taken, enjoy the process! There were times throughout the reception that I would forget that she was there, or think she wasn't taking pictures, then I would look over, and there she'd be. She got so many amazing shots that I had no idea were even being taken. If you're considering her, don't hesitate for a moment! She is seriously SO worth it!!
Michelle is seriously THE BEST! My whole family and I felt so at ease with her the entire day. She has a way about her Read more...
Michelle is seriously THE BEST! My whole family and I felt so at ease with her the entire day. She has a way about her that makes you feel like you've known her forever, and she takes the most amazing pictures. She even made my mom, who hates having her picture taken, enjoy the process! There were times throughout the reception that I would forget that she was there, or think she wasn't taking pictures, then I would look over, and there she'd be. She got so many amazing shots that I had no idea were even being taken. If you're considering her, don't hesitate for a moment! She is seriously SO worth it!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Megan
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I have used Michelle for my engagement, wedding, and my daughter's 3 month pictures. She is wonderful! She is easy to work with and flexible. She met my husband and I in Wheeling for the 3 month pics after a long week of traveling and being away from her own family. She is also friendly and makes everyone involved in the pictures feel comfortable and at ease.

Probably my favorite thing about Michelle and her pictures is that her pictures truly capture the way people feel. When I look at my wedding pictures all of the emotions I felt that day come back to me. I would recommend Michelle to anyone and I look forward to doing business with her in the future.
I have used Michelle for my engagement, wedding, and my daughter's 3 month pictures. She is wonderful! She is easy to work Read more...
I have used Michelle for my engagement, wedding, and my daughter's 3 month pictures. She is wonderful! She is easy to work with and flexible. She met my husband and I in Wheeling for the 3 month pics after a long week of traveling and being away from her own family. She is also friendly and makes everyone involved in the pictures feel comfortable and at ease.

Probably my favorite thing about Michelle and her pictures is that her pictures truly capture the way people feel. When I look at my wedding pictures all of the emotions I felt that day come back to me. I would recommend Michelle to anyone and I look forward to doing business with her in the future. Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Parkersburg, WV 26101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Michelle Waters Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
Nophoto 220