Nophoto-130

Michelle Waters Photography

Parkersburg , WV
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Parkersburg, WV US 26101 (map)

PHONE

304-481-0212
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle photographed our wedding in August. We are so thankful for her talent and that we were able to have her photograph our wedding. The images that she captured will be treasured by us for a lifetime. She captured details that I didn't even see on my wedding day. My husband, who doesn't even like to get his picture taken, loved her. With Michelle, you don't even realize that you are being photographed. She captures you being yourself, which accounts for the beautiful images that she is able to get with the emotion attached. We are hoping to have Michelle photograph us throughout our lives. While I realize that she is a professional photographer, she seemed more like a friend by the time we had our engagement photos and our wedding photographed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle was a pleasure to work with. My husband and I love her! She did our engament pictures and wedding, they turned out beautiful!! Our wedding was this summer when the big storm hit and she helped calm everyone and trying to get everyone to laugh and forget that it was almost 100 degrees inside the church! I highly recommend her to anyone her work is amazing and she has done nothing but been kind and helpful through out everything even picking out pictures! When I have kids I will have her do maternity and babies first photos!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle is nothing short of AMAZING!!! We are so lucky to have had her snap our wedding photos, I've lost count of how many compliments we've received on them because of her amazing work. Not only is she a talented photogrpaher, she was so much fun to work with! She was so wonderful throughout the entire planning process, was incredible the day of our wedding, and just as awesome getting us all of the amazing pics she took in such a timely manner after our wedding. Michelle was so flexible, creative, and so easy to work with. She has an aura about her that made everyone feel relaxed, just like a dear friend that you've known for years (one of my bridesmaids actually said that!) Words can't express how incredibly awesome Michelle is.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan and Zack
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle's work speaks for itself! Her work is always unique and amazing. We have nothing but great things to say about Michelle and the job she has done for us. The wall art, albums, and quality pictures she provided us were top-notch. She does a great job of being laid-back and fun, while still being very professional and delivering quality results. She was always very flexible, and takes great pride in making sure her clients are happy and they get everything they want. She went the extra mile to fix a shipping problem with one of our prints when Fed-Ex claimed it was delivered, but we never received it. She made it right, no questions asked, when most people might think we weren't being truthful. We have nothing but good things to say about her, and we have had a tremendous amount of people tell us they love our pictures and comment about what a great job our photographer did!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/30/2012
5.0/5.0
We booked Michelle for our destination wedding in Florida. Michelle was flexible with us every step of the way, from travel plans to Florida, booking a date, customizing a package that worked best for us and scheduling times for engagement pictures. Michelle was easy to contact and prompt in her responses.
Michelle made us feel so comfortable during our engagement pictures. She even took the time to come to our house and include the dog in our photos. She helped keep everyone on schedule on the wedding day and
she captured photos of us just being "us." The photos she took were way beyond what we were hoping for when we booked her for the wedding. We received priceless photos of ourselves, family and friends. After ordering special art prints of the wedding pictures, Michelle hand-delivered them to our home.

We would highly recommend Michelle Waters photography and are looking forward to our next major life event so we can work with her again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Besides the wedding itself I think pictures are one of the most important things. Your wedding can be such a blur at times and photgraphs are priceless ways to remember those special moments. I first found Michelle through friends. She had photographed of few of their weddings. I loved how her photos were so natural and not too posed. From the moment I contacted her I fell in love. She was so kind and easy to work with. She was even able to do our engagement pictures in San Antonio (where we love now).
We were so pleased with our wedding pictures. She was able to capture all the big and small things and never seemed to stick out or be in the way. Our wedding album that she made for us was perfect. Everyone I showed it to was so impressed. I cannot recommend her enough!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cortney
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Michelle Waters is without a doubt the best around. She was the first thing we booked for our wedding in 2011. With living in Columbus, OH and having our wedding in Marietta, OH travel schedules were hard to plan around; but she went over and beyond for us....she traveled to Columbus for our Engagement session! She made the session to much fun and comfortable for both you. (lots of laughs!! ) She got Ryan and I as a couple in every picture!!! We were more than excited after that session for our wedding!!! ...and our wedding pictures....words can't describe how happy the both of us were with them!!! Michelle we could not thank you enough!!!! <3
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jonathan
Wedding:
5/21/2011
1.0/5.0
Although Michelle may take beautiful pictures we had a serious issue with using this photographer. In our wedding package we were promised engagement pictures but since we lived hours out of Parkersburg and due to the fact that she was unwilling to meet with us on a weekend we were forced to take time off and travel only to have her cancel a half hour before our appointment due to "poor lighting" with weather. Understandable, yet no attempt was made to reschedule or be flexible to fit our short time we had available. Note no apology was ever even given.

Then on top of this due to a sudden change in jobs we were forced to change the wedding to May instead of September. We immediately informed Michelle of the changes of plans and were told that we will not receive our money back ($700 deposit) unless someone else booked that weekend. Somewhat understandable but considering the previous experience that had already occurred we were a bit stunned at the lack of understanding. Needless to say we never heard a word from this photographer again even after numerous attempts to contact her.

As stated before, the pictures may look nice but the professionalism was absent with our experience and this photographer. Luckily we were able to find a photographer in our new location with a professional and attentive service.
Services Used: Photography
Michelle Waters Photography responded with the following comments:

While I appreciate the kindness in this review, and would never want someone to feel they can't share their opinions, this review is not truthful, and it makes me very sad. I have more than one conversation in writing, proving that I not only was willing to meet with them on the weekend, and that I would have traveled to Columbus to photograph them (as I do travel for many engagement sessions and do not charge extra for this), I also was told Jonathan was in school the day of their session, not working, and would be heading down to meet with us after he got out of class. So I had no knowledge of him taking time off of work, until reading this review (which was sadly, posted 8 months after his wedding, and during a very publicly announced maternity leave...so I do apologize for the delay in a response to this). I did, unfortunately cancel the session that day, after talking with his fiance (now wife) several times, all day...we kept talking about the weather, and how we were hopeful! But please know, my judgement call was made because his wife-to-be also had a fractured hip(!), and it was pouring outside...and we were going to climb a rocky cliff for their session! The alternate, indoor location was not normally a bad choice...but the sky was SO dark, the pictures would have looked terrible...and I explained this to them...that they would not have gotten the images they hired me for. <3 During this same conversation, I offered several other dates for a reshoot, and I explained how terrible I felt about the situation. Unfortunately, it's not the first time I've had to reschedule a session, and I know it won't be the last. Sometimes these things happen. Additionally, 1 week later, I received a phone call explaining that their wedding date may "possibly" be changing, due to a new job and a move. Unfortunately, this new date was a date I was already booked for, and I would not be available. This phone call was in March of the same year as their wedding. However, it was only suggested as a possibility, and left at that. I explained my policy about the retainer fee on the phone and that, if their current September date was rebooked, even though my contract doesn't include it, I would refund their retainer. 2 weeks later, as I was friends with the bride on Facebook, I noticed a status update about their definite change in wedding plans (location and date), and contacted her to verify. I was never informed, and had to ask them, myself for release of the original date. I also explained that the fee I receive for booking weddings is a retainer fee, to reserve service (and it says so in our wedding contract), and not a deposit on an album, product, etc. If someone reserves my services, I am refusing anyone else that date. And if the wedding is cancelled, or changed to a date I can't work, I am not making a profit...in fact, I am losing thousands of dollars I was expecting to receive, to pay my family's bills and make an income for me and my family (as this is my only job). I also explained I would be in touch if someone else booked that date...but with less than 6 months to rebook, the chances were not as good as if I'd had more than a year to do so (most of my weddings book 12-18 months in advance). I explained this, and his wife stated she understood and was hoping a rebooking would happen, as was I. :) I have been in contact with this couple since this review was posted, and asked them to kindly review this information, with the knowledge that they were sharing some things that just weren't true. Again, I have no problem with opinions, reviews, and if someone goofs up, calling them on it. Lord knows, I've messed up a time or two. I just really don't feel like I did, here, and it makes me sad that even though the groom replied to me, saying he would reread his review, updating the information if there was anything that wasn't true, and possibly even removing the review entirely, it's becoming kinda clear to me this may not be his intention, after all. I'm sorry if this reply comes across as negative or frustrated, but I take my job seriously, am very passionate about it, and am usually so close to my brides and grooms that I feel like we're close friends...so to read this, and know there are lies in this review, and to know I can't remove it, or do anything about it...yes, it makes me very sad. Thank you SO much for taking the time to read this response. It means so much to me that you'd be willing to read so much!
130x130_sq_1296690416563-cropped
Lesley
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Michelle is seriously THE BEST! My whole family and I felt so at ease with her the entire day. She has a way about her that makes you feel like you've known her forever, and she takes the most amazing pictures. She even made my mom, who hates having her picture taken, enjoy the process! There were times throughout the reception that I would forget that she was there, or think she wasn't taking pictures, then I would look over, and there she'd be. She got so many amazing shots that I had no idea were even being taken. If you're considering her, don't hesitate for a moment! She is seriously SO worth it!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I have used Michelle for my engagement, wedding, and my daughter's 3 month pictures. She is wonderful! She is easy to work with and flexible. She met my husband and I in Wheeling for the 3 month pics after a long week of traveling and being away from her own family. She is also friendly and makes everyone involved in the pictures feel comfortable and at ease.

Probably my favorite thing about Michelle and her pictures is that her pictures truly capture the way people feel. When I look at my wedding pictures all of the emotions I felt that day come back to me. I would recommend Michelle to anyone and I look forward to doing business with her in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kama
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
After we got engaged, Michelle was the first vendor we snapped up right away; she is always booked up way in advance for a VERY good reason. In one word, Michelle's work is nothing short of AMAZING! We were living in Texas at the time, and couldn't get to WV for a shoot, so Michelle worked out a weekend to fly there for our engagement pictures. Her work is breathtaking because she is truly invested in telling your love story through her lens. Michelle knows how to make everyone comfortable and have a great time during the shoots. So many times having your picture taken during a wedding feels like an obligation that can leave people counting down the minutes until it's over so that they can start to have the "real' fun, however, Michelle knows how to keep everyone relaxed and before you know it your laughing and can't believe it's over. This happens mostly because Michelle is so creative, she sees how beautiful a picture can be and gets people to buy in; who else would know that the wedding party laying in the floor or piling on top of each other in a pew would make produce the shots that you would want framed. But Michelle is also spectacular at capturing moments in time, when you think no one is watching - a sweet smile or a rub of the hand, the little things that add up to why you love someone, but are the simple exchanges between people. Photography is a calling for Michelle, and I am so blessed to have been able to work with her. I only wish there were more than 5 stars to give her!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1228185039553-chase&i
Renee
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
I will never forget the first time I saw Michelle Waters' wedding photographs. It was after my friend Annie's wedding in 2007. I remember thinking I've never been so emotionally moved by pictures in my entire life; immediately, I knew the photographer behind the beautiful photos had to be special. Little did I know I'd find out that not only is Michelle Waters an incredibly talented photographer, but she is a ridiculously amazing human being. When you make an investment in your wedding photos, it is one that truly will last forever. My husband and I have been married for 3 years, and just this past Wednesday on our anniversary, we sat down and looked at our wedding album together and were able to feel so many of the same emotions from that day...because Michelle captured them all, perfectly. I could go on and on about how many compliments we've received on our wedding pictures, how I came to Michelle through a referral and how I referred two good friends to Michelle (and hopefully have another recently engaged one on the way!), how I'm glad we didn't get a videographer because our photos themselves are good enough...but I won't elaborate, because it's as simple as this: if I had to do it all over again, I couldn't imagine having another person trusted to photograph the important day of my life. The photos are so beautiful, and so real. Just like Michelle. <3
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leila and Donnie
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Michelle is amazing. Everything you've heard is true, this girl is a genius. I have had several sessions with Michelle, including a pin-up session and my wedding, and she nails it every time. She has an eye for catching you at just the right moment, and when you view your photos you will see beautiful things you never expected. She loves a challenge and is always ready to try something new. When I look at Michelle's photographs of me, I don't see my everyday self, or even my dressed-up self. I see what someone who loves me sees, and that kind of art is priceless.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alberta
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
I found Michelle through a friend who was, at that time, her photography assistant. I spoke with her and instantly felt as though this woman "got" me. She was so friendly, open, EXCITED, and kind from the very first moment I ever spoke with her. If you are a bride, you know it's truly hard to find someone who is genuinely as excited about your wedding as you are, but Michelle REALLY is! Living in Pittsburgh, you get used to people who aren't terribly friendly and Michelle was a breathe of fresh air. She is extremely passionate about photography and it shows in EVERY single picture. This is not a photographer who is going to photoshop you to the point that you look as though you were shot through cheesecloth and your skin looks ridiculous. Her pictures are REAL and capture every single thing that really makes you look beautiful, not just what a computer thinks is beautiful.

She drove to Pittsburgh, which was at least a 4 hour drive, for our engagement shoot and shot for us ALL day at no additional charge. We visited several different locations throughout Pittsburgh and took countless pictures. Our entire house is filled with them, and not because we are so stuck on ourselves, but because they are gorgeous pictures.

Our wedding pictures are just breathtaking. Michelle captured every single gorgeous moment, was there from the beginning to the very end, and was SUCH a joy to work with. I seriously consider her a friend now, and a very special friend at that as she gave me the greatest gift that we received on our wedding day. Her pictures are truly something I will treasure for the rest of our lives and I swear to you, if our house were on fire I would save the following: family, pets, and our wedding album. I just can not gush enough about how fantastic she was and how amazing she made my husband and I feel.

I recommended her to my cousins, and she also shot their engagement shoot and wedding in Mexico. Their pictures are also breathtaking!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jamie
Wedding:
10/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Michelle did my wedding photos a few years ago and to this day I still sit and look at my photo albums and get teary eyed. She truly captured our day and us. Not posed or staged but just us being us and having fun and it truly showed in our photos. She is also super fun and outgoing and made everyone feel so comfortable. I can't sat enough good things about her! Best investment I ever made.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1200548976353-engagementbw2
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Michelle did our engagement pictures, wedding pictures, as well as a "pin-up" session that I did as a wedding gift for my groom. I can't even verbalize how amazing she is! I swear, she will be the only photographer I will ever use for all of my photography needs - I want her to photograph my life! You walk away from sessions thinking "did she even get anything?", and then you're blown away by all of the amazing moments she has captured when you see your pictures. She makes everything look and feel so easy, you get to be "you" and she gets wonderful pictures that are works of art.

My family and bridal party were thrilled with how quick and easy our pictures were. She took maybe 25-30 minutes after the ceremony to get pictures with all of us, and they turned out so amazing. She's also super easy to get along with... she has such an upbeat, outgoing, happy-go-lucky personality, which makes the whole process so pleasant!

All in all, her work is of the highest quality, she can shoot grass and make it look amazing, her product selection will make you drool, and you'll walk away with the most wonderful memories caught on film. Once you're a MWP customer, you're a MWP customer for life.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1348072406360-mw
Dusty
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Having Michelle as a wedding photographer is like...

...like sipping a cold glass of water on a hot summer day
...like eating a whole bowl of your comfort food (for me it's mac & cheese) and not gaining weight.
...like finding 20 dollars in a pants pocket while doing laundry
...like getting a heartfelt letter from an out-of-state-friend
...like laughing so much, you cry AND snort
...like meeting your brand new puppy for the first time
...like finding a pair of high heels that make your legs look great AND are really comfortable
...like having your wedding day photographed by someone that really loves you and gets you...because she does!

She's so lighthearted and uplifting. On your wedding day, the vendor you spend the most time with is your photographer, so choosing the right photographer really impacts how much you enjoy your day.

She put so much love and enthusiasm into taking our photos that before we saw a single photo, we knew they'd be fantastic. She cares so much, she can't help but be good at what she does.

Her customer service was WONDERFUL.
Her attitude was great.
Her communication was simple and practical.
Her photos were everything we wanted and more.

I wouldn't change a thing about my experience. Michelle is passionate, loving, and enthusiastic....and it shows in every one of our wedding photos. Thanks Michelle for being you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
Michelle Waters is an amazing photographer and did an incredible job of capturing our wedding day. We have been married over 4 years and I still love looking at our wedding photos. I love that her photography style is creative and that is why we selected to use her.

Michelle was so laid back and so much fun to work with. She has a great personality and is so sweet! I would deifnitely recommend Michelle to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful!!! We are so glad Michelle photographed our wedding -- our pictures could not have turned out any better!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fernanda
Wedding:
2/9/2008
5.0/5.0
When we were planning our wedding we were lucky enough to have our planner introduce us to Michelle. Our pictures are amazing because of her. She listened to what we wanted (no poses) and everything turned out AMAZING. On top of that her energy during the engagement pictures, rehearsal dinner and day of was extraordinary. We are expecting a little one and we definitely want her to take pictures of the newest family member when he/she arrives. We would DEFINITELY (as we have done before) recommend Michelle Waters.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
7/28/2007
4.7/5.0
My husband and I were completely satisfied and honored to have Michelle photograph our wedding! The moments that she captured will be cherished forever... When I think of michelle waters... I not only think of her as an amazing photographer... But I truly consider her a friend! She is that special! Annie & Greg
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Michelle was absolutely WONDERFUL and her photography is absolutely top-notch. She was extremely flexible with the photo sessions. The engagement session was done wherever we chose instead of in a studio (although that was an option). Instead of having posed photos, she took pictures of EVERYTHING. We had well over 500 pictures from just the engagement session alone!

She also took pictures at the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. She was very unobtrusive and somehow got over 800 photos without us even noticing! She was very fun to be around and made the entire process incredibly casual and light-hearted.

She was also very easy to get a hold of and was very prompt in responding to e-mails and phone calls. Also, she was very quick in posting our photos online to view (they were up just under a week after our wedding!) and was very prompt in shipping our orders to us.

Honestly, you really couldn't ask for a better photographer! I assure you, the quality is absolutely wonderful and you'll won't regret it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devan
Wedding:
4/21/2007
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Michelle was wonderful. She captured every moment that I wanted and was nothing but professional! I recommend her to any person getting married/engaged etc.!! You surely won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/9/2006
5.0/5.0
We were lucky enough to come across Michelle at a bridal show and as soon as I saw her pictures I knew we had to have her as our photographer! There were some things about our wedding that I really didn't care much about spending money on, but the pictures were extremely important to me and the services that Michelle provides are absolutely PRICELESS!!

We went on our honeymoon immediately after the wedding, and upon returning she promptly had our images up to review. She made sure that we were the first ones to see our wedding pictures, not putting them up until we were back from our trip. She was extremely easy to contact by phone, email, or even just dropping by her house.

A lot of people (like my husband and I) just don't feel like the most photogenic types, or feel uncomfortable when being photographed, but Michelle has this amazing quality that just puts you at ease, and you feel as though you are hanging out with your best friend and having a good time. This is what makes her pictures so great--they capture everyday life, everyday moments, and are never forced. Even now, that I have moved across the country, I cannot imagine ever hiring any other professional photographer besides Michelle for any of my pictures. Book her! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/20/2006
5.0/5.0
Michelle was great, everyone should have her as their wedding photographer. She works well with everyone, and does exactly what you want. Also, she's full of surprises too!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Parkersburg, WV 26101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Michelle Waters Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo