130x130_sq_1211466605548-thedipphotoforwebsite

Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment

Waukesha , WI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Waukesha, WI US 53186 (map)

PHONE

262-751-2900

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Midwest Sound is Wisconsin's best choice for DJ entertainment and event lighting.

Since our beginnings in 1976, our success has been based on doing three simple things very... Read more
Midwest Sound is Wisconsin's best choice for DJ entertainment and event lighting.

Since our beginnings in 1976, our success has been based on doing three simple things very well-- we ask what our clients want and how they want it...then we do it...and we don't charge a zillion dollars for it!

Experience, reliability and customizaion are the main ingredients in a good DJ comapny. You'll always find them here at Midwest Sound.

We are also proud to offer the latest in LED technology for your event lighting needs! Dollar-for-dollar, Midwest Sound's uplighting is by far the least expensive way to transform your reception space into an atmosphere that matches YOUR decor scheme.

Call us today and learn more about how we can help you turn your wedding dreams into reality! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1303338049391-midwestsounduplightingrotunda
130x130_sq_1303338295688-midwestsounddjuplightingrotundatable
130x130_sq_1303338497547-midwestsounddjuplightingmarcuspac
130x130_sq_1328157047625-2011050717.54.09
130x130_sq_1328157063187-2011050720.06.40
130x130_sq_1328157080140-2011050800.48.22
130x130_sq_1328158618921-1001653
130x130_sq_1328158629156-1001654
130x130_sq_1328158640828-1001663
130x130_sq_1328158653906-1001668
130x130_sq_1328158666140-1001671
130x130_sq_1328158672531-1290044962945
130x130_sq_1328158672875-1290056018665
130x130_sq_1328158673250-1290056031463
130x130_sq_1328158673593-1290056039735
130x130_sq_1328158673937-1290056065464
130x130_sq_1328158674718-2010090518.23.58
130x130_sq_1328158676375-2010092518.03.42
130x130_sq_1328158678421-2010092523.12.52
130x130_sq_1328158679593-2010092523.13.06
130x130_sq_1328158680921-2010092523.13.30
130x130_sq_1328158682046-2010092523.13.50
130x130_sq_1328158683234-2010092523.14.21
130x130_sq_1328158684421-2010120421.50.55
130x130_sq_1328158685562-2010120421.56.08
130x130_sq_1328158686750-2011022417.13.25
130x130_sq_1328158688015-2011022417.13.39
130x130_sq_1328158689156-2011030518.37.02
130x130_sq_1328158690328-2011030518.37.22
130x130_sq_1328158691515-2011030518.37.43
130x130_sq_1328158692921-2011030518.38.44
130x130_sq_1328158694437-2011030518.40.36
130x130_sq_1328158697109-2011030518.40.49
130x130_sq_1328158698578-2011040217.03.21
130x130_sq_1328158700359-2011040217.03.55
130x130_sq_1328158702343-2011060317.50.27
130x130_sq_1328158703515-2011060317.50.47
130x130_sq_1328158706359-2011060317.51.22
130x130_sq_1328158707750-2011060317.51.35
130x130_sq_1328158709093-2011061117.48.44
130x130_sq_1328158710296-2011061117.49.14
130x130_sq_1328158711406-2011061117.49.34
130x130_sq_1328158712609-2011061117.49.47
130x130_sq_1328158714187-2011071519.13.58
130x130_sq_1328158715390-2011071519.14.11
130x130_sq_1328158716578-2011071519.14.36
130x130_sq_1328158717890-2011071519.16.29
130x130_sq_1328158719312-2011071519.16.44
130x130_sq_1328158720515-2011081820.09.30
130x130_sq_1328158721703-2011081820.09.50
130x130_sq_1328158722890-2011081820.10.25
130x130_sq_1328158724531-2011081820.11.51
130x130_sq_1328158725734-2011092318.56.38
130x130_sq_1328158726953-2011092318.56.50
130x130_sq_1328158728421-2011092319.09.12
130x130_sq_1328158729796-2011092319.49.26
130x130_sq_1328158731062-2011092319.49.47
130x130_sq_1328158732390-2011092320.51.14
130x130_sq_1328158733625-2011092320.51.46
130x130_sq_1328158734875-2011100718.36.46
130x130_sq_1328158736406-2011100718.37.05
130x130_sq_1328158737921-2011100718.37.48
130x130_sq_1328158740031-2011100718.38.22
130x130_sq_1328158741875-2011100718.40.04
130x130_sq_1328158743062-2011100718.40.29
130x130_sq_1328158744281-2011100718.44.35
130x130_sq_1328158745562-2011100718.45.04
130x130_sq_1328158746781-2011102119.02.45
130x130_sq_1328158748031-2011102119.03.06
130x130_sq_1328158749312-2011102119.03.20
130x130_sq_1328158750546-2011102217.37.32
130x130_sq_1328158751796-2011102217.37.52
130x130_sq_1328158753468-2011102217.38.03
130x130_sq_1328158754781-2011102217.38.17
130x130_sq_1328158756281-2011102918.55.01
130x130_sq_1328158757593-2011111117.28.04
130x130_sq_1328158759500-2011111117.28.47
130x130_sq_1328158761781-2011111117.29.21
130x130_sq_1328158763531-2011111117.29.48
130x130_sq_1328158765062-2011111117.30.11
130x130_sq_1328158766296-2011111117.30.19
130x130_sq_1328158767593-2011111117.30.41
130x130_sq_1328158768781-2011111117.35.58
130x130_sq_1328158770671-2011111117.36.18
130x130_sq_1328158772062-2011111117.36.39
130x130_sq_1328158773328-2011111122.20.09
130x130_sq_1328158774593-2011111122.20.18
130x130_sq_1328158776203-2011111122.30.59
130x130_sq_1328158777203-2011111122.32.56
130x130_sq_1328158779156-abbeyresortpurple
130x130_sq_1328158864669-alisonluke123
130x130_sq_1328158878294-asp11041723205922
130x130_sq_1328158880807-asp11041724275924
130x130_sq_1328158882925-asp11041724515925
130x130_sq_1328158884852-asp11041725015926
130x130_sq_1328158887129-asp11041725195927
130x130_sq_1328158889310-asp11041725485928
130x130_sq_1328158891690-asp11041726115931
130x130_sq_1328158894491-asp11041726325932
130x130_sq_1328158896799-asp11042204276754

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound ROCKED at our wedding. Gerald did a phenomenal job. He got the crowd hyped up without being over obnoxious. He danced and sang along. What an amazing guy! Ending the night with bohemian rhapsody was genius. Every guest was belting out the words with huge smiles on their faces. Thanks for an unforgettable party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound was great. They played the songs we wanted. They kept everyone dancing all night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Our DJ rocked! The company assigns you a DJ based on your wants and needs (which I was leery about at first) and we got to talk with him the week before the wedding (getting nervous at that point) but they obviously know what they're doing there because he was perfect for us! He kept people on the dance floor all night, played all of our requested songs and made sure we were having a good time! And they did our uplighting too, which gave the room a whole new wonderful look. It was beautiful.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound Dj Entertainment was AWESOME! They were super friendly! Our Dj kept the party going all night! Everyone kept telling us that they loved the variety of songs he played! We are still having people tell us that our wedding was the most fun they have had at a wedding in a long time! Thank you!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound was amazing! They showed up on time; our DJ, Alfanzo, was very keyed into what we wanted and was very professional! He kept music going all night long with no pauses and no downtime!! Midwest Sound was always quick to answer my emails and helped send me our first dances songs so I could correlate them with a Powerpoint!!!!!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The dj was very knowledgeable and help move the night along great. There was never a dull moment. He worked well with the photographer when it came to the slide show
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Nothing is more disappointing then having a DJ problem just three days before the big wedding. Lucky for us Midwest Sound came through as a replacement. After the first phone call to Chad he took all the stress and worry away and we knew it would all work out. We had a wonderful DJ for the night and people were still dancing as the night ended at midnight! We are very grateful and appreciative that Midwest Sound was there to help.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelina
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Our dj, Paul, was so much fun at our wedding. He contacted us a few days earlier to go over the details and he went around to people's tables at dinner to ask what their favorite dance music was. He also would come up to the head table during dinner and ask if we needed anything from the bar. He was great!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was September 14th and we had Jen as our DJ and she was AMAZING! I was hesitant at first when we found out we'd be having a female DJ the wedding, but I was pleasantly surprised at how great she did. I honestly can't say enough good things about her. She called us the week of the wedding to go over all the details, she was friendly and organized. The day of the wedding, she introduced herself and went over all the things we had to do the day of like the grand march, first dance, etc. She kept us in the loop with what was happening, but wasn't annoying about it. She played perfect music for dancing, the right amount of upbeat and slow songs. The dance floor was never empty, which was really important to me. Our wedding guests LOVED her! Please please give Midwest Sound your business, you will not regret it!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Midwest sound was great & I highly recommend them. Very responsive, professional & accommodating. Good music selection. I gave them a list of songs I wanted played that weren't in their general lineup & they delivered every song at my wedding. They allowed me to customize the music lists, & level of interaction. Colin was a great dj. If I ever need to hire a dj again, Midwest sound will be my first & probably only call.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Fabulous!! My husband and I had booked midwest DJ because we had heard them at a friends wedding. We were NOT dissapointed. As a bride, we are always researching and planning. Midwest DJ asked me all of the questions and essentially helped me plan out the music portion of the day. They call you and basically walk you through everything that needs to be figured out. Really, they made my life easier. As I got closer to the wedding, you learn to appreciate companies like that.

As far as the wedding day goes, our DJ Keith took control over the day using the microphone to help inform people of what was going on, helping guide them as to what we were doing next, and again just letting me have a good time while he made sure everything ran smoothly. He was also incredibly flexible. When things didn't go according to plan, he made things work (ex. Mother of the groom missing during her song, changing the first song at the last minute, couldn't find the garder for the garder toss...)

We had a LOT of compliments the next day at the gift opening on what a good job the DJ did. People were on the dance floor all night. That says a lot when you have not only younger people saying they loved the DJ but older relatives as well.

The up-lighting: Well, it was worth every penny in my opinion. It changed the room from ok to fabulous. Midwest DJ was not the least expensive DJ out there, they were not the most expensive either. Music is such a big part of the day, and in my opinion they were worth every penny.

Hopefully you all find this review helpful. I can not say enough good regarding this company. Happy planning!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianna
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
The DJ showed up early and had everything set up before we got there. They did a great job catering to our style and only played songs that matched the moment.
They were very easy to work with and I"m glad we went with them to play our ceremony and reception.
Services Used: DJ
Bg5
Angela
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Great company to work with. Our DJ was so friendly and personable. We had a great evening and so did our guests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing job with sounds and lighting. Incredibly professional and thorough in their preparation and execution. Highly recommended.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound was AMAZING!! Our wedding was on a Friday and not only did we get a great deal + package we had an AWESOME DJ!! We were lucky enough to have Jerald as our DJ, and man was he awesome!!! He kept our guests, dancing and smiling the entire night! My husband and his family are from Europe so we definitely wanted to play some traditional Albanian songs for our guests to dance to. We handed Jerald the CD we made of Albanian songs and once he played it - he had EVERYONE out on the dance floor!! He even danced the electric slide with us!! Great DJ, great experience, great price!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our uplighting and music services were absolutely fantastic! We had Allen as our DJ and he kept the dance floor packed the entire night. He played a great mix of music and engaged well with the crowd! We met with him for our initial consult and knew that he would give us the party environment that we wanted for the wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound was WONDERFUL to work with. They were able to work within my budget and were very helpful along the way. I really enjoyed the online event and music planners so I was able to say what music I wanted, what I didn't and the type of feel I wanted. It was absolutely perfect and the dance floor was packed ALL NIGHT! I definitely recommend them to other brides.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
They are the best in town for the best price! So professional and friendly. All of their staff made us feel like we were the most important clients they had. They truly listened to us and delivered a great party! They even took the time to meet me at the venue a month in advance to make sure that the up-lighting would look exactly the way I wanted. You must go with Midwest Sound!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megam
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved working with Midwest sound! Everyone was so helpful and really committed to making our wedding day, special, perfect, and all about us. The DJ was very attentive and all the other staff were always helpful and prompt with answering questions or responding to our needs. Since our wedding day, I have recommended this company to several friends and acquaintances. You will not find a better service! We got married in fond du Lac and our DJ travelled for us...its clear there's no better out there! Thanks Midwest sound!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1334685851596-1563839196l
Nicole
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Our Dj was very professional and willing to work with us on all of our requests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelley
Wedding:
2/22/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ did an awesome job, was interactive but not obtrusive, played great songs, took requests, and made the night memorable.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
We had Michael B for our DJ, he did an amazing job involving the guests in dancing and having a good time.I am very happy with the level of service provided and would recommend this DJ. The price also could not be beat!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1342445338279-imgp1597
Barbie
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Matthew M. was our D.J. and he was outstanding! We were terrible - we didn't get our song choices in until the week of the wedding, and even then I didn't know what song to use for the grand march. Matthew and I played phone tag for the week. On the MORNING of our wedding, I left him a voice mail with the top three choices of songs for our grand march. We also asked for very little D.J. involvement. No hokey pokey, no chicken dance, no "get on out here and shake your groove thing" comments from him. He was super, absolutely super. Matthew was very professional, played great songs off our list, plus added in some requests, the dance floor was full all night!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
We had so much fun working with Midwest Sound. Their online Wedding & Event Planner is the greatest tool that every vendor should have! Its a great tool to help plan & organize your music from your favorite must have played to the absolute no no's! We let each of our groomsmen choose a clip from their own selection that they would walk into with the bridesmaid that they were paired with. Midwest Sound happily mixed each song together for a perfect flow & transition between songs. They took all requests as long as it pertained to my criteria. He even took requests from my, 4 year old stepdaughter who has a great taste in music. Chad, our DJ, was fun yet professional, worked with the crowd, was the perfect mix of what a DJ should be! We also had a full lighting package through them that completely transformed our room. Thank you Midwest Sound for helping make our Special Day unforgettable!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Tom - AKA Taz was our DJ and he was great. He called me a few days before the wedding to go over final details with me. I did not have whole nights music picked out so I left it up to him to fill the void and he did a fantastic job! We also discussed how I wanted the uplighting in our venue and it was perfect! He met up with me before the reception to make sure he had his notes correct and a few more times thoughout the evening to make sure everything was to my liking! He did a great job and my guests had a great time!

Thanks againTom!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound provided us with ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and reception music for our September 15 wedding. Allen, our DJ, was great to work with! He went over everything with me before the wedding, and everything came out great. I was worried that the ceremony would be weird with a DJ, but the music manager (Shannon) got us all set up with great music and it turned out to be absolutely perfect :) Allen also kept the mood fun all night, and made all of our announcements as requested--he was definitely on the ball, and made our day very special!! I would recommend Allen and Midwest Sound to any bride!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
At first I was apprehensive because you can request a particular DJ but you don't know the DJ you will have until a couple weeks before the event.
I requested Alfonso and/or the Owner because he was the DJ for a friend's wedding. I don't think my experience could have been any better with anyone besides ALFONSO. Not only did Alfonso transport all material from the parking lot up to the hubbard park lodge, he also made the music and dancing aspect of the evening something I didn't have to think twice about. He went over names with us so he announced full names perfectly in the grand march. He assessed the crowd and played music I wouldn't necessarily choose myself; that's just it though he knows what he is doing. If you want one care free aspect of your wedding BOOK ALFONSO. Everyone was dancing, there almost wasn't enough room. The crowd was packed with teachers, but when the requested hot for teacher came on- it didn't go over so well with the flow and Alfonso made a switch. He is proactive, but not intense and intrusive. He took requests and had 150 people loving a lil hip hop a lil country and even the polka. I can't wait to plead with Midwest Sound to have Alfonso be the DJ for both my sister's weddings.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Midwest Sound was a delight to work with. Our DJ was absolutely wonderful. He checked in with us frequently to assure our wants were being met and also interacted with our guests to assure their wants were met as well. He went as far as showing people how to do some of the specific dances himself! We couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I LOVED our DJ! They gave us a reduced Sunday rate and did an amazing job at DJ matching. He kept everything under complete control throughout the entire evening to make sure things ran smoothly. Surprisingly, all of our guests danced at some point and the dance floor was never even remotely empty! We had a lot of older relatives at our wedding and the party just kept going! Amazing job!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
ABSOLUTELY LOVED OUR CEREMONY MUSIC AND THE DJ WAS GREAT...
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so thankful I found Midwest Sound. When you hire a DJ it's really hard to know exactly what you're getting before the wedding. They made everything so easy and was catered so well to mine & my husband's taste. Our DJ, Keith, was outstanding and a perfect personality fit. Everyone at our wedding danced all night and had a blast.
We also had Midwest Sound do our uplighting and the room looked so good and pulled all the decorations together so well. They were definitely the best value for the services and quality provided.

Thanks!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
12/30/2011
5.0/5.0
The best part about Midwest was that we were able to fill out forms and surveys and get the DJ that we specifically wanted - then they provided us with just that! Our DJ was wonderful and exactly what we asked for, not too involved but still charismatic. Midwest also did a great job of being in contact with us the months before our wedding so we were always on time with everything we needed. We'd highly recommend this company - great quality for a ridiculously low price!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1299862613152-02261116
Kristin
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
We asked for a energetic and interactive DJ and midwest sound delivered! The DJ played a great mix of music and kept the floor moving! We attended a bridal show and received a great discount.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are so glad that we went with Midwest Sound. We had a full dance floor all night long! We got a discount because we signed on with them at a bridal show, and the value for our money was incredible! Our DJ was Alfonso, and he was excellent in every way. He was dressed professionally, he accommodated our requests and guest requests, he was interactive (even showing us dance steps and moves) yet not obnoxious or over-the-top. We had initially requested a specific DJ (because we went to a wedding where the requested DJ had performed) but unfortunately we found out the week of the wedding he couldn't do it. Although we were initially disappointed, we were ultimately more than thrilled with Alfonso's work.

I highly suggest this company, and I REALLY suggest requesting Alfonso, because he was fun and respected the fact that we wanted a variety of music for different ages and tastes. Our guests are still commenting a month after the wedding on how great our DJ was and how fun the music and dancing were!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joanne
Wedding:
6/19/2011
5.0/5.0
We truly enjoyed our experience with Midwest Sound. They gave us a phenomenal deal because of the date and time of the wedding. Mike, the DJ, was fun, professional, and checked in with us several times during the reception to make sure that we were happy with what he was doing. Although he was given a long list of song choices beforehand, the guests kept requesting other music and he was able to accommodate them effortlessly. The music was always at the right volume and even with the small group of guests we had, there were always people on the dance floor. Thanks, Mike, for making the day so special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
From the very beginning I was truly impressed with Midwest Sound. They offered us a great deal because of the date of our wedding, and everything from the ceremony music, to the very last dance was fantastic! Chad and his assistant went out of their way to help us in any way possible, and they kept the dance floor going all night long! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Just two months before my wedding, I decided to look into decorative lighting for my reception hall and since I kept hearing about Midwest, I made sure they were on my list of contenders.
I absolutely fell in love with them when I met with them to discuss the lighting! So much that I canceled the DJ I already booked and hired Midwest Sound to do it all.
I'm not sure, but I think my new mother-in-law had a bigger emotional response when she walked into the reception than she did at the ceremony.
Great job, guys!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about how happy we were with them. When I first called to talk to them, I knew I was going to be happy. I always got fast and friendly response, which made it very easy to relax during the chaos of planning everything.
On the day of my wedding, my DJ took care of everything for me. I seriously didn't have to do anything but mingle! He kept things on track and kept us informed of what was coming up. He even checked in with me occasionally to make sure I was happy.
The best part about it all is that he had nearly everyone dancing the entire time. My grandparents even stayed until the end! I HIGHLY recommend them.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
4/22/2011
5.0/5.0
With 4 of my friends having weddings in the last year, I was worried that my wedding would be compared to theirs.
MY DJ WAS WAY BETTER THAN ALL THE REST!
I got many compliments afterward on what a good DJ we had.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
They provided DJ service and uplighting for my wedding. They were awesome to work with and totally made the reception!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cathy
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
They do DJ and lighting (and did both for us). I did a ton of looking around and their prices were not the cheapest, but you get a lot for your money.
My DJ was very professional and friendly. I wasn't expecting my family to dance much at all, but I was pleasantly surprised at how he was able to attract a significant number of them to the dance floor.
All in all, a great choice. Worth every penny!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pinks031211
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
We had Nate as our DJ for our wedding on March 12, 2011. We had a WONDERFUL night. There was not one point during the evening where the dance floor did not have a group of people on it. We gave him a list of songs that we wanted to hear and he was able to add to it by taking requests and reading the crowd. He was AWESOME. I would recommend working with Midwest Sound to anyone planning an event that wants to have a good time. They were very reasonable and made the planning process extremely easy. I can not say enough positive things about both the company as a whole and Nate. Thank you for making our wedding a day we will never forget.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1267370739376-snowwedding
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Prior to our wedding we went to two other weddings that used the same company. All three weddings had people on the dance floor until the end of the night. All the DJ's were professional and worked to adapt to what the bride and groom wanted. They also let you plan everything you wanted out online in advance.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
1/22/2011
5.0/5.0
We thought they were wonderful. Our dance floor was packed the entire night. Our DJ knew when to play what music and how to keep the party going. I would recommend them to everyone. Our DJ listened to exactly what we wanted and also played music our guests requested. From the beginning they were very helpful, allowing us to pick music that we definitely did not want played and also music that we did want to be played. Overall it was a great experience and they were great for their cost!
Services Used: DJ
Bg19
Sarah
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
They did my ceremony and reception. Everything was flawless! We got a great deal and my DJ was at least as "on top of things" as my wedding planner. Everyone had a great time and I didn't have to lift a finger.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

That's what we do! You were a pleasure to work with, Sarah.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karieMarie
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Our DJ was great. He had the personality that we requested and everyone had a great night dancing. There was a part of the night that seemed to clear the dance floor (our choice songs didn't work well) and the DJ asked if he could ditch our list and choose songs of his own to get people back on the dance floor. We agreed and he was able to fill up the dance floor again quickly. Overall Midwest Sound was awesome!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcia
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Midwest sound was great! Dana was our DJ and he did an amazing job! He played a great variety and did a little dancing himself :) I would totally recommend them.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

We love Dana, too! A versatile, fun-loving guy who is actually an award-winning dance instructor!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelin
Wedding:
7/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Midwest sound gave us a ridiculous discount for having the event on a Sunday. They did not hold back as far as the service they provided. Our DJ had the pulse of our event for the entire evening. He interacted perfectly with the crowd and added life to our reception. Our guests had only good things to say about Midwest Sound.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alana
Wedding:
7/23/2010
5.0/5.0
We were VERY impressed with Midwest Sound. They allowed us to choose the music and that was very important to us. The dance floor was packed all night long, seriously! Our DJ's name was Alfonso and he did a wonderful job.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

Alfonzo is definitely one-of-a-kind. People love him (and I think it's because his goal is always to make YOU look good!)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/18/2010
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but good things to say about Midwest Sound DJ. The dj I worked with was nothing but professional, and easy to work with!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1249325771741-engagement1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our DJ was awesome. He did a great job of being interactive enough but not obnoxious. This was a party that eveyone remembered. The staff is great and easy to work with. They are super organized and help you through the process. They are a great value and can do just about anything.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megs280
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are SUPER crazy about music and pretty much knew every song we wanted to hear from the cocktail hour to the final dance of the night. Part of the problem we encountered when looking for DJ's was that we couldn't have all that much choice or control over everything. But when we talked to Midwest Sound, we were thrilled to learn that it really WAS about us. We were able to make playlists on cd's for the cocktail and dinner hour - we just had to pop the cd's in the mail prior to the wedding. We also could choose every single song we wanted to hear and did not want to hear, including some obscure songs that were "must plays". And when a song was crossed off on the list, but tons of guests were requesting it, our DJ came over to ask us if it was ok to play. I would absolutely recommend Midwest Sound not just because they are great DJs and kept people on the dance floor all night long, but because they allowed us to really feel like we could have all the input we wanted on such an important aspect of the night.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1211231438532-president'sandsuch014
megand84
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Our DJ was JJ, and he was great, He played everything we asked him to, he was great about changing the sched. around to best suit us(photographer leaving son and us needing to do our spotlight songs) He was involved and engaged, but not "in your face" about anything. We changed our grand march song and time, as well as our bridal party dance song the night before, and JJ was great about it! we would definately use them again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kfelder
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Our DJ, Paul, was fantastic! He was on time, appropriately dressed, and very professional for our wedding. He also did our ceremony music, which went wonderfully. This place was a great deal and we were really pleased with the service we received. I would definitely recommend Paul to other brides.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1222474263823-t&rengagement(24)
Tina070
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!!!!!! We throughly enjoyed midwest!!!!! Our DJ was so good and did everything right!!! All of our guests had a blast and he followed our instructions to a tee! It was a night full of fun because the DJ set the tone! I highly reccomend Midwest Sound DJ......I was so so so happy with there service:)
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1196295309770-newyears
furturemrsrudoll
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Paul our DJ was amazing he did everything we wanted and even added in some fun stuff. Our Grater toss was the best all of our guest loved it and thought it was great.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.9/5.0
Midwest Sound was our ceremony sound, reception DJ and reception lighting. They were fantastic and we were very pleased with their services.

Our DJ, Dana James, played exactly what we wanted without us really even going into detail about what we wanted played. We gave some songs we wanted to hear and he took it from there. He went around from table to table asking for song requests which was a great hit with our guests. He did just the right amount of MC'ing, introducing the bridal party and keeping the event moving, without being over the top. He even went around and perfected our lighting based on what he knew we wanted. It was fantastic.

The sound for our ceremony was great as well. Thanks DJ Dana James!

My only frustration would be somewhat administrative. Not knowing there was a Minnesota location I electronically submitted our song requests to find out I used the identical Minnesota website. It would be great if they would indicative WI vs MN websites to prevent that from happening. They said it is a common mistake. I should have looked closer as well. Then, when it came to lighting I was clueless and asked the people over the phone for their advice and they weren't incredibly helpful. Thankfully our DJ made it all happen with matching the colors we wanted.

Overall I was super pleased and couldn't imagine a better DJ for our day!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.9/5.0
Midwest Sound was recommened to us and we could not be more thankful for the recommendation that our friends had provided. We work with Dana James--he was AMAZING! Not only did he listen to us, tailor the preformance to us but he also respected our wishes of what we didn't want played, even if it had been requested! The value of the service matched, if not topped what we paid. I would absolutely recommend Midwest Sound! Thank you Dana James for making our day ever more specatular than we could've imagined!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1341542748393-fbavatar2523507
Nicole
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.9/5.0
My wedding was amazing and the DJ helped with that. He played just the right music and had everyone dancing all night. The company was great to work with and they settled my nerves. We did the uplighting and I was a little unsure about it because of the cost but it was so worth it and it have the room a different feel. P.S. My DJ's name Alfonso and he rocked!! He went over all the bridal party names with us and made sure we were taken care of. I cried when the night was over because it was so wonderful!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.9/5.0
Our DJ was Matthew. He was awesome! Everytime I talked to him he was extremely friendly, had a smile on his face, was extremely professional and aimed to please. When I sat down for dinner my dress brushed across my plate and got food on it. Matthew ran to the bar and brought me back seltzer water and a rag to clean my dress! Even though I had a too many songs on my list that he couldnt play them all ,he told me that he would play my custom songs first and play what he had time for after my custom songs were played. He even took some requests from the guests which i liked! He was very on top of things and did a great job announcing special dances and instruction throughout the night! I also ordered accent lighting which also turned out amazing (the lights were tripped over a few times but thats minor). This company was great and i would recommend them!

P.S. Matthew is great at the cupid shuffle! haha
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1277436667921-014
Heather
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
Midwest Sound was great to work with. They don't decide the DJ until the week of your wedding, which can be a little nerve-wracking. Our DJ was Kevin, who was so awesome. Everyone had a lot of fun at the wedding and it was a great deal.
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Trista
Wedding:
6/11/2010
4.9/5.0
Our reception was a blast! I owe a big part of that to Midwest. If I only had one complaint, it owuld be he got my brothers name wrong in the bridal march. Honestly I think I was the only one who noticed, besides my brother. They walked me through the entire setup of music, and even helped me get a DJ that was suited best for my personality. They showed up on time, looked terrific, were polite as ever, and even checked in with me periodically to make sure I liked the path they were following with the music. I was flabergasted when they thanked me over and over again for letting them eat a cupcake! I would definitly recommend them, especially if you want the option of someone walking you through the entire process. What a blast! (They even brought hats so we could do the YMCA dressed like The Village People.) I will never forget it!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KathPerk11
Wedding:
5/27/2007
4.9/5.0
Chad was FABULOUS... They were sure to double check everything with you - follow up when necessary - and follow through 'til the end. Their 'extras' were just what we needed and Chad did just the right amount of 'crowd encouragement'. Great service!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.8/5.0
Midwest Sound did a great job at my wedding. They showed up early and were very easy to work with! Thanks guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Our DJ had our guests dancing all night. You can meet your DJ before the event. Chad and his staff were very helpful in answering all my questions!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katiemed
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
The staff was all very friendly and willing to accommodate. I dont EXACTLY as it was listed on the requested sheet from us. When he was setting up I asked him to play music as if it were a party for young people (Hubby and I are both in early 20's so are our friends). I told him not to worry about the request list. From 5:30-8 he only played slow music. Everyone sat and was dissapointed. When it came time for the grand entrance he was no help coordinating and my husband did everything. He missed the garter toss....I spun my husband myself and counted to 3 since the dj wasnt paying attention. When he did start to count, I told him we were already done and he just changed the music quick. After all the special dances he did play faster club type music that I had requested but he made no attempts to get people to the dance floor. I dont blame him- I think he is ment for an older couples wedding. He tried but he wasnt right for us. The company I love though
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1248742921973-p1000672
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Our DJ John did a fantastic job. He listened to requests and made sure to let me know in advance of any special events. There were a few songs on our "must play" list that weren't played but I didnt notice it in the moment and anything I requested was played within a few songs. Our original DJ cancelled last minute due to sickness, but John filled in and did amazing despite such short notice. My husband's only complaint was that he was wearing jeans (I didnt even take notice of this). The level of interaction was perfect and he was far from cheesy. I won't hesitate to recommend them in the future to other brides.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hsuxx064
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.8/5.0
Our DJ is Michael Breitbach. He did a very good job. He did everything we expected him to do.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.8/5.0
I was very happy with thier service. We didn't meet our DJ until the day of the wedding, which made me a little nervous. However it turned out to be great. Our DJ really tried to get people to dance and was a really nice guy.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trataj
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.8/5.0
The process for planning was easy, our DJ was really nice and professional, and the night went off without a hitch.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cschwenn
Wedding:
3/29/2008
4.8/5.0
They were everything that we asked for!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1335820261531-12
Haley
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.7/5.0
Midwest was great and our DJ Matthew was even better! He kept the party live until the very end and we appreciated his flexibility on the day of the wedding as there were some changes to the set-up. It was a little scary that the company doesn't really reach out to you until the week OF the wedding, because up until then you're sort of in the dark about who your DJ is. But, besides that everything went well and they even gave us a Thank You card at the wedding, which also had an emergency number in case something happened. We appreciated the value of their services too - definitely reasonably priced for how integral they are to the party!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lyssagirl2003
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.7/5.0
We loved Midwest Sound. We were able to choose which songs we wanted played and which ones we didn't. Also, throughout the night, the DJ would ask us if there were any particular songs we wanted played. Everyone had a great time dancing!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.7/5.0
This was the perfect fit for our wedding. We wanted a DJ that wasnt too interactive, and would play music that our guests would get into. Everyone was instantly on the dance floor, and disappointed when the last song was played. And this was the best value by far in terms of cost.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the kind words. It's all about giving you what you want...the way you want it. Best wishes!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/13/2010
4.7/5.0
We almost didn't hire a DJ at all (were thinking about an iPod playlist), and the only reason we did is that Midwest Sound offered us a complete package for $395. If you're getting married at an off-peak time (like us), HOLD OUT and you can probably get the same deal! We signed the contract with less than a month to go before the wedding. I was afraid there'd be some hidden cost, but there wasn't at all. $395 is what we were promised, and $395 is what we paid. Though we didn't get to meet our actual DJ beforehand, he did a decent job. We asked him to play only family-friendly music, and he only ventured outside those bounds a little (and that was after most of the littl'uns and old folks had gone to bed). Mostly he blended into the background, which was what we wanted, and played music that people had fun dancing to. All in all, super glad we hired a DJ (and super glad we didn't pay more than we did!).
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
We had a great DJ. He not only played great music, he coordinated with the caterer and guests to make sure that the night went as smooth as could be. We had a blast.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.6/5.0
Jen was great. She communicated with us throughout our wedding day to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. I do wish that they would have contacted us more during the planning process though. All they did was send us a form to fill out and one short call the week before the wedding, so I felt like we didn't communicate much beforehand. Everything turned out great though. We also had them do our ceremony music, and up-lighting for the reception, which looked awesome.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WahooWon
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.6/5.0
Midwest did a great job in helping us prepare for the day and making any changes to the hours in our schedule. The DJ we got was great, just like what we wanted. He didn't interact too much by talking and making it feel like dancing was starting and stopping. Great job!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1297263953593-laurenanddavid090
Lauren
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.5/5.0
Our DJ, Alfonso, was absolutely fantastic. He was so professional but really fun. He catered to our every need or request. However, the company lost my information on their website a couple months before the wedding, and I had to start all over again. They gave me no reason, and made it sound like it was my fault even though I saved it every single time I was on it.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.5/5.0
Excellent DJ Service, I wish I could remember the name of my DJ - the dance floor was never empty! The Company worked with my Husband and I to create the Perfect Grand Entrance just for us!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bobbylemke
Wedding:
10/15/2008
4.1/5.0
ok business, cost-wise was bad but, business was of good quality.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JennyC
Wedding:
9/5/2008
4.0/5.0
They were great to work with. Got back to us with emails and calls a lot quicker than other vendors. Worked with us to find the music we wanted. The only negative was he forgot to play our Bridal Party Intro song and he played the wrong song for our cake cutting...so that was disappointing, but the rest was great.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/31/2014
3.9/5.0
Midwest Sound was running a special when I hired them, so I got a great price. We didn't get assigned a DJ until the week of my wedding, which some people complained about, but I didn't really care. I didn't have a specific DJ in mind, so it wasn't an important factor. Matt ended up being our DJ, and we had an overall positive experience with him, but started out questionable.

Midwest has a great online library of songs that you can choose from to completely customize your day. The library wasn't the current, but you can "allegedly" write in the songs you are requesting and they would have them. This was not the case and was the one disappointment of our day. We spent a lot of time looking over the library of songs choosing ones that we liked and adding some current Top 40 songs that we knew our guests would dance to however when probed to play the songs, that we added, he said he did not have them. When the dancing started, he played about 4-5 slow songs or music from the 60's that essentially drove everyone off the dance floor. None of those songs were even ones that we requested. When I asked him to pick it up with a song that I wanted to hear, he says he usually "saves that song for later in the night." That was a bit annoying. I feel like we had to keep requesting songs over and over to hear the songs that we had previously selected using the online service. And at one time I told him the next 2 songs to play so that he could stay on track. He was a nice guy, but annoyed that he didn't have our song list, which may or may not have even been his fault. He did however have the essential songs "first-dance, father-daughter" etc., so at the end of the day, there was no big catastrophe and we all had a good time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/22/2013
3.8/5.0
To start off with the ceremony, he played our songs as requested, but the mics weren't on during the readings, and he seemed to be fumbling as I was preparing to walk down the aisle, which wasn't helping my nerves...He played most of what we requested and similar style music during the reception, so the dance floor was full all night. No complaints there. Overall, he did an ok job, but wish everything could have went smoothly.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
klynn
Wedding:
8/16/2008
3.8/5.0
Nothing special DJ did a good job, did play some music I requested not be played though. Good price, bu very basic set up.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1295272536403-photo0130
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.7/5.0
Nothing special about this dj that costed us $895
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
We contracted Midwest Sound for our wedding this past June. This was the very first vendor we signed with as they were running a special that we couldn't pass up. Going into the wedding we felt confident in our decision as our DJ's response time to our inquiries was almost immediate. We completed 2 wedding profiles through the company website with information about our wedding party, who walks with who, full names, timeline info for the day, etc. The DJ himself even called the week of to confirm this information with us. Somehow from this last phone conformation to the day of the wedding, all this information was lost because the day of he was completely unorganized. His times for events (grand march, garter toss, etc.) were wrong, he had no names of any of the bridal party, and he needed help on more than 1 occasion with what what happening next. Even after writing it down, after now as a bride spending about 15mins going over details with him, he still had it confused. The grand march was a disaster and we couldn't have been more disappointed. Every interaction with the company leading up to our wedding was fantastic but the day of this DJ dropped the ball.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
I was so extremely happy when I went in on my initial visit! Everyone was so nice, I was laughing the whole time. However, the DJ they picked for me fell a little short of my expectations. I found it extremely rude that every 10 minutes he had to go outside and smoke. Also, upon calling me he said he was going to bring his own personal equipment and don't tell his boss or he'd be fired before my event, which was 4 days away at the time. He also told me he was quitting a week after our event so it really didn't matter. Luckily my family is awesome and wasn't thrown by how unprofessional he was. While I'm checking I would recommend them to a friend, it's only because I know the DJ I had will no longer be selected for anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

This doesn't sound like any of the DJs I know...but if this is true, it's definitely not the kind of person we want to have on our staff. Would you be so kind as to reply through WeddingWire and provide the date and location of your wedding so I can investigate and take appropriate action? We want to ensure that this person is identified and dealt with accordingly.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristiW
Wedding:
1/14/2012
3.6/5.0
I wasn't thrilled with them but everyone else seemed to really like them. They didn't play one of the only themed dances I requested (generation dance) and when the DJ lined us up for the grand march he quickly asked us our names and wrote them down requesting we only give first names because he didn't have time to take our last names. Shouldn't that have been done prior?! I guess you get what you pay for. They were definitely affordable compared to other DJ vendors!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1245201860257-cjwedding
Joelle
Wedding:
10/10/2009
3.6/5.0
Did a good job
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nebz22002
Wedding:
7/17/2010
3.5/5.0
This company seemed organized and responsive, but they asked me what kind of DJ I wanted and i said one that would interact quite a bit with the guests and have fun, and that is definitely no what I got. He was timid and disorganized, so while I thought the company was great before the wedding, I was disappointed at my reception.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/20/2007
3.5/5.0
Excellent value, great music. Overall it went very well. Only downside was that we ended up with a substitute DJ because the gentleman who was originally going to DJ for us was unable to make it at the last minute. The substitute did a good job, but he kept interrupting my husband and I with a barrage of questions.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HoNNie7876
Wedding:
9/18/2010
3.4/5.0
I was able to get a really good price at the January Bridal show that is why I booked with them. I was kind of upset because they changed my DJ three days before the wedding, and he ended up messing up our slide show. There was music played that was on our "do not play" list. I just think it would have been much better if our original DJ that we met with was the one who did our wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

While we always try to honor requests for specific DJs, there are certain life events (over which we have no control) that make impossible to guarantee any specific DJ. In this case, there was a serious illness that prevented the requested DJ from being there...and as a reputable company, we are always prepared with backup DJs. Immediately upon being assigned to perform, that DJ attempted to contact the client to introduce himself and review the event details.
The slideshow was tested at the event and in the presence of the family member who created it. The projection equipment was working fine, but we were not allowed to play the slideshow in its entirety to verify that the DVD had no flaws. Even though our equipment was tested and verified to be working before, during and after the event, and there is no evidence that we were at fault, a refund was issued as a gesture of good faith.
The music playlist for this event was largely dictated by the client--to the extent that the DJ was given multiple CDs to play. When the planning and music information was finally submitted (7 days before the wedding), it was clearly understood that pre-dinner and dinner music was chosen and on CDs provided by the client, and that there was a disc of raw, unedited rap and hip-hop to be played at or near the 10pm hour (also provided by the client), and that there was to be an effort made by the DJ in the first hour or two of the dance to play something that the older relatives/guests would enjoy. This was acceptable to the clients and the mother of the bride, who was responsible for paying for the service.
Our DJ attempted to please all involved, but with such an utterly divided group, it seemed that with each song played, there was someone who loved it and someone who hated it. Sadly, this situation can't always be avoided...but we did everything possible to follow our clients wishes as they changed and evolved before and during the event.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joelle
Wedding:
6/22/2012
2.8/5.0
Our first interview/meeting was great and we were excited. The person we sat down with was funny/fun and we all hit it off. It was partly why we chose a very interactive DJ. This is now what we got. JJ was nice enough, but not interactive. Many guest's came and complained to us that he was not playing their requests after he repeatedly asked for requests. The most significant thing thought was the ending....we had a guest who was inapropiate and admitted that later (I am not making ANY excuses for this). The DJ acted anything but professional. He stormed out to the parking lots swearing and yelling with guests and children around. Basically throwing a tantrum. He was a PAID professional and acted so unprofessional that I was stunned. We had such a wonderful day and it unfortunetly was scarred by this incident. Although paid professionals never deserve to be treated with disrespectful they are still paid professionals and should ALWAYS act that way.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
6/4/2011
2.8/5.0
Didn't play a lot of the music we requested. He forgot all about the father/daughter and mother/son dance....not worth the money.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/14/2012
2.2/5.0
During the pre-planning process, Midwest Sound and DJ was not terrible. We got a great deal for a Sunday wedding and four hours of music. From there it went downhill. Our assigned DJ reached out to us barely a week before, despite our efforts to get ahold of him earlier. He wasn't aware of time changes to our day and still didn't grasp what his duties were - even after speaking to us and our venue multiple times. Day-of, he interrupted our dinner to once again go over the schedule and ask us for our outstanding balance (which, for the record, was due at the end of the night). He then proceeded to eat cupcakes from our display before we cut the cake topper and drank coffee from our dessert bar before the guests entered the room. He was uncertain of the songs for our first dance and for the flower and garter toss (he literally asked us right before the events what should be played). He also was hesitant to take our guests' requests and wouldn't change the song if there was no one on the dance floor. The experience was sub-par at best, and all we can do about it now is look back and giggle.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/1/2008
2.2/5.0
For the price, you cannot beat Midwest Sound & Light - especially during wedding show season when they offer a lot of discounts. If you're looking for a DJ to just show up and play whatever music they like, then this is the DJ for you. I don't consider myself a picky bride by any means (I wore tennis shoes at my own reception), I found our DJ from Midwest to be less than satisfactory. Our DJ was disorganized, constantly needing my asking questions on things we had already discussed, and dressed in jeans. She was unable to play our ceremony music in person and gave the job to another DJ who messed up the order of the music. At the reception, she barely played any of the songs we had given her (on a CD, as their musical selection is limited) and ignored requests from guests to play certain songs. She wouldn't even play songs I, the bride, asked her to play insisting that "they wouldn't fit". She even played the wrong song to my husband and I's first dance, even though it was clearly marked out for her in an email, their event form, and on the CD we gave her.

That being said, our guests never knew that she did everything wrong (except the ceremony music) but I was disappointed that all my hard work and choices weren't being used - especailly by a vendor I paid quite a bit of money to. If given the chance to go back and do it all again, I would have paid a little more for someone more professional.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1314652692390-bnericswedding
Brant
Wedding:
9/22/2012
1.9/5.0
Where do I start? Working with them pre-wedding date was good. They were not super-responsive, but they did have a form for us to fill out which made us feel comfortable that they would provide great service.
However, once we spoke to the DJ on the phone, I started having doubts. He didn't seem familiar with pop culture songs that were popular at the time. He hinted 3 times that he would like a tip, which was pretty sad.
The day of, he wouldn't take the original check since it was made out to "Midwest Sound and DJ" and apparently we can't have "dj" on the to line. So, I had to be interrupted in the middle of pictures to re-write a check (since he threatened to leave if the check wasn't there). It would have been nice to know this beforehand.

As I mentioned earlier, we had a form we filled out weeks before the wedding, requesting about 10 songs that were "must play". He played maybe 5 of these songs. Also on the form, we stated that we didn't care for country or rap. We also stated what type of music we do like (which is rock/indie). What did he end up playing all night? R&B. It sucked. I had to intervene more than once to get him to play a song that people would dance to. He also played Country AND Rap. It was very disappointing.

Also from what I heard, he went up to the groom's parents room afterwards to party on, which is bad professionalism.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.2/5.0
Our DJ started out competent, asking questions, and wanting to know how we wanted our bridal party introduced. We asked if he had the paperwork we sent him, showed us that he had, and said he just wanted to double check. He then spent the rest of the evening having to take cues from us on when we wanted what songs played, when guests made requests he ignored them, when they asked when their song was to be played he was rude to them, when my brother in-law asked him to pick up the pace, he told him we only wanted slow country songs played all night, which was not at all what we had specified. Then when he finally did take the cue and play some up beat dance music, he then proceeded to glare at the guests the rest of the evening.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
6/30/2007
1.2/5.0
While the manager of Midwest Sound & Light Shows was very nice, professional and responsive prior to the wedding - the DJ that was assigned to my wedding was not.

Songs that were on our "do not play" list were played more than once. When confronted about the music he was playing, the DJ was argumentative with members of the wedding party. Mother of the bride requested songs and was instructed to look for them herself. Dollar dance was announced as "coming up", but then he never actually did it. It seemed that once his DJ ability was questioned, he copped an attitude and it affected his performance for the remained of the evening.

Overall, horrible experience with this DJ. Spoke to the manager post-wedding to voice complaints, was offered no remuneration. I have not, nor will I ever recommend this company for any event. Ever.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dpeich
Wedding:
9/11/2010
0.9/5.0
Spoke with the dj the day before the wedding, he wanted me to email over the list from the midwest sound website, needless to say, I was really busy and never got around to it, I let him know I had everything planned out, and he should have printed that up HIMSELF and gone over it the day before. Most of the music I requested was not played, we had to wait on the dance floor for minutes while he looked for music, he didnt even have the mother/groom dance music, bad qualtity of sound until the last HOUR of the reception. could not hear the grand entrance at all, dj did not interact with the crowd, he started and stopped songs in the middle of the song. i have to say, DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE! i wish i could rewind my day and do it again, and THANK GOD for waterproof make up that day!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment responded with the following comments:

After investigating this review and speaking with other vendors, the true story started to reveal itself. The planning information/music request list was never completely submitted by the client, which led to several songs not being played.
The groom/mother song was never submitted--so at the event when the client instructed the DJ to "just pick something", he did. After he started playing the song, they made him stop and choose a different one (that's why they had to "wait" while he looked for songs).
People in attendance spent much of the night watching the client repeatedly make the DJ turn the volume up to visibly uncomfortable levels, and change things up by playing CDs (from groups like Five Finger Death Punch) that someone retrieved from their car.
It's sad that a hard-working, people-pleasing DJ is being made to look like a villain. By the accounts of the professional wedding vendors, the client was enjoying herself...and was not the heartbroken girl that the review leads you to believe.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.5/5.0
Midwest DJ was horrible to work with. They played the wrong mother/groom dance, wrong first dance song, and never did some of the other dances we requested like the dollar dance. We even had to stop him in the middle of the songs to tell him to change which is extremely embarrassing. He also was very bad at interacting with the crowd like we wanted him to. He told us that it was time to do the wedding party song, but no one had time to get up there or heard him, so we only had 3 couples out of 14 dancing for that part.

Midwest DJ did offer a $50 concession for the embarrassment, but I thought more was in line and politely asked to review the offer. $50 off for the biggest night of your life ruined? I don't think that is fair, I don't think they should profit off of that. So, I asked him to split the difference. He just called me a liar and told me I already breached the contract. He also told me he wanted to speak with my wife, and tried to scare her by saying we breached contract and that is simple contract law.

Instead of just apologizing and offering a reasonable discount, he opted to call us names and tell us that it was our fault. He said we should have submitted the event planner 2 months in advance, and that the credit card payment should have been made two days in advance, etc. However, the DJ called the week before the wedding went over everything. He had it right then, so what changed? And regarding the payment, is he implying that they would have not ruined our night had we made the payment earlier?

After he called me a liar, we decided that we were not going to give any more opportunities to make things right with us. So we just paid the balance with the little $50 concession and gave him this review.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/27/2013
0.1/5.0
​​My husband, wedding guests and I all had a horrible experience with Midwest Sound, and I would highly discourage anybody from hiring them for your wedding. Prior to my wedding, the representatives at Midwest Sound were great to work with and communication was great. Unfortunately, the DJ who showed up on my wedding day was TERRIBLE. He asked my wedding guests what my and my husband's names were, admitted to my photographer in the bathroom full of guests that he lost all of our paperwork, came up while I was getting my dress bustled and asked me what our first dance song was supposed to be, and sought out my husband to ask what our grand march song was supposed to be. Also, he was missing well after the grand march should have started, thus preventing us from beginning dinner on time. Eventually, two of our groomsmen found him outside smoking and asked him to come back inside so we could start our grand march and dinner. In advance of the wedding, I had specifically requested certain songs and song genres to be played both verbally and in writing; these songs were never played. Our uplighting was incorrect, the mics did not work correctly, and worst of all, our DJ was so rude to our guests that two of our guests actually LEFT the wedding. He was also rude to both my husband and my dad when they requested a song break. I am still hearing from my guests how rude my DJ was to them. Guests told me that he "didn't have songs when requested"; they also described him as "rude," "sassy," "unprofessional," and "offensive." A few of my other vendors even commented on Midwest Sound's lack of professionalism and service. I did send a letter stating my dissatisfaction with their services and with their DJ Nick in particular; the company never bothered to send me a reply. I am a music educator and professional performing musician; my wedding DJ was one of the most important parts of my wedding day, and I am so disappointed to say that I was appalled by Midwest Sound.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor

MAP

 
Waukesha, WI 53186 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Midwest Sound DJ Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1211466605548-thedipphotoforwebsite