130x130 sq 1415203313272 farmer

Mike Farmer Entertainment

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5173-3 Waring Rd.
San Diego, CA 92120 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1415288797445 1
130x130 sq 1415288799569 2
130x130 sq 1415288801897 3
130x130 sq 1415288803185 4
130x130 sq 1415288804344 5
130x130 sq 1415288806162 6
130x130 sq 1415288807631 7
130x130 sq 1415288809438 8
130x130 sq 1415288811193 9
130x130 sq 1415288812745 11
130x130 sq 1415288814861 12
130x130 sq 1415288816416 13
130x130 sq 1415288818008 14
130x130 sq 1415288820118 15
130x130 sq 1415288822354 16
130x130 sq 1415288824261 17
130x130 sq 1415288826222 18
130x130 sq 1415288828384 19
130x130 sq 1415288830434 21
130x130 sq 1415288833628 22
130x130 sq 1415288835815 23
130x130 sq 1415288837171 24
130x130 sq 1415288838960 25
130x130 sq 1415288840568 26
130x130 sq 1415289225460 41
130x130 sq 1415289227392 42
130x130 sq 1415289229481 43
130x130 sq 1415289230902 44
130x130 sq 1415289232347 45
130x130 sq 1415289233770 46
130x130 sq 1415289236347 47
130x130 sq 1415289238538 48
130x130 sq 1415289240833 49
130x130 sq 1415289243316 50
130x130 sq 1415289244798 51
130x130 sq 1415289247060 52
130x130 sq 1415289250248 53
130x130 sq 1415289253233 54
130x130 sq 1415289254797 55

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
I get asked this question a lot. My response is - "I'm a lot more than a pre-programmed iPod or computer, but I'm not the "star of the show." There is a happy medium, and I believe I know where it is.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
There's never a limit to the amount of music that can be requested, only a limit on the amount of time to play it. If I get a list of more music than I know I will have time to play, I ask the client to highlight the most important ones.
What is your usual attire?
In most cases I wear a suit and time. Will go the tux route if the client requests it. Also happy to wear khakis and a Tommy Bahama shirt when i get the chance.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Generally speaking, no. In most cases I will acquire the song(s) myself. If I can't find it for some reason, I will then ask the client to provide it.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I am a one-man operation. Always have been, always will be. Tough to get rich that way, but I know the quality of the work every time I go out.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Depends on the day of the week and the time of the year.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
I highly recommend a face-to face meeting between DJ and client. In most cases I have two - one for interview purposes and a second one a month or so prior to the event to go over final details.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Not really. However, I have done a ton of Hispanic weddings and feel very comfortable in that environment.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely.
Do you bring your own equipment?
In some cases a hotel will provide a sound system for the ceremony. In every other case i bring all of my own gear.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Dance floor lighting, up lighting, gobo (monogram) lighting, cake pin-spotting, and yes, a disco ball if someone really wants it.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
In most cases i can be set up in 60-90 minutes, but I always arrive at least 2 hours prior to my start time, and I always provide my own table.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No. My system is fairly compact and does not need a huge footprint.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
I do not use any banners or signage. There are also no vocal or pre-recorded "advertisements" for my services during the event.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I emcee all of my events. I do not, however, spend time talking between songs. Nobody wants that and it just brings the party down.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
I typically do this by playing a wide variety of music. As a last-resort I will invite guests to make requests. I WILL NOT take my mic out to crowd and embarrass them with silly questions about why they aren't dancing.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Generally speaking I do not take breaks. When I am invited to eat, I can load up my computer with 20 minutes worth of background music while I eat. Do I require a meal? No. Do I appreciate a meal? Very much.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
See above.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Fortunately this has only happened twice in over 20 years. In both cases I was able to get the event covered by equally-talented DJs. I network with great people and would never leave a client hanging because I was unable to make an event.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
About once a year this happens. I try not to. If a client was dead set against me booking a second gig on the day of their event, I would be happy to include that in the contract.
What is your overtime rate?
In most cases my OT rate is $100 per half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Depends. Anything over 50 miles would probably require a nominal travel fee.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
One third of the total bill.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Sally
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Such an awesome DJ! He is a great entertainer and very professional! He was very thorough before the wedding to make sure he had all our requests for the big day. The big day was flawless and a lot of that was thanks to him to make sure everything flowed together. People were dancing the whole night! I highly recommend him for your wedding!
Such an awesome DJ! He is a great entertainer and very professional! He was very thorough before the wedding to make sure Read more...
Such an awesome DJ! He is a great entertainer and very professional! He was very thorough before the wedding to make sure he had all our requests for the big day. The big day was flawless and a lot of that was thanks to him to make sure everything flowed together. People were dancing the whole night! I highly recommend him for your wedding! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Mike provided all the music for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. He was professional and responsive from the start which gave us confidence he would be a great person to work with during the process. He had great communication and he was quick to answer any questions we had at any time. He provided a sample request list that helped us sort out the music selection for every stage of our wedding day.

He has been in the business for a long time so he knows what he's doing, no surprises. He helped the whole day flow and he kept everyone on the dance floor until the last song. So many of our guests mentioned how much fun they had at the wedding and I know Mike had a lot to do with it! We are so happy we went with him for our wedding and we would recommend him to any future bride & grooms looking for a reliable guy who is going to keep the party going all night long! Thanks Mike!
Mike provided all the music for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. He was professional and responsive from Read more...
Mike provided all the music for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. He was professional and responsive from the start which gave us confidence he would be a great person to work with during the process. He had great communication and he was quick to answer any questions we had at any time. He provided a sample request list that helped us sort out the music selection for every stage of our wedding day.

He has been in the business for a long time so he knows what he's doing, no surprises. He helped the whole day flow and he kept everyone on the dance floor until the last song. So many of our guests mentioned how much fun they had at the wedding and I know Mike had a lot to do with it! We are so happy we went with him for our wedding and we would recommend him to any future bride & grooms looking for a reliable guy who is going to keep the party going all night long! Thanks Mike! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Janelle
Wedding:
2/28/2014
5.0/5.0
When I asked my 92 year-old grandmother about her favorite moments of our recent wedding, she replied "the food and that DJ!"

The DJ, of course, was Mike Farmer. From the moment that we first met Mike, we were confident that he was going to provide a wonderful wedding experience for our guests. Mike has been in the business for a long time and his professionalism was obvious to us throughout the process.

Mike played a variety of genres for us throughout the event (classical during cocktails, jazz/oldies during dinner and pop/hip-hop/contemporary during the main dancing). He provided us with a "suggestions" playlist for all kinds of different musical varieties. After we sent him our list of preferred songs, he was very attentive to making sure that they were all played.

Regarding communication, Mike was always responsive and I emailed him frequently. About a day before the wedding, he sent us a "good luck" email and reminded us that he'd be happy to make any last minute changes to the playlist.

All that being said, I'd have to agree with my grandmother. Mike was one of the best and most integral parts of wedding not only for his playlist selections but for setting a fun and relaxed tone for our guests.

Mike, thank you so much for everything!!!
When I asked my 92 year-old grandmother about her favorite moments of our recent wedding, she replied "the food and that Read more...
When I asked my 92 year-old grandmother about her favorite moments of our recent wedding, she replied "the food and that DJ!"

The DJ, of course, was Mike Farmer. From the moment that we first met Mike, we were confident that he was going to provide a wonderful wedding experience for our guests. Mike has been in the business for a long time and his professionalism was obvious to us throughout the process.

Mike played a variety of genres for us throughout the event (classical during cocktails, jazz/oldies during dinner and pop/hip-hop/contemporary during the main dancing). He provided us with a "suggestions" playlist for all kinds of different musical varieties. After we sent him our list of preferred songs, he was very attentive to making sure that they were all played.

Regarding communication, Mike was always responsive and I emailed him frequently. About a day before the wedding, he sent us a "good luck" email and reminded us that he'd be happy to make any last minute changes to the playlist.

All that being said, I'd have to agree with my grandmother. Mike was one of the best and most integral parts of wedding not only for his playlist selections but for setting a fun and relaxed tone for our guests.

Mike, thank you so much for everything!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Bg5
Jessie
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired Mike to DJ our wedding, and he was great! We found him via independent research and reviews like these, and he was also referred to us by our photographer. As this had become a destination wedding for us, we arranged everything over e-mail and phone call. It was a very easy and smooth process! I also feel that he is very reasonably priced.

Mike did a fantastic job for us. We hired him to both provide ceremony sound and to DJ the reception. It was great because Mike brings a separate sound system for the ceremony, which means the reception sound system is all set-up and playing some light music when guests made their way over for cocktail hour! We had him mic my husband in addition to the officiant, and the sound quality and coverage was top notch. No sound problems whatsoever! (I used to do theater so I’m familiar with how such issues can pop up when you mix people and sound systems, hehe.)

When the reception came around, Mike was super on top of it. Mike is a pro, and he handled every cue for the evening’s festivities perfectly! We didn’t have a hard partying crowd – that is to say, we had lots of older family and like 25% young children - but Mike still did a great job of tailoring the music to the crowd and the mood, while including the music and styles I had discussed with him beforehand. That’s another thing – Mike really listened to and internalized my requests; he even went above and beyond to track down a certain song version through his network of contacts, unprompted! It was great.

Mike was wonderful, and we are so happy he was a part of our wedding. I highly recommend him to other brides, grooms, and event planners!
We hired Mike to DJ our wedding, and he was great! We found him via independent research and reviews like these, and he Read more...
We hired Mike to DJ our wedding, and he was great! We found him via independent research and reviews like these, and he was also referred to us by our photographer. As this had become a destination wedding for us, we arranged everything over e-mail and phone call. It was a very easy and smooth process! I also feel that he is very reasonably priced.

Mike did a fantastic job for us. We hired him to both provide ceremony sound and to DJ the reception. It was great because Mike brings a separate sound system for the ceremony, which means the reception sound system is all set-up and playing some light music when guests made their way over for cocktail hour! We had him mic my husband in addition to the officiant, and the sound quality and coverage was top notch. No sound problems whatsoever! (I used to do theater so I’m familiar with how such issues can pop up when you mix people and sound systems, hehe.)

When the reception came around, Mike was super on top of it. Mike is a pro, and he handled every cue for the evening’s festivities perfectly! We didn’t have a hard partying crowd – that is to say, we had lots of older family and like 25% young children - but Mike still did a great job of tailoring the music to the crowd and the mood, while including the music and styles I had discussed with him beforehand. That’s another thing – Mike really listened to and internalized my requests; he even went above and beyond to track down a certain song version through his network of contacts, unprompted! It was great.

Mike was wonderful, and we are so happy he was a part of our wedding. I highly recommend him to other brides, grooms, and event planners! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
figgy7
Wedding:
6/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We found Mike online and were impressed by the reviews we read, so we hired him as our DJ for our destination wedding on a yacht. Mike was so patient with me (the bride!) as I went through the pains of coordinating a destination wedding. He was extremely flexible and all around awesome. During our reception, he timed the playing of our first dance song perfectly, as requested. He honored our requests for "must play" songs, and "do not play" songs. When my party began to die an hour before the conclusion of the reception, he magically got everyone dancing again and ended the night with a bang. He was very professional... funny at the right times and not the least bit cheesy. He is a dream to work with. You can't go wrong with Mike!
We found Mike online and were impressed by the reviews we read, so we hired him as our DJ for our destination wedding on a Read more...
We found Mike online and were impressed by the reviews we read, so we hired him as our DJ for our destination wedding on a yacht. Mike was so patient with me (the bride!) as I went through the pains of coordinating a destination wedding. He was extremely flexible and all around awesome. During our reception, he timed the playing of our first dance song perfectly, as requested. He honored our requests for "must play" songs, and "do not play" songs. When my party began to die an hour before the conclusion of the reception, he magically got everyone dancing again and ended the night with a bang. He was very professional... funny at the right times and not the least bit cheesy. He is a dream to work with. You can't go wrong with Mike! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kelly
Wedding:
2/10/2001
5.0/5.0
Perfection!! Played the exact music we asked for, took requests from guests, and was an outstanding emcee. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Perfection!! Played the exact music we asked for, took requests from guests, and was an outstanding emcee. HIGHLY Read more...
Perfection!! Played the exact music we asked for, took requests from guests, and was an outstanding emcee. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork 128
Brad
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We just had Mike Farmer DJ our wedding on October 17th (yesterday)! I had to jump online to give Mike 5 stars (I wish i could give out 10 stars!). He was a perfect MC, keeping the reception moving and making sure our guests had fun. From cocktail hour to grand entrance to first dance to cake cutting to bouquet toss to garter toss to last dance to exiting - THERE'S A TON TO MANAGE AND MIKE DID IT PERFECTLY! He got people dancing with great energy and music selection. There was never a lull during our entire 6 hour reception.

Mike was also really helpful during the planning process, and was totally attentive to our needs. He is a total pro!
We just had Mike Farmer DJ our wedding on October 17th (yesterday)! I had to jump online to give Mike 5 stars (I wish i Read more...
We just had Mike Farmer DJ our wedding on October 17th (yesterday)! I had to jump online to give Mike 5 stars (I wish i could give out 10 stars!). He was a perfect MC, keeping the reception moving and making sure our guests had fun. From cocktail hour to grand entrance to first dance to cake cutting to bouquet toss to garter toss to last dance to exiting - THERE'S A TON TO MANAGE AND MIKE DID IT PERFECTLY! He got people dancing with great energy and music selection. There was never a lull during our entire 6 hour reception.

Mike was also really helpful during the planning process, and was totally attentive to our needs. He is a total pro! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
maripoza
Wedding:
6/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Mike is an excellent wedding MC/DJ and he was a great find for us. He was referred to us by our venue and we are glad that we came to meet him in San Diego. He is very familiar with the Northern San Diego/Riverside County area. Mike was very professional with us, and he asked us about our musical interests and background. He was able to provide us a with a great selection of music, and he was willing to work with us to create our reception soundtrack. We were really impressed with Mike's charisma, professionalism and his ability to manage our fast-moving reception. He came to our event well ahead of time and was set-up and ready before our ceremony. Nothing was left to the last minute, and he was able to be flexible with us as the wedding day rolled on. It was great to have him on our team and we would recommend him without hesitation to other couples getting married.
Mike is an excellent wedding MC/DJ and he was a great find for us. He was referred to us by our venue and we are glad that Read more...
Mike is an excellent wedding MC/DJ and he was a great find for us. He was referred to us by our venue and we are glad that we came to meet him in San Diego. He is very familiar with the Northern San Diego/Riverside County area. Mike was very professional with us, and he asked us about our musical interests and background. He was able to provide us a with a great selection of music, and he was willing to work with us to create our reception soundtrack. We were really impressed with Mike's charisma, professionalism and his ability to manage our fast-moving reception. He came to our event well ahead of time and was set-up and ready before our ceremony. Nothing was left to the last minute, and he was able to be flexible with us as the wedding day rolled on. It was great to have him on our team and we would recommend him without hesitation to other couples getting married. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
cclifford
Wedding:
5/1/2011
5.0/5.0
We were actually recommended to Mike Farmer by three different people that did not know each other, (not on internet) nor attending any event/wedding together. So I pretty much already knew that he would be great and that I was going to book him immediately for my wedding on 5/1/2011. I am so glad that I did!!

Mike was such a professional DJ and so accommodating to us and our wedding guests. ALL of my guests (even my 91 year old great aunt) were dancing and having a spectacular time. Mike was not the cheesy DJ who goes around with games and such to get people on the dance floor. (I don’t know maybe his is if you want him to be! LOL) But we did not. He had precisely the right amount of interaction and just staying out of the light.
My guests even commented to me what a great DJ he was and how much fun they had. We of course had a great time as well. Thanks Mike!
We were actually recommended to Mike Farmer by three different people that did not know each other, (not on internet) nor Read more...
We were actually recommended to Mike Farmer by three different people that did not know each other, (not on internet) nor attending any event/wedding together. So I pretty much already knew that he would be great and that I was going to book him immediately for my wedding on 5/1/2011. I am so glad that I did!!

Mike was such a professional DJ and so accommodating to us and our wedding guests. ALL of my guests (even my 91 year old great aunt) were dancing and having a spectacular time. Mike was not the cheesy DJ who goes around with games and such to get people on the dance floor. (I don’t know maybe his is if you want him to be! LOL) But we did not. He had precisely the right amount of interaction and just staying out of the light.
My guests even commented to me what a great DJ he was and how much fun they had. We of course had a great time as well. Thanks Mike! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
agnes
Wedding:
6/27/2013
4.9/5.0
Mike was awesome. He worked with me flexibly. I picked out the major moment songs and gave him song list of the type of music we liked. He played it elegantly and incorporated fun into the event for the kids and guests. He was pleasant, professional, excellent, experienced. He reallyed helped create our desired feel for our wedding.
Mike was awesome. He worked with me flexibly. I picked out the major moment songs and gave him song list of the type of Read more...
Mike was awesome. He worked with me flexibly. I picked out the major moment songs and gave him song list of the type of music we liked. He played it elegantly and incorporated fun into the event for the kids and guests. He was pleasant, professional, excellent, experienced. He reallyed helped create our desired feel for our wedding. Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
5173-3 Waring Rd., San Diego, CA 92120 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mike Farmer Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1415203313272 farmer