130x130_sq_1384990527439-0topysturvyca

Mike's Amazing Cakes

Redmond , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4134 148th Ave NE
Redmond, WA US 98052 (map)

PHONE

425-869-2992

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Anything is possible within the limits of gravity and physics. Whether you have an appointment with us, call us on the phone or contact us through the Internet, we will take you through... Read more
Anything is possible within the limits of gravity and physics. Whether you have an appointment with us, call us on the phone or contact us through the Internet, we will take you through the creative process.

With your specific idea and reference material, we will translate your concept into a 1, 2 or 3 dimensional design applied to a standard shaped cake or the cake can be a sculpture itself. Whether it's a simple 6-inch round, a tastefully subtle or extravagantly elegant wedding cake or a corporate event to serve 5000, we will take your cake fantasy and turn it into a tangible reality.

We then transform the design into a culinary treat with an unlimited choice of the highest quality, all natural, fillings and flavors. The process is complete when, as the saying goes, "you have your cake and eat it too"! The final creation can be picked up from us, delivered to a wide area locally, or we can ship in anywhere in the country. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384990485050-0flowercake
130x130_sq_1384990377457-0charactercak
130x130_sq_1384990433321-0cheetaprintcak
130x130_sq_1384990321112-0madhattercak
130x130_sq_1384990281709-winecak
130x130_sq_1384990456769-0tiltcak
130x130_sq_1384990412781-0topysturvycak

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Private tastings and consultations are by appointment. Please contact us to schedule. We also have open house tastings on designated Saturdays, which are listed on our calendar at mikesamazingcakes.com
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Wedding cakes are priced per serving, with a base price that includes buttercream icing and a standard border. Other designs or decorations are priced separately, depending on the details.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
The top tier is included in the cost of the cake and is included in the total number of servings.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We are completely custom!
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Delivery is available! Fees vary depending on location

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
When our reception was over we had no cake left - that says a lot right there! The cake was the best cake I have had. They had so many good combinations to choose from. We chose to do half in chocolate cake with salted carmel mousse and the other half in white with raspberry mousse. Amazing! They also put the ribbon and cake topper on for us - we were so happy with the end result. I would highly recommend for cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kell2417
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? I was dead set on having a traditional wedding cake for our September wedding, but my husband was extremely resistant to the idea. I began researching cake vendors online, and came across Mike's Amazing Cakes. I spoke with Theresa, who was so friendly and responsive to my needs. I arranged a private cake tasting earlier on a day when they do an "open house," which was a great way to taste more flavors than are typically offered. Mike's has a HUGE selection of flavors - the hardest part of the process was narrowing it down. Aside from that, they are super easy to work with. Theresa was able to extract exactly what I wanted for my cake. I submitted a few photos of ideas I liked, and then she worked with me to get it down just right. The cake was delivered right on time the day of the wedding. It was not only gorgeous, but it truly tasted as good as it looked, which is sometimes an issue with wedding cakes. It was perfectly moist and packed with flavor. All of our guests loved it! Mike's Amazing Cakes also offers an amazing value for what you get. They are very affordable, which is a huge plus! Definitely check out Mike's Amazing Cakes if you are in need of a wedding or special event cake. They also do some great cake art if that's your thing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
They were so easy to work with and our cake was THE single most delicious one I've ever had at any wedding. Was glad it was at mine! Yumm!! It also looked nice too, though we didn't get anything fancy design wise.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the most amazing finds ever as far as my wedding went! The location where you meet with these guys is in Redmond in Microsoft land, and their office is not super nice, but their service is amazing, their responsiveness is awesome, and their cake?? The most delicious I've had! Got soo many compliments on how good it was!!! Also, the value, wonderful, way cheaper than many fancier (but not as tasty) seeming Seattle shops.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The best wedding cake I've ever tasted and the best price we could find. We had to plan everything from a distance and they were so helpful in walking us through the whole process and selecting exactly what we wanted. They cake turned out beautiful and I could not have asked for anything better!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shiku
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Best cakes in town period, thats all I can say. Try them you will not regret. Got so many compliments on our wedding cake. Planning to use them for birthday's too
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Tammra
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Mike's your cakes truly are AMAZING. They are delicious and the entire experience was stress free!! There is NO reason to look anywhere else these guys are IT!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Sent them an email on the cake I wanted ours to look like and made it look exactly to it. I was impressed. All I had to provide was the ribbon for each tier and they took care of the rest. Their base prices were lower than other bakers we checked around with plus we had a Seattle Wedding Show discount which helped! Their delivery fee was only $50 because they are based in Redmond delivering to downtown Bellevue, not bad. I also got to choose up to two cake flavors which was red velvet with cream cheese and the other was almond poppyseed cake with an amaretto buttercream. Delish!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
whiterabbit422
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
While we only got a small taste of our cake the day of the wedding, it was great to attend several of Mike's cake tastings to choose the perfect one for us. They were able to match a difficult color exactly to the swatch we provided and the cake design was gorgeous. Sarah was incredibly easy and flexible to work with! The next time we need a cake for a special occasion we will definitely be returning to Mike's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/18/2010
5.0/5.0
The cake was not a super important aspect of the wedding for us, so we were thrilled that Mike's could give us a cute, affordable cake with very little hassle! We came to them kind of at the last minute, and they were fantastic about getting everything taken care of. We went in to look at designs and try some flavors, then we did most of the planning with them through email, figuring out exactly what we needed for a good price. They also offered side cakes if the tiers weren't an appropriate amount for our guests so we were able to "customize" how much cake to serve.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Mike's Amazing Cakes did a great job. We had tasted a few cakes from various vendors and Mike's was easily the best tasting. They were very friendly and patient with us as we went through several designs before settling on our first design (of course!).

We also had a custom cake topper made and it turned out perfectly! We had to provide photos and descriptions of the two of us and the results were amazing. The cake topper had a bride and groom that looked very much like us. It turned out so much better than we imagined.

All of our guests loved the cake and we loved the results.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay Ceeya
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
It was fun going to the cake tastings. We would think we agreed on a flavor and then kept changing our minds because they were all so good. We ended up with two. I wanted a very simple cake and after the florist added a few flowers to it, it was exactly as I envisioned...perfect. We had left over cake and my mom shared it at her work with just as many raves as we received at the wedding. I saved the top layer for our anniversary but I think we will get it out on our one month anniversary and order a small cake on our 1 year anniversary since I'm anxious to taste the cake again (since I didn't get to eat very much at the wedding). I would strongly recommend Mike's Amazing Cakes. It was amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michaela
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
All I can say is amazing!! The cake was driven down from Seattle to Portland and was fresh, clean, and perfect! It was so delicious too! I HIGHLY recommend getting your wedding cake from Mike's Amazing Cakes!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
The best cake I ever tasted - our guests loved it. Very affordable if you get the plain cake - same price as the grocery store, but much better tasting!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
habitualstar
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
The cakes were exactly what we wanted! And everyone loved the taste. I snagged myself a piece of the spice cake with cream cheese mousse and it was to die for… We haven’t actually dug into the groom’s cake. It was so pretty that no one wanted to cut it! But we’ll be diving into its chocolate deliciousness soon. We had it custom designed by them to be a stack of records with my husband’s band name/logo on the top. It turned out fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1215271993337-paulandi
Kathryn
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
I had got my groom's cake from there. Since our dog is a big part of our lives I wanted him at the reception. Since dogs aren't allowed I got the next best thing. I had searched online and couldn't find a place that looked really good to me. Then I stumbled apon Mike's Amazing Cakes and my jaw dropped. It was exactly what I was looking for. I ordered the dog and they even put a chocolate banner on it that read "Congratuations Mommy and Daddy, Love Scampers" People to this very day still talk about how amazing the cake was. I highly reccommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/3/2006
5.0/5.0
Mike's Amazing Cakes is exactly that - AMAZING! They made a beautiful wedding cake for our wedding, customized and delivered. They were very responsive and made sure that all of our needs were met and worked within our budget.

I've been to a few wedding shows before my wedding, and the taste of the cakes versus other cake vendors was far superior.

We've used Mike's Amazing Cakes for our anniversary cake [they recreated the top tier for us, so we wouldn't have to eat year old frozen cake!] and every experience is better then the next.

Much love to Mike and his crew at Mike's Amazing Cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.9/5.0
Our cake tasted so good I didn't even believe it myself. We had them build a simple white tower cake and they said "no problem." Much cheaper than anywhere else and the flavors were fantastic. Everyone go here for your cake. They are so easy to work with and if you actually want a creative cake, they will have no problem with that.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.9/5.0
Our cake was amazing -- it was a custom design made just for us. It was a bunny bride and a bear groom on a lush green hillside with trees. It was one of the highlights of the wedding. Everyone was charmed and amazed by it. I don't understand the very negative comment from a previous reviewer. We were greeted warmly, treated respectfully and all of our questions (including several about costs) were answered completely. We were contacted several times during the design process to insure it would be the cake we really wanted. The man who delivered the cake was polite and very careful on our wedding day. An excellent experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anna
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.9/5.0
the title says it all the cake was amazing and looked great my the Reception! i loved the flavor of the cake also! and all the layers such a great CAKE!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn & Kyle
Wedding:
11/21/2009
4.9/5.0
Mike's staff is great to work with. We first went in for a open tasting and quickly realized we'd need to come back again for an appoitnment so we could work out details. It's amazing how much help it is to see foam versions of what your cake will be sized like and look like. Really helps give you some perspective. Our cakes were vanilla with raspberry and red velvet with buttercream. Both were delish! Althrough the day of our only taste were done during photos and we never got the chance to make it back for more! We plan to go back for our 1st ann. and get a replica of our top level to share and celebrate with!

I should note, we had a jump in RSVP's the last few day leading up to the wedding, and Mike's was able to work with us to make sure we had an extra sheet cake in order to accomidate for the extra guest.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.9/5.0
This cake is AMAZING! I know that sounds redundant but it was honestly the best cake I have ever had. And they have so many flavors and they can make it look like anything you want. And they deliver anywhere. All in all it was a great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanne
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.9/5.0
AMAZING. Everyone at the wedding LOVED the cake. It was gorgeous, and the cake was moist and tasty. They were just as attentive to us and out $500 cake as they are when someone orders a $10,000 cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1394175971499-img3002-x
Margeaux
Wedding:
2/15/2014
4.8/5.0
Delicious cake that was the talk of the party. They worked with me to make sure that our cake was exactly how we wanted it, and it was flawless!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg11
Kaitlin
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.8/5.0
We ordered a video game themed cake from Mike's for our wedding and wow was it AMAZING!! And not only did it look awesome it tasted awesome too! They are also VERY reasonably priced, probably some of the best pricing you'll find. Not too expensive at all. I totally recommend them!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.8/5.0
Mike's Amazing Cakes was really amazing. Their staff is incredibly organized and prompt about calling in advance of deliveries to confirm all the details (we ordered two sample cakes a month in advance, and they demonstrated their excellent service then AND with our wedding cake). While our cake was relatively simple, they gave us all the attention we could want to get it right. Delivery was requested at a late time, and they were able to squeeze us in, delivering it perfectly on time the day of. Our guests absolutely loved the coconut cake with orange filling. I can't wait to have a reason to create a "crazy" cake with them, as is their specialty. Two enthusiastic forks up!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
adam
Wedding:
2/20/2010
4.8/5.0
One word AMAZING! The cake we got was delicious. All our guest loved it, i received many compliments from them. Not just that it was delicious it was beautiful as well. The cake was exactly what we ordered.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
Mike's was great and helpful. They make it easy to make changes in your order until the last minute.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suzyling
Wedding:
7/26/2008
4.8/5.0
They rocked! They did a great job going with the look we were going for. They were super professional and the cake was exactly what we were looking for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Lawrences
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.7/5.0
My husband and I were both pleased with our cake. The staff were helpful and the cake flavors delicious! Lemon cake with orange peach schnapps mousse and then a chocolate cake with cookies and cream mousse. We almost didn't have left overs! I love their fondant!

Thanks for a delicious portion of our wedding!
Chris and Erica Lawrence
9-5-10
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dmw_2010
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.7/5.0
The cake is delicious and you almost can't beat their pricing for a "standard" wedding cake. They also do the crazy sculpted cakes, which we got as a groom's cake since we had all sorts of cake budget left over. Everyone LOVED how the cakes looked and tasted. I sampled several different cakes at the Seattle Wedding Show and these guys were one of the standouts. I was honestly shocked at how affordable their pricing was, given how good their cake was. They also have a ton of flavors available. My only caveat is this: if you make an appointment for a tasting, you will only be able to try the two flavors of the week, which you'll have no control over. However, they offer cake buffets about once a month where they'll have several (8-10) flavors available for tasting. They're also happy to box up their current weekly flavors for you to take "to-go", if you're able to come pick them up (their located in Redmond, just off 520). They were also very easy to work with, despite us changing our order two weeks before the wedding (our guest count wound up lower than expected, so we needed a smaller cake).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soralette
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.7/5.0
Our Minas Tirith-shaped wedding cake was absolutely perfect in every detail (our guests still can't stop talking about it!), tasted divine, and was comparable in cost to a "regular" cake. What more need be said?
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.7/5.0
They were so helpful with picking out our cake design. They are so creative they took my ideas and ran with them and produced the most beautiful cake beyond my wildest dreams! Even though my dad had to drive 3 hours to pick it up it was SO worth it. It was absolutely the most delicious cake as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cbhardaway
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.7/5.0
This place did my cake just as I wanted, and all they had were a few pictures and my word to go on.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hollytokip
Wedding:
6/18/2005
4.7/5.0
I was very impressed with the quality and taste of the cakes from Mike's Amazing cakes. My fiance and I came across them at the Seattle Wedding Show and were sure they would be too expensive for our tight budget since we had heard such amazing things about them. We were able to get a coupon, however, that made them the same price as places like Safeway or Top Foods.
We ended up getting two flavors for our 4 tier cake, raspberry and passion fruit. The cake tasted great! We went with a basic butter cream without any frills to cut down on cost and added orchids ourselves to make it look a little richer.
People were actually fighting over the slices of cake because they wanted more. It was great to know we got an amazing cake at a good price and everyone enjoyed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Mike's Amazing Cakes made my wedding cake and did a great job! They created exactly what I was looking for. They were very easy to work with, after the initial consultation there wasn't much I had to do. They delivered it to our venue and it tasted great! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LynnHua
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.6/5.0
I ordered a simple 3 tier cake from Mike's after I had taste from the wedding show. They have awesome prices compared to all the other places. The cake came out exactly how I wanted, and tasted great! They even give you a choice of a 2nd flavor at no extra cost. I wish I had a chance to taste the 2nd flavor during the wedding. They are easy to work with and very nice.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
barkingsquirrell
Wedding:
10/24/2009
4.6/5.0
Mike's Amazing Cakes was super easy to work with. They work is beautiful and make a very delicious cake. The made our cake exactly how we wanted it and were very pleased with the end result. They are a little pricey but in our eyes were well worth the money.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1212974966739-hairknight_and_noble_maiden
Sarliz
Wedding:
8/23/2008
4.6/5.0
We spent some time sketching our design, and it was definitely not too far from a traditional cake, even though Mike's is famous for the spectacular and unusual. Our cake looked exactly as we had imagined, and showed up on time. We loved eating it, and were sad to find that the leftovers had been eaten completely while we were on our honeymoon. We went with mikes because all the decorative aspects of their cakes are always precise and well done. If you're not getting one of their very unusual cakes, the prices are pretty good too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.5/5.0
Everyone at Mike's was great, very willing to work through your ideas and work with your budget. The cake and filling was awesome....they have so many options to choose from you can't go wrong!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1253833630031-car
Jenni
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.5/5.0
I originally thought that Mike's would be way out of our budget due to their "amazing" designs, but we got a coupon for 10% off at the Seattle Wedding Show. Our total cake was less than $400 for 125 servings. We attended 2 or 3 tastings, which were nice since they had 6 or so flavors to try at each tasting. We chose to have 2 flavors, a 4 tiered cake, and an undecorated side cake for additional servings. The only issues we had were that when my fiance went to pick the cake up the day before the wedding, they forgot to give him the side cake. He was busy and stressed that day, so he didn't think twice about it. It wasn't until he got to the rehearsal venue that I noticed he didn't have it. He called them right then and they made it right by delivering the side cake the morning of he wedding. The other issue is that one of the tiers was the wrong flavor, leaving us with 3 layers of lemon cake and only 1 layer of chocolate (the most popular choice for my family). Although the did send us a gift certificate for the value of the incorrect tier, it would have been nice to have had it correct in the first place. Our order form was correct. Overall, the cake was gorgeous. We went with buttercream instead of fondant and it was definitely the SMOOTHEST buttercream frosted cake I have ever seen. The design itself was perfect! I would definitely recommend Mike's, just make sure you get everything you're supposed to...especially if you forgo their $50-$100 delivery fee and pick it up yourself.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
weddinbelle
Wedding:
6/29/2008
4.5/5.0
Mikes was great to work with. I had a specific cake design in mind an spoke to another few vendors who "hmmed and hawed" and basically told me they could give it a try, then we went to mikes and our consultant whipped out the exact picture of the cake I wanted!!

It was delivered and perfect - exactly how I wanted it, and everyone raved that it was delicious! They also have wonderful cake tasting open-houses!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1309834466030-p9201888
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Our cake turned out exactly how we wanted it, except for one thing. There was way too much frosting! When my husband and I did our cake cutting, when we cut into it, all we got was frosting. And we cut a good inch and a half or so into the cake. We actually were told after the wedding that one of the catering people came and talked to my mom about the cake and wanted to let us know that there was so much frosting that they were getting people coming back asking for a different piece of cake because the one they received had too much. Because of this, we didn't get to save the top of our cake for our anniversary because we ended up serving it to our guests.

We were extremely impressed with everything else about Mike's Amazing Cakes. The price was the most affordable that we found in the area, they were extremely helpful, delivered the cake on-time, everyone I worked with was great. It was just the frosting. When you spend as much as you do on a wedding cake, you want to actually get to enjoy the wedding cake and not just get a sugar high on eating a bunch of frosting.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1245087635898-193
kaitlin.hunter
Wedding:
4/9/2010
4.4/5.0
I loved the taste of their cakes and fillings, ours turned out so well. The cost was great, but it depends on how much art you want on your cake. We just went with something simple and it turned out perfect. Again great quality cake for low cost!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.4/5.0
A cake was not something I really cared about until I saw my cake on my wedding day. It is now one of my favorite things about my day. I wish I could have looked at it more!! Tasted awesome too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krabaple
Wedding:
8/12/2006
4.4/5.0
I wanted a tiered cheesecake, which very few places would consider. PLUS, I am a vegetarian, so I didn't want fondant on the outside (not vegetarian), but most of the places required a fondant covering. After showing a picture of and describing what I wanted, they were confident they could do it. The final product was wonderful! Although I paid extra for the fresh berries, it was worth it for the convenience and ease. It looked beautiful and tasted great-- even a year later. They may have overestimated how much cake we needed, but I'd rather have too much than not enough.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/19/2011
4.3/5.0
With such amazing reviews and recommendations it was a no brainer to go with Mike's Amazing Cakes for our wedding cake. The process was easy, the cake tasted great and the expense was low. Our only disappointment was that when the cake was delivered onsite either the wrong supports were sent or there was a miscommuniation with our florist...The cake was 4 tiers and designed to have the 3" gaps between the gaps filled with real flowers. The type of supports that were sent with the cake were not strong and the cake was unsteady once assembled as designed. If the table upon which the cake sat was bumped or nudged the cake would sway, which was a scary experience. We had to keep guests away from the cake all night for fear of cake toppling over (defeats the point of having a pretty cake for people to look at). Everything turned out fine in the end, but whatever happened with the supports was disappointing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danette
Wedding:
6/27/2010
4.2/5.0
Great price and wonderful cake. They have so many choices and you can stop in about 3 times a month for tastings of all the great flavors. I would go there again for a special occasion cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mbride
Wedding:
8/7/2009
4.2/5.0
Mikes amazing Cakes are just that... amazing. When I first made my appointment with them to talk about styles and prices, they really helped me hone in on what I wanted and they did a great job of working with me to fit my budget.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
koosh
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.2/5.0
The front office was a little disorganized and lost our order. We re-did it and the end product was INSANELY AMAZING! Our guests couldn't believe it was a cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.2/5.0
I knew from the beginning that I wanted Mike's Amazing Cakes to do my wedding cake. I had tried their cakes from a prior consultation and absolutely fell in love! I didn't care what the price was that I was going to pay. The cakes were delicious and the unique creativeness of designs is what truly intrigued me.

When I gave them the theme of our wedding, they gave us exactly what we wanted. Everyone at our wedding was amazed with our beautifully our cake turned out as well as how great it tasted!

If you're willing to spend the extra buck to have your wedding cake different and out of the ordinary, I would suggest Mike's to anyone who's getting married.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
9/30/2012
4.1/5.0
The cake was wonderful.
They worked with us in a VERY short time span (our other cake vendor failed miserably)
My main complaint was they are horrific to get a hold of, the phone rings.....and rings.....and rings.....
Best to use email and even then it can be a couple days.

Big picture, use them if you have enough time, the bang for your buck is great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.0/5.0
Several of my friend's have used Mike's Amazing Cakes and loved them, so we didn't hesitate to book. Their bi-monthly cake buffet events are fun and allow you to try several flavors and combinations to find your favorite(s). The staff are all really cool and they are the best price in town, plus you can get a 10% off coupon at the wedding show in January. My only complaint is the color of our cake was way off - we requested hot pink and wound up with a hybrid guests described as brown, black and red... so just make sure you're VERY specific as even with a color sample there is room for misinterpretation. Despite the color error, it still tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kaitlinhunter
Wedding:
4/9/2010
4.0/5.0
I loved my cake from Mikes! The cost is low and the cake taste great. The people who work there are very friendly and I truly believe they can make any type of cake you want.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
Recently went to a wedding and was amazed at how great the cake was. Delicious and the design was flawless. Nice job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eileeneng
Wedding:
9/6/2008
3.8/5.0
Cake was delicious! I ordered a simple cake with only a ribbon at the base (ribbon I provided, and flower decor provided by florist). They allowed me to choose three cake/filler flavors which i tried at their many cake tastings. For the combinations that were not on the cake tasting lists, they provided me the week in which they were featuring the special combination so that I could go in and pick up a slice.

We did walk in twice to check out the sugar flower options they have posted on the wall, and to pick up a sample. The lady at the desk must not like it when ppl simply drop by for small visits of the like. Just be sure to setup an appointment prior to stopping by, and you're good to go.

- I received a 10% off discount for visiting a local brideshow, which helped out a lot for my 5-tiered cake (just about $400 total for 200 servings).
- All pricing was estimated for us at our first meeting, and it did not change.
- All emails were responded to in about 2 business days.
- All calls were forwarded to voicemail.
- Plenty of cake tasting events for you to find the perfect flavors.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/25/2012
3.7/5.0
This was a delicious cake. They were not easy to deal with though and I designed my cake to my specifications on my own. The woman I talked with was not helpful and did not give me any design options, so I researched cake designs on my own and basically emailed her the exact picture of what her cake maker needed to do. Communicating with them was frustrating to say the least. BUT for the price (and it just being cake) this was the best deal I found in the area. The cake was delicious-all my guests loved it-it did look beautiful and matched my specifications exactly.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
They were terrible with communication, but once that was straightened out, our cake was great and the price was very reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
White07
Wedding:
9/1/2007
3.6/5.0
The cake was beautiful, but did not taste anything like we had at our tasting. We opted to get a very basic cake, with ivory buttercream and decorate with flowers. We did get a grooms cake that looked amazing! It had my husbands college mascot coming out of the cake, but the taste was not worth the price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ssdscott
Wedding:
9/27/2008
3.4/5.0
The cake tasted amazing, but they were rude at our meeting.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelia
Wedding:
6/20/2009
3.0/5.0
Actually the first on my list is Starry Night, but since Mike's Amazing Cake(MAC) is cheaper, so we have to settle with mac.
The flavor is okay though. And the price is within my budget.
I like the way they do the flowers and leaves on the cake. They look so pretty.

I don't like the employees at mac.They are not friendly, they don't give any helpful suggestion on decoration and stuff.
I looked at their photo albums and I saw a butterfly that I like. So I ordered 4 of them for my cake with specific color and marking. But they turned out TOTALLY DIFFERENT from what I want.
I just don't want to waste my time by talking to them, so we just let it go.

Just be careful with the flavor though. We went to 3 different cake tasting, and we realized that the flavor is not consistent.

And make sure you made an appointment before seeing them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1206084966621-15-artistic-shot
Femeros
Wedding:
7/1/2007
2.9/5.0
The cake flavors Mike and his crew offer are delicious, for sure. But, the design process and their office staff seriously lacked creativity and professionalism. Our paperwork was lost twice and the staff was slow to respond to questions. Regarding the design, as everyone knows, Mike and his assistants make fantastic show pieces for TV and he has quite an extensive portfolio. We knew the feeling we wanted to evoke for our cake and the style that we loved - we just needed a more budget friendly version. The office staff was helpful during our office visit to make design choices that would help us save money - for instance, the gold details we wanted on the cake was chosen to be on the pearls covering the seams between layers, since they are a "free" detail anyway. But, there was never any help in realizing our elegant look. We ended up with a nice, FLAT looking cake... with no drama or refinement. In comparison to the rest of the wedding, it was a huge disappointment.

Also, when the cake was delivered it had sunk about 1/4 inch and the support dowel in the center of the cake was popping out the top - which destroyed our initial on the top of the cake. So, the drivers had to take the cake back to the studio for it to be repaired. When it returned - thankfully before dinner - the initial on the top was sloppy looking.

All this was further compared to a brilliant cake Mike's Amazing Cakes made for my father's 80th birthday party that we picked up the day after the wedding. His cake was a stack of books, complete with gold leafed "pages" and a figurine of my father, in his shorts and Hawaiian shirt, perched on the edge of the cake, playing the oboe.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.5/5.0
We were pretty disappointed here. Who ever dropped off the cake set it up backwards and so the back of the cake was facing forward and you cold see the seams of the bling strands. It looked tacky. Not to mention it was not securely set up, just walking by the whole thing shook. It tasted great but the look, I'm afraid will turn out poorly in the photos we are awaiting.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PinApod
Wedding:
3/25/2009
2.0/5.0
Being a designer I was really interested in bringing other creative people into the planning of my wedding reception. My husband and I had an unconventional wedding so I wanted an unconventional wedding cake, too. I approached Mike’s Amazing Cakes with an idea but kept it vague because I thought Mike might want to have room to play and bring some creativity to the mix. Wrong. Mike never met with me. He sat on the other side of a door while I talked to his assistant. She’d run back and repeat what I said (I could hear all this) and then he’d say something in response (again, I could hear!) and she’d come back and repeat it. It was so annoying. Well, we went through an hour of discussion because it turns out Mike wants to be told every single detail. Luckily I brought some photos, told them the shape of cake I wanted and exactly what decorations. I left at least satisfied that we’d have a decent cake but was a little disappointed that zero creativity came from Mike. Well, time went by and we were getting ready to leave for our destination wedding (the reception being back at home) so I called to check in and make sure everything was on track. Yes, they assured. Did they need anything before I left? No. They told me they’d check back in with me when I returned from the wedding. Well, we returned, days went by…no word from Mike. I finally contact them again to make sure everything was on track and only then was told they have lost my photos and plans and I need to tell them again what I want! Only this time Mike doesn’t want me to come back in the office again. They’d prefer an email. I was luckily able to find all the information again and provided it to them again. But I really did not have the time at this point to be spending literally hours working on this for them. Plus, I really believe if I hadn’t contacted them repeatedly we probably would not have received a cake for our reception. Further, I no longer had any confidence this was going to be anything close to “amazing”. And I was right. It was the bare minimum of what I asked for and adequately completed but not well done. I didn’t set a tight budget, this was really important to me. But it was skimpy in some respects. For example, I specifically asked for a cascade of white chocolate shells down the side. I received a trail of shells, one wide like stepping stones, down the side. It was stupid looking and I’m sure they knew that was not a cascade. I don’t think anyone at Mike’s Amazing Cakes cared about my order and ordering my cake from them is honestly one of the only regrets I have about my wedding reception. Find someone who really cares and brings something to the table and you’ll be much more amazed, I’m sure.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
4134 148th Ave NE, Redmond, WA 98052 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mike's Amazing Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1384990527439-0topysturvyca