130x130_sq_1222353054448-dg0814x
(9)

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Chicago , IL

LOCATION

163 E. Walton Place
Chicago, IL US 60611 (map)

PHONE

312-751-8100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel is a boutique style hotel with a high level of personalized service. The hotel is located in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast just off the Magnificent... Read more
The Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel is a boutique style hotel with a high level of personalized service. The hotel is located in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast just off the Magnificent Mile. The Crystal Ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests and boasts a 28-foot high, gilded domed ceiling; a balcony that encircles the entire ballroom, crystal chandeliers, and an illuminated dance floor.

Click here to see beautiful pictures of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1233604636765-d0458
130x130_sq_1233604646796-ballroom7
130x130_sq_1233604646093-d0457
130x130_sq_1233604776546-dg0654x
130x130_sq_1233604776656-dg0812x

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Madison
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good about the Millennium. The aestetics of the Crystal Ballroom when it is decorated, the lights are low the candles lit, the white curtains behind the stage hung doesn't hold a stick to any other wedding venue we've ever attended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1376498585766-avatar
Jacqueline
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.8/5.0
What I wanted: An architecturally interesting, historic, unique, chic & classy venue in downtown Chicago.

I got this and more at the Knickerbocker Hotel! My husband and I looked at pretty much all the other comparable venues in Chicago and this was the ONE! Not gonna lie, if we were millionaires my first pick would have been The Blackstone, but the more "affordable" Knickerbocker won. It was "love at first sight" when we entered the Crystal Ballroom for the first time - it's so beautiful that you don't have to worry about decorating the space too much. It has a great stage for live bands. Can't forget to mention the light-up dance floor - definitely a WOW factor.

I also found the "all inclusive" wedding package (includes the space, table/chairs/linens, food, drink, cake, champagne parade, etc) to be a wedding planning blessing. Since the Knickerbocker has only one ballroom, you don't have the share your big day with other weddings. I also liked the separate cocktail hour spaces. The live piano music in the lobby doubled as music for our cocktail hour! Chef Valeria Benner was absolutely amazing and we got a ton of compliments about the food; several guests even told us the "filet was cooked perfectly." It was nice for our guests to have the option to stay, but it didn't feel like a typical hotel wedding. We got the Bridal Suite comp'd for two nights (it was so amazing I didn't want to leave!).

The service team really came through on our wedding day and made me feel like a princess! Victor Zarroli, the Catering Manager, was with us from day one and made the planning both a breeze and a blast! He was sure to accommodate any requests and was just an absolute joy to work with! We were so happy when Aleen joined his team later in the year - she proved to be a huge help and was such a sweetheart! She even helped us get favors at a great price using one of her connections! Overall, I would not change a thing about my venue and reception. It was the best day of my life!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1/19/2013
4.9/5.0
Cannot say enough good about the Knickerbocker. They went above and beyond to see that every detail of our wedding was went off without a hitch. The aestetics of the Crystal Ballroom when it is decorated, the lights are low the candles lit, the white curtains behind the stage hung doesn't hold a stick to any other wedding venue we've ever attended. The food was the best wedding food anyone we spoke with had ever experienced. The steaks cooked perfectly, the soup flavored delicately and the service was second to none. We had a wedding planner. We're so sorry we did that as Victor from the hotel was all that anyone really needs. They knew our needs before we did, they knew us by name (all of the staff, that is) and they anticipated our needs with great care and graciousness. Book your event here for a memory that will make you proud you did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
I really can't say enough about how amazing the service and overall experience of our Knickerbocker wedding day was. The room was gorgeous, the food was delicious and served on time, and the entire staff was so eager to help and so friendly to all the guests, i couldn't be more grateful. Louis is my favorite person ever. He really takes pride in his role and wants to make your day perfect. Everyone worked so hard to make things go smoothly and to keep things fun and easy for our guests. I will never ever forget how amazing our reception was because of the Knickerbocker staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
This review was a bit difficult to complete. If I were asked to review our final product with the current wedding/event coordinator at the Knickerbocker, I would give excellent reviews and recommend this venue to everyone. Our final coordinator was Victor, and he did an excellent job. Our wedding was memorable and special. The service and timing on our final day was spectacular, and the dance floor was amazing!!!!

However, our negative experience with the Knickerbocker was that the wedding coordinators kept changing. We went through three total coordinators in 9 months and the hotel would NEVER contact us when the coordinators switched over. I have been told by other women that they experienced similar problems, but I expected much better service from an establishment like the Knickerbocker Hotel. I do have to say, on their behalf, that I think ultimately the changes they made were for the better. However, I caution everyone before they sign the contract that the hotel did this to us and may continue to do this in the future. I hope they stay with their current staff as they were excellent.

On the positive sides, our food was AMAZING!!! Everyone said how wonderful everything was. They even got our signature drink done perfectly. The room looked amazing and the timing was done perfectly. I commend Victor and the other staff members on how well our wedding was done!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ChicagoBride2012
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.9/5.0
The ballroom was gorgeous, impecable food and unbelievable bridal suite. Sometimes I had a hard time getting a hold of the manager, who was new, but she always got back to me timely.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
ldelor
Wedding:
1/7/2012
4.8/5.0
When we started looking for a venue for our wedding I was dead set on having it at the Chicago Cultural Center. We ended up looking at other venues to make our parents happy and the minute I walked in the Knickerbocker I knew that was it. No other venue captured the grandeur and elegance that the Knickerbocker Crystal Ballroom had. We are so glad that we changed our minds and went with the Knickerbocker for our wedding! The hall was beautiful, our guests loved the light up dance floor, the drinks were amazing, the food was very good and the staff was excellent! We had so many things included in our package that we would have never though of, like a champagne parade and signature cocktails. We would highly recommend this venue to any couples looking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1239159792866-niniweddingdance
gailadd
Wedding:
9/25/2009
5.0/5.0
If you are going to get married in Chicago, do it here. The room is beautiful, the food is exceptional, and there is a light-up dance floor. Everything was seamless, from the beginning of our cocktail hour to our check out the next day. Lauren S. in catering was amazing--she is extremely organized, helpful, and made sure that everything was perfect. Louis and his team did a beautiful job with the champagne parade and the service was outstanding! Our guests are still talking about how amazing the wedding was...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
This venue knows how to do weddings. The biggest surprise was the high quality of the food. When we arrived for our tasting, we expected the food would be good - but we did have the usual expectations of "wedding food". The food was outstanding! We had guests complimenting the food all night. (particularly the portobello mushroom starter and filet mignon entree) How is it possible to perfectly cook 125+ steaks medium-rare, allow remaining guests a choice of two other entrees, plus cater to a gluten-free guest and two kids meals - one of which only eats pasta???!! Who knows - but thanks to the Knickerbocker staff and the head waiter, Louis, the dinner ran like a dream. The staff provided a white glove service which also added an elegant touch. The ballroom was beautiful, truly old-fashioned/old-world with an interesting history. This was important to us as we spun a 1920s theme into our reception by throwing a surprise masked ball (the masks were underneath the tables). We were extremely impressed with Lauren, who was in charge of our wedding reception. She was hip and highly professional and never batted an eye when we announced we wanted three entrees, assigned seating, a slower than normal served dinner, masks underneath the tables ...she made it happen. She was also very easy to get in touch with and ask questions leading up to the wedding day. We also booked a room block for out of town guests as were told the hotel would be fully renovated at that time. The price was good for our guests, but unfortunately the renovation did not take place. This was the only let-down as some rooms were great but others in need of refurbishment and the four star rating was a stretch for those rooms...a bit too shabby chic. I'm highly critical of venues, dining, customer service, etc and I would strongly recommend the Knickerbocker for a wedding - after shopping around in Chicago they are the best of the best.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
163 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1222353054448-dg0814x