130x130_sq_1385160792680-

Mirror Lake Lyceum

Saint Petersburg , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

737 Third Avenue, North
Saint Petersburg, FL US 33701 (map)

PHONE

727-821-1926

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We have brought back to life one of Saint Petersburg's finest historic properties. The Lyceum, with it's structural grandeur and period ambiance, is among the most elegant meeting and... Read more
We have brought back to life one of Saint Petersburg's finest historic properties. The Lyceum, with it's structural grandeur and period ambiance, is among the most elegant meeting and special event venues in the country. Just past the historic Carnegie Library and the original Saint Petersburg High School, our magnificent Mediterranean revival facility is located on the picturesque palm lined Mirror Lake.

You and your guests will step back in time as you enter the Lyceum. The 20's style stained glass windows set the pace of the historic décor. The rich gold, champagne, leather and silk green palette flows from room to room. The period carpet, original oak hardwood floors and inlaid terrazzo accent the hand moulded ornamental plaster. Chandeliers and original fixtures of plaster, crystal and alabaster ornament the Lyceum's Grand Hall with it's soaring 53' domed ceiling.

The Lyceum and its gracious staff provides the feeling of a time forgotten, with doormen and greeters welcoming your guests upon arrival and departure. The smallest details are attended to. Our beautifully decorated interior is the perfect backdrop for photo and video opportunities. Family and friends will cherish these forever. We strive to be flexible in meeting all of your event's special requirements.

Whether planning a social gala, private celebration, wedding ceremony and reception or a corporate function, the Lyceum staff looks forward to making your special event as grand and timeless as the Lyceum itself. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1385160603710-
130x130_sq_1385160606374-
130x130_sq_1385160610046-
130x130_sq_1385160618213-
130x130_sq_1385160625034-
130x130_sq_1385160633810-1
130x130_sq_1385160629813-
130x130_sq_1385160653983-1
130x130_sq_1385160663796-1
130x130_sq_1385160637749-1
130x130_sq_1385160640817-1
130x130_sq_1385160643527-1
130x130_sq_1385160646181-1
130x130_sq_1385160649760-1
130x130_sq_1385160613357-
130x130_sq_1385160659780-1
130x130_sq_1385160667774-1
130x130_sq_1385160596327-

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1926
When was your venue last renovated?
1999
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Vintage, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2300
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Bg15
Carriann
Wedding:
3/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Mirror lakes Lyceum is a hidden gem this place is so beautiful . Brian and Courtney was great to work with their friendly professional and would recommend anybody to hire them for any event you may have. I won't imagine anywhere eles to have my wedding this place is so perfect it's going to last in my memories forever
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum is truly a gem in St. Petersburg!! My husband and I stumbled across it while we were planning our wedding and could not be happier. The venue is truly gorgeous and needs minimal added décor or flowers- the architecture and charm are more than enough by themselves. We had our cocktail hour downstairs and reception upstairs with about 125 people. Plenty of room for all guest and so many compliments with how much everyone loved the place. The staff is beyond exceptional. They were extremely responsive, easy to work with, and went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect. We could not have been happier with the Lyceum and would honestly recommend it to anyone and everyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
I had been dreaming of a wedding in Tampa, so stopping into this St. Pete venue seemed like a waste of time. I walked in and quickly changed my mind. My (now) husband and I completely fell in love with the Lyceum after walking in.

The venue has a beautiful 1920's charm to it. From the beautiful chandeliers to the grand piano to the gorgeous balconies, the Lyceum is truly on of a kind. The way this place functions is really interesting, too. The ceremony and reception are held in the same spot. After the ceremony, the party proceeds downstairs to the basement for cocktail hour when the staff flips the upstairs into a reception area. The space looks like two completely different rooms, but completely beautiful in their own way.

I must mention the staff. Brian and Cortney were both so easy to work with. They made sure my wedding day went like clockwork and were very attentive to all of my questions. I could not recommend the Lyceum more highly. What a spectacular venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
Gina
Wedding:
12/6/2013
5.0/5.0
IF you want a beautiful, historical vintage venue-then Mirror Lake Lyceum is the place to create the wedding of your dreams. From the first day we walked in-we knew that this would be where our wedding would be. IT was conveniently located in downtown St. Pete, all in one for wedding and reception, staff was friendly and courteous. Our wedding/reception at Mirror Lake Lyceum was the event our family and friends will be talking about for years to come.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue was perfect. Every detail of the building complemented our vintage wedding. The restoration work that has been done on this space is beautiful and it's a great location with a "church" feel, but it's not a church. Brian and the Lyceum staff were a joy to work with. His organization made everything run smooth from rehearsal to day of. I would recommend this venue, especially for a vintage theme wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
The perfect venue at the perfect price! Great people to work with and such a beautiful setting. They provided security and lots of helpful staff. Highly recommended
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
10/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Brian was a pleasure to work with!!!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1372428437391-30899238690673636561525241576n
Ashleigh
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely perfect in every way. The architecture is beautiful which required minimal decorating and Brian was a pleasure to work with. Brian is a man of many hats, from wedding coordinator to manager of lyceum. Brian kept everything running smoothly and made my day perfect! He also helped coordinate the rehearsal which helped a ton as we did not know what we were doing. The venue is gorgeous and the archway that we stand under for the ceremony is breath taking. The dance floor is huge which was great for our wedding since it was never emptied. Thank you again Brian for a wonderful experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dyana
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
From the moment we stepped into the Lyceum, we knew that this is where we had to get married. The beauty of the aged building was the perfect backdrop to our vintage-inspired wedding. Brian and his staff were completely professional and extremely organized, there was no stone unturned during the planning process. Because of his attention to detail, we did not need a day-of coordinator for the ceremony; he rehearsed with us and directed us all where we needed to go on the day of, and it went off without a single hitch. They also organized everyone at the end of the night with our sparkler sendoff, making sure everyone was lit and in position for the perfect picture. We cannot thank them enough for everything they provided to us; they were so helpful in answering all of our questions and kept the day incredibly organized. This place is run like a well-oiled machine! The added bonus was that the cost for renting the venue was extremely reasonable, considering they only run one event at a time, and you can have the entire wedding/reception in one space. We are overjoyed at how everything turned out, and it was in large part because of Brian and his staff who kept everything running smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Such a beautiful venue, so convenient to have everything in one location. Handicap friendly and accessible. Brian's (the owner) help is absolutely priceless, he does everything you could need in a day-of event coordinator so don't waste your money hiring one. I was able to just float through my day in wedded-bliss because he handled with all the small details.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently got married at The Mirror Lake Lyceum. I HIGHLY recommend this location to anyone in the Tampa Bay area wanting a nice location for a reasonable price. The surrounding neighborhood is a little rough, but the inside makes it all worth it, and they have security included for the night of the reception. It is a hided gem! From the moment I walked into the venue, I knew it was the location for us. Absolutely gorgeous with crystal chandeliers and stain-glass windows, it fit in perfectly with our antique, southern theme.

Brian is the coordinator at the Lyceum and he was extremely knowledgeable and professional. He gave many ideas for what looks good for the formatting of this location. He was always flexible and available if we had any questions or concerns. Brian even let us come in the previous afternoon to set up some of our decorations, which a lot of places would never allow.

The night of the wedding, we had a few issues with the DJ messing up our lighting color. However, Brian knew right away that it was not the color we wanted and quickly had him fix it before the guests entered the room. He is very observant and made sure everything was perfect for us! His staff was very friendly and worked hard to make sure everything remained clean throughout the night. We received so many compliments about the location and we were told by numerous people that it was the best wedding they had ever been to hands down and we have Brian and The Mirror Lake Lyceum to thank for the majority of that!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Book the Lyceum and you will not be disappointed! Brian is amazing, he has been in the business for years and makes sure that everything runs as planned on the wedding day. When you rehearse he makes sure that everything is covered. He will keep you on a timeline on your wedding day which is very handy.
The place itself is amazing. When my husband and I first walked in we knew it was the one. Very little decorations are needed due to the building itself and the classic architecture. Also one of the things we loved was the fact that everything is in one place and its ALL INDOORS!! Which is a big deal with the unpredictability of Florida weather. We are soooo happy we booked and would recommend it to everyone we know!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
7/18/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely wonderful. My husband and I fell in love the first time we walked in. We received so many compliments from our guests about the beautiful venue and friendly staff. Brian is very accommodating and helpful. His prices are very competitive to others I checked out, especially for what is offered. We were able to visit the venue whenever we liked to check it out again and show friends. You are able to stop by during any of the business hours as long as an event is not going on. I was very grateful to have full access to the venue all day on my wedding day. We were able to come early and set up decorations. We got ready there in a private bridal suite which was wonderful. They locked the door during the reception and ceremony, so we did not have to worry about our personal belongings or wedding money! There are several spots for amazing photos and since the venue is so large, we never felt crammed. People could be part of the party and dance, or have room to sit at the tables and mingle. I wish I could relive the experience. The bar staff were amazing too! I couldn’t even finish a drink without them refreshing me with a new one. We highly recommend this place for any event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son-in-law's wedding ceremony, cocktail hour and reception was held at this venue. A historic, architecturally beautiful building that was previously a church. The stained glass, chandeliers, majestic ceilings and plaster moldings are characteristics that cannot be duplicated today. The Lyceum is truly a unique experience for your guests. The comments still keep coming from our guests. The owner, Brian Wilder, is detail oriented from your initial sit-down with him until the very end. He and his staff know how to keep the evening on schedule and to make sure things flow smoothly. There is not one detail of our daughter's wedding that I would change. The Lyceum certainly made it a magical event.

Karen Macaluso
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Go and see the Lyceum in person! The website does not do the venue justice. It is beautiful inside and outside and will be the backdrop to create amazing pictures. We fell in love with the beauty and elegance of the main hall and the HUGE dance floor. We also loved that when you rent the Lyceum, you have the entire venue to yourself. It is very private and you aren't sharing bathrooms with other guests as you would at hotels or larger venues. We decorated with flowers and candles. That is all you need as it already has such a beautiful appearance. Having the bar set up on the dance floor really creates a fun atmosphere during the reception. The dance floor is so big, our 220 guests had plenty of room to dance and we had a band that took up part of the floor too. Brian and his staff are so professional and think of every detail. They flip the room in what seems like a matter of minutes. Brian will work with you on any questions or requests. I didn't get ready at the Lyceum and Brian suggested I could come in a side entrance into the Bridal Room without anyone seeing me. We were very impressed with the service from Lundy's as well. You have to use them for your bar and they were extremely professional and work all the Lyceum events so they know what works best for the venue. The Lyceum is in a great location for out of town guests. The guests can stay at any of the downtown hotels and be in walking distance of great restaurants/museums. We rented the St. Pete Trolley to shuttle guests back and forth. Overall, it is a wonderful venue and location with a great staff to back it. You will not have to deal with a different "coordinator" as you would typically have to deal with a hotel. Brian will be there every step of the way. He also has wedding albums you can look at to see different color schemes/different floor layouts, etc. I highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Katie
Wedding:
4/14/2013
5.0/5.0
The moment I stepped through the front doors of Mirror Lake Lyceum I knew it was where I wanted to get married. Its an older building in a transitioning neighborhood, but its classic and elegant. It was perfect for us because its attractive on its own, so we weren't forced to spend tons of money on decorations, though there were many places that we added our own personal touches anyways. Our family and friends loved how unique the venue was... so many people get married in hotel ballrooms, yacht clubs, country clubs, etc. We loved having our wedding somewhere with a lot of history and character.

In addition to it being a gorgeous venue, the general manager Brian Wilder is a dream to work with. From our very first meeting a year prior to the clean up on our wedding night Brian went above and beyond to assist us in every way possible. He responded to my emails promptly all year during the planning phase, and on our wedding day he was the one who made sure everyone was where they needed to be and that everything ran smoothly. You can tell that he cares deeply about Mirror Lake Lyceum, and even though he's a busy man, he makes your event feel like a priority.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Brian wilder was amazing on our big day! He made sure everything went smoothly! The Lyceum is absolutely beautiful! It was worth every penny! My day was perfect and the staff at the Lyceum was phenomenal! I would never have chosen another venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Best venue in town! Brian was extremely helpful and professional. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
3/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Brian was more than willing to help with ceremony. He was timely in his responses and allowed us to stop by and go over the ceremony and reception set up and schedule whenever we wanted. The museum is very historic and made a great place fir our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
First of the mirror lake lyceum is a gorgeous place, and working with Brian is great as well! I could not have asked for a more beautiful venue! Would def recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyler & Erin
Wedding:
2/17/2013
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum may simply be the best place in the Tampa Bay area to hold a wedding. As a couple we were looking for a place that was beautiful, inclusive, and historic. The Lyceum fit all of these qualifications and more. The Grand Hall felt like a church for those who want a church wedding, but also kept its charm as an event space, theatre, and reception hall. It fits everyone's needs. The Lyceum has a wonderful dance floor, stage, and downstairs area for cocktail receptions. The acoustics were wonderful. We had an a cappella quartet who sang and their voices alone filled the hall with no amplification while the music provided by a DJ was equally as balanced. Because of its classic style there were many spots to take pictures including a balcony with old wooden seats. The staff were attentive and informative. They have the system down, but make you feel your individual day is special to them, and not just a wedding factory. They offered many suggestions and knew how to make our wedding look nice with our personal flare. They also have free parking to boot.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue, organized staff, helpful owner. Mirror Lake Lyceum was the perfect place for our wedding, big enough but still was an intimate feel. I cannot say enough nice things about Brian Wilder. He was very prompt with email returns, even on the weekend. Easy to work with and extremely knowledgeable about the wedding industry.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
2/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Brian at the Mirror Lake Lyceum is a gem to work with. The beauty of the building speaks for itself. If you want an amazing event and even better pictures - call Brian at the Lyceum. He and his staff made us feel so taken care of during planning, and more importantly during the event itself. Flawless!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Brian with Mirror Lake is absolutely amazing. The venue itself is so beautiful you dont need to spend as much on decorating it. The coordination of every aspect of our special day went perfectly thanks to Brian and his staff. Absolutely, hands down, could not have been more wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janelle
Wedding:
1/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum facility is truly one of a kind. Breath-taking architecture, a speak-easy reminiscent cocktail lounge, and a surprise dining room transition make the building exciting with endless photo opps. Little to no decorating is needed. Brian was truly amazing with his patience and assistance in helping us plan event timeline and coordination amongst vendors. We can't express how thankful we are for his attention to detail and thorough planning. Its location puts it right by the downtown attractions & activities, making it a fun weekend for your guests. Wedding day was perfect! If you are looking for a weather-proof, intimate, historic, beautiful venue that all your guests will be sure to remember, the Mirror Lake Lyceum is for you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum was amazing. Our wedding day was just beautiful! Brian and his staff at the Lyceum were on top of everything and always available in the days and months before our day and ESPECIALLY on our day! My expectations were totally exceeded! We got many complients on how beautiful the Lyceum is and how everything was set up. A few of the benefits of the Lyceum are: 1) you get the entire place to yourself for your ceremony, cocktail hour and reception, no sharing with other groups or weddings, 2) the dance floor is off to the side which makes it nice for those who want to socialize without yelling over the music, 3) the acoustics make it easy to hear the ceremony without having to mic everyone - we didn't even need to mic the piano, 4) the Lyceum is so beautiful on it's own that you don't need a lot of decorations.

I was a very nervous bride and was second guessing myself about everything, but in the end this was the perfect place and it was everything I wanted our day to be and more. Things were just seemless and beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
I would recommend this venue to anyone planning a large event in the Tampa Bay area. Brian has been doing events there for a long time and is very helpful in the planning process. He made our day perfect and hiccup free. I am very happy with our selection of using this venue and am very thankful to all the staff members who made it painless for my wife and I. Thank you again for a perfect day to the Mirror Lake Lyceum staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evy
Wedding:
10/29/2012
5.0/5.0
This venue was beautiful! All guests raving about how lovely this venue was. Brian, the owner was very professional, told us how everything was financially without trying to add services on, which I appreciated. Brian was also quick to respond to any questions I had prior to my event. Rehearsal day he ran the show for us since we had no idea, which was wonderful! He and his staff were very patient when we started later... and made sure everything ran smoothly! All over great experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum was a beautiful venue for our wedding and reception. Bryan was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the planning process, and on our wedding day. I would recommend this venue to anyone who would love to have their wedding and reception in the same place. Bryan and his staff having everything down to a science, and they made sure everything was done perfectly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum wasn't just our wedding venue, it was an experience. Brian Wilder is the GM of the Mirror Lake Lyceum, but for us he was almost a wedding planner, helping us pick our wedding colors, vendors and just being there for us through the whole process. The venue is beautiful as we knew, but what blew us away was the attentiveness of Brian and his staff.

We heard what a pleasure Brian and his staff were and they completely lived up to their reputation. Our rehearsal ran so smoothly and the actual day was like a well choreographed dance. Words cannot express how appreciative we are to Brian and his staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Brian Wilder and his crew are so easy and accommodating to work with. They will go out of their way to make sure your big day is stress free and beautiful. From the first day of planning to the day of your wedding they will work close with you and set your mind at ease. I am mom of the bride and this was my first wedding planning. Brian was so helpful answering any questions I had and even making suggestions that I welcomed. He has been doing this for quite awhile so his suggestions were well accepted. On the day of the wedding he makes every little step go smoothly from working with your vendors during setup to making sure every aspect of the day goes smoothly right to the end. I would highly recommend The Mirror Lake Lyceum. Oh did I forget to mention that the venue is beautiful? Built in the 1920's as a Church, Brian renovated the building to its original beauty. Wait to you see the place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience at the Lyceum. Brian was extremely helpful in getting everything set up for the day of. Because they are so experienced with weddings, everything ran so smoothly. They had the schedule down pat and set up for us. Brian offered many suggestions for the ceremony and reception, as we weren't sure what we wanted. They took care of everything for us and made us feel very special. We had a great time and were very happy with the service we were given and the value for what was included in the package. The setting is also very beautiful if you are looking for a more vintage feel for your wedding. There are a lot of great places for photos after the ceremony. All of our guests loved the venue and had an amazing time thanks to the professionalism and preparedness of the staff. We would HANDS DOWN recommend the Lyceum to anyone!! We had a great wedding experience there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue. Brian Wilder is very helpful. Wedding day coordinating was all taken care of. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1296859655237-fbavatar5031400
Jessica
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
This is such a beautiful venue. We fell in love with it as soon as we walked in and knew we had to have our wedding there! The wedding went beautifully! Everything looked fantastic, and Brian and his crew were amazing! We loved how unique the place was and the fact that it was totally private! That was the main reason we chose it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum is not only a beautiful place to have your wedding, the staff is AMAZING. Brian, who runs the Lyceum, makes it his mission to make your wedding as perfect as possible. He is there every moment of your wedding. He did everything from opening and closing the door for our ceremony to making sure that our sparklers were perfectly timed at the end of the night. I had no worries the day of my wedding because he took care of everything. Without a doubt, this is the best place to have your wedding because of the beautiful venue, amazing staff, and the best price by far!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zenia
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum was amazing. The building has so much character, and I fell in love with the venue as soon as I walked in. Brian, is an awesome person to work with. I lived in California and was planning a wedding cross country. Brian always responed to my emails and phone calls immediately! The day of the wedding Brian and his staff were excellent!! I would recommend this venue to anyone!! The price was alittle more than what I wanted to spend,but it was worth every penny!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmrichey4
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!! Nothing compares to the Mirror Lake. Seriously, if you want something different and beautiful all by itself, you will find it here! My wedding was beyond perfect. Not one mess up occurred. Brian knows everything like the back of his hand and makes sure every little detail coming down to the chairs being lined up with the carpet patterns is perfect! I love this place so much and only wish I could come up with another celebration to have here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1290897815163-coreyatl2
Jessica
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Brian is incredible and so helpful! My wedding was perfect and everything I could have dreamed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reshelle
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough good things about Brian and the Mirror Lake Lyceum. As soon as my now husband and I walked in, we knew this was the place for us. Inside, it is simply gorgeous. It is a 1920's building that has been restored beautifully and gives you an old-world feel that is impossible to find in the newer venues. We even used the decor of the lyceum to inspire our invitations, programs, menus, etc.

On top of the beauty, Brian, the gentleman who owns and runs the place was a godsend for us. We met with him several times prior to the wedding and he answered all of our questions easily and was on top of every detail.

On the day of, it was him who kept our day running flawlessly. He was simply amazing. I have had several of our guests tell us that not only was ours one of the most beautiful weddings they had attended, but also one of the smoothest and most organized.

I would highly recommend this venue for anyone getting married in the St. Petersburg area!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laisha44
Wedding:
2/18/2011
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum is the PERFECT location for your wedding ceremony and reception! It is a diamond in the rough. We happened to find it one day while searching for potential wedding venues online, and once we went to the Lyceum, we fell in love with it and signed a contract with the Lyceum the next day.

The Lyceum's Manager, Brian, is very organized, responsive and professional. He was a tremendous help in recommending vendors (e.g., caterer, cake, florist, DJ, etc.), and did a fantastic job with the rehearsal day. He explained how the day would work, how the Lyceum staff would move the guests between the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception, etc. Our wedding day was perfect, thanks in part to Brian and his team at the Mirror Lake Lyceum.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mindy
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for elegant and romantic for your wedding then the Mirror Lake Lyceum is the venue for you. My daughter and her fiance fell in love with the building the first time they saw it and booked it the next day.
Brian Wilder, who is one of the owners is totally hands on, and available to help and address any concerns. Our entire experience was wonderful, and went off without a hitch, well any that the guest knew of, thanks to Brian, and his attention to detail .
After the ceremony the guest were escorted down to the Orpheum lounge, which is totally cool, and the Grand Hall morphed into the most amazing venue for the reception. The Lyceum staff worked fast and every detail was perfect. Sooooo many phone calls saying what a fabulous wedding and how beautiful and cozy feeling the ceremony was. Exactly what Caroine and Andres wanted for their cermony. The pictures are toatlly amazing.
Many of the guest didn't even realize when they came upstairs for the reception they were coming back to the same room...Big WOW factor. Again just what the bride and groom were looking for.
Danced til the end on both dance floors, while the capable staff at the Lyceum kept everything running smoothly.
Would highly recommend this venue if you want a worry free, fabulous, unforgettable, beautiful wedding. So happy we had our daughters wedding at the Mirror Lake Lyceum.
Mindy
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1288665979079-737701596257659913104011910916863656567005n
Bre2Be
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I originally thought we wanted a beach wedding. We looked around at several local hotels and resorts and were less than impressed. Then, just when we were starting to feel defeated, we walked into the Lyceum and got "that feeling".

I can tell you that WITHOUT A DOUBT, it is worth every penny and then some. The place alone sells itself, but the co-owner, Brian, is priceless. He is truly one of the calmest, most organized, and professional people you will ever meet. Unlike the hotel/resort wedding planners, Brian owns the property so he takes pride in it and knows every inch of the place like the back of his hand. He was incredibly helpful during the planning process.

We had our wedding there on 10/10/10. After the ceremony Brian and his staff escorted our guests downstairs to the Orpheum, which is a speak-easy style lounge for cocktail hour. During that time Brian and his staff transformed the ceremony space into our grand reception. Everything was flawless.

The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. It is gorgeous! Because it is so ornate you don't need a lot of decorations. If you are looking for an elegant venue with class and sophistication and you’d like for you and your guests to be treated like royalty, then you absolutely must check out the Mirror Lake Lyceum. You will NOT be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marina
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
The owners of Mirror Lake Lyceum and their staff made the reception in this unique historic venue exceptionally grand. From the 4 Doormen, the coordination of the layout and facilitating the reception was fabulous. They went above and beyond to accomodate every request and they even offer a full 5 hours of reception time.
It was a perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lena Jones
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Mirror Lake Lyceum Is an AWESOME place to have your wedding ceremony and reception.. Brian and his staff was GREAT they really help us out alot with everything from the ceremony to helping our cater and florist set up for the reception.. Brian was really AMAZING he really went above and beyond to help us out with everything from our wedding party line up to the order everyone should enter to whatever we needed help with in so happy he was there to help out.. I would pick The Lyceum over any other wedding venue.. Courtney who is partner with brian and catering by Libbys was also great to work with and very helpful..
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stargazerlily1979
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
DH had to talk me into going to this venue, since I really wasn't crazy about it based on their website. As soon as I walked in, though, we knew that was it, it was perfect for what we wanted. Brian Wilder, the GM, is quite possibly one of the most organized people (besides our DOC) I have ever met. He and his staff helped us to figure out the best floor plan and kept everything running like clockwork all night. It was amazing how fast they flipped the ceremony room into our reception room, everything was seamless. The venue itself is absolutely beautiful, you can tell it's really Brian's baby and he takes incredibly good care of it and their clients. Everyone commented on how beautiful the building was, and we have some beautiful pictures of it from our guests (pro pics pending but I'm sure they'll be gorgeous as well). The Lyceum has their own in-house Bar Service, Lundy's, and they did a great job as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1260042750414-dsc01587
Jonathan
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
This is the best venue in the entire downtown st. pete area. I enjoyed every minute of the planning from start to finish. Brian, the owner of the venue is very professional and pays attentions to every little detail Our event was executed with perfection. A month later, our guests are still raving about this venue. You must check this place out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsreiser10
Wedding:
4/16/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a truly unique and elegant wedding, the Mirror Lake Lyceum sets a beautiful stage for a dream wedding. Brian helped us each step of the planning process, from flowers to aisle runners and so on. His knowledge and patience was much appreciated. Thank you to the Lyceum for a wedding I had only envisioned in my dreams!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Breanna
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum is a trully wonderful place for a wedding. Brian is not only organised and efficient, but he goes above and beyond to make sure that everything goes according to plan. The venue is absolutely beautiful and the perfect spot for a wedding - it is also an extra bonus that you can have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all in one place. I think our guests really loved that. I highly recommend the Mirror Lake Lyceum, as well as Brian and all his team. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aubree
Wedding:
8/3/2007
5.0/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum in St. Petersburg, Florida is by far the best venue we looked at. We went to several places trying to find the perfect venue in the Tampa area, and the Lyceum was hands down the best value. It was a church many years ago, but it has been renovated. It has beautiful wood floors, a gorgeous staircase and plenty of room for guests. One unique feature about the Lyceum is that it has a downstairs area that kind of resembles a jazz club. Guests are escorted downstairs after the ceremony for h'ordeurves while the wedding photos are being taken. After the photos are taken, the guests are escorted back upstairs and the ceremony room has been transformed into the reception. It was AMAZING! I highly recommend this place to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Brian was very easy to work with and the Lyceum is a "well-oiled machine." The lighting is beautiful and perfect for pictures. The venue is pristine and very comfortable for the guests. The cost to rent the facility is pricey, but you get a lot for your money and your wedding is the only wedding at the site, unlike most other venues in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
2/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Brian, the owner and manager of the Lyceum, is just incredible. From the very beginning he was honest with us about what he thought would look nice, and was friendly and quick with his responses. The venue itself is just GORGEOUS and we got so many compliments on it. (I can't tell you how many people asked us "How did you FIND this place? It's AWESOME!!") If you're looking for a reasonably priced place that will function as both a ceremony and reception locale, this is perfect. It needs no "dressing up"... is elegant (yet fun! gotta love the speak-easy style basement for the cocktail hour!) Not to mention, it's close to shopping, hotels, the beach, nightlife and more. Originally we were thinking we wanted a beach wedding, but I am so, so happy we found the Lyceum instead.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1231866097718-wholelottapictures2008114
Kim
Wedding:
2/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved Mirror Lake Lyceum from the first time I walked through the door. It is a beautiful venue with so much character, that surprisingly not a lot of people outside the wedding-planning world seem to know about. We received tons of compliments on finding such a unique and pretty location. I personally liked having the band and the dance floor off to the side so that it really felt like a party after we were done with dinner!

Brian's professionalism is outstanding, and his experience with weddings of all kinds provided us with a great reassurance that everything would run smoothly, which it did! The Lyceum staff were friendly and helpful, and they made sure our gifts were safe and got with the right people at the end of the night.

I'm so happy we made the decision to have our reception at the Lyceum!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
12/12/2008
5.0/5.0
We knew that we wanted to have our wedding reception from the time we got engaged. They were not available the orginal day we wanted to get married and changed our date so we could still have it there. Brian and his staff are wonderful. They will do anything for you. The day of the wedding was wonderful, everything went on without a hitch thanks to him and his wonderful staff. The building is beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Searching around town for a venue was like trying to find a needle in a hay stack. Being by the beach, I did not want th typical beach wedding like all my friends. We looked many weekends at Sunken Gardens, Safety Harbor Spa, Don CeSar, Vinoy, etc.-- all the typical ones in Pinellas County. None of them seemed to have everything-- either the site was gorgeous, and had a less than great hall, or whatever. We finally decided on the Mirror Lake Lyceum after meeting with Brian, and receiving a tour of the facility. So beautiful and unique. We had the cocktail hour below with the bar and the stage, and then the guests were ushered upstairs for the dinner. People said how beautiful the site was, and how they like the dancing, eating, and cocktail hour in different places. Made the wedding actually have memory milestones in their minds. People actually emailed me after the wedding, and told me it was best and most elegant wedding they had ever gone to. The site lends it self to making any moment special. Brian is on hand, and helps a lot with telling people where to go, and with cleanup. Such a undiscovered little jewel down there in St. Pete. It is worth a look at in your search.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rmlang
Wedding:
4/12/2008
5.0/5.0
The Lyceum was absolutely perfect. The night was flawless. Brian and Courtney provided great service. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue for any wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamey
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Exceeded our expectations in every category...

We had our ceremony and reception at Mirror Lake Lyceum recently and have nothing but praise for the venue, the owner (Brian), and the staff. Going into the event, we were careful not to get our hopes up, as there is always something that "goes wrong." However, it would be difficult not to describe our wedding as the perfect evening.

Specifically, my husband was impressed at how much of a calming effect Brian and the staff had on the wedding party. Their coordination amongst each other and with the vendors made the evening flawless. Brian is very organized and knows the wedding industry well. I went to the Lyceum for our rehearsal (Brian includes a guided rehearsal prior to the wedding) with several boxes of wedding decor. I expected to setup after the rehearsal, but Brian and his crew had it done with little to no direction.

The Lyceum itself has an interesting architecture. The building has been beautifully restored, but still maintains its original elegance and grandeur (hard wood floors, brass banisters, crystal chandeliers, stained glass windows). One must walk inside to truly appreciate the entirety of the ornateness. The ceremony site (the stage) has a beautiful three-story arch that gave us the church feel that we wanted. After the ceremony, the guests went downstairs to a bar area that lends itself to the perfect cocktail hour setting. During this time, Brian and the crew were busy transforming the ceremony site to a reception area. The ceremony site looked like a different room and the adjacent ballroom was opened for the upcoming reception. Other venues we looked into were somewhat boring and static, in comparison. However, the transitions at the Lyceum allowed the event to flow from one purposed area to the next.

Other Positives:
-There is only one event at the Lyceum at a time.
-Access for setup/rehearsal was flexible based on availability.
-Mirror Lake and the St. Petersburg skyline made for a nice background for our pictures.
-The value for the cost is certainly within reason, as you get the entire building versus a conference room in a hotel or a gazebo on the beach for the same price.

Potential Negatives:
-As the venue only services one event at a time, you must book early to assure your date.
-The Lyceum requires that you rent chair covers from them (if you want them) and use their bar tender. Yet, their prices on this were reasonable and it seemed that Brian was very flexible as far as other decorations that you might want to bring in. For us, this turned into a positive; the bar service was excellent and they setup the chair covers for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Absolutely stunning! The Mirror Lake Lyceum has a gorgeous old world charm to it. We loved that we had the place to ourselves for the whole day (they only book one wedding per day) and it's absolutely beautiful. It's also very convenient for one stop shopping: ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. We loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stpetebride
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.9/5.0
This venue is breathtaking! It is a bit pricey, but well worth it since you will not need much added decor. The venue manager likes things done a certain way and most times has a good reason. If you want something different, just be patient and level headed and ask with a logical explanation. Their responsiveness is awesome. The only thing that I guess I didn't like so much is that you are required to use their bartending services and get chair covers through them. No bargaining power there, but everything worked out fine.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PJrBride
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.9/5.0
This venue is breathtaking! It is a bit pricey, but well worth it since you will not need much added decor. The venue manager likes things done a certain way and most times has a good reason. If you want something different, just be patient and level headed and ask with a logical explanation. Their responsiveness is awesome. The only thing that I guess I didn't like so much is that you are required to use their bartending services and get chair covers through them. No bargaining power there, but everything worked out fine.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.8/5.0
I had my April 30, 2011 wedding at the Mirror Lake Lyceum in St Petersburg, FL. The Lyceum has amazing beauty and character and my guests are still talking about how amazing the venue was! Brian Wilder at the Mirror Lake Lyceum was extremely helpful during the entire planning process and made sure my big day was exactly as we discussed. Extremely happy with my location choice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg14
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I can't speak highly enough of the Mirror Lake Lyceum as a wedding venue. They were so helpful throughout the planning process. Brian was quick to respond to emails and return phone calls. I must admit sometimes I called 2 or 3 times to confirm the same details but he was more than willing to help in any possible. On our wedding day our guests raved about how helpful the staff at the Lyceum was and how they had never been to a more beautiful wedding. We can thank the Lyceum and their staff for assisting in our perfect day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JerJenn
Wedding:
10/15/2010
4.7/5.0
Mirror Lake Lyceum is Beautiful!! Loved it :) Brian is very detailed and professional and works hard to ensure your event is perfect. I loved the room for our ceremony, cocktail hour downstairs and the reception all in one location. All the historic features of the building make for an amazing place for a wedding. The Lake across the street is great for photos.

Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.6/5.0
The Mirror Lake Lyceum was a beautiful venue and very professional. They handled my other vendors so I didn't have to. The price of alcohol was a bit steep, I thought. But I would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.4/5.0
The building was beautiful! The service was good. They set up tables and cleaned up very well without having to ask many questions. The only time I was annoyed was being asked by one of the owners during the reception who was under 21 in my wedding party. I understand the importance of the question, just wished it was asked before I was super busy and overwhelmed with everything the day of. Or better yet, wish he could've asked someone else in the wedding party! I thought the open bar was a bit over priced also as well as the chair covers. I did, however, love the fact that they allowed me and my bridal party arrive at the venue as early as we wanted to begin getting ready. Also was able to bring in hair & makeup artists.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
737 Third Avenue, North, Saint Petersburg, FL 33701 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mirror Lake Lyceum
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1385160792680-